DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 U.S.C. § 102
Claims 1-2, 9-11, and 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sanso et al., US 2019/0007469 A1.
Regarding claim 1, Sanso discloses a computer-implemented method comprising:
Parsing, by a host plugin, a host content view into a plurality of host resources. The term “plugin” has been interpreted to mean “a small software program that plugs into a larger application to provide added functionality.” Plug-in, Microsoft Computer Dictionary (5th ed. 2002). Sanso teaches a host application extracting data from a document. Sanso fig. 6 (step 604), ¶¶ 75-76. The data extraction may occur in parallel with presentation of the document. Id. ¶ 76. The operations of the host application may be performed by means of a plug-in (e.g., a browser extension). Id. ¶ 81.
Identifying, by an attendee plugin, an attendee interaction with a host resource in the plurality of host resources. The client application may be embedded in another application (i.e., a plug-in). Sanso ¶ 46.
Transmitting, by the attendee plugin, based on the attendee interaction, a resource request for the host resource. Sanso teaches receiving a selection of a portion of content based on input from an attendee. Sanso fig. 6 (step 608), ¶ 78.
Transmitting, by the host plugin, based on the resource request, a host resource content associated with the host resource. Sanso teaches, in response to the selection, providing corresponding extracted data to the client application. Sanso fig. 6 (steps 610, 612), ¶¶ 79-80.
Executing, by the attendee plugin, based on the host resource content, a response action for presenting the host resource content. Sanso teaches presenting extracted data to the attendee. Sanso fig. 5 (copy/paste pod 516), ¶¶ 67, 80.
Regarding claim 2, which depends on claim 1, Sanso discloses wherein the response action includes at least one of a copy action, an application execution, and a navigation. Sanso teaches a copy action. Sanso fig. 5 (copy/paste pod 516), ¶¶ 67, 80.
Regarding claim 9, which depends on claim 1, Sanso discloses wherein the host resource includes at least one of a text, a hyperlink, an image, and a video. Sanso teaches that the host resource may include text, a hyperlink, an image, and a video. Sanso ¶¶ 21, 51.
Claims 10-11 are drawn to instructions stored in a medium that implement the methods recited in claims 1-2, respectively. Accordingly, these claims are rejected for substantially the same reasons as indicated in the above rejections of the corresponding claims.
Claims 16-17 are drawn to a system that implements the methods recited in claims 1-2, respectively. Accordingly, these claims are rejected for substantially the same reasons as indicated in the above rejections of the corresponding claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 U.S.C. § 103
Claims 7-8, 15, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Sanso et al., US 2019/0007469 A1, in view of Bansal et al., US 2024/0406230 A1.
Regarding claim 7, which depends on claim 1, the combination of Sanso with Bansal renders obvious presenting, by the host plugin, a permission control panel including an attendee permission for the host resource. Sanso teaches the host application managing copy/paste permissions. Sanso ¶ 93. Sanso does not explicitly disclose a panel for controlling attendee permissions. However, Bansal teaches a control panel for managing permissions in a collaborative context. Bansal fig. 1 (permission control panel 130), ¶ 15.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person with ordinary skill in the art to modify Sanso’s process of managing permissions for shared content with Bansal’s process of presenting a permission control panel. Such a modification would facilitate the control of edits to a document by a document owner, thus preventing undesired edits. See Bansal ¶¶ 1-2.
Regarding claim 8, which depends on claim 7, Sanso discloses wherein the attendee permission includes at least one of a read-only permission, an interactable permission, and a writable permission. Sanso teaches the host application managing copy/paste permissions. Sanso ¶ 93.
Claim 15 is drawn to instructions stored in a medium that implement the method recited in claim 7. Accordingly, this claim is rejected for substantially the same reasons as indicated in the above rejection of the corresponding claim.
Claim 20 is drawn to a system that implements the method recited in claim 7. Accordingly, this claim is rejected for substantially the same reasons as indicated in the above rejection of the corresponding claim.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-6, 12-14, and 18-19 contain allowable subject matter.
Claims 3-6, 12-14, and 18-19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The following prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure:
Huang et al., US 2015/0058748, is directed to sharing documents in a desktop sharing environment.
Zhu et al., US 2007/0044017 A1, is directed to sharing documents in a collaborative environment.
Janamanchi et al., US 2020/0293261 A1, is directed to participants in a virtual meeting interacting with a shared document.
Asher D. Kells
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2171
/Asher D Kells/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2171