DETAILED ACTION
This action is responsive to the Amendment filed on 8/6/2026. Claims 1, 16 and 19 have been amended. Claims 1-20 are pending in the case. Claims 1, 15 and 19 are independent claims.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 16 and 19 have been amended and claim objections withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over “User Response Prediction in Online Advertising”, Gharibshah et al, 2/3/2021, in view of Bahirwani et al (US 20210056169 A1).
Referring to claims 1, 16 and 19, Gharibshah discloses a system comprising: at least one processor; and at least one non-transitory computer-readable medium having instructions stored thereon, which, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the system to perform operations comprising:
accessing a first piece of content of a first content type and a second piece of content of a second content type, wherein the first content type and the second content type comprise different content types; (page 8 of Gharibshah, two types of features for the content of Ads, such as Textual features vs. visual features, such as images, etc..)
feed the first piece of content into a first generative artificial intelligence (GAI) model, (page 8 of Gharibshah, the text is fed through a CTR model, which can be a generative adversarial network based models as disclosed in page 23 of Gharibshah) the first GAI model outputting a first embedding corresponding to the first piece of content, (Fig. 5 and page 15 of Gharibshah, features are converted into embeddings) first embedding being a representation of a meaning of the first piece of content; (page 15 of Gharibshah, “it suggests to add one dimension to model parameters to allocate more than one embedding vector to features since pair of features incorporate different feature types information.”)
feed the second piece of content into the first GAI model, the first GAI model outputting a second embedding corresponding to the second piece of content, (page 8 of Gharibshah, the visual features is fed through a CTR model, which can be a generative adversarial network based models as disclosed in page 23 of Gharibshah and Fig. 5 and page 15 of Gharibshah, features are converted into embeddings) the second embedding being a representation of a meaning of the second piece of content; (page 15 of Gharibshah, “it suggests to add one dimension to model parameters to allocate more than one embedding vector to features since pair of features incorporate different feature types information.”)
access historical interaction information regarding pieces of content; (page 24 of Gharibshah, “They separately built a logistic regression model for historical CTR values and another model for embedding vectors of images and textual information.”); and
based on <similarity> of the first piece of content and the second piece of content, pass the first and second pieces of content into a second GAI model to generate a combination piece of content. (page 8 of Gharibshah, “Textualfeatures. In search advertising, ads are displayed in the search result pages, incorporating textual data such as headline, relevant keywords and the body to highlight the details of promoted products. Many research proposes to treat click-through rate prediction task as the similarity learning between users’ query keywords and keywords of ads using their proposed text based similarity. For example, keywords in the title and body of advertisements [6, 33] and keywords in user queries are considered as two sources of data to extract textual features in many designed models [32, 41, 147]. Relying only on ad textual content and user query at character- and word-level, a deep CTR prediction model [32] collects data from textual letters of query along with the title, the description, and the ad URL. They are organized to feed into system as a one-hot-encoded matrix.”)
Gharibshah does not specifically disclose “feed the first embedding and the second embedding into a machine learning model, the machine learning model outputting an effectiveness matching score indicative of effectiveness of matching the first piece of content and the second piece of content with respect to a first metric based on the historical interaction information, wherein the effectiveness matching score is at least partially based on similarity between the first piece of content of the first content type and the second piece of content of the second content type as determined based on a comparison between the first embedding and the second embedding” and “the effectiveness matching score”.
However, Bahirwani discloses feed the first embedding and the second embedding into a machine learning model, the machine learning model outputting an effectiveness matching score indicative of effectiveness of matching the first piece of content and the second piece of content with respect to a first metric based on the historical interaction information, wherein the effectiveness matching score is at least partially based on similarity between the first piece of content of the first content type and the second piece of content of the second content type as determined based on a comparison between the first embedding and the second embedding ([0025] of Bahirwani discloses ”defining an entity type and extracting entity values of that entity type may be carried using an embedding model that may generate an embedding for a word or sequence of words. An embedding as used herein refers to a representation of a word or sequence of words. The representation may comprise a vector or other set of real numbers in a multi-dimensional space. An embedding generator may generate an embedding set that includes one or more sentence embeddings generated for at least part of a first sentence (e.g., an example sentence) that is tagged to associate a first named entity in the sentence with an entity type. The embedding generator may also be configured to generate a plurality of candidate embeddings for at least part of a second sentence (e.g., a user inputted sentence, such as a user query). An embedding comparer may compare each of the one or more sentence embeddings in the embedding set with each of the plurality of candidate embeddings, assign a match score to each comparison to generate a match score set. An entity value extractor may identify a particular match score of the match score set that exceeds a similarity threshold, and extract an entity value of the entity type from the second sentence associated with the identified match score.” )
Gharibshah and Bahirwani are analogous art because both references concern user interaction with features of content. Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Gharibshah’s features’ similarity associated with contents with matching score of the features as taught by Bahirwani. The motivation for doing so would have been improve matching different features of content for accuracy of user preferences.
Referring to claims 2 and 20, Gharibshah and Bahirwani disclose the system of claim 1, wherein the first GAI model and the second GAI model are an identical GAI model. (Fig. 5 and page 15 of Gharibshah, both features are identical models are used to convert features/content types into embedding)
Referring to claim 3, Gharibshah and Bahirwani disclose the system of claim 1, wherein the machine learning model is trained based on the historical interaction information. (page 24 of Gharibshah, “They separately built a logistic regression model for historical CTR values and another model for embedding vectors of images and textual information.”)
Referring to claims 4 and 17, Gharibshah and Bahirwani disclose the system of claim 1, wherein the operations further comprise: causing the generated combination pieces of content to be displayed in a graphical user interface of a client device presenting a first online platform, for selection by a user. (page 28 of Gharibshah, “The output are fed into a fully connected neural network to learn the probability of user’s click for a selected news piece”)
Referring to claims 5 and 18, Gharibshah and Bahirwani disclose the system of claim 1, wherein the first content type and the second content type are each a different one of an image, a text snippet, or a video. (page 8 of Gharibshah, two types of features for the content of Ads, such as Textual features vs. visual features, such as images, etc..)
Referring to claim 6, Gharibshah and Bahirwani disclose the system of claim 1, wherein the operations further comprise: receiving a text-based objective, wherein the feeding includes feeding the text-based objective into the machine learning model and wherein the passing includes passing the text- based objective into the second GAI model. (page 8 of Gharibshah, two types of features for the content of Ads, such as Textual features vs. visual features, such as images, etc..)
Referring to claim 7, Gharibshah and Bahirwani disclose the system of claim 1, wherein the operations further comprise: receiving an indication of desired audience, wherein the feeding includes feeding the indication of desired audience into the machine learning model and wherein the passing includes passing the indication of the desired audience into the second GAI model. (page 9 of Gharibshah, “The long-term user interaction can also be studied to create user profile behavior. It can not only provide indication of user intent change over time which can be used to improve the predication user responses, the popularity pattern regarding products can also be identified to remind users about a product according their previous interactions. In [40] authors consider a sequence of user activity events before and after the ad click and corresponding passed time-slot to investigate the potential user conversion intents. They analyzed the effect of elapsed time as a feature for conversion rate prediction and using targeting and retargeting2 paradigm for different users in online advertising systems.”)
Referring to claim 8, Gharibshah and Bahirwani disclose the system of claim 1, wherein the operations further comprise: accessing a document of an entity for which the combined of piece of content is being generated, wherein the feeding includes feeding data from the document into the machine learning model and wherein the passing includes passing the data from the document into the second GAI model. (page 4 of Gharibshah, “If ad content matches to user preferences, it encourages users to follow up promoted messages by generating the next clicks which can end up with desired activity such as a purchase.”)
Referring to claim 9, Gharibshah and Bahirwani disclose the system of claim 4, wherein the machine learning model takes as input one or more features corresponding to the user. (page 8 of Gharibshah, “An event representing the user interaction with online advertising includes features from different actors like users, publishers, advertisers and the context in online advertising systems. A representative list of categorical features corresponding to user profile and behavior, advertisement and publisher’s web-page is provided in Table 2”)
Referring to claim 10, Gharibshah and Bahirwani disclose the system of claim 1, wherein the second GAI model generates at least one of a text color, text style, or text size of the combination piece of content. (page 40 of Gharibshah, “As shown in Table B.1, this information is characterized via features describing ad creatives and their appearance in the publisher web-pages, such as features about the content of web-pages, placement id, size, width and height, visibility status and format, as well as user information such as device types, user agent, browser information etc.”)
Referring to claim 11, Gharibshah and Bahirwani disclose the system of claim 1, wherein the effectiveness matching score is at least partially based on a similarity between the first piece of content and the second piece of content as determined based on a comparison between the first embedding and the second embedding. (page 8 of Gharibshah, “Textualfeatures. In search advertising, ads are displayed in the search result pages, incorporating textual data such as headline, relevant keywords and the body to highlight the details of promoted products. Many research proposes to treat click-through rate prediction task as the similarity learning between users’ query keywords and keywords of ads using their proposed text based similarity. For example, keywords in the title and body of advertisements [6, 33] and keywords in user queries are considered as two sources of data to extract textual features in many designed models [32, 41, 147]. Relying only on ad textual content and user query at character- and word-level, a deep CTR prediction model [32] collects data from textual letters of query along with the title, the description, and the ad URL. They are organized to feed into system as a one-hot-encoded matrix.”)
Referring to claim 12, Gharibshah and Bahirwani disclose the system of claim 1, wherein the historical interaction information includes interaction information retrieved from multiple different domains of an online platform. (as shown in Table 4 and page 12, user’s interaction, i.e., click-through is collected through multiple different application domain)
Referring to claim 13, Gharibshah and Bahirwani disclose the system of claim 12, wherein the feeding the first piece of content includes feeding the first piece of content and a list of categories into the first GAI model, and the first embedding represents a selection of a category from the list of categories, the category determined by the first GAI model to be a closest match for the meaning of the content. (page 8 of Gharibshah, “Textualfeatures. In search advertising, ads are displayed in the search result pages, incorporating textual data such as headline, relevant keywords and the body to highlight the details of promoted products. Many research proposes to treat click-through rate prediction task as the similarity learning between users’ query keywords and keywords of ads using their proposed text based similarity. For example, keywords in the title and body of advertisements [6, 33] and keywords in user queries are considered as two sources of data to extract textual features in many designed models [32, 41, 147]. Relying only on ad textual content and user query at character- and word-level, a deep CTR prediction model [32] collects data from textual letters of query along with the title, the description, and the ad URL. They are organized to feed into system as a one-hot-encoded matrix.”)
Referring to claim 14, Gharibshah and Bahirwani disclose the system of claim 12, wherein the feeding the first piece of content includes additionally providing the first GAI model with a text question about the first piece of content. (as shown in Table 4 and page 12 of Gharibshah, features including query)
Referring to claim 15, Gharibshah and Bahirwani disclose the system of claim 1, wherein the machine learning model is trained offline using training data, the training data comprising prior pieces of content presented via an online platform that have been labeled with performance data regarding how the prior pieces of content were interacted with when presented via the online platform. (page 42 of Gharibshah, training offline)
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims have been considered and are persuasive. Previous rejection is withdrawn. A new reference is used and the current arguments do not apply to the newly cited reference that renders the claims obvious.
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to Applicant's disclosure:
Anand et al (US 20240046109 A1): an apparatus for expanded cohort application of machine-learning classifier methods based on a seed data set. The apparatus comprises at least a processor configured to receive at least a labeled seed set, train an embedding model based on the seed data, determine a plurality of vector representations for both the seed set and the target data, identify commonalities between the seed vector representation and the target vector, and provide the vector training data to a supervised machine-learning application for subsequent classifications. In a separate aspect, a method for expanded cohort application of machine-learning classifier methods based on a seed data set. The method comprises receiving, by the at least a processor, at least a labeled seed set, training, by the at least a processor, an embedding model based on the seed data, determining, by the at least a processor, a plurality of vector representations for both the seed set and the target data, identifying, by the at least a processor, commonalities between the seed vector representation and the target vector, and providing, by the at least a processor, the vector training data to a supervised machine-learning application for subsequent classifications.
Applicant is required under 37 C.F.R. § 1.111(c) to consider these references fully when responding to this action.
It is noted that any citation to specific pages, columns, lines, or figures in the prior art references and any interpretation of the references should not be considered to be limiting in any way. A reference is relevant for all it contains and may be relied upon for all that it would have reasonably suggested to one having ordinary skill in the art. In re Heck, 699 F.2d 1331, 1332-33, 216 U.S.P.Q. 1038, 1039 (Fed. Cir. 1983) (quoting In re Lemelson, 397 F.2d 1006, 1009, 158 U.S.P.Q. 275, 277 (C.C.P.A. 1968)).
In the interests of compact prosecution, Applicant is invited to contact the examiner via electronic media pursuant to USPTO policy outlined MPEP § 502.03. All electronic communication must be authorized in writing. Applicant may wish to file an Internet Communications Authorization Form PTO/SB/439. Applicant may wish to request an interview using the Interview Practice website: http://;www.uspto.gov/patent/laws-and-regulations/interview-practice.
Applicant is reminded Internet e-mail may not be used for communication for matters under 35 U.S.C. § 132 or which otherwise require a signature. A reply to an Office action may NOT be communicated by Applicant to the USPTO via Internet e- mail. If such a reply is submitted by Applicant via Internet e-mail, a paper copy will be placed in the appropriate patent application file with an indication that the reply is NOT ENTERED. See MPEP § 502.03(II).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/HAIMEI JIANG/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2142