Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4-12, 15-18, 22, and 25-26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Thorpe (US 7309185) in view of Maloney (US 2016/0324740) in view of Watcharotone (US 2019/0350354).
Regarding claim 1, Thorpe teaches a device capable of applying a cleaning composition to a dental appliance disposed in an oral cavity, comprising: a container (5) containing a cleaning composition (8) to clean a surface of a dental appliance in an oral cavity; an applicator portion (20) configured to apply the cleaning composition to the surface of the dental appliance in the oral cavity and a gap between the dental appliance and the oral cavity, the applicator having a portion (bristles 71) to be deformed (applicator 20 is made of silicone, col. 6, ll. 24-26) to apply the cleaning composition in the gap; and an extruder (27) to extrude the cleaning composition in the container through an outlet (72) to the applicator portion and the portion, wherein the cleaning composition is configured to be extruded through the outlet and applied directly to a gap between the dental appliance and the oral cavity while the dental appliance remains disposed in the oral cavity (the cleaning composition may be tooth gel, tooth paste, mouthwash, mouth rinse, tooth whitener and combinations thereof, see col. 3, ll. 39-41, all of which are configured to be extruded through the outlet and could be applied directly to the claimed gap).
Thorpe does not teach that the cleaning composition comprises at least one surfactant and water- soluble Polyvinylpyrrolidone (PVP) at a ratio between the at least one surfactant and the water- soluble PVP of from about 0.01 to about 10, wherein the cleaning composition is essentially free of a dental abrasive agent, wherein the dental abrasive agent is a solid particle having a hardness harder than the hardness of the surface of the dental appliance, wherein the cleaning composition exhibits a viscosity of from about 500 cp to about 10,000 cp, and wherein the cleaning composition exhibits about 10 % of the cleaning ability of a tooth paste having a pellicle cleaning rate (PCR) value of about 25%; or that the portion to be deformed can fit into a gap width of about 0.3 mm of the gap to be inserted into the gap by 3 mm or more.
Maloney teaches a cleaning composition comprises at least one surfactant (SLS, see Table on pg. 2) and water-soluble Polyvinylpyrrolidone (PVP) (Polyvinylpyrrolidone, see Table on pg. 2) at a ratio between the at least one surfactant and the water-soluble PVP of from about 0.01 to about 10 (Table on pg. 2), wherein the cleaning composition is essentially free of a dental abrasive agent (¶0016), wherein the dental abrasive agent is a solid particle having a hardness harder than the hardness of the surface of the dental appliance, wherein the cleaning composition exhibits a viscosity of from about 500 cp to about 10,000 cp (¶0051), and wherein the cleaning composition exhibits about 10 % of the cleaning ability of a tooth paste having a pellicle cleaning rate (PCR) value of about 25%.
It is noted that "[p]roducts of identical chemical composition can not have mutually exclusive properties." In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990). A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present. Id. In this case, the composition of Maloney and the claimed composition are the same, so both will have the same cleaning properties of exhibiting “about 10 % of the cleaning ability of a tooth paste having a pellicle cleaning rate (PCR) value of about 25%.”
Watcharotone teaches a toothbrush bristle (600) that can fit in a gap with a width of about 0.3 mm (the maximum diameter of the bristle is 0.2 mm, ¶0032) and can be inserted by 3 mm or more (the bristle is at least 4 mm long, ¶0032).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used the cleaning composition taught by Maloney with the device of Thorpe, wherein doing so would merely be a simple matter of using a known cleaning composition with a known applicator with predictable results.
Furthermore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have sized the bristles of Thorpe such that they can fit into a gap with a width of about 0.3 mm and be inserted into the gap be 3 mm or more, as taught by Watcharotone for the purpose of providing a toothbrush that can more easily clean gaps between teeth and between teeth and gums.
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Thorpe, Maloney, and Watcharotone teaches the device of claim 1, wherein the cleaning composition further comprises a cross-linked polyvinylpyrrolidone (PVP) (Maloney, additional cross-linked PVP, see ¶0035), and wherein a weight ratio of the water-soluble PVP to the cross-linked PVP is from about 0.01 and to about 0.025 (Table on pg. 2).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Thorpe, Maloney, and Watcharotone teaches the device of claim 1, wherein the cleaning composition further comprises a cross-linked polyvinylpyrrolidone (PVP), and wherein a weight percent of the cross-linked polyvinylpyrrolidone is about 3 wt.% to about 20 wt.%, with respect to the weight of the cleaning composition (Maloney, additional cross-linked PVP at 0.25-10 wt%, see Table on pg. 2).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Thorpe, Maloney, and Watcharotone teaches the device of claim 1, wherein the applicator portion includes a dispersing portion (Thorpe, bristles of brush 20) to disperse the cleaning composition over the surface of the dental appliance, wherein the dispersing portion includes the portion to be to be deformed.
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Thorpe, Maloney, and Watcharotone teaches the device of claim 6, wherein the dispersing portion is a brush (Thorpe, 20) to disperse the cleaning composition.
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Thorpe, Maloney, and Watcharotone teaches the device of claim 1, further comprising a cleaner portion (Thorpe, 20) to clean the surface of the dental appliance, wherein the cleaner portion includes the portion to be to be deformed.
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Thorpe, Maloney, and Watcharotone teaches the device of claim 8, wherein the cleaner portion includes a brush tip (20) having bristles.
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Thorpe, Maloney, and Watcharotone teaches the device of claim 9, but does not teach that an average length of the bristles is about 4 mm.
At the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have made the bristles of Thorpe with an average length of about 4 mm because Applicant has not disclosed that the particular length of the bristles provides an advantage, is used for a particular purpose, or solves a stated problem. One of ordinary skill in the art, furthermore, would have expected Thorpe's brush and the applicant's invention to perform equally well with either the bristles taught by Thorpe or the claimed bristles with an average length of 4 mm because both brushes are equally capable of cleaning.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the brush of Thorpe to obtain the invention as specified in claim 10 because such a modification would have been considered a mere design consideration which fails to patentably distinguish over the prior art of Thorpe.
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Thorpe, Maloney, and Watcharotone teaches the device of claim 1, further comprising a handle (Thorpe, 11) to move the extruder to extrude the cleaning composition.
Regarding claim 12, Thorpe teaches a device to apply a cleaning composition to a dental appliance disposed in an oral cavity, comprising: a container (5) containing a cleaning composition (7) to clean a surface of a dental appliance in an oral cavity; an applicator portion (20) configured to apply the cleaning composition to the surface of the dental appliance in the oral cavity, the applicator having a portion to be deformed (applicator 20 is made of silicone, col. 6, ll. 24-26) to fit into the gap width of from about 0.02 and up to about 5 mm of the gap to be inserted into the gap to apply the cleaning composition in the gap; and an extruder (27) to extrude the cleaning composition in the container through an outlet (66) to the applicator portion and the portion, wherein the cleaning composition is configured to be extruded through the outlet and applied directly to a gap between the dental appliance and the oral cavity while the dental appliance remains disposed in the oral cavity (the cleaning composition may be tooth gel, tooth paste, mouthwash, mouth rinse, tooth whitener and combinations thereof, see col. 3, ll. 39-41, all of which are configured to be extruded through the outlet and could be applied directly to the claimed gap).
Thorpe does not teach that the cleaning composition comprises at least one surfactant and water-soluble Polyvinylpyrrolidone (PVP) at a ratio between the at least one surfactant and the water-soluble PVP of from about 0.01 to about 10, wherein the cleaning composition is essentially free of diamond, quartz, silicon carbide, alumina, silica gels and precipitates, calcium carbonate, titanium dioxide, talc, charcoal, and hydrophobic resinous abrasive materials, wherein the cleaning composition exhibits a viscosity of from about 500 cp to about 10,000 cp, and wherein the cleaning composition exhibits about 10 % of the cleaning ability of a tooth paste having a pellicle cleaning rate (PCR) value of about 25%; or that the portion to be deformed can fit into a gap width of about 0.3 mm of the gap to be inserted into the gap by 3 mm or more.
Maloney teaches a cleaning composition that comprises at least one surfactant and water-soluble Polyvinylpyrrolidone (PVP) at a ratio between the at least one surfactant and the water-soluble PVP of from about 0.01 to about 10 (Table on pg. 2), wherein the cleaning composition is essentially free of diamond, quartz, silicon carbide, alumina, silica gels and precipitates, calcium carbonate, titanium dioxide, talc, charcoal, and hydrophobic resinous abrasive materials (¶0016), wherein the cleaning composition exhibits a viscosity of from about 500 cp to about 10,000 cp (¶0051), and wherein the cleaning composition exhibits about 10 % of the cleaning ability of a tooth paste having a pellicle cleaning rate (PCR) value of about 25%.
It is noted that "[p]roducts of identical chemical composition can not have mutually exclusive properties." In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990). A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present. Id. In this case, the composition of Maloney and the claimed composition are the same, so both will have the same cleaning properties of exhibiting “about 10 % of the cleaning ability of a tooth paste having a pellicle cleaning rate (PCR) value of about 25%.”
Watcharotone teaches a toothbrush bristle (600) that can fit in a gap with a width of about 0.3 mm (the maximum diameter of the bristle is 0.2 mm, ¶0032) and can be inserted by 3 mm or more (the bristle is at least 4 mm long, ¶0032).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used the cleaning composition taught by Maloney with the device of Thorpe, wherein doing so would merely be a simple matter of using a known cleaning composition with a known applicator with predictable results.
Furthermore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have sized the bristles of Thorpe such that they can fit into a gap with a width of about 0.3 mm and be inserted into the gap be 3 mm or more, as taught by Watcharotone for the purpose of providing a toothbrush that can more easily clean gaps between teeth and between teeth and gums.
Regarding claim 15, the combination of Thorpe, Maloney, and Watcharotone teaches the device of claim 12, wherein the cleaning composition further comprises a cross- linked polyvinylpyrrolidone (PVP) (Maloney, ¶0035), and wherein a weight ratio of the water-soluble PVP to the cross-linked PVP is from about 0.01 and to about 0.025 (Maloney, Table on pg. 2).
Regarding claim 16, the combination of Thorpe, Maloney, and Watcharotone teaches the device of claim 12, wherein the cleaning composition further comprises a cross-linked polyvinylpyrrolidone (PVP), and wherein a weight percent of the cross-linked polyvinylpyrrolidone is about 3 wt.% to about 20 wt.%, with respect to the weight of the cleaning composition (Maloney, table of pg. 2).
Regarding claim 17, the combination of Thorpe, Maloney, and Watcharotone teaches the device of claim 12, wherein the applicator portion includes a dispersing portion (Thorpe, brush 20) to disperse the cleaning composition over the surface of the dental appliance, wherein the dispersing portion includes the portion to be to be deformed, and wherein the dispersing portion includes a brush (Thorpe, 20) to disperse the cleaning composition.
Regarding claim 18, the combination of Thorpe, Maloney, and Watcharotone teaches the device of claim 12, further comprising a cleaner portion (Thorpe, brush 20) to clean the surface of the dental appliance, wherein the cleaner portion includes the portion to be to be deformed, wherein the cleaner portion includes a brush tip having bristles, but does not teach that an average length of the bristles is about 4 mm.
At the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have made the bristles of Thorpe with an average length of about 4 mm because Applicant has not disclosed that the particular length of the bristles provides an advantage, is used for a particular purpose, or solves a stated problem. One of ordinary skill in the art, furthermore, would have expected Thorpe's brush and the applicant's invention to perform equally well with either the bristles taught by Thorpe or the claimed bristles with an average length of 4 mm because both brushes are equally capable of cleaning.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the brush of Thorpe to obtain the invention as specified in claim 10 because such a modification would have been considered a mere design consideration which fails to patentably distinguish over the prior art of Thorpe.
Regarding claim 22, the combination of Thorpe, Maloney, and Watcharotone teaches the device of claim 1, wherein the portion to be deformed is made of a polymer selected from the group consisting of polybutylene terephthalate (PBT), polyethylene terephthalate (PET), nylon, and combinations thereof (Watcharotone, PBT bristles, see ¶0029).
Regarding claim 25, the combination of Thorpe, Maloney, and Watcharotone teaches the device of claim 1, but does not teach that the container has a volume of from 2.5 mL to 4 mL.
At the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to a person of ordinary skill in the art to changed the size of Thorpe’s container to have a volume of 2.5 mL to 4 mL because Applicant has not disclosed that the particular size of the container provides an advantage, is used for a particular purpose, or solves a stated problem. One of ordinary skill in the art, furthermore, would have expected the combination of Thorpe, Maloney and Watcharotone and the applicant's invention to perform equally well with either the container of undisclosed volume taught by Thorpe or the claimed container with a volume of 2.5 to 4 mL because both containers are equally capable of storing and dispensing a cleaning composition.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the container of Thorpe to obtain the invention as specified in claim 25 because such a modification would have been considered a mere design consideration which fails to patentably distinguish over the prior art of Thorpe, Maloney, and Watcharotone.
It has been held that size is not ordinarily a matter of invention. See In re Rose, 220 F.2d 459, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955) (Claims directed to a lumber package "of appreciable size and weight requiring handling by a lift truck" were held unpatentable over prior art lumber packages which could be lifted by hand because limitations relating to the size of the package were not sufficient to patentably distinguish over the prior art.) In this case, there is no evidence that the claimed size of the container would result in different performance or requires more than ordinary skill in the art. Furthermore, Applicant has disclosed that volume of the container may be set based on a design factor in paragraph 0103 of the original specification.
Regarding claim 26, the combination of Thorpe, Maloney, and Watcharotone teaches the device of claim 1, wherein the portion to be deformed is configured to access around an abutment to which the dental appliance is attached (the deformable bristles taught by Watcharotone have sufficient length and small enough diameter to ‘access around’ an abutment).
Claim(s) 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Thorpe, Maloney, and Watcharotone as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Hatada (WO 2021131526).
Regarding claim 21, The device of claim 1, but does not teach that the portion to be deformed has a flexural modulus of elasticity in a range from 2 GPa to 4 GPa. Watcharotone does teach that the bristles are preferably polybutylene terephthalate in ¶0029.
Hatada teaches that polybutylene terephthalate has a flexural modulus of 1.5 GPa to 3.0 GPa (seventh paragraph of page 4 of the attached translation).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have made the combination of Thorpe, Maloney, and Watcharotone such that the portion to be deformed has a flexural modulus of elasticity in a range from 2 GPa to 4 GPa, wherein doing so would merely be a matter of using the material taught by Watcharotone that is known to have the claimed flexural modulus of elasticity as shown by Hatada.
Claim(s) 23-24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Thorpe, Maloney, and Watcharotone as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Dwyer (US 8360674).
Regarding claim 23, the combination of Thorpe, Maloney, and Watcharotone teaches the device of claim 1, but does not teach a valve to close the outlet when the cleaning composition is not being extruded.
Dwyer teaches a valve (41) to close an outlet (29, 29A, 29B, 29C, 29D) when a composition is not being extruded (col. 6, ll. 8-12).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the device of Thorpe with a valve to close the outlet when the cleaning composition is not being extruded as taught by Dwyer for the purpose of maintaining the integrity of the product in the reservoir (Dwyer col. 6, ll. 8-12).
Regarding claim 24, the combination of Thorpe, Maloney, and Watcharotone teaches the device of claim 1, but does not teach that the outlet comprises a plurality of outlets positioned to supply the cleaning composition around the portion to be deformed.
Dwyer teaches a plurality of outlets (29A, 29B, 29C, and 29D) positioned to supply a composition around a portion to be deformed (bristles 20).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of Thorpe such that the outlet comprises a plurality of outlets positioned to supply the cleaning composition around the portion to be deformed as taught by Dwyer, wherein doing so would have merely been a matter of substituting equivalents known for the same purpose (Dwyer, col. 7, ll. 1-7).
Applicant argues that Watcharotone does not
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 28 August 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Thorpe does not teach a device configured to apply cleaning composition directly to a gap between a dental appliance and the oral cavity while the dental appliance remains in place.
This is unpersuasive because it is incommensurate with the claim language, which does not recite that the device is configured to apply cleaning composition directly to a gap between a dental appliance and the oral cavity while the dental appliance remains in place, but rather that the cleaning composition is configured to be applied directly to the gap. It is also noted that the device of Thorpe appears to be fully capable of applying the claimed composition to the gap. A user would merely have to line up the outlet of Thrope’s device with the gap and then extrude the composition.
Applicant argues that Watcharotone is directed toward bristles that can reach between teeth and below the natural gum line, but not between dental appliances and the oral cavity.
In response, it is noted that the bristles of Watcharotone are sized such that they would be able to fit into the claimed gap.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BRADLEY S OLIVER/Examiner, Art Unit 3754
/DAVID P ANGWIN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3754