DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to Applicant’s communication filed on 10/29/2025. Claims 1-20 have been examined.
Response to Arguments
With regards to Claim objection, Applicant’s amendment overcome the objection. Therefore, the objection is withdrawn.
With regards to 101 rejection, Applicant’s amendment overcome the rejection. Therefore, the rejection is withdrawn.
With regards to 112 2nd rejection (Claim 7,15), Applicant’s amendment overcome the rejection. Therefore, the rejection is withdrawn.
With regards to 112 2nd rejection (Claim 14). The claim was not amended . Therefore, the rejection is maintained.
Applicant argument #1
Applicant argues that Myers does not disclose “wherein each node of the plurality of nodes is associated with a region of the keyspace, wherein at least one dimension of the region corresponds to a closed dimension of the keyspace using a hash function mapping inputs to points in the keyspace” as recited in claim 1
Examiner response to Applicant’s argument #1
Examiner respectfully disagrees. Myers teaches assigning each of a plurality of nodes to one or more of a plurality keyspace position of a keyspace, wherein the plurality of nodes define partitions of the keyspace. A space filling curve is applied to the dimensional attributes of each of the plurality of data objects to generate a plurality of key values which correspond to the plurality of keyspace positions (Abstract). Myers further teaches that the plurality of nodes are preferably assigned to the plurality of keyspace positions using consistent hashing. Referring to FIG. 2A, a diagrammatic representation of a key space in the form of a consistent hashing ring 112 is shown. The consistent hashing ring 112 preferably includes a finite number of sequential keyspace positions evenly distributed around the consistent hashing ring 112 to which data objects can be assigned. Each storage node is preferably configured for storing data objects corresponding to keyspace positions between the respective storage node position and the clockwise-next sequentially located storage node position on the consistent hashing ring 112 ( ¶0025).
Therefore, Myers invention teaches nodes are associated with a region of keyspace and using the hashing to assign (map) nodes and data objects to specific point or regions along the ring, the circular nature of the ring represents a closed dimension.
Applicant relied on his argument is that the current claims have one to one relationship that allows the coordination region to uniquely target a distinct set of nodes ( in one dimension) and distinct time period in a ( second dimension) and many to many mapping such as taught by Myers would frustrate the purpose of the claimed methods and systems rendering inoperable – See Remarks – Page 9.
In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., one to one relationship that allows the coordination region to uniquely target a distinct set of nodes ( in one dimension) and distinct time period in a ( second dimension)) are not recited in the rejected claim 1 Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Applicant argument #2
Applicant argues that Myers does not disclose “the keyspace having at least two discretized dimension” as recited in claim 1.
Examiner response to Applicant’s argument #2
Examiner respectfully disagrees. Myers teaches in Fig.2B a diagrammatic representation
of a two dimensional multidimensional space 120 in the form of a square is shown. The multidimensional space 120 can be representative of any two dimensional space, for
example a geographic area defined by units of longitude and latitude or other suitable coordinates. The keyspace represented by the consistent hashing ring 112 is mapped over a space filling curve 122, which as shown is preferably a Hilbert Curve, within the multidimensional space 120. Applying the space filling curve 122 to a data object's dimensional attributes, such as units of latitude and longitude or other suitable geographic coordinates for a geographic area, within the multidimensional space 120 generates a key value which corresponds to a keyspace position, such as one of the example first, second and third keyspace position (¶0026 ).
Myers further teaches that the received plurality of data objects include dimensional attributes corresponding to discrete positions within the multidimensional space (¶0027.)
Therefore, Myers teaches managing data objects within a multidimensional space (two dimensional space) by mapping them to keyspace positions along space filling curve or hashing ring which allow the multidimensional space to be partitioned into discrete regions assigned to nodes.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6,13,20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 7,14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
With regards to claim 7, the claim recites “the time period”. It is unclear what “the time period” is referring to. Therefore, the examiner is unable to determine the metes and bounds of the claim language.
With regards to claim 14, the claim recites “ so that they are larger in the temporal dimension for older values ….”. The claim limitation is indefinite because it doesn't capture the functions by which the intended results are accomplished. Therefore, the examiner is unable to determine the metes and bounds of the claim language.
With regards to claim 14, the claim recites “the dimensions of the coordination region”. It is unclear what the “the dimensions” is referring to. Therefore, the examiner is unable to determine the metes and bounds of the claim language.
With regards to claim 14, the claim recites “They”. It is unclear what the term “they” is referring to. Therefore, the examiner is unable to determine the metes and bounds of the claim language.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1,4,8,11,15,18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Myers et al. Publication No. US 2012/0036163 A1 (Myers hereinafter) in view of Lakshman et al. Publication No. US 2020/0334207 A1 ( Lakshman hereinafter).
Regarding claim 1,
Myers teaches a system for coordinating distributed computation, the system comprising:
a plurality of nodes, each node including a processing element, a network interface, and a memory, the plurality of nodes communicatively coupled together via a network (Fig.1 shows plurality nodes including processor, memory and interface and the plurality of nodes are connected via network);
a key space defined across the plurality of nodes, the key space having at least two discretized dimensions; wherein each node of the plurality of nodes is associated with a region of the key space, wherein at least one dimension of the region corresponds to a closed dimension of the key space using a hash function mapping inputs to points in the key space (Fig.4, Abstract, ¶ 0008 – The method includes receiving a plurality of data objects including dimensional attributes and assigning each of a plurality of nodes to one or more of a plurality of key space positions of a key space, wherein the plurality of nodes define partitions of the key space – ¶ 0011, Fig.2 , ¶ 0027- ¶ 0028 the received plurality of data objects include dimensional attributes corresponding to discrete positions within the multidimensional space - the multidimensional space 120 is shown partitioned into areas defined by the space filling curve 122, which areas correspond to the key space positions to which the respective storage nodes N1, N2, N3, N4 are assigned, based on the figurative placement of the storage nodes N1, N2, N3, N4 on the consistent hashing ring 112. As shown in FIG. 2C, with reference to the example key space positions 115, 117, 119, when a particular data object's dimensional attributes correspond to a particular partitioned area of the multidimensional space 120, the particular data object is stored in the storage node N1, N2, N3, N4 which corresponds to the particular partitioned area. The space filling curve 122 provides an effective way to map multiple dimensions onto a single dimension while ensuring that data objects that are spatially close together in multiple dimensions, such as a two dimensional geographic area, tend to be close together in a mapped single dimension at a key space position, ¶ 0030 - The initiated range search method 500 can employ any suitable requirements including but not limited to: finding all data objects having key values corresponding to points within a specified bounding region or at a discrete coordinate of a multidimensional space); and
wherein a first node of the plurality of nodes and a second node of the plurality of nodes are configured to coordinate stored state by( ¶ 0031 - One or both of the coordination servers Cl, C2 can receive search requests from first and second devices Dl, D2 pursuant to the method 500, such as cellular mobile devices, personal computers, and application servers. Alternatively, in the case of a decentralized implementation of the methods 400 and 500, the coordination servers Cl, C2 can be omitted, and one or more of the server storage nodes N1, N2, N3, N4 can be configured to perform the methods 400 and 500 - See ¶ 0029 - data is retrieved from the one or more data objects corresponding to the one or more key values of the dimensional specification from one or more of the plurality of nodes (step 508). If data is received from more than one of the plurality of nodes, data from the plurality of nodes is preferably merged and duplicated data is preferably pruned – See Also ¶ 0034).
However, Myers does not explicitly teach
at the first node, computing a first cryptographic fingerprint of the data associated with a region of the key space to coordinate (the "coordination region");at the second node, computing a second cryptographic fingerprint of the data associated with the coordination region; comparing the first cryptographic fingerprint and the second cryptographic fingerprint; and when the first cryptographic fingerprint is different than the second cryptographic fingerprint, communicating a state change message to synchronize the state between the first node and the second node.
Lakshman teaches
at the first node, computing a first cryptographic fingerprint of the data associated with a region of the key space to coordinate (the "coordination region");at the second node, computing a second cryptographic fingerprint of the data associated with the coordination region; comparing the first cryptographic fingerprint and the second cryptographic fingerprint (Abstract - A fingerprint file is calculated for each SST (metadata) file on disk that includes hash values corresponding to regions of the SST file. To synchronize, the fingerprint files of two SST files are compared, and if any hash values are missing from a fingerprint file then the key-value-timestamp triples corresponding to these missing hash values are sent to the SST file that is missing them 0075 -in step 616 the triples of the local fingerprint file are compared against the triples of the remote fingerprint files, one file at a time. The SLH triples of the local fingerprint file are compared against the SLH triples of a remote fingerprint file in order to determine if the remote fingerprint file includes any SLH triples that the local file does not have. This comparison may be performed in a variety of manners; in one specific embodiment, the comparison determines whether the remote fingerprint file includes any triples having a hash value that is not present in any triple in the local fingerprint file. If so, these triples are identified as missing fingerprint triples).
when the first cryptographic fingerprint is different than the second cryptographic fingerprint, communicating a state change message to synchronize the state between the first node and the second node (¶ 0075 - the comparison determines whether the remote fingerprint file includes any triples having a hash value that is not present in any triple in the local fingerprint file. If so, these triples are identified as missing fingerprint triples. For example, referring to FIG. 8, assuming that 530 represents a remote SST, that file 550 is the fingerprint file for SST 530, and that the hash values for regions 542 and 544 (X and Y) are not present in any SLH triple in the local fingerprint file, then the first two SLH triples corresponding to regions 542 and 544 are identified as missing fingerprint triples. Missing SLH triples for regions 542 and 544 means that key-value timestamp triples from ranges 542 and 544 are missing in the local SST – ¶ 0076 - The request may be made in many ways, for example, the request may simply include a list of the entire missing SLH triples, a list of the hash values that are missing, a list of the regions corresponding to the missing triples, a list of boundaries defining the missing triples, etc. If fingerprint triples are missing from
more than one fingerprint file – ¶ 0077 - the remote node holding SST 530 receives the request from the local node and retrieves the SST that is the subject of the request. The remote node then prepares a response which will be a new SST that contains a sequence of the key-value-timestamp triples that correspond to the missing SLH triples identified in step 620. Continuing with the above example, if the missing SLH triples are those two that have the hash values "X" and "Y" in fingerprint file 550, it is determined that these missing triples correspond to regions 542 and 544. Next, for each region, any entire key-value-timestamp triple found within that region is placed into the new SST file, for region 542 this includes the triple 532 – See ¶ 0078).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Myers to include the teachings of Lakshman The motivation for doing so is to allow the system to provide synchronization of metadata used to store data for faster access within a data center (Lakshman – ¶ 0002).
Regarding claim 4
Myers does not explicitly teach
wherein the state change message updates stored state that is temporally or logically older using information that is temporally or logically newer
However, Lakshman teaches
wherein the state change message updates stored state that is temporally or logically older using information that is temporally or logically newer (¶ 0077 - the remote node holding SST 530 receives the request from the local node and retrieves the SST that is the subject of the request. The remote node then prepares a response which will be a new SST that contains a sequence of the key-value-timestamp triples that correspond to the missing SLH triples identified in step 620. Continuing with the above example, if the missing SLH triples are those two that have the hash values "X" and "Y" in fingerprint file 550,. the remote node removes any such duplicates before it returns this new SST file to the requesting local node. Or, the remote node filters out any duplicate triples before the new SST is written locally on the remote node, before sending the new SST to the local node. (0078] Next, in step 628, the local node compacts the local SST (the local SST which was chosen for iteration above in step 604) with the received new SST from the remote node to create a replacement SST – ¶ 0037 - Typically, metadata is generated during and after a write operation and pertains to a particular block of data that has been stored. Each item of metadata includes a key-value timestamps triplet, the key being a string, the value being a number of bytes, and the timestamp being the physical or logical time when the write occurred. The metadata that may be synchronized by the present invention encompasses many types and includes: mutation information after write requests (where data blocks were written, success and failure, virtual disk name, etc.); statistical information (metrics concerning the storage space being used) and any kind of information needed to keep the health and operational efficiency of the system).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Myers to include the teachings of Lakshman. The motivation for doing so is to allow the system to provide synchronization of metadata used to store data for faster access within ta data center (Lakshman – ¶ 0002).
Regarding claim 8,
Myers teaches a method for coordinating distributed computation, the method comprising:
defining a key space defined across a plurality of nodes, the key space having at least two discretized dimensions; associating each node of the plurality of nodes is associated with a region of the key space, wherein at least one dimension of the region corresponds to a closed dimension of the key space using a hash function mapping inputs to points in the key space; (Fig.4, Abstract, ¶ 0008 – The method includes receiving a plurality of data objects including dimensional attributes and assigning each of a plurality of nodes to one or more of a plurality of key space positions of a key space, wherein the plurality of nodes define partitions of the key space – ¶ 0011, Fig.2 , ¶ 0027- ¶ 0028 the received plurality of data objects include dimensional attributes corresponding to discrete positions within the multidimensional space - the multidimensional space 120 is shown partitioned into areas defined by the space filling curve 122, which areas correspond to the key space positions to which the respective storage nodes N1, N2, N3, N4 are assigned, based on the figurative placement of the storage nodes N1, N2, N3, N4 on the consistent hashing ring 112. As shown in FIG. 2C, with reference to the example key space positions 115, 117, 119, when a particular data object's dimensional attributes correspond to a particular partitioned area of the multidimensional space 120, the particular data object is stored in the storage node N1, N2, N3, N4 which corresponds to the particular partitioned area. The space filling curve 122 provides an effective way to map multiple dimensions onto a single dimension while ensuring that data objects that are spatially close together in multiple dimensions, such as a two dimensional geographic area, tend to be close together in a mapped single dimension at a key space position, ¶ 0030 - The initiated range search method 500 can employ any suitable requirements including but not limited to: finding all data objects having key values corresponding to points within a specified bounding region or at a discrete coordinate of a multidimensional space); and
coordinating state information between a first node of the plurality of nodes and a second node of the plurality of nodes b ( ¶ 0031 - One or both of the coordination servers Cl, C2 can receive search requests from first and second devices Dl, D2 pursuant to the method 500, such as cellular mobile devices, personal computers, and application servers. Alternatively, in the case of a decentralized implementation of the methods 400 and 500, the coordination servers Cl, C2 can be omitted, and one or more of the server storage nodes N1, N2, N3, N4 can be configured to perform the methods 400 and 500 - See ¶ 0029 - data is retrieved from the one or more data objects corresponding to the one or more key values of the dimensional specification from one or more of the plurality of nodes (step 508). If data is received from more than one of the plurality of nodes, data from the plurality of nodes is preferably merged and duplicated data is preferably pruned – See Also ¶ 0034).
However, Myers does not explicitly teach
at the first node, computing a first cryptographic fingerprint of the data associated with a region of the key space to coordinate (the "coordination region");at the second node, computing a second cryptographic fingerprint of the data associated with the coordination region; comparing the first cryptographic fingerprint and the second cryptographic fingerprint; and when the first cryptographic fingerprint is different than the second cryptographic fingerprint, communicating a state change message to synchronize the state between the first node and the second node.
Lakshman teaches
at the first node, computing a first cryptographic fingerprint of the data associated with a region of the key space to coordinate (the "coordination region");at the second node, computing a second cryptographic fingerprint of the data associated with the coordination region; comparing the first cryptographic fingerprint and the second cryptographic fingerprint (Abstract - A fingerprint file is calculated for each SST (metadata) file on disk that includes hash values corresponding to regions of the SST file. To synchronize, the fingerprint files of two SST files are compared, and if any hash values are missing from a fingerprint file then the key-value-timestamp triples corresponding to these missing hash values are sent to the SST file that is missing them 0075 -in step 616 the triples of the local fingerprint file are compared against the triples of the remote fingerprint files, one file at a time. The SLH triples of the local fingerprint file are compared against the SLH triples of a remote fingerprint file in order to determine if the remote fingerprint file includes any SLH triples that the local file does not have. This comparison may be performed in a variety of manners; in one specific embodiment, the comparison determines whether the remote fingerprint file includes any triples having a hash value that is not present in any triple in the local fingerprint file. If so, these triples are identified as missing fingerprint triples).
when the first cryptographic fingerprint is different than the second cryptographic fingerprint, communicating a state change message to synchronize the state between the first node and the second node (¶ 0075 - the comparison determines whether the remote fingerprint file includes any triples having a hash value that is not present in any triple in the local fingerprint file. If so, these triples are identified as missing fingerprint triples. For example, referring to FIG. 8, assuming that 530 represents a remote SST, that file 550 is the fingerprint file for SST 530, and that the hash values for regions 542 and 544 (X and Y) are not present in any SLH triple in the local fingerprint file, then the first two SLH triples corresponding to regions 542 and 544 are identified as missing fingerprint triples. Missing SLH triples for regions 542 and 544 means that key-value timestamp triples from ranges 542 and 544 are missing in the local SST – ¶ 0076 - The request may be made in many ways, for example, the request may simply include a list of the entire missing SLH triples, a list of the hash values that are missing, a list of the regions corresponding to the missing triples, a list of boundaries defining the missing triples, etc. If fingerprint triples are missing from
more than one fingerprint file – ¶ 0077 - the remote node holding SST 530 receives the request from the local node and retrieves the SST that is the subject of the request. The remote node then prepares a response which will be a new SST that contains a sequence of the key-value-timestamp triples that correspond to the missing SLH triples identified in step 620. Continuing with the above example, if the missing SLH triples are those two that have the hash values "X" and "Y" in fingerprint file 550, it is determined that these missing triples correspond to regions 542 and 544. Next, for each region, any entire key-value-timestamp triple found within that region is placed into the new SST file, for region 542 this includes the triple 532 – See ¶ 0078).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Myers to include the teachings of Lakshman. The motivation for doing so is to allow the system to provide synchronization of metadata used to store data for faster access within ta data center (Lakshman – ¶ 0002).
Regarding claim 11
Myers does not explicitly teach
wherein the state change message updates stored state that is temporally or logically older using information that is temporally or logically newer
However, Lakshman teaches
wherein the state change message updates stored state that is temporally or logically older using information that is temporally or logically newer (¶ 0077 - the remote node holding SST 530 receives the request from the local node and retrieves the SST that is the subject of the request. The remote node then prepares a response which will be a new SST that contains a sequence of the key-value-timestamp triples that correspond to the missing SLH triples identified in step 620. Continuing with the above example, if the missing SLH triples are those two that have the hash values "X" and "Y" in fingerprint file 550,. the remote node removes any such duplicates before it returns this new SST file to the requesting local node. Or, the remote node filters out any duplicate triples before the new SST is written locally on the remote node, before sending the new SST to the local node. (0078] Next, in step 628, the local node compacts the local SST (the local SST which was chosen for iteration above in step 604) with the received new SST from the remote node to create a replacement SST – ¶ 0037 - Typically, metadata is generated during and after a write operation and pertains to a particular block of data that has been stored. Each item of metadata includes a key-value timestamps triplet, the key being a string, the value being a number of bytes, and the timestamp being the physical or logical time when the write occurred. The metadata that may be synchronized by the present invention encompasses many types and includes: mutation information after write requests (where data blocks were written, success and failure, virtual disk name, etc.); statistical information (metrics concerning the storage space being used) and any kind of information needed to keep the health and operational efficiency of the system).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Myers to include the teachings of Lakshman. The motivation for doing so is to allow the system to provide synchronization of metadata used to store data for faster access within ta data center (Lakshman – ¶ 0002).
Regarding claim 15,
Myers teaches instructions encoded in one or more tangible media for execution on one or more processors located on a plurality of nodes, each of which includes a processor and a memory, which when executed cause one or more nodes of the plurality of nodes to perform operations comprising:
defining a key space defined across a plurality of nodes, the key space having at least two discretized dimensions; associating each node of the plurality of nodes is associated with a region of the key space, wherein at least one dimension of the region corresponds to a closed dimension of the key space using a hash function mapping inputs to points in the key space; (Fig.4, Abstract, ¶ 0008 – The method includes receiving a plurality of data objects including dimensional attributes and assigning each of a plurality of nodes to one or more of a plurality of key space positions of a key space, wherein the plurality of nodes define partitions of the key space – ¶ 0011, Fig.2 , ¶ 0027- ¶ 0028 the received plurality of data objects include dimensional attributes corresponding to discrete positions within the multidimensional space - the multidimensional space 120 is shown partitioned into areas defined by the space filling curve 122, which areas correspond to the key space positions to which the respective storage nodes N1, N2, N3, N4 are assigned, based on the figurative placement of the storage nodes N1, N2, N3, N4 on the consistent hashing ring 112. As shown in FIG. 2C, with reference to the example key space positions 115, 117, 119, when a particular data object's dimensional attributes correspond to a particular partitioned area of the multidimensional space 120, the particular data object is stored in the storage node N1, N2, N3, N4 which corresponds to the particular partitioned area. The space filling curve 122 provides an effective way to map multiple dimensions onto a single dimension while ensuring that data objects that are spatially close together in multiple dimensions, such as a two dimensional geographic area, tend to be close together in a mapped single dimension at a key space position, ¶ 0030 - The initiated range search method 500 can employ any suitable requirements including but not limited to: finding all data objects having key values corresponding to points within a specified bounding region or at a discrete coordinate of a multidimensional space); and
coordinating state information between a first node of the plurality of nodes and a second node of the plurality of nodes b ( ¶ 0031 - One or both of the coordination servers Cl, C2 can receive search requests from first and second devices Dl, D2 pursuant to the method 500, such as cellular mobile devices, personal computers, and application servers. Alternatively, in the case of a decentralized implementation of the methods 400 and 500, the coordination servers Cl, C2 can be omitted, and one or more of the server storage nodes N1, N2, N3, N4 can be configured to perform the methods 400 and 500 - See ¶ 0029 - data is retrieved from the one or more data objects corresponding to the one or more key values of the dimensional specification from one or more of the plurality of nodes (step 508). If data is received from more than one of the plurality of nodes, data from the plurality of nodes is preferably merged and duplicated data is preferably pruned – See Also ¶ 0034).
However, Myers does not explicitly teach
at the first node, computing a first cryptographic fingerprint of the data associated with a region of the key space to coordinate (the "coordination region");at the second node, computing a second cryptographic fingerprint of the data associated with the coordination region; comparing the first cryptographic fingerprint and the second cryptographic fingerprint; and when the first cryptographic fingerprint is different than the second cryptographic fingerprint, communicating a state change message to synchronize the state between the first node and the second node.
Lakshman teaches
at the first node, computing a first cryptographic fingerprint of the data associated with a region of the key space to coordinate (the "coordination region");at the second node, computing a second cryptographic fingerprint of the data associated with the coordination region; comparing the first cryptographic fingerprint and the second cryptographic fingerprint (Abstract - A fingerprint file is calculated for each SST (metadata) file on disk that includes hash values corresponding to regions of the SST file. To synchronize, the fingerprint files of two SST files are compared, and if any hash values are missing from a fingerprint file then the key-value-timestamp triples corresponding to these missing hash values are sent to the SST file that is missing them 0075 -in step 616 the triples of the local fingerprint file are compared against the triples of the remote fingerprint files, one file at a time. The SLH triples of the local fingerprint file are compared against the SLH triples of a remote fingerprint file in order to determine if the remote fingerprint file includes any SLH triples that the local file does not have. This comparison may be performed in a variety of manners; in one specific embodiment, the comparison determines whether the remote fingerprint file includes any triples having a hash value that is not present in any triple in the local fingerprint file. If so, these triples are identified as missing fingerprint triples).
when the first cryptographic fingerprint is different than the second cryptographic fingerprint, communicating a state change message to synchronize the state between the first node and the second node (¶ 0075 - the comparison determines whether the remote fingerprint file includes any triples having a hash value that is not present in any triple in the local fingerprint file. If so, these triples are identified as missing fingerprint triples. For example, referring to FIG. 8, assuming that 530 represents a remote SST, that file 550 is the fingerprint file for SST 530, and that the hash values for regions 542 and 544 (X and Y) are not present in any SLH triple in the local fingerprint file, then the first two SLH triples corresponding to regions 542 and 544 are identified as missing fingerprint triples. Missing SLH triples for regions 542 and 544 means that key-value timestamp triples from ranges 542 and 544 are missing in the local SST – ¶ 0076 - The request may be made in many ways, for example, the request may simply include a list of the entire missing SLH triples, a list of the hash values that are missing, a list of the regions corresponding to the missing triples, a list of boundaries defining the missing triples, etc. If fingerprint triples are missing from
more than one fingerprint file – ¶ 0077 - the remote node holding SST 530 receives the request from the local node and retrieves the SST that is the subject of the request. The remote node then prepares a response which will be a new SST that contains a sequence of the key-value-timestamp triples that correspond to the missing SLH triples identified in step 620. Continuing with the above example, if the missing SLH triples are those two that have the hash values "X" and "Y" in fingerprint file 550, it is determined that these missing triples correspond to regions 542 and 544. Next, for each region, any entire key-value-timestamp triple found within that region is placed into the new SST file, for region 542 this includes the triple 532 – See ¶ 0078).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Myers to include the teachings of Lakshman The motivation for doing so is to allow the system to provide synchronization of metadata used to store data for faster access within ta data center (Lakshman – ¶ 0002).
Regarding claim 18
Myers does not explicitly teach
wherein the state change message updates stored state that is temporally or logically older using information that is temporally or logically newer
However, Lakshman teaches
wherein the state change message updates stored state that is temporally or logically older using information that is temporally or logically newer (¶ 0077 - the remote node holding SST 530 receives the request from the local node and retrieves the SST that is the subject of the request. The remote node then prepares a response which will be a new SST that contains a sequence of the key-value-timestamp triples that correspond to the missing SLH triples identified in step 620. Continuing with the above example, if the missing SLH triples are those two that have the hash values "X" and "Y" in fingerprint file 550,. the remote node removes any such duplicates before it returns this new SST file to the requesting local node. Or, the remote node filters out any duplicate triples before the new SST is written locally on the remote node, before sending the new SST to the local node. (0078] Next, in step 628, the local node compacts the local SST (the local SST which was chosen for iteration above in step 604) with the received new SST from the remote node to create a replacement SST – ¶ 0037 - Typically, metadata is generated during and after a write operation and pertains to a particular block of data that has been stored. Each item of metadata includes a key-value timestamps triplet, the key being a string, the value being a number of bytes, and the timestamp being the physical or logical time when the write occurred. The metadata that may be synchronized by the present invention encompasses many types and includes: mutation information after write requests (where data blocks were written, success and failure, virtual disk name, etc.); statistical information (metrics concerning the storage space being used) and any kind of information needed to keep the health and operational efficiency of the system).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Myers to include the teachings of Lakshman The motivation for doing so is to allow the system to provide synchronization of metadata used to store data for faster access within ta data center (Lakshman – ¶ 0002).
Claims 2,9,16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Myers in view of Lakshman further in view of Jonas et al. Publication No. US 2015/0101061 A1 (Jonas hereinafter)
Regarding claim 2
Myers teaches at least one dimension of the region (¶ 0029 ). However, Myers does not explicitly teach that the at least one dimension of the region is a temporal dimension.
Jonas teaches
at least one dimension of the region is a temporal dimension (¶ 0043 - An STB can represent a two-dimensional spacetime region (i.e., a surface region and a time interval), a three-dimensional spacetime region (i.e., a space region and a time interval), or really any n-dimensional spacetime region (e.g., the combination of a space region, time interval and a radio frequency range – see Also - Claim 5). .
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Myers to include the teachings of Jonas. The motivation for doing so is to allow the system to track data over time.
Regarding claim 9
Myers teaches at least one dimension of the region (¶ 0029 ). However, Myers does not explicitly teach that the at least one dimension of the region is a temporal dimension.
Jonas teaches
at least one dimension of the region is a temporal dimension (¶ 0043 - An STB can represent a two-dimensional spacetime region (i.e., a surface region and a time interval), a three-dimensional spacetime region (i.e., a space region and a time interval), or really any n-dimensional spacetime region (e.g., the combination of a space region, time interval and a radio frequency range – see Also - Claim 5).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Myers to include the teachings of Jonas. The motivation for doing so is to allow the system to track data over time.
Regarding claim 16
Myers teaches at least one dimension of the region (¶ 0029 ). However, Myers does not explicitly teach that the at least one dimension of the region is a temporal dimension.
Jonas teaches
at least one dimension of the region is a temporal dimension (¶ 0043 - An STB can represent a two-dimensional spacetime region (i.e., a surface region and a time interval), a three-dimensional spacetime region (i.e., a space region and a time interval), or really any n-dimensional spacetime region (e.g., the combination of a space region, time interval and a radio frequency range – see Also - Claim 5). .
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Myers to include the teachings of Jonas. The motivation for doing so is to allow the system to track data over time.
Claims 3,10,17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Myers in view of Lakshman further in view of Dunagan et al. Publication No. US 2009/0228431 A1 (Dunagan hereinafter)
Regarding claim 3
Myers teaches at least one dimension of the region (¶ 0029 ). However, Myers does not explicitly teach that the at least one dimension is defined by a logical clock.
Dunagan teaches
at least one dimension is defined by a logical clock (¶ 0055 - A second temporal dimension, occurrence time, models when such changes occur from the event provider perspective. An insert event of a certain ID is the tuple with minimum occurrence start time value among all events with that ID. Other events of the same ID are referred to as modification events. Both valid time and occurrence time are assigned by the same logical clock of the event provider).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Myers to include the teachings of Dunagan. The motivation for doing so is to allow the system to maintain consistency and coordination across different nodes to improve system reliability and fault tolerance.
Regarding claim 10
Myers teaches at least one dimension of the region (¶ 0029 ). However, Myers does not explicitly teach that the at least one dimension is defined by a logical clock.
Dunagan teaches
at least one dimension is defined by a logical clock (¶ 0055 - A second temporal dimension, occurrence time, models when such changes occur from the event provider perspective. An insert event of a certain ID is the tuple with minimum occurrence start time value among all events with that ID. Other events of the same ID are referred to as modification events. Both valid time and occurrence time are assigned by the same logical clock of the event provider).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Myers to include the teachings of Dunagan. The motivation for doing so is to allow the system to maintain consistency and coordination across different nodes to improve system reliability and fault tolerance.
Regarding claim 17
Myers teaches at least one dimension of the region (¶ 0029 ). However, Myers does not explicitly teach that the at least one dimension is defined by a logical clock.
Dunagan teaches
at least one dimension is defined by a logical clock (¶ 0055 - A second temporal dimension, occurrence time, models when such changes occur from the event provider perspective. An insert event of a certain ID is the tuple with minimum occurrence start time value among all events with that ID. Other events of the same ID are referred to as modification events. Both valid time and occurrence time are assigned by the same logical clock of the event provider).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Myers to include the teachings of Dunagan. The motivation for doing so is to allow the system to maintain consistency and coordination across different nodes to improve system reliability and fault tolerance.
Claims 5,12,19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Myers in view of Lakshman further in view of Xu et al. Publication No.US 2024/0220334 A1 (Xu hereinafter)
Regarding claim 5
Myers in view of Lakshman teaches
when the first cryptographic fingerprint is different than the second cryptographic fingerprint, [..] using a first sub-region and a second sub-region; and iteratively using the first sub-region and the second sub-region as the coordination region (Lakshman - ¶ 0077 - if the missing SLH triples are those two that have the hash values "X" and "Y" in fingerprint file 550, it is determined that these missing triples correspond to regions 542 and 544 Next, for each region, any entire key-value-timestamp triple found within that region is placed into the new SST file, for region 542 this includes the triple 532. In addition, any triple partially found within a region will also be included. Thus, the triple 552 will be added to the new SST file because it is partially in region 542. Similarly, regarding region 544, both triples 552 and 554 will also be added to the new SST file) .
However, Myers in view of Lakshman does not explicitly teach that the first sub region and second sub region are partitioned (e.g. partitioning the region into a first sub-region (region 542) and a second sub-region (region 544).
Xu teaches
partitioning the region into a first sub-region and a second sub-region (¶ 0111 - The data area may be divided into a plurality of sub-areas based on different hash values).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Myers in view of Lakshman to include the teachings of Xu. The motivation for doing so is to allow the system to write data into corresponding sub-areas.
Regarding claim 12
Myers in view of Lakshman teaches
when the first cryptographic fingerprint is different than the second cryptographic fingerprint, [..] using a first sub-region and a second sub-region; and iteratively using the first sub-region and the second sub-region as the coordination region (Lakshman - ¶ 0077 - if the missing SLH triples are those two that have the hash values "X" and "Y" in fingerprint file 550, it is determined that these missing triples correspond to regions 542 and 544 Next, for each region, any entire key-value-timestamp triple found within that region is placed into the new SST file, for region 542 this includes the triple 532. In addition, any triple partially found within a region will also be included. Thus, the triple 552 will be added to the new SST file because it is partially in region 542. Similarly, regarding region 544, both triples 552 and 554 will also be added to the new SST file) .
However, Myers in view of Lakshman does not explicitly teach that the first sub region and second sub region are partitioned (e.g. partitioning the region into a first sub-region (region 542) and a second sub-region (region 544).
Xu teaches
partitioning the region into a first sub-region and a second sub-region (¶ 0111 - The data area may be divided into a plurality of sub-areas based on different hash values).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Myers in view of Lakshman to include the teachings of Xu. The motivation for doing so is to allow the system to write data into corresponding sub-areas.
Regarding claim 19
Myers in view of Lakshman teaches
when the first cryptographic fingerprint is different than the second cryptographic fingerprint, [..] using a first sub-region and a second sub-region; and iteratively using the first sub-region and the second sub-region as the coordination region (¶ 0077 - if the missing SLH triples are those two that have the hash values "X" and "Y" in fingerprint file 550, it is determined that these missing triples correspond to regions 542 and 544 Next, for each region, any entire key-value-timestamp triple found within that region is placed into the new SST file, for region 542 this includes the triple 532. In addition, any triple partially found within a region will also be included. Thus, the triple 552 will be added to the new SST file because it is partially in region 542. Similarly, regarding region 544, both triples 552 and 554 will also be added to the new SST file) .
However, Myers in view of Lakshman does not explicitly teach that the first sub region and second sub region are partitioned (e.g. partitioning the region into a first sub-region (region 542) and a second sub-region (region 544).
Xu teaches
partitioning the region into a first sub-region and a second sub-region (¶ 0111 - The data area may be divided into a plurality of sub-areas based on different hash values).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Myers in view of Lakshman to include the teachings of Xu. The motivation for doing so is to allow the system to write data into corresponding sub-areas.
Claims 7,14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Myers in view of Lakshman further in view of Jonas further in view of Wang et al. Publication No. CN 104935348 B ( Wang hereinafter)
Regarding claim 7
Myers teaches one dimension of the two discretized dimensions used to defined the coordination region and is chosen ( ¶ 0005, ¶ 0028). However Myers does not explicitly teach
one dimension is a temporal dimension and is chosen so that the time period associated with the temporal dimension is larger for older values and smaller for newer values.
Wang teaches
one dimension is a temporal dimension and is chosen so that the time period associated with the temporal dimension is larger for older values and smaller for newer values (Description - provides summary data compression method on the time dimension. summary data compression process on the time dimension is a relative error of large data according to time sensitive, the new data set is low, old data is set larger relative error, so that the new data has higher calculation precision and long-term presence of summary data low estimation precision, realize automatic conversion according to the configured error parameter between new and old data);
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Myers to include the teachings of Wang. The motivation for doing so is to allow the system to increase the storage space, but still can support approximate calculation error limit (Description – Wang).
Regarding claim 14
Myers teaches the dimensions of the coordination region are chosen( ¶ 0005, ¶ 0028). However Myers does not explicitly teach
they are larger in the temporal dimension for older values and smaller in the temporal dimension for newer values.
Wang teaches
they are larger in the temporal dimension for older values and smaller in the temporal dimension for newer values (Description - provides summary data compression method on the time dimension. summary data compression process on the time dimension is a relative error of large data according to time sensitive, the new data set is low, old data is set larger relative error, so that the new data has higher calculation precision and long-term presence of summary data low estimation precision, realize automatic conversion according to the configured error parameter between new and old data);
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Myers to include the teachings of Wang. The motivation for doing so is to allow the system to increase the storage space, but still can support approximate calculation error limit (Description – Wang).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/YOUNES NAJI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2445