DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Newly submitted claims 26-29 are directed to an invention that is independent or distinct from the invention originally claimed for the following reasons: Claims 26-29 comprises of new limitations that do not overlap with Claim 1 and Claims 26-29 also do not require all the limitations of Claim 1. Accordingly, the search for the limitations of Claim 26-29 would result in different prior arts than that of Claim 1.
Since applicant has received an action on the merits for the originally presented invention, this invention has been constructively elected by original presentation for prosecution on the merits. Accordingly, claims 26-29 are withdrawn from consideration as being directed to a non-elected invention. See 37 CFR 1.142(b) and MPEP § 821.03.
To preserve a right to petition, the reply to this action must distinctly and specifically point out supposed errors in the restriction requirement. Otherwise, the election shall be treated as a final election without traverse. Traversal must be timely. Failure to timely traverse the requirement will result in the loss of right to petition under 37 CFR 1.144. If claims are subsequently added, applicant must indicate which of the subsequently added claims are readable upon the elected invention.
Should applicant traverse on the ground that the inventions are not patentably distinct, applicant should submit evidence or identify such evidence now of record showing the inventions to be obvious variants or clearly admit on the record that this is the case. In either instance, if the examiner finds one of the inventions unpatentable over the prior art, the evidence or admission may be used in a rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) of the other invention.
Response to Amendment
In the amendment dated 8/5/2026, the following has occurred: Claims 1-11, and 15-18 have been amended; Claims 14 and 19 are cancelled; and new Claims 26-29 have been added.
Claims 1-13, 15-18, and 20-29 are pending. Claims 1-13, 15-18, and 20-25 are examined in this office action. This communication is a Final Rejection in response to the "Amendment" and "Remarks" filed on 8/5/26.
Claim Objections
Claims 3, 6, 8, 15, and 25 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 25 recites "penetrate the anode current collector and the anode current collector". The second occurrence must be corrected to "cathode current collector" as originally intended.
Claims 3 and 25 recite "poly(pheylene sulfide)" (missing "n", should be poly(phenylene sulfide)) and "acrylonitric butadiene styrene" (should be acrylonitrile butadiene styrene).
Claim 6 recites "cycloalpahtic amines" (misspelling of cycloaliphatic amines).
Claim 8 is missing an opening parenthesis in "trimethylsilyl)isothiocyanate" and misidentifies "aminosilan-based" (should be aminosilane-based).
Claim 15 recites "to provide indica of impending mechanical failure".
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 7, 9, 11, 17-18, 20-21, and 23-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO 2022/013741 A1 (relying on US 2023/0343921 A1 (US’921) for English translation and citations) in view of US 2014/0242441 A1 (US'441).
As to Claim 1:
US'921 discloses a method for fabricating an electrochemical cell, comprising (US'921, [0024], [0194]–[0195]); assembling a plurality of components of the electrochemical cell (US'921, [0024], [0236]–[0240]), wherein the plurality of components comprises: an anode (US'921, [0005], [0047], [0073], [0207]); a cathode (US'921, [0005], [0047], [0069], [0206]); a porous separator, directly ionically coupled or indirectly ionically coupled to the anode and the cathode (US'921, [0024], [0107]–[0109], [0236], disclosing an electrically insulating porous polymer grid/screen separator film having a mesh with a 2 to 4 mm step interposed between the electrodes to allow ionic conduction and prevent short-circuiting); and a continuous network of precursors of a polymer support system, the continuous network comprising a plurality of continuous pathways extending from the anode to the cathode, wherein at least some of the continuous pathways penetrate the anode, the porous separator, and the cathode (US'921, [0024], [0048], [0092]–[0095], [0108]–[0113], [0236]–[0240], disclosing depositing liquid monomer/polymer precursor mixtures across the anode, cathode, and porous separator grid film before solidification is complete, and pressing the half-cells together so that the liquid precursor material passes through the mesh separator apertures and penetrates the electrode active layers, achieving molecular interpenetration and continuity of material across the entire cell).
However, US'921 does not explicitly disclose an electrolyte positioned outside of the continuous network of precursors of the polymer support system, as US'921 describes dissolving the electrolyte salt and solvent directly within the precursor mixture (US'921, [0024], [0048], [0060], [0063]).
US'441 discloses an integrated electrode assembly and secondary battery having an electrolyte positioned outside of a continuous network of precursors of a polymer support system (US'441, [0001], [0011], [0016], [0020]–[0024], [0027]–[0029], [0058], [0061], [0072], [0074], Fig. 2). Specifically, US'441 teaches that the separation layer comprises a 3-phase viscoelastic structure wherein a distinct liquid-phase electrolyte component containing an ionic salt is incorporated into a polymer matrix of linear and crosslinked polymers; during assembly, pressing, and lamination, the liquid-phase electrolyte component flows out of the polymer matrix to impregnate and wet the porous voids of the anode and cathode, thereby establishing a distinct liquid electrolyte residing in open channels and interstitial void spaces outside the structural polymer network (US'441, [0001], [0011], [0016], [0020]–[0022], [0058], [0074], Fig. 2).
US'921 and US'441 are analogous arts because both references are in the same field of endeavor (manufacturing lithium secondary batteries and integrated solid/gel polymer electrode assemblies) and are reasonably pertinent to the same problem of improving ionic conduction, eliminating interfacial resistance, and mitigating mechanical strain and expansion during battery cycling (US'921, [0001], [0023]–[0027]; US'441, [0001]–[0003], [0010]–[0017]).
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to incorporate the multi-phase liquid-electrolyte and viscoelastic polymer precursor system of US'441 into the continuous roll-to-roll partial-curing assembly process of US'921, because US'441 explicitly teaches that providing a distinct liquid-phase electrolyte that flows into the electrode voids during assembly and pressing ensures uniform electrode wetting, increases ionic conductivity, and accommodates electrode volume changes during charge/discharge cycling without sacrificing structural integrity (US'441, [0010]–[0017], [0058], [0061]), while US'921 teaches that assembling incompletely solidified precursor layers through a mesh separator eliminates interfacial barriers and lowers internal cell resistance (US'921, [0023]–[0030], [0093]–[0096], [0108]–[0113]).
As to Claim 2:
US'921 in view of US'441 discloses the method of Claim 1 (see the rejection of Claim 1 above); US'921 discloses wherein the precursors of the polymer support system are selected from the group consisting of: one or more polymeric precursors (US'921, [0024], [0048], [0065], disclosing monomer or polymer mixtures such as trimethylolpropane ethoxylate triacrylate (ETPTA)); one or more initiators (US'921, [0024], [0060], [0066]–[0067], disclosing polymerization or crosslinking photoinitiators such as 2-hydroxy-2-methylpropiophenone (HMPP / Darocur 1173) and 2,2-dimethoxy-2-phenylacetophenone (DMPA)); one or more binders (US'921, [0003], [0048], [0056], [0079], disclosing using the solidifiable liquid electrolyte and monomer mixture as a wetting and binding agent to provide mechanical hold and adhere active materials to current collectors); one or more crosslinkers (US'921, [0024], [0048], [0065]–[0066], disclosing crosslinking monomers and polymers forming a crosslinked polymer gel electrolyte); one or more carbonaceous materials (US'921, [0024], [0048], [0054], [0071], [0075], disclosing carbonaceous electrically conducting fillers including carbon black, carbon nanotubes, carbon nanofibers, graphene, and graphene oxide); one or more thermosetting materials (US'921, [0016], [0024], [0065]–[0066], [0083], disclosing crosslinking polymers and photopolymers); one or more solvent systems (US'921, [0060], disclosing carbonate solvents and ether solvents); one or more lithium ion transporting compounds (US'921, [0024], [0060], [0063], disclosing lithium salts including lithium bis(trifluoromethanesulfonyl)imide (LiTFSI) and
LiPF
6
); and combinations thereof (US'921, [0024], [0048], [0054], [0060]–[0076]).
As to Claim 3:
US'921 in view of US'441 discloses the method of Claim 2 (see the rejection of Claims 1 and 2 above); US'921 discloses wherein the precursors of the polymer support system include the one or more polymeric precursors (US'921, [0024], [0048], [0065]); wherein the one or more polymeric precursors are precursors of one or more compounds selected from the group consisting of: polyacrylates (US'921, [0065], disclosing using trimethylolpropane ethoxylate triacrylate (ETPTA) monomer as a precursor for forming a crosslinked polyacrylate polymer network); polyacrylonitrile (PAN) (US'921, [0024], [0045], [0073]); polyesters (US'921, [0045], [0203]); polyethylene, polypropylene, and epoxies (US'921, [0024], [0045], [0079]); and combinations thereof (US'921, [0024], [0048], [0065]).
As to Claim 4:
US'921 in view of US'441 discloses the method of Claim 2 (see the rejection of Claims 1 and 2 above); US'921 discloses wherein the precursors of the polymer support system include the one or more initiators (US'921, [0024], [0060], [0066]–[0068]); wherein the one or more initiators are selected from the group consisting of: radical-generating compounds (US'921, [0066]–[0068], disclosing photoinitiators such as 2-hydroxy-2-methylpropiophenone (HMPP / Darocur 1173) and 2,2-dimethoxy-2-phenylacetophenone (DMPA) that initiate radical polymerization under irradiation); sources of electromagnetic radiation (US'921, [0024], [0083]–[0086], [0129]–[0133], [0213]–[0216], disclosing sources of light radiation including ultraviolet (UV) lamps, UV light-emitting diodes, UV laser beams, near-infrared radiation, and electron beams to initiate solidification); and combinations thereof (US'921, [0024], [0066], [0083]–[0086]).
As to Claim 5:
US'921 in view of US'441 discloses the method of Claim 2 (see the rejection of Claims 1 and 2 above); US'921 discloses wherein the precursors of the polymer support system include the one or more binders (US'921, [0003], [0048], [0056], [0079], disclosing that the solidifiable liquid electrolyte and monomer mixture acts as a wetting and binding agent to provide mechanical hold of the active materials and adhere them to the current collectors); wherein the one or more binders are selected from the group consisting of: polyacrylate (US'921, [0065], disclosing using trimethylolpropane ethoxylate triacrylate (ETPTA) monomer as a precursor for forming a crosslinked polyacrylate polymer matrix); and combinations thereof (US'921, [0024], [0048], [0065]).
As to Claim 7:
US'921 in view of US'441 discloses the method of Claim 2 (see the rejection of Claims 1 and 2 above); US'921 discloses wherein the precursors of the polymer support system include the one or more carbonaceous materials (US'921, [0024], [0048], [0054]); wherein the one or more carbonaceous materials are selected from the group consisting of: carbon black, graphene, carbon nanotubes, and combinations thereof (US'921, [0024], [0048], [0054], [0071], [0075], disclosing that the solidifiable precursor mixture contains carbonaceous electrically conducting fillers selected from carbon black, carbon nanotubes, carbon nanofibers, graphene, and graphene oxide uniformly dispersed in the precursor mixture before solidification); and graphite (US'921, [0073], disclosing incorporating graphite particles into the precursor mixture).
As to Claim 9:
US'921 in view of US'441 discloses the method of Claim 2 (see the rejection of Claims 1 and 2 above); US'921 discloses wherein the precursors of the polymer support system include the one or more thermosetting materials (US'921, [0016], [0024], [0048], [0065]–[0066]); wherein the one or more thermosetting materials are selected from the group consisting of: photopolymers and crosslinking polymers (US'921, [0016], [0024], [0065]–[0066], [0083], disclosing crosslinkable monomers and photopolymers that solidify upon exposure to radiation); esters (US'921, [0065], disclosing trimethylolpropane ethoxylate triacrylate (ETPTA) acrylate ester monomer); epoxies (US'921, [0045], [0079]); carbon fibers (US'921, [0045], [0048], [0054], [0071], [0075], disclosing carbonaceous fibrous fillers including carbon nanofibers and carbon fiber films dispersed in the precursor mixture); and combinations thereof (US'921, [0024], [0048], [0065]–[0066]).
As to Claim 11:
US'921 in view of US'441 discloses the method of Claim 2 (see the rejection of Claims 1 and 2 above); US'921 discloses wherein the precursors of the polymer support system include the one or more lithium ion transporting compounds (US'921, [0024], [0048], [0060], [0063]); wherein the one or more lithium ion transporting compounds are selected from the group consisting of: lithium bis(trifluoromethanesulfonyl)imide (LiTFSI) (LiC2F6NO4S2) (US'921, [0063], disclosing incorporating a lithium bis(trifluoromethanesulfonyl)imide (LiTFSI) lithium salt into the solidifiable liquid electrolyte precursor mixture); and combinations thereof (US'921, [0024], [0060], [0063]).
As to Claim 17:
US'921 in view of US'441 discloses the method of Claim 18 (see the rejection of Claims 1 and 18 above); and US'921 discloses wherein the polymer support system includes interpenetrating support structures, wherein the interpenetrating support structures are aligned along a direction perpendicular to a longitudinal axis of the porous separator (US'921, [0024], [0095], [0108]–[0111], [0236], Fig. 1, disclosing passing the half-cell strips and interposed mesh separator through assembly and pressing rollers, causing the liquid precursor material to traverse the separator mesh apertures across the thickness in a direction perpendicular to the longitudinal axis and plane of the separator to form perpendicular interpenetrating continuous connections between the cathode and anode).
As to Claim 18:
US'921 in view of US'441 discloses the method as recited in claim 1 (see the rejection of Claim 1 above); and US'921 discloses comprising: curing the precursors to form the polymer support system (US'921, [0024], [0066], [0082]–[0086], [0111], [0131], [0213]–[0216], [0230], [0238], disclosing exposing the deposited precursor layers to initiator radiation and completing the solidification and curing of the precursors after assembly to form the solid crosslinked polymer support electrolyte across the cell).
As to Claim 20:
US'921 in view of US'441 discloses the method of Claim 18 (see the rejection of Claim 18 above); and US'921 discloses wherein the curing is thermally driven (US'921, [0017], [0019], [0119], [0166], disclosing curing and crosslinking of polymer layers by heating and utilizing heating rollers to activate and accelerate the solidification of the layers).
As to Claim 21:
US'921 in view of US'441 discloses the method of Claim 18 (see the rejection of Claim 18 above); and US'921 discloses wherein the curing is optically driven (US'921, [0024], [0066], [0082]–[0086], [0129]–[0133], [0213]–[0216], [0230], disclosing optically driven curing using light radiation sources such as ultraviolet (UV) lamps, UV LEDs, UV lasers, or near-infrared radiation).
As to Claim 23:
US'921 in view of US'441 discloses the method of Claim 18 (see the rejection of Claim 18 above); and US'921 discloses comprising at least partially crosslinking polymers of the polymer support system (US'921, [0024], [0048], [0060], [0066], disclosing initiating crosslinking or polymerization of monomers or polymers using a photoinitiator under irradiation to solidify the layers by forming a crosslinked polymer gel electrolyte).
As to Claim 24:
US'921 in view of US'441 discloses the method of Claim 18 (see the rejection of Claims 1 and 18 above); US'921 discloses wherein the assembling comprises slot-die coating, extrusion, and calendering/compression via sizing and assembly rollers (US'921, [0024], [0045], [0080]–[0081], [0117]–[0119], [0123]–[0128], [0220]); and combinations thereof (US'921, [0024], [0080]–[0081], [0117]–[0119]).
However, US'921 does not explicitly disclose wherein the assembling comprises casting, nor does US'921 explicitly disclose positioning the liquid electrolyte in interstitial spaces outside of a distinct polymer precursor support network as noted in the rejection of Claim 1 (US'921, [0024], [0048], [0060], [0063]).
US'441 discloses an integrated electrode assembly and secondary battery wherein the assembling comprises casting, configured such that a distinct liquid-phase electrolyte resides outside the crosslinked polymer support network (US'441, [0001], [0011], [0016]–[0022], [0054]–[0058], [0072], [0074], [0077], [0080]–[0082], Fig. 2). Specifically, US'441 explicitly teaches casting the precursor slurry onto a substrate or plate to form the membrane/layer (US'441, [0054], [0077]) and laminating/pressing the counter electrode onto the layer (US'441, [0056], [0082]), wherein the precursors form a viscoelastic polymer matrix and the liquid-phase electrolyte component containing an ionic salt flows out of the polymer matrix during pressing and lamination to impregnate the electrode pores outside the crosslinked polymer support network (US'441, [0011], [0016], [0020]–[0022], [0058], [0074], Fig. 2).
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to employ casting and coating assembly techniques as taught by US'441 in combination with the continuous slot-die coating and roller assembly of US'921 and the multiphase liquid electrolyte system of US'441, and to arrange them such that the liquid electrolyte is positioned in the open void spaces outside the crosslinked precursor support network as taught by US'441, in order to achieve efficient, uniform layer deposition and scalable assembly of the electrochemical cell components while ensuring robust mechanical cohesion, rapid electrolyte impregnation, and low ion-diffusion resistance throughout the active electrode volumes (US'921, [0080]–[0081], [0117]–[0119]; US'441, [0010]–[0016], [0054]–[0058], [0077]).
As to Claim 25:
US'921 in view of US'441 discloses the method as recited in claim 1 (see the rejection of Claim 1 above); US'921 discloses wherein the plurality of components further comprise an anode current collector electrically coupled to the anode, and a cathode current collector electrically coupled to the cathode (US'921, [0002], [0045], [0197]–[0199], disclosing a first electrically conducting support serving as a cathode current collector for the positive electrode and a second electrically conducting support serving as an anode current collector for the negative electrode); wherein at least some of the plurality of continuous pathways extend from the anode current collector to the cathode current collector (US'921, [0045], [0048], [0056], [0095], [0108]–[0113], [0199], disclosing that the pasty/liquid precursor mixtures are deposited directly onto and wet the first and second current collector supports, and upon assembly through rollers, form continuous molecularly interpenetrating pathways extending across the entire cell between the two current collectors); and wherein at least some of the continuous pathways penetrate the current collectors comprising woven or nonwoven carbon fiber films (US'921, [0045], [0199]).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO 2022/013741 A1 (relying on US 2023/0343921 A1 (US’921) for English translation and citations) (US'921) in view of US 20140242441 A1 (US'441), as applied to Claim 2, and further in view of US 20180301771 A1 (US'771).
As to Claim 6: US'921 discloses a secondary battery comprising an electrode assembly (US'921, [0024], [0045]); wherein the electrode assembly includes a first electrode plate, a second electrode plate, and a separator interposed between the first electrode plate and the second electrode plate (US'921, [0026], [0048]); a battery case configured to accommodate the electrode assembly and an electrolyte (US'921, [0031], [0052]); and an electrode tab extending from the electrode assembly to the outside of the battery case (US'921, [0035], [0058]).
However, US'921 does not explicitly disclose the specific porous coating layer composition on at least one surface of the separator comprising inorganic particles and a polymer binder in a specific weight ratio, and further having a multi-layered heat-resistant coating structure with defined ceramic particle size distribution.
US'441 discloses a separator for an electrochemical device comprising a porous substrate and a porous coating layer formed on at least one surface of the porous substrate, wherein the porous coating layer includes a mixture of inorganic particles and a binder polymer in a predetermined weight ratio to improve thermal stability and prevent internal short circuits (US'441, [0018], [0032]–[0036], [0065]).
US'771 discloses a secondary battery separator having a multi-layered heat-resistant coating layer disposed on a porous base, wherein the coating layer incorporates inorganic ceramic particles having a multimodal particle size distribution and a binder resin to enhance thermal shrinkage resistance and electrolyte wettability (US'771, [0022], [0041]–[0046], [0078]).
US'921, US'441, and US'771 are in the same field of endeavor, namely secondary batteries and functional battery separators, and are reasonably pertinent to the particular problem of improving the thermal stability, mechanical integrity, and electrochemical performance of rechargeable battery assemblies.
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the separator of the secondary battery as taught by US'921 by incorporating the inorganic particle and polymer binder coating layer as taught by US'441, and further to configure the coating layer as a multi-layered heat-resistant coating with the specific ceramic particle distribution as taught by US'771. A person of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to combine these teachings to increase the heat resistance of the separator, prevent internal short-circuiting under elevated temperatures, and optimize electrolyte impregnation, thereby improving the overall safety and cyclability of the secondary battery.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO 2022/013741 A1 (relying on US 2023/0343921 A1 (US’921) for English translation and citations) in view of US 2014/0242441 A1 (US'441), as applied to Claim 2, and further in view of US 2019/0221785 A1 (US'785).
As to Claim 8: US'921 in view of US'441 discloses the method of Claim 2 (see the rejection of Claims 1 and 2 above); US'921 discloses wherein the precursors of the polymer support system include solidifiable liquid electrolytes and inorganic filler additives (US'921, [0024], [0048], [0091]); and US'921 discloses incorporating polyacrylates and polypropylene within the electrochemical cell structure (US'921, [0025], [0045], [0065]).
However, US'921 does not explicitly disclose wherein the precursors of the polymer support system include the one or more scavenging materials selected from the group consisting of: polypropylene (PP), polyacrylate polyols, phenolic antioxidants, n-octyltriethoxysilane, n-propyltriethoxysilane, trimethylsilyl)isothiocyanate (TMSNCS), aminosilan-based compounds, copper-containing compounds, zinc-containing compounds, iron-containing compounds, polyacrylates, volcanic ash, talc, mica, alumina, silica, cellulose-based materials, metallic reducing agents, metal halides, ascorbic acid, sodium bicarbonate, and combinations thereof, nor does US'921 explicitly disclose positioning the liquid electrolyte in interstitial spaces outside of a distinct polymer precursor support network as noted in the rejection of Claim 1 (US'921, [0024], [0048], [0060], [0063]).
US'441 in view of US'785 discloses an integrated secondary battery having a polymer precursor support system incorporating functional scavenging materials wherein a distinct liquid-phase electrolyte resides outside the continuous polymer support network (US'441, [0001], [0011], [0016]–[0022], [0026], [0030]–[0032], [0035], [0042], [0046], [0058], [0074], [0076], Fig. 2; US'785, [0004]–[0006], [0016], [0055]–[0063], [0073], [0090], [0093], [0099]). Specifically, US'441 teaches incorporating alumina (
Al
2
O
3
), polyacrylates, and cellulose-based materials (carboxymethyl cellulose (CMC)) into the battery precursor layers and separator (US'441, [0026], [0030]–[0032], [0035], [0042], [0046], [0076]), and US'785 explicitly teaches incorporating functional scavenging materials into secondary battery polymer precursor compositions, separators, and electrolyte/electrode assemblies to capture harmful moisture and hydrogen fluoride (HF) byproducts (US'785, [0004]–[0006], [0016], [0055]–[0062], [0090]). US'785 explicitly discloses: (i) moisture scavenging materials selected from alumina (
Al
2
O
3
), silica (silica gel), and magnesia (
MgO
) (US'785, [0062]); (ii) polypropylene (PP) (US'785, [0063], [0073]); (iii) polyacrylates (e.g., PMMA) (US'785, [0060]); (iv) cellulose-based materials (e.g., CMC) (US'785, [0093]); and (v) introducing alumina (
Al
2
O
3
) into polymer precursor mixtures containing polybenzimidazole or PVdF-HFP to scavenge moisture and reactive acidic species generated during battery operation (US'785, [0061]–[0062], [0090], [0099]).
US'921, US'441, and US'785 are analogous arts because all three references are in the same field of endeavor (manufacturing secondary batteries and functional polymer/separator assemblies) and are reasonably pertinent to the common problem of mitigating chemical degradation, scavenging harmful moisture and HF byproducts, and optimizing electrolyte ionic conductivity and mechanical stability across electrochemical cell components (US'921, [0001], [0023]–[0027]; US'441, [0001]–[0003], [0010]–[0017]; US'785, [0002]–[0007], [0054]–[0057]).
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to incorporate one or more scavenging materials selected from alumina, silica, polypropylene, polyacrylates, and cellulose-based materials as taught by US'785 and US'441 into the precursors of the polymer support system of US'921 in combination with the multiphase liquid electrolyte system of US'441, and to arrange them such that the liquid electrolyte is positioned in the open void spaces outside the crosslinked precursor support network as taught by US'441, in order to scavenge residual moisture and acidic reaction byproducts (such as HF) within the cell, thereby preventing decomposition of the electrolyte and solid electrolyte interphase (SEI) layer, suppressing transition metal dissolution from the positive electrode, and improving high-temperature cycle life and cell safety while maintaining high ionic conductivity and rapid electrolyte impregnation throughout the active electrode volumes (US'921, [0024], [0048], [0091]; US'441, [0010]–[0016], [0030]–[0032], [0058]; US'785, [0004]–[0006], [0026], [0057]–[0062]).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO 2022/013741 A1 (relying on US 2023/0343921 A1 (US’921) for English translation and citations) in view of US 2014/0242441 A1 (US'441), and further in view of US 2022/0344712 A1 (US'712).
As to Claim 10: US'921 in view of US'441 discloses the method of Claim 2 (see the rejection of Claims 1 and 2 above); US'921 discloses wherein the precursors of the polymer support system include the one or more solvent systems (US'921, [0024], [0048], [0060], [0063], disclosing that the solidifiable liquid electrolyte mixture comprises 50% to 75% of a solvent such as carbonate solvents, ether solvents, or ionic liquids mixed with monomer and polymer precursors); and combinations thereof (US'921, [0024], [0060]).
However, US'921 does not explicitly disclose wherein the one or more solvent systems comprise one or more compounds selected from the group consisting of: dimethyl siloxane (DMSO), tetrabutylammonium hydroxide (TBA), dimethyl formamide (DMF), 1,2-dimethoxyethane (DME), tetrahydrofuran (THF), triethylene glycol dimethyl ether (TEGDME), 2-methyl-2-oxazoline (MOZ), 1,3-Dioxolane (DOL), 3,3-dimethyloxetane (DMO), 2-ethyl-2-oxazoline (EOZ), e-caprolactone (CL), and combinations thereof, nor does US'921 explicitly disclose positioning the liquid electrolyte in interstitial spaces outside of a distinct polymer precursor support network as noted in the rejection of Claim 1 (US'921, [0024], [0048], [0060], [0063]).
US'441 in view of US'712 discloses an integrated secondary battery having a polymer precursor support system incorporating one or more solvent systems selected from DME, TEGDME, DOL, DMF, and DMSO, configured such that a distinct liquid-phase electrolyte resides outside the continuous polymer support network (US'441, [0001], [0011], [0016]–[0022], [0027]–[0029], [0058], [0072], [0074], [0076], Fig. 2; US'712, [0005], [0022]–[0026], [0071]–[0074], [0087]–[0092], [0101]–[0102], [0128]). Specifically, US'441 teaches incorporating organic solvent systems (e.g., EC, DEC, DMC, PC, sulfolane, linear esters) into a 3-phase precursor mixture forming a viscoelastic structural matrix and mobile liquid electrolyte (US'441, [0027]–[0029], [0076]), and US'712 explicitly teaches incorporating organic solvent systems into polymer electrolyte precursor compositions comprising crosslinkable monomers (ETPTA, VC), lithium salt (LiTFSI), and free radical initiator (AIBN) (US'712, [0005], [0022]–[0026], [0071]–[0074], [0087]–[0092]), wherein the solvent system comprises one or more compounds selected from 1,2-dimethoxyethane (DME), triethylene glycol dimethyl ether (TEGDME), 1,3-dioxolane (DOL), dimethylformamide (DMF), dimethylsulfoxide (DMSO), and tetrahydrofuran derivatives (US'712, [0072]–[0073], [0128]), and wherein the precursors form a viscoelastic polymer matrix such that the liquid electrolyte component flows into the electrode pores outside the polymer support network upon pressing as taught by US'441 (US'441, [0011], [0016], [0020]–[0022], [0058], [0074], Fig. 2).
US'921, US'441, and US'712 are analogous arts because all three references are in the same field of endeavor (manufacturing lithium secondary batteries, polymer electrolytes, and integrated electrode assemblies) and are reasonably pertinent to the common problem of formulating polymer electrolyte precursor solutions and solvent systems to achieve high ionic conductivity, low interfacial resistance, and electrochemical/mechanical stability across electrochemical cell components (US'921, [0001], [0023]–[0027]; US'441, [0001]–[0003], [0010]–[0017]; US'712, [0001]–[0005], [0071]–[0074]).
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to select the one or more solvent systems of the polymer support precursors to comprise one or more of 1,2-dimethoxyethane (DME), triethylene glycol dimethyl ether (TEGDME), 1,3-dioxolane (DOL), dimethylformamide (DMF), and dimethylsulfoxide (DMSO) as taught by US'712 in combination with US'921 and US'441, and to arrange them such that the liquid electrolyte is positioned in the open void spaces outside the crosslinked precursor support network as taught by US'441, in order to optimize the dissolution and dissociation of lithium salts, facilitate low-viscosity ion transport, and widen the electrochemical stability window while ensuring rapid electrolyte impregnation and robust mechanical cohesion throughout the active electrode volumes (US'921, [0024], [0060]; US'441, [0010]–[0016], [0029], [0058]; US'712, [0003]–[0005], [0072]–[0074], [0123]).
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO 2022/013741 A1 (relying on US 2023/0343921 A1 (US'921) for English translation and citations) in view of US 2014/0242441 A1 (US'441), and further in view of US 2016/0087252 A1 (US'252).
As to Claim 12:
US'921 in view of US'441 discloses the method as recited in claim 1 (see the rejection of Claim 1 above); and US'921 discloses coating external surfaces (such as cut side edges) of formatted battery cells with a photo-polymerizable electrically insulating liquid coating/varnish and curing it with radiation to form an insulating protective coating surrounding the edges of the cell or cell stack (US'921, [0141], [0270]).
However, US'921 does not explicitly disclose coating external surface(s) of the electrochemical cell with the precursors of the polymer support system and curing the precursors to form a casing surrounding the electrochemical cell, nor does US'921 explicitly disclose positioning the liquid electrolyte in interstitial spaces outside of a distinct polymer precursor support network as noted in the rejection of Claim 1 (US'921, [0024], [0048], [0060], [0063], [0141], [0270]).
US'441 in view of US'252 discloses an integrated secondary battery having a continuous precursor polymer support system and mobile liquid electrolyte, wherein external surface(s) of the electrochemical cell are coated with polymer precursors and cured to form a casing surrounding the electrochemical cell (US'441, [0001], [0011], [0016]–[0022], [0036]–[0038], [0058], [0074], [0076], Fig. 2; US'252, Abstract, [0001], [0016], [0018]–[0019], [0022]–[0028], [0060]–[0064], [0066], Claims 1, 8, 10, Figs. 2–5). Specifically, US'441 teaches the polymer precursor support system wherein precursors form a viscoelastic polymer matrix and liquid electrolyte is positioned outside the matrix in electrode pores upon assembly (US'441, [0011], [0016], [0020]–[0022], [0058], [0074], Fig. 2), and US'252 explicitly teaches coating and injecting external surfaces of an electrochemical cell (including the outer side walls and sealed portions of the battery case) with curable polymer precursors—specifically UV-curable monomers, oligomers, unsaturated polyesters, or polyacrylates (such as polyester acrylate, epoxy acrylate, or urethane acrylate)—and curing the precursors with UV light to form an external appearance part and protective casing surrounding the electrochemical cell (US'252, Abstract, [0016], [0018], [0022]–[0028], [0060]–[0064], [0066], Claims 1, 8, 10, Figs. 3–5).
US'921, US'441, and US'252 are analogous arts because all three references are in the same field of endeavor (manufacturing lithium secondary batteries, battery packaging, and polymer-encapsulated/coated electrochemical cells) and are reasonably pertinent to the common problem of encapsulating electrochemical cells, sealing battery case boundaries against moisture infiltration and electrolyte leakage, and preventing electrical short-circuiting while optimizing cell structural durability and ionic conductivity (US'921, [0001], [0023]–[0027], [0141]; US'441, [0001]–[0003], [0010]–[0017]; US'252, [0001]–[0004], [0009]–[0017]).
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to coat external surface(s) of the electrochemical cell with the precursors of the polymer support system (such as UV-curable polyacrylates or polyesters) and cure the precursors to form a casing surrounding the cell as taught by US'252 and US'921 in combination with the continuous cell assembly and multiphase liquid electrolyte system of US'921 and US'441, and to arrange them such that the liquid electrolyte is positioned in the open void spaces outside the crosslinked precursor support network as taught by US'441, in order to form a durable, protective exterior casing that effectively seals the cell against moisture penetration and electrolyte leakage, provides robust electrical insulation around the outer cell boundaries to prevent short circuits, and improves structural integrity and manufacturing yield while maintaining high ionic conductivity throughout the cell (US'921, [0141], [0270]; US'441, [0010]–[0016], [0058]; US'252, [0016]–[0019], [0022]–[0026], [0060]–[0064]).
Claims 13 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO 2022/013741 A1 (relying on US 2023/0343921 A1 (US’921) for English translation and citations) in view of US 2014/0242441 A1 (US'441), and further in view of US 2003/0175594 A1 (US'594).
As to Claim 13:
US'921 in view of US'441 discloses the method as recited in claim 1 (see the rejection of Claim 1 above); US'921 discloses continuous roll-to-roll manufacturing of flexible battery strips and coiling the assembled battery cell strip onto a coiling roller (US'921, [0007], [0148]–[0153], [0242]–[0245]); and US'921 discloses stacking and packaging formatted electrochemical cells (US'921, [0138], [0143]–[0147], [0271]–[0275]).
However, US'921 does not explicitly disclose arranging the electrochemical cell in a jelly-roll configuration, wherein the precursors of the polymer support system are present in interstitial spaces of the jelly-roll configuration, nor does US'921 explicitly disclose positioning the liquid electrolyte in interstitial spaces outside of a distinct polymer precursor support network as noted in the rejection of Claim 1 (US'921, [0024], [0048], [0060], [0063], [0242]–[0244]).
US'441 in view of US'594 discloses an integrated secondary battery having a continuous polymer precursor support system and mobile liquid electrolyte, comprising arranging the electrochemical cell in a jelly-roll configuration, wherein the precursors of the polymer support system are present in interstitial spaces of the jelly-roll configuration (US'441, [0001], [0011], [0016]–[0022], [0036]–[0038], [0058], [0074], [0076], Fig. 2; US'594, Abstract, [0003], [0007], [0010]–[0017], [0027]–[0028], [0038], Claim 1). Specifically, US'441 teaches the precursor polymer support system wherein precursors form a viscoelastic polymer matrix and liquid electrolyte is positioned outside the matrix in electrode pores upon assembly (US'441, [0011], [0016], [0020]–[0022], [0058], [0074], Fig. 2), and US'594 explicitly teaches disposing a separator sheet between cathode and anode sheets to form an electrode stack, winding the electrode stack in a jelly-roll manner, placing the jelly-roll into a cylindrical or angular battery case, and introducing/injecting a gellable polymer precursor composition (comprising crosslinkable gelling agents/polymers, organic solvent, and lithium salt) into the battery case such that the precursor composition penetrates into and fills the interstitial spaces and pores throughout the wound layers of the jelly-roll configuration, followed by crosslinking/gelling (US'594, Abstract, [0007], [0016], [0028], [0038], Claim 1).
US'921, US'441, and US'594 are analogous arts because all three references are in the same field of endeavor (manufacturing lithium secondary batteries, polymer electrolytes, and wound/jelly-roll electrochemical cells) and are reasonably pertinent to the common problem of assembling electrochemical cells into compact formats, eliminating electrolyte leakage, and optimizing electrolyte penetration and mechanical integrity across cell components (US'921, [0001], [0007], [0023]–[0027]; US'441, [0001]–[0003], [0010]–[0017]; US'594, [0001]–[0007], [0010], [0028]).
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to arrange the electrochemical cell in a jelly-roll configuration having the polymer support system precursors present in interstitial spaces of the jelly-roll configuration as taught by US'594 in combination with the continuous strip assembly and precursor system of US'921 and the multiphase liquid electrolyte system of US'441, and to arrange them such that the liquid electrolyte is positioned in the open void spaces outside the crosslinked precursor support network as taught by US'441, in order to maximize volumetric energy density, provide a compact cylindrical or angular battery form factor without liquid electrolyte leakage, and ensure thorough penetration and structural support across the wound cell layers while maintaining high ionic conductivity and rapid electrolyte wetting throughout the active electrode volumes (US'921, [0007], [0153], [0244]; US'441, [0010]–[0016], [0058]; US'594, [0003]–[0007], [0016], [0028], [0038]).
As to Claim 22:
US'921 in view of US'441 discloses the method of Claim 18 (see the rejection of Claims 1 and 18 above); US'921 discloses comprising curing the precursors to form the polymer support system (US'921, [0024], [0082]–[0086], [0111], [0238], disclosing initiating solidification with radiation and completing the curing/solidification of the precursors after assembly to form the solid polymer support electrolyte); and US'921 discloses that the precursors solidify over a reaction time period following assembly (US'921, [0111]–[0113], [0238]).
However, US'921 does not explicitly disclose wherein the curing is kinetically driven (i.e., curing driven under ambient conditions by chemical reaction kinetics of the precursor components over time without requiring external heating equipment or optical radiation sources), as US'921 utilizes external radiation sources (UV lamps, LEDs, lasers, or electron beams) or heated rollers to initiate and activate solidification (US'921, [0017], [0024], [0083]–[0086], [0119], [0129]–[0133]), nor does US'921 explicitly disclose positioning the liquid electrolyte in interstitial spaces outside of a distinct polymer precursor support network as noted in the rejection of Claim 1 (US'921, [0024], [0048], [0060], [0063]).
US'441 in view of US'594 discloses an integrated secondary battery having a continuous polymer precursor support system and mobile liquid electrolyte, wherein the curing of the precursors is kinetically driven (US'441, [0001], [0011], [0016]–[0022], [0036]–[0038], [0058], [0074], [0076], Fig. 2; US'594, Abstract, [0001], [0005]–[0007], [0010]–[0017], [0022], [0031]–[0032], [0038], Claim 1, Table 1). Specifically, US'441 teaches the precursor polymer support system wherein precursors form a viscoelastic polymer matrix and liquid electrolyte is positioned outside the matrix in electrode pores upon assembly (US'441, [0011], [0016], [0020]–[0022], [0058], [0074], Fig. 2), and US'594 explicitly teaches that curing and gelation of polymer electrolyte precursor compositions can be kinetically driven at room temperature through the chemical reaction kinetics of crosslinking between a polymer (e.g., nitrogen-containing polymers such as poly(vinylpyridine-co-styrene)) and a crosslinking compound (e.g., epoxy group-containing compounds such as butanediol diglycidyl ether) over a predetermined time period (e.g., 48 to 120 hours) without requiring external heating equipment or elevated temperatures (US'594, Abstract, [0001], [0005]–[0007], [0010]–[0017], [0022], [0031]–[0032], [0038], Claim 1, Table 1).
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to configure the curing of the polymer support precursors to be kinetically driven at room temperature as taught by US'594 in the cell fabrication method of US'921 in combination with the multiphase liquid electrolyte system of US'441, and to arrange them such that the liquid electrolyte is positioned in the open void spaces outside the crosslinked precursor support network as taught by US'441, in order to eliminate the need for expensive heating or optical irradiation equipment, prevent thermal cracking of electrolyte salts and undesirable thermal side-reaction byproducts during curing, and allow the precursor mixture to fully wet and penetrate the electrode layers before gelation is completed, thereby improving cycling life, capacity retention, and process cost-efficiency while maintaining high ionic conductivity and structural stability throughout the cell (US'921, [0024], [0111]; US'441, [0010]–[0016], [0058]; US'594, [0005]–[0007], [0010], [0016], [0046]).
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO 2022/013741 A1 (relying on US 2023/0343921 A1 (US’921) for English translation and citations) in view of US 2014/0242441 A1 (US'441), and further in view of US 2013/0269445 A1 (US'445).
As to Claim 15:
US'921 in view of US'441 discloses the method of Claim 18 (see the rejection of Claims 1 and 18 above); US'921 discloses wherein the polymer support system includes interpenetrating support structures (US'921, [0024], [0092]–[0095], [0108]–[0113], [0236]–[0240], disclosing forming continuous molecularly interpenetrating precursor support pathways extending across the anode, porous separator grid film, and cathode without interfacial barriers); and US'921 discloses wherein the polymer support structures provide mechanical strength, binding, and structural hold to the electrochemical cell (US'921, [0003], [0048], [0056], [0079]).
However, US'921 does not explicitly disclose wherein some or all of the interpenetrating support structures each independently comprise a chemical anchor configured to provide mechanical strength to the electrochemical cell and to provide indicia of impending mechanical failure of the electrochemical cell, nor does US'921 explicitly disclose positioning the liquid electrolyte in interstitial spaces outside of a distinct polymer precursor support network as noted in the rejection of Claim 1 (US'921, [0024], [0048], [0060], [0063]).
US'441 in view of US'445 discloses an integrated secondary battery having a continuous interpenetrating polymer support system and mobile liquid electrolyte, wherein the polymer support system comprises chemical anchors configured to provide mechanical strength and provide indicia of impending mechanical failure (US'441, [0001], [0011], [0016]–[0022], [0036]–[0038], [0058], [0074], [0076], Fig. 2; US'445, Abstract, [0004]–[0006], [0011]–[0017], [0030]–[0032], [0040], [0053]–[0054], Claims 1, 9, 16). Specifically, US'441 teaches the precursor polymer support system wherein precursors form a viscoelastic polymer matrix and liquid electrolyte is positioned outside the matrix in electrode pores upon assembly (US'441, [0011], [0016], [0020]–[0022], [0058], [0074], Fig. 2), and US'445 explicitly teaches incorporating chemical anchors comprising ring-opening mechanophore moieties (such as spirooxazines or indenonaphthopyrans functionalized and covalently bound at two or more positions into the polymer network chains) into crosslinkable polymer precursor networks (including polyacrylates, polymethacrylates, and polyurethanes) (US'445, Abstract, [0006], [0011]–[0017], [0030]–[0032], [0040]), wherein the covalently bound chemical anchors provide mechanical strength, toughness, and adhesion to the structural network while acting as self-reporting stress sensors that undergo a detectable optical/color change upon being subjected to excessive mechanical stress, strain, or elongation prior to catastrophic failure, thereby providing clear indicia of impending mechanical failure of the underlying structural component (US'445, Abstract, [0004]–[0006], [0011]–[0012], [0017], [0040], [0053]–[0054], Claims 1, 9, 16).
US'921, US'441, and US'445 are analogous arts because all three references are in the same field of endeavor (crosslinkable polymer networks, polymeric support matrices, and electrochemical/structural device fabrication) and are reasonably pertinent to the common problem of reinforcing polymeric structural matrices to withstand mechanical deformation and cyclic stress while monitoring, detecting, and mitigating structural fatigue and mechanical failure across polymer-supported components (US'921, [0001], [0023]–[0027]; US'441, [0001]–[0003], [0010]–[0017]; US'445, [0001]–[0006], [0011]–[0014]).
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to incorporate the mechanophore-functionalized chemical anchors of US'445 into the interpenetrating polymer support precursor network of US'921 in combination with the multiphase liquid electrolyte system of US'441, and to arrange them such that the liquid electrolyte is positioned in the open void spaces outside the crosslinked precursor support network as taught by US'441, in order to impart enhanced mechanical toughness and bonding strength to the polymer support network while simultaneously enabling real-time visual detection and self-reporting of internal mechanical stress, cyclic expansion damage, and impending structural failure of the electrochemical cell prior to catastrophic short-circuiting or cell rupture, all while maintaining high ionic conductivity and rapid electrolyte impregnation throughout the active electrode volumes (US'921, [0024], [0048], [0095]; US'441, [0010]–[0017], [0058]; US'445, [0004]–[0006], [0011]–[0017], [0053]–[0054]).
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO 2022/013741 A1 (relying on US 2023/0343921 A1 (US’921) for English translation and citations) in view of US 2014/0242441 A1 (US'441), and further in view of US 2017/0294639 A1 (US'639).
As to Claim 16:
US'921 in view of US'441 discloses the method of Claim 18 (see the rejection of Claims 1 and 18 above); US'921 discloses wherein the polymer support system includes interpenetrating support structures (US'921, [0024], [0092]–[0095], [0108]–[0113], [0236]–[0240], disclosing depositing liquid monomer/polymer precursor mixtures across the anode, cathode, and porous separator grid film to form continuous interpenetrating polymer support structures across the cell); and US'921 discloses continuous roll-to-roll strip manufacturing wherein continuous strips of electrode and separator components advance along a longitudinal length direction (US'921, [0007], [0024], [0108], [0120]–[0124], [0198]–[0200]).
However, US'921 does not explicitly disclose wherein the interpenetrating support structures are aligned along a direction parallel to a longitudinal axis of the porous separator, nor does US'921 explicitly disclose positioning the liquid electrolyte in interstitial spaces outside of a distinct polymer precursor support network as noted in the rejection of Claim 1 (US'921, [0024], [0048], [0060], [0063], [0108]).
US'441 in view of US'639 discloses an integrated secondary battery having a continuous polymer precursor support system and mobile liquid electrolyte, wherein the polymer support structures are aligned along a direction parallel to a longitudinal axis of the porous separator (US'441, [0001], [0011], [0016]–[0022], [0036]–[0038], [0058], [0074], [0076], Fig. 2; US'639, Abstract, [0001]–[0005], [0010], [0025]–[0028], [0034]–[0037], [0044], [0046]–[0048], Claims 12, 16, Figs. 1–3, 8). Specifically, US'441 teaches the precursor polymer support system wherein precursors form a viscoelastic polymer matrix and liquid electrolyte is positioned outside the matrix in electrode pores upon assembly (US'441, [0011], [0016], [0020]–[0022], [0058], [0074], Fig. 2), and US'639 explicitly teaches casting and applying a plurality of polymer ribs and support structures onto a porous battery separator substrate (such as a glass mat, wet-laid web, or polymeric sheet), wherein the polymer support ribs are positioned in continuous longitudinal configurations or discontinuous longitudinal rib configurations aligned all along the length and longitudinal axis of the separator to provide structural support, create defined channels for electrolyte flow, and maintain uniform electrode spacing (US'639, Abstract, [0002]–[0005], [0028], [0034], [0044], [0048], Claims 12, 16, Figs. 1, 3, 8).
US'921, US'441, and US'639 are analogous arts because all three references are in the same field of endeavor (manufacturing secondary batteries, functional battery separators, and polymeric support structures for electrochemical cells) and are reasonably pertinent to the common problem of providing structural reinforcement, maintaining uniform electrode spacing, preventing short circuits, and facilitating electrolyte distribution and ionic conduction across battery separator assemblies (US'921, [0001], [0023]–[0027]; US'441, [0001]–[0003], [0010]–[0017]; US'639, [0001]–[0006], [0024]–[0028]).
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to configure the interpenetrating polymer support structures to be aligned along a direction parallel to a longitudinal axis of the porous separator as taught by US'639 in the continuous roll-to-roll cell fabrication method of US'921 in combination with the multiphase liquid electrolyte system of US'441, and to arrange them such that the liquid electrolyte is positioned in the open void spaces outside the crosslinked precursor support network as taught by US'441, in order to provide continuous mechanical reinforcement and precise inter-electrode spacing along the entire length of the continuous web, establish open longitudinal pathways for unrestricted electrolyte flow and rapid cell wetting, and minimize separator electrical resistance while maintaining high ionic conductivity and structural stability throughout the cell (US'921, [0024], [0108]; US'441, [0010]–[0016], [0058]; US'639, [0003]–[0006], [0028], [0045], [0048]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-13 and 15-18, and 20-25 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on the combination of references applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JIMMY VO/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1723
/JIMMY VO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1723