DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species A in the reply filed on January 20, 2026 is acknowledged. Claims 10-13, 26-29 and 42-45 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5, 15-21, 31-37 and 47-49 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lin US 2011/0176860.
Lin discloses a connector (Fig. 1 below) for a straight edge (9) comprising: a straight edge (9) having first and second sections (9, 9) to be connected (Fig. 5, see below right), each of said sections having a first end and a second end; a body member (1) configured to be mounted to said first section at said first end, said body member partially extending from said first end and configured for insertion into said second end of said second section (see Fig. 5 below); a handle (4) connected to said body for movement with respect to said body; a locking member (2) mounted for movement with respect to said body member between a locked and unlocked position; a link (3) connecting said handle to said locking member, said handle moving said locking member between said locked and unlocked positions; said handle moving said locking member to engage said second section when in said locked position locking said first and second sections together, said handle moving said locking member to disengage said second section when in said unlocked position unlocking said first and second sections (¶0024-26).
As for claim 2, Lin discloses wherein said body member (1) includes a base and sides (recessed sections, 13), with said locking member (2) sliding within (via 21) said sides.
As for 3, Lin discloses wherein said locking member (2) is retained within said body member (1) for sliding movement and rocking movement (pivotal sliding along pins 6, Fig. 3).
As for claim 4, Lin discloses wherein said body member (1) and locking member (2) are interconnected with slots (14, 211) and pins (6).
As for claim 5, Lin discloses wherein said body member includes first and second slots (14) and said locking member includes first and second bores (211) configured to receive first (6) and second pins (6).
As for claim 15, Lin discloses wherein said locking member (2) includes a protrusion (22) configured to engage said section and lock said locking with respect to said second section and lock said first and second sections together.
As for claim 16, Lin discloses wherein said handle (4) is configured to pivot (via 7, 15) with respect to said body member (1) to move said locking member between said locked and unlocked positions (¶0024-26).
As for claim 17, Lin discloses wherein said straight edge (9) includes a plurality of pairs of sections (9, 9, Fig. 5) and a plurality of connectors to connect pairs of sections together (Fig. 5).
As for claim 18, Lin discloses a quick connect (Fig. 1 and 5) configured to connect first and second sections (9) together comprising: a main body (1), a locking member (2) configured to move with respect to said main body between locked and unlocked positions; said locking member configured to engage the sections when locked and disengage from said section to unlock said sections (¶0024-26).
As for claim 19, Lin discloses wherein said locking member (2) is retained within said body member (1) for sliding movement and rocking movement (pivot slides within recessed portions 13).
As for claim 20, Lin discloses wherein said body member (1) and locking member (2) are interconnected with slots (14, 211) and pins (6).
As for claim 21, Lin discloses wherein said body member (1) includes first and second slots (14) and said locking member (2) includes first and second bores (211) configured to receive first (6) and second (6) pins.
As for claim 31, Lin discloses wherein said locking member (2) includes a protrusion (22) configured to engage said section and lock said locking member with respect to said second section and lock said first and second sections together.
As for claim 32, Lin discloses a handle (4) configured to pivot (via 7, 15) with respect to said body member (1) to move said locking member between said locked and unlocked positions (¶0024-26).
As for claim 33, Lin discloses in Fig. 5 a plurality of pairs of sections (9) and a plurality of connectors (1, 2, 3, 4) to connect pairs of sections together.
As for claim 34, Lin discloses a connector capable of being used for a straight edge clamp comprising: first and second sections (9) to be connected, each of said sections having a first end and a second end; a body member (1) configured to be mounted to said first section at said first end, said body partially extending from said first end and configured for insertion into said second end of said second section; a handle (4) connected to said body for movement with respect to said body; a locking member (2) mounted for movement with respect to said body member between a locked and unlocked position; a link (3) connecting said handle to said locking member, said handle moving said locking member between said locked and unlocked positions; said handle moving said locking member to engage said second section when in said locked position locking said first and second sections together, said handle moving said locking member to disengage said second section when in said unlocked position unlocking said first and second sections (¶0024-26).
The recitation of the straight edge clamp and its structure is considered intended use in the preamble and claim body; the straight edge clamp is not considered part of the claimed invention which is “the connector” thus the recitation of “a straight edge clamp having clamps for attaching said straight edge clamp to a worksurface, said straight edge clamp having” does not hold any patentable weight other than an intended use / functional language. Lin discloses a connector for connecting several structure profiles which can be used with straight edge clamps on a worksurface, and thus anticipates the claims.
As for claim 35, Lin discloses wherein said locking member (2) is retained within (recessed portions, 13) said body member (1) for sliding movement and rocking movement (2 slides/pivots in and out of the recessed portions 13).
As for claim 36, Lin discloses wherein said body member and locking member are interconnected with slots (14, 211) and pins (6).
As for claim 37, Lin discloses wherein said body member (1) includes first and second slots (14) and said locking member (2) includes first and second bores (211) configured to receive first and second pins (6).
As for claim 47, Lin discloses wherein said locking member (2) includes a protrusion (22) configured to engage said section and lock said locking member with respect to said second section and lock said first and second sections together.
As for claim 48, Lin discloses wherein said handle (4) is configured to pivot (7, 15) with respect to said body member (1) to move said locking member between said locked and unlocked positions (¶0024-26).
As for claim 49, Lin discloses wherein said straight edge clamp includes a plurality of pairs of sections (9) and a plurality of connectors (1, 2, 3, 4) to connect pairs of sections together.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6-9, 14, 22-25, 30, 38-41 and 46 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The claims recite limitations to the slots of the body member being straight and offset to allow for movement of the locking member to slide and pivot with respect to the body member (claims 6-9, 22-25 and 38-41) and a locking member having a head portion with a finger wherein the link engages the finger to interconnect the handle and the locking member (claims 14, 30 and 46. The prior art of record fails to disclose, teach or suggest alone or in combination the claimed limitations. For the above reasons, the claims overcome the prior art of record.
Conclusion
/TYRONE V HALL JR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3723