DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 5-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kanj (U.S. 2022/0055525, all references made to US patent no. 11,505,112 for ease of reference).
Regarding claim 1, Kanj teaches a steerable lighting unit (see col. 2 lines 6-35) comprising:
a housing (see fig. 2);
two or more lighting elements arranged within the housing (see fig. 6a), the two or more lighting elements having a plurality of adjustable intensities (0 to 10, corresponding to percent, see fig. 4) between an on-state and an off-state responsive to an input signal, wherein at least two of the two or more lighting elements are differently pre- aimed at different angles to direct light in different pre-determined directions (see col. 6 lines 58-64, angular displacement of each LED column is .2 degrees, i.e. each column is aimed at .2 degree difference); and
a control unit (control centre 7) to provide a control signal to the two or more lighting elements to adjust the respective plurality of intensities (see col. 4), the respective plurality of intensities being adjusted such that a direction of an emitted light beam is changed responsive to an input lighting configuration (specifically steering angle), wherein an intensity of one or more first lighting elements of the two or more lighting elements is different than an intensity of one or more second lighting elements of the two or more lighting elements (adjustable intensities, see fig. 4), and wherein the direction of the emitted light beam is steerable across a vertical axis and a horizontal axis of the housing (see fig. 6a, 6b, individually controlled columns and rows, see col. 3 lines 8-16).
Regarding claim 2, Kanj teaches that the one or more lighting elements are at least one of an LED (LEDs), a high intensity discharge (HID) bulb, or an incandescent bulb.
Regarding claim 5, Kanj teaches that the control unit is configured to receive one or more control inputs (steering input) from a vehicle associated with the steerable lighting unit, the vehicle including at least one of an aerial vehicle, a marine vehicle, or a ground vehicle (ground vehicle).
Regarding claim 6, Kanj teaches that the input lighting configuration reduces a first intensity of at least one lighting element and increases a second intensity of at least one lighting element (see fig. 6a to 6b).
Regarding claim 7, Kanj teaches comprising: a cover positioned over the one or more lighting elements arranged within the housing (see fig. 2, cover for headlamp housing).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 8, 13-15, 21, 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kanj in view of Ouderkirk (U.S. 7,456,805).
Regarding claim 8, Kanj teaches a steerable lighting unit, comprising:
a housing,
two or more lighting elements (LEDs see fig. 6) arranged within the housing, the two or more lighting elements having a plurality of adjustable intensities (see fig. 6) between an on-state and an off-state responsive to an input signal (steering signal), wherein at least two of the two or more lighting elements are differently pre- aimed at different angles to direct light in different pre-determined directions (see light distributions and see angular resolution); and
a control unit (control centre) to provide a control signal to the two or more lighting elements to adjust the respective plurality of intensities, the respective plurality of intensities being adjusted such that a direction of an emitted light beam is changed responsive to an input lighting configuration (steerable from 6a to 6b), wherein an intensity of one or more first lighting elements of the two or more lighting elements is different than an intensity of one or more second lighting elements of the two or more lighting elements (see 6a, 6b), and wherein the direction of the emitted light beam is steerable across a vertical axis and a horizontal axis of the housing (see rows and columns).
Kanj does not teach at least a portion of the housing including one or more total internal reflection (TIR) lenses.
Ouderkirk teaches at least a portion of the housing including one or more total internal reflection (TIR) lenses (TIR fibers, see col. 5-6).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have used a TIR fiber as taught by Ouderkirk to shape the light emission and increase the optical efficiency of Kanj as is well known in the art, resulting in a more effective and brighter headlight module with lower power consumption. Additionally this enables a more remote location for the light sources, see col. 5.
The Examiner further notes that Ouderkirk specifically teaches being used in a similar manner as Kanj in a headlight function, see col. 9 lines 9-25.
Regarding claim 11, Kanj teaches that the direction of the emitted light beam is steerable across an axis of the housing (see fig. 6a, 6b).
Regarding claim 12, Kanj teaches that the axis is a vertical axis or a horizontal axis (horizontal axis).
Regarding claim 13, Kanj teaches that the control unit is configured to receive one or more control inputs from a vehicle associated with the steerable lighting unit (steering angle signal), the vehicle including at least one of an aerial vehicle, a marine vehicle, or a ground vehicle.
Regarding claim 14, Kanj teaches that the input lighting configuration reduces a first intensity of at least one lighting element and increases a second intensity of at least one lighting element (see fig. 6a to 6b).
Regarding claim 15, Kanj teaches further comprising: a cover positioned over the one or more lighting elements arranged within the housing (cover for headlight module see fig. 2).
Regarding claim 21, Kanj teaches further comprising a plurality of lighting columns within the housing (see fig. 6a), the plurality of lighting columns further comprising at least a first lighting column, a second lighting column, and a third lighting column, wherein each lighting column further comprises two or more column lighting elements (multiple columns, each with multiple LEDs).
Regarding claim 22, Kanj teaches that a direction of the emitted light beam is changed by dimming or increasing an intensity of the two or more column lighting elements of at least one of the first lighting column, the second lighting column, and the third lighting column (see fig. 6a to 6b).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 10/24/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding Applicant’s argument that Kanj does not disclose wherein the direction of the emitted light beam is steerable across a vertical axis and a horizontal axis of the housing, the Examiner respectfully disagrees.
The Examiner has interpreted “steerable” as “capable of being steered”, and not specifically “configured to being steered”. It has been held that the recitation that an element is “capable of” perform a function is not a positive limitation but only requires the ability to so perform. Griffin v. Bertina, 283 F. 3d 1029, 1034.
Kanj teaches a matrix of light emitting elements capable of steering the light beam in a vertical or horizontal direction. In figures 6a-6c, Kanj shows an example of dynamic bending light by shifting the light distribution from right to left. However, in figures 6a-6c Kanj teaches that the first three rows of the light sources are not illuminated. If the first three rows are illuminated and/or the lowest rows are unilluminated then the beam would steer upwards. I.e., the beam is steerable, even assuming arguendo, that the beam is not steered.
Furthermore, the Examiner further finds that Kanj does specifically teaches that the beam is configured to be steered. In col. 3 lines 13-15 Kanj states “However, the invention may be also applied to other lighting functionalities without a cut-off, such as the high beam.” Although the high beam is not shown, a high beam is a light distribution without a cut off. Projection of a high beam results in a beam where the average location is higher than the average location of a low beam, i.e. in a beam whose center is steered upwards. Changing the lighting distribution from a low beam to a high beam results in a steering of the direction of the beam in the vertical direction.
Lastly, as an additional note to compact prosecution, the Examiner finds that the steering of the light beam of Kanj in different directions with respect to the horizontal and vertical axes is an obvious and well known use that the structure is clearly capable of performing. I.e. Kanj teaches a steerable light source that steers by the same means as Applicant’s, the use of Kanj to achieve different results (such as a top right or bottom right) light distribution is well within the means of Kanj and an obvious utilization of such in view of the prior art. The Examiner attaches Kurashige (U.S. 2020/0063938) as an example of a steerable light system that steers light into different directions for different uses.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Matthew J. Peerce/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2875