DETAILED ACTION
Claim(s) 1, 2, 5-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Robledo Bueno (U.S. 10,583,936) in view of Hessling von Heimendahl (U.S. 9,919,810).
Regarding claim 1, Robledo Bueno teaches a steerable lighting unit (see abstract) comprising:
disposed on an aircraft;
a plurality of lighting units (see col. 6, 8x3 array of LEDs), arranged within the housing, comprising interior lighting units (central four columns) interposed between high-powered lighting units (outer two columns), the plurality of lighting units having a plurality of adjustable intensities (see col. 3 lines 33-37, e.g. 25%) between an on-state and an off-state responsive to an input signal, wherein at least two of the two or more lighting units are differently pre-aimed at different angles to direct light in different pre-determined directions (see fig. 3c-3e, different light sources point in different directions to change illumination zones); and
a control unit to automatically provide (see claim 2, receives signals and controls lighting structure), responsive to a plurality of sensor data (see claim 2, dynamic control based on sensor input) representative of in-flight positional changes of the aircraft comprising pitch changes (pitch specifically listed in claim 2), a control signal to the plurality of lighting units to adjust the respective plurality of intensities (see claim 2, control laws independently control LEDs), the respective plurality of intensities being adjusted such that a direction of an emitted light beam is changed responsive to an input lighting configuration (see claim 2), wherein an intensity of one or more first lighting units of the plurality of lighting units is different than an intensity of one or more second lighting units elements of the plurality of lighting units (each independently controllable, see fig. 3d, four LEDs have higher intensity than others), and wherein the direction of the emitted light beam is steerable across a vertical axis and independently steerable across a horizontal axis of the housing (independently steerable across rows and columns by control of the corresponding LEDs).
Robledo Bueno does not teach a housing, wherein the lighting units are arranged within said housing.
Hesslin von Heimendahl teaches a housing, wherein the lighting units are arranged within said housing (see fig. 1a, housing 10).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have used a housing as taught by Hesslin von Heimendahl to protect the light sources and mount a lens for light emission and increase the optical efficiency of Robledo Bueno, see col. 12.
Regarding claim 2, Robledo Bueno teaches that the plurality of lighting units the one or more lighting elements are at least one of an LED (LEDs), a high intensity discharge (HID) bulb, or an incandescent bulb.
Regarding claim 5, Robledo Bueno teaches that the control unit is configured to receive one or more control inputs from the aircraft vehicle associated with the steerable lighting unit (see claim 2), the aircraft vehicle including at least one of an aerial vehicle (see claim 2), a marine vehicle, or a ground vehicle.
Regarding claim 6, Robledo Bueno teaches that the input lighting configuration reduces a first intensity of at least one lighting unit and increases a second intensity of at least one other lighting unit (see fig. 3d, 3e).
Regarding claim 7, Hesslin von Heimendahl teaches further comprising: a cover positioned over the plurality of lighting units one or more lighting elements arranged within the housing (lens 8 operates as a cover).
Claim(s) 8, 13-15, 21, 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Robledo Bueno in view of Hessling von Heimendahl, further in view of Stopa (U.S. 10,420,177)
Regarding claim 8, Robledo Bueno teaches a steerable lighting unit, comprising:
a plurality of lighting units (LEDs, 8x3 array) arranged within the housing, comprising one or more interior lighting units interposed between high-powered lighting units (see annotated figure above), the interior lighting units further and a portion of the plurality of lighting units located, the plurality of lighting units having a plurality of adjustable intensities between an on-state and an off-state responsive to an input signal (various percentages, specifically teaching 25%), wherein at least two of the plurality of lighting units are differently pre-aimed at different angles to direct light in different pre- determined directions (see fig. 3c-3e); and
a control unit (inherently required, see claim 2) to automatically provide, responsive to a plurality of sensor data representative of in-flight positional changes of the aircraft comprising pitch changes (see claim 2, plurality of sensors, specifically sets forth pitch data), a control signal to the plurality of lighting units to adjust the respective plurality of intensities, the respective plurality of intensities being adjusted such that a direction of an emitted light beam is changed responsive to an input lighting configuration, wherein an intensity of one or more first lighting units of the plurality of lighting units is different than an intensity of one or more second lighting units of the plurality of lighting units, and wherein the direction of the emitted light beam is steerable across a vertical axis and independently steerable across a horizontal axis of the housing (see fig. 3c-3e).
Robledo Bueno does not specifically teach a housing disposed on an aircraft, wherein at least a portion of the housing including one or more total internal reflection (TIR) lenses, wherein the interior lighting units comprises TIR lenses, the plurality of lighting units being underneath the one or more TIR lenses.
Hesslin von Heimendahl teaches a housing , wherein at least a portion of the housing including one or more (TIR) lenses (lens 8), wherein the interior lighting units comprises lenses, the plurality of lighting units being underneath the one or more TIR lenses (see fig. 1a).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have used a housing as taught by Hesslin von Heimendahl to protect the light sources and mount a lens for light emission and increase the optical efficiency of Robledo Bueno, see col. 12.
Stopa teaches that the lens is a TIR lens (optic 22 is a TIR optic).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have used a TIR lens as taught by Stopa in combination with the LED array of Robledo Bueno to further collimate and project the light, thereby increasing the projection distance, see col. 5 of Stopa.
The Examiner notes that the combination of Stopa and Robledo Bueno may result in a large LED array within the TIR optic or multiple LED array with multiple optics, see fig. 5 of Stopa.
Regarding claim 13, Robledo Bueno teaches that the control unit is configured to receive one or more control inputs (see claim 2) from the aircraft associated with the steerable lighting unit, the aircraft vehicle including at least one of an aerial vehicle, a marine vehicle, or a ground vehicle.
Regarding claim 14, Robledo Bueno teaches that the input lighting configuration reduces a first intensity of at least one lighting unit and increases a second intensity of at least one other lighting unit (see figs. 3c-3e).
Regarding claim 15, Hesslin von Heimendahl teaches further comprising: a cover positioned over the plurality of lighting units one or more lighting elements arranged within the housing (sidewalls, lens 8).
Regarding claim 21, Robledo Bueno teaches further comprising a plurality of lighting columns within the housing, the plurality of lighting columns further comprising at least a first lighting column, a second lighting column, and a third lighting column, wherein each lighting column further comprises two or more column lighting units (8x3 array).
Regarding claim 22, Robledo Bueno teaches that a direction of the emitted light beam is changed by dimming or increasing an intensity of the two or more column lighting units elements of at least one of the first lighting column, the second lighting column, and the third lighting column (see fig. 3c-3e, each unit is individual controllable).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/Matthew J. Peerce/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2875