DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed May 28, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In the paragraph spanning pages 7-8 of Applicant’s Remarks, Applicant argues that the cited art fails to teach the subject matter added to the independent claims in the amendment. In particular, at the bottom of page 7 Applicant argues:
Concerning pending claims 1-5, 7, 9-11, 13-17, 19, and 20, without acceding that the present rejections have merit, Applicant notes that the combination of Sibillo and Sayles fails to teach or suggest all of the features of amended independent claims 1, 9, and 19. In particular, Applicant submits that the asserted combination of Sibillo and Sayles fails to teach or suggest second and third signals (or a first protection signal and a second protection signal in the case of claim 19) that are configured to propagate in opposing directions as may be seen in FIGs. 2 or 4 of the present application (See e.g., signals 112 and 208) and discussed in paragraphs [0103]. Rather, Applicant first note that Sibillo fails to disclose second and third signals for protection (See e.g., FIG. 1 of Sibillo as reproduced on pg. 4 of the present Office Action, which shows a singular protection layer 110 and a single communication layer 120).
Additionally, Sayles also fails to teach or suggest opposing protection signals as featured in the amended independent claims. In particular, the asserted examples of light curtain emitters 1210 shown in FIG. 12 of Sayles are only disclosed as emitting circles of lights (i.e., the light beams are all in the same, not opposing, directions of propagation. This is further reinforced by the example of FIG. 13 in Sayles showing only one direction of light paths 1340. Moreover, Applicant notes that detectors 114 as may be seen in FIGs. 1 and 2 of Sayles, for example, are to detect reflected beams from the emitters 112, and are not different signals and further are not configured as separate signal protection signals both configured to surround and protect a first signal (i.e., power beam 106). Still further, the totality of Sayles appears to teach detection of reflected light signals and change in wavelength due to various transmission/reflection factors rather than transmission of multiple protection signals between two units (e.g., see 200 and 202 in FIG. 2 of the present application). As such, Sayles would further not suggest to one skilled in the art a modification of Sibillo to arrive that the present claims.
Applicant is arguing the references individually. However, one cannot show non-obviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986). In this case, as discussed in more detail in the rejections below, Sibillo teaches the portion that Applicant argues is not taught by Sayles, and Sayles teaches the portion that Applicant argues is not taught by Sibillo. Accordingly, these arguments are not persuasive.
In the second full paragraph of page 8, Applicant argues that the dependent claims are allowable at least because of their dependence from the independent claims. This is not persuasive.
New rejections based on the new claim language is presented below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 - Obvious
Claim(s) 1-4, 6, 7, 9-11, 13-17, 19, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2020/0314069 (Sibillo) in view of US 2022/0229206 (Sayles).
Regarding claim 1, Sibillo teaches an apparatus for network security for transmitted signals, the apparatus comprising:
at least a first transmitter configured to transmit at least one first signal containing information or a signal of interest to be transmitted (FIGS. 1 and 2: one of the transmitters 140 corresponding to the communication layer 120); and
at least a second transmitter configured to transmit a second signal that at least partially surrounds the at least one first signal and is configured to protect the at least one first signal (FIGS. 1 and 2: one of the transmitters 140 corresponding to the protection layer 110); and
at least a first receiver aperture configured to receive a third signal that at least partially surrounds the at least one first signal and is configured to protect the at least one first signal and the second signal and that propagates in a direction opposite to the second signal.
FIG. 1 is reproduced for reference and illustrates a device with a communication light layer 120 surrounded by a protection light layer 130.
See also:
[0032] As mentioned, the laser light signal 130 uses a two-tiered approach to information transmission, containing a protection layer 110 and a communication layer 120.
[0033] The first tier of the laser light signal 130 comprises a communication layer 120, which contains the code or information portion of the transmission—the digital signal that contains the desired content (such as text, audio files, images, and the like). The communication layer 120 is generated from controlling software which converts the information-to-be-shared into a specific laser-pulse format. Laser pulses (in accordance with the desired signal) are in turn generated from a laser unit. Appropriate controlling software may coordinate both the information conversion into laser-pulse format, and the corresponding laser pulses emitted by the laser unit. Said laser pulses, as part of the communication layer 120, are received and interpreted after transmission by the receiving cells 150, resulting in coherent transmission of the desired information from transmitter to receiver.
[0034] The second tier of the laser light signal 130 comprises a protection layer 110, which may improve the security and reliability of signal transmission between the transmitting and receiving cells. The protection layer 110 is transmitted concurrently with the above-mentioned communication layer 120 and is generated in much the same way as the communication layer 120. However, the protection layer 110, rather than varying its signal intensity during transmission to reflect the underlying data being transmitted, may emit continuously during the transmission process. The protection layer 110 may serve as an “ON/OFF” switch for the receiving cells 150, by indicating whether a signal is currently being transmitted, or not. Additionally, if the entirety of the protection layer 110 is not received by the receiving cells 150, then that information may be used to indicate at least some portion of the laser light signal 130 is being blocked, not reaching the receiving cells, or even being intercepted, allowing additional security or replaying measures to take place, depending on the situation.
[0035] In one embodiment, if the receiving cells 150 receive laser light pulses comprising the communication layer 120 without accompanying pulses from the protection layer 110, the controlling software may immediately cease the transmission process. In this manner, the protection layer 110 safeguards the communication layer 120 from physical interception. This is especially true because the protection layer 110 is sent by transmitting cells 140 which form a physical perimeter around the transmitting cells 140 of the communication layer 120. The protection layer 110 thus forms an “envelope” around the information contained within the communication layer 120. OWC signals require physical interception of the light beams in order to be misappropriated by an outside party. By placing the protection layer 110 all around the light beams carrying the communication layer 120, it is not possible for outside parties to intercept the communication layer 120 without first intercepting the protection layer 110, which acts as a “tripwire” alarm of sorts which may immediately stops transmission of the laser light signal 130.
FIG. 1 illustrates the transmitters and receivers on both sides of the light beams. See also:
[0031] FIG. 1 illustrates an exemplary embodiment of a laser light communications device 100 that is configured to make use of a protection layer 110 to ensure signal integrity and data encryption during data transmission. The protection layer 110 accompanies the communication layer 120 during the transmission process, with the protection layer 110 and the communication layer 120 together forming the final laser light signal 130 that is transmitted. Transmitting cells 140 project the laser light signal 130 to corresponding receiving cells 150, whereupon the laser light signal 130 is interpreted and decoded by the receiving cells 150. In one embodiment, the transmitting cells 140 and/or receiving cells 150 may be replaced with transceiving cells capable of transmitting and receiving signals.
In other words, Sibillo teaches the use of transceiver/receiver pairs or transceivers for the protection light. As a result, protection light propagates in both directions. Therefore, to the extent it is not explicit, it would have been obvious for the device to have the second transmitter and the first receiver aperture as recited in the claim.
Further teaches of Sibillo are shown in FIG. 2 which illustrates an embodiment with transmitters and receivers in the same device (i.e., transmitters and receivers on the same side of the optical beams).
See also:
[0037] FIG. 2 provides a detailed illustration of the transmission cells 140 and receiving cells 150 arranged in an array, bordered by the protection layer 110. All transmission is controlled via software. Furthermore, transmission cells 140 may be converted into receiving cells 150 and vice versa.
[0038] The entire transmission and receiving process may have several channels which are independent and may also be assigned to different users.
See also FIG. 4 and the corresponding description:
[0051] In an alternate embodiment, the light transmitter and receiver may both be transceivers comprising both light transmitters and light transceivers. In one embodiment, the transmitters and receivers may be arranged in an alternating mating pattern, such that data may be transferred in either direction, either simultaneously or sequentially.
In other words, Sibillo explicitly teaches the use of transmitters and receivers (or transceivers) on the same side of the optical beams. Sibillo also teaches that the transmitters and receivers can be arranged in an alternating pattern to that light can be transmitted and received in both directions at the same time.
Although the Examiner is of the opinion that this is sufficient to teaches the claim, Sayles is also cited in the interests of compact prosecution. In particular, Sayles at FIG. 12D illustrates an embodiment of a light curtain safety system to detect objects which intrude into the several concentric rings of protection lights that make up a light curtain(s).
As can be seen in FIG. 12D, there are three concentric rings of protection lights. The innermost ring directly surrounds a center beam 1220, a second ring of protection lights surrounds the first ring of protection lights and the center beam, and a third ring of protection lights surrounds the first two protection rings and the center beam. See:
[0195] Referring now to FIG. 12D, in other embodiments of the object detection system 1200, still additional configurations may be used that employ multiple radial distances from the center of the shell cylinder. In one or more embodiments, three concentric rings of emitters are positioned at multiple radial distances from the center of the shell cylinder. In other embodiments, a light curtain emitters 1210 are positioned in a random distribution in an annulus area at multiple radial distances from the center of the shell cylinder, as shown in FIG. 12D. In still other embodiments, a light curtain emitters 1210 are positioned in a pseudo-random distribution in an annulus area at multiple radial distances from the center of the shell cylinder. In yet other embodiments, a light curtain emitters 1210 are positioned in other structured patterns of distribution in an annulus area at multiple radial distances from the center of the shell cylinder.
[0196] In one or more other embodiments of the object detection system 1200, the detection of an obstacle in at least one of many line-of-sight transmission paths between the plurality of emitters 1210 and the plurality of detectors controls whether the beam is transmitted. In still other embodiments of the system to detect obstacles, the detection of an obstacle in at least one of many line-of-sight transmission paths between the plurality of emitters 1210 and the plurality of detectors controls modulation of the beam 1220.
In other words, Sayles teaches that it was known for a beam protection system to use more than one set of concentric optical protection beams. The protection beams detect an object when it breaks the light beams and controls whether the center beam is transmitted in response to the detection of the object.
It would have been obvious that the device of Sibillo can be modified in a known manner, such as by using more than one concentric ring of protection light beams, as taught in Sayles (compare FIG. 1 of Sibillo with FIG. 12D of Sayles). In particular, both are in the same technical field (optical beam detection/protection systems) and the results would have been predictable.
Regarding the first receiver aperture, as discussed above the cited art teaches the use of the first receiver. Furthermore, it was well-known that optical receivers include an aperture and the Examiner takes Official Notice thereof. Therefore, it would have been obvious that the optical receivers taught in the cited art include an aperture.
Regarding claim 2, Sabillo teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the at least a first transmitter is configured to transmit the at least one first signal and the second signal as coherent wireless signals that are transmitted in free space and the third signal is a coherent wireless signal transmitted in free space by another transmitter apart from the at least a first transmitter.
Sabillo at FIG. 1 illustrates that the information and protection signals are transmitted in free space. See also:
[0002] Embodiments of the present disclosure generally relate to the field of optical wireless communications. More specifically, embodiments of the disclosure relate to the encrypted sharing of data via lasers shared between a transmitter and receiver.
Sabillo also teaches the use of lasers which produce coherent light. See:
[0033] The first tier of the laser light signal 130 comprises a communication layer 120, which contains the code or information portion of the transmission—the digital signal that contains the desired content (such as text, audio files, images, and the like). The communication layer 120 is generated from controlling software which converts the information-to-be-shared into a specific laser-pulse format. Laser pulses (in accordance with the desired signal) are in turn generated from a laser unit. Appropriate controlling software may coordinate both the information conversion into laser-pulse format, and the corresponding laser pulses emitted by the laser unit. Said laser pulses, as part of the communication layer 120, are received and interpreted after transmission by the receiving cells 150, resulting in coherent transmission of the desired information from transmitter to receiver.
Sayles also teaches the use of lasers. See:
[0060] In the present disclosure, a source for a guard beam is referred to as an “emitter.” The term emitter is distinguished from the term, “transmitter,” which indicates a source of a high-flux power beam. An emitter may be any type of optical or infrared emitting device, including without limitation a laser or a light emitting diode (LED), or an emitter may be any other source of electromagnetic energy, such as a light, having a flux level lower than the high flux power beam and determined to be safe. Along these lines, the detection module for a guard beam includes a “detector.” The term “detector” is distinguished from the term, “receiver,” which indicates a reception module for a high-flux power beam. A detector may be any type of optical or infrared sensing device, including without limitation a photodiode, a phototransistor, an avalanche photodiode, a photomultiplier tube, a portion of a 1-D or 2-D array of sensors such as a CCD or CMOS image sensor, or any other circuit or device (e.g., an emitter of radar or mm-waves) arranged to cooperatively detect signals from a corresponding emitter (e.g., a rectifier or transceiver). Emitters and/or detectors may include various electronic, optical, mechanical, electromechanical, and other components in addition to a light source and a photodetector, respectively, and some of said components are not described herein for brevity.
Therefore, it would have been obvious that the signals are generated in a known manner, such as with lasers generating free space signals.
Regarding claim 3, Sabillo teaches the apparatus of claim 2, wherein the coherent wireless signals comprise at least one of light signals or radio frequency signals.
Sabillo teaches the use of lasers as discussed in claim 2.
Regarding claim 4, Sabillo teaches the apparatus of claim 2, wherein the at least a first transmitter comprises one of a laser or a maser.
Sabillo teaches the use of lasers as discussed in claim 2.
Regarding claim 6, Sabillo teaches the apparatus of claim 1, further comprising:
at least a second receiver configured to receive both the at least one first signal and the second signal (FIG. 1: receiving cells 150 at one end of the optical beams);
wherein at least one of the at least a first transmitter, the at least a first receiver, and the at least a second receiver are configured to detect interruption of at least one of the second signal and the third signal to discontinue transmission of the at least one first signal by the at least the first transmitter when interruption or impingement of at least one of the second signal and the third signal is detected ([0035]).
See the discussion of Sabillo and Sayles in claim 1.
Regarding claim 7, Sabillo teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the at least one first signal comprises one of a bidirectional or unidirectional signal (FIG. 1: signal from transmitting cells 140 to receiving cells 150).
Sabillo also teaches bi-directional signals. See:
[0031] FIG. 1 illustrates an exemplary embodiment of a laser light communications device 100 that is configured to make use of a protection layer 110 to ensure signal integrity and data encryption during data transmission. The protection layer 110 accompanies the communication layer 120 during the transmission process, with the protection layer 110 and the communication layer 120 together forming the final laser light signal 130 that is transmitted. Transmitting cells 140 project the laser light signal 130 to corresponding receiving cells 150, whereupon the laser light signal 130 is interpreted and decoded by the receiving cells 150. In one embodiment, the transmitting cells 140 and/or receiving cells 150 may be replaced with transceiving cells capable of transmitting and receiving signals.
Regarding claim 9, Sabillo teaches an apparatus for network security and power transfer for transmitted signals, the apparatus comprising:
at least a first transmit/receive node configured to transmit or receive (FIG. 1: left transmitter/receiver):
at least one portion of a first signal containing first information or power (FIG. 1: communication layer 120) in coordination with one or more other first signal transmitters also transmitting respective portions of the first signal containing the first information or power information;
at least one portion of a second signal configured to surround the at least one portion of the first signal and protect the at least one portion of the first signal (FIG. 1: protection layer 110);
at least one portion of a third signal that at least partially surrounds the at least one portion of the first signal and the at least one portion of the second signal and is configured to protect the at least one portion of the first signal and the at least one portion of the second signal; and
at least a second transmit/receive node configured to receive or transmit the at least one portion of a first signal, the at least one portion of the second signal, and the at least one portion of the third signal, wherein the second signal propagates in a direction opposite to the third signal (FIG. 1: right transmitter/receiver).
Regarding the third signal, Sayles at FIG. 12D illustrates an embodiment of a light curtain safety system in which concentric rings of emitters are located at different distances from a center beam and are used to detect objects which intrude into the light curtain.
See the discussion of claim 1.
See also Sabillo at FIG. 2 which illustrates an embodiment of the transmitter with an array of transmitter cells 140 and an array of protection layer cells 110 surrounding the transmitter cells 140.
See also:
[0037] FIG. 2 provides a detailed illustration of the transmission cells 140 and receiving cells 150 arranged in an array, bordered by the protection layer 110. All transmission is controlled via software. Furthermore, transmission cells 140 may be converted into receiving cells 150 and vice versa.
[0038] The entire transmission and receiving process may have several channels which are independent and may also be assigned to different users.
See also FIG. 4 and the corresponding description:
[0046] FIG. 4 is a block diagram of one embodiment of a laser light communication apparatus. As shown in FIG. 4, the laser light communication apparatus 400 may comprise a light transmitter 405, light receiver 410, control module 415, and a stabilizer 420. The light transmitter 405 may comprise one or more light transmitter cells 425 and a barrier light source 430, and the light receiver 410 may comprise one or more light receiving cells 440 and a barrier light receiver 445.
[0048] In one embodiment, there may be a plurality of light transmitting cells 425 and corresponding light receiving cells 440. The greater the number of light transmitting cells 425 and corresponding light receiving cells 440, the faster the data may be transmitted, up to a limit of physical limitations and available technology.
[0051] In an alternate embodiment, the light transmitter and receiver may both be transceivers comprising both light transmitters and light transceivers. In one embodiment, the transmitters and receivers may be arranged in an alternating mating pattern, such that data may be transferred in either direction, either simultaneously or sequentially.
See also FIG. 2D of Sayles. In light of these teachings, it would have been obvious that there can be other/additional signal transmitters.
Regarding claim 10, Sabillo teaches the apparatus of claim 9, further comprising:
at least one of the at least a first transmit/receive node and the at least a second transmit/receive node configured to:
detect when at least one of the at least one portion of the second signal and the at least one portion of the third signal is obstructed;
cease transmission of the at least one portion of the first signal by the first transmit/receive node when at least one of the first transmit/receive node or the at least a second transmit/receive node detects that at least one of the at least one portion of the second signal and the at least one portion of the third signal is obstructed.
See the discussion of claim 1 regarding Sabillo and Sayles teaching to detect when the protection layers are obstructed and to cease transmission when this is detected.
Regarding claim 11, Sabillo teaches the apparatus of claim 10, further comprising:
the second transmit/receive node configured to signal to the first transmit/receive node that the second transmit/receive node detected that at least one of the at least one portion of the second signal and the at least one portion of the third signal is obstructed.
As discussed in claim 1, Sabillo teaches to modify or cease transmission is the protection light is obstructed. Furthermore, Sabillo teaches that the control of stopping and starting communication can be carried out between the nodes. See:
[0049] The barrier light source 430 may generate a barrier light 460 that substantially surrounds the data light 455, and the barrier light 460 may be received by the barrier light receiver 445. If the barrier light 460 is physically impeded, such as by an attempt to intercept the data transmission or an unexpected transmission interference, the barrier light receiver 445 may generate a stop signal that causes the light transmitter to cease transmitting the data light 455 until such time that the physical impedance is removed, at which point the barrier light receiver 445 may generate a go signal to cause the light transmitter to resume transmitting the data light 455 from a point immediately prior to the physical impedance incident. In one embodiment, the stop and go signals may be based on a light signal generated by the light receiver 410 and sent to the light transmitter 405. In an alternate embodiment the stop and go signals may be based on a wireless communication method.
Similarly, Sayles provides similar teachings with additional light curtains. In other words, the cited art teaches to send a message from the receiver to the transmitter to stop transmission in the embodiment of FIG. 4.
It would have been obvious that one of the nodes in FIG. 1 can signal the other node to stop transmission (e.g., signal the other node to indicate that the signal is obstructed).
Regarding claim 13, Sabillo teaches the apparatus of claim 9, wherein at least one of the at least one portion of the first signal or the at least one portion of the second signal, or that at least one portion of the third signal is configured to transmit according to specific signal emission characteristics including one or more of frequency, phase, spot size, shop shape, polarization, communication protocol, encoding, pulse train type, and encryption type.
As discussed in claim 1, Sabillo teaches to transmit using lasers. See:
[0033] The first tier of the laser light signal 130 comprises a communication layer 120, which contains the code or information portion of the transmission—the digital signal that contains the desired content (such as text, audio files, images, and the like). The communication layer 120 is generated from controlling software which converts the information-to-be-shared into a specific laser-pulse format. Laser pulses (in accordance with the desired signal) are in turn generated from a laser unit. Appropriate controlling software may coordinate both the information conversion into laser-pulse format, and the corresponding laser pulses emitted by the laser unit. Said laser pulses, as part of the communication layer 120, are received and interpreted after transmission by the receiving cells 150, resulting in coherent transmission of the desired information from transmitter to receiver.
As a result, the laser is configured to transmit according to specific emission characteristics including the wavelength of the laser, the polarization of the laser, etc. Also, there will be a spot size and shape depending on the arrangement between the transmitter and receiver. In addition, Sabillo teaches that the data can be encoded and encrypted. See:
[0053] First, data to be transmitted from a first physical location to a second physical location may be encoded by a control module 505. Then, the control module may transmit to a light transmitter a signal based on the encoded data 510. In order to ensure integrity of the data transmission, a barrier light source may generate a continuous barrier light to send from the light transmitter to the light receiver 515. The light transmitter may then cause its light transmitting cells to generate a data light based on the encoded data that is sent to the light receiver 520. Once the data light is received by the light receiver, the light receiver may convert the data light into the encoded data, and if the encoded data is encrypted as well, proceed with decrypting the encoded data by assembling the received data signals according to a predetermined or randomly generated encryption key 525.
These elements are also a communication protocol. Therefore, it would have been obvious that at least one of the signals is configured to transmit according to at least one of the criteria in the claim.
See also the discussion of Sayles in claim 1 which teaches the use of additional concentric layers of light curtains.
Regarding claim 14, Sabillo teaches the apparatus of claim 9, wherein at least one of the first and second transmit/receive nodes includes at least one fault detection/fault isolation subsystem logic circuit configured to tune and initialize a transmit chain for facilitating signal transmission as well as to detect and isolate transmit chain subsystem errors.
Sabillo teaches to detect faults in the form of interference with the barrier light, and to isolate those faults by stopping (and restarting) the transmission. See, for example:
[0049] The barrier light source 430 may generate a barrier light 460 that substantially surrounds the data light 455, and the barrier light 460 may be received by the barrier light receiver 445. If the barrier light 460 is physically impeded, such as by an attempt to intercept the data transmission or an unexpected transmission interference, the barrier light receiver 445 may generate a stop signal that causes the light transmitter to cease transmitting the data light 455 until such time that the physical impedance is removed, at which point the barrier light receiver 445 may generate a go signal to cause the light transmitter to resume transmitting the data light 455 from a point immediately prior to the physical impedance incident. In one embodiment, the stop and go signals may be based on a light signal generated by the light receiver 410 and sent to the light transmitter 405. In an alternate embodiment the stop and go signals may be based on a wireless communication method.
Sabillo also teaches that the apparatus can be implemented with logic (e.g., circuitry). See:
[0058] The processes or methods depicted in the figures may be performed by processing logic that comprises hardware (e.g. circuitry, dedicated logic, etc.), firmware, software (e.g., embodied on a non-transitory computer readable medium), or a combination thereof. Although the processes or methods are described above in terms of some sequential operations, it should be appreciated that some of the operations described may be performed in a different order. Moreover, some operations may be performed in parallel rather than sequentially.
In other words, Sabillo teaches to use processing logic (e.g., circuitry) to implement desired functionality, so that it would have been obvious that the fault detection/fault isolation functionality taught in Sabillo can be implemented as a logic circuit. It also would have been obvious that this is a subsystem logic circuit as it is a portion (e.g., a subpart or subsystem) of the apparatus. Therefore, Sabillo teaches the particular structure recited in the claim.
Regarding the remaining functionality, the Examiner notes that the claim does not recite particular structure other than “fault detection/fault isolation subsystem logic circuit” configured to perform desired functionality. As discussed above, Sabillo teaches this. If Applicant is of the opinion that the recited functionality requires more than the recited logic circuit, or that it requires particular logic circuitry, then the Examiner suggests amending the claim to recite the particular structure required.
In the interests of compact prosecution, the remaining functionality is also discussed. Regarding tuning the transmit chain, Sabillo teaches that some embodiments use particular frequencies for desired results. See:
[0039] In one embodiment, the protection layer 110 makes use of a laser light frequency that is notably at a higher energy than the informational communication layer 120. The receiving cells 150 may be configured to make use of the high amount of energy in the protection layer 110, by using the energy inherent in the protection layer 110 to enable data receipt by the receiving cells 150 at no use of energy by the receiving cells 150. In one embodiment, the frequency may be 9,600 Hz, which may be high enough such that the laser light pulses are not visible to standard human vision.
Because Sabillo teaches that particular operating characteristics are desired, it would have been obvious that there can be detection and feedback to the transmitter in order to tune the transmission to the desired characteristics (e.g., to a particular energy or frequency). As discussed above, this also teaches to initialize the transmit chain when it is time to resume transmission. Furthermore, the transmission is necessary started for a first time, and in doing so it would also perform the function of initializing the transmit chain. For the reasons discussed above, this also teaches to detect and isolate transmit chain subsystem errors (e.g., when detecting the obstruction and stopping transmission).
Regarding claim 15, Sabillo teaches the apparatus of claim 9, wherein at least one of the first and second transmit/receive nodes includes at least one subsystem configured for modulating transmit chain subsystems to ensure one or more of signal frequency, phase, spot size, shop shape, polarization, communication protocol, encoding, pulse train type, encryption type, or external housing vibrating lens/array face for signal transmission.
Sabillo teaches to transmit data using a laser. See, for example:
[0033] The first tier of the laser light signal 130 comprises a communication layer 120, which contains the code or information portion of the transmission—the digital signal that contains the desired content (such as text, audio files, images, and the like). The communication layer 120 is generated from controlling software which converts the information-to-be-shared into a specific laser-pulse format. Laser pulses (in accordance with the desired signal) are in turn generated from a laser unit. Appropriate controlling software may coordinate both the information conversion into laser-pulse format, and the corresponding laser pulses emitted by the laser unit. Said laser pulses, as part of the communication layer 120, are received and interpreted after transmission by the receiving cells 150, resulting in coherent transmission of the desired information from transmitter to receiver.
In particular, the laser is pulsed or modulated to represent the data being transmitted. This pulsing will provide a signal frequency, and manner in which the data is represented by the pulsing laser will also be communication protocol. See also the discussion of encoding, encryption, and other characteristics in claim 13.
Regarding claim 16, Sabillo teaches the apparatus of claim 9, wherein the first transmit/receive node is configured to transmit the at least one portion of the first signal, the at least one portion of the second signal, and the at least one portion of the third signal as coherent light or radio frequency wireless signals that are transmitted in free space.
Sabillo at FIG. 1 illustrates that the information and protection signals are transmitted in free space. See also:
[0002] Embodiments of the present disclosure generally relate to the field of optical wireless communications. More specifically, embodiments of the disclosure relate to the encrypted sharing of data via lasers shared between a transmitter and receiver.
Sabillo also teaches the use of lasers which produce coherent light. See:
[0033] The first tier of the laser light signal 130 comprises a communication layer 120, which contains the code or information portion of the transmission—the digital signal that contains the desired content (such as text, audio files, images, and the like). The communication layer 120 is generated from controlling software which converts the information-to-be-shared into a specific laser-pulse format. Laser pulses (in accordance with the desired signal) are in turn generated from a laser unit. Appropriate controlling software may coordinate both the information conversion into laser-pulse format, and the corresponding laser pulses emitted by the laser unit. Said laser pulses, as part of the communication layer 120, are received and interpreted after transmission by the receiving cells 150, resulting in coherent transmission of the desired information from transmitter to receiver.
Sayles also teaches the use of lasers. See:
[0060] In the present disclosure, a source for a guard beam is referred to as an “emitter.” The term emitter is distinguished from the term, “transmitter,” which indicates a source of a high-flux power beam. An emitter may be any type of optical or infrared emitting device, including without limitation a laser or a light emitting diode (LED), or an emitter may be any other source of electromagnetic energy, such as a light, having a flux level lower than the high flux power beam and determined to be safe. Along these lines, the detection module for a guard beam includes a “detector.” The term “detector” is distinguished from the term, “receiver,” which indicates a reception module for a high-flux power beam. A detector may be any type of optical or infrared sensing device, including without limitation a photodiode, a phototransistor, an avalanche photodiode, a photomultiplier tube, a portion of a 1-D or 2-D array of sensors such as a CCD or CMOS image sensor, or any other circuit or device (e.g., an emitter of radar or mm-waves) arranged to cooperatively detect signals from a corresponding emitter (e.g., a rectifier or transceiver). Emitters and/or detectors may include various electronic, optical, mechanical, electromechanical, and other components in addition to a light source and a photodetector, respectively, and some of said components are not described herein for brevity.
Therefore, it would have been obvious that the signals are generated in a known manner, such as with lasers.
Regarding claim 17, Sabillo teaches the apparatus of claim 16, where the first transmit/receive node includes one of a laser or a maser.
Sabillo also teaches the use of lasers which produce the light. See the discussion of claim 16.
Regarding claim 19, Sabillo teaches a method for network security for transmitted signals, the method comprising:
transmitting at least a first signal of interest from a first node to a second node;
transmitting first protection signal concurrent with the first signal of interest and configured to at least partially surround the first signal of interest in space for protecting the at least one first signal of interest; and
receiving at least a second protection signal concurrent with the first signal and that at least partially surrounds the at least one first signal of interest and the first protection signal in space and is configured to protect the at least one first signal of interest and the first protection signal, wherein the second protection signal propagates in a direction opposite to the first protection signal.
This is a method substantially corresponding to the operation of the apparatus of claim 1. This is rejected for the reasons discussed in claim 1.
Regarding claim 20, Sabillo teaches the method of claim 19, further comprising:
detecting when at least one of the first protection signal and the second protection signal is interfered with; and
ceasing or modifying transmission of the first signal of interest when the one of the first protection signal or second protection signal is interfered with.
Sabillo teaches:
[0034] The second tier of the laser light signal 130 comprises a protection layer 110, which may improve the security and reliability of signal transmission between the transmitting and receiving cells. The protection layer 110 is transmitted concurrently with the above-mentioned communication layer 120 and is generated in much the same way as the communication layer 120. However, the protection layer 110, rather than varying its signal intensity during transmission to reflect the underlying data being transmitted, may emit continuously during the transmission process. The protection layer 110 may serve as an “ON/OFF” switch for the receiving cells 150, by indicating whether a signal is currently being transmitted, or not. Additionally, if the entirety of the protection layer 110 is not received by the receiving cells 150, then that information may be used to indicate at least some portion of the laser light signal 130 is being blocked, not reaching the receiving cells, or even being intercepted, allowing additional security or replaying measures to take place, depending on the situation.
[0035] In one embodiment, if the receiving cells 150 receive laser light pulses comprising the communication layer 120 without accompanying pulses from the protection layer 110, the controlling software may immediately cease the transmission process. In this manner, the protection layer 110 safeguards the communication layer 120 from physical interception. This is especially true because the protection layer 110 is sent by transmitting cells 140 which form a physical perimeter around the transmitting cells 140 of the communication layer 120. The protection layer 110 thus forms an “envelope” around the information contained within the communication layer 120. OWC signals require physical interception of the light beams in order to be misappropriated by an outside party. By placing the protection layer 110 all around the light beams carrying the communication layer 120, it is not possible for outside parties to intercept the communication layer 120 without first intercepting the protection layer 110, which acts as a “tripwire” alarm of sorts which may immediately stops transmission of the laser light signal 130.
Sayles teaches a similar protection system using more than one concurrent rings of protection light signals. See the discussion of claim 1.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 3,381,242 (Rosenthal) teaches that it was known to use masers for coherent communication. See, for example, col 1:
(2) Optical masers of different types are well known to the art as sources of coherent radiation for use, for example, in communication and other applications which require a highly coherent light source.
See also col. 2:
(14) More specifically, and in accordance with the present invention, energy transfer is provided by controlled charged particle excitation where, for example, electrons are directed towards a gas or gas mixture contained within an optical cavity. The optical cavity consists essentially of two Fabry-Perot mirrors which are on either side of a low pressure gas container which receives an electron stream of controlled energy. By controlling the energy of the electron stream, it is possible to control the excitation 3 of the atomic levels of the atoms of the low pressure gas within the container. Thus, the output light of the maser can be directly modulated by controlling the energy of the electrons, to avoid thereby the need for auxiliary light modulators in a communication system. By way of ex- ample, a signal modulation of the order of 10,000 megacycles can be used to permit transmission of a great number nf telephone or television signals on a single light carrier.
See also the bottom of col. 2:
(20) A further object of the invention is Ito provide a novel optical maser for use in communication systems.
US 3,692,063 (Wagele) teaches that it was known to use coaxial cables with microwave signals. See the top of col. 1:
(2) The use of waveguides or coaxial cables for the transmission of microwaves, as for example, from a receiver or transmitter to an antenna, is well known in the art. When such transmission means must be flexible so as to allow the same to be wound on drums; coaxial cables have been the preferred form of such transmission means.
US 4,115,749 (Cole) teaches that it was known to use coaxial cables with microwave signals. See the top of col. 1:
(3) Coaxial cables have been long known and accepted as a means of transmitting microwave energy from one location to to another. These cables are frequently utilized for connecting together various pieces of apparatus within a system. In such applications, the cables are of varying lengths and as a result, problems inevitably arise concerning phase matching.
US 4,556,070 (Vaguine) at teaches that it was known to couple microwaves between coaxial cables and waveguides and antennas. See the paragraph spanning cols. 3-4:
(5) The microwave antenna elements 18 are coupled to the rear surface of the ultrasonic wave lens 22 and, typically, include a radiating aperture at the output end. For example, the antenna elements 18 can be open-ended, rectangular waveguide sections. The use of individual rectangular waveguide sections is described generally by A. Y. Cheung et al in "Direct Contact Applicators For Microwave Hyperthermia," J. Microwave Power, 16(2), 1981, p. 151. Microwave power is coupled to the waveguide sections from a coaxial cable using known coupling techniques. The waveguide can be air filled or can be partially or completely filled with dielectric material to permit operation at lower frequencies. Alternatively, the antenna elements 18 can be dielectric loaded, cylindrical waveguides. See, for example, V. A. Vaguine et al, "Microwave Direct Contact Applicator System For Hyperthermia Therapy Research," Paper TE43, Third International Symposium: Cancer Therapy By Hyperthermia, Drugs and Radiation, Ft. Collins, Colorado, June 1980. In the applicator 10, the antenna elements 18 can be arranged in a two-dimensional array to provide a desired microwave radiation pattern. The excitation of each antenna element 18 can, if desired, be phase or amplitude controlled to produce a particular radiation pattern.
US 2009/0010435 (Zbinden) teaches that it was known to tune the wavelength of a laser. See:
[0020] An insulated interferometer requiring no or only rudimentary temperature stabilization is used. In cases where a distributed feedback (DFB) laser diode is used as the light source, its wavelength can be adjusted to optimise interference contrast by tuning its operation temperature. This approach is easier than controlling the temperature of the interferometer as the laser is normally mounted on a temperature controller, such as a thermo-electric cooler, and has a much smaller heat capacity. The sensitivity is of the order of 0.1 nm/K. For an interferometer introducing a time delay of 1.2 ns, scanning through a fringe requires to change the wavelength by 7.6 pm. In this case, good contrast interference can be achieved by wavelength control to approximately 1 pm, or equivalently the temperature control of the laser to 10 mK.
US 2004/0105480 (Sidorin) teaches that it was known to tune a wavelength of a laser transmitter. See:
[0044] The overall purpose of the waveguide device 135 is to provide controlled optical feedback to the laser diode 105 so as to tune the diode 105 spectrally. Laser tuning based on adjusting an external cavity typically involves one or both of the following aspects:
[0045] a) tuning a wavelength selective feedback element of the external cavity to vary the wavelength of optical feedback to the laser; and
[0047] The first aspect, "a)", is achieved in embodiments of the present invention by controlling the refractive index of material in the second section 114 of the waveguide device 135 so as to adjust the wavelength selected for feedback by the grating 125. The second aspect, "b)", is achieved by controlling the refractive index of material in the first section 112 of the waveguide device 135 so as adjust the optical path length of the waveguide device 135 in use.
US 2013/0182728 (Li) teaches that it was known to use feedback circuitry to tune the wavelength of a laser transmitter. See:
[0009] In accordance with aspects of the disclosure, a wavelength tunable laser is disclosed that can comprise an active portion comprising a photonic integrated circuit comprising an optical waveguide comprising an optical gain section, a grating section, a phase control section and an anti-reflection coating arranged at opposite ends of the optical waveguide; a passive portion comprising an optical etalon and a reflective mirror, for example an Etalon and the mirror can together act as external feedback, arranged to provide feedback to the active portion to generate beam of laser light; and a controller arranged to control the active portion, the passive portion or both the active portion and the passive portion to generate tuning of the lasing wavelength.
[0026] In accordance with aspects of the present disclosure, a method for wavelength tuning a laser is disclosed. The method can include providing an active portion comprising a photonic integrated circuit comprising an optical waveguide comprising an optical gain section, a grating section, a phase control section and an anti-reflection coating arranged at opposite ends of the optical waveguide; providing a passive portion comprising an optical etalon and a reflective mirror arranged to provide a wavelength selective feedback to the active portion to generate beam of laser light; and controlling, by a controller, the active portion, the passive portion or both the active portion and the passive portion to generate tuning of the lasing wavelength.
US 2019/0097722 (McLaurin) teaches that it was known to tune an optical transmitter. See:
[0527] Optionally, the one or more sensors is configured in the feedback loop circuit to provide a feedback current or voltage to the microcontroller to tune at least one of the one or more control signals for adjusting the beam shaping optical element to adjust incident angles of either the first laser beam or the second laser beam to tune respective ratios being converted by respective phosphor materials of the wavelength converting member for tuning color points of respective output light beams.
/DARREN E WOLF/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2634