Status of the Application
Claims 1-20 have been examined in this application. Claims 1, 5, 11, 12, 15, and 19 have been amended. This communication is Non-Final Rejection in response to Applicant’s Request for Continued Examination (RCE) filed on 12/08/2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
invention.
Claim(s) 1-5, 9, 11, 12, 15, 16, and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Publication No. 6135253 issued to Weissman, as modified, in view of G.B. Patent Publication No. GB2589680A issued to de Graaf.
Regarding the claim 1,
Weissman teaches A multifunctional crib, comprising: a body having a substantially box shape and defining a storage space with an openable top; an accommodating compartment provided in the storage space (Weissman: FIG. 1 [Col. 3 37-38] storage chamber 40), the accommodating compartment being deployable and defining an accommodating space (Weissman: FIG. 1 [Col. 3 37-38] storage chamber 40 is substantially greater than volume of the suitcase interior), the accommodating compartment comprising a guardrail connectable to a fence arrangement (Weissman: FIG. 1 [Col. 3 15-22] upper peripheral side of the edges 30 of the top of the liner…liner 22 sides 24 bottom 26 and top 28), wherein the multifunctional crib when the accommodating compartment is retracted into the storage space appears and functions as luggage (Weissman: FIG. 1 [Col. 3 5-10] suitcase 10 includes top portion 12 and bottom portion 14…to enclose an interior packing space).
Weissman does not teach the guardrail comprising at least one manually engageable button provided within the guardrail facilitating retraction of the accommodating compartment into the storage space when engaged.
De Graaf teaches the guardrail comprising at least one manually engageable button provided within the guardrail facilitating retraction of the accommodating compartment into the storage space when engaged (De Graaf: FIG. 1A/1C [P. 7 22-23] Depressing button 118 enables relative movement between the lower part 102 and upper part 104).
It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Weissman in view of De Graaf directed to having a frame to include a telescoping portion configured by a button. A person having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to adjust the height of a frame (De Graaf: [P. 7 22-23]).
Regarding claim 2,
Weissman, as modified, teaches The multifunctional crib of claim 1, further comprising a lifting and lowering adjustment mechanism provided within the accommodating space (Weissman: FIG. 1 [Col. 4 1-7] downward collapsing of the liner, telescoping members 70 about perimeter of the liner).
Regarding claim 3,
Weissman, as modified, teaches The multifunctional crib of claim 2, wherein a lower fixed section of each telescoping rod is connected to the body wherein the lifting and adjusting mechanism comprises telescoping rods (Weissman: FIG. 3 [Col. 4 3-8] telescoping leg members include a plurality of telescoping extensions 72, 73, 74 extending up from a bottom of the Suitcase, with an uppermost one 74 of the telescoping extensions).
Regarding claim 4,
Weissman, as modified, teaches The multifunctional crib of claim 3.
Weissman does not teach wherein an upper movable section of each telescoping rod is connected to the body and a controllable locking arrangement is configured to lock each telescoping rod in an extended state.
De Graaf teaches wherein an upper movable section of each telescoping rod is connected to the body and a controllable locking arrangement is configured to lock each telescoping rod in an extended state (De Graaf: FIG. 1A [P. 7 22-23] Depressing button 118 enables relative movement between the lower part 102 and upper part 104).
It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Weissman, as modified, in view of De Graaf directed to having a frame to include a telescoping portion configured by a button. A person having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to adjust the height of a frame (De Graaf: [P. 7 22-23]).
Regarding claim 5,
Weissman, as modified, teaches The multifunctional crib of claim 3, wherein the guardrail is frame shaped and movable within the accommodating space (Weissman: FIG. 1 [Col. 3 15-22] upper peripheral side 30 liner 22 sides 24 bottom 26 and top 28).
Regarding claim 9,
Weissman, as modified, teaches The multifunctional crib of claim 1, further comprising a removable cover usable to access the accommodation space (Weissman: FIG. 1 [Col. 3 5-10] suitcase 10 includes top portion 12 and bottom portion 14…to enclose an interior packing space).
Regarding claim 11,
Weissman teaches A combination crib and luggage apparatus, comprising: a body (Weissman: FIG. 1 [Col. 3 5-10] suitcase 10 includes top portion 12 and bottom portion 14…to enclose an interior packing space); a deployable guardrail supported by telescoping members connected to the body (Weissman: FIG. 1 [Col. 4 1-7] telescoping extensions 72, 73, 74 extending up from bottom of suitcase).
Weissman does not teach wherein the deployable guardrail comprises at least one manually engageable button provided within the deplovable guardrail facilitating retraction of the deployable guardrail and telescoping members toward the body when engaged by a user; and a barrier connected to the deployable guardrail and an interior of the body such that when the deployable guardrail is deployed the body and the barrier function as a crib.
De Graaf teaches wherein the deployable guardrail comprises at least one manually engageable button provided within the deplovable guardrail facilitating retraction of the deployable guardrail (De Graaf: FIG. 1A [P. 7 22-23] Depressing button 118 enables relative movement between the lower part 102 and upper part 104) and telescoping members toward the body when engaged by a user (De Graaf: FIG. 1A [P. 7 22] height adjustment mechanism); and a barrier connected to the deployable guardrail (De Graaf: FIG. 1A [P. 7 22-23] Depressing button 118 enables relative movement between the lower part 102 and upper part 104) and an interior of the body such that when the deployable guardrail is deployed the body and the barrier function as a crib (De Graaf: FIG. 1A [P. 7 22-23] Depressing button 118 enables relative movement between the lower part 102 and upper part 104).
It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Weissman in view of De Graaf directed to having a frame to include a telescoping portion configured by a button. A person having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to adjust the height of a frame (De Graaf: [P. 7 11-23]).
Regarding claim 12,
Weissman, as modified, teaches The combination crib and luggage apparatus of claim 11, wherein when the deployable guardrail is not deployed the body is sealable to provide a luggage device (Weissman: FIG. 1 [Col. 3 1-7] closure means to secure top and bottom portions in closed position).
Regarding claim 15,
Weissman teaches A combination crib and luggage apparatus, comprising: a body comprising a space (Weissman: FIG. 1 [Col. 3 5-10] suitcase 10 includes top portion 12 and bottom portion 14…to enclose an interior packing space); a plurality of telescoping members connected to the body (Weissman: FIG. 1 [Col. 4 1-7] telescoping extensions 72, 73, 74 extending up from bottom of suitcase); a guardrail connected to the plurality of telescoping members and deployable above the space (Weissman: FIG. 1 [Col. 3 15-22] upper peripheral side of the edges 30 of the top of the liner…liner 22 sides 24 bottom 26 and top 28) and a fence connected to the guardrail and an interior of the body (Weissman: FIG. 1 [Col. 4 1-10] telescoping leg members 70 provided about perimeter of the liner…extending from bottom of suitcase); wherein when the plurality of telescoping members is extended (Weissman: FIG. 1 [Col. 4 1-10] telescoping leg members 70 provided about perimeter of the liner), the guardrail is deployed away from the body and the fence forms an enclosure (Weissman: FIG. 1 [Col. 3 37-39] volume of storage chamber 40 is greater than volume of suitcase interior).
Weissman does not teach wherein the guardrail comprises at least one manually engageable button provided within the guardrail facilitating retraction of the guardrail and plurality of telescoping members toward the space upon manual engagement by a user.
De Graaf teaches wherein the guardrail comprises at least one manually engageable button provided within the guardrail facilitating retraction of the guardrail and plurality of telescoping members toward the space upon manual engagement by a user (De Graaf: FIG. 1A [P. 7 21-23] height adjustment mechanism may require a button 118 to be depressed).
It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Weissman in view of De Graaf directed to having a frame to include a telescoping portion configured by a button. A person having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to adjust the height of a frame (De Graaf: [P. 7 11-23]).
Regarding claim 16,
Weissman, as modified, teaches The combination crib and luggage apparatus of claim 15, wherein when the guardrail is not deployed the body is sealable to provide a luggage device (Weissman: FIG. 1 [Col. 3 1-7] closure means to secure top and bottom portions in closed position).
Regarding claim 19,
Weissman, as modified, teaches combination crib and luggage apparatus of claim 15.
Weissman does not teach wherein the at least one manually engageable button comprises two manually engageable buttons provided in the guardrail on opposite sides of the guardrail facilitating release of the guardrail from a locked position when deployed such that the guardrail is movable toward the body.
De Graaf teaches wherein the at least one manually engageable button comprises two manually engageable buttons provided in the guardrail on opposite sides of the guardrail facilitating release of the guardrail from a locked position when deployed such that the guardrail is movable toward the body (De Graaf: FIG. 1A [P. 7 22-23] Depressing button 118 enables relative movement between the lower part 102 and upper part 104).
It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Weissman, as modified, in view of De Graaf directed to having a frame to include a telescoping portion configured by a button. A person having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to adjust the height of a frame (De Graaf: [P. 7 11-23]).
Claim(s) 6-8, 10, 13, 14, 17-18, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Publication No. 6135253 issued to Weissman, as modified, in view of G.B. Patent Publication No. 2589680 issued to De Graaf in view of U.S. Patent Publication No. US20220087384A1 issued to Bromley.
Regarding claim 6,
Weissman, as modified, teaches The multifunctional crib of claim 1,
Weissman does not teach further comprising a support assembly arranged on an outer side of the body, wherein the support assembly comprises a plurality of wheels or feet.
Bromley teaches further comprising a support assembly arranged on an outer side of the body, wherein the support assembly comprises a plurality of wheels or feet (Bromley: [0059] leg sets 600, 700 are held in position by a top stay 550 and a bottom stay 560).
It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Weissman, as modified, in view of Bromley directed to have luggage with legs and a groove to receive the legs when not in use. A person having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to configure the travel case to be used as an elevated horizontal support surface (Bromley: [0003]).
Regarding claim 7,
Weissman, as modified, teaches The multifunctional crib of claim 6,
Weissman does not teach wherein a receiving groove is formed on a bottom of the body corresponding to position of at least one foot such that one end of the at least one foot can be pivotally installed in the receiving groove.
Bromley teaches wherein a receiving groove is formed on a bottom of the body corresponding to position of at least one foot such that one end of the at least one foot can be pivotally installed in the receiving groove (Bromley: FIG. 2 [0057] bottom leg set 700 rear shell 110).
It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Weissman, as modified, in view of Bromley directed to have luggage with legs and a groove to receive the legs when not in use. A person having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to ease the transporting of the luggage (Bromley: [0003]).
Regarding claim 8,
Weissman, as modified, teaches The multifunctional crib of claim 7,
Weissman does not teach wherein a second locking device is provided between the accommodating groove and at least one foot.
Bromley teaches wherein a second locking device is provided between the accommodating groove and at least one foot (Bromley: [0059] leg sets 600, 700 are held in position by a top stay 550 and a bottom stay 560).
It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Weissman, as modified, in view of Bromley directed to have a luggage whose legs have locking mechanisms. A person having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to configure the travel case to stand on legs (Bromley: [0003]).
Regarding claim 10,
Weissman, as modified, teaches The multifunctional crib of claim 1,
Weissman does not teach wherein at least one side of the body comprises a handle.
Bromley teaches wherein at least one side of the body comprises a handle (Bromley: FIG. 1 [0058] case 100 includes a handle set 300).
It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Weissman, as modified, in view of Bromley directed to have a luggage with a handle. A person having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to ease carrying the luggage (Bromley: [0003]).
Regarding claim 13,
Weissman, as modified, teaches The combination crib and luggage apparatus of claim 11,
Weissman does not teach wherein the body is provided with wheels and a handle.
Bromley teaches wherein the body is provided with wheels and a handle (Bromley: FIG. 1 [0058] case 100 includes a handle set 300 wheel set 120).
It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Weissman, as modified, in view of Bromley directed to have a luggage with a handle and wheels. A person having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to ease the transporting of the luggage (Bromley: [0003]).
Regarding claim 14,
Weissman, as modified, teaches combination crib and luggage apparatus of claim 11.
Weissman does not teach further comprising a plurality of deployable legs attached to the body.
Bromley teaches further comprising a plurality of deployable legs attached to the body (Bromley: FIG. 1 top leg set 600 bottom legs set 700).
It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Weissman, as modified, in view of Bromley directed to have a luggage with deployable legs. A person having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to facilitate the ease of packing and unpacking a travel case (Bromley: [0003]).
Regarding claim 17,
Weissman, as modified, teaches combination crib and luggage apparatus of claim 15.
Weissman does not teach wherein the body is provided with wheels and a handle.
Bromley teaches wherein the body is provided with wheels and a handle (Bromley: FIG. 1 [0058] case 100 includes a handle set 300 wheel set 120).
It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Weissman, as modified, in view of Bromley directed to have a luggage with a handle and wheels. A person having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to ease the transporting of the luggage (Bromley: [0003]).
Regarding claim 18,
Weissman, as modified, teaches combination crib and luggage apparatus of claim 15.
Weissman does not teach further comprising a plurality of deployable legs attached to the body.
Bromley teaches further comprising a plurality of deployable legs attached to the body (Bromley: FIG. 1 top leg set 600 bottom legs set 700).
It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Weissman, as modified, in view of Bromley directed to have a luggage with deployable legs. A person having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to facilitate the ease of packing and unpacking a travel case (Bromley: [0003]).
Regarding claim 20,
Weissman, as modified, teaches combination crib and luggage apparatus of claim 15.
Weissman does not teach further comprising a receiving groove formed on the body corresponding to position of at least one deployable leg.
Bromley teaches further comprising a receiving groove formed on the body corresponding to position of at least one deployable leg (Bromley: [0059] leg sets 600, 700 are held in position by a top stay 550 and a bottom stay 560).
It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Weissman, as modified, in view of Bromley directed to have a luggage with deployable legs which have a receiving groove. A person having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to facilitate the transition from props/table mode (Bromley: [0057]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Page No. 1-2, filed 12/08/2025, with respect to Claims 1-5, 9-11, 12, 15, 16, and 19, including independent claims 1, 11, and 15, under 35 U.S.C. §102 based on Weissman, U.S. Patent No. 6,135,253 ("Weissman") have been fully considered and are not persuasive. The rejection of Claims 1 and 3 have been reviewed in view of the prior art of U.S. Patent No. 3579671 to ‘Weismann’. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 is made in view of G.B. Patent Publication No. GB2589680A to ‘de Graaf’ with respect to Claim(s) 1, 11, and 15.
Applicant’s arguments, see Page No. 1-2, filed 12/08/2025, with respect to Claims 6-8, 10, 13, 14, 17, 18, and 20 under 35 U.S.C. §103 based on Weissman, as modified, in view of Bromley, U.S. Patent Publication 20220087384 ("Bromley") have been fully considered and are not persuasive. The rejection of Claims 1 and 3 have been reviewed in view of the prior art of U.S. Patent No. 3579671 to ‘Weismann’. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 is made in view of G.B. Patent Publication No. GB2589680A to ‘de Graaf’ with respect to Claim(s) 5 and 19.
Conclusion
/JOSEANE E. TEJADA/ Examiner, Art Unit 3673
/DAVID R HARE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3673
2/22/2026