DETAILED ACTION
Other prior art
3GPP TS 38.321 v16.2.1 (2020-09) MAC protocol specification (Release 16)
p.27 RA-RNTI = 1 + s_id + 14 × t_id + 14 × 80 × f_id + 14 × 80 × 8 × ul_carrier_id; symbol, slot, frequency information
Response to Arguments
Claim Objection
Applicant’s arguments, filed 07/30/2026, with respect to claim objections have been fully considered and are persuasive. The objections of claim 3, 16 has been withdrawn.
35 USC § 103
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 18, 20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Independent Claims
Claim(s) 1, 18, 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rastegardoost (US-20200314913) in view of Christoffersson (US-20220078853), Cave (US-20080101305), Sandberg (WO-2021080479-A1), Jeon (US-20200146054).
As to claim 1, 18, 20: 3GPP teaches a random access-radio network temporary identity (RA- RNTI) processing method, performed by a terminal, comprising: calculating an RA-RNTI based on time-frequency resource information of a random access occasion (RO) for sending a preamble ([0350] The RA-RNTI associated with the first PRACH occasion in which the random access preamble is transmitted is computed).
3GPP may not explicitly teach comprising: calculating the RA-RNTI based on a parameter t_id, wherein t_id is: a number of a 1st slot group of the RO occupied for sending the preamble; or a number of a 1st physical random access channel slot (PRACH slot) that is of the RO occupied for sending the preamble. However, Christoffersson teaches comprising: calculating the RA-RNTI based on a parameter t_id, wherein t_id is: a number of a 1st slot group of the RO occupied for sending the preamble; or a number of a 1st physical random access channel slot (PRACH slot) ([0079] and where t_id is the index of the first slot of the random access channel occasion in a system frame) that is of the RO occupied for sending the preamble ([0064] transmitting a random access preamble 16 in a random access channel occasion).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to implement t_Id as index of a PRACH slot, taught by Christoffersson, into the RA-RNTI, taught by Rastegardoost, in order to implement a well-known feature of a pre-defined protocol and uniquely identify the PRACH occasion. In addition, it would have been obvious to combine Chritsoffersson and Rastegardoost in a known manner to obtain predictable results as the combination would not change the essence, quiddity, or functionality of the prior art references.
However, Cave teaches and that is in a slot group (claim 6 wherein the different slot formats are distinguished by segregating radio resources used by the PRACH into groups,).
Rastergardoost may not explicitly teach wherein the slot group is obtained by grouping slots within first specified time according to a specific rule. However, Sandberg teaches wherein the slot group is obtained by grouping slots within first specified time according to a specific rule (13:9-18 The slots can be grouped into further groups based on how likely it is that they are affected by crosslink interference, 14:10-15 TDD configurations are divided into different time units).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to implement slot grouping, taught by Sandberg, into the RA-RNTI, taught by Rastergardoost , in order to implement a well-known feature of a pre-defined protocol and mitigate interference. In addition, it would have been obvious to combine Rastergadoost and Sandberg in a known manner to obtain predictable results as the combination would not change the essence, quiddity, or functionality of the prior art references.
Rastergardoost may not explicitly teach receiving a random access response (RAR) message according to downlink control information (DCI) in the PDCCH, comprising: receiving the random access response (RAR) message based on a first indication sent by a network side device, wherein the first indication indicates the number of the 1st PRACH slot that is of the RO occupied for sending the preamble and that is in the slot group or the first indication indicates the number of the 1st slot group of the RO occupied for sending the preamble. However, Jeon teaches receiving a random access response (RAR) message according to downlink control information (DCI) in the PDCCH ([0121, 480, 481] A base station may indicate information (e.g., system frame information) to a wireless device using downlink control signaling (e.g., one or more downlink control messages). The downlink control signaling may comprise physical layer signaling (e.g., DCI)), comprising: receiving the random access response (RAR) message based on a first indication sent by a network side device ([0480, 483] The wireless device may receive a downlink control message (e.g., a downlink control signal) from a base station. The wireless device may determine, based on an RA-RNTI and/or a system frame information field in the downlink control message, whether the downlink control message comprises one or more RARs corresponding to one or more preambles), wherein the first indication indicates the number of the 1st PRACH slot that is of the RO occupied for sending the preamble and that is in the slot group or the first indication indicates the number of the 1st slot group of the RO occupied for sending the preamble ([0480, 483, 519, 528] The wireless device may transmit the preamble via a random access channel occasion, wherein the random access channel occasion starts from the symbol of the slot in the system frame).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to implement indication of number of slot group, taught by Jeon, into the communication system, taught by Rastergardoost, in order to implement a well-known feature of a pre-defined protocol and identify different slot groups. In addition, it would have been obvious to combine Jeon and Rastergardoost in a known manner to obtain predictable results as the combination would not change the essence, quiddity, or functionality of the prior art references.
Dependent Claims
Claim(s) 3, 8, 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rastegardoost (US-20200314913) in view of Christoffersson (US-20220078853), Cave (US-20080101305), Sandberg (WO-2021080479-A1), Jeon (US-20200146054).
As to claim 3: Rastergardoos teaches the RA-RNTI processing method according to claim 1, wherein after calculating the RA-RNTI based on time-frequency resource information of the random access occasion (RO) tor sending the preamble ([0350]), the method further comprises: during running of a random access response (RAR) window ([0280, 285, 321] ra-Response window to receive RA responses), monitoring a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) scrambled based on the RA-RNTI ([0313, 328] DCI scrambled by RA-RNTI).
As to claim 8: Rastergardoos teaches the RA-RNTI processing method according to claim 3, wherein calculating the RA-RNTI based on the parameter t_id comprises: obtaining the RA-RNTI through calculation according to the following formula: RA-RNTI=1×E1+s_id>E2+Symbolxt_id×E3+SymbolXxf_id×E4+Symbol xXxYxul carrier id×E5, wherein: t_id is a number of a Ist slot group of the RO occupied for sending the preamble in N slot groups that are obtained by grouping slots within a first specified time according to a specific rule, and the first specified time is at least one slot, at least one millisecond, at least one subframe, at least one time domain length of an RO, at least one frame, or at least one time window; X is configured by a network side, or X issa preset value, or X is a quantity of slot groups comprised in the first specified time; Y is configured by the network side, or Y is a preset value, or Y is determined by the terminal, or Y is a quantity of ROs for performing frequency division multiplexing (FDМ) on a PRACH resource; sid is a number of a start orthogonal frequency division multiplexing (OFDM) symbol of the RO occupied for sending the preamble; f_id is a number of the RO occupied for sending the preamble in frequency domain; ul_carrier_id is configured by the network side, or ul_carrier_id is a preset value, or 25 ul_carrier_id is determined by the terminal, or ul_carrier_id is an uplink carrier number used for sending the preamble; 30 Symbol is a quantity of symbols within a second specified time, and the secop specified time is at least one slot, at least one millisecond, at least one subframe, at least one time domain length of an RO, at least one frame, or at least one time window; and E1, E2, E3, E4, and E5 are integers ([0350]).
As to claim 10: Rastergardoos teaches the RA-RNTI processing method according to claim 3, wherein calculating the RA-RNTI based on the parameter t_id comprises: calculating the RA-RNTI according to the following formula: RA-RNTI=1×G1+s_id×G2+Symbolxt_idxG3+Symbol×Xxf_idxG4+SymbolXxY 30 xul carrier idxG5, wherein: 58 10 Attorney Dkt. No. IPX001-01-0402-US t_id is a number of a 1st PRACH slot of the RO occupied for sending the preamble in a slot group in N slot groups that are obtained by grouping slots within a first specified time according to a specific rule, and the first specified time is at least one slot, at least one millisecond, at least one subframe, at least one time domain length of an RO, at least one 5 frame, or at least one time window; X is configured by a network side, or X is a preset value, or X is a quantity of PRACH slots comprised in one slot group; Y is configured by the network side, or Y is a preset value, or Y is determined by the terminal, or Y is a quantity of ROs for performing frequency division multiplexing (FDM) on a PRACH resource; s_id is a number of a start orthogonal frequency division multiplexing (OFDM) symbol of the RO occupied for sending the preamble, f_id is a number of the RO occupied for sending the preamble in frequency domain; ul_carrier_id is configured by the network side, or ul_carrier_id is a preset value, or 15 ul_carrier_id is determined by the terminal, or ul_carrier_id is an uplink carrier number used for sending the preamble; 20 25 30 Symbol is a quantity of symbols within a second specified time, and the second specified time is at least one slot, at least one millisecond, at least one subframe, at least one time domain length of an RO, at least one frame, or at least one time window; and G1, G2, G3, G4, and G5 are integers ([0350]).
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rastegardoost (US-20200314913) in view of Christoffersson (US-20220078853), Cave (US-20080101305), Sandberg (WO-2021080479-A1), Jeon (US-20200146054).
As to claim 9: Rastergardoos teaches the RA-RNTI processing method according to claim 1, wherein calculating the RA-RNTI based on the parameter t_id comprises:
calculating the RA-RNTI according to the following formula: RA-RNTI=1×F1+s_id×F2+Symbol×t_id>F3+Symbol>Xxf_id×F4+SymbolXxYxSlot id×F5, wherein: t_id is a number of a 1Ist slot group of the RO occupied for sending the preamble in N slot groups that are obtained by grouping slots within a first specified time according to a specific rule, and the first specified time is at least one slot, at least one millisecond, at least one subframe, at least one time domain length of an RO, at least one frame, or at least one time window; X is configured by a network side, or X is a preset value, or X is a quantity of slot groups comprised in the first specified time, Y is configured by the network side, or Y is a preset value, or Y is determined by the terminal, or Y is a quantity of ROs for performing frequency division multiplexing (FDM) on a PRACH resource; s_id is a number of a start orthogonal frequency division multiplexing (OFDM) symbol of the RO occupied for sending the preamble; f_id is a number of the RO occupied for sending the preamble in frequency domain; … ; Symbol is a quantity of symbols within a second specified time, and the second specified time is at least one slot, at least one millisecond, at least one subframe, at least one time domain length of an RO, at least one frame, or at least one time window; and F1, F2, F3, F4, and F5 are integers.
Rastergardoos may not explicitly teach slot_id is a number of a 1st PRACH slot that is of the RO occupied for sending the preamble and that is in a slot group. However, You teaches slot_id is a number of a 1st PRACH slot that is of the RO occupied for sending the preamble and that is in a slot group (The RA-RNTI can be obtained by the parameters: t_id, f_id, and slot_id).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to implement slot ID, taught by You, into the RNTI , taught by Rastergardoos, in order to implement a well-known feature of a pre-defined protocol and obtain the RNTI. In addition, it would have been obvious to combine Rastergardoos and You in a known manner to obtain predictable results as the combination would not change the essence, quiddity, or functionality of the prior art references.
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rastegardoost (US-20200314913), Christoffersson (US-20220078853), Cave (US-20080101305), Sandberg (WO-2021080479-A1), Jeon (US-20200146054) in view of He (US-12095682).
As to claim 11: Rastergardoos teaches the RA-RNTI processing method according to claim 1.
Rastergardoost may not explicitly teach wherein calculating the RA-RNTI based on the parameter t_id comprises: calculating the RA-RNTI according to the following formula: RA-RNTI=I>H1+s_id>H2+Symbolxt_id×H3+Symbol×Xxf_id×H4+Symbol×XxY xgroup_id H5, wherein: t_id is a number of a 1st PRACH slot of the RO occupied for sending the preamble in a slot group in N slot groups that are obtained by grouping slots within a first specified time according to a specific rule, and the first specified time is at least one slot, at least one millisecond, at least one subframe, at least one time domain length of an RO, at least one frame, or at least one time window; 59 5 10 15 20 25 30 Attorney Dkt. No. IPX001-01-0402-US X is configured by a network side, or X is a preset value, or X is a quantity of PRACH slots comprised in one slot group; Y is configured by the network side, or Y is a preset value, or Y is determined by the terminal, or Y is a quantity of ROs for performing frequency division multiplexing (FDM) on a PRACH resource; s_id is a number of a start orthogonal frequency division multiplexing (OFDМ) symbol of the RO occupied for sending the preamble; f_id is a number of the RO occupied for sending the preamble in frequency domain; group_id is a number of a 1st slot group of the RO occupied for sending the preamble; Symbol is a quantity of symbols within a second specified time, and the second specified time is at least one slot, at least one millisecond, at least one subframe, at least one time domain length of an RO, at least one frame, or at least one time window; and H1, H2, H3, H4, and H5 are integers. However, He teaches wherein calculating the RA-RNTI based on the parameter t_id comprises: calculating the RA-RNTI according to the following formula: RA-RNTI=I>H1+s_id>H2+Symbolxt_id×H3+Symbol×Xxf_id×H4+Symbol×XxY xgroup_id H5, wherein: t_id is a number of a 1st PRACH slot of the RO occupied for sending the preamble in a slot group in N slot groups that are obtained by grouping slots within a first specified time according to a specific rule, and the first specified time is at least one slot, at least one millisecond, at least one subframe, at least one time domain length of an RO, at least one frame, or at least one time window; 59 5 10 15 20 25 30 Attorney Dkt. No. IPX001-01-0402-US X is configured by a network side, or X is a preset value, or X is a quantity of PRACH slots comprised in one slot group; Y is configured by the network side, or Y is a preset value, or Y is determined by the terminal, or Y is a quantity of ROs for performing frequency division multiplexing (FDM) on a PRACH resource; s_id is a number of a start orthogonal frequency division multiplexing (OFDМ) symbol of the RO occupied for sending the preamble; f_id is a number of the RO occupied for sending the preamble in frequency domain; group_id is a number of a 1st slot group of the RO occupied for sending the preamble; Symbol is a quantity of symbols within a second specified time, and the second specified time is at least one slot, at least one millisecond, at least one subframe, at least one time domain length of an RO, at least one frame, or at least one time window; and H1, H2, H3, H4, and H5 are integers (8:50-60 - RNTI=1+s_id+14×t_id+14×80×f_id+14×80×8×ul_carrier_id+sub-group-id×K).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to implement sub-group ID, taught by He, into the RNTI formula, taught by Rastergardoost, in order to implement a well-known feature of a pre-defined protocol and calculate the RNTI. In addition, it would have been obvious to combine Rastergardoost and He in a known manner to obtain predictable results as the combination would not change the essence, quiddity, or functionality of the prior art references.
Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rastegardoost (US-20200314913), Christoffersson (US-20220078853), Cave (US-20080101305), Sandberg (WO-2021080479-A1), Jeon (US-20200146054) in view of Wong (EP-2557884-A1).
As to claim 16: Rastergardoost teaches the RA-RNTI processing method according to claim 1.
Rastergardoost may not explicitly teach wherein grouping is performed for a slot group according to the following rule: slots within the first specified time are evenly grouped into N slot groups, and each group comprises M slots; the M slots may be consecutive or inconsecutive; when there are M consecutive slots, every M slots belong to one group according to a time sequence; and when there are M inconsecutive slots, slots whose values of (slot index) mod N are equal are in a same group, wherein a slot index is a slot number. However, Wong teaches wherein grouping is performed for a slot group according to the following rule: slots within the first specified time are evenly grouped into N slot groups, and each group comprises M slots; the M slots may be consecutive or inconsecutive; when there are M consecutive slots, every M slots belong to one group according to a time sequence; and when there are M inconsecutive slots, slots whose values of (slot index) mod N are equal are in a same group, wherein a slot index is a slot number ([0009] The 15 available access slots are divided into two 10 ms access slot sets or access slot groups, as shown in Fig. 8a).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to implement slot grouping, taught by Wong, into the RACH, taught by Rastergardoost, in order to implement a well-known feature of a pre-defined protocol and enable communication with the UE. In addition, it would have been obvious to combine Wong and Rastergardoost in a known manner to obtain predictable results as the combination would not change the essence, quiddity, or functionality of the prior art references.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ANDREW C OH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2466