DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 2 objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 2 is objected to under 35 USC §112(b) due to unclear wording. The phrase “along side” appears to be a typographical or grammatical error to “alongside”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claims 13,18, and 19 objected to because of the following informalities:
Claims 13,18, and 19 is objected to under 35 USC §112(b) due to unclear wording. The phrase “edge, and”, “section, and”, and “plate, and” introduces grammatical ambiguity and requires clarification. Appropriate correction is required.
Claims 14-16 objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 14-16 is objected to under 35 USC §112(b) as being indefinite for failing to clearly distinguish the "third and fourth threaded fasteners" from the previously recited fasteners and for failing to clearly specify the structural relationship between the "second pair of mounting hole" and the mounting bores in the mounting base. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 5-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Shelbourne et al. (WO 9604776 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Shelbourne teaches a crop stripper rotor (70), comprising:
a central core (constructed using a series of cover plates 72; See Shelbourne Pg. 14, lines 24-26)
a plurality of stripper teeth sections (58) arranged to project radially outwardly from an outer periphery of the central core (constructed using a series of cover plates 72; See Shelbourne Pg. 14, lines 24-26), each of said stripper teeth sections having a combination of mounting bores (74) and alignment slots (86) spaced along a length thereof for aligning with respective mounting holes (32, 34) in the central core; and
a plurality of threaded fasteners (76) extending through said mounting holes (32, 34) in the central core (constructed using a series of cover plates 72; See Shelbourne Pg. 14, lines 24-26) and the respective mounting bores (74) and alignment slots (86) in the stripper teeth sections (58) to secure the stripper teeth sections to the central core.
Regarding claim 2, Shelbourne teaches the crop stripper rotor according to claim 1, wherein said central core (constructed using a series of cover plates 72; See Shelbourne Pg. 14, lines 24-26) comprises a plurality of bent sheet metal sections (72) arranged to form a generally cylindrical shape,
said bent sheet metal sections (72) each having flanges (6, 8) extending in an axial direction along side edges thereof with a plurality of said mounting holes (32, 34) formed in said flanges,
and said stripper teeth sections (58) each have a mounting base (12) sandwiched between two of said flanges (6, 8).
Regarding claim 3, Shelbourne teaches the crop stripper rotor according to claim 2, wherein said threaded fasteners (76) are threaded bolts (76) received in threaded structures (22) that are fixed to one of the two flanges (6, 8) that sandwich the mounting base (52) of the stripper teeth section (58).
(Note: The recited "threaded structures that are fixed to one of the two flanges" are broadly interpreted to include captive nuts that are constrained against and fixed relative to a flange during assembly, even if not integrally formed with the flange.)
Regarding claim 5, Shelbourne teaches the crop stripper rotor according to claim 1, wherein said combination of mounting bores (74) and alignment slots (86) includes first and second mounting bores located near first and second ends of the stripper teeth section, and first and second alignment slots spaced along the stripper teeth section (58) between said first and second mounting bores. (See note and Shelbourne annotated Fig. 5 below)
(Note: Although the illustrated embodiment appears to depict alignment slots 86 on the right end of the stripper teeth section 58, the written description expressly states that a series of holes 74 are provided, alternating with elongate slots 78 along the length of the backing element (See Shelbourne Pg. 15, lines 3-7). Under BRI, the reference discloses mounting bores and alignment slots interspersed along the stripper teeth section, including bores located near opposite end regions and alignment slots located therebetween.)
Regarding claim 6, Shelbourne teaches the crop stripper rotor according to claim 5, wherein said first and second alignment slots are open radially inwardly on an inner facing side edge of said stripper teeth section and are arranged to mate with a pair of said threaded fasteners extending through a pair of said mounting holes (32, 34) to set a depth and alignment of the stripper teeth section relative to the mounting holes (32, 34) in the central core (constructed using a series of cover plates 72; See Shelbourne Pg. 14, lines 24-26) to facilitate assembly of the stripper teeth section to the central core.
Shelbourne discloses a stripper teeth section mounted to a central core (constructed using a series of cover plates 72; See Shelbourne Pg. 14, lines 24-26) structure via threaded fasteners (76) extending through mounting hole (74). Shelbourne further disclosed alignment slots (86) formed in the stripper teeth elements, wherein the slots open into the radially inner edges of the elements and engage the bolts (76) (See Shelbourne Pg. 15, lines 19-28 and Pg. 6, lines 1-20 and annotated Fig. 5 below).
The alignment slots are disposed on an inner facing side edge of the stripper teeth section, as the slots open toward and receive fasteners extending from the radially inner drum structure. Engagement of the bolts within the slots locates the elements axially and provides positive radial location, thereby setting a depth and alignment of the stripper teeth section relative to the mounting holes in the central drum structure. Accordingly, Shelbourne discloses all limitations of claim 6.
Regarding claim 7, Shelbourne teaches the crop stripper rotor according to claim 1, further comprising a plurality of plastic backer plates (52) adapted to fit behind said stripper teeth sections (58), each of said backer plates having a combination of backer plate mounting bores (74) and backer plate alignment slots (86) spaced along a length thereof aligned with the mounting bores and alignment slots in one of said stripper teeth sections. (See Shelbourne Pg. 15, lines 3-7)
Regarding claim 8, Shelbourne teaches the crop stripper rotor according to claim 7, wherein said combination of backer plate (52) mounting bores (74) and backer plate alignment slots (86) comprises first and second backer plate mounting bores located near first and second ends of the backer plate, and first and second backer plate alignment slots spaced along the backer plate between said first and second backer plate mounting bores.
(Note: Although the illustrated embodiment appears to depict alignment slots 86 on the right end of the backer plate 52, the written description expressly states that a series of holes 74 are provided, alternating with elongate slots 78 along the length of the backing element (See Shelbourne Pg. 15, lines 3-7). Under BRI, the reference discloses mounting bores and alignment slots interspersed along the stripper teeth section, including bores located near opposite end regions and alignment slots located therebetween.)
Regarding claim 9, Shelbourne teaches the crop stripper rotor according to claim 8, wherein said first and second backer plate alignment slots (86A, 86B) are open radially inwardly on an inner facing side edge of said plastic backer plate and are arranged to mate with a pair of said threaded fasteners (76) extending through a pair of said mounting holes (32, 34) to set a depth and alignment of the backer plate relative to the mounting holes (32, 34) in the central core to facilitate assembly of the backer plate along with a corresponding one of said stripper teeth sections (58) to the central core (constructed using a series of cover plates 72; See Shelbourne Pg. 14, lines 24-26).
(Note: Claim 9 recites alignment slots for a plastic backer plate that are structurally and functionally analogous to the alignment slots recited for the stripper teeth section in claim 6. As discussed with respect to claim 6, Shelbourne discloses radially inward-opening alignment slots in backing elements that engage fasteners extending through mounting holes in the central core to set and secure positional relationships during assembly. Shelbourne further teaches that the invention of plastic materials, and that backing elements may be formed of a material similar to the toothing elements (See Shelbourne Pg. 7, lines 4-10; Pg. 4, lines 21-27).)
Regarding claim 10, Shelbourne teaches the crop stripper rotor according to claim 1, wherein said plurality of stripper teeth sections (58) comprise multiple rows of stripper teeth assemblies extending axially along said central core, said rows of stripper teeth assemblies being angularly spaced from each other around said central core, and each of said rows of stripper teeth assemblies comprising at least a first stripper teeth section and a first plastic backer plate positioned end-to-end (See Shelbourne Pg. 7, lines 4-10 and Pg. 4, lines 1-2) with a second stripper teeth section and a second plastic backer plate, respectively, with each of said first and second stripper teeth sections and said first and second plastic backer plates having a combination of mounting bores and alignment slots spaced along a length thereof for aligning with respective mounting holes (32, 34) in the central core. (See Shelbourne annotated Fig. 6 and 7 below)
Regarding claim 11, Shelbourne teaches a crop stripper assembly (52, 58, 76), comprising:
a metal stripper teeth section (58; See Shelbourne Pg. 2, lines 18-20) having a plurality of stripping teeth (56) spaced along and extending from a mounting base (12);
a plastic backer plate (52; See Shelbourne Pg. 7, lines 4-10; Pg. 4, lines 21-27) having a plurality of backing teeth (54) spaced along and extending from a backing base (12),
said backing teeth (54) being adapted to fit behind said stripping teeth (56); and
an alignment and mounting system (82) for attaching the metal stripper teeth section (58) and plastic backer plate (52) to a central core (constructed using a series of cover plates 72; See Shelbourne Pg. 14, lines 24-26) of a crop stripper rotor (70), the alignment and mounting system comprising first and second alignment slots (86A, 86B) positioned between first and second mounting bores (74A, 74B) in the mounting base (12) of the metal stripper teeth section, and
first and second backer plate alignment slots (86A, 86B) positioned between first and second backing base mounting bores (74A, 74B) in the backing base (12) of the plastic backer plate (52),
said first and second mounting bores (86A, 86B) in the mounting base (12) of the metal stripper teeth section (56) being aligned with said first and second backing base mounting bores (86A, 86B) in the backing base (12) of the plastic backer plate (52), and
said first and second alignment slots (86A, 86B) in the mounting base (12) of the metal stripper teeth section (56) being aligned with said first and second backer plate alignment slots (86A, 86B) in the backing base (12) of the backer plate (52). (See Note and Shelbourne annotated Fig. 5 below)
(Note: Although the illustrated embodiment appears to depict alignment slots 86 on the right end of the stripper teeth section 58 and backer plate 52, the written description expressly states that a series of holes 74 are provided, alternating with elongate slots 78 along the length of the backing element (See Shelbourne Pg. 15, lines 3-7). Under BRI, the reference discloses mounting bores and alignment slots interspersed along the stripper teeth section, including bores located near opposite end regions and alignment slots located therebetween.)
Regarding claim 12, Shelbourne teaches the crop stripper assembly according to claim 11, wherein said mounting base (12) of the metal stripper teeth section (58) has a radially inner facing side edge, and said first and second alignment slots (86A, 86B) are open radially inwardly on said inner facing side edge of said mounting base (12). (See Shelbourne annotated Fig. 5 below)
Regarding claim 13, Shelbourne teaches the crop stripper assembly according to claim 12, wherein said backing base (12) of said backer plate (52) has a radially inner facing side edge, and said first and second backer plate alignment slots (86A, 86B) are open radially inwardly on said inner facing side edge of said backing base (12). (See Shelbourne annotated Fig. 5 below)
Regarding claim 14, Shelbourne teaches a method of assembling a crop stripper assembly (52, 58, 76), comprising:
providing a plurality of bent sheet metal sections (72) arranged to form a generally cylindrical shape of a central core (constructed using a series of cover plates 72; See Shelbourne Pg. 14, lines 24-26),
said bent sheet metal sections (72) each having a flange (6, 8) with a plurality of mounting holes (32, 34) spaced along a length thereof
providing a stripper teeth section (58) arranged to project radially outwardly from an outer periphery of the central core (series of cover plates 72),
said stripper teeth section (72) having a mounting base (12) with a combination of mounting bores (74) and alignment slots (86) spaced along a length thereof for aligning with respective mounting holes (32, 34) in the flanges (6, 8) of the bent sheet metal sections (72) of the central core (series of cover plates 72),
said alignment slots (86) being open radially inwardly on a radially inner facing side edge of said mounting base (12);
inserting first and second threaded fasteners (76A, 76B) into a first pair of the mounting holes (32, 34)
placing said stripper teeth section (72) into an aligned mounting position with said central core (series of cover plates 72) by mating said alignment slots (86) in the mounting base (12) with said first and second threaded fasteners (76A, 76B) to thereby align the mounting bores (74) with a second pair of the mounting holes (32, 34); and
inserting third and fourth threaded fasteners (76) into the second pair of mounting holes (32, 64) that are aligned with the mounting bores (74) in the mounting base (12) of the stripper teeth section (58).
Regarding claim 15, Shelbourne teaches the method according to claim 14, further comprising tightening said first, second, third and fourth threaded fasteners (76) to fix said stripper teeth section (58) to said central core (series of cover plates 72).
Regarding claim 16, Shelbourne teaches the method according to claim 14, further comprising:
providing a plastic backer plate (52) having a plurality of backing teeth (54) adapted to fit behind said stripping teeth (56) and extend from a backing base (12),
said plastic backer plate (52) having a combination of backer plate mounting bores (74) and backer plate alignment slots (86) that correspond with the mounting holes (32, 34) and alignment slots (86) in the stripper teeth section (58);
and placing said plastic backer plate (52) behind said stripper teeth section (58) into a mounting position with said central core (series of cover plates 72) by mating said backer plate alignment slots (86) with said first and second threaded fasteners (76A, 76B) and thereby aligning the backer plate mounting bores (74) with the mounting bores (74) in the stripper teeth section (58) and the second pair of mounting holes (32, 34) in the central core (series of cover plates 72);
wherein said step of inserting third and fourth threaded fasteners (76) comprises inserting said third and fourth threaded fasteners through the mounting holes (32, 34) in the central core (series of cover plates 72), the mounting bores (74) in the stripper teeth section (58), and the backer plate mounting bores (74).
Regarding claim 17, Shelbourne teaches the method according to claim 16, wherein said step of providing a stripper teeth section (58) comprises providing a plurality of stripper teeth sections that each include a combination of mounting bores (74) and alignment slots (86) and corresponding plastic backer plates (52).
Regarding claim 18, Shelbourne teaches the method according to claim 14, wherein said mounting bores (74) comprises first and second mounting bores (74A, 74B) located near first and second ends of the stripper teeth section, and said alignment slots (86) comprise first and second alignment slots (86A, 86B) spaced along the stripper teeth section (58) between said first and second mounting bores (74A, 74B). (See Shelbourne annotated Fig. 5 below)
Regarding claim 19, Shelbourne teaches the method according to claim 18, wherein said backer plate (52) mounting bores (74) comprises first and second backer plate mounting bores (74A, 74B) located near first and second ends of the backer plate, and said backer plate alignment slots (86) comprise first and second backer plate alignment slots (86A, 86B) spaced along the backer plate between said first and second backer plate mounting bores (74A, 74B). (See Shelbourne annotated Fig. 5 below)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shelbourne et al. (WO 9604776 A1) in view of Davidson (US 7984541 B1).
Regarding claim 4, Shelbourne teaches the crop stripper rotor according to claim 2, an exposed edge of one of said flanges (6, 8) of said bent sheet metal sections (72), threaded fasteners (76), mounting bores (74), and alignment slots (86).
However, Shelborne does not teach visual markings to indicate which threaded fasteners correspond with the mounting bores or which threaded fasteners correspond with the alignment slots.
Davidson teaches visual markings (60).
Davidson states, "As used herein, "notch" refers to any of a wide range of shapes and sizes of recesses, such as grooves, channels and the like, whether arranged circumferentially or radially, which are adapted to engage the edge of the mold 14. The specific configurations of the notches 60 will vary depending on the configuration of the template 10 as well as the style of mold 14 with which it is intended to be used." (Davidson Col. 3, lines 65-67 and Col. 4, lines 1-4)
It would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains, with a reasonable expectation of success, to have modified the crop stripper rotor as taught by Shelbourne with the notch as disclosed by Davidson so as to indicate which threaded fasteners correspond with mounting bores and which threaded fasteners correspond with alignment slots, in order to facilitate swift and proper assembly, adjustments, disassembly, and reassembly of the stripper teeth sections.
Regarding claim 20, Shelbourne teaches the method according to claim 14, said flanges (6, 8) of said bent sheet metal sections (72), threaded fasteners (76), bores (74), and alignment slots (86); and leaving the threaded fasteners (76) corresponding with the alignment slots (86) loose (Shelbourne Pg. 13, lines 23-28 and Pg. 14, lines 1-8) within their respective mounting bores (74) when removing the stripper teeth section (58) to facilitate reassembling the stripper teeth section to the central core (series of cover plates 72).
However, Shelbourne fails to disclose further comprising providing visual markings along an exposed edge of at least one of said flanges of said bent sheet metal sections to indicate which threaded fasteners correspond with the mounting bores and which threaded fasteners correspond with the alignment slots.
Davidson teaches visual markings (60).
Davidson states, "As used herein, "notch" refers to any of a wide range of shapes and sizes of recesses, such as grooves, channels and the like, whether arranged circumferentially or radially, which are adapted to engage the edge of the mold 14. The specific configurations of the notches 60 will vary depending on the configuration of the template 10 as well as the style of mold 14 with which it is intended to be used." (Davidson Col. 3, lines 65-67 and Col. 4, lines 1-4)
It would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains, with a reasonable expectation of success, to have modified the crop stripper rotor as taught by Shelbourne with the notch as disclosed by Davidson so as to indicate which threaded fasteners correspond with mounting bores and which threaded fasteners correspond with alignment slots, in order to facilitate swift and proper assembly, adjustments, disassembly, and reassembly of the stripper teeth sections.
Conclusion
JOSE ANTONIO. MARTINEZ
Examiner
Art Unit 3671
/JOSEPH M ROCCA/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3671