This Office action is in response to amendments filed on 12/23/2025. Claims 1-15 are pending.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on an application filed in KR on 03/23/2021. It is noted, however, that applicant has not filed a certified copy of the KR 10-2021-0037367 application as required by 37 CFR 1.55. Due to the failure of the document retrieval through the priority document exchange program (PDX), as noted in letter from Office filed on 08/02/2023, the applicant bears the ultimate responsibility for ensuring that a certified copy of the foreign priority application is filed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lim et al. (US 2019/0008337) in view of JP2019136337 (JP’337), as provided in IDS filed on 06/30/2023 and translation provided by the Examiner in previous Office action.
Regarding claim 1, Lim et al. (US 2019/0008337) discloses a cleaning device (fig. 1) comprising:
a housing (item 1100; figs. 1-3) including a dust collecting chamber therein (within item 1130; pp. [0066], [0069]; figs. 1-3);
a main body (item 1200; figs. 1-3), moveable with respect to the housing (from position of fig. 1 to position of fig. 2), to be coupled to the housing (main body 1200 is coupled to housing 1100 in the position of fig. 1 via items 1150c, 1210b, 1152, 1153 , figs. 6-8) and to be decoupled from the housing (main body 1200 is decoupled from housing 1100 in position of fig. 2 via items 1152, 1153, fig. 8), the main body including a handle (designated in annotated fig. 5 below) and a fan motor unit configured to generate a suction force (not explicitly shown; pp. [0071], fan motor is disposed within item 1210 of main body 1200 to generate a suction force);
a fixing device (item 1152; figs. 8-10) to couple the main body to the housing (pp. [0093], figs. 1 and 8-9) and to decouple the main body from the housing (pp. [0094]; figs. 2 and 10); and
a release button (item 1153; figs. 8-10) useable to operate the fixing device (pp. [0090-0094]).
Lim et al. Annotated Fig. 5.
Lim et al. does not explicitly disclose a fixing device, arrangeable in the main body, to couple the main body to the housing while the main body is moved to a first position inside the housing and to decouple the main body from the housing while the main body is moved to a second position with respect to the housing, and the release button connectable to the fixing device by a wire, so that while the release button is connected to the fixing device, the release button is useable to operate the fixing device.
However, JP2019136337 (JP’337) teaches a means to couple and decouple a main body structure (item 21; figs. 1 and 6-8) with a housing structure (item 30; figs. 2-5),
wherein the main body is movable with respect to the housing to be coupled to the housing (defined as position in fig. 1 when main body 21 is locked, i.e. coupled, to the housing 30 via item 32c1; figs. 1 and 5B) and to be decoupled from the housing (defined as position when main body 21 is unlocked, i.e. decoupled, from the housing 30 via item 21f; pp. [0056] in NPL translation),
a fixing device (includes items 21d; fig. 8), arrangeable in the main body (fixing device 21d is within items 21h and 21b2 of main body structure; fig. 8), to couple the main body to the housing while the main body is moved to a first position inside the housing (fixing device secures, i.e. couples, the main body to the housing structure via item 32c1 while main body is moved to a first position, i.e. attached to housing structure, corresponding to fig. 1 position in Lim et al. in which item 1220 of main body is inside housing, i.e. within outer boundary of housing structure at items 1150a, 1150b, fig. 3 of Lim et al.) and to decouple the main body from the housing while the main body is moved to a second position with respect to the housing (fixing device decouples main body from the housing structure via item 32c1 while the main body is moved to a second position, i.e. separated from housing structure); and
a release button (includes items 21c, 21f, 21i, 21g; fig. 7), arrangeable with respect to the main body (release button is disposed, i.e. arranged, on the main body structure; figs. 7-8), and connectable to the fixing device by a wire (item 21f1; pp. [0035] in NPL; fig. 8), so that while the release button is connected to the fixing device (pp. [0037]; release button is offset and connected to fixing device via wire; fig. 8), the release button is useable to operate the fixing device (figs. 10-11).
Both Lim et al. and JP’337 teach connection means between a main body structure and a housing structure to secure and releasably connect the main body structure to the housing. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention substitute the connector means including locking member and lever, as disclosed in Lim et al., with the connector means including a slidable release button and fixing device offset from the release button via a wire, as taught in JP’337, to achieve the predictable result of securing and releasably connecting the main body to the housing structure while also reducing the burden on the user’s lower back when attaching or detaching the main body from the housing structure by configuring the release button closer to the user’s upright position, i.e. on the main body structure (pp. [0008] in JP’337).
Regarding claim 2, Lim et al. as modified discloses the cleaning device as claimed in claim 1, wherein, while the fixing device is arranged in the main body to couple the main body to the housing (defined as position in fig. 1 of Lim et al.), the fixing device is positionable at an end of the housing (defined as lower end of item 1220 in Lim, fig. 5; corresponding to item 32c in JP’337) to which the main body is to be coupled (via fixing device the main body is coupled to end of housing), and a distance between the end of the housing to the release button is shorter than a distance between another end of the housing to the release button (a distance from the end of the housing, i.e. item 1220 in Lim, to the release button, i.e. offset from end of housing via wire, is shorter than a distance from another end of housing, defined as lowermost end of housing contacting the surface to be cleaned, to the release button).
Regarding claim 3, Lim et al. as modified discloses the cleaning device as claimed in claim 1, wherein, while one end of the main body is coupled to the housing (defined as lower end of item 1220, annotated fig. 5 above in Lim; corresponding to end 21b in JP’337, fig. 7) and accommodated inside the housing (JP’337; item 21d1 of fixing device at the one end of the main body is inside, i.e. protruded into, an end of the housing, i.e. item 32c; pp. [0030] and figs. 5B and 8 of JP’337), the handle is at another end of the main body (handle is offset, i.e. downstream, from end of main body 1220 that couples to the housing in order for user to not need to bend over; figs. 1-3 of Lim).
Regarding claim 4, Lim et al. as modified discloses the cleaning device as claimed in claim 3, wherein the release button is at the handle adjacent to another end of the main body (release button is disposed at opposing coupling end of fixing device, corresponding to upper end of item 1220 near handle of Lim et al, fig. 5 above).
Regarding claim 5, Lim et al. as modified discloses the cleaning device as claimed in claim 1, wherein the release button comprises a button case (includes items 21i, 21c2, 21g; fig. 8) fixed to the main body, and a button portion (item 21f3; fig. 8), moveable with respect to the button case (button portion 21f3 moves within groove 21i2 of button case, i.e. along direction B; figs. 8 and 10), to be coupled to the button case (button portion 21f3 is coupled, i.e. joined and secured against, left edge of groove 21i-1 in view of fig. 10) and be decoupled from the button case (when button portion 21f3 is moved along direction B by the user, the button portion is decoupled, i.e. separated/disengaged, from left edge of groove 21i1 in view of fig. 10 and compressed against spring 21g2 to pull back wire and decouple main body structure from housing structure).
Regarding claim 6, Lim et al. as modified discloses the cleaning device as claimed in claim 5, wherein the button case comprises:
a pair of support ribs (designated in annotated fig. 8 below; support ribs protrude upward from item 21c2 of button case) to support the wire (according to Oxford Language Dictionary, “support” is defined as to bear all of part of the weight of or give assistance to; therefore, the pair of support ribs bear a part of the weight of item 21g, in which the wire is within, and assists in securing the end of item 21g in place during use),
a wire fixing portion (item 21k; fig. 8) configured to fix an end of the wire (defined as end of wire 21f1 at item 21g-1; fig. 8) to one of the pair of support ribs (wire fixing portion 21k inserts through 21i2 to secure the end of the wire to item 21c2 via intermediate components, wherein support ribs extend from item 21c2; figs. 8 and 10), and
a guide hole (item 21i1; fig. 8) configured to guide the button portion to be movable with respect to the button case (pp. [0042]; via direction B; figs. 8 and 10).
JP’337 Annotated Fig. 8.
Regarding claim 7, Lim et al. as modified discloses the cleaning device as claimed in claim 6, wherein the button portion comprises:
a push portion (designated in annotated fig. 10 below) exposed to an outside of the main body (push portion protrudes outward for user to press in direction B; fig. 10),
a guide protrusion (designated in annotated fig. 10 below), insertable in the guide hole (guide protrusion inserts within guide hole 21i1 in order for push portion to be moved along direction B), the guide protrusion being configured to guide the button portion to be movable with respect to the button case (guide protrusion is capable of guiding the button portion along direction B via spring 21g2 and sliding along button case, which surrounds the guide protrusion and push rib of button portion; fig. 10) , and
a push rib (designated in annotated fig. 10 below) to protrude from the push portion (push rib protrudes in a downward and leftward direction in view of fig. 10 from the push portion) to be positioned between the pair of support ribs and support the wire (the push rib is structurally positioned between the support ribs, as designated in annotated fig. 8 above, when in use and supports, i.e. gives assistance to, the wire 21f1 which extends through item 21g and push rib mounts onto the end of item 21g during use; figs. 8 and 10) .
JP’337 Annotated Fig. 10.
Regarding claim 8, Lim et al. as modified discloses the cleaning device as claimed in claim 1, wherein the housing comprises a fixing portion (outer portion of item 1150b, fig. 3 in Lim, corresponding to item 32c in JP’337) including a fixing groove (JP’337; item 32c1; fig. 5B) to which the fixing device is coupled (JP’337; pp. [0030], item 21d1 of fixing device engages with and disengages from fixing groove 32c1).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 9-15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 9, the art of record, Lim et al. in view of JP’337 (from rejection(s) above), discloses the cleaning device as claimed in claim 8, wherein the fixing device comprises:
a holder case (JP’337; includes items 21h, 21b; fig. 8) couplable to the main body (via intermediate components),
a wire holder (item 21f2; fig. 8) to which an end of the wire is couplable (fig. 8) , which is movable while accommodated in the holder case, and
a spring (item 21d2; fig. 8) within the holder case (fig. 9).
Lim et al. in view of JP’337, alone or in further combination, does not teach, suggest, or make obvious wherein the fixing device comprises a fixing pipe, inside the holder case, moveable along an up-down direction with respect to the wire holder according to a movement of the wire holder by the wire, as required by the claim, in combination with all additional elements of the claim.
Claims 10-15 are indicated as allowable subject matter since they are dependent on claim 9.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to independent claim 1 have been considered but are moot because they are addressing newly amended claim limitations, as compared to the rejection of record. Upon further consideration and as necessitated by the amendments, a new grounds of rejection is made in view of a new primary reference, Lim et al. (US 2019/0008337). Further the same teaching reference, JP2019136337 (JP’337), from previous Office action is utilized in the above rejection.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SIDNEY D FULL/Examiner, Art Unit 3723
/BRIAN D KELLER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3723