DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election with traverse of Group I, claims 1-10, filed on 4/24/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal on the grounds that the alleged species do not have mutually exclusive characteristics is not found persuasive. Firstly, the restriction requirement is based upon two subcombinations useable together and not based upon a species requirement. Secondly, the groups have mutually exclusive characteristics as even stated by applicant in saying the two groups include most of the characteristics of each other and that one group requires the apertures and the second group requires the width adjustment component. The fact that they have most of the same characteristics doesn’t change the fact that they have at least one mutually exclusive feature between the two groups.
The traversal is on the ground(s) that the restricted inventions are not independent inventions and that examination of both claimed invention together would not present a serous burden on the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office. This is not found persuasive because the issue as to the meaning and intent regarding “independent and distinct” as used in 35 U.S.C 121 and 37 CFR 1.41 has been adequately addressed in MPEP §802.01. Therein, it is stated that the legislative intent was to maintain the substantive law on the subject of restriction practice prior to enactment of 35 USC 121. Such practice permitted restriction between distinct, albeit dependent inventions. If the intent had been otherwise, then only the term “independent” would have been used. Thus, restriction between the distinct inventions set forth in this application is proper even though these inventions are clearly related.
With regard to applicants allegation that joinder of these distinct inventions would not present a serious burden to the U. S. Patent and Trademark Office, such allegations relied on the unsupported assumption that the search and the examination of both the invention would be coextensive. Further, while there may be some overlap in the searches of the two inventions, there is no reason to believe that the searches would be identical. Therefore, based on the additional work involved in searching and examining both distinct inventions together, restriction of the distinct inventions is clearly proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 11-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claim Objections
Claim 7 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 7 recites “is comprises” and should instead recite “comprises.” Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by United States Application Publication No. 2013/0259773, hereinafter Kubek.
Regarding claim 1, Kubek teaches an apparatus (figures 1) for handling thin-film specimens, the apparatus comprising: a specimen holder (figure 1) that is configured to engage a thin-film specimen (paragraph [0006]); wherein the specimen holder comprises: one or more holding components (item 100) configured to receive the thin-film specimen in a flat position with respect to the specimen holder (paragraph [0006] and figure 4); and one or more securing components (item 130) configured to securely maintain the thin-film specimen in the flat position during manipulation of the specimen holder (paragraph [0026]); and wherein the specimen holder comprises one or more apertures (item 111) between the one or more securing components (figure 1) that enable access both sides of the thin-film specimen at two or more locations on the thin-film specimen (figure 1).
Regarding claim 2, Kubek teaches the one or more holding components comprise a flat holding surface (the upper surface of item 100) located between the one or more apertures (figure 1).
Regarding claim 3, Kubek teaches a first alignment component (two of item 120) configured to attach to a first grip (the two respective of item 121) of a material test system (paragraph [0022]) and to receive the flat holding surface such that the specimen aligns with the first grip of the material test system when the flat holding surface is fully inserted into the first alignment component (figure 4).
Regarding claim 4, Kubek teaches a second alignment component (the other two of item 120) configured to attach to a second grip (the two respective of item 121) of the material test system (paragraph [0022]), the first and second alignment components configured to receive the flat holding surface such that the specimen aligns with the first and second grips of the material test system when the flat holding surface is fully inserted into the first and second alignment components (figure 4).
Regarding claim 5, Kubek teaches wherein the one or more securing components comprise one or more clipping components (item 130).
Regarding claim 6, Kubek teaches wherein at least one clipping component is integral with the specimen holder (figure 1).
Regarding claim 7, Kubek teaches wherein at least one clipping component (item 13) comprises surfaces integral with the specimen holder and detachable securing clips (figure 1).
Regarding claim 8, Kubek teaches the one or more apertures provide access to both sides of the thin-film specimen by grip of a material test system (figure 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kubek in view of United States Patent No. 3,862,793, hereinafter Gallant.
Regarding claim 9, Kubek teaches all limitations of claim 1; however, Kubek fails to teach the specimen holder further comprises one or more pads on a bottom surface of the specimen holder, the one or more pads configured to maintain the specimen holder static while engaging the thin- film specimen.
Gallant teaches bottom pads which rest on top of the microscope stage which allows for guided movement of the slides (Gallant, column 4, lines 32-44).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have added pads on the bottom surface of the specimen holder because it would help for guided movements of the slides (Gallant, column 4, lines 32-44).
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kubek in view of United States Application Publication No. 2007/0121202, hereinafter Riederer.
Regarding claim 10, Kubek teaches all limitations of claim 1; however, Kubek fails to teach the specimen holder further comprises one or more magnetic based arrangements configured to keep the one or more securing components open while the thin-film specimen is being inserted or engaged to the specimen holder.
Riederer teaches the holding means for a microscope can be physical, chemical or magnetic means to stabilize the object in a position and orientation for effective viewing (Riederer, paragraph [0143]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have utilized a magnetic based arrangement in the device of Kubek to hold the slide in position because it would stabilize the object in a position and orientation for effective viewing (Riederer, paragraph [0143]). Further, Examiner further finds that the prior art contained a device/method/product (i.e., magnetic holding) which differed from the claimed device by the substitution of component(s) (i.e., spring holding) with other component(s) (i.e., magnetic holding), and the substituted components and their functions were known in the art as above set forth. An ordinarily skilled artisan at the time of invention could have substituted one known element with another (i.e., spring holding with magnetic holding), and the results of the substitution (i.e., holding the slide in position) would have been predictable.
Therefore, pursuant to MPEP §2143 (I), Examiner concludes that it would have been obvious to an ordinarily skilled artisan at the time of invention to substitute spring holding of reference Kubek with magnetic holding of reference Riederer, since the result would have been predictable.
The examiner notes that the magnetics as added by Riederer would be capable of keeping the one or more securing components open while the thin-film specimen is being inserted or engaged to the specimen holder as the magnets could be rotated such that their poles repel each other.
Conclusion
/MATTHEW D KRCHA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1796