DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. Claim s 1-3 and 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park et al. ( US 20230198046 A1 ) in view of Kim (US 20210057692 A1) . Regarding claim 1, Park discloses a battery system with thermal runaway stability (paragraphs 0012-0014 ) , the battery system comprising: a battery module in which one or more cell assemblies are stacked in a stacking direction ( paragraph 0042, figure 2, cell stack 120 ) ; a support frame bent in a U shape while one side and the other side thereof are open to be coupled to three surfaces of the battery module (paragraphs 0051-0053, figure 2, U-shaped frame 210) ; and a heat conductor disposed on at least one side surface of the battery module (paragraphs 0042, 0067, figure 2, thermal conductive resins 510, 520, 610, and 620) . Park is silent regarding each of the cell assemblies including two battery cells and a cooling plate disposed between the two battery cells . Kim discloses a battery module assembly with a plurality of unit modules stacked therein (Kim paragraph 0011-0012). Kim further discloses that a unit module includes two battery cells fixed and mounted to both sides of a cartridge including a plate-shaped cooling pin (Kim paragraphs 0049-0051, figures 5-6). The reference teaches that the cooling plate dissipates heat from the cells and the unit module structure allows for a simple configuration (Kim paragraphs 0051, 0093). Kim and Park are analogous because they both disclose battery module structures for cell stacks. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the cell assembly disclosed by Park to include the unit module structure disclosed by Kim. Doing so would improve heat dissipation and provide a simple configuration. Regarding claim 2, modified Park discloses the limitations of claim 1. Park further discloses that the support frame includes: two lateral surface coupling portions coupled to surfaces of the battery module perpendicular to the stacking direction; and an upper surface coupling portion connecting the lateral surface coupling portions to each other and coupled to one surface of the battery module (paragraphs 0052-0053, figure 2, bottom part 210a and lateral parts 210b) . Regarding claim 3, modified Park discloses the limitations of claim 2 . Park further discloses that the heat conductor includes: a first heat conductor disposed on a side surface of the battery module that is not in contact with the support frame (paragraph 0042, figure 2, thermal conductive layers 510 and 520) ; and a second heat conductor disposed between the upper surface coupling portion and the battery module (paragraph 0067, figure 2, thermal resin layer 600) . R egarding claim 10, modified Park discloses the limitations of claim 1. Park further discloses a cover unit coupled to one side and the other side of the support frame to support the battery module, wherein the cover unit includes a pair of cover housings coupled to the one side and the other side of the support frame, one end of each of the cover housings is open, and the other end of each of the cover housings is closed, and the cover housing includes a plurality of coupling surfaces surrounding one end and the other end of the cover housing and coupled to the support frame (paragraph 0055, figures 1-2, end plates 400) . Regarding claim 11, modified Park discloses the limitations of claim 10. Park further discloses that at least one of the coupling surfaces of the cover housing is tilted in an outward direction so that the cover housing has a predetermined angle of 90 degrees or more between the other end and the at least one of the coupling surfaces thereof (figures 1-2, end plates 400 coupling portions are clearly at a perpendicular or greater angle) . Claims 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park et al. (US 20230198046 A1) in view of Kim (US 20210057692 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Lee ( US 20220037714 A1 ) . Regarding claim 4, modified Park discloses the limitations of claim 1. Park is silent regarding a heat-resistant pad disposed between every two adjacent ones of the cell assemblies. Lee discloses a battery module comprising a cell stack and a composite pad between neighboring battery cells comprising a heat shielding pad to block heat transfer between cells (Lee paragraph 0013). Lee further discloses that the pad composites are disposed between an amount of battery cells determined in consideration of the number of battery cells included in the battery module, the capacity of the battery cells, and the thickness of the pad composite (Lee paragraph 0057, figure 5). The reference teaches that the heat shielding pad minimizes heat transfer to the cells (Lee paragraph 0052). Lee and Park are analogous because they both disclose battery modules comprising cell stacks. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include the heat-shielding pad disclosed by Lee between every two adjacent cell assemblies to minimize heat transfer between the cells, because Lee teaches that the amount of cells between pads is selected in consideration of the above factors. Furthermore, Lee teaches that the amount of cells between the pads is a results-effective variable that controls or is selected based off of the number of cells in the module, capacity, and thickness of the pad. I t has been held by the courts that optimization of a results effective variable is not novel. In re Boesch, 617 F2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980). Claims 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park et al. (US 20230198046 A1) in view of Kim (US 20210057692 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Matsuo et al. ( US 20130108909 A1 ) . Regarding claim 5, modified Park discloses the limitations of claim 1. Park is silent regarding wherein the support frame includes at least one anti-swelling groove in an inward direction on each surface thereof. Matsuo discloses a battery module including a cell stack and a housing formed by a bottom, ceiling, and side surfaces (Matsuo paragraphs 0021-0024, 0034). Matsuo further discloses that the ceiling and bottom surfaces include a recess which increases rigidity and suppresses expansion of the battery module (Matsuo paragraph 0052, figure 8, 121 and 131, equivalent to anti-swelling groove). Matsuo and Park are analogous because they both disclose battery modules with cell stacks. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the battery frame disclosed by Park to include the recesses disclosed by Matsuo on each surface. Doing so would improve rigidity and suppress battery expansion. The combination of familiar elements is likely to be obvious when it does no more than yield predictable results. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc. , 550 U.S. 416 , 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395 – 97 (2007) (see MPEP § 2143, A.). Claims 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park et al. (US 20230198046 A1) in view of Kim (US 20210057692 A1) as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Choi et al. ( US 20220158290 A1 ) . Regarding claim 6, modified Park discloses the limitations of claim 2. Park further discloses an end plate (paragraphs 0055-0056, figure 2, end plates 400). Park is silent regarding the end plates disposed between each of the lateral surface coupling portions and the battery module. Choi discloses a battery module including a cell stack and a u-shaped module frame (Choi paragraphs 0011, 0050, figure 2). Choi further discloses busbar frames and insulating plates located between the side surface of the frame and the cell stack (Choi paragraph 0051, figure 2, equivalent to end plates). The reference teaches that the plates allow the busbar and leads to be insulated from the frame (Choi paragraph 0051). Choi and Park are analogous because they both disclose battery modules with a U-shaped frame. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the module disclosed by Park to include the plates disclosed by Choi. Doing so would improve insulation of the electrical components. Claims 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park et al. (US 20230198046 A1) in view of Kim (US 20210057692 A1) and Choi et al. ( US 20220158290 A1 ) as applied to claim 6 above, and further in view of Chang et al. ( US 20210305546 A1 ). Regarding claim 7, modified Park discloses the limitations of claim 6. Park is silent regarding wherein the end plate includes a wire harness extending in a direction in which the support frame is open, and circuits measuring a voltage and a temperature of the battery module are integrated in the wire harness. Chang discloses a battery module comprising cells stacked in a direction and a U-shaped housing (Chang paragraphs 0023, 0034). Chang further discloses that the module comprises a signal collection component including a circuit board, and components measuring voltage and temperature connected to the wire harness end plates and extending in a direction in which the housing is open (Chang paragraph 0032, figure 1, signal collection component 9). The reference teaches that the configuration improves space utilization and ease of assembly (Chang paragraph 0032). Chang and Park are analogous because they both disclose battery modules with U-shaped frames. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the module disclosed by Chang to include the wire harness and circuits disclosed by Chang. Doing so would improve space utilization and ease of assembly. Claims 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park et al. (US 20230198046 A1) in view of Kim (US 20210057692 A1) as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Jang et al. ( US 20220376336 A1 ) . Regarding claim 8, modified Park discloses the limitations of claim 2. Park is silent regarding a clamp additionally supporting the coupling of the battery module to the support frame, wherein both end portions of the clamp are perpendicularly bent by a predetermined length, and the both end portions of the clamp are fixed to the lateral surface coupling portions, respectively, and the clamp is in contact with a side surface of the battery module that is not in contact with the support frame. Jang discloses a battery module comprising a stack of cells, a U-shaped frame, and an open upper part comprising upper plates covering the cells (Jang paragraph 0000). Jang further discloses that the upper plates are fixed to the frame by coupling portions and do not cover the entire surface (Jang paragraphs 0040-0043, figure 1, upper plates 220, equivalent to clamps. The reference teaches that this structure improves assembly efficiency and safety (Jang paragaphs 0041-0042). Jang and Park are analogous because they both disclose battery modules with U-shaped frames. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the module disclosed by Park to include the clamps disclosed by Jang. Doing so would improve assembly efficiency and safety. Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park et al. (US 20230198046 A1) in view of Kim (US 20210057692 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Park et al. ( US 20230092568 A1 , referred to herein in as “US ‘568” ) . Regarding claim 9, modified Park discloses the limitations of claim 1. Park is silent regarding a sensing unit coupled to the one side and the other side of the support frame to sense information of the battery module, wherein the sensing unit includes: a front side assembly coupled to the one side of the support frame, with a sensing terminal mounted thereon; and a rear side assembly coupled to the other side of the support frame, with another sensing terminal mounted thereon, each of the front side assembly and the rear side assembly includes at least one partition wall protruding toward the battery module, and the partition wall is located between every two adjacent ones of the cell assemblies. US ‘568 discloses a battery module comprising a cell stack, a U-shaped frame, and a busbar frame comprising sensing busbars (US ‘568 paragraphs 0014, 0021, 0039). US ‘568 further discloses that a busbar frame is formed to cover the rear and front surfaces of the cell stack and transmits sensed information (US ‘568 paragraph 0040, figure 2, frame 300). The reference teaches that partition walls are formed covering side surfaces of two busbars in the plurality of busbars (US ‘568 paragraph 0043, figure 3). The configuration prevents short circuiting and ensures stability (US ‘568 paragraph 0024). US ‘568 and Park are analogous because they both disclose battery modules with U-shaped frames. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the module disclosed by Park to include the sensing assembly disclosed by US ‘568. Doling so would prevent short circuiting and ensure stability. Claim s 12-1 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park et al. (US 20230198046 A1) in view of Kim (US 20210057692 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Jang et al. ( US 20230378597 A1 ) . Regarding claims 12-13, modified Park discloses the limitations of claim 10. Park is silent regarding wherein the cover housing has at least one discharge groove on an outer side and an inner side of each of the coupling surfaces. Jang discloses a battery module comprising a cell stack and a U-shaped frame, end plates covering the front and rear surfaces of the stack, and vent holes formed in at least one of the frame, the first end plate, and the second end plate (Jang abstract, paragraph 0139). Jang further discloses that venting holes are formed in the coupling surfaces of both end plates adjacent to the areas where the most heat is generated (Jang paragraph 0097, figure 7, venting holes 410H and 420H). The reference teaches that this reduces the possibility of explosion or ignition (Jang paragraph 0097). Jang and Park are analogous because they both disclose battery modules with U-shaped frames. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the module disclosed by Park to include the vent holes disclosed by Jang on each of the coupling surfaces according to where the most heat is generated. Doing so would reduce the possibility of explosion or ignition. Regarding claim 14, modified Park discloses the limitations of claim 10. Park is silent regarding a controller receiving voltage information or temperature information of the battery module and controlling the battery module, wherein the cover housing further includes a mounting means on an outer surface on which the controller is disposed. Jang discloses a battery module comprising a cell stack and a U-shaped frame, end plates covering the front and rear surfaces of the stack, and vent holes formed in at least one of the frame, the first end plate, and the second end plate (Jang abstract, paragraph 0139). Jang further discloses that a module connector is mounted on the busbar frames and may be exposed to the end plates, and transmits data to a Battery Management System which receives voltage data (Jang paragraph 0155, equivalent to mounting a controller). The reference teaches that this allows for detection and control of overvoltage, overcurrent, and overheating (Jang paragraph 0153). Jang and Park are analogous because they both disclose battery modules with U-shaped frames. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the module disclosed by Park to include the controller configuration disclosed by Jang to detect and control overvoltage, overcurrent, and overheating. Regarding claim 15, modified Park discloses the limitations of claim 1 4 . Park is silent regarding wherein the controller includes a voltage sensing wire connected to a sensing unit, and a communication hole through which the voltage sensing wire passes is disposed in the other end surface of the cover housing. Jang discloses a battery module comprising a cell stack and a U-shaped frame, end plates covering the front and rear surfaces of the stack, and vent holes formed in at least one of the frame, the first end plate, and the second end plate (Jang abstract, paragraph 0139). Jang further discloses that the module contains a sensing member that can detect voltage, and a module connector passing through connector openings in the end plates for the sensors (Jang paragraph 0155). The reference teaches that this configuration allows for detection and control of overvoltage, overcurrent, and overheating (Jang paragraph 0153). Jang and Park are analogous because they both disclose battery modules with U-shaped frames. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the module disclosed by Park to include the sensor configuration disclosed by Jang including the openings to detect and control overvoltage, overcurrent, and overheating. Claim s 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park et al. (US 20230198046 A1) in view of Kim (US 20210057692 A1) and Jang et al. ( US 20230378597 A1 ) as applied to claim 14 above, and further in view of Yano et al. ( US 20220320600 A1 ). Regarding claim 16, modified Park discloses the limitations of claim 14. Park is silent regarding wherein the cover housing has at least one wireless communication groove in the other end surface or one of the coupling surfaces thereof to assist wireless communication between the controller and the sensing unit. Yano discloses a battery module including a battery stack and an electronic circuit block disposed in on a surface of the end plate (Yano paragraph 0012). Yano further discloses that a wireless communication is provided in the block fixed to the outer side of the end plate, resulting in a simplified structure with high reliability (Yano paragraph 0101, figure 6). Yano and Park are analogous because they both disclose battery modules comprising cell stacks. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the module disclosed by Park to include the wireless circuit communicating with the controlling unit as disclosed by Yano to improve reliability and simplicity. Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to FILLIN "Examiner name" \* MERGEFORMAT BENJAMIN T LUSTGRAAF whose telephone number is FILLIN "Phone number" \* MERGEFORMAT (571)272-0165 . The examiner can normally be reached FILLIN "Work Schedule?" \* MERGEFORMAT Monday - Friday 8:30 am - 6:00 pm . Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, FILLIN "SPE Name?" \* MERGEFORMAT Barbara Gilliam can be reached at FILLIN "SPE Phone?" \* MERGEFORMAT 571-272-1330 . The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /B.T.L./ Examiner, Art Unit 1727 /Maria Laios/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1727