DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 09/23/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Note that in view of applicant’s amendments, the previously indicated claim objections and rejections under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) have been withdrawn.
With respect to applicant’s arguments concerning the rejections of the independent claims 1, 16 and 20 under 35 U.S.C. 103, in particular that the combination of US 20180362185 A1 (Qian) and US 20160342162 A1 (Adachi) fails to fairly render the claimed invention(s) obvious, the examiner respectfully disagrees.
In particular, while the examiner agrees that Qian does not expressly teach or suggest the claimed subject matter concerning the determination of a target speed limit that is associated with the first parameter value [e.g., via displacement of one or more of the input levers/control sticks 38, 40 per Fig. 2A-2B, and/or via virtual control(s) of the touch screen 48 per Fig. 2B], the examiner maintains that the analogous Adachi prior art reference does reasonably teach and/or suggest the same (or substantially similar) functionality as that of the claims (see at least steps S1-S3-S13-S15-S11-S19 per Fig. 4 of Adachi in conjunction with paragraphs [0040]-[0046]) [e.g., “If the absolute value of the basic attitude speed of the helicopter 1 is not smaller than the absolute value of the limit value, the process goes to Step S15, where the target speed of the helicopter 1 is set to the limit value (for example, about 20 km per hour for forward flight and about −20 km per hour for backward flight”]; [e.g., Adachi clearly teaches wherein a target speed limit value is set (or determined) as a function of the degree and/or extent of displacement of the first joystick 16a]; [e.g., note Fig. 5B and at least paragraph [0051], such that one can readily observe the degree and/or extent of displacement of the first joystick 16a, and further note the corresponding context describing how the speed of the helicopter/movable object is (or can be) limited by a set (or determined) target speed limit that is associated with the degree and/or extent of displacement of the first joystick 16a and/or a speed/speed change signal (or basic attitude speed) that is associated with the degree and/or extent of displacement of the first joystick 16a]; [e.g., also see the speed/speed change signal indicated by the controller 26 per Fig. 2].
Furthermore, with respect to applicant’s argument that Adachi does not expressly teach or suggest wherein the processor determines (or sets) the aforementioned target speed limit, such that the target speed limit and the target acceleration are associated with the value of the first parameter, the examiner respectfully disagrees.
To elaborate, again reference the aforementioned excerpts emphasized above [e.g., the process(es) and/or specific steps indicated and emphasized above are with specific respect to the processor 26a of the controller 26 per Fig. 2 and/or the functionality subsequently illustrated per Fig. 5b-5c, and as such, contrary to applicant’s assertion, Adachi teaches and/or at the very least suggests that the processor determines (or sets) the aforementioned target speed limit, such that the target speed limit and the target acceleration are associated with the value of the first parameter]; [e.g., note at least steps S3 and S15 per Fig. 4, of which correspond to the processor of the controller 26 determining a target acceleration and a target speed limit, respectively, as a function of the degree and/or extent of displacement of the first joystick 16a]; [e.g., “Step S3 means that the helicopter 1 is in an accelerating or decelerating state”]; [e.g., “the process goes to Step S15, where the target speed of the helicopter 1 is set to the limit value (for example, about 20 km per hour for forward flight and about −20 km per hour for backward flight”].
The above discussion similarly addresses applicant’s argument(s) concerning the respective dependent claims [e.g., the argument(s) that the respective dependent claims are allowable based on dependency from the respective independent claims]. See detailed rejection below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over US 20180362185 A1 (Qian) in view of US 20160342162 A1 (Adachi).
Regarding claims 1, 16 and 20, Qian (Figures 1-22) teaches a method [and commensurate apparatus and system comprising at least one non-transitory storage medium (52) storing a set of instructions] for controlling a movable object (10) (see Fig. 1-3 in conjunction with paragraphs [0060]-[0062]), comprising:
in response to receiving a first parameter value [e.g., a first user input value] from a user interface (32, 36 and/or 46 per Fig. 1, 2A-2B) communicately coupled to the movable object (see Fig. 1-3 in conjunction with paragraphs [0051]-[0056], [0062], [0067]) [e.g., at least paragraph [0062] providing for various means of communicatively coupling the user interface to the movable object, said various means including wirelessly coupling the user interface to the movable object]:
determining, by a processor (54), a target speed and target acceleration, wherein the target speed and the target acceleration are associated with the value of the first parameter [e.g., via displacement of one or more of the input levers/control sticks 38, 40 per Fig. 2A-2B, and/or via virtual control(s) of the touch screen 48 per Fig. 2B]; and
controlling, by the processor, the movable object to change a speed in a horizontal direction in accordance with the target acceleration (see Fig. 1-4B in conjunction with paragraphs [0042], [0051]-[0056], [0063]-[0064], [0067]-[0071]) [e.g., “Movements of movable object 10 may include roll, pitch, yaw, horizontal translations (e.g., left, right, forward, backward, etc.), vertical translation (e.g., height or altitude), horizontal speeds, vertical speed, rotational speeds (e.g., angular, radial, tangential, axial, etc.), and accelerations (e.g., horizontal, vertical, rotational, etc.)”]; [e.g., “The amount or degree of displacement of first input lever 38 in the forward or backward direction may be indicative of a desired linear speed or acceleration along the first axis and/or a desired rotational speed or acceleration about the first axis”].
Qian fails to expressly teach wherein the processor determines a target speed limit, wherein the target speed limit is associated with the value of the first parameter, controlling the movable object to change a speed in a horizontal direction until reaching the target speed limit, and wherein in response to not receiving the first parameter value, controlling the movable object to move at a uniform speed in the horizontal direction.
However, Adachi (Figures 1-7) teaches an analogous remote control device (10) for controlling a movable object (1), and suggests wherein the corresponding processor (26a per Fig. 2) is configured to determine (or set) a target speed limit [e.g., limit value] in addition to the target acceleration based on a corresponding first parameter value from a user interface (12) [e.g., via displacement of at least the first joystick 16a], and control the movable object to change the speed [e.g., accelerate] in the horizontal direction until the speed reaches the target speed limit (see at least steps S1-S3-S13-S15-S11-S19 per Fig. 4 in conjunction with paragraphs [0040]-[0046]) [e.g., “If the absolute value of the basic attitude speed of the helicopter 1 is not smaller than the absolute value of the limit value, the process goes to Step S15, where the target speed of the helicopter 1 is set to the limit value (for example, about 20 km per hour for forward flight and about −20 km per hour for backward flight”], and wherein in response to not receiving the first parameter value, the processor is further configured to control the movable object to move at a uniform [e.g., constant] speed in the horizontal direction (see Fig. 1-3, 5a-5c in conjunction with paragraphs [0014], [0036]-[0037], [0050]-[0053]) [e.g., “Referring to FIG. 5B, if the first joystick 16a stays in the first change range C1a of the speed change range C1, then the controller 26 tilts the nose of the helicopter 1 downward to maintain a forward tilting attitude of the helicopter body so that the helicopter body keeps moving forward and keeps accelerating. However, the basic attitude speed is limited by the limit value (for example, about ±20 km per hour, in the present preferred embodiment). Therefore, when an absolute value of the basic attitude speed reaches the absolute value of the limit value, then the tilt angle of the nose of the helicopter 1 in the up-down direction is controlled to automatically bring the helicopter body into its horizontal attitude and to maintain the flying speed at the limit value”]; [e.g., “Referring to FIG. 5C, if the first joystick 16a is moved from the first change range C1a of the speed change range C1 to the speed determination range D1, then the controller 26 compares the basic attitude speed of the helicopter 1 and the threshold value to each other. If an absolute value of the basic attitude speed of the helicopter 1 is not smaller than the threshold value, then the flying speed is brought to a constant level at the basic attitude speed”]; [e.g., noting that the speed determination range D1 corresponds to the baseline or neutral position SP per Fig. 3a]; [e.g., observe the position of the first joystick 16a per the lowermost illustration of Fig. 5c, said position corresponding to when the first parameter value is not being received, and then observe the uppermost illustration per Fig. 5c, where the helicopter (or movable object) is controlled to move at a uniform (or constant) speed in the horizontal direction].
As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art and/or merely involve routine skill in the art to accordingly implement the aforementioned feature(s) and/or functionality per Adachi into the prior art invention(s) per Qian as a modification [e.g., implementing the aforementioned feature(s) and/or functionality discussed above per Adachi into the invention(s) per Qian], as suggested by Adachi, in order to help maintain (or further ensure) a stable and constant flying speed of the movable object even under external conditions such as strong winds [e.g., in order to promote (or further promote) stability of the movable object], reduce operator burden and/or the skill level required by an operator to effectively and/or efficiently control the movable object, remove the need for the operator to operate (or constantly operate) the joystick/control module to maintain a speed of the movable object, and/or make it possible to prevent undesired acceleration and deceleration of the movable object (see Fig. 1-3, 5a-5c in conjunction with paragraphs [0006], [0011], [0014]).
Additionally note that the aforementioned modification constitutes the application and/or combination of well-known analogous prior art elements/techniques in such a way as to yield highly predictable results [e.g., in consideration that Qian and Adachi are both relevant to at least the same general field(s) of endeavor concerning the control of movable objects via remote control(s), techniques for ensuring the stability of an unmanned aerial vehicle (or unmanned movable object), etc., there would be no unexpected result(s)/effect(s) yielded via accordingly implementing the aforementioned teachings per Adachi into the invention(s) per Qian to achieve the same readily foreseeable technical effects and/or advantage(s) discussed above, and similarly, one of ordinary skill in the art can readily select from various well-known configurations based on certain factors concerning the particular application (cost considerations, environmental considerations (e.g., the presence of wind or no wind), desiring/requiring a constant speed based on the particular intended use of the remote controlled movable object (e.g., filming, tracking, surveying, etc.), operator skill level, desiring/requiring a particular operator comfort/burden, etc.), without exercising inventive skill].
Regarding claims 2 and 17, Qian in view of Adachi teaches the invention as claimed and as discussed above. Qian (Figures 1-22) further teaches and/or suggests wherein in response to receiving a second parameter value [e.g., a second user input value] of the user interface (see Fig. 1-3 in conjunction with paragraphs [0051]-[0056], [0067]), controlling, by the processor, the movable object to perform a banked turn based on the second parameter value [e.g., via displacement of another one of the input levers/control sticks 38, 40 per Fig. 2A-2B, and/or via another virtual control of the touch screen 48 per Fig. 2B] (see Fig. 1-4B in conjunction with paragraphs [0042], [0063]-[0064], [0067]-[0071], [0122]) [e.g., “Second input lever 40 on terminal 32 may be configured to receive one or more user inputs indicative of one or more aspects of controlling movement of movable object 10. In one embodiment, second input lever 40 may be configured to receive one or more inputs corresponding to one or more desired translational or rotational movements of movable object 10. For example, second input lever 40 may be a multi-axis control device, such as a control stick, configured to be displaced in a plurality of directions, each direction corresponding to a type and sign (e.g., positive, negative, forward, backward, etc.) of a command indicative of a desired movement. The amount of displacement of second input lever 40 from a neutral position may be indicative of an extent or magnitude of the corresponding desired movement”]; [e.g., “during some maneuvers, such as when circling the target, tracking in an arcuate path, or tracking the target while making somewhat sharp maneuvers (e.g., high-speed turns, steep banking turns, low radius turns, etc.)”]; [e.g., the ability to perform sharp maneuvers such as banked turns is included in and/or encompassed by the functionality per Qian]. Also refer to discussion regarding claims 1, 16 and 20.
Regarding claim 3, Qian in view of Adachi teaches the invention as claimed and as discussed above. Qian (Figures 1-22) further teaches and/or suggests wherein curvature of the banked turn is configured to increase when the second parameter value increases, and the curvature of the banked turn is configured to decrease when the second parameter value decreases (see Fig. 1-4B in conjunction with paragraphs [0042], [0052], [0063]-[0065], [0069]-[0074], [0122], [0138]-[0139]) [e.g., one of ordinary skill in the art can reasonably infer that, based on the particular degree and/or extent of displacement of the input levers/control sticks 38 and/or 40, 42, 44, and/or the input(s) at 46, 48, etc. per Fig. 2A-2B, the curvature/arc of any/all turns will accordingly increase or decrease]. Also refer to discussion regarding claims 2 and 17.
Regarding claims 4-5, Qian in view of Adachi teaches the invention as claimed and as discussed above. Qian (Figures 1-22) further teaches and/or suggests wherein in response to receiving a third parameter value [e.g., a third user input value] from the user interface (see Fig. 1-3 in conjunction with paragraphs [0051]-[0056], [0067]), controlling, by the processor, the movable object to perform the banked turn with a slip angle or a skid angle based on the third parameter value, and similarly, wherein curvature of the banked turn is configured to increase when the third parameter value increases, and the curvature of the banked turn is configured to decrease when the third parameter value decreases (see Fig. 1-4B in conjunction with paragraphs [0042], [0052], [0063]-[0065], [0069]-[0074], [0122], [0138]-[0139]) [e.g., the third parameter value being defined and/or encompassed by the remaining one(s) of 36, 46, 48, 38, 40, 42, 44]; [e.g., “Propulsion devices 12 may be configured to propel movable object 10 in one or more vertical and horizontal directions and to allow movable object 10 to rotate about one or more axes. That is, propulsion devices 12 may be configured to provide lift and/or thrust for creating and maintaining translational and rotational movements of movable object 10. For instance, propulsion devices 12 may be configured to enable movable object 10 to achieve and maintain desired altitudes, provide thrust for movement in all directions, and provide for steering of movable object 10”]; [e.g., “The Z-axis may be referred to as a yaw axis, about which the movable object 10 may undergo yaw rotational movements (i.e., rotational movements on or parallel with a plane defined by the X-and Y-axes) and along which movable object 10 may undergo up and down (i.e., vertical or altitudinal) translational movements. A person of ordinary skill in the art would appreciate that more or fewer axes, or different axis conventions may be used. It is also noted that directional and planar descriptions (e.g., side-to-side, back and forth, up and down, horizontal, vertical, etc.) are used merely for purposes of example and clarification and are not limiting”]; [e.g., one of ordinary skill in the art can reasonably infer that the performing of the banked turn(s) described will be provided (or is/are providable) via a particular desired slip or skid angle based on a relevant third user input value and/or based on a relevant third user input value in combination with the first and/or second user input values]. Also refer to discussion regarding claims 2 and 17.
Regarding claims 6-7 and 18, Qian in view of Adachi teaches the invention as claimed and as discussed above. Qian (Figures 1-22) further teaches and/or suggests the subject matter per claims 6-7 and 18, such that it is clear in view of the context per Qian that the movable object 10 is capable of being moved and/or controlled in the manner(s) claimed and/or such that a throttle parameter value may be received to control, by the processor, the movable object to ascend [e.g., to increase in height or altitude] by controlling a rotation rate of a motor coupled to the movable object based on the throttle parameter value, and wherein the rotation rate of the motor is configured to accordingly increase or decrease when the throttle parameter value respectively increases or decreases (see Fig. 1-4B in conjunction with paragraphs [0041]-[0045], [0052], [0063]-[0065], [0069]-[0074]) [e.g., the throttle parameter value(s) being defined and/or encompassed by the remaining one(s) of 36, 46, 48, 38, 40, 42, 44 per Fig. 2A-2B]; [e.g., Propulsion devices 12 may share or may each separately include or be operatively connected to a power source, such as a motor (e.g., an electric motor, hydraulic motor, pneumatic motor, etc.)]; [e.g., “actuator members 28 may include electric motors configured to provide linear or rotation motion to components of frame assembly 26 and/or payload 14 in conjunction with axles, shafts, rails, belts, chains, gears, and/or other components”]; [e.g., “Movements of movable object 10 may include roll, pitch, yaw, horizontal translations (e.g., left, right, forward, backward, etc.), vertical translation (e.g., height or altitude), horizontal speeds, vertical speed, rotational speeds (e.g., angular, radial, tangential, axial, etc.), and accelerations (e.g., horizontal, vertical, rotational, etc.). Each axis of the local coordinate system may be associated with one or more particular position or movement parameters that may be changed or adjusted during flight to facilitate effective control of movable object 10”]; [e.g., “For example, displacement of second input lever 40 in the forward or backward direction may correspond to a desired throttle increase or decrease, respectively. That is, displacement in the forward direction may be indicative of both a desired throttle increase and a desired corresponding height or altitude increase, while displacement in the backward direction may be indicative of a desired throttle decrease and a corresponding height or altitude decrease”]. Also refer to discussion regarding claims 2 and 17.
Regarding claims 8 and 19, Qian in view of Adachi teaches the invention as claimed and as discussed above. Qian (Figures 1-22) further teaches and/or suggests the subject matter per claims 8 and 19, such that it is clear in view of the context per Qian that the movable object 10 and/or carrier (16 per Fig. 1) is/are capable of being moved and/or controlled in the manner(s) claimed and/or such that in response to receiving the first parameter, the processor may adjust a pitch angle of the carrier coupled to the movable object, wherein the carrier comprises a camera (14, 19 per Fig. 1) (see Fig. 1-4B in conjunction with paragraphs [0040]-[0045], [0052], [0063]-[0065], [0069]-[0074], [0080]-[0082], [0123]) [e.g., observe carrier 16 and the camera indicated at 14, 19 per Fig. 1]; [e.g., “Carrier 16 may include one or more devices configured to hold the payload 14 and/or allow the payload 14 to be adjusted (e.g., rotated) with respect to movable object 10. For example, carrier 16 may be a gimbal. Carrier 16 may be configured to allow payload 14 to be rotated about one or more axes”]; [e.g., “as shown in FIG. 1, payload 14 may be connected or attached to movable object 10 by a carrier 16, which may allow for one or more degrees of relative movement between payload 14 and movable object 10”]; [e.g., “When payload 14 is attached or connected to movable object 10 via adjustable carrier 16, the perspective of payload 14 may vary with respect to the perspective of movable object 10”]; [e.g., the carrier 16 may be a gimbal, which can change/adjust a pitch angle via tilting up and down]; [e.g., “Payload 14 may include one or more sensory devices 19. Sensory devices 19 may include devices for collecting or generating data or information, such as surveying, tracking, and capturing images or video of targets (e.g., objects, landscapes, subjects of photo or video shoots, etc.). Sensory devices 19 may include imaging devices configured to gathering data that may be used to generate images. For example, imaging devices may include photographic cameras, video cameras, infrared imaging devices, ultraviolet imaging devices, x-ray devices, ultrasonic imaging devices, radar devices, etc.”].
Regarding claim 9, Qian in view of Adachi teaches the invention as claimed and as discussed above. Qian (Figures 1-22) further teaches and/or suggests wherein in response to receiving a control-mode signal, switching, by the processor, a control mode of the movable object from a first control mode to a second control mode, wherein the first and second control modes have different respective control logic for controlling the movable object to move (implicit), and in response to receiving the first parameter value, controlling, by the processor, the movable object in the second control mode to move forward or backward in the horizontal direction based on the first parameter value (see Fig. 1-4B in conjunction with paragraphs [0042], [0052], [0063]-[0065], [0069]-[0074], [0138]-[0139]) [e.g., “For example, second input lever 40 may be a multi-axis control device, such as a control stick, configured to be displaced in a plurality of directions, each direction corresponding to a type and sign (e.g., positive, negative, forward, backward, etc.) of a command indicative of a desired movement. The amount of displacement of second input lever 40 from a neutral position may be indicative of an extent or magnitude of the corresponding desired movement. For example, in one embodiment, second input lever 40 may be movable (e.g., tiltable) in a forward direction, backward direction, left direction, and a right direction from the perspective of the user”]; [e.g., “In some embodiments, terminal 32 and controller 22 may be configured to switch between a first mode in which user inputs received via terminal 32 directly correspond to movements of movable object 10 in the perspective of movable object 10, as discussed above in connection with FIGS. 2A-B and 4A, and a second mode in which user inputs received via terminal 32 correspond to movements of movable object 10 in the use's perspective. For instance, terminal 32 may include a button, switch, knob, a touchscreen icon, or some other type of input or input device configured to receive a user input indicative of a user selection to enter the first or second mode. A pattern of lever operations may also be predefined to effect the switch between modes or selection of modes. Alternatively, controller 22 may assume a default mode, such as either of the first mode or the second mode upon being energized or upon receipt of initial user inputs indicative of flight commands. When in the first mode, controller 22 may be configured to receive user inputs indicative of flight parameters (e.g., roll, pitch, yaw, throttle, etc.) in the user's perspective and generate commands to movable object 10 indicative of corresponding flight parameters in the perspective of movable object 10 without translation. That is, in the first mode, user inputs may be indicative of adjustments to flight parameters of movable object 10 in the perspective of movable object 10. When in the second mode, controller 22 may be configured to receive user inputs indicative of flight parameters (e.g., roll, pitch, yaw, throttle, etc.) to cause desired movement of movable object 10 in the user's perspective and generate translated commands to movable object 10 indicative of flight parameters in the perspective of movable object 10 that cause movements of movable object 10 that correspond to the desired movements of movable object 10 from the user's perspective. That is, in the second mode, user inputs may be indicative of adjustments to flight parameters movable object 10 in the user's perspective”].
Qian fails to expressly teach wherein in response to not receiving the first parameter value, controlling, by the processor, the movable object in the second control mode to move at a substantially zero horizontal speed [e.g., in other words, to hover].
However, Adachi (Figures 1-7) teaches an analogous remote control device (10) for controlling a movable object (1), and suggests wherein in response to not receiving the corresponding first parameter value, the processor is further configured to control the movable object to move at a substantially zero horizontal speed in a second control mode [e.g., in a state of hovering]; [e.g., switching from the first control mode illustrated/indicated per Fig. 5b to the second control mode illustrated/indicated via the stopped/hovering state per Fig. 5c] (see Fig. 1-3, 5a-5c in conjunction with paragraphs [0014], [0036]-[0037], [0050]-[0053]) [e.g., “Referring to FIG. 5C, if the first joystick 16a is moved from the first change range C1a of the speed change range C1 to the speed determination range D1, then the controller 26 compares the basic attitude speed of the helicopter 1 and the threshold value to each other. If an absolute value of the basic attitude speed of the helicopter 1 is not smaller than the threshold value, then the flying speed is brought to a constant level at the basic attitude speed. If the absolute value of the basic attitude speed is smaller than the threshold value, then the helicopter is brought to state of hovering”]; [e.g., the aforementioned subject matter corresponds to the mode per Adachi that is enabled when the joystick 16a is moved to D1 (which corresponds to the baseline/neutral position per Fig. 3) and/or when the operator isn’t displacing the joystick 16a in a forward or backward direction, and with respect to an associated determination that the absolute value of the speed of the movable object is smaller than a threshold value]; [e.g., observe the lower illustration of the movable object/helicopter per Fig. 5c, further noting the position of the joystick 16a]; see motivation(s)/rationale(s) as discussed regarding claims 1, 16 and 20.
Regarding claims 10-11, Qian in view of Adachi teaches the invention as claimed and as discussed above. Qian (Figures 1-22) further teaches and/or suggests switching, by the processor, a control mode of the movable object from a first control mode to a second control mode, wherein the first control mode and the second control mode have different respective control logic for controlling the movable object to move (implicit), and a given (or chosen) control mode can be set to a default control mode if desired (or assume a default control mode in response to a scenario where a control mode is enabled), such that the processor is further configured to receive a control-mode signal and switch the control mode accordingly (claim 11 only) (see Fig. 1-4B in conjunction with paragraphs [0042], [0052], [0063]-[0065], [0069]-[0074], [0138]-[0139]) [e.g., “Alternatively, controller 22 may assume a default mode, such as either of the first mode or the second mode upon being energized or upon receipt of initial user inputs indicative of flight commands. When in the first mode, controller 22 may be configured to receive user inputs indicative of flight parameters (e.g., roll, pitch, yaw, throttle, etc.) in the user's perspective and generate commands to movable object 10 indicative of corresponding flight parameters in the perspective of movable object 10 without translation. That is, in the first mode, user inputs may be indicative of adjustments to flight parameters of movable object 10 in the perspective of movable object 10. When in the second mode, controller 22 may be configured to receive user inputs indicative of flight parameters (e.g., roll, pitch, yaw, throttle, etc.) to cause desired movement of movable object 10 in the user's perspective and generate translated commands to movable object 10 indicative of flight parameters in the perspective of movable object 10 that cause movements of movable object 10 that correspond to the desired movements of movable object 10 from the user's perspective. That is, in the second mode, user inputs may be indicative of adjustments to flight parameters movable object 10 in the user's perspective”].
Qian fails to expressly teach wherein the predetermined condition comprises at least one of a condition that the movable object moves at a speed below a predetermined speed limit, or a condition that an altitude of the movable object is below a predetermined altitude limit, such that in response to receiving the first parameter value, the processor controls the movable object in the second control mode to move forward or backward in the horizontal direction based on a second parameter value, and in response to not receiving the first parameter value, the processor controls the movable object in the second control mode to move at a substantially zero horizontal speed [e.g., in other words, to hover].
However, Adachi (Figures 1-7) teaches an analogous remote control device (10) for controlling a movable object (1), and suggests wherein a speed limit [e.g., limit value] is set such that the movable object is configured to move at a speed below the speed limit [e.g., not exceeding the speed limit], such that in response to receiving the first parameter value, the processor is configured to control the movable object in a second control mode [e.g., defined and/or encompassed by the mode(s) illustrated and/or indicated via Fig. 5b-5c] to move forward or backward in the horizontal direction based on a second parameter value [e.g., attitude speed or tilt angle]; [e.g., observe Fig. 5b], and such that in response to not receiving the first parameter value, the processor is configured to control the movable object in the second control mode to move at a substantially zero horizontal speed [e.g., in a state of hovering]; [e.g., observe the lower two illustrations per Fig. 5c]; (see Fig. 1-3, 5a-5c in conjunction with paragraphs [0014], [0036]-[0037], [0050]-[0053]); see motivation(s)/rationale(s) as discussed regarding claims 1, 16 and 20.
Regarding claims 12 and 15, Qian in view of Adachi teaches the invention as claimed and as discussed above. Qian (Figures 1-22) further teaches and/or suggests accordingly setting a control mode of the movable object to be in a first control mode in response to detecting an environment of the movable object meeting a predetermined condition [e.g., speed of the movable object in a given direction with respect to the environment], and such that in response to detecting the environment of the movable object meeting the predetermined condition, switching, via the processor, the control mode to the first control mode (see Fig. 1-4B in conjunction with paragraphs [0039], [0042], [0048]-[0050], [0052], [0063]-[0065], [0069]-[0074], [0101], [0138]-[0139]) [e.g., “For example, sensing system 18 may include sensory devices associated with payload 14 as discussed above and/or additional sensory devices, such as a positioning sensor for a positioning system (e.g., GPS, GLONASS, Galileo, Beidou, GAGAN, etc.), motion sensors, inertial sensors (e.g., IMU sensors), proximity sensors, image sensors, etc. Sensing system 18 may also include sensors or be configured to provide data or information relating to the surrounding environment, such as weather information (e.g., temperature, pressure, humidity, etc.), lighting conditions, air constituents, or nearby obstacles (e.g., objects, structures, people, other vehicles, etc.)”]; [e.g., “For instance, terminal 32 may include a button, switch, knob, a touchscreen icon, or some other type of input or input device configured to receive a user input indicative of a user selection to enter the first or second mode. A pattern of lever operations may also be predefined to effect the switch between modes or selection of modes. Alternatively, controller 22 may assume a default mode, such as either of the first mode or the second mode upon being energized or upon receipt of initial user inputs indicative of flight commands”, such that the claimed functionality/capability is implied and/or at least suggested].
Regarding claim 13, Qian in view of Adachi teaches the invention as claimed and as discussed above. Qian (Figures 1-22) further teaches and/or suggests wherein the first parameter value is sent from a first control module [e.g., 40 per Fig. 2A-2B] of the user interface, and the first control module comprises (or can comprise) at least one of a physical or virtual joystick [e.g., a physical lever, or similar virtual control], a button, or a wheel (see Fig. 1-2B in conjunction with paragraphs [0050]-[0053]) [e.g., “Terminal 32 may be a remote control with physical sticks configured to control flight parameters, or a touch screen device, such as a smartphone or a tablet, with virtual controls for the same purposes, or an application on a smartphone or a table, or a combination thereof”]; [e.g., “Terminal 32 may include input devices, such as input levers 38 and 40, buttons 42, triggers 44, and or other types of input device for receiving one or more inputs from the user. Each input device of terminal 32 may be configured to generate an input signal communicable to controller 22 and usable by controller 22 as inputs for processing. In addition to flight control inputs, terminal 32 may be used to receive user inputs of other information, such as manual control settings, automated control settings, control assistance settings etc., which may be received, for example, via buttons 42 and/or triggers 44. It is understood that terminal 32 may include other or additional input devices, such as buttons, switches, dials, levers, triggers, touch pads, touch screens, soft keys, a mouse, a keyboard, and/or other types of input devices”].
Regarding claim 14, Qian in view of Adachi teaches the invention as claimed and as discussed above. Qian (Figures 1-22) further teaches and/or suggests wherein the first control module comprises a movable part having a neutral position, and the first parameter value reflects a displacement of the movable part from the neutral position (see Fig. 1-4B in conjunction with paragraphs [0042], [0051]-[0056], [0063]-[0064], [0067]-[0071]), wherein the target acceleration has a mapping relationship with the first parameter value (implicit in view of the context per the aforementioned excerpts, such that the mapping relationship corresponds to the particular degree of displacement of the first control module directly affecting the target acceleration of the movable object) [e.g., “The amount of displacement of first input lever 38 from a neutral position may be indicative of an extent or magnitude of the corresponding desired movement”]; [e.g., “The amount or degree of displacement of first input lever 38 in the forward or backward direction may be indicative of a desired linear speed or acceleration along the first axis and/or a desired rotational speed or acceleration about the first axis”].
Qian fails to explicitly or expressly teach wherein the target acceleration is positive when the displacement is in a first direction from the neutral position and the speed is below the target speed limit, the target acceleration is negative when the displacement is in the first direction and the speed is above the target speed limit, and the target acceleration is negative when the displacement is in a second direction from the neutral position, and the target acceleration is substantially zero when the speed of the movable object is substantially zero in the second direction.
However, Adachi (Figures 1-7) teaches an analogous remote control device (10) for controlling a movable object (1), and at least suggests wherein the aforementioned functionality is (or can be) enabled (see Fig. 1-3, 5a-5c in conjunction with paragraphs [0014], [0036]-[0037], [0050]-[0053], [0059]) [e.g., “In the present preferred embodiment, the baseline position SP is the speed determination range D1. Therefore, a slight tilting of the first joystick 16a from the baseline position SP in a fore-aft direction brings the first joystick 16a into the speed change range C1, causing the hovering helicopter 1 to start moving or causing the moving helicopter 1 which is flying at a constant speed to change its flying speed (accelerate or decelerate). In other words, if the first joystick 16a is at the baseline position SP, the flying speed of the helicopter 1 does not change, and the state of hovering or flight at a constant speed is maintained. Fine tuning of the flying speed of the helicopter 1 is possible only when the first joystick 16a is moved into the speed change range C1”]; [e.g., “As the first joystick 16a is returned to the speed determination range D1, the helicopter 1 decelerates and the speed is eventually returned to zero to come into the state of hovering”]; [e.g., noting the corresponding neutral/baseline position SP (D1) per Fig. 3a, per Fig. 3a and/or 5b with the joystick 16a pushed forward or backward corresponding to a positive or negative acceleration that is confined by a speed limit value (or per the aforementioned excerpts, plus or minus 20 km per hour in the preferred embodiment)]; [e.g., the state of hovering corresponding to the claimed substantially zero speed of the movable object] see motivation(s)/rationale(s) as discussed regarding claims 1, 16 and 20.
Contact Information
/ANTHONY DONALD TAYLOR JR./Examiner, Art Unit 3747
/KURT PHILIP LIETHEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3747