DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the first holder part or the second holder part including a coupling groove (see claim 14) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claim 7 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 7, line 5: “the connection part is folded” should read “the connection part is folded.”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee (KR 20220081674 A) in view of Kang (KR 20160001206 U).
Regarding claim 1, Lee discloses a mask (fan mask, see Figs. 1 and 3) comprising:
a mask body (100; Fig. 1) including:
a first coupling part (a first first attachment/detachment means of the plurality of first attachment/detachment means, where the plurality of first attachment/detachment means are magnets, see [0039], lines 1-2 and line 5 of provided translation), and
a second coupling part (a second first attachment/detachment means of the plurality of first attachment/detachment means) spaced apart from the first coupling part (the plurality of first attachment/detachment means attach/detach to a respective plurality of second attachment/detachment means 314, see 314 in Fig. 1, hence the plurality of first attachment/detachment means are spaced apart from one another); and
a blower (300; Fig. 1) including:
a third coupling part (a first second attachment/detachment means 314 of the plurality of second attachment/detachment means 314, see Fig. 1, where 314 are magnets, see [0067] of provided translation) configured to be detachably couplable to the first coupling part (see [0067], lines 1-3 of provided translation), and
a fourth coupling part (a second second attachment/detachment means 314 of the plurality of second attachment/detachment means 314, see Fig. 1) configured to be detachably couplable to the second coupling part (see [0067], lines 1-3 of provided translation),
so that, with the third coupling part detachably coupled to the first coupling part and the fourth coupling part detachably coupled to the second coupling part (respective first attachment/detachment means and second attachment/detachment means 314 are detachably coupled, see [0067], lines 1-3 of provided translation), the blower is disposed to a rear of the mask body (300 is disposed to a rear surface of 100, see Fig. 1; [0067], see provided translation) and is operable to force air to flow into and out of the mask (see [0076] and [0077] of provided translation).
Lee is silent to the third coupling part (a first second attachment/detachment means 314 of the plurality of second attachment/detachment means 314, see Fig. 1, where 314 are magnets, see [0067] of provided translation) configured to be prevented from being coupled to the second coupling part, and the fourth coupling part (a second second attachment/detachment means 314 of the plurality of second attachment/detachment means 314, see Fig. 1) configured to be prevented from being coupled to the first coupling part.
However, Kang teaches an analogous mask with at least one first magnet (51; Fig. 3) on an inner layer and at least one second magnet on an outer layer (52; Fig. 3), where the at least one first magnet and at least one second magnet have the same poles and are arranged to face each other, such that the at least one first magnet and at least one second magnet repel each other ([0035]-[0036], see provided translation; see Figs. 3 and 4d).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the poles of the first attachment/detachment means and second attachment/detachment means taught by Lee such that the third coupling part (a first second attachment/detachment means 314 of the plurality of second attachment/detachment means 314, see Fig. 1) has the same magnetic pole as the second coupling part (a second first attachment/detachment means of the plurality of first attachment/detachment means), and the fourth coupling part (a second second attachment/detachment means 314 of the plurality of second attachment/detachment means 314, see Fig. 1) has the same magnetic pole as the first coupling part (a first first attachment/detachment means of the plurality of first attachment/detachment means, where the plurality of first attachment/detachment means are magnets, see [0039], lines 1-2 and line 5 of provided translation), as taught by Kang, to ensure the mask body and blower are connected in the correct orientation by causing a repulsive action between coupling parts (Kang [0036], see provided translation) when the orientation of the mask body and/or blower is incorrect.
Regarding claim 2, Lee as modified teaches the invention as set forth in claim 1, wherein
the first coupling part (first first attachment/detachment means of the plurality of first attachment/detachment means, where the plurality of first attachment/detachment means are magnets, see [0039], lines 1-2 and line 5 of provided translation) includes a first magnet ([0039], lines 1-2, see provided translation),
the second coupling part (a second first attachment/detachment means of the plurality of first attachment/detachment means) includes a second magnet ([0039], lines 1-2, see provided translation),
the third coupling part (a first second attachment/detachment means 314 of the plurality of second attachment/detachment means 314, see Fig. 1, where 314 are magnets, see [0067] of provided translation) includes a third magnet ([0067], see provided translation) having magnetic attraction with the first magnet (first second attachment/detachment means 314 detachably couples with first first attachment/detachment means, see claim 1 above, where both the first second attachment/detachment means 314 and the first first attachment/detachment means are magnets, see claim 1 above, hence the first first attachment/detachment magnet and the first second attachment/detachment magnet 314 are magnetically attracted) and magnetic repulsion with the second magnet (first second attachment/detachment magnet 314 and second first attachment/detachment magnet have the same magnetic pole, see claim 1 above, hence the first second attachment/detachment magnet 314 and second first attachment/detachment magnet repel one another), and
the fourth coupling part (second second attachment/detachment means 314 of the plurality of second attachment/detachment means 314, see Fig. 1) includes a fourth magnet ([0067], see provided translation) having magnetic attraction with the second magnet (second second attachment/detachment magnet 314 and second first attachment/detachment detachably couple, see claim 1 above, hence the second second attachment/detachment magnet 314 and second first attachment/detachment are magnetically attracted) and magnetic repulsion with the first magnet (second second attachment/detachment magnet 314 and first first attachment/detachment magnet have the same magnetic pole, see claim 1 above, hence the second second attachment/detachment magnet 314 and the first first attachment/detachment magnet repel each other).
Regarding claim 3, Lee as modified teaches the invention as set forth in claim 1. Lee as modified fails to explicitly teach the first coupling part (first first attachment/detachment means of the plurality of first attachment/detachment means, where the plurality of first attachment/detachment means are magnets, see [0039], lines 1-2 and line 5 of provided translation) includes a first guide that, with the blower (300; Fig. 1) disposed to the rear of the mask body (rear surface of 100), faces the blower,
the third coupling part (the first second attachment/detachment means 314 of the plurality of second attachment/detachment means 314, see Fig. 1, where 314 are magnets, see [0067] of provided translation) includes a second guide that, with the blower (300; Fig. 1) disposed to the rear of the mask body (rear surface of 100), faces the first guide part, and
the second guide has a shape corresponding to the first guide to, with blower (300; Fig. 1) disposed to the rear of the mask body (rear surface of 100) and the second guide facing the first guide, guide a coupling of the first coupling part and the third coupling part.
However, Lee does teach a first connecting means, such as a fitting protrusion, on the rear surface of the front cover (100; Fig. 1) to attach a filter unit (200; [0038], see provided translation), and a fourth connecting means, such as a fitting groove, on the front surface of the ventilation case (310; Fig. 1) to attach to the filter unit (200; [0066], see provided translation).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the first attachment/detachment means and the second attachment/detachment means taught by Lee (see claim 1 above) to further be configured as fitting grooves and fitting protrusions such that, the first coupling part (first first attachment/detachment means of the plurality of first attachment/detachment means, where the plurality of first attachment/detachment means are magnets, see [0039], lines 1-2 and line 5 of provided translation) includes a first guide (first fitting protrusion, see [0038] of provided translation) that, with the blower (300; Fig. 1) disposed to the rear of the mask body (rear surface of 100), faces the blower (first fitting protrusion is located on the rear surface of the front cover 100, hence the first fitting protrusion faces 300 when 300 is disposed to the rear of the front cover 100; see Fig. 1; see [0038] of provided translation),
the third coupling part (the first second attachment/detachment means 314 of the plurality of second attachment/detachment means 314, see Fig. 1, where 314 are magnets, see [0067] of provided translation) includes a second guide (first fitting groove, see [0066] of provided translation) that, with the blower (300; Fig. 1) disposed to the rear of the mask body (rear surface of 100), faces the first guide part (the first fitting groove is located on a front surface of 300 facing the rear surface of the front cover 100, hence the first fitting groove faces the first fitting protrusion; see Fig. 1, see [0066] of the provided translation), and
the second guide (the first fitting groove; [0066], see provided translation) has a shape corresponding to the first guide (the first fitting groove corresponds to the first fitting protrusion) to, with blower (300; Fig. 1) disposed to the rear of the mask body (rear surface of 100) and the second guide facing the first guide (the first fitting groove on the front surface of 300 faces the first fitting protrusion arranged on the rear surface of 100), guide a coupling of the first coupling part and the third coupling part (the first fitting protrusion and the first fitting groove guide the first first attachment/detachment means and the first second attachment/detachment means 314 to detachably couple) to simplify and ease the attachment of the blower to the mask body for the user.
Regarding claim 4, Lee as modified teaches the invention as set forth in claim 1. Lee as modified fails to explicitly teach the second coupling part (a second first attachment/detachment means of the plurality of first attachment/detachment means) includes a first guide that, with the blower (300; Fig. 1) disposed to the rear of the mask body (rear surface of 100; Fig. 1), faces the blower,
the fourth coupling part (second second attachment/detachment means 314 of the plurality of second attachment/detachment means 314, see Fig. 1) includes a second guide that, with the blower (300; Fig. 1) disposed to the rear of the mask body (rear surface of 100; Fig. 1), faces the first guide, and
the second guide has a shape corresponding to the first guide to, with the blower (300; Fig. 1) disposed to the rear of the mask body (rear surface of 100; Fig. 1) and the second guide facing the first guide, guide a coupling of the second coupling part and the fourth coupling part.
However, Lee does teach a first connecting means, such as a fitting protrusion, on the rear surface of the front cover (100; Fig. 1) to attach a filter unit (200; [0038], see provided translation), and a fourth connecting means, such as a fitting groove, on the front surface of the ventilation case (310; Fig. 1) to attach to the filter unit (200; [0066], see provided translation).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the first attachment/detachment means and the second attachment/detachment means taught by Lee (see claim 1 above) to further be configured as fitting grooves and fitting protrusions such that, teach the second coupling part (a second first attachment/detachment means of the plurality of first attachment/detachment means) includes a first guide (first fitting protrusion, see [0038] of provided translation) that, with the blower (300; Fig. 1) disposed to the rear of the mask body (rear surface of 100; Fig. 1), faces the blower (first fitting protrusion is located on the rear surface of the front cover 100, hence the first fitting protrusion faces 300 when 300 is disposed to the rear of the front cover 100; see Fig. 1; see [0038] of provided translation),
the fourth coupling part (second second attachment/detachment means 314 of the plurality of second attachment/detachment means 314, see Fig. 1) includes a second guide (first fitting groove, see [0066] of provided translation) that, with the blower (300; Fig. 1) disposed to the rear of the mask body (rear surface of 100; Fig. 1), faces the first guide (the first fitting groove is located on a front surface of 300 facing the rear surface of the front cover 100, hence the first fitting groove faces the first fitting protrusion; see Fig. 1, see [0066] of the provided translation), and
the second guide (first fitting groove, see [0066] of provided translation) has a shape corresponding to the first guide (the first fitting groove corresponds to the first fitting protrusion) to, with the blower (300; Fig. 1) disposed to the rear of the mask body (rear surface of 100; Fig. 1) and the second guide facing the first guide (the first fitting groove on the front surface of 300 faces the first fitting protrusion arranged on the rear surface of 100), guide a coupling of the second coupling part and the fourth coupling part (the first fitting protrusion and the first fitting groove guide the second first attachment/detachment means and the second second attachment/detachment means 314 to detachably couple) to simplify and ease the attachment of the blower to the mask body for the user.
Regarding claim 5, Lee as modified teaches the invention as set forth in claim 1, wherein the first coupling part (first first attachment/detachment means of the plurality of first attachment/detachment means, where the plurality of first attachment/detachment means are magnets, see [0039], lines 1-2 and line 5 of provided translation) and the second coupling part (second first attachment/detachment means of the plurality of first attachment/detachment means) are couplable (the first first attachment/detachment means and the second first attachment/detachment means are magnets with opposite poles, see claim 1 above, hence they are couplable). Lee as modified is silent to the mask body (100; Fig. 1) is foldable.
However, Lee does disclose the mask body (100; Fig. 1) is formed of synthetic resin such as polycarbonate, polyethylene, polypropylene, and/or polyethylene terephthalate ([0037], see provided translation), where it is well-known by one of ordinary skill in the art that the above synthetic resins are flexible.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the mask body (100; Fig. 1) taught by Lee to be foldable as it is formed of a flexible material ([0037], see provided translation), such that the first coupling part (first first attachment/detachment means of the plurality of first attachment/detachment means, where the plurality of first attachment/detachment means are magnets, see [0039], lines 1-2 and line 5 of provided translation) and the second coupling part (second first attachment/detachment means of the plurality of first attachment/detachment means) are couplable (the first first attachment/detachment means and the second first attachment/detachment means are magnets with opposite poles, see claim 1 above, hence they are couplable) in a state in which the mask body is folded (when 100 is folded in half, the first first attachment/detachment means and the second first attachment/detachment means are oriented to face one another) for improved storage of the mask body.
Claims 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee (KR 20220081674 A) in view of Kang (KR 20160001206 U) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Jeong (KR 20200105006 A).
Regarding claim 6, Lee as modified teaches the invention as set forth in claim 1. Lee as modified is silent to wherein the blower (300; Fig. 1) includes:
a suction module configured to suck air from outside of the mask body,
a discharge module configured to discharge air to outside of the mask body, and
a connection part configured to connect the suction module and the discharge module and to be foldable,
wherein as the connection part is folded, the suction module and the discharge module face each other.
However, Jeong teaches an analogous mask (Fig. 1) with a mask dispenser (1; Fig. 1), where the mask dispenser (1; Fig. 1) includes a first body (10A; Fig. 1) with an air supply fan (11; Fig. 1) to draw in external air ([0036] and [0052], see provided translation), a second body (10B; Fig. 1) with an exhaust fan (12; Fig. 1) to exhaust air from inside the mask (100; Fig. 1) to outside of the mask ([0036] and [0053], see provided translation), and a bending pad (15; Fig. 1) to provide an elastic connection and bending action between the first body (10A; Fig. 1) and the second body (10B; Fig. 1; [0051], see provided translation), where it would be well understood by one of ordinary skill in the art when the bending pad (15; Fig. 1) is folded, the first body (10A; Fig. 1) and the second body (10B; Fig. 1) would face each other.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the blower (300; Fig. 1) taught by Lee with the arrangement and configuration of the mask dispenser taught by Jeong, such that the blower (Jeong 1; Jeong Fig. 1) includes:
a suction module (Jeong 10A; Jeong Fig. 1) configured to suck air from outside of the mask body (Jeong [0036] and [0052], see provided translation, where the mask 100 is Lee 100),
a discharge module (Jeong 10B; Jeong Fig. 1) configured to discharge air to outside of the mask body (Jeong [0036] and [0053], see provided translation, where the mask 100 is Lee 100), and
a connection part (Jeong 15; Jeong Fig. 1) configured to connect the suction module and the discharge module (see Jeong Fig. 1; Jeong [0051], see provided translation) and to be foldable (it would be well understood by one of ordinary skill in the art that of Jeong 15 would be capable of folding due to its elastic nature),
wherein as the connection part (Jeong 15; Jeong Fig. 1) is folded, the suction module and the discharge module face each other (it would be well understood by one of ordinary skill in the art when Jeong 15 is folded, Jeong 10A and Jeong 10B would face each other) for improved storage of the blower when it is not in use.
Regarding claim 7, Lee as modified teaches the invention as set forth in claim 6. Lee as modified is silent to the suction module (Jeong 10A; Fig. 1) includes the third coupling part,
the discharge module (Jeong 10B; Jeong Fig. 1) includes the fourth coupling part, and
the third coupling part and the fourth coupling part are couplable in a state in which the connection part is folded.
However, Jeong teaches the dispenser body (10; Fig. 1) and partition walls (21 and 31; Figs. 2a, 2b, and 3) can be magnetically coupled ([0046], see provided translation) to detachably couple the dispenser body (10; Fig. 1) to the mask (100; Fig. 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to further modify the blower (Jeong 1; Jeong Fig. 1), taught by Lee as modified in claim 6 above, to include magnetic coupling arrangements as taught by Jeong such that to the suction module (Jeong 10A; Fig. 1) includes the third coupling part (first second attachment/detachment means 314 of the plurality of second attachment/detachment means 314, see Fig. 1, where 314 are magnets, see [0067] of provided translation; see claim 1 above),
the discharge module (Jeong 10B; Jeong Fig. 1) includes the fourth coupling part (second second attachment/detachment means 314 of the plurality of second attachment/detachment means 314, see Fig. 1; see claim 1 above), and
the third coupling part and the fourth coupling part are couplable in a state in which the connection part is folded (the first second attachment/detachment magnet 314 and the second second attachment/detachment magnet 314 have opposite magnetic poles, hence when Jeong 15 is folded, the first second attachment/detachment magnet 314 and the second second attachment/detachment magnet 314 will be magnetically coupled) to ensure the blower remains in a closed/folded state for condensed storage of the blower when it is not in use.
Claims 8 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee (KR 20220081674 A) in view of Kang (KR 20160001206 U) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Moon (KR 20180043946 A).
Regarding claim 8, Lee as modified teaches the invention as set forth in claim 1. Lee as modified does teach a filter unit (200; Fig. 1) with a filter (220; Fig. 1) and a filter case (210; Fig. 1), where the filter case (210; Fig. 1) is provided with second coupling means (212) on the surface facing the front cover (100; Fig. 1) to couple the filter unit (200; Fig. 1) to the rear surface of the front cover (100; [0044], see provided translation) and third connecting means on the surface facing the ventilation unit (300; Fig. 1) to couple the ventilation unit (300; Fig. 1) to the filter unit (200; [0045], see provided translation), where the filter unit (200; Fig. 1) is configured to cover at least a portion of the user’s face ([0023] and [0078], see provided translation). Lee as modified fails to explicitly teach the filter (200; Fig. 1) is positionable at a rear of the blower.
However, Moon teaches an analogous mask with a filter (40; Fig. 1) positioned at a rear of a ventilation unit (60; Fig. 4), and a mask body (10; Fig. 1) with detachable coupling parts (50; Fig. 1) to detachably couple the mask body (10; Fig. 1) to the filter (40; Fig. 1; [0032], see provided translation), where the detachable coupling parts (50; Fig. 1) may be Velcro tape, a sticker, or a magnet ([0032], see provided translation).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to further modify Lee with the mask body, blower, and filter arrangement taught by Moon, such that the mask (fan mask, see Figs. 1 and 3) further comprises: a filter (Moon 40; Moon Fig. 1) that, with the third coupling part detachably coupled to the first coupling part and the fourth coupling part detachably coupled to the second coupling part so that the blower is disposed to the rear of the mask body, is positionable at a rear of the blower (Moon 40 is positionable at a rear of Lee 300, see Moon Fig. 1) and is configured to cover at least a portion of a user's face (Moon 40 covers at least a portion of a user’s face, see Moon Fig. 3), and wherein the mask body (100; Fig. 1) further includes a holder (Moon 50; Fig. 1) configured to hold the filter (Moon Fig. 1; Moon [0032], see provided translation) to provide a filter with multiple filter elements to improve user breathing comfort (Moon [0029], see provided translation) and filtration of air to be provided to the user.
Regarding claim 10, Lee as modified teaches the invention as set forth in claim 8, wherein the holder (Moon 50; Fig. 1) includes:
a first holder part (first Moon 50 located on a left inner edge of Lee 100, see Moon Fig. 1; Moon [0032], see provided translation), and
a second holder part spaced apart from the first holder part (second Moon 50 located on a right inner edge of Lee 100; Moon Fig. 1; Moon [0032], see provided translation) and couplable to the first holder part (where the hook side of the Velcro tape couples to the loop side of the Velcro tape). Lee as modified is silent to the mask body (100; Fig. 1) is foldable.
However, Lee does disclose the mask body (100; Fig. 1) is formed of synthetic resin such as polycarbonate, polyethylene, polypropylene, and/or polyethylene terephthalate ([0037], see provided translation), where it is well-known by one of ordinary skill in the art that the above synthetic resins are flexible.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the mask body (100; Fig. 1) taught by Lee to be foldable as it is formed of a flexible material ([0037], see provided translation), such that when the mask body (100; Fig. 1) is folded, the second holder part is couplable to the first holder part (where the hook side and the loop side of the Velcro tape, Moon 50, are oriented to couple when Lee 100 is folded) for improved storage of the mask body.
Claims 9 and 12-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee (KR 20220081674 A) in view of Kang (KR 20160001206 U) in view of Moon (KR 20180043946 A) as applied to claim 8 above, and further in view of Jeong (KR 20200105006 A).
Regarding claim 9, Lee as modified teaches the invention as set forth in claim 8, wherein the holder (Moon 50; Moon Fig. 1) includes:
a first holder part (first Moon 50 located on a left inner edge of Lee 100, see Moon Fig. 1; Moon [0032], see provided translation), and
a second holder part spaced apart from the first holder part (second Moon 50 located on a right inner edge of Lee 100; Moon Fig. 1; Moon [0032], see provided translation) and couplable to the first holder part (one of the first Moon 50 and the second Moon 50 is the loop side of the Velcro tape, and the other of first Moon 50 and the second Moon 50 is the hook side of the Velcro tape; Moon [0032], see provided translation). Lee as modified fails to disclose the mask body (100; Fig. 1), the blower (300; Fig. 1) and the filter (Moon 40; Moon Fig. 1) are configured to be foldable together.
However, Lee does disclose the mask body (100; Fig. 1) is formed of synthetic resin such as polycarbonate, polyethylene, polypropylene, and/or polyethylene terephthalate ([0037], see provided translation), where it is well-known by one of ordinary skill in the art that the above synthetic resins are flexible.
Additionally, Jeong teaches an analogous mask (Fig. 1) with a mask dispenser (1; Fig. 1), where the mask dispenser (1; Fig. 1) includes a first body (10A; Fig. 1) with an air supply fan (11; Fig. 1) to draw in external air ([0036] and [0052], see provided translation), a second body (10B; Fig. 1) with an exhaust fan (12; Fig. 1) to exhaust air from inside the mask (100; Fig. 1) to outside of the mask ([0036] and [0053], see provided translation), and a bending pad (15; Fig. 1) to provide an elastic connection and bending action between the first body (10A; Fig. 1) and the second body (10B; Fig. 1; [0051], see provided translation).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the blower (300; Fig. 1) taught by Lee with the mask dispenser taught by Jeong, such that the mask body (100; Fig. 1), the blower (Jeong 1; Jeong Fig. 1) and the filter (Moon 40; Moon Fig. 1) are foldable (see explanation above), hence they are configured to be foldable together, and the second holder part is couplable to the first holder part when the mask body (100; Fig. 1), the blower (Jeong 1; Jeong Fig. 1) and the filter (Moon 40; Moon Fig. 1) are folded together (where the hook side and the loop side of the Velcro tape, Moon 50, are oriented to couple when Lee 100, Jeong 1, and Moon 40 are folded) for improved storage of the mask.
Regarding claim 12, Lee as modified teaches the invention as set forth in claim 9. Lee as modified is silent to one of the first holder part and the second holder part includes a first magnet, and
the other one of the first holder part and the second holder part includes a second magnet that has magnetic attraction with the first magnet.
However, Moon teaches the detachable coupling part (50; Fig. 1) can be a magnet ([0032], see provided translation).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the first holder part (first Moon 50 located on a left inner edge of Lee 100, see Moon Fig. 1; Moon [0032], see provided translation) and the second holder part (second Moon 50 located on a right inner edge of Lee 100; Moon Fig. 1; Moon [0032], see provided translation) to be magnets of opposite magnetic poles, as taught by Moon (Moon [0032], see provided translation), such that the first holder part and the second holder part are magnetically coupled to increase the lifetime of the holder parts as it is well known by one of ordinary skill in the art that magnets have a longer lifetime than Velcro tape.
Regarding claim 13, Lee as modified teaches the invention as set forth in claim 9. Lee as modified is silent to one of the first holder part and the second holder part includes a magnet, and
the other one of the first holder part and the second holder part is configured to be magnetized by the magnet.
However, Moon teaches the detachable coupling part (50; Fig. 1) can be a magnet ([0032], see provided translation).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the first holder part (first Moon 50 located on a left inner edge of Lee 100, see Moon Fig. 1; Moon [0032], see provided translation) and the second holder part (second Moon 50 located on a right inner edge of Lee 100; Moon Fig. 1; Moon [0032], see provided translation) to be magnets of opposite magnetic poles, as taught by Moon (Moon [0032], see provided translation), such that the first holder part and the second holder part are magnetically coupled to increase the lifetime of the holder parts as it is well known by one of ordinary skill in the art that magnets have a longer lifetime than Velcro tape.
Regarding claim 14, Lee as modified teaches the invention as set forth in claim 9. Lee as modified is silent to one of the first holder part and the second holder part includes a coupling protrusion, and
the other one of the first holder part and the second holder part includes a coupling groove corresponding to the coupling protrusion.
However, groove and protrusion couplings are a well-known coupling mechanism to one of ordinary skill in the art. For example, Lee utilizes multiple groove and protrusion couplings (see [0038], [0044], [0045], and [0066] of the provided translation). Additionally, Applicant has not disclosed that the first holder part and the second holder part being configured as a corresponding groove and protrusion provides an advantage, is used for a particular purpose, or solves a stated problem. One of ordinary skill in the art, furthermore, would have expected Moon’s detachable coupling parts (50; Fig. 1), and Applicant’s groove and protrusion coupling, to perform equally well because both mechanisms perform the same function of detachably coupling the first holder part and the second holder part (see Moon [0032] of provided translation).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to modify the first holder part (first Moon 50 located on a left inner edge of Lee 100, see Moon Fig. 1; Moon [0032], see provided translation) and the second holder part (second Moon 50 located on a right inner edge of Lee 100; Moon Fig. 1; Moon [0032], see provided translation) taught by Lee as modified to obtain the invention as specified in claim 14 because such a modification is considered to be well within the skill level of the ordinary artisan in order to achieve the desired coupling function and thus fails to patentably distinguish over the prior art of Lee as modified.
Regarding claim 15, Lee as modified teaches the invention as set forth in claim 9, wherein one of the first holder part and the second holder part includes a hook fastener (Moon [0032], see provided translation; see claim 9 above), and
the other one of the first holder part and the second holder part includes a loop fastener (Moon [0032], see provided translation; see claim 9 above).
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee (KR 20220081674 A) in view of Kang (KR 20160001206 U) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kim (WO 2019059699 A1).
Regarding claim 11, Lee as modified teaches the invention as set forth in claim 1, wherein the blower (300; Fig. 1) further includes:
a fan (320; Fig. 1) configured to generate a blowing force ([0076], see provided translation), and
a switch (operation switch, see first sentence of [0068] of the provided translation) configured to operate the fan ([0080], see provided translation). Lee as modified is silent to the mask body (100; Fig. 1) further includes:
a button, and
with the third coupling part detachably coupled to the first coupling part and the fourth coupling part detachably coupled to the second coupling part so that the blower is disposed to the rear of the mask body,
the switch faces the mask body, and
the button is positioned to operate the switch.
However, Kim teaches an analogous mask with a power switch (22; Fig. 1) arranged on an outer shell covering (20; Fig. 1), where the power switch (22; Fig. 1) is positioned to operate with the control board (500; Fig. 3) located on a mask frame (100; Fig. 3), such that the power switch (22; Fig. 1) operates the power of a fan (300; Fig. 2; [0068], see provided translation) via the control unit (500; [0046] and [0097], line 3 of provided translation).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the mask body (100; Fig. 1) taught by Lee to include a power switch, as taught by Kim, such that the mask body (100; Fig. 1) further includes:
a button (Kim 22; Kim Fig. 1), and
with the third coupling part (first second attachment/detachment means 314 of the plurality of second attachment/detachment means 314, see Fig. 1, where 314 are magnets, see [0067] of provided translation) detachably coupled to the first coupling part (see [0067], lines 1-3 of provided translation; see claim 1 above) and the fourth coupling part (second second attachment/detachment means 314 of the plurality of second attachment/detachment means 314, see Fig. 1) detachably coupled to the second coupling part (see [0067], lines 1-3 of provided translation; see claim 1 above) so that the blower is disposed to the rear of the mask body (300 is disposed to a rear surface of 100, see Fig. 1; [0067], see provided translation; see claim 1 above),
the switch faces the mask body (operation switch, see first sentence of [0068] of the provided translation, where the operation switch is arranged on a front surface of 300), and
the button is positioned to operate the switch (Kim 22 arranged on mask body 100 is positioned to operate the operation switch, see Kim [0046] and [0097], line 3 of provided translation) to allow the user to easily power the blower on or off without having to remove or disassemble the mask.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Lee (KR 20220095629 A): Regarding a face mask with a fan and a filter to prevent a user from breathing in foreign materials.
Shunping & Shugang (CN 109078278 A): Regarding a mask with a detachable filter element and detachable fan unit.
/ABIGAYLE DALE/Examiner, Art Unit 3785
/BRANDY S LEE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3785