DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 – 4, 9 and 12 – 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chikaki et al. (US 2012/0025395).
(Claim 1) Chikaki et al. teach an apparatus comprising:
one or more integrated circuit (IC) package metallization levels comprising metallization features;
a dielectric material (6/7) adjacent to one more of the metallization features, the dielectric material comprising a matrix material and a surfactant (paragraphs 37, 43, 55, 56); and
a plurality of substantially spherical pores within the matrix material,
wherein the substantially spherical pores are surrounded by an outer shell comprising the matrix material (paragraphs 55, 56).
(Claim 2) Chikaki et al. teach wherein a first portion of the dielectric material comprises a first (7) pore density and a second (6) portion of the dielectric material comprises a second pore density.
(Claim 3) Chikaki et al. teach wherein the first (7) pore density is not less than twice the second (6) pore density (paragraph 43).
(Claim 4) Chikaki et al. teach wherein the second portion comprises a dielectric constant that is not less than 1.5 times greater than a dielectric constant of the first portion (paragraphs 22, 44, 76).
(Claim 9) Chikaki et al. teach wherein the apparatus comprises a build-up layer of a microelectronic package structure,
wherein a first metallization (11) feature of the metallization features is within a first region (7) of the build-up layer, the first region comprising a first pore density (paragraph 43), and
wherein a second metallization feature (10) of the metallization features is within a second region (6) of the build-up layer, the second region comprising a second pore density (paragraph 43),
wherein the first pore density is not less than 1.5 times greater than the second pore density (paragraphs 22, 43, 44, 76).
(Claim 12) Chikaki et al. teach a system, comprising:
a substrate (10);
a dielectric material (6/7) on the substrate, the dielectric material comprising a matrix material and a surfactant (paragraphs 37, 43, 55, 56);
a plurality of pores within the dielectric material, wherein an outer shell surrounding individual ones of the plurality of pores comprises the matrix material (paragraphs 55, 56), wherein:
a first region (7) of the dielectric material comprising a first pore density, and a second region (6) of the dielectric material adjacent to the first region, comprises a second pore density (paragraph 43), not less than 1.5 times the first pore density; and
a device over the substrate (not shown, paragraph 72).
(Claim 13) Chikaki et al wherein a power supply is coupled to the device, and wherein the dielectric material comprises a portion of a build-up layer (paragraph 72)
(Claim 14) Chikaki et al wherein the dielectric material (6/7) is between a first conductive trace (3) and a second conductive trace (paragraph 40).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5 and 17 – 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chikaki et al. (US 2012/0025395) in view of Yamamoto (US 2006/0116000)
(Claim 5) Chikaki et al. lack wherein a diameter of an individual spherical pore of the plurality of substantially spherical pores comprises between 1 nm to 10 microns.
However, Yamamoto teaches wherein a diameter of an individual spherical pore of the plurality of substantially spherical pores comprises between 1 nm to 2 microns for the benefit of reducing uneven film thickness distribution and variations in the relative dielectric constant of the insulating film (paragraph 82).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the references for the benefit of reducing uneven film thickness distribution and variations in the relative dielectric constant of the insulating film.
(Claim 17) Chikaki et al. teach an assembly, comprising:
a dielectric material comprising a plurality of pores,
a first region and a second region of the dielectric material, wherein the first region comprises a first pore density and the second region comprises a second pore density,
wherein the first pore density is greater than two times the second pore density; and a device over the dielectric material.
Chikaki et al. lack wherein individual pores of the plurality of pores comprise a pore diameter between 1 nm and 10 microns.
However, Yamamoto teaches wherein individual pores of the plurality of pores comprise a pore diameter between 1 nm and 2 microns for the benefit of reducing uneven film thickness distribution and variations in the relative dielectric constant of the insulating film (paragraph 82).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the references for the benefit of reducing uneven film thickness distribution and variations in the relative dielectric constant of the insulating film.
(Claim 18) Chikaki et al. teach wherein one or more integrated circuit (IC) package metallization levels comprising metallization features (3) are adjacent the dielectric material (paragraph 72).
(Claim 19) Chikaki et al. teach wherein the first region (7) comprises a first dielectric constant and the second region (6) comprises a second dielectric constant, wherein the second dielectric constant is at least ten percent greater than the first dielectric constant (paragraph 72).
(Claim 20) Chikaki et al. lack wherein the apparatus comprises a build-up layer of a microelectronic package structure.
However, Yamamoto teaches wherein the apparatus comprises a build-up layer of a microelectronic package structure as art recognized equivalents (paragraph 28).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the references as art recognized equivalents
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6 – 8, 10 – 11 and 15 – 16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
(Claim 6) wherein the first layer comprises the matrix material and is free of the surfactant; and
wherein a thickness of the first layer is between 0.5 microns to 5 microns.
Conclusion
Prior art made of record and not relied upon, considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure are listed in PTO – 892 Form.
Contact Information
/IGWE U ANYA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2891
August 8, 2026