DETAILED ACTION
Applicant's amendments and remarks, filed 6/30/26, are fully acknowledged by the Examiner. Currently, claims 1 and 3-20 are pending with claim 2 canceled, claims 16-20, and claims 1, 9, and 14-15 amended. Applicant's amendment to claims 14-15 has overcome the previously filed 35 USC 112(b) rejection. The following is a complete response to the 6/30/26 communication.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-7 and 9-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Akama (US 2002/0002004) in view of Guengerich (US 2006/0185892).
Regarding claim 1, Akama teaches an electric wire connection structure, comprising:
a plurality of insulated electric wires with each core wire being covered with an insulation coating (covered leads 39 covered by 29), the core wires being connected to pads provided on a substrate (pads 61 as in par. [0085] for the leads via solder as in par. [0098] on substrate 50), wherein the plurality of insulated electric wires are arranged parallel to each other on the substrate along a predetermined alignment direction (at least Fig. 4 with 36 connecting to pads in a parallel alignment), wherein the insulation coatings are removed in part in respective longitudinal directions to expose the core wires (par. [0096] 36 stripped at an end portion), exposed portions of the core wires are connected to the pads (as in Fig. 4 and par. [0098]), respectively, and the exposed portions of the core wires are arranged along an inclined direction inclined with respect to a longitudinal direction of the plurality of insulated electric wires and the alignment direction (as in Fig. 3),wherein the insulation coating is removed at a portion of an outer periphery of the core wire including a portion between the core wire and the pad (Fig. 3 with leads exposed), but is not explicit and for the core wire, a surface opposite to the pad is covered with the insulation coating.However, Guengerich teaches an insulated wire with coating that is exposed between the core wire and pad, but covered with the insulation coating on a surface opposite to the pad (Fig. 1 with insulation 7 and core wire 55).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Akama with the wire tip shape of Guengerich, allowing for a wire connection that insulates the connection more to prevent shorts.
Regarding claim 3, Akama teaches wherein the exposed portions of the core wires of at least three of the plurality of insulated electric wires are arranged along the inclined direction (Fig. 3 with the exposed wire inclined relative to the longitudinal direction of the wires, there being at least three wires as in Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 4, Akama teaches wherein the plurality of insulated electric wires are integrated at least on the substrate (leads attached to substrate 50 via bonding with pads 61).
Regarding claim 5, Akama teaches wherein the plurality of insulated electric wires are integrated by bonding the insulation coatings of the plurality of insulated electric wires with an adhesive (soldered as in par. [0098]).
Regarding claim 6, Akama teaches wherein the adhesive is applied on a side farther from the substrate than a center line of the core wire of each of the plurality of insulated electric wires (soldered as in at least par. [0098] where the solder is applied on each of the electric wires from every direction).
Regarding claim 7, wherein the plurality of insulated electric wires are integrated by adhesion on a side opposite to the substrate (soldered on top of substrate 50 as in par. [0098]).
Regarding claim 9, Akama teaches an electric wire connection method for connecting respective core wires of a plurality of insulated electric wires each with a core wire, the core wire being covered with an insulation coating to a pad provided on a substrate (covered leads 39 with insulation 29 connecting to pads 61 on substrate 50), the method comprising:
an alignment step of arranging the plurality of insulated electric wires parallel to each other along an alignment direction (par. [0040]); an insulation coating removal step of removing the insulation coating of each of the plurality of insulated electric wires in a part in a longitudinal direction to expose the core wire (par. [0040] cables exposed); and a connection step of arranging the plurality of insulated electric wires on the substrate and connecting the core wire of each of the plurality of insulated electric wires to the pad (par. [0098] connecting lead 39 to pad 61), wherein the insulation coating is removed to expose the core wire at a position along an inclined direction inclined with respect to the longitudinal direction of the plurality of insulated electric wires and the alignment direction (as in Fig. 3),wherein the insulation coating is removed at a portion of an outer periphery of the core wire including a portion between the core wire and the pad (Fig. 3 with leads exposed), but is not explicit and for the core wire, a surface opposite to the pad is covered with the insulation coating.However, Guengerich teaches an insulated wire with coating that is exposed between the core wire and pad, but covered with the insulation coating on a surface opposite to the pad (Fig. 1 with insulation 7 and core wire 55).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Akama with the wire tip shape of Guengerich, allowing for a wire connection that insulates the connection more to prevent shorts.
Regarding claim 10, Akama teaches further comprising:
an integration step of integrating the plurality of insulated electric wires arranged in the alignment step (soldered as in par. [0098]), wherein, in the insulation coating removal step, the insulation coating is removed in the state where the plurality of insulated electric wires are integrated (par. [0096]).
Regarding claim 11, Akama teaches wherein, in the insulation coating removing step, the insulation coating is removed at a portion of an outer periphery of the core wire including a portion between the core wire and the pad (as in Fig. 4 with 29 removed between the core wire and the pad).
Regarding claim 12, wherein, in the connection step, the core wire is soldered to the pad by melting a paste-like solder adhered to a portion from which the insulation coating has been removed in the insulation coating removal step (soldering exposed wire 39 as in par. [0098]).
Regarding claim 13, Akama teaches wherein, in the connection step, the core wire is soldered to the pad by melting a solder ball accommodated in a portion from which the insulation coating has been removed in the insulation coating removal step (solder exposed portion of 39 to pad 61 as in par. [0098]).
Regarding claim 16, Akama is not explicit wherein a recess is formed in the insulation coating and is recessed from an outer peripheral surface of the insulation coating toward the core wire, and wherein the core wire is soldered to the pad by solder accommodated in the recess, but teaches soldering the core wire to the pad as in at least par. [0098].However, Guengerich teaches an insulated wire with coating that is exposed between the core wire and pad, but covered with the insulation coating on a surface opposite to the pad (Fig. 1 with insulation 7 and core wire 55).It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Akama with the wire tip shape of Guengerich, allowing for a wire connection that insulates the connection more to prevent shorts.
Regarding claim 17, Akama is not explicit wherein a recess is formed in the insulation coating and is recessed from an outer peripheral surface of the insulation coating toward the core wire, and wherein the core wire is soldered to the pad by solder accommodated in the recess, but teaches soldering the core wire to the pad as in at least par. [0098].However, Guengerich teaches an insulated wire with coating that is exposed between the core wire and pad, but covered with the insulation coating on a surface opposite to the pad (Fig. 1 with insulation 7 and core wire 55).It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Akama with the wire tip shape of Guengerich, allowing for a wire connection that insulates the connection more to prevent shorts.
Regarding claim 18, Akama teaches wherein exposed portions of adjacent insulated electric wires are offset from one another in the longitudinal direction (wires offset in the longitudinal direction). Akama is not explicit wherein the recess has a C-shaped cross-sectional profile around the core wire.However, Guengerich teaches the recess has a C-shaped cross-sectional profile around the core wire (as an angle of the core wire and insulation is removed as in Fig. 11, a c-shaped profile is formed through the wire.It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Akama with the wire tip shape of Guengerich, allowing for a wire connection that insulates the connection more to prevent shorts. In the combination, the exposed portion of an intermediate insulated electric wire is disposed between insulation coatings of adjacent insulated electric wires as the insulation is at an angle over each wire.
Regarding claim 19, Akama teaches wherein a distance between adjacent exposed portions in the longitudinal direction is greater than an outer diameter of the insulated electric wires and less than a length of each exposed portion in the longitudinal direction (Fig. 4).
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Akama in view of Matsukuma (US 2012/0046647).
Regarding claim 8, Akama is silent wherein the core wire has a diameter of 0.1 mm or less.
However, Matsukuma teaches wires of 0.1 mm (par. [0051]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Akama with the wire diameter of Mastukuma, as a known lead wire size that is able to deliver electrosurgical energy.
Claim(s) 14-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Akama in view of Guengerich, in view of Kallback (US 2016/0228061).
Regarding claim 14, Akama teaches a medical device including the electric wire connection structure according to claim 1 (See rejection of claim 1), comprising:
a catheter cable comprising the plurality of insulated electric wires with the core wires each covered with the insulation coating (cable 30 with the wires 39 covered in insulation 29); and the substrate having the plurality of pads to which the core wires of the plurality of insulated electric wires are connected (substrate 50 with pads 61), , wherein the respective core wires of the plurality of insulated electric wires and the plurality of pads of the substrate are connected by the electric wire connection structure (see the rejection of claim 1).
Akama is not explicit regarding medical device with the cable as a catheter cable, wherein the one end of the catheter cable in the longitudinal direction is configured to be inserted into the human body.
However, Kallback teaches a medical catheter using multiple leads in a cable for insertion in the human body (par. [0004] in the human body, par. [0015], and Fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Akama to use the cable as a catheter cable, as in Kallback, as a known device requiring the multiple leads.
Regarding claim 15, Akama teaches a method for manufacturing a device including the electric wire connection method according to claim 9 (see rejection of claim 9), the medical device including a cable including the plurality of insulated electric wires with the core wires each covered with the insulation coating (39 with insulation 29), and the substrate including the plurality of pads to which the core wires of the plurality of insulated electric wires are connected (substrate 50 with pads 61 connected to 39 via solder as in par. [0098]), the method comprising:
connecting the respective core wires of the plurality of insulated electric wires and the plurality of and the pad by the electric wire connection method (see the rejection to claim 9).
Akama is not explicit regarding medical device with the cable as a catheter cable, wherein the one end of the catheter cable in the longitudinal direction is configured to be inserted into the human body. However, Kallback teaches a medical catheter using multiple leads in a cable for insertion in the human body (par. [0004] in the human body, par. [0015], and Fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Akama to use the cable as a catheter cable, as in Kallback, as a known device requiring the multiple leads.
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Akama in view of Guengerich, in view of Tanaka (US 8,878,062).
Regarding claim 20, Akama is not explicit wherein the insulation coating removal step comprises irradiating the plurality of integrated insulated electric wires with a laser beam directed substantially perpendicular to both the alignment direction and the longitudinal direction.However, Tanaka teaches cutting insulating coatings via irradiating with a laser to cut as in Fig. 3a and col. 7 lines 49-58.It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Akama with the cutting using irradiating laser of Tanaka, as a known method of cutting an insulating coating off a wire.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see the remarks, filed 6/30/26, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-15 under 35 USC 102(a)(1) or 35 USC 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Guengerich.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BO OUYANG/Examiner, Art Unit 3794
/MICHAEL F PEFFLEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3794