DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 14-15 recites the limitations "the plurality of insulated electric wires," 'the core wires," "the insulation coating," "the substrate," "the plurality of pads," "the one end," "the longitudinal direction," and "the human body"" in the claims. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claims. It is at least unclear to examiner if these recitations are the same elements as the elements recited in claims 1 or 9, or are different elements. Examiner suggests amending such that the dependencies to claim 1 or 9 precede these limitations or indicate that these limitations are the same as the limitations in claims 1 or 9.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-7 and 9-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Akama (US 2002/0002004).
Regarding claim 1, Akama teaches an electric wire connection structure, comprising:
a plurality of insulated electric wires with each core wire being covered with an insulation coating (covered leads 39 covered by 29), the core wires being connected to pads provided on a substrate (pads 61 as in par. [0085] for the leads via solder as in par. [0098] on substrate 50), wherein the plurality of insulated electric wires are arranged parallel to each other on the substrate along a predetermined alignment direction (at least Fig. 4 with 36 connecting to pads in a parallel alignment), wherein the insulation coatings are removed in part in respective longitudinal directions to expose the core wires (par. [0096] 36 stripped at an end portion), exposed portions of the core wires are connected to the pads (as in Fig. 4 and par. [0098]), respectively, and the exposed portions of the core wires are arranged along an inclined direction inclined with respect to a longitudinal direction of the plurality of insulated electric wires and the alignment direction (as in Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 2, Akama teaches wherein the insulation coating is removed at a portion of an outer periphery of the core wire including a portion between the core wire and the pad (29 removed at a portion of the core wire 30 as in Fig. 4), and, for the core wire, a surface opposite to the pad is covered with the insulation coating (surface of wire at a proximal end is covered in 29 as in at least Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 3, Akama teaches wherein the exposed portions of the core wires of at least three of the plurality of insulated electric wires are arranged along the inclined direction (Fig. 3 with the exposed wire inclined relative to the longitudinal direction of the wires, there being at least three wires as in Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 4, Akama teaches wherein the plurality of insulated electric wires are integrated at least on the substrate (leads attached to substrate 50 via bonding with pads 61).
Regarding claim 5, Akama teaches wherein the plurality of insulated electric wires are integrated by bonding the insulation coatings of the plurality of insulated electric wires with an adhesive (soldered as in par. [0098]).
Regarding claim 6, Akama teaches wherein the adhesive is applied on a side farther from the substrate than a center line of the core wire of each of the plurality of insulated electric wires (soldered as in at least par. [0098] where the solder is applied on each of the electric wires from every direction).
Regarding claim 7, wherein the plurality of insulated electric wires are integrated by adhesion on a side opposite to the substrate (soldered on top of substrate 50 as in par. [0098]).
Regarding claim 9, Akama teaches an electric wire connection method for connecting respective core wires of a plurality of insulated electric wires with each core wire being covered with an insulation coating to a pad provided on a substrate (covered leads 39 with insulation 29 connecting to pads 61 on substrate 50), the method comprising:
an alignment step of arranging the plurality of insulated electric wires parallel to each other along an alignment direction (par. [0040]); an insulation coating removal step of removing the insulation coating of each of the plurality of insulated electric wires in a part in a longitudinal direction to expose the core wire (par. [0040] cables exposed); and a connection step of arranging the plurality of insulated electric wires on the substrate and connecting the core wire of each of the plurality of insulated electric wires to the pad (par. [0098] connecting lead 39 to pad 61), wherein the insulation coating is removed to expose the core wire at a position along an inclined direction inclined with respect to the longitudinal direction of the plurality of insulated electric wires and the alignment direction (as in Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 10, Akama teaches further comprising:
an integration step of integrating the plurality of insulated electric wires arranged in the alignment step (soldered as in par. [0098]), wherein, in the insulation coating removal step, the insulation coating is removed in the state where the plurality of insulated electric wires are integrated (par. [0096]).
Regarding claim 11, Akama teaches wherein, in the insulation coating removing step, the insulation coating is removed at a portion of an outer periphery of the core wire including a portion between the core wire and the pad (as in Fig. 4 with 29 removed between the core wire and the pad).
Regarding claim 12, wherein, in the connection step, the core wire is soldered to the pad by melting a paste-like solder adhered to a portion from which the insulation coating has been removed in the insulation coating removal step (soldering exposed wire 39 as in par. [0098]).
Regarding claim 13, Akama teaches wherein, in the connection step, the core wire is soldered to the pad by melting a solder ball accommodated in a portion from which the insulation coating has been removed in the insulation coating removal step (solder exposed portion of 39 to pad 61 as in par. [0098]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Akama in view of Matsukuma (US 2012/0046647).
Regarding claim 8, Akama is silent wherein the core wire has a diameter of 0.1 mm or less.However, Matsukuma teaches wires of 0.1 mm (par. [0051]).It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Akama with the wire diameter of Mastukuma, as a known lead wire size that is able to deliver electrosurgical energy.
Claim(s) 14-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Akama in view of Kallback (US 2016/0228061).
Regarding claim 14, Akama teaches a device, comprising:
a r cable comprising the plurality of insulated electric wires with the core wires each covered with the insulation coating (cable 30 with the wires 39 covered in insulation 29); and the substrate having the plurality of pads to which the core wires of the plurality of insulated electric wires are connected (substrate 50 with pads 61), , wherein the respective core wires of the plurality of insulated electric wires and the plurality of pads of the substrate are connected by the electric wire connection structure according to claim 1 (see the rejection of claim 1).Akama is not explicit regarding medical device with the cable as a catheter cable, wherein the one end of the catheter cable in the longitudinal direction is configured to be inserted into the human body.However, Kallback teaches a medical catheter using multiple leads in a cable for insertion in the human body (par. [0004] in the human body, par. [0015], and Fig. 1).It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Akama to use the cable as a catheter cable, as in Kallback, as a known device requiring the multiple leads.
Regarding claim 15, Akama teaches a method for manufacturing a device including a cable having the plurality of insulated electric wires with the core wires each covered with the insulation coating (39 with insulation 29), and the substrate having the plurality of pads to which the core wires of the plurality of insulated electric wires are connected (substrate 50 with pads 61 connected to 39 via solder as in par. [0098]), the method comprising:connecting the respective core wires of the plurality of insulated electric wires and the plurality of and the pad by the electric wire connection method according to claim 9 (see the rejection to claim 9).Akama is not explicit regarding medical device with the cable as a catheter cable, wherein the one end of the catheter cable in the longitudinal direction is configured to be inserted into the human body.However, Kallback teaches a medical catheter using multiple leads in a cable for insertion in the human body (par. [0004] in the human body, par. [0015], and Fig. 1).It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Akama to use the cable as a catheter cable, as in Kallback, as a known device requiring the multiple leads.
Conclusion
/BO OUYANG/Examiner, Art Unit 3794
/MICHAEL F PEFFLEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3794