DETAILED ACTION
Applicant's amendments and remarks, filed 2/25/26, are fully acknowledged by the Examiner. Currently, claims 1-23 are pending with claims 21-23 new. The following is a complete response to the 2/25/26 communication.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-10 and 12-23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Akama (US 2002/0002004).
Regarding claim 1, Akama teaches an electric wire connection structure, comprising:a plurality of insulated electric wires each with an outer periphery of a core wire being covered by an insulation coating (covered leads 39 covered by 29), the core wire being connected by an electrically conductive bonding material to each of a plurality of pads provided on a substrate at a tip in a longitudinal direction of each of the plurality of insulated electric wires (pads 61 as in par. [0085] for the leads via solder as in par. [0098], on substrate 50),
wherein, for each of the plurality of insulated electric wires, an end surface of the core wire and an end surface of the insulation coating are at a same position at the tip in the longitudinal direction (all at position D2 as in Fig. 3), and the electrically conductive bonding material adheres to the end surface of the core wire and the pads (solder connects leads and pads).
Regarding claim 2, Akama teaches wherein a peripheral surface of the core wire at each tip of the plurality of insulated electric wires is covered by the insulation coating (leads 39 covered by 29).
Regarding claim 3, Akama teaches wherein a circumferential portion of the insulation coating at the tip of each of the plurality of insulated electric wires is removed to expose a peripheral surface of the core wire (open surface as in Fig. 3), and the electrically conductive bonding material adheres to the exposed peripheral surface of the core wire (solder adheres lead to pad).
Regarding claim 4, Akama teaches wherein each of the plurality of insulated electric wires is bent in such a manner that the core wire at the tip approaches the pad (Fig. 3 wires bend to approach the pad).
Regarding claim 5, Akama teaches wherein the plurality of insulated electric wires are arranged
parallel to each other on the substrate and the end surfaces of respective core wires are aligned linearly (parallel as in Fig. 6).
Regarding claim 6, Akama teaches wherein positions of the end surfaces of the respective core wires of the plurality of insulated electric wires on the substrate are aligned in a straight line inclined to the longitudinal direction of the plurality of insulated electric wires (Fig. 4 wires aligned in a straight line).
Regarding claim 7, Akama teaches wherein the end surface of the core wire of each of the plurality of insulated electric wires is an inclined plane inclined with respect to a direction perpendicular to the substrate, and the inclined plane is oriented toward the pad (at least Fig. 3 with the plane inclined relative to the perpendicular plane to the substrate).
Regarding claim 8, Akama teaches wherein the end surface of the core wire of each of the plurality of insulated electric wires is an inclined plane inclined with respect to a direction perpendicular to the substrate (Fig. 3, inclined plane as the wires move closer to D2), and the inclined plane is oriented toward an opposite side to the pad (oriented toward the pad as in Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 9, Akama teaches wherein the plurality of insulated electric wires are integrated on the substrate (leads 39 integrated into 50 as part of a device).
Regarding claim 10, Akama teaches wherein the plurality of insulated electric wires are spaced apart from each other and arranged in parallel (Fig. 6, wires spaced apart and in parallel).
Regarding claim 12, Akama teaches an electric wire connection method for connecting each of a plurality of insulated electric wires each with an outer periphery of a core wire being covered by an insulation coating to each of a plurality of pads provided on a substrate at a tip in a longitudinal direction of each of the plurality of insulated electric wires (leads 39 covered by 29 connecting to pads 61), the method comprising: an alignment step of arranging the plurality of insulated electric wires parallel to each other along a predetermined alignment direction (aligned via 30 as in par. [0097]);
a cutting step of trimming each of the insulated electric wires in such a manner that an end surface of the core wire and an end surface of the insulation coating are at a same position at the tip in the longitudinal direction (par. [0096] processed by exposing the cables); and
a connecting step of placing the plurality of insulated electric wires on the substrate and connecting the end surface of the core wire to each of the plurality of pads (connection by solder).
Regarding claim 13, Akama teaches further comprising:
a removal step of removing a circumferential portion of the insulation coating at the tip of each of the plurality of insulated electric wires to expose a peripheral surface of the core wire (exposed as in par. [0025]), wherein in the connection step, at least a part of the peripheral surface of the core wire exposed in the removal process is connected to the pad together with the end surface of the core wire (par. [0038]).
Regarding claim 14, Akama teaches an integrating step of integrating the plurality of insulated electric wires arranged in the aligning step (integrating the wires in cable 30), wherein the cutting step trims the core wire and the insulation coating with the plurality of insulated electric wires in an integrated state (par. [00225]).
Regarding claim 15, Akama teaches wherein the plurality of insulated electric wires are spaced apart from each other in the aligning step (Fig. 2 and par. [0097]).
Regarding claim 16, Akama teaches wherein in the cutting step, one ends of the plurality of insulated electric wires are trimmed and aligned in such a manner that a position of the end surface of the core wire of each of the plurality of insulated electric wires on the substrate is aligned in a straight line inclined to the longitudinal direction of the plurality of insulated electric wires (Fig. 4 wires aligned in a straight line).
Regarding claim 17, Akama teaches wherein in the cutting step, the end surface of the core wire
of each of the plurality of insulated electric wires is made an inclined plane inclined with respect to the longitudinal direction (Fig. 4 wires aligned in a straight line), and in the connecting step, the plurality of insulated electric wires are arranged on the substrate in such a manner that the end surface of the core wire is oriented toward the pad and the end surfaces of the core wire are connected to the pads (39 arranged on substrate 50 such that the wires are connected to the pads 61).
Regarding claim 18, Akama teaches wherein in the cutting step, the end surface of the core wire
of each of the plurality of insulated electric wires is made an inclined plane inclined with respect to the longitudinal direction (at least Fig. 3 with the plane inclined relative to the perpendicular plane to the substrate), and in the connecting step, the plurality of insulated electric wires are arranged on the substrate in such a manner that the end surface of the core wire is oriented toward an opposite side to the pad and the end surfaces of the core wire are connected to the pads (39 arranged on substrate such that they are connected to pads at D2).
Regarding claim 19, Akama teaches medical device, comprising:
a catheter cable comprising the plurality of insulated electric wires each with the core wire being covered by the insulation coating (catheter cable 30 with the wires 39 covered by 29); andthe substrate comprising the plurality of pads to which the core wires of the plurality of insulated electric wires are connected (substrate 50 with pads 61),
wherein one of two longitudinal end portions of the catheter cable is configured to be inserted into a human body ("configured to be inserted" is a functional recitation. A functional recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. In the instant case, Akama is capable of performing the functionality of inserting into the human body depending on the width of the device and, as such, this functional language does not structurally define the instant claim over the teaching in Akama),
wherein the respective core wires of the plurality of insulated electric wires and the plurality of pads of the substrate are connected by the electric wire connection structure according to claim 1 (see claim 1 above).
Regarding claim 20, Akama teaches a method for manufacturing a medical device provided with a catheter cable comprising the plurality of insulated electric wires each with the core wire being covered by the insulation coating (catheter cable 30 with the wires 39 covered by 29), and the substrate comprising the plurality of pads to which the core wires of the plurality of insulated electric wires are connected (substrate 50 with pads 61), wherein one of two longitudinal end portions of the catheter cable is configured to be inserted into a human body ("configured to be inserted" is a functional
recitation. A functional recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. In the instant case, Akama is capable of performing the functionality of inserting into the human body depending on the width of the device and, as such, this functional language does not structurally define the instant claim over the teaching in Akama), the method comprising: connecting the respective core wires of the plurality of insulated electric wires to the plurality of pads of the substrate by the electric wire connection method according to claim 12 (see claim 12).
Regarding claim 21, Akama teaches wherein the plurality of insulated electric wires extend parallel to a surface of the substrate on which the pads are provided (Fig. 3, wires spaced apart and in parallel to a surface of substrate at least in part), and wherein the tips of the plurality of insulated wires are positioned on the pads respectively (Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 22, Akama teaches wherein the connecting step comprises placing the plurality of wires on the substrate in such a manner that the plurality of insulated electric wires extend parallel to a surface of the substrate on which the pads are provided (Fig. 3, wires spaced apart and in parallel to a surface of substrate at least in part), and the tips of the plurality of insulated electric wires are positioned on the pads respectively (tips of the electric wires are positioned on the pads as in Figs. 3-4), and connecting the end surface of the core wire to each of the plurality of pads (connecting the end surface of the core wire to the pads at D2 as in Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 23, Akama teaches wherein the end surface of the core wire is exposed from the insulation coating at a tip in a longitudinal direction (end surface of the core wire is exposed from the insulation in a longitudinal direction as in at least Fig. 3 with 39 exposed as in par. [0096]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Akama in view of Matsukuma (US 2012/0046647).
Regarding claim 11, Akama is silent wherein a diameter of the core wire is 0.10 mm or less.
However, Matsukuma teaches wires of 0.1 mm (par. [0051]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Akama with the wire diameter size of Matsukuma, as a known lead wire size that is able to deliver electrosurgical energy.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 2/25/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues that the references do not teach the end surface of the core wire sand an end surface of the insulation coating are at a same position. However, a broad interpretation of an end surface of the core wire is the exposed core wire surface. The end of the insulation coating in Akama is at the start of the end surface of the core wire, as in at least Fig. 3.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DANIEL W FOWLER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3794
/BO OUYANG/Examiner, Art Unit 3794