DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7, 9, 10 and 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Iwano [EP3159140, of record, previously cited] in view of Al-Sheyyab et al. [US2014/0191492, of record, previously cited, “Al-Sheyyab”].
Iwano discloses a method of forming a hollow structure comprising: forming a first weld joint by providing a first component (12) having a base portion and a flange (12F) extending from the base portion (Figure 1; paragraphs 0014, 0028, 0031); providing a second component (14; Figure 1; paragraphs 0005, 0028, 0030); bringing the second component and the flange into abutment and applying a load to the flange via the second component, wherein the flange is biased against the second component by a reaction of the first component to the load (Figure 1; paragraph 0005, 0010, 0015, 0049); and vibrating one of the first component and the second component to form the first weld joint between at least a part of the second component and at least a part of the flange (Figure 1; paragraph 0008, 0011, 0018, 0046, 0047, 0049). Iwano shows in Figure 6 the formation of first and second welds, but the first weld is not internal to the hollow structure.
Al-Sheyyab discloses a method of forming a hollow structure. Al-Sheyyab discloses the hollow structure is formed by joining a half-shell and a cover element, and suggests connecting the half-shell and the cover element by vibration welding (paragraph 0012), wherein the half-shell and cover element are made of fiber-reinforced thermoplastic (paragraph 0020). Al-Sheyyab discloses several alternative configurations for joining the half-shell and the cover element including one embodiment with flanges external to the hollow structure similar to what is taught by Iwano (see Figures 8-9), and alternative embodiments with flanges internal to the hollow space (Figures 2-4, 6 and 7).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to modify the method of Iwano by substituting the external flange structure with flanges internal to the hollow space as taught by Al-Sheyyab as a substation of known alternatives is within the ability of one of ordinary skill.
With respect to claim 2, Iwano discloses the first component comprises a thermoplastic material (paragraph 0005, 0039).
With respect to claim 3, Iwano discloses the first component comprises a first fiber- reinforced thermoplastic composite (paragraph 0005, 0012, 0039).
With respect to claim 4, Iwano discloses the fibers are continuous (paragraph 0039).
With respect to claim 5, Iwano discloses the second component comprises a thermoplastic material (paragraph 0005, 0039).
With respect to claim 6, Iwano discloses the second component comprises a second fiber-reinforced thermoplastic composite (paragraph 0005, 0012, 0039).
With respect to claim 7, Iwano discloses the flange or the first component is formed to be resilient (the carbon fiber reinforced thermoplastic resin material is considered to be a resilient material; paragraph 0039).
With respect to claims 9 and 10, Iwano discloses one of the components is fixed in position and the other component is moved relative to the component or pushed against the component to apply the load to the flange, either one of components (12 and 14) can be considered the first component and the other (of 12 and 14) can be considered the second component (paragraphs 0049-50; Figure 1).
With respect to claim 12, Iwano discloses the weld joint is formed by pushing the first component and the second component together during the vibrating one of the first component and the second component to form the weld joint (paragraph 0049).
With respect to claim 13, Iwano discloses the second component comprises a base portion and a flange extending from the base portion, the method further comprising: bringing the first component and the flange of the second component into abutment and applying a second load to the flange of the second component via the first component, wherein the flange of the second component is biased against the first component by a reaction of the second component to the second load; and vibrating one of the first and the second components to form a weld joint between at least a part of the first component and at least a part of the flange of the second component (paragraphs 0032, 0046-49).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Iwano, Al-Sheyyab and further in view of Durfee [US4601927, of record, previously cited].
Iwano as modified discloses a method of forming a weld joint. Applicant is referred to paragraph 3 for a detailed discussion of Iwano as modified. Iwano and Al-Sheyyab disclose the first component includes a flange that extends from the base at a first angle, but does not disclose applying the load changes the first angle to a second angle that is different than the first angle.
Durfee discloses a method of welding including a first component (10b) having a flange (30b) at a first angle (Figures 3 and 5); and applying the load changes the first angle to a second angle that is different than the first angle (Figures 4 and 6). Durfee the flexural lip helps hold flash and relieve stress in the weld joint (column 4, line 44-column 5, line 15).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to further modify the method of Iwano by flexing the flange to a second angle under the application of a load as taught by Durfee in order to improve the control of flash and to relieve stress in the weld.
Claims 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Iwano in view of Durfee.
Iwano discloses a method of forming a weld jointcomprising: providing a first component (12) having a base portion and a flange (12F) extending from the base portion at a first angle (Figure 1; paragraphs 0014, 0028, 0031); providing a second component (14; Figure 1; paragraphs 0005, 0028, 0030); bringing the second component and the flange into abutment and applying a load to the flange via the second component, wherein the flange is biased against the second component by a reaction of the first component to the load (Figure 1; paragraph 0005, 0010, 0015, 0049); and vibrating one of the first component and the second component to form the first weld joint between at least a part of the second component and at least a part of the flange (Figure 1; paragraph 0008, 0011, 0018, 0046, 0047, 0049).
Iwano discloses the first component includes a flange that extends from the base at a first angle, but does not disclose applying the load changes the first angle to a second angle that is different than the first angle.
Durfee discloses a method of welding including a first component (10b) having a flange (30b) at a first angle (Figures 3 and 5); and applying the load changes the first angle to a second angle that is different than the first angle (Figures 4 and 6). Durfee the flexural lip helps hold flash and relieve stress in the weld joint (column 4, line 44-column 5, line 15).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to modify the method of Iwano by flexing the flange to a second angle under the application of a load as taught by Durfee in order to improve the control of flash and to relieve stress in the weld.
With respect to claim 18, both Iwano and Durfee disclose the second component includes a first planar surface, the flange includes a second planar surface, and the first planar surface and the second planar surface are coplanar when the load is applied to the flange via the second component (Iwano Figure 1 and 3; Durfee Figure 3).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 9/12/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant asserts there is no disclosure, teaching or suggestion in Al-Sheyyab that its method could be modified such that the vibrating one of the first component and the second component to form the first weld joint between at least a part of the second component and at least a part of the flange, and that the use of vibration would render inoperable Al-Sheyyab’s heating element. Iwano discloses vibrating one of the first component and the second component to form the first weld joint between at least a part of the second component and at least a part of the flange, and Al-Sheyyab is merely relied upon to teach the configuration of external and internal flanges are known alternatives. In any event, Al-Sheyyab discloses the two components (half-shell and cover element) can be joined by vibration welding (paragraph 0012). Applicant’s assertion that use of vibration to form a weld would render Al-Sheyyab inoperable is not supported by any evidence, and is contrary to the explicit disclosure of Al-Sheyyab which suggests vibration welding.
Applicant asserts Durfee does not disclose the first angle changes to the second angle by reaction of the first component to any load. Durfee disclose the flange (lip 30) is flexible and compliant to flex (change from first angle to a second angle) as the compressive force is applied to the adjoining surfaces (column 4, lines 44-58). Durfee also discloses which contact forces applied the lip bends back as melt-down occurs (column 4, lines 44-58). It’s clear from Durfee’s disclosure that a compressive force is an applied load, and the application of the load results in the flange (lip 30) changing from a first angle to a second angle as the flange flexes or bends.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DANIEL MCNALLY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1746
DPM
November 13, 2025