Status of Claims
This Office Action is in response to the application filed on 6/30/2023. Claims 1-20 are presently pending and are presented for examination.
Claim Objections
Claims 18-20 are objected to because of the following informalities. Appropriate correction is required.
Independent claim 17 recites A method…, but dependent claims 18-20 refer to The system of claim 17….
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. Independent claim 1 is directed toward a machine, independent claim 9 is directed to a machine, and independent claim 17 is directed to method. Each of the independent claim(s) 9 and 17 along with the corresponding dependent claims 10-16 and 18-20 are directed to a statutory category of invention under Step 1.
Under Step 2A, Prong 1, the claims are analyzed to determine whether one or more of the claims recites subject matter that falls within one of the following groups of abstract ideas: (1) mental processes, (2) certain methods of organizing human activity, and/or (3) mathematical concepts. In this case, the independent claim(s) 1, 9, and 17 is/are directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. Specifically, the claim(s), under its/their broadest reasonable interpretation(s) cover(s) certain mental processes.
Claim 1:
A combine unloading management system comprising one or more processors and one or more computer-readable storage media comprising instructions that configure the one or more processors to:
determine a grain flow rate of grain flowing into a combine tank of a combine harvesting along a current pass of a grain field (A person could mentally estimate how much grain is flowing into the combine and its flow rate based on visually observing the combine.);
determine a combine tank level corresponding to a current amount of grain in the combine tank (A person could mentally estimate a combine tank level, either by visually observing the combine or the tank itself.); and
determine a starting point for unloading the combine tank on-the-go into a grain cart, the starting point based on the grain flow rate and the combine tank level (A person could mentally decide where a combine should begin to unload into a grain cart based on grain flow and combine tank level information.).
Claim 9
A combine unloading management system comprising: a first controller disposed on a combine, the first controller comprising a housing, a first radio, and a first processor mounted within the housing in operative communication with the first radio and configured to:
determine a grain flow rate of grain flowing into a combine tank of the combine as the combine harvests along a current pass of a grain field (A person could mentally estimate how much grain is flowing into the combine and its flow rate based on visually observing the combine.);
determine a combine tank level corresponding to a current amount of grain in the combine tank (A person could mentally estimate a combine tank level, either by visually observing the combine or the tank itself.);
determine a starting point for unloading the combine tank on-the-go into a grain cart, the starting point based on the grain flow rate and the combine tank level (A person could mentally decide where a combine should begin to unload into a grain cart based on grain flow and combine tank level information.).; and
transmit the starting point to the grain cart with the first radio.
Claim 17
A method for alerting a grain cart operator when a combine auger is on and off, comprising:
detecting the on / off status of the combine auger (A person could use their sight or hearing to determine whether a combine auger is currently transferring material or not.);
transmitting the on / off status of the combine auger to a grain cart;
issuing an audible and / or visual alarm to alert a grain cart operator of the on / off status of the combine auger.
As explained above, independent claims 1, 9, and 17 recite at least one abstract idea under Step 2A, Prong 1.
Under Step 2A, Prong 2, the claims are analyzed to determine whether the claim, as a whole, integrates the abstract idea into a practical application. As noted in the 2019 PEG, it must be determined whether any additional elements in the claim beyond the abstract idea integrate the exception into a practical application in a manner that imposes a meaningful limit on the judicial exception. The courts have indicated that additional elements such as merely using a computer to implement an abstract idea, adding insignificant extra-solution activity, or generally linking use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use do not integrate a judicial exception into a "practical application"; see at least MPEP 2106.04(d).
In this case, the mental processes are not integrated into a practical application. For example, independent claims 1, 9, and 17 recites additional elements. These/this limitation(s) amount to implementing the abstract idea on a computer, add insignificant extra-solution activity, and/or generally link use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use; see at least MPEP 2106.04(d). More specifically,
one or more processors and one or more computer-readable storage media… found in independent claim(s) 1. This limitation amounts to implementing the abstract idea on a computer.
a first controller … found in independent claim(s) 9. This limitation amounts to implementing the abstract idea on a computer.
a first radio… found in independent claim(s) 9. This limitation amounts to generally linking the use of the abstract idea to a particular technological environment or field of use.
transmit the starting point… found in independent claim(s) 9. This limitation amounts to insignificant extra-solution activity.
transmitting the on / off status of the combine auger to a grain cart… found in independent claim(s) 17. This limitation amounts to insignificant extra-solution activity.
issuing an audible and / or visual alarm to alert a grain cart operator of the on / off status of the combine auger found in independent claim(s) 17. This limitation amounts to insignificant extra-solution activity.
Therefore, taken alone, the additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. Furthermore, looking at the additional limitation(s) as an ordered combination or as a whole, the limitations add nothing significant that is not already present when looking at the elements taken individually. Because the additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application by imposing meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea, independent claim(s) 1, 9, and 17 is/are directed to an abstract idea.
Under Step 2B, the claims do not include any additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application in Step 2A, Prong Two, the additional element of limiting the use of the idea to one particular environment employs generic computer functions to execute an abstract idea and, therefore, does not add significantly more. Mere instruction to apply an exception using generic computer components and limiting the use of the abstract idea to a particular environment or field of use cannot provide an inventive concept. Additionally, as discussed above, the remaining limitation(s) as recited above, is/are considered insignificant extra-solution activity.
A conclusion that an additional element is insignificant extra-solution activity in Step 2A must be re-evaluated in Step 2B to determine if the element is more than what is well-understood, routine, and conventional in the field. In this case, the additional limitation of a one or more processors or controller are well-understood, routine, and conventional activity, because the specification does not provide any indication that the one or more processors or controller is/are anything more than conventional computer(s). Additionally, the remaining element(s) has/have been deemed insignificant extra-solution activity by one or more courts; see at least MPEP 2106.05(d) and MPEP 2106.05(g):
transmit the starting point… is considered well-understood, routine, and conventional activity under buySAFE, Inc. v. Google, Inc., 765 F.3d 1350, 1355, 112 USPQ2d 1093, 1096 (Fed. Cir. 2014) (computer receives and sends information over a network).
transmitting the on / off status of the combine auger to a grain cart… transmit the starting point… is considered well-understood, routine, and conventional activity under buySAFE, Inc. v. Google, Inc., 765 F.3d 1350, 1355, 112 USPQ2d 1093, 1096 (Fed. Cir. 2014) (computer receives and sends information over a network).
issuing an audible and / or visual alarm to alert a grain cart operator of the on / off status of the combine auger is considered well-understood, routine, and conventional activity under TLI Communications, 823 F.3d at 612-13, 118 USPQ2d at 1747-48 (gathering and analyzing information using conventional techniques and displaying the result).
Because the claims fail to recite anything sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception, independent claim(s) 1, 9, and 17 is/are patent ineligible under 35 U.S.C. 101.
Dependent claims 2-8, 9-16, and 18-20 have been given the full two-part analysis, including analyzing the additional limitations, both individually and in combination. Dependent claims 2-8, 9-16, and 18-20, when analyzed both individually and in combination, are also patent ineligible under 35 U.S.C. 101 based on the same analysis as above. The additional limitations recited in the dependent claims fail to establish that the dependent claims are not directed to an abstract idea. The additional limitations of the dependent claims, when considered individually and as an ordered combination, do not amount to significantly more than the abstract idea. Accordingly, claims 2-8, 9-16, and 18-20 are patent ineligible under 35 U.S.C. 101.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over US 20200319655 A1, hereinafter “Desai”, in view of US 20120200697 A1, hereinafter “Wuestefeld”.
Regarding claim 1, Desai, in the same field of endeavor and solving a related problem, discloses A combine unloading management system comprising one or more processors and one or more computer-readable storage media comprising instructions that configure the one or more processors to (See [0021]-[0024], the controller is a computer comprising processor and computer-readable storage media storing instructions to execute the method.):
determine a combine tank level corresponding to a current amount of grain in the combine tank (See [0020], the storage tank 14 refers to a tank on the combine that stores harvested agricultural product, i.e. grain. See [0024], the controller determines the weight and fill levels of the storage tank, i.e. determines the tank level.);
determine a starting point for unloading the combine tank on-the-go into a grain cart (See [0046], the grain cart determines a route to the harvesting combine. The route can be determined such that the grain cart arrives before the threshold weight or fill depth of the combine are met. This means that the route comprises a starting point for unloading the combine tank into the grain cart. See Fig. 4 and [0032], the grain cart travels alongside the combine while grain is unloaded from the combine to the grain cart. This indicates that unloading can take place on-the-go.).
Desai does not explicitly disclose determine a grain flow rate of grain flowing into a combine tank of a combine harvesting along a current pass of a grain field, determine a combine tank level corresponding to a current amount of grain in the combine tank; or the starting point based on the grain flow rate and the combine tank level.
Wuestefeld, in the same field of endeavor and solving a related problem, renders obvious determine a grain flow rate of grain flowing into a combine tank of a combine harvesting along a current pass of a grain field (See Abstract and [0004]-[0005], the invention is directed toward measuring quantities and rates of change of agricultural materials in farm equipment, including measuring mass flow of grain in combine harvesters. See [0033], the flow rate of into a combine harvester is determined and used to estimate the amount of grain in the tank and when the tank will need to be emptied into a grain cart. See [0042], the current combine tank level and current fill rate, i.e. grain flow rate, are used to predict the time remaining until the combine tank is full. This information is wirelessly communicated to a grain cart and used to determine an unloading schedule.);
determine a combine tank level corresponding to a current amount of grain in the combine tank (See [0042], the combine reports its tank level to the grain cart. This means that the combine tank level was determined.); and
the starting point based on the grain flow rate and the combine tank level (See [0042], the current combine tank level and current fill rate, i.e. grain flow rate, are used to predict the time remaining until the combine tank is full. This information is wirelessly communicated to a grain cart and used to determine an unloading schedule.).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system for combine grain storage management with grain carts of Desai to include using the grain flow rate and grain tank level as part of determining unloading schedules of Wuestefeld. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve efficiency of harvesting by estimating grain flow rates more accurately and reducing downtime due to full tanks, as suggested by Wuestefeld at [0004]-[0005].
Regarding claim 3, Desai combined with Wuestefeld renders obvious the limitations of claim 1. Desai further discloses wherein the starting point comprises a position in the current pass or a subsequent pass at which the combine will start unloading on-the-go into the grain cart (See [0046], the grain cart determines a route to the harvesting combine. The route can be determined such that the grain cart arrives before the threshold weight or fill depth of the combine are met. This comprises determining a starting point and position. The determination is only necessary if the combine is currently adding grain to its tank, i.e. is or will be on a pass. See Fig. 4 and [0032], the grain cart travels alongside the combine while grain is unloaded from the combine to the grain cart. This indicates that unloading can take place on-the-go.).
Regarding claim 4, Desai combined with Wuestefeld renders obvious the limitations of claim 1. Desai further discloses wherein the starting point comprises a time at which the combine will start unloading on-the-go into the grain cart (See [0039], the loading grain cart controller determines when and where the loading grain cart will be loaded, i.e. determines a starting point comprising a time unloading will occur. See Fig. 4 and [0032], the grain cart travels alongside the combine while grain is unloaded from the combine to the grain cart. This indicates that unloading can take place on-the-go.).
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Desai and Wuestefeld in view of NPL document “Google Maps Review”, hereinafter “Williams”.
Regarding claim 2, Desai combined with Wuestefeld renders obvious the limitations of claim 1. Desai renders obvious wherein the one or more processors are configured to wirelessly transmit the starting point to a grain cart (See [0041], all data used by the grain carts can be determined by a communications base station and wirelessly transmitted to the grain carts, including planning and directing the speed and routes of the grain carts and combine. This indicates that the base station can plan and wirelessly transmit the starting point to the grain carts. Storing data in memory and analyzing it indicates that the communications base station is a computer and therefore comprises a processor executed the stated functionality.). Desai combined with Wuestefeld does not explicitly disclose to a display for viewing by an operator.
Williams, in the same field of endeavor and solving a related problem, discloses to a display for viewing by an operator (See the picture on page 4, the destination is displayed while walking. See page 8 paragraph 2-3, navigation mode can also be used while driving, i.e. the destination can be displayed while driving.). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system for combine grain storage management with grain carts of Desai and Wuestefeld to include transmitting and displaying the starting point to operators of the grain cart as suggested by Williams. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to allow operators of the grain carts to use the displayed starting point to navigate, as suggested by Williams at page 4 picture 1 and page 8 paragraphs 2-3.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Desai and Wuestefeld in view of JP 2021101303 A, hereinafter “Tazume”.
Regarding claim 5, Desai combined with Wuestefeld renders obvious the limitations of claim 1. Desai further discloses determine a plurality of starting points for unloading the combine tank on-the-go into the grain cart and select one of the plurality of starting points (See [0051]-[0052], the grain cart controller determines a route to the expected position of the combine. This is the starting point. The grain cart controller has a harvesting map that includes the expected location of the combine at various times. This means that one starting point was selected from a plurality of starting points, i.e. all identified points along the path of the combine that the grain cart could reach before the combine.).
Desai combined with Wuestefeld does not explicitly disclose select one of the plurality of starting points that is closest to a current position of the combine. Tazume, in the same field of endeavor and solving a related problem, renders obvious select one of the plurality of starting points that is closest to a current position of the combine (See Abstract, the invention is a transport system, i.e. a baggage carrying machine. The transport system identifies whether a user is carrying baggage that the machine should allow the user should unload and determines a destination to meet the user at. The machine travels to the destination. See page 9 paragraph 5-page 10 paragraph 2. The control device estimates the moving direction, speed, and destination of the user. The control device determines a plurality of passing points along the user’s estimated movement route, i.e. starting points. The device calculates the estimated travel time to each possible passing point. The control device then selects the passing point closest to where the user is located, i.e. the location of the user, as the meeting point.). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system for combine grain storage management with grain carts of Desai and Wuestefeld to include identifying a number of possible starting points and choosing the one closest to the current position of the combine, as suggested by Tazume. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to evaluate all potential starting points for feasibility and then choose the one that would require the target to travel the least distance before unloading, as suggested by Tazume at page 10 paragraph 2. One of ordinary skill of the art would recognize that minimizing the travel distance before unloading also minimizes the crop harvested by the combine after determining that unloading should occur, minimizing chances of completely filling the tank and halting harvesting.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Desai, Wuestefeld, and Tazume in view of US 20200128734 A1, hereinafter “Brammeier”.
Regarding claim 6, Desai combined with Wuestefeld and Tazume renders obvious the limitations of claim 5. Desai discloses a second starting point so that the grain cart is about full and the combine tank is about empty after unloading the go into the grain cart (See [0050], the combine can stop unloading grain to the cart and allow the loading grain cart to proceed to a storage tank based on a threshold weight or fill depth of both the grain cart and the combine. See [0042], the threshold can be 95 percent full for the grain cart and 5 percent full for the combine, i.e. when the grain cart is about full and the combine is about empty. The starting point and any potential starting point not selected corresponding to this unloading is a second starting point.) and
a starting point so that the combine tank is about empty after unloading on-the-go into the grain cart ([0050], the combine can stop unloading grain to the cart and allow the loading grain cart to proceed to a storage tank based on a threshold weight or fill depth of both the grain cart and the combine. See [0042], the threshold can be 5 percent full for the combine, i.e. when the combine is about empty. The starting point and any potential starting point not selected corresponding to this unloading is a third starting point). Desai does not explicitly disclose a first starting point so that the combine tank is about full at the first starting point before unloading, a third starting point so that the combine tank is about empty at an end of the current pass after unloading on-the-go into the grain cart, or at least two of: a first starting point, a second starting point, and a third starting point.
Brammeier, in the same field of endeavor and solving a related problem, renders obvious a first starting point so that the combine tank is about full at the first starting point before unloading (See [0084]-[0085], the control signal generator determines that the harvesting machine is about to be full and communicates a message to a haulage unit. The haulage unit is provided with a route to the location of the harvesting machine. This route comprises a starting point, i.e. first starting point, that necessarily corresponds to a point where the combine tank is about full.). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system for combine grain storage management with grain carts of Desai and Wuestefeld to include consideration of starting points where the combine is about full, as suggested by Brammeier. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to have grain carts go to harvesters for unloading as the harvesters are about full in order to improve logistical efficiency and avoid interruptions in harvesting, as suggested by Brammeier at [0004]-[0007]. The above renders obvious at least two of: a first starting point, a second starting point, and a third starting point.
Claims 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Desai, and Wuestefeld in view of US 20130317696 A1, hereinafter “Koch”
Regarding claim 7, Desai combined with Wuestefeld renders obvious the limitations of claim 1. Wuestefeld further renders obvious further comprising a grain mass flow sensor (See [0005], a combine is equipped with a sensor that measures mass flow of grain, i.e. a grain mass flow sensor) and
determine the grain flow rate based on an average of a grain mass value received from the grain mass flow sensor (See [0005] and [0033], mass flow rate is based on integrating the values of the mass flow sensors. The integral of a function over an interval of time is equal to the average value of the function multiplied by the length of the interval of time. Integrating the mass flow values is therefore equivalent to using the average mass flow rate. The grain flow rate is uniquely determined by the total grain mass value and the corresponding length of time of harvesting.) It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system for combine grain storage management with grain carts of Desai to include a grain mass flow sensor and integrating its values of Wuestefeld. One of ordinary skill of the art would have been motivated to make this medication in order to estimate the amount of grain collected, as suggested by Wuestefeld at [0005].
Desai combined with Wuestefeld does not explicitly disclose further comprising an empty tank level sensor or wherein the one or more processors are configured to determine the grain flow rate based on an average of a grain mass value received from the grain mass flow sensor since last receiving an empty tank signal from the empty tank level sensor. Koch, in the same field of endeavor and solving a related problem, discloses further comprising an empty tank level sensor (See [0071], the auger weight sensor is used to determine if the grain tank has been completely emptied, i.e. is an empty tank level sensor.) and wherein the one or more processors are configured to determine the grain flow rate based on an average of a grain mass value received from the grain mass flow sensor since last receiving an empty tank signal from the empty tank level sensor (See Abstract, the system comprises calibrating mass flow rate sensors. See [0066], that mass flow rate signal is calibrated using vehicle weight data according to the vehicle weight system. See [0043]-[0052], the vehicle weight system uses extensometers to estimate the vehicle weight. See [0071] and [0083]-[0084], in response to determining that the tank is empty, i.e. receiving an empty tank signal, the system calibrates the extensometer signals. Since the extensometer signals are used as part of calibrating the mass flow rate sensors, this means that the calibration of the grain flow rate changes after receiving the empty tank signal.). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system for combine grain storage management with grain carts of Desai and Wuestefeld to include determining when the tank is empty in order to perform any steps necessary to calibrate the grain flow rate sensors, as suggested by Koch. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to allow for load-by-load calibration, including involving quantities that are affected by accumulated grain mass, as suggested by Koch at [0006]-[0009] and [0083]-[0084].
Regarding claim 8, Desai combined with Wuestefeld renders obvious the limitations of claim 1. Desai combined with Wuestefeld does not explicitly disclose wherein the one or more processors are configured to determine the grain flow rate of the current pass based on a grain flow rate of a previously harvested pass.
Koch, in the same field of endeavor and solving a related problem, discloses wherein the one or more processors are configured to determine the grain flow rate of the current pass based on a grain flow rate of a previously harvested pass (See Abstract, the system measures grain mass flow rate. See Fig. 2A-2B and [0031]-[0035], a mass flow correction factor calculated from a prior run is used to obtain a corrected mass flow factor for the current run. The update to the mass flow correction factor is based on the difference between the mass flow signal. The prior correction factor is determined using the recorded sum of mass flow over time, i.e. the grain flow rate of a previously harvested pass, and is used to estimate the grain flow rate at the current pass.). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system for combine grain storage management with grain carts of Desai and Wuestefeld to include using previously calculated quantities based on mass flow rates to estimate the current mass flow rate, as suggested by Koch. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve estimation of the grain flow rate based on available data from previous harvesting passes, as suggested by Koch at [0031]-[0035].
Claims 9 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Desai in view of Brammeier and Wuestefeld.
Regarding claim 9, Desai renders obvious A combine unloading management system (See Abstract and [0020], the system is for managing unloading of an agricultural vehicle, which can be a combine) comprising:
a first controller disposed on a combine, the first controller comprising a first radio and a first processor in operative communication with the first radio (See Fig. 1 and [0021]-[0023], the combine includes a control system comprising a controller. The controller comprises a processor. The controller is coupled to the communication device in order to send and receive signals over a wireless communication network. This indicates that the processor is also coupled to the communication device. All wireless communication is based on radio signals. The communication device is therefore a radiofrequency transceiver, i.e. a radio.) and configured to:
determine a combine tank level corresponding to a current amount of grain in the combine tank (See [0020], the storage tank 14 refers to a tank on the combine that stores harvested agricultural product, i.e. grain. See [0024], the controller determines the weight and fill levels of the storage tank, i.e. determines the tank level.);
determine a starting point for unloading the combine tank on-the-go into a grain cart (See [0046], the grain cart determines a route to the harvesting combine. The route can be determined such that the grain cart arrives before the threshold weight or fill depth of the combine are met. This comprises determining a starting point. See Fig. 4 and [0032], the grain cart travels alongside the combine while grain is unloaded from the combine to the grain cart. This indicates that unloading can take place on-the-go.); and
transmit the starting point to the grain cart with a radio (See [0041], all data used by the grain carts can be determined by a communications base station and wirelessly transmitted to the grain carts, including planning and directing the speed and routes of the grain carts and combine. This includes the starting point. Wireless communication is inherently done by transmitting radiofrequency waves, i.e. by a radio.).
Desai does not explicitly disclose comprising a housing, a first processor mounted within the housing, a first controller disposed on a combine configured to determine a starting point for unloading the combine tank, determine a grain flow rate of grain flowing into a combine tank of the combine as the combine harvests along a current pass of a grain field, or the starting point based on the grain flow rate and the combine tank level, or transmit the starting point to the grain cart with the first radio.
Desai renders obvious comprising a housing (See Figs. 4-6 and [0013]-[0015], the combine operates to harvest outdoors. It would be obvious to use a housing for the controller so that the controller is not exposed to damage from the elements.); and
a first processor mounted within the housing (See Figs. 4-6 and [0013]-[0015], the combine operates to harvest outdoors. It would be obvious to use a housing for the controller so that the controller is not exposed to damage from the elements.).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system for combine grain storage management with grain carts of Desai to include a housing for the controller mounted on the combine. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification because so that the combine could be operated outdoors without unnecessary risk to the controller due to the elements, as suggested by Desai at Figs. 4-6 and [0013]-[0015].
Brammeier, in the same field of endeavor and solving a related problem, discloses a first controller disposed on a combine configured to determine a starting point for unloading the combine tank (See Abstract, the agricultural harvesting machine comprises a path processing system. See [0004], the agricultural harvester is a combine. See [0037], the path processing system comprises the rendezvous point identifier logic. The described functionality is necessarily executed by a processor. See [0025], the rendezvous point refers to an unloading point with a haulage unit, i.e. grain cart. See [0093], control signals are generated based on the rendezvous point, i.e. the subsystem that identifies the rendezvous point is a controller.) and
transmit the starting point to the grain cart with the first radio (See [0084]-[0085], the control signal generator sends a route, which comprises a starting point, to a haulage cart. See Fig. 2 and [0036]-[0037], the control signal generator is part of the combine. See [0055], control communication subsystem used by the control signal generator transmits over several kinds of wireless network, e.g. cellular and near field communication networks. These communication networks use radiofrequency transmissions, indicating the communication subsystem comprises a radio.).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system for combine grain storage management with grain carts of Desai to having the controller on the combine determine the starting point of Brammeier. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification because so that the combine can communicate with haulage units without the need for an intermediary control station, as suggested by Brammeier at [0084].
Desai combined with Brammeier does not explicitly disclose determine a grain flow rate of grain flowing into a combine tank of the combine as the combine harvests along a current pass of a grain field or the starting point based on the grain flow rate and the combine tank level.
Wuestefeld, in the same field of endeavor and solving a related problem, renders obvious determine a grain flow rate of grain flowing into a combine tank of the combine as the combine harvests along a current pass of a grain field (See Abstract and [0004]-[0005], the invention is directed toward measuring quantities and rates of change of agricultural materials in farm equipment, including measuring mass flow of grain in combine harvesters. See [0033], the flow rate of into a combine harvester is used to estimate the amount of grain in the tank and when the tank will need to be emptied into a grain cart. Grain only flows into the tank while the combine is harvesting, i.e. during a current pass.) and
the starting point based on the grain flow rate and the combine tank level (See [0042], the current combine tank level and current fill rate, i.e. grain flow rate, are used to predict the time remaining until the combine tank is full. This information is wirelessly communicated to a grain cart and used to determine an unloading schedule.). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system for combine grain storage management with grain carts of Desai and Brammeier to include using the grain flow rate and current tank level as part of predicting when the tank will reach a fill threshold of Wuestefeld. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve efficiency of harvesting by estimating grain flow rates more accurately, as suggested by Wuestefeld at [0004]-[0005].
Regarding claim 12, Desai combined with Brammeier and Wuestefeld renders obvious the limitations of claim 9. Brammeier renders obvious wherein the first processor is further configured to determine the starting point additionally based on a combine tank capacity of the combine tank so that the combine tank is about full at the starting point before unloading on-the-go into the grain cart (See [0084]-[0085], the control signal generator determines that the harvesting machine is about to be full and communicates a message to a haulage unit. The haulage unit is provided with a route to the location of the harvesting machine. This route comprises a starting point, i.e. first starting point, that necessarily corresponds to a point where the combine tank is about full. Determination that the tank is about full is inherently based on a combine tank capacity.). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system for combine grain storage management with grain carts of Desai and Wuestefeld to include consideration of starting points where the combine is about full, as suggested by Brammeier. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to have grain carts go to harvesters for unloading as the harvesters are about full in order to improve logistical efficiency and avoid interruptions in harvesting, as suggested by Brammeier at [0004]-[0007].
Claims 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Desai, Brammeier, and Wuestefeld in view of Koch.
Regarding claim 10, Desai combined with Brammeier and Wuestefeld renders obvious the limitations of claim 9. Wuestefeld renders obvious comprising a grain mass flow sensor (See [0005], a combine is equipped with a sensor that measures mass flow of grain, i.e. a grain mass flow sensor.),
wherein the first processor is further configured to: receive a grain mass value from the grain mass flow sensor (See [0033], the flow rate sensor data, i.e. grain mass flow sensor values, are integrated. This is necessarily done by a processor.);
and determine the grain flow rate based on an average of the grain mass value (See [0005] and [0033], mass flow rate is based on integrating the values of the mass flow sensors. The integral of a function over an interval of time is equal to the average value of the function multiplied by the length of the interval of time. Integrating the mass flow values is therefore equivalent to using the average mass flow rate. The grain flow rate is uniquely determined by the total grain mass value and the corresponding length of time of harvesting).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system for combine grain storage management with grain carts of Desai to include a grain mass flow sensor and integrating its values of Wuestefeld. One of ordinary skill of the art would have been motivated to make this medication in order to estimate the amount of grain collected, as suggested by Wuestefeld at [0005].
Desai combined with Brammeier, and Wuestefeld does not explicitly disclose an empty tank level sensor, receive an empty tank signal from the empty tank level sensor, or since last receiving the empty tank signal.
Koch, in the same field of endeavor and solving a related problem, discloses an empty tank level sensor (See [0071], the auger weight sensor is used to determine if the grain tank has been completely emptied, i.e. is an empty tank level sensor.); receive an empty tank signal from the empty tank level sensor (See [0071] and [0083]-[0084], in response to determining that the tank is empty, i.e. receiving an empty tank signal, the system calibrates the extensometer signals.); and
since last receiving the empty tank signal (See Abstract, the system comprises calibrating mass flow rate sensors. See [0066], that mass flow rate signal is calibrated using vehicle weight data according to the vehicle weight system. See [0043]-[0052], the vehicle weight system uses extensometers to estimate the vehicle weight. See [0071] and [0083]-[0084], in response to determining that the tank is empty, i.e. receiving an empty tank signal, the system calibrates the extensometer signals. Since the extensometer signals are used as part of calibrating the mass flow rate sensors, this means that the calibration of the grain flow rate changes after receiving the empty tank signal.). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system for combine grain storage management with grain carts of Desai and Wuestefeld to include determining when the tank is empty in order to perform any steps necessary to calibrate the grain flow rate sensors, as suggested by Koch. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to allow for load-by-load calibration, including involving quantities that are affected by accumulated grain mass, as suggested by Koch at [0006]-[0009] and [0083]-[0084].
Regarding claim 11, Desai combined with Brammeier and Wuestefeld renders obvious the limitations of claim 9. Desai combined with Brammeier and Wuestefeld does not explicitly disclose wherein the first processor is further configured to determine the grain flow rate of the current pass based on a grain flow rate of a previously harvested pass.
Koch, in the same field of endeavor and solving a related problem, discloses wherein the first processor is further configured to determine the grain flow rate of the current pass based on a grain flow rate of a previously harvested pass (See Abstract, the system measures grain mass flow rate. See Fig. 2A-2B and [0031]-[0035], a mass flow correction factor calculated from a prior run is used to obtain a corrected mass flow factor for the current run. The update to the mass flow correction factor is based on the difference between the mass flow signal. The prior correction factor is determined using the recorded sum of mass flow over time, i.e. the grain flow rate of a previously harvested pass, and is used to estimate the grain flow rate at the current pass.). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system for combine grain storage management with grain carts of Desai and Wuestefeld to include using previously calculated quantities based on mass flow rates to estimate the current mass flow rate, as suggested by Koch. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve estimation of the grain flow rate based on available data from previous harvesting passes, as suggested by Koch at [0031]-[0035].
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Desai, Brammeier, and Wuestefeld in view of Williams.
Regarding claim 13, Desai combined with Brammeier and Wuestefeld renders obvious the limitations of claim 9. Desai discloses further comprising a second controller disposed on the grain cart, the second controller comprising a housing, a second radio, and a second processor mounted in operative communication with the second radio and configured to receive the starting point with the second radio (See [0027]-[0028], the grain cart comprises a controller. The controller comprises a processor. See [0030], the controller is coupled to a communication device for a wireless communication network. This is necessarily a radiofrequency transceiver, i.e. a radio. See [0041], all data used by the grain carts can be determined by a communications base station and wirelessly transmitted to the grain carts, including planning and directing the speed and routes of the grain carts and combine. Routes comprises the starting point.).
Desai does not explicitly disclose comprising a housing or display the starting point for viewing by an operator of the grain cart.
Desai renders obvious comprising a housing (See Figs. 4-6 and [0013]-[0015], the combine and therefore the grain cart operates outdoors. It would be obvious to use a housing for the controller so that the controller is not exposed to damage from the elements).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system for combine grain storage management with grain carts of Desai to include a housing for the controller mounted on the grain cart. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification because so that the grain cart could be operated outdoors without unnecessary risk to the controller due to the elements, as suggested by Desai at Figs. 4-6 and [0013]-[0015].
Williams, in the same field of endeavor and solving a related problem, discloses to a display for viewing by an operator (See the picture on page 4, the destination is displayed while walking. See page 8 paragraph 2-3, navigation mode can also be used while driving, i.e. the destination can be displayed while drivin.). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system for combine grain storage management with grain carts of Desai, Brammeier, and Wuestefeld to include transmitting and displaying the starting point to operators of the grain cart as suggested by Williams. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to allow operators of the grain carts to use the displayed starting point to navigate, as suggested by Williams at paragraph 1.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Desai, Brammeier, and Wuestefeld, and Williams in view of US 20220410704 A1, hereinafter “O’Connor”.
Regarding claim 14, Desai combined with Brammeier, Wuestefeld, and Williams renders obvious the limitations of claim 13. Desai discloses determine the starting point so that the grain cart is about full and the combine tank is about empty after unloading the combine tank on-the-go into the grain cart (See [0050], the combine can stop unloading grain to the cart and allow the loading grain cart to proceed to a storage tank based on a threshold weight or fill depth of both the grain cart and the combine. See [0042], the threshold can be 95 percent full for the grain cart and 5 percent full for the combine, i.e. when the grain cart is about full and the combine is about empty. The starting point and any potential starting point not selected corresponding to this unloading is a starting point so that the grain cart is about full and the combine tank is about empty after unloading. See Fig. 4 and [0032], the grain cart travels alongside the combine while grain is unloaded from the combine to the grain cart. This indicates that unloading can take place on-the-go.).
Brammeier renders obvious transmit a grain cart level and a grain cart capacity of the grain cart to the first controller with the second radio (See [0047], rendezvous points, i.e. starting points, are identified using the fill status of the haulage units. See [0089]-[0091], the control signal generator and rendezvous point identifier logic use the fill status of the haulage units, including in determining rendezvous points. The control signal generator receives the information through the communication subsystem. See [0055], the communication subsystem communicates over a wireless network, i.e. is a radio transceiver and therefore a radio.), and
wherein the first processor is further configured to: determine the starting point additionally based on the grain cart level, the grain cart capacity (See [0047], rendezvous points, i.e. starting points, are identi