DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 2 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Specifically, line 12 of the claim states “transmitting, by the control device, a service outcome message to the control device”. It appears that one of the devices should be the service device.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Giraudo et al., US Patent Application Publication Number 2018/0204204 (hereinafter Giraudo).
Regarding claim 2, Giraudo discloses a computer-implemented method for providing a service, the method comprising the steps of: receiving a service request from a user at a control device, transmitting, by the control device, a service request message to a service device [paragraph 0085: “ By way of example only, a first party, standing in front of an ATM, may open and log into the mobile application. Using the location of the wearable device, the mobile application may identify the ATM, and ask the first party (via the wearable device's display) to confirm whether they would like to use the application to facilitate a transaction with the ATM (see, e.g., FIG. 14c)”], determining a location of the control device [paragraph 0016], determining a location of the service device [paragraph 0018], determining whether the control device is in proximity to the service device [paragraph 0018], the service device authenticating the control device only when the control device is in proximity to the service device [paragraph 0085: “the ATM may then ask the first party (via the ATM's display) to enter their Personal Identification Number (PIN). The first party may then enter their PIN on the wearable device (see, e.g., FIG. 14a). If the provided PIN matches a predefined PIN (as determined by the host device, the ATM, the financial institution, etc.)“], processing the service request message at the service device only after the control device is authenticated [paragraph 0085: “the host device may then provide the first party with a plurality of options, such as withdraw money, make a transfer, etc.”], transmitting, by the service device, a service outcome message to the control device, and providing, by the control device, output data to the user [paragraph 0085: “A receipt may then be provided to the first party (e.g., via the wearable device (see, e.g., FIG. 14e)”].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 6-9, and 11-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Applicant’s submission of prior art, Yang et al., US Patent Number 11,257,067 (hereinafter Yang) in view of Cho et al., US Patent Number 2024/0179498 (hereinafter Cho).
Regarding claim 1, Yang discloses a computer-implemented method for providing a service, the method comprising the steps of: a control device receiving a service request from a user [fig. 2: ref. 202; col. 12: lines 58-60; col. 13: lines 13-15, the control device transmitting a service request message to a service device [fig. 2: ref. 212; col. 14: lines 31-38], the service device processing the service request message [fig. 2: ref. 214; col. 14: lines 42-43], the service device transmitting a service outcome message to the control device [col. 14: lines 45-52], and the control device providing output data to the user [col. 14: lines 45-52].
What Yang does not specifically disclose is wherein the control device transmits a service request message to a service device via a first data channel, and wherein the service device transmits the service outcome message to the control device on a second data channel, the second data channel being different to the first data channel. However, Cho teaches the concept of transmitting a request on a first data channel and a receiving a response on a second and different data channel [paragraphs 0072-0075]. Before the effective filing of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Yang to include the teaching of Cho. The motivation for this modification would have been to combine prior art elements according to known methods to achieve predictable results.
Regarding claim 6, Yang discloses wherein the control device comprises at least one of a mobile device, a wearable device, a smart watch, a user interface of a wheelchair, or a neural implant device [col. 4: lines 1-12].
Regarding claim 7, Yang discloses wherein the service device processing the service request message comprises the step of navigating a display screen of the service device [col. 16: lines 7-17].
Regarding claim 8, Yang discloses wherein the service device processing the service request message comprises the step of selecting a service option on the display screen of the service device [col. 16: lines 7-17].
Regarding claim 9, Yang discloses wherein the service device comprises at least one of a teller machine, a cash dispenser device, a printer device, a display device, a user interface device, a document scanner device, or an Internet of Things (IoT) enabled device [col. 1: lines 27-28].
Regarding claim 11, Yang discloses wherein the output data comprises at least one of video data, image data, audio data, text data, or haptic data [col. 14: lines 45-52].
Regarding claim 12, Yang discloses wherein the method comprises the step of the control device displaying a visual reproduction of an image on the display screen of the service device [col. 14: lines 45-52].
Regarding claim 13, Yang discloses creating an augmented image based on the image on the display screen of the service device, and the control device displaying the augmented image [col. 16: lines 7-18].
Regarding claim 14, it is inherent in the art to include ceasing display of information on the display screen of the service device once a transaction is completed.
Regarding claim 15, Yang discloses wherein the user comprises a customer [col. 4: lines 13-15].
Claim(s) 1, 6-9, and 11-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Applicant’s submission of prior art, Yang et al., US Patent Number 11,257,067 (hereinafter Yang) in view of Gueh et al., US Patent Number 2014/0358777 (hereinafter Gueh).
Regarding claim 1, Yang discloses a computer-implemented method for providing a service, the method comprising the steps of: a control device receiving a service request from a user [fig. 2: ref. 202; col. 12: lines 58-60; col. 13: lines 13-15, the control device transmitting a service request message to a service device [fig. 2: ref. 212; col. 14: lines 31-38], the service device processing the service request message [fig. 2: ref. 214; col. 14: lines 42-43], the service device transmitting a service outcome message to the control device [col. 14: lines 45-52], and the control device providing output data to the user [col. 14: lines 45-52].
What Yang does not specifically disclose is wherein the control device transmits a service request message to a service device via a first data channel, and wherein the service device transmits the service outcome message to the control device on a second data channel, the second data channel being different to the first data channel. However, Gueh teaches the concept of transmitting a request on a first data channel and a receiving a response on a second and different data channel [paragraph 0340]. Before the effective filing of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Yang to include the teaching of Gueh. The motivation for this modification would have been to combine prior art elements according to known methods to achieve predictable results.
Regarding claim 6, Yang discloses wherein the control device comprises at least one of a mobile device, a wearable device, a smart watch, a user interface of a wheelchair, or a neural implant device [col. 4: lines 1-12].
Regarding claim 7, Yang discloses wherein the service device processing the service request message comprises the step of navigating a display screen of the service device [col. 16: lines 7-17].
Regarding claim 8, Yang discloses wherein the service device processing the service request message comprises the step of selecting a service option on the display screen of the service device [col. 16: lines 7-17].
Regarding claim 9, Yang discloses wherein the service device comprises at least one of a teller machine, a cash dispenser device, a printer device, a display device, a user interface device, a document scanner device, or an Internet of Things (IoT) enabled device [col. 1: lines 27-28].
Regarding claim 11, Yang discloses wherein the output data comprises at least one of video data, image data, audio data, text data, or haptic data [col. 14: lines 45-52].
Regarding claim 12, Yang discloses wherein the method comprises the step of the control device displaying a visual reproduction of an image on the display screen of the service device [col. 14: lines 45-52].
Regarding claim 13, Yang discloses creating an augmented image based on the image on the display screen of the service device, and the control device displaying the augmented image [col. 16: lines 7-18].
Regarding claim 14, it is inherent in the art to include ceasing display of information on the display screen of the service device once a transaction is completed.
Regarding claim 15, Yang discloses wherein the user comprises a customer [col. 4: lines 13-15].
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 and 2 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Osborn et al., US Patent Application Publication Number 2024/0144238, disclose a system and method for facilitating service machine activation.
Shahidzadeh, US Patent Number 11,096,059, disclose a system and method for secure touchless authentication of user paired device, behavior and identity.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/EAW/
December 2, 2025
/ERIKA A WASHINGTON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2644