DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 08/31/2023 and 10/25/2024 in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2 and 4-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Gelles (US 2017/0010853 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Gelles (figures 1-3) discloses a method for multiband radio signal processing for providing radio signals to a network connected device (102) (paragraph [0005]), comprising: receiving multiband radio signals (paragraph [0040], “The single board computer 106 … with multiple tuner chipsets 110 that receive radio signals by an antenna 212”); tuning the multiband radio signal to a radio frequency band based on a received request from a network-connected device for the radio frequency band (paragraph [0039], “the tuner screen, which is selected by clicking the “TUNER” tab in FIG. 1B, offers the ability to tune new stations and set presets. FIG. 1C depicts a user interface 100B showing a slider bar that allows for tuning to any new station and assigning it to a station preset by pressing a button marked 1, 2, 3, 4, or 5. In an embodiment, the tuner screen uses the 6th FM tuner to select a radio frequency for the 6.sup.th tuner channel and to use that channel to assign presets 1 through 5” and paragraph [0054], “the user sends play commands to the receiver-server device 106 via the web based application program running at the user device 102 and thus audio plays in the tuner or preset modes”); and communicating data associated with the requested radio frequency band to the requesting network-connected device over the network using an application programming interface (paragraph [0044], “The user device 102 at the client side 304 receives the broadcast data or audio stream or media content from the receiver-server device 106 at the server side 306 using the web audio application programming interface (API) 314”).
Regarding claim 2, Gelles discloses the method of claim 1 above, further comprising: converting the requested radio frequency band to a digital data signal before communicating the data associated with the selected radio frequency band to the requesting network-connected device (inherently for USB tuner 110, paragraphs [0030]-[0031]).
Regarding claim 4, Gelles discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising providing a web application for enabling communication with the application programming interface (paragraph [0038]).
Regarding claim 5, Gelles discloses presenting data associated with the requested radio frequency band on the requesting network-connected device using an application installed on the network-connected device (paragraph [0037]).
Regarding claim 6, Gelles discloses wherein the requested radio frequency band comprises radio frequency signals from the group consisting at least one of VLF, LF, MF HF, VHF, UHF, SHF or EH (paragraphs [0006] and [0027], AM frequency band typically fall within MF; FM typically prefer to VHF; and some satellite frequency bands are within SHF).
Regarding claim 7, Gelles discloses wherein the requested radio frequency band comprises radio frequency signals including at least one of AM/FM radio frequencies or radio frequencies used by satellites to communicate data (paragraphs [0006] and [0027]).
Regarding claim 8, Gelles discloses wherein the network-connected device (102) comprises an internet-connected device (paragraph [0026]).
Regarding claim 9, Gelles (figures 1-3) discloses an apparatus (106) for multiband radio signal processing for providing radio signals to a network connected device (102) (paragraph [0005]), comprising: at least one processor and at least one memory for storing programs and instructions that (paragraph [0028], “the receiver-server device 106 is an Intel® DC3217IYE NUC small form factor computer with a USB 3.0 hub 108 and six RTL2838 FM radio USB tuners 110. Further, the receiver-server device 106 includes memory for storing radio broadcast information”, wherein the computer 106 inherently comprises a processor), when executed by the at least one processor, causes the apparatus to perform operations comprising: receiving multiband radio signals (paragraph [0040], “The single board computer 106 … with multiple tuner chipsets 110 that receive radio signals by an antenna 212”); tuning the multiband radio signal to a radio frequency band based on a received request from a network-connected device for the radio frequency band (paragraph [0039], “the tuner screen, which is selected by clicking the “TUNER” tab in FIG. 1B, offers the ability to tune new stations and set presets. FIG. 1C depicts a user interface 100B showing a slider bar that allows for tuning to any new station and assigning it to a station preset by pressing a button marked 1, 2, 3, 4, or 5. In an embodiment, the tuner screen uses the 6th FM tuner to select a radio frequency for the 6.sup.th tuner channel and to use that channel to assign presets 1 through 5” and paragraph [0054], “the user sends play commands to the receiver-server device 106 via the web based application program running at the user device 102 and thus audio plays in the tuner or preset modes”); and communicating data associated with the requested radio frequency band to the requesting network-connected device over the network using an application programming interface (paragraph [0044], “The user device 102 at the client side 304 receives the broadcast data or audio stream or media content from the receiver-server device 106 at the server side 306 using the web audio application programming interface (API) 314”).
Regarding claim 10, Gelles discloses the apparatus of claim 9, wherein the apparatus further performs; converting the requested radio frequency band to a digital data signal before communicating the data associated with the selected radio frequency band to the requesting network-connected device (inherently for USB tuner 110, paragraphs [0030] and [0031]).
Regarding claim 11, Gelles discloses the apparatus of claim 9, wherein the apparatus further performs: providing a web application for enabling communication with the application programming interface (paragraph [0038]).
Regarding claim 12, Gelles discloses presenting data associated with the requested radio frequency band on the requesting network-connected device using an application installed on the network-connected device (paragraph [0037]).
Regarding claim 13, Gelles discloses wherein the requested radio frequency band comprises radio frequency signals from the group consisting at least one of VLF, LF, MF HF, VHF, UHF, SHF or EH (paragraphs [0006] and [0027], AM frequency band typically fall within MF; FM typically prefer to VHF; and some satellite frequency bands are within SHF).
Regarding claim 14, Gelles discloses wherein the requested radio frequency band comprises radio frequency signals including at least one of AM/FM radio frequencies or radio frequencies used by satellites to communicate data (paragraphs [0006] and [0027]).
Regarding claim 15, Gelles discloses wherein the network-connected device (102) comprises an internet-connected device (paragraph [0026]).
Regarding claim 16, Gelles (figures 1-3) discloses a system for multiband radio signal processing for providing radio signals to a network connected device (102) (paragraph [0005]), comprising: an antenna (212) configured to receive radio signals; a tuning chip (USB Tuner 110) configured to tune radio signals; a software defined radio module configured to convert radio signals to a discrete digital radio signals (inherently with USB Tuner 110, paragraphs [0030]-[0031]); an application program interface module configured to communicate with a software application of a remote network-connected device (102) (paragraph [0036]); and an apparatus (106) including at least one processor and at least one memory for storing programs and instructions (paragraph [0028], “the receiver-server device 106 is an Intel® DC3217IYE NUC small form factor computer with a USB 3.0 hub 108 and six RTL2838 FM radio USB tuners 110. Further, the receiver-server device 106 includes memory for storing radio broadcast information”, wherein the computer 106 inherently comprises a processor) that, when executed by the at least one processor, causes the system to perform operations comprising: receiving multiband radio signals at the antenna (paragraph [0040], “The single board computer 106 … with multiple tuner chipsets 110 that receive radio signals by an antenna 212”); using the tuning chip, tuning the multiband radio signal to a radio frequency band based on a received request from a user using the software application of the network-connected device (paragraph [0039], “the tuner screen, which is selected by clicking the “TUNER” tab in FIG. 1B, offers the ability to tune new stations and set presets. FIG. 1C depicts a user interface 100B showing a slider bar that allows for tuning to any new station and assigning it to a station preset by pressing a button marked 1, 2, 3, 4, or 5. In an embodiment, the tuner screen uses the 6th FM tuner to select a radio frequency for the 6.sup.th tuner channel and to use that channel to assign presets 1 through 5” and paragraph [0054], “the user sends play commands to the receiver-server device 106 via the web based application program running at the user device 102 and thus audio plays in the tuner or preset modes”); and communicating data associated with the requested radio frequency band to the requesting network-connected device over the network using the application programming interface module (paragraph [0044], “The user device 102 at the client side 304 receives the broadcast data or audio stream or media content from the receiver-server device 106 at the server side 306 using the web audio application programming interface (API) 314”).
Regarding claim 17, Gelles discloses the system of claim 16, wherein the system further performs; converting the requested radio frequency band to a digital data signal before communicating the data associated with the selected radio frequency band to the requesting network-connected device (inherently for USB tuner 110, paragraphs [0030] and [0031]).
Regarding claim 18, Gelles discloses wherein the system further performs providing a web application for enabling communication with the application programming interface (paragraph [0038]).
Regarding claim 19, Gelles discloses wherein the apparatus further performs presenting data associated with the requested radio frequency band on the requesting network-connected device using an application installed on the network- connected device (paragraph [0037]).
Regarding claim 20, Gelles discloses wherein the network-connected device (102) comprises an internet-connected device (paragraph [0026]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 3 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 3, Gelles discloses the method of claim 1. However, Gelles fails to disclose the method above further comprising monitoring the requested radio frequency band to identify sound recordings in the requested radio frequency band for which royalties need to be collected and distributed.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Dua (US 7,624,417 B2) discloses a media storage and access system and methodology including a set-top box which receives and processes a plurality of signal sources and makes programming available locally through connected devices or via a data network such as a LAN, WAN, or the Internet; the system also integrates a multimedia storage system that allows programming content to be digitally stored; the system utilizes an integrated digital storage system and operating software to allow users to view a broadcast program (e.g., television, radio, etc.) with the option of instantly reviewing previous segments within the program. In addition, the system allows the user to store selected media programming while the user is simultaneously watching or reviewing another program; the system also allows stored media assets to be accessed locally via a media device connected to the unit or remotely via the Internet.
Naito et al. (US 7,990,480 B2) teach a broadcast receiving apparatus for receiving a broadcast signal and displaying a picture, such as, a television receiver, and in particular, it relates to a broadcast receiving apparatus enabling to receive plural kinds of television signals broadcasted (digital/analog terrestrial broadcastings, and digital/analog BC/CS broadcasting), in plural numbers thereof, simultaneously, as well as, the structures of a tuner and further a distributor for that.
Laksono (US 9,197,435 B2) discloses a method for a client module to provide a channel selection request in a multimedia system begins by receiving an input signal from a client; the method continues by interpreting the input signal to determine type of signal; when the type of signal is control information, by determining whether the control information relates to a local command or a system-level command; when the control information relates to a system-level command, by processing the control information for conveyance to a multimedia server to produce a control message; and transmitting the control message to the multimedia server.
/QUOCHIEN B VUONG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2645