DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I (claims 36-45 and 51-53) in the reply filed on 11/20/2025 and the election without traverse of species I: a specific immunoglobulin binding domain (claims 41-44) filed on 3/19/2026 are acknowledged.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Status of Application, Amendments, And/Or Claims
Claims 36-55 are pending.
Claims 46-50, and 54-55 are withdrawn for being drawn to non-elected inventions (i.e., Groups II-IV) and the non-elected species.
Claims 36-45, and 51-53 are under examination.
Priority
The instant application is a CON of US Application No. 16/485,854 filed on 8/14/2019, now US Pat. No. 11,739,118.
Information Disclosure Statement
The Information Disclosure Statement filed on 11/16/2023 has been considered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 36, 38-42, 44-45, and 51-53 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bjorkman et al. (IDS, W) 2017/194596) in view of Honda et al. (IDS, 2016/0280744), Chen et al (IDS, Adv. Drug. Del. Rev. 2013) and Lin et al. (IDS, US 2016/0185826).
The instant claims are broadly drawn to a polypeptide comprising at least two binding units and at least one spacer domain, wherein every two neighboring binding units are separated by at least one spacer domain, and each binding unit comprises one or two immunoglobulin binding domains, wherein the spacer domain comprises a structurally rigid domain, wherein the spacer domain is not a random coil or a disordered loop at pH about 4.5 to about 7(claim 38), wherein every two neighboring binding units are separated by one spacer domain (claim 39), wherein the immunoglobulin binding domain is a Staphylococcal Protein A (SPA) immunoglobulin binding domain (claim 40), wherein the immunoglobulin binding domain is domain A of SPA, domain B of SPA, domain C of SPA, domain D of SPA, or domain E of SPA (claim 41), wherein the immunoglobulin binding domain is domain Z (claim 42), wherein the immunoglobulin binding domain is a Streptococcal Protein G (SPG) immunoglobulin binding domain (claims 44-45). A chromatography ligand comprising the polypeptide of claim 36 (claim 51), wherein the chromatography ligand has a recovery yield over 60% with elution pH at 4.7 or higher (claim 52), and wherein the chromatography ligand is immobilized on a matrix (claim 53).
Bjorkman teaches a multimer comprising polypeptide units where the polypeptides can be linked to each other directly by peptide bonds ("spacer domain") between the C-terminal and N-terminal ends of the polypeptides ("every two neighboring binding units). (p. 18, lines 4-11) Bjorkman teaches that the binding units are Fc-binding polypeptides such as Protein A and Protein G, which is considered an "immunoglobulin binding domain" (p. 4, lines 26-30). Bjorkman teaches that the Fc binding protein is a Z domain (p. 6, lines 7-8 and 20-21; p. 27, line 31; Table 2). Bjorkman as noted above teaches multimers of the polypeptide units which are separated by linker/spacers. As Bjorkman further teaches that the multimer can multimers of 4 units with each unit linked to each other by a linker (p. 18, line 5; p. 18, line 31). Bjorkman teaches that the plurality of polypeptides/multimers are coupled to a solid support such as a conventional affinity separation matrix (p. 22, lines 25-27; p. 23, lines 11-15). Bjorkman does not teach to use a rigid linker as spacer and does not teach chromatography ligand comprising the polypeptide of claim 36.
Honda teaches modified domains from protein A including the Z domain in a tandem-type amino acid sequence which are alternately arranged with linker sequences and a spacer protein is linked to an amino acid sequence of a spacer for immobilizing the protein onto a solid phase support (abstract; columns 7-8 and in particular column 16, lines 46-55). Honda teaches for example that such a sequence may be [amino acid sequence (a) - linker sequence A - amino acid sequence (a) - linker sequence B - amino acid sequence (a)] (column 16, lines 50-52). Therefore, Honda as noted above teaches the tandem type protein may be for example [amino acid sequence (a) - linker sequence A - amino acid sequence (a) - linker sequence B - amino acid sequence (a).
Chen teaches that while flexible linkers have the advantage to connect functional
domains passively and permitting certain degree of movements, the lack of rigidity of these linkers can be a limitation because they can result in poor expression yields or loss of biological activity. Chen teaches accordingly alpha helix-forming linkers have
been applied to the construction of many recombinant fusion proteins because they are
rigid and stable. (p. 5, section 3.2).
Lin also teaches flexible and rigid linkers. Lin teaches that Rigid linkers may include at least one alpha helical structure. (128).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to use a linker with a rigid structure as taught by Lin to create a spacer as taught by Chen that rigid linkers may not be good for biological activity but for a purification and immobilization would be appropriate to separate immunoglobulin binding units that includes Z-domain as taught by Honda et al and Bjorkman. Additionally, one would have been motivated to do so because Lin as well as Chen et al teach use of rigid linkers to separate two or more peptides and Honda et al teach to use multimer units for immobilization on Sepharose for purifying immunoglobulins. Further, one would have a reasonable expectation of success in using rigid linkers as taught by Chen et al and Lin to separate two or more peptide units. Therefore, the invention is whole would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art over the combined teachings of the prior art.
Double Patenting
Claims 36-45, and 51-53 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-19 of U.S. Patent No. 11,739,118. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because a polypeptide comprising at least two binding units and at least one spacer domain, wherein every two neighboring binding units are separated by at least one spacer domain, and each binding unit comprises one or two immunoglobulin binding domains, wherein the spacer domain comprises a structurally rigid domain, wherein the rigid linker is an alpha helix linker, wherein the spacer domain is not a random coil or a disordered loop at pH about 4.5 to about 7(claim 38), wherein every two neighboring binding units are separated by one spacer domain (claim 39), wherein the immunoglobulin binding domain is a Staphylococcal Protein A (SPA) immunoglobulin binding domain (claim 40), wherein the immunoglobulin binding domain is domain A of SPA, domain B of SPA, domain C of SPA, domain D of SPA, or domain E of SPA (claim 41), wherein the immunoglobulin binding domain is domain Z (claim 42), wherein the immunoglobulin binding domain is a Streptococcal Protein G (SPG) immunoglobulin binding domain (claims 44-45). A chromatography ligand comprising the polypeptide of claim 36 (claim 51), wherein the chromatography ligand has a recovery yield over 60% with elution pH at 4.7 or higher (claim 52), and wherein the chromatography ligand is immobilized on a matrix are taught by claims 1-19 of US Pat. No. 11,739,118.
Conclusion
No claim is allowed.
/GYAN CHANDRA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1674