DETAILED ACTION
Currently pending claims are 1 – 21.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments with respect to the subject matter of the instant claims have been fully considered but are not persuasive.
As per claim 1, Applicant asserts the secondary reference of Sade does not disclose or suggest "in-memory cache" and therefore does not disclose or suggest the aforementioned subject matter of amended claim 1 (Remarks: Page 9 / Last Para). Examiner respectfully disagrees with the following rationale.
(a) Based upon the Principles of Patent Law, according to MPEP §2145, one cannot show non-obviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See Keller, 642 F.2d at 425 and (b) the test for obviousness is not whether the features of a secondary reference (Sade) may be bodily incorporated into the structure of the primary reference (i.e. in-memory cache), but rather, the test is what the combined teachings of those references (Doshi & Sadi) would have suggested to those of ordinary skill in the art (i.e., using in-memory cache data to perform the validation). See Keller, 642 F.2d at 425.
(b) In light of that, the primary reference Doshi indeed teaches performing one or more action as recited, and it can be construed as enabling one identity agent to identify / authenticate users and track their movements within a proxy environment by managing a RAM-based (in-memory) cache as a location to hold the identity data structure (Doshi: Col. 21 Line 11 – 23 & Col. 1 Line 33 – 44); and
(c) Doshi further teaches before using the in-memory cache (i.e. prior to performing the one or more action (see above)), the system first checks (validates) the user attributes associated with the current user authentication request should be maintained either only for a duration of the current session or should be maintained across (between) multiple sessions so as to determine whether an in-memory cache (i.e. a non-persistent cache) or a persistent disk storage should be used respectively (Doshi: Col. 21 Line 17 – 24 / Line 52 – 58). As a result, in case (IF) the user attributes of the current user authentication request should be maintained across (between) multiple sessions, (THEN) the in-memory cache should not be used to perform the one or more action (see above). Accordingly, the prior-art of Doshi indeed teaches prior to performing one or more action using the in-memory cache, a first validation to validate whether the in-memory cache can be used to perform the one or more action, as recited in the claim.
(d) Besides, at last, Examiner notes regarding the amended claim language such as “performing, prior to performing one or more action using the in-memory cache, at least one of:” A or B – the response of the Office Action just needs to make a rejection for only one (i.e. either A or B) but NOT for both of A and B even though the claim language A is heavily amended. As such, Applicant's arguments are respectfully traversed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 5 – 13 & 20 – 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C.103 as being unpatentable over in view of Doshi et al. (U.S. Patent 9,514,459), and in view of Sade et al. (U.S. Patent 10,116,658).
As per claim 1 & 16, Doshi teaches a non-transitory computer readable medium including instructions that, when executed by at least one processor, cause the at least one processor to perform operations for providing agentless in-memory caching for native network resource connections, the operations comprising:
creating an in-memory cache for one or more actions of a network identity (Doshi: Col. 21 Line 11 – 23 & Col. 1 Line 33 – 44: (a) creating a RAM-based (in-memory) cache, such as an identity cache, to serve the request from users / clients (i.e. network identity) to access network resources, wherein (b) the cache can contain user-attributes and associated data including (e.g.) quality-of-service control, access control and etc., such that an associated identity agent can keep track of the information on an individual user basis for each network access service for improving the perceived quality and performance between the requesting clients and the providing servers);
receiving a request from the network identity to access a network resource (Doshi: see above & Col. 1 Line 33 – 34).
However, Doshi does not disclose expressly authenticating the network identity using a native client and communication protocol.
Sade (& Doshi) teaches authenticating the network identity using a native client and communication protocol (Sade: see above & Col. 3 Line 60 – 67 and Col. 5 Line 20 – 23: (a) a proxy entity of CMS (Credential Management System) authenticates the client (network identity) based on an authentication credential sent in the request via (e.g.) a Kerberos protocol, wherein (b) the CMS entity can be an endpoint device on which the client resides, which constitutes a native client), wherein the native client is configured for communicating transparently with the network resource (Sade: Figure 2B / E-2000: the CMS entity (native client) communicates with an authentication service and operates transparently with the target service (i.e. network resource)).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to propose the modification of authenticating the network identity using a native client and communication protocol because Sade teaches to alternatively, effectively and securely provide a proxy entity of CMS (Credential Management System) authenticates the client (network identity) based on an authentication credential sent in the request via (e.g.) a Kerberos protocol, wherein the CMS entity can be an endpoint device on which the client resides – i.e. as a native client and communication protocol (see above) within the Doshi’s system that creates a RAM-based (in-memory) cache, such as an identity cache, to serve the request from users / clients (i.e. network identity) to access network resources for improving the perceived performance between the requesting clients and the providing servers (see above).
authorizing the network identity based on one or more access policy, the one or more access policy comprising rules for accessibility of the network resource (Sade: see above & Col. 3 Line, Col. 4 Line 45 – 57 and Col. 11 Line 21 – 25: the CMS management entity authorizes the client using the client’s authentication credential to access the target service based on various requirements of the security policy);
identifying an account having a secret, based on the one or more access policy (Sade: see above & Col. 4 Line 51 – 57, Col. 3 Line 18 – 19, Col. 11 Line 18 – 25 and Col. 7 Line 45 – 58 / Line 28 – 35: as per an existing privileged account, obtaining a credential of an access token (i.e. PAT: privileged access ticket) from an authentication service based on a privileged credential (e.g. personal credential) associated with the existing privileged account, wherein the credential of the access token (i.e. PAT) can be a one-time (short-lived) ephemeral credential(s)) || (Doshi: see above);
accessing the network resource using the secret (Sade: see above & Col. 4 Line 55 – 57, Col. 3 Line 18 – 19, Col. 2 Line 29 – 32 and Col. 7 Line 28 – 35: accessing the target service using the created (e.g.) one-time access token (i.e. PAT) based on the privileged credential (e.g. personal credential) associated with the existing privileged account to establish a communication session with the target service) || (Doshi: see above);
performing, prior to performing one or more action using the in-memory cache, at least one of: a first validation to validate whether the in-memory cache can be used to perform the one or more action, wherein the first validation includes comparing metadata stored in the in-memory cache to metadata associated with the request; or a second validation to validate how the in-memory cache can be used to perform the one or more action;
(a) First of all, Examiner notes according to Doshi’s teaching, regarding performing one or more action as recited, it can be construed as – to enable one identity agent to identify / authenticate users and track their movements within a proxy environment by managing a RAM-based (in-memory) cache as a location to hold the identity broker data structure (Doshi: Col. 21 Line 11 – 23 & Col. 1 Line 33 – 44); and
(b) Doshi further teaches before using the in-memory cache (i.e. prior to performing the one or more action (see above)), the system first checks (validates) the user attributes associated with the current user authentication request should be maintained either only for a duration of the current session or should be maintained across (between) multiple sessions so as to determine whether an in-memory cache (i.e. a non-persistent cache) or a persistent disk storage (i.e. a persistent network resource) should be used respectively (Doshi: Col. 21 Line 17 – 24 / Line 52 – 58). As a result, in case (IF) user attributes of the current user authentication request should be maintained across (between) multiple sessions, (THEN) the in-memory cache should not be used to perform the one or more action (see above). Accordingly, the prior-art of Doshi indeed teaches prior to performing one or more action using the in-memory cache, a first validation to validate whether the in-memory cache can be used to perform the one or more action, as recited in the claim.
determining, based on at least one of the first validation or the second validation (Doshi: see above),
whether to perform the one or more action using the in-memory cache in addition to or instead of the network resource (Doshi: see above) || (Sade: see above & Col. 13 Line 4 – 18: for improving the perceived performance); and
based on the determination, performing the one or more action using the in- memory cache in addition to or instead of the network resource (Doshi: see above: based on how and whether the in-memory cache can be used to perform the one or more action (see above) – for example, determining whether the current user authentication request should be maintained either only for a duration of the current session or should be maintained across (between) multiple sessions, the authentication process would use either in-memory cache or otherwise, using network resource instead based on the availability of the in-memory cache – this is also consistent with the disclosure of the instant specification (SPEC-PG.PUB: Para [0192]: the action is performed on in-memory cache instead of on network resource based on the determination whether data required for performing the requested action is available in in-memory cache and if so, the action may be performed using the data in in-memory cache while if the data is not available, the action may be performed using network resource).
As per claim 5, Doshi as modified teaches wherein the in-memory cache is created based on a relationship of each of the plurality of network identities to the network resource (Doshi: see above).
As per claim 6, Doshi as modified teaches wherein accessing the network resource using the secret comprises accessing the network resource through a just-in-time session (Sade: see above & Col. 4 Line 55 – 57, Col. 3 Line 18 – 19, Col. 2 Line 29 – 32 and Col. 7 Line 28 – 35: (a) the client can use the received access token (i.e. PAT) to establish a communication session for accessing the target service and (b) the credential(s) of the access token can also be a type of one-time credential(s) based on the time of the request parameter, which is a one-time use (i.e. for a just-in-time service session) to access target services for authentication and would be invalidated on the next connection time of access service for reducing the risk to be compromised from malicious attacks (Sade: Col. 7 Line 28 – 35 & Col. 2 Line 30 – 32)).
As per claim 7 – 8, 11 – 12, 15 & 20 – 21, Doshi as modified teaches wherein creating the in- memory cache for the one or more actions of a network identity is based on metadata of the network identity (Doshi: see above & Col. 21 Line 11 – 23 & Col. 1 Line 33 – 44: (a) creating a RAM-based (in-memory) cache, such as an identity cache, to serve the request from users / clients (i.e. network identity) to access network resources, wherein (b) the cache can contain user-attributes and associated data).
As per claim 9, Doshi as modified teaches wherein performing one or more action using the in-memory cache is based on metadata of the network identity (Doshi: see above & Col. 21 Line 11 – 23 & Col. 1 Line 33 – 44: the cache from the identity cache of the proxy can contain user-attributes and associated data including (e.g.) quality-of-service control, access control and etc., such that an associated identity agent can keep track of the information on an individual user basis for each network access service for improving the perceived quality and performance between the requesting clients and the providing servers – as such, it is evidently the use of cache data is also based on metadata of the network resource w.r.t. the quality-of-service control, access control, and etc.).
As per claim 10, Doshi as modified teaches wherein performing one or more action using the in-memory cache is based on the type of the one or more actions (Doshi: see above & Col. 21 Line 50 – 58: using the in-memory cache or using persistent disk storage cache of an identity cache can be determined based on whether the attribute / data is used by a type of action between two different sessions).
As per claim 13, Doshi as modified teaches creating one or more layers of the in-memory cache (Doshi: see above & Col. 21 Line 11 – 23 & Col. 1 Line 33 – 44: (a) creating a RAM-based (in-memory) cache storage location to serve the request from users / clients (i.e. network identity) for accessing network resources constitutes one type of specific access-layer of cached memories).
Claims 2 – 4, 14 & 17 – 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C.103 as being unpatentable over in view of Doshi et al. (U.S. Patent 9,514,459), and in view of Sade et al. (U.S. Patent 10,116,658), and in view of Schaefer et al. (U.S. Patent 8,099,758).
As per claim 2 & 17, Doshi as modified teaches determining there is no hit on the in-memory cache; and accessing a regional content delivery network (CDN) of caching (Doshi: see above) || (Schaefer: see above & Col. 18 Line 9 – 11 / 15 – 16: the content to be cached can be found in two different available locations – a local copy cache and a remote (cached) file system and as such, if the target is not available on the in-memory cache, it can be accessed from the remote (cached) file system).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to propose the modification of creating at least one new entity associated with the original network resource because Schaefer teaches to alternatively, effectively and securely utilize an access policy to manage the data content of a file system portion, wherein the content to be cached can be found in two different available locations – a local copy cache and a remote (cached) file system (see above) within the Doshi’s that creates a RAM-based (in-memory) cache, such as an identity cache, to serve the request from users / clients (i.e. network identity) to access network resources for improving the perceived performance between the requesting clients and the providing servers (see above).
As per claim 3 & 18, Doshi as modified teaches wherein the one or more requested action is routed to a closest caching region with fitting CDN policies (Schaefer: see above) || (Doshi: see above & Col. 1 Line 37 – 44: the proxy cache can re-direct (re-route) the data access request based on frugal (economic cost-saving) use of physical paths (I.e. shortest / closest paths) by enforcing access control policies at boundaries between organizations).
As per claim 4 & 19, Doshi as modified teaches determining that there are no hits in both the in-memory cache and the regional CDN; accessing the network resource (Schaefer: see above & Col. 18 Line 9 – 11 / 15 – 16 & Col. 10 Line 17 – 20: when the target content is available on neither of two different (cached) locations – i.e. a local copy cache and a remote (cached) file system – accordingly, the only resolution must be to access from its providing server to retrieve the original target network resource and subsequently, the accessed result content can be cached for later use on the same (local) host PC and meantime, writing back into a central repository for sharing and backup purpose (Doshi: see above) || (Schaefer: see above & Col. 10 Line 17 – 20)).
As per claim 14, Doshi as modified teaches synchronizing the in-memory cache with data stored in the network resource (Schaefer: see above & Col. 18 Line 9 – 11 / 15 – 16 & Col. 10 Line 17 – 20: when the target content is available on neither of two different (cached) locations – i.e. a local copy cache and a remote (cached) file system – accordingly, the only resolution must be to access from its providing server to retrieve the original target network resource and subsequently, the accessed result content can be cached for later use on the same (local) host PC and meantime, writing back into a central repository for sharing and backup purpose – i.e. synchronizing the in-memory cache with data stored in the network
resource (Schaefer: see above & Col. 10 Line 17 – 20)).
---------------------------------------------------
/Longbit Chai/
Longbit Chai E.E. Ph.D.
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2431
No. #2499 – 2026 ---------------------------------------------------