DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, 7-11, 13, 16, 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Wang (US 2022/0094059).
As to claim 1, Wang discloses an electronic device 10 (see at least figures 1, 5) for providing dual connectivity of a second frequency band (in this instance, the claimed “a second frequency band” reads on one of the bands 88 included in table 86 of figure 7), comprising: a communication unit 36 (see at least figure 1) including a plurality of communication ports 84 (see at least figure 6, paragraph [0068]); a first antenna 40-1 connected to a first communication port 84 of the plurality of communication ports 84 and configured to transmit a signal of a first band of a first frequency band (in this instance, the claimed “a first frequency band” reads on the cellular LB, MB, and HB in table 86 of figure 7, and in at least paragraph [0074]); and a second antenna (one of the antennas 40-2 to 40-9) connected to a second communication port 84 of the plurality of communication ports 84 and configured to transmit a signal of a second band different from the first band of the first frequency band while the signal of the first band is transmitted (see paragraph [0069] which discloses “If desired, front end circuits 78 may include filtering circuitry (e.g., duplexers and/or diplexers) that allow the corresponding antenna to transmit and receive radio-frequency signals in one or more frequency bands at the same time (e.g., using a frequency domain duplexing (FDD) scheme). In general, any desired combination of antennas may transmit and/or receive radio-frequency signals at a given time.”), the second frequency band comprising at least one frequency band selected from the group consisting of the first frequency band and a frequency band higher than the first frequency band (see table 86 of figure 7 which shows that the frequency bands UHB, WLAN, and UWB are higher than the first frequency band LB, MB, HB).
As to claim 2, Wang discloses that the first frequency band (LB, MB, HB) belongs to the second frequency band (LB, MB, HB). See figure 7.
As to claim 3, Wang discloses that the first band (LB, MB, HB) and the second band UHB, WLAN, or UWB do not overlap (see figure 7).
As to claim 4, Wang discloses a housing including a first side surface, a second side surface opposite to the first side surface, a third side surface between the first side surface and the second side surface, and a fourth side surface opposite to the third side surface and between the first side surface and the second side surface (see four side surfaces in figures 1, 5, 6), wherein the first antenna 40-1 (see figure 6) is located adjacent to the fourth side surface in the housing and the second antenna (40-2, 40-4, 40-6, or 40-8) is located adjacent to the third side surface in the housing.
As to claim 5, Wang discloses that the communication unit 36 (see figure 6) is located adjacent to the third side surface (see the upper surface).
As to claim 7, Wang discloses that the first antenna 40-1 is configured not to receive a signal of a global positioning system frequency band (see paragraph [0075], and figure 7).
As to claim 8, Wang discloses that a third antenna 40-3 connected to a third communication port 84 of the plurality of communication ports 84 and configured to receive a signal of a global frequency system frequency band (see paragraph [0075], and figure 7).
As to claim 9, Wang discloses that the third antenna 40-3 is configured not to transmit any signal (see paragraph [0075], and figure 7).
As to claim 10, Wang discloses a fourth antenna 40-6 connected to a fourth communication port 84 (see figure 6) of the plurality of communication ports and configured to transmit a signal of a band WLAN 5GHz that does not overlap the first frequency band of the second frequency band. See also figure 7.
As to claim 11, Wang discloses that the fourth antenna 40-6 is spaced apart from the first antenna 40-1 and the second antenna 40-8, respectively.
As to claim 13, Wang discloses a housing including a first side surface, a second side surface opposite to the first side surface, a third side surface between the first side surface and the second side surface, and a fourth side surface opposite to the third side surface and between the first side surface and the second side surface (see four side surfaces in figures 1, 5, 6), wherein the second antenna 40-4 and the fourth antenna 40-6 are located adjacent to the third side surface in the housing, and the first antenna 40-1 is located adjacent to the fourth side surface in the housing (see at least figure 6).
As to claim 16, it is rejected for similar reasons with respect to claims 1, 4, 5.
As to claim 20, it is rejected for similar reasons with respect to independent claim 1 as set forth above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6, 12, 14-15, 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang (US 2022/0094059).
As to claim 6, Wang fails to disclose that a distance between the first communication port 84 (see figure 6) and the first antenna 40-1 is greater than a distance between the second communication port 84 and the second antenna. Those skilled in the art would recognize that these claimed limitations do not involve any inventive concept. They merely depend on arbitrary locations of each antenna with respect to the corresponding communication ports. In addition, the specification of the instant application fails to disclose any unexpected results obtained from the fact that a distance between the first communication port and the first antenna is greater than a distance between the second communication port and the second antenna. Therefore, it would have been obvious, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Wang as claimed, in order to yield predictable results such as reducing signal loss between the communication port 84 and the first antenna 40-1.
As to claims 12, 18, Wang discloses that the plurality of communication ports 84 (see at least figure 6) comprises: a third communication port 84 (see the port 84 connected to third antenna 40-3) located between the first communication port 84 (see the port 84 connected to first antenna 40-1) and the second communication port 84 (see the port 84 connected to second antenna 40-4) and for receiving a signal of a GPS band (see paragraph [0075]); and a fourth communication port 84 (see the port 84 connected to fourth antenna 40-5) for transmitting a signal of a band that does not overlap the first frequency band of the second frequency band WLAN 5GHz.
Wang fails to disclose that the fourth communication port is located between the second communication port and the third communication port, and that the first communication port, the third communication port, the fourth communication port, and the second communication port are arranged sequentially in a row. Those skilled in the art would recognize that these claimed limitations do not involve any inventive concept. They merely depend on arbitrary locations of each antenna with respect to the corresponding communication ports. In addition, the specification of the instant application fails to disclose any unexpected results obtained from the fact that the fourth communication port is located between the second communication port and the third communication port, and that the first communication port, the third communication port, the fourth communication port, and the second communication port are arranged sequentially in a row. Therefore, it would have been obvious, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Wang as claimed, in order to improve design flexibility.
As to claim 14, Wang discloses a housing including a first side surface, a second side surface opposite to the first side surface, a third side surface between the first side surface and the second side surface, and a fourth side surface opposite to the third side surface and between the first side surface and the second side surface (see four side surfaces in figures 1, 5, 6), wherein the second antenna 40-4 is located adjacent to the third side surface in the housing.
Wang fails to disclose that the first antenna 40-1 and the fourth antenna 40-6 are located adjacent to the fourth side surface in the housing. Those skilled in the art would recognize that these claimed limitations do not involve any inventive concept. They merely depend on arbitrary locations of each antenna with respect to the corresponding communication ports. In addition, the specification of the instant application fails to disclose any unexpected results obtained from the fact that the first antenna 40-1 and the fourth antenna 40-6 are located adjacent to the fourth side surface in the housing. Therefore, it would have been obvious, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Wang as claimed, in order to improve design flexibility.
As to claim 15, Wang discloses a fourth antenna 40-6 connected to a fourth communication port 84 (see figure 6) of the plurality of communication ports and configured to transmit a signal of a band WLAN 5GHz that does not overlap the first frequency band of the second frequency band (see also figure 7); a housing including a first side surface, a second side surface opposite to the first side surface, a third side surface between the first side surface and the second side surface, and a fourth side surface opposite to the third side surface and between the first side surface and the second side surface (see four side surfaces in figures 1, 5, 6).
Wang fails to disclose that the first antenna and the fourth antenna are located adjacent to the fourth side surface in the housing and the second antenna and the third antenna are located adjacent to the third side surface in the housing. Those skilled in the art would recognize that these claimed limitations do not involve any inventive concept. They merely depend on arbitrary locations of each antenna with respect to the corresponding communication ports. In addition, the specification of the instant application fails to disclose any unexpected results obtained from the fact that the first antenna and the fourth antenna are located adjacent to the fourth side surface in the housing and the second antenna and the third antenna are located adjacent to the third side surface in the housing. Therefore, it would have been obvious, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Wang as claimed, in order to improve design flexibility.
As to claim 17, Wang discloses a third antenna 40-3 (see figure 6) connected to a third communication port 84 of the plurality of communication ports 84, and configured to receive a signal of a GPS frequency band (see paragraph [0075]); and a fourth antenna 40-6 connected to a fourth communication port 84 of the plurality of communication ports 84, and configured to transmit a signal of a band WLAN 5GHz that does not overlap the first frequency band of the second frequency band. Wang fails to disclose that the third antenna 40-3 and the fourth antenna 40-6 are located adjacent to the second side surface in the housing. Those skilled in the art would recognize that these claimed limitations do not involve any inventive concept. They merely depend on arbitrary locations of each antenna with respect to the corresponding communication ports. In addition, the specification of the instant application fails to disclose any unexpected results obtained from the fact that the third antenna 40-3 and the fourth antenna 40-6 are located adjacent to the second side surface in the housing. Therefore, it would have been obvious, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Wang as claimed, in order to improve design flexibility.
As to claim 19, it is rejected for similar reasons with respect to claim 18 above.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Kang (US 2021/0297103) discloses electronic device including antennas.
/NGUYEN T VO/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2646