DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendment, filed 04/15/26, for application number 18/217,274 has been received and entered into record. Claims 1, 10, 15, 18, 21, 23, and 24have been amended, Claims 2, 3, 16, and 17 were previously cancelled, Claim 22 is newly cancelled, and Claim 28 has been newly added. Therefore, Claims 1, 4-15, 18-21, and 23-28 are presented for examination.
Claim Objections
Claim 28 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 28, lines 5-6 recite, “a third configuration register configured to selectively control a third aggregation circuit to operate as a middle node to operate as a middle node” (emphasis added) and should instead read, “a third configuration register configured to selectively control a third aggregation circuit to operate as a middle node” to correct the typographical error. Appropriate correction is required.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 10 and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4, 11, 15, 18, and 24-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Born et al., US 2022/0413584 A1, in view of Fan et al., US 9,009,500 B1, and further in view of Che et al., US 2022/0335003 A1.
Regarding Claim 1, Born discloses an integrated circuit (IC) chip [multi-processor core system 100, Fig. 1] comprising:
a plurality of nodes in a network [core 0 (102) to core N];
a first aggregation zone comprising a first node and a second node, wherein:
each node of the plurality of nodes comprises: an aggregation circuit configured to receive a first indication of power consumption associated with each node [each core contains a master accumulation logic component 114; master accumulation logic contains aggregators and threshold comparators, which determine an excess power consumption by comparing the accumulated weighted sum of power consumption with a threshold power value, and adjusts the power consumption of the execution unit based on the determined excess power consumption, Fig. 1, 3; par 17];
a register storing a configurable power-consumption threshold for droop prevention [master accumulation logic component 114 compares the weighted sums of power consumption (weighted sums provide droop prevention as power consumption of components are considered and weighted rather than single component power consumption) with a threshold (i.e. the threshold is stored within the master accumulator logic); the threshold power value is selectable from one of a short-term power usage threshold or a long-term power usage threshold (that is, the threshold is configurable as it can be either the short-term usage threshold or the long-term usage threshold), par 13];
wherein the aggregation circuit generates a first control signal based on comparison of a value derived from the first indication of power consumption and the second indication of power consumption to the configurable power-consumption threshold; and the aggregation circuit in each of the first node and the second node is configured to reduce power consumption in its respective node in response to the first control signal [master accumulation logic contains aggregators and threshold comparators, which determine an excess power consumption by comparing the accumulated weighted sum of power consumption with a threshold power value, and adjusts the power consumption of the execution unit based on the determined excess power consumption, Fig. 1, 3; par 17].
However, Born does not explicitly teach a plurality of nodes in a mesh network; a first aggregation zone comprising a locally-formed subset of the plurality of nodes; a configuration register configured to selectively control the aggregation circuit to operate as a zone leader node or a zone follower node; the aggregation circuit in the first node is configured to, in response to the configuration register storing configuration data that the first node is to operate as the zone leader node; receive, from the second node, a second indication of power consumption associated with the second node operating as zone follower node within the first aggregation zone; and provide a first control signal based on the first indication of power consumption and the second indication of power consumption to each zone follower node within the first aggregation zone; and wherein the first control signal is distributed only within the first aggregation zone.
In the analogous art of mesh network power management, Fan teaches a plurality of nodes in a mesh network; and a first aggregation zone comprising a locally-formed subset of the plurality of nodes [power management modules (PMMs) measuring the amount of power consumed by their respective child nodes (the PMMs and their respective child nodes being a localized zone), Fig. 1, 3; col. 4, ll. 54-66]; receive, from the second node, a second indication of power consumption associated with the second node operating as zone follower node within the first aggregation zone; provide a first control signal based on the first indication of power consumption and the second indication of power consumption to each zone follower node within the first aggregation zone [PMMs can communicate with each other to allocate power from a shared supply; communication can be over a peer-to-peer network, col. 4, ll. 54-59]; wherein the first control signal is distributed only within the first aggregation zone [PMMs may generate a request message asking child nodes to limit or reduce their present power consumption (i.e. only sending power reduction signal to their localized zone), col. 4, ll. 4-9].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Born and Fan before him before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the power consumption reduction as taught by Fan, into the chip as disclosed by Born, to ensure appropriate current flow [Fan, col. 1, ll. 18-30].
However, the combination of Born and Fan do not explicitly teach a configuration register configured to selectively control the aggregation circuit to operate as a zone leader node or a zone follower node; the aggregation circuit in the first node is configured to, in response to the configuration register storing configuration data that the first node is to operate as the zone leader node.
In the analogous art of node management, Che teaches a configuration register configured to selectively control the aggregation circuit to operate as a zone leader node or a zone follower node; the aggregation circuit in the first node is configured to, in response to the configuration register storing configuration data that the first node is to operate as the zone leader node [FIG. 4 illustrates an embodiment of a master-slave system 400 that creates a subdomain using registers configured as master-slave nodes. Master-slave system 400 includes global master node 402, slave node 404, and slave node 406, par 20].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Born, Fan, and Che before him before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the configuration register as taught by Che, into the chip as disclosed by Born and Fan, to improve performance and efficiency by allow for direct communication of nodes [Che, par 13].
Regarding Claim 4, Born, Fan, and Che disclose the IC chip of Claim 1. Born further discloses a second aggregation zone comprising a third node and a fourth node [core 0 to core N, Fig. 1], wherein: the aggregation circuit in the third node is configured to operate in a first mode; and the aggregation circuit in each of the third node and a fourth node is configured to reduce power consumption in its respective node in response to a second control signal provided by the third node [each core contains a master accumulation logic component 114; master accumulation logic contains aggregators and threshold comparators, which determine an excess power consumption by comparing the accumulated weighted sum of power consumption with a threshold power value, and adjusts the power consumption of the execution unit based on the determined excess power consumption, Fig. 1, 3; par 17], and Che further discloses configuring aggregation circuits as a zone leader node or a zone follower node [FIG. 4 illustrates an embodiment of a master-slave system 400 that creates a subdomain using registers configured as master-slave nodes. Master-slave system 400 includes global master node 402, slave node 404, and slave node 406, par 20].
Regarding Claim 11, Born, Fan, and Che disclose the IC chip of Claim 1. Born further discloses wherein the mesh network extends over a first area of the IC chip [core 0 to core N across multi-processor core system 100, Fig. 1].
However, the combination of references does not explicitly teach wherein the first node is disposed in a center portion of the first area.
Examiner notes, however, devices which operate “on basically the same principle and in the same manner” where the differences, in addition to being well-known, “solve no stated problem and would be an obvious matter of design choice within the skill of the art” are obvious variations of one another and thus not patentably distinct. See In re Kuhle, 188 USPQ 7 (CCPA 1975). As such, the location of the first node being disposed in a center portion of a first area appears to simply be a design choice, and would perform the same function regardless of position.
Regarding Claim 15, Born discloses a method in an integrated circuit (IC) chip [using the multi-processor core system 100 of Fig. 1]. The remainder of Claim 15 recites limitations similar to those recited in Claim 1, and is rejected accordingly.
Regarding Claim 18, Born, Fan, and Che disclose the method of Claim 15. Claim 18 repeats the same limitations as recited in Claim 4, and is rejected accordingly.
Regarding Claim 24, Born discloses an integrated circuit (IC) chip having a plurality of nodes [core 0 to core N], the chip comprising: a first node in a first aggregation zone [in each core, the master accumulation logic component receives accumulated weighted sum of each component and aggregates the weighted sums into a single value to be compared with a threshold to determine whether the weighted sum is over a threshold, par 36], the first node comprising: a register storing a configurable power-consumption threshold for droop prevention [master accumulation logic component 114 compares the weighted sums of power consumption (weighted sums provide droop prevention as power consumption of components are considered and weighted rather than single component power consumption) with a threshold (i.e. the threshold is stored within the master accumulator logic); the threshold power value is selectable from one of a short-term power usage threshold or a long-term power usage threshold (that is, the threshold is configurable as it can be either the short-term usage threshold or the long-term usage threshold), par 13]; the first aggregation circuit configured to receive a first indication of power consumption associated with the first node; and a second node in the first aggregation zone, the second node comprising: a second aggregation circuit configured to: receive a second indication of power consumption associated with the second node; and provide a first control signal to the second node, wherein the first aggregation circuit generates the first control signal based on comparison of a value derived from the first indication of power consumption and the second indication of power consumption to the configurable power-consumption threshold, the first control signal instructing the first aggregation circuit and the second aggregation circuit to reduce power consumption of the first node and the second node, respectively [master accumulation logic contains aggregators and threshold comparators, which determine an excess power consumption by comparing the accumulated weighted sum of power consumption with a threshold power value, and adjusts the power consumption of the execution unit based on the determined excess power consumption, Fig. 1, 3; par 17].
However, Born does not explicitly teach a plurality of nodes in a mesh network; a first configuration register configured to selectively control a first aggregation circuit to operate as a zone leader node; the second node being connected to the first node via a mesh network; a second configuration register configured to selectively control a second aggregation circuit to operate as a zone follower node; provide the second indication of power consumption to the first node; and wherein the first aggregation circuit is further configured to: receive, from the second node, the second indication of power consumption.
In the analogous art of mesh network power management, Fan teaches a plurality of nodes in a mesh network; and the second node being connected to the first node via a mesh network [power management modules (PMMs) measuring the amount of power consumed by their respective child nodes (the PMMs and their respective child nodes being a localized zone), Fig. 1, 3; col. 4, ll. 54-66]; provide the second indication of power consumption to the first node; and wherein the first aggregation circuit is further configured to: receive, from the second node, the second indication of power consumption [PMMs can communicate with each other to allocate power from a shared supply; communication can be over a peer-to-peer network, col. 4, ll. 54-59].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Born and Fan before him before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the power consumption reduction as taught by Fan, into the chip as disclosed by Born, to ensure appropriate current flow [Fan, col. 1, ll. 18-30].
However, the combination of Born and Fan do not explicitly teach a first configuration register configured to selectively control a first aggregation circuit to operate as a zone leader node; and a second configuration register configured to selectively control a second aggregation circuit to operate as a zone follower node.
In the analogous art of node management, Che teaches a first configuration register configured to selectively control a first aggregation circuit to operate as a zone leader node; and a second configuration register configured to selectively control a second aggregation circuit to operate as a zone follower node [FIG. 4 illustrates an embodiment of a master-slave system 400 that creates a subdomain using registers configured as master-slave nodes. Master-slave system 400 includes global master node 402, slave node 404, and slave node 406, par 20].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Born, Fan, and Che before him before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the configuration register as taught by Che, into the chip as disclosed by Born and Fan, to improve performance and efficiency by allow for direct communication of nodes [Che, par 13].
Regarding Claim 25, Born, Fan, and Che disclose the chip of Claim 24. Fan further teaches wherein the first control signal is distributed only within the first aggregation zone [PMMs may generate a request message asking child nodes to limit or reduce their present power consumption (i.e. only sending power reduction signal to their localized zone), col. 4, ll. 4-9].
Regarding Claim 26, Born, Fan, and Che disclose the IC chip of Claim 24. Claim 26 recites limitations similar to those of Claims 4 and 24, and are rejected accordingly.
Regarding Claim 27, Born, Fan, and Che disclose the IC chip of Claim 24. Fan further teaches wherein the first aggregation zone comprises a locally-formed subset of the plurality of nodes on the IC chip [power management modules (PMMs) measuring the amount of power consumed by their respective child nodes (the PMMs and their respective child nodes being a localized zone), Fig. 1, 3; col. 4, ll. 54-66].
Claims 5-9 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Born, Fan, and Che, and further in view of Long et al., US 2019/0165575 A1.
Regarding Claim 5, Born, Fan, and Che disclose the IC chip of Claim 1. However, the combination of references does not explicitly teach wherein: the mesh network further comprises segments, each coupled between two nodes of the plurality of nodes adjacent to each other; and each node of the plurality of nodes is coupled to at least two segments of the mesh network.
In the analogous art of node power management, Long teaches wherein: the mesh network further comprises segments, each coupled between two nodes of the plurality of nodes adjacent to each other; and each node of the plurality of nodes is coupled to at least two segments of the mesh network [nodes of Fig. 7 may be grouped into various “segments”, Fig. 7].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Born, Fan, Che, and Long before him before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the power monitoring as taught by Long, into the chip as disclosed by Born, Fan, and Che, to overcome the limits of being tethered to a central power manager [Long, par 6].
Regarding Claim 6, Born, Fan, Che, and Long disclose the IC chip of Claim 5. Long further teaches wherein the first node in the first aggregation zone is adjacent to the second node [nodes adjacent to one another, Fig. 7].
Regarding Claim 7, Born, Fan, Che, and Long disclose the IC chip of Claim 6. Long further teaches wherein the mesh network comprises the second node and three other nodes all adjacent to the first node [nodes adjacent to one another, Fig. 7].
Regarding Claim 8, Born, Fan, Che, and Long disclose the IC chip of Claim 7. Long further teaches wherein the aggregation circuit in the first node is further configured to identify the second node as one node among a plurality of nodes adjacent to the first node [Each power node (101), (102) and (103) includes a communication interface device e.g. a network interface device operable to establish a communication network (120) that includes other power nodes and to exchange command and control signals and data with all other power nodes associated with the distributed power network (100); (exchanging command and control signals and data with other nodes would necessarily require identifying the nodes in the mesh network in order to perform the exchange), par 22, ll. 6-12].
Regarding Claim 9, Born, Fan, Che, and Long disclose the IC chip of Claim 6. Born further discloses provide the first control signal to the fifth node; and the first node is further configured to provide the first control signal based on the third indication of power consumption [each core contains a master accumulation logic component 114; master accumulation logic contains aggregators and threshold comparators, which determine an excess power consumption by comparing the accumulated weighted sum of power consumption with a threshold power value, and adjusts the power consumption of the execution unit based on the determined excess power consumption, Fig. 1, 3; par 17]. Long further teaches the first aggregation zone further comprises at least a fifth node that is adjacent to the second node; the aggregation circuit in the second node is configured to: receive a third indication of power consumption associated with the fifth node; and provide the third indication of power consumption to the first node [each node has a processor and can run the energy management schema to compute the elements of control for itself as well as the elements of control for all other power nodes on the network (100). Since all power nodes include the same energy management schema and the same information, each power node (205) can determine the elements of control for itself and for each of the other power nodes, and act accordingly, Fig. 2; par 44].
Regarding Claim 19, Born, Fan, and Che disclose the method of Claim 15. Claim 19 repeats the same limitations as recited in Claim 9, and is rejected accordingly.
Claims 12-14, 21, and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Born, Fan, and Che, and further in view of Yeager et al., US 2019/0094939 A1.
Regarding Claim 12, Born, Fan, and Che disclose the IC chip of Claim 1. However, the combination of references does not explicitly teach a voltage comparator configured to compare a power supply voltage to a threshold, wherein in each node of the plurality of nodes, the first indication of power consumption associated with the node comprises an output from the voltage comparator.
In the analogous art of power management, Yeager teaches a voltage comparator configured to compare a power supply voltage to a threshold, wherein in each node of the plurality of nodes, the first indication of power consumption associated with the node comprises an output from the voltage comparator [the present voltage level of the node as compared to a voltage set point may be used to determine transaction scaling; the transaction scaler 902 may receive information from the operating metrics acquisitions module 904 such as the operating metrics information that includes one or more sensed inputs. Examples of sensed input information, which should not be considered limiting, include aggregate VC[*] activity per port, adjacent node clock-gating, operating frequency and/or voltage of the node 400; power consumed by network on chip (NOC) based on operating voltages, par 45, ll. 4-6; par 58; par 4].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Born, Fan, Che, and Yeager before him before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the voltage detection as taught by Yeager into the chip as disclosed by Born, Fan, and Che, to achieve a desired frequency of operation with reasonable power consumption [Yeager, par 4].
Regarding Claim 13, Born, Fan, and Che disclose the IC chip of Claim 1. However, the combination of references does not explicitly teach wherein: at least one node of the plurality of nodes is coupled to a corresponding processing circuit; and in the at least one node coupled to a corresponding processing circuit, the first indication of power consumption associated with the node comprises an indication from the corresponding processing circuit of an event related to a data transmission.
In the analogous art of power management, Yeager teaches wherein: at least one node of the plurality of nodes is coupled to a corresponding processing circuit; and in the at least one node coupled to a corresponding processing circuit, the first indication of power consumption associated with the node comprises an indication from the corresponding processing circuit of an event related to a data transmission [the transaction scaler 902 may receive information from the operating metrics acquisitions module 904 such as the operating metrics information that includes one or more sensed inputs. Examples of sensed input information, which should not be considered limiting, include aggregate VC[*] activity per port, adjacent node clock-gating, operating frequency and/or voltage of the node 400 (the activity being data transmission); power consumed by network on chip (NOC) is based on operating voltages, par 58, 4].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Born, Fan, Che, and Yeager before him before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the power monitoring as taught by Yeager into the chip as disclosed by Born, Fan, and Che, to achieve a desired frequency of operation with reasonable power consumption [Yeager, par 4].
Regarding Claim 14, Born, Fan, and Che disclose the IC chip of Claim 1. However, the combination of references does not explicitly teach wherein: each node of the plurality of nodes further comprises a plurality of router circuits configured to transmit data on a segment of the mesh network; and in each node of the plurality of nodes, reducing power consumption in the node comprises inhibiting data transmissions from at least a subset of the plurality of router circuits in the node.
In the analogous art of power management, Yeager teaches wherein: each node of the plurality of nodes further comprises a plurality of router circuits [network on chip (NOC) with routing nodes, Fig. 1] configured to transmit data on a segment of the mesh network; and in each node of the plurality of nodes, reducing power consumption in the node comprises inhibiting data transmissions from at least a subset of the plurality of router circuits in the node [the transaction scaler 902 may receive information from the operating metrics acquisitions module 904 such as the operating metrics information that includes one or more sensed inputs. Examples of sensed input information, which should not be considered limiting, include aggregate VC[*] activity per port, adjacent node clock-gating, operating frequency and/or voltage of the node 400; transaction scaler throttles the transactions, which would reduce power consumption due to less activity, par 58, 39].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Born, Fan, Che, and Yeager before him before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the power management as taught by Yeager into the chip as disclosed by Born, Fan, and Che, to achieve a desired frequency of operation with reasonable power consumption [Yeager, par 4].
Regarding Claims 21 and 23, Born, Fan, and Che disclose the method of Claim 15. Claims 21 and 23 repeat the same limitations as recited in Claims 12 and 14, respectively, and are rejected accordingly.
Claim 28 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Born, Fan, and Che, and further in view of Yutaka et al., US 2021/0211197 A1.
Regarding Claim 28, Born, Fan, and Che disclose the IC chip of Claim 24. However, the combination of references does not explicitly teach a third node in the first aggregation zone, the third node being connected to the first node and the second node via the mesh network and adjacent to the first node and the second node, wherein the second node is not adjacent to the first node, the third node comprising: a third configuration register configured to selectively control a third aggregation circuit to operate as a middle node to operate as a middle node [adding node N7 into the mesh network as a middle node, where first nodes N1 and N4 are not adjacent, par 126].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Born, Fan, Che, and Yutaka before him before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the configuration of the mesh network as taught by Yutaka into the chip as disclosed by Born, Fan, and Che, to improve transmission characteristics of a mesh network and detouring links more reliably [Yutaka, par 6].
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 04/15/26 have been considered but are moot due to the new rejection based on the references cited above, as well as the newly cited portions of the references previously presented.
Applicant's arguments as to the references relied upon once again in the rejection above, have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Firstly, Applicant argues Fan is non-analogous art, as Fan discloses allocating power among server racks, whereas the instant application is directed towards mitigating voltage droop in mesh networks, and as such, is in a different field than the instant application.
Examiner notes the rejection relies upon Fan to teach the similar functionalities being performed, that, while on a larger scale, are nonetheless equivalent to the functions of the instant application.
Applicant further argues Fan is not reasonably pertinent to the problem addressed by the Applicant. Specifically, Applicant argues Fan is structurally dissimilar to the instant application.
As with the argument above, Examiner notes the rejection is relying on Fan’s teachings of equivalent functionality in addressing the functions of the instant application, rather than similar or identical structure as the instant application.
Applicant also argues Long is non-analogous art, as the reference is directed towards the field of endeavor of distributed physical power grid management.
As with the argument against Fan, examiner notes the rejection relies upon Long to teach equivalent functionality as the instant application, rather than an identical component or feature.
Finally, Applicant argues Long is not reasonable pertinent to the problem addressed by the Applicant.
As with the argument above, Examiner notes the rejection is relying on Long’s teachings of equivalent functionality in addressing the functions of the instant application, rather than similar or identical structure as the instant application.
No additional arguments were made as to the remaining limitations, and as such, the rejection is maintained.
Conclusion
Applicant is reminded that in amending a response to a rejection of claims, the patentable novelty must be clearly shown in view of the state of the art disclosed by the references cited and the objections made. Applicant must also show how the amendments avoid such references and objections. See 37 CFR §1.111(c).
/Paul Yen/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2175