DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 – 4, 7, 9, 12 – 14, 16, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US Patent Application Publication No. 2020/0263641 to Blanks, I (hereinafter referred to as Blanks).
In regard to claim 1, as shown in figure 1, Blanks discloses an air filtration system for an internal combustion engine. The system includes a housing comprising an air filter box (12). As shown in figures 2, 12, and 13, the filter box has an interior configured to receive an air filter (20). A mount portion (38) is configured to support the air filter (20). As best shown in figures 2, 17, 26, and 27, a cover (28, 28h) encloses the interior. The cover can have a magnetic fastener (48, 80h), as discussed in paragraphs [0045] and [0053]. Therefore, the cover (28, 28h) can be considered a magnetic cover, as broadly recited in the claim. The filter box (12) inherently has an inlet to allow an airstream to enter the interior in order to allow air to flow through the filter (20) to the engine. As discussed in paragraph [0046], the protruding lip (52) can be considered to form a seal on the magnetic cover (28, 28h) that provides a seal between the magnetic cover and the housing. A seal is considered to be an airtight connection.
In regard to claim 2, as shown in figures 12, 17, and 26, the housing includes an opening (26, 26h) configured to provide access to the air filter (20) within the interior.
In regard to claim 3, as discussed in paragraph [0046], an edge portion surrounding the opening is configured to seal, or form an airtight connection, with an edge portion of the magnetic cover (28). Alternately, the recessed ledge (76h) in figure 26 forms an edge portion surrounding the opening (26h) configured to form an airtight connection with an edge portion of the magnetic cover (28h).
In regard to claim 4, as discussed above, the protruding lip (52) can be considered to form a seal that is disposed between the edge portion and the edge portion of the magnetic cover.
In regard to claim 7, as shown in the embodiment of figures 26 and 27, at least one depression (86h) is configured to facilitate a practitioner using a hand to remove the magnetic cover form the housing.
In regard to claim 9, as discussed in paragraph [0041], the magnetic cover (28) can be formed from a rigid material that is sufficiently durable and temperature resistant to retain its configuration during installation and operation when coupled with the housing.
In regard to claims 12 – 14, Blanks inherently discloses a method comprising: forming a housing comprising an air filter box having an interior configured to receive an air filter; configuring a mount portion to support the air filter; forming a magnetic cover to enclose the interior; providing a seal form an airtight connection between the magnetic cover and the housing; and disposing an inlet to allow an airstream to enter the interior, wherein forming the housing includes configuring an opening to provide access to the air filter within the interior, and wherein configuring the opening includes configuring an edge portion surrounding the opening to form an airtight connection with an edge portion of the magnetic cover.
In regard to claim 16, forming the housing in figures 26 and 27 of Blanks includes configuring at least one depression (86h) to facilitate a practitioner using a hand to remove the magnetic cover form the housing.
In regard to claim 18, as discussed above, forming the magnetic cover of Blanks comprises forming a rigid material that is sufficiently durable and temperature resistant to retain its configuration during installation and operation when coupled with the housing.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5, 6, 8, 10, 11, 15, 17, 19, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Blanks in view of KR 10-2020-0121401 to Jung et al. (hereinafter referred to as Jung).
Blanks is discussed above in section 7. In regard to claims 5 and 15, in the embodiment of figures 26 and 27, Blanks includes a single magnetic connection (78h, 80h) at one end of the cover (28h) and a tab (84h) and slot (74h) at the other end of the cover. Blanks does not disclose the edge portion having a first plurality of magnets configured to attach to a second plurality of magnets disposed along the edge portion of the cover. As shown in figure 1, Jung discloses an air purifier with a body (1) and a cover (2). The body and the cover each include a plurality of magnets (1a, 2a) so that the cover can be attached by magnetic force. Thus, it is known in the art to use only magnetic force to attach a cover. Predictably, at least one additional magnetic connection could replace the tab and slot connection in Blanks to allow the cover to be attached to the housing.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Blanks to include a first plurality of magnets along the edge portion of the housing and a second plurality of magnets on the cover in order to secure the cover only by magnetic force as suggested by Jung as this is an equivalently known means in the art for attaching a cover.
In regard to claims 8 and 17, Blanks includes a single depression (86h) to allow a user to release the magnetic fastener (80h). Predictably, if the cover includes an additional magnetic fastener on the opposite side of the cover, it would be beneficial to include an additional depression to assist in its release from the housing. Thus, it would further have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Blanks and Jung to include a second depression disposed near the opposite side of the cover in order to allow a user to grasp the cover near both magnetic fasteners for their release.
In regard to claims 10 and 19, Blanks is used as the primary reference and discloses a cover (10) that can be molded form ABS plastic, as discussed in paragraph [0045]. Blanks does not specifically disclose injection molding the cover. There is no evidence the type of molding is critical. Injection molding is a well-known molding process for forming plastic parts. One of ordinary skill in the art would reasonably expect that injection molding could be used to form the cover. Thus, it would further have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Blanks and Jung to form the cover using injection molding as this is a well-known molding technique. In the combination of Blanks and Jung, the cover includes a plurality of magnets disposed along an edge portion of the cover so as to attach to a plurality of magnets disposed along an edge portion surrounding an opening to the interior of the housing.
In regard to claims 6, 11, and 20, both Blanks and Jung in include magnets on the cover to form a magnetic connection with magnets on the housing or body. Neither discloses forming the cover from a metallic material that is capable of magnetically attaching to a plurality of magnets. As discussed in paragraph [0045], Blanks allows for the cover to be an ABS plastic or any other suitable material. Further, as discussed in the abstract, the cover in Blanks allows for a user to have a desired decorative ornamentation. Some users prefer the look of steel or chrome plated steel for their engine parts. Predictably if the cover is formed from a metal with magnetic properties, additional magnets in the cover would not be required. Thus, it would further have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Blanks and Jung to form the cover using a metallic material with magnetic properties in order to give a user the option for the cover to have a metallic look and to eliminate the need for additional magnets in the cover.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed January 15, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant has amended independent claims 1 and 12 to require a seal that provides an airtight connection between the magnetic cover and the housing. Applicant argues that Blanks fails to teach or suggest this feature. The examiner respectfully disagrees. As discussed in regard to claim 4 in the previous office action (Non-Final rejection mailed July 23, 2025), the protruding lip (52) in Banks is recited to form a seal. As discussed in paragraph [0046], the protruding lip (52) is recited to form a seal between the magnetic cover (28) and the base structure (24). A seal is considered to be an airtight connection. Therefore, the examiner considered the protruding lip (52) to be a seal that can provide an airtight connection between the magnetic cover and the housing. Applicant’s arguments do not address the protruding lip in Banks.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ROBERT CLEMENTE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1773