DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 21-24, and 28-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (US 20210244972 A1) in view of Khuri-Yakub (US 20240252845 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Kim teaches a method of treating Alzheimer’s disease in a subject, the method comprising administering a therapeutic amount of pulsed or modulated ultrasound to the subject ([0018] promoting cell regeneration, which includes an ultrasound output unit and an instruction, wherein the instruction describes that ultrasound outputted from the ultrasound output unit facilities phagocytosis of senescent cells and cell regeneration by specifically stimulating the senescent cells and that the cell regeneration is caused by migration of normal cells facilitated by the ultrasound outputted from the ultrasound output unit; [0040] ultrasound output unit may have a pulse repetition frequency)
wherein the ultrasound is administered in one or more treatments, each treatment having a duration of 30 to 45 minutes ([0048] In an aspect of the present disclosure, the ultrasound may be irradiated for 1-400 minutes. Specifically, the ultrasound may be irradiated for 1 minute or longer, 2 minutes or longer, 3 minutes or longer, 4 minutes or longer, 5 minutes or longer, 6 minutes or longer, 7 minutes or longer, 8 minutes or longer, 9 minutes or longer, 10 minutes or longer, 11 minutes or longer, 12 minutes or longer, 13 minutes or longer, 14 minutes or longer, 15 minutes or longer, 16 minutes or longer, 17 minutes or longer, 18 minutes or longer, 19 minutes or longer, 20 minutes or longer, 25 minutes or longer, 30 minutes or longer, 35 minutes or longer, 40 minutes or longer, 45 minutes or longer)
and wherein the ultrasound is unfocused and administered with a pulse or modulation pattern, a frequency, and an intensity sufficient for converting senescent cells into phenotypically normal cells ([0053] the ultrasound outputted from the ultrasound output unit may senescent cell-specifically increase the expression of one or more senescent cell-specific cytokine selected from a group consisting of interleukin 6 (IL-6), interleukin 8 (IL-8), matrix metalloproteinase-1 (MMP-1) and interleukin 1β (IL-1β). The senescent cell-specific cytokine is also known as senescence-associated secretory phenotype (SASP). Senescent cells expressing the senescence-associated secretory phenotype secrete high levels of inflammatory cytokines, immune modulators, growth factors and proteases)
Kim fails to teach mechanically stressing the senescent cells without killing the senescent cells.
However, Khuri-Yakub teaches stressing the senescent cells without killing the senescent cells ([0150] EDM 150, 250, and/or 350 can be configured to deliver energy (e.g. ultrasound energy) at a relatively low power density, such as to stimulate tissue without adversely affecting the tissue (e.g. avoiding cell death, such as to stimulate the tissue without adversely affecting the cells of the tissue))
Kim and Khuri-Yakub are considered analogous because both involve application of a therapeutic ultrasound. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the pending application to apply an ultrasound on the senescent cells as disclosed in the Kim reference but with parameters disclosed in the Khuri-Yakub reference in order to achieve the desired therapeutic results while avoiding cell death (Khuri-Yakub [0150])
Regarding claim 2, Kim teaches wherein the ultrasound is low frequency ultrasound ([0038] the ultrasound output unit may be low-intensity ultrasound)
Regarding claim 3, Kim teaches wherein the ultrasound is administered at 30 - 100 kHz ([0038] the ultrasound output unit may be low-intensity ultrasound with a center frequency of 5 kHz to 450 MHz. Specifically, the center frequency of the ultrasound outputted from the ultrasound output unit may be 5 kHz or higher, 10 kHz or higher, 50 kHz or higher, 100 kHz or higher)
Regarding claim 21, Kim teaches the pulse or modulation pattern comprises alternating periods of high and low ultrasound amplitudes ([0041] the ultrasound outputted from the ultrasound output unit may have a duty cycle of 0.1-99.9%; one of ordinary skill in the art would understand that a duty cycle of less than 100% implies alternating between a high and low amplitude where the low amplitude refers to no ultrasound)
Regarding claim 22, Kim teaches the alternating periods of high and low ultrasound amplitudes are of equal duration ([0041] duty cycle of 50%)
Regarding claim 23, Kim teaches the alternating periods of high and low ultrasound amplitudes are of different duration ([0041] the ultrasound outputted from the ultrasound output unit may have a duty cycle of 0.1-99.9%; any duty cycle aside from 50% results in alternating periods of high and low ultrasounds with different durations)
Regarding claim 24, Kim teaches wherein the low ultrasound amplitude is no ultrasound ([0041] the ultrasound outputted from the ultrasound output unit may have a duty cycle of 0.1-99.9%)
Regarding claim 28, Kim teaches wherein mechanically stressing the senescent cells comprises cyclically stressing organelles of the senescent cells without causing permanent damage to the cell organelles (this limitation refers to the target population and not the invention itself, thus it is understood that if the method in Kim is carried out this outcome will occur implicitly)
Regarding claim 29, Kim teaches the organelles that are cyclically stressed comprise cell membranes (this limitation refers to the target population and not the invention itself, thus it is understood that if the method in Kim is carried out this outcome will occur implicitly)
Regarding claim 30, Kim teaches the frequency is 0.44-0.67 MHz ([0038] he ultrasound outputted from the ultrasound output unit may be low-intensity ultrasound with a center frequency of 5 kHz to 450 MHz)
and the intensity comprises a pulse average intensity (IPA) of 0.3-8 W/cm2 and a temporal average intensity (ITA) of 5-50 mW/cm2 ([0078] ultrasound intensity starting from 0 to 7.5, 60 and 800 mW/cm2)
Claims 25 and 31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim in view of Khuri-Yakub as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Hunziker (US 20100160837 A1).
Regarding claim 25, Kim fails to teach the pulse or modulation pattern comprises a sinusoidal modulation.
However, Hunziker teaches the pulse or modulation pattern comprises a sinusoidal modulation (Fig. 14a)
Kim and Hunziker are considered analogous because both disclose ultrasonic treatments. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the pending application to use a sinusoidal ultrasound pattern in order to improve homogeneity (Hunziker [0087])
Regarding claim 31, Kim fails to teach generating the ultrasound using beam steering and/or frequency sweeps to homogenize ultrasound fields.
However, Hunziker teaches generating the ultrasound using beam steering and/or frequency sweeps to homogenize ultrasound fields ([0087] FIGS. 14a and 14b depict exemplary embodiments using frequency modulation. FIG. 14a shows a single-element device driven with a frequency-modulated waveform. The waveform may consist of multiple discrete frequency steps, a continuous frequency sweep, or some combination thereof. The frequency steps or sweep may be realized within a single pulse (as shown in waveforms W1 and W2) or a series of pulses. For example, W3 shows a series of 3 single-frequency pulses each having a different frequency. In this case, the improvement in the homogeneity of the exposure is due to the cumulative effect of multiple pulses)
Kim and Hunziker are considered analogous because both disclose ultrasonic treatments. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the pending application to utilize a frequency sweep in order to improve homogeneity of the ultrasound field (Hunziker [0087])
Claims 26 and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim in view of Khuri-Yakub as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Bonutti (US 20170209717 A1).
Regarding claim 26, Kim fails to teach the pulse or modulation pattern is adjusted over the course of the treatment.
However, Bonutti teaches the pulse or modulation pattern is adjusted over the course of the treatment ([0123] Ultrasound can be used to pick up more infectious agents and these echogenicity patterns could be cataloged and stored. If there is a difference in echogenicity of a fluid area, this would also be an indicator for infection and then device 100 may be configured to initiate treatments. For example, device 100 may be configured to be capable of changing the ultrasonic frequency from a first frequency associated with a diagnostic modality to a second frequency associated with a treatment modality to begin treatment of infection. As set forth above, the ultrasonic treatment may be pulsed or constant. It could be varied through several different frequencies to enhance the removal of biofilm. Since the tissue may be in a three-dimensional location, treatment with ultrasound may be made at varying angles)
Kim and Bonutti are considered analogous because both disclose ultrasound treatments. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to change an ultrasound pattern as needed in order to account for a difference of echogenicity (Bonutti [0123]).
Regarding claim 27, Kim fails to teach the pulse or modulation pattern is maintained over the course of the treatment.
However, Bonutti teaches the pulse or modulation pattern is maintained over the course of the treatment ([0123] Ultrasound can be used to pick up more infectious agents and these echogenicity patterns could be cataloged and stored. If there is a difference in echogenicity of a fluid area, this would also be an indicator for infection and then device 100 may be configured to initiate treatments. For example, device 100 may be configured to be capable of changing the ultrasonic frequency from a first frequency associated with a diagnostic modality to a second frequency associated with a treatment modality to begin treatment of infection. As set forth above, the ultrasonic treatment may be pulsed or constant. It could be varied through several different frequencies to enhance the removal of biofilm. Since the tissue may be in a three-dimensional location, treatment with ultrasound may be made at varying angles)
Kim and Bonutti are considered analogous because both disclose ultrasound treatments. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to keep the ultrasound pattern constant if there is no difference in echogenicity (Bonutti [0123]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 5/26/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant makes the allegation that the combination of Kim and Khuri-Yakub fails to teach the specific limitation of mechanically stressing cells to the point of reversing cellular senescence without killing the cells. However, the claims remain too broad to be considered allowable. First and foremost, the applicant is reminded that the application is directed to a method claim, and the limitation stating that cells are not killed is an expected result on the target population. Seeing as the primary Kim reference teaches the ultrasound treatments as required by the claim, one of ordinary skill in the art could deduce that a similar result would be achieved.
Applicant alleges that the secondary Khuri-Yakub reference “contains no disclosure whatsoever of cellular senescence, senescent cells, or any mechanism by which ultrasound could convert senescent cells to phenotypically normal cells” while appearing to ignore the previous citations from the primary Kim reference and attacking these references individually as opposed to the combination of the two. Applicant is pointed to MPEP section 2145, IV which reads:
One cannot show non-obviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., Inc., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986). Where a rejection of a claim is based on two or more references, a reply that is limited to what a subset of the applied references teaches or fails to teach, or that fails to address the combined teaching of the applied references may be considered to be an argument that attacks the reference(s) individually. Where an applicant’s reply establishes that each of the applied references fails to teach a limitation and addresses the combined teachings and/or suggestions of the applied prior art, the reply as a whole does not attack the references individually as the phrase is used in Keller and reliance on Keller would not be appropriate. This is because "[T]he test for obviousness is what the combined teachings of the references would have suggested to [a PHOSITA]." In re Mouttet, 686 F.3d 1322, 1333, 103 USPQ2d 1219, 1226 (Fed. Cir. 2012).
Furthermore, the secondary Khuri-Yakub reference was primarily brought in to emphasize that this outcome is possible and known by one of ordinary skill in the art, it is reiterated to applicant that given this expected result in the target population, the process in Kim should be capable of achieving this result.
Applicant further argues that the term "stimulating tissue" as used in Khuri-Yakub does not inherently include conversion of senescent cells to phenotypically normal cells. In response to this argument, the applicant is reminded of the breadth of the claim. Given that the claim limitation to which the Khuri-Yakub reference is applied to simply requires “mechanically stressing cells”, when taken in conjunction with the primary reference the teachings in Khuri-Yakub, even as explained by applicant in their arguments, is able to be applied to this limitation.
Applicant thusly alleges that “Khuri-Yakub fails to teach or suggest ultrasound "administered with a pulse or modulation pattern, a frequency, and an intensity sufficient for converting senescent cells to phenotypically normal cells via mechanically stressing the senescent cells without killing the senescent cells," as recited in claim 1”, and in response applicant is yet again reminded of the breadth of the claim as well as the stipulations associated with a method claim. Simply stating ‘an intensity sufficient for converting’ is a limitation regarding the target population that is not defined concretely enough to overcome the pending prior art rejection. As it currently stands, the primary Kim reference teaches every concrete method step required by the claim and the secondary Khuri-Yakub reference emphasizes the fact that this effect is known in the art.
In a final argument, applicant alleges that “using the parameters disclosed in Khuri-Yakub in the system of Kim would change the principle of operation of Kim's system”. Regarding applicant’s allegation that the two references cannot be combined, it is pointed out that the two references provide the same steps of the method in regards to administering pulsed ultrasound, and therefore will produce similar effects in the tissue, including the stressing of the cells without killing them. While the stated purpose of two inventions in an analogous field may differ, applying principles of one to another will not ‘destroy’ the functionality as applicant is alleging.
In order to overcome the outstanding rejection, applicant is advised to provide an amendment explaining what novel features of their invention causes this desired effect rather than simply stating an expected result without outlining the specific inventive step that enables this result.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Kokkoli (US 20240285525 A1) teaches [0094] a senotherapeutic agent can be a senomorphic agent (i.e., an agent having the ability to suppress senescent phenotypes without cell killing).
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/GABRIEL VICTOR POPESCU/ Examiner, Art Unit 3797
/SERKAN AKAR/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3797