DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 4 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 4 recites 2 periods, one at the end of the claim and one at the end of line 2.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 2 recites “wherein the second direction is perpendicular to the substrate.” However, claim 1, which claim 2 depends recites “a second direction forming an angle less than 60 degrees with a third direction perpendicular with the substrate.” It is unclear how the second direction can be perpendicular to the substrate as recited in claim 2 and also a second direction forming an angled less than 60 degrees with a third direction perpendicular with the substrate.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-13 and 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication 2002/0096686 to Raj et al in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication 2012/0320586 to Yip
In regards to claim 1, Raj teaches a reflector structure (102 / 300) disposed on a substrate (306), wherein the reflector structure is configured to transmit an optical signal between a first direction parallel to the substrate and a second direction forming an angle less than 60 degrees with a third direction perpendicular with the substrate, wherein the reflector structure has a curved surface (302), wherein the curved surface is configured to reflect an incoming optical signal to a reflected optical signal comprising a smaller cross section area (focusing of light/focused output). (Figures 1 & 3) But Raj fails to expressly teach wherein the reflector structure comprises a curved surface, with the curved surface comprising curved intersecting lines between the curved surface and planes parallel and perpendicular to the substrate. However, Yip teaches an improved curved reflector with a focused output and a curves surface (22). (Figure 2A) Yip further teaches the reflector having a parabolic shape, the parabolic shape having a three dimensional shape by definition. Yip teaches the improved curved reflector to increase the efficiency of the illumination source. [0010] Therefore, the reflector of Yip teaches the curved surface comprising curved intersecting lines between the curved surface and planes parallel and perpendicular to the substrate. Since both Raj and Yip teach a curved reflector structure with a focused output and further since Yip teaches an improved curved reflector having a parabolic shape, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have provided the curved reflector of Yip in the device of Raj in order to improve the efficiency of the illumination source.
In regards to claim 3, Raj teaches the reflector structure comprises a reflector layer [0024] disposed in a cavity [0024; within the substrate] of the substrate.
In regards to claim 4, Raj teaches the reflector structure comprises a reflector layer [0024] disposed in a cavity [0024; within the substrate] of the substrate and Yip teaches the reflective layer comprises a variable thickness (see Figure 2A) across at least the curved intersecting lines.
In regards to claim 5, Raj teaches the reflector structure is configured to transmit or receive the optical signal between a first device disposed on the substrate and a second device disposed on the reflector structure.
In regards to claim 6, Raj teaches a substrate (306), a first optical element (304) disposed on the substrate, with the optical element configured to transmit an optical signal or to receive the optical signal, a reflector structure (102 / 300) disposed on the substrate and aligned with the optical element [0027], wherein the reflector structure is configured to transmit or receive the optical signal between the first element and a second optical element (106) disposed away from the reflector structure in a direction from the substrate to the reflector structure, wherein the reflector structure comprises a curved surface (302), wherein the curved surface is configured to reflect an incoming optical signal to a reflected optical signal comprising a smaller cross section area (focusing of light/focused output). (Figures 1 & 3) But Raj fails to expressly teach wherein the reflector structure comprises a curved surface, with the curved surface comprising curved intersecting lines between the curved surface and planes parallel and perpendicular to the substrate. However, Yip teaches an improved curved reflector with a focused output and a curves surface (22). (Figure 2A) Yip further teaches the reflector having a parabolic shape, the parabolic shape having a three dimensional shape by definition. Yip teaches the improved curved reflector to increase the efficiency of the illumination source. [0010] Therefore, the reflector of Yip teaches the curved surface comprising curved intersecting lines between the curved surface and planes parallel and perpendicular to the substrate. Since both Raj and Yip teach a curved reflector structure with a focused output and further since Yip teaches an improved curved reflector having a parabolic shape, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have provided the curved reflector of Yip in the device of Raj in order to improve the efficiency of the illumination source.
In regards to claim 7, Raj teaches the first optical element comprises a waveguide, the second optical element comprises an optical or an optoelectronic surface-mount device.
In regards to claim 8, Raj teaches the second optical element comprises an optical or an optoelectronic surface-mount device disposed on the substrate and aligned with the first optical element.
In regards to claims 9 and 10, although Raj does not expressly disclose an alignment aid elements disposed on the substrate, wherein the alignment aid element are is configured to align optical elements to be mounted on the substrate, it is advantageous to use alignment aid elements in order to ensure proper alignment and decrease the loss of light. The concept of alignment aid elements are well known and a commonly employed technique in the optical art. Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have provided alignment aid elements on the substrate for the purpose of aligning optical elements on the substrate. Furthermore, the limitations regarding lithography is a method limitation in a device claim. Applicant is claiming a product, not a method of manufacturing the product.
In regards to claim 11, Raj teaches the reflector structure comprises a reflective layer [0024] disposed in a cavity [0024; within the substrate] of the substrate, wherein the substrate comprises mounting pads (110) on top the layer to receive the second optical element.
In regards to claim 12, Raj teaches the reflector structure comprises a reflective layer [0024] disposed in a cavity [0024; within the substrate] of the substrate, wherein the first optical element comprises an end facet facing the cavity, with the cavity configured to align the optical signal between the first optical element through the end facet and the cavity.
In regards to claim 13, Raj teaches the reflector structure comprises a reflective layer [0024] disposed in a cavity [0024; within the substrate] of the substrate, wherein the reflector structure is configured to be aligned wo the first optical element. Regarding the recitation of lithography, lithography is a method limitation in a device claim. Applicant is claiming a product, not a method of manufacturing the product.
In regards to claim 18, Raj teaches a substrate (306), a waveguide (304) on the substrate, with the waveguide configured to transmit an optical signal or to receive the optical signal, a reflector structure (102 / 300) disposed on the substrate and aligned with the waveguide, wherein the reflector structure comprises a curved surface (302), wherein the curved surface is configured to reflect an incoming optical signal to a reflected optical signal comprising a smaller cross section area (focusing of light/focused output) (Figures 1 & 3), a second device (106) disposed on the layer above the reflector structure, wherein the second device is configured to receive or transmit the optical signal from or to the first device reflected by the reflector structure. But Raj fails to expressly teach wherein the reflector structure comprises a curved surface, with the curved surface comprising curved intersecting lines between the curved surface and planes parallel and perpendicular to the substrate. However, Yip teaches an improved curved reflector with a focused output and a curves surface (22). (Figure 2A) Yip further teaches the reflector having a parabolic shape, the parabolic shape having a three dimensional shape by definition. Yip teaches the improved curved reflector to increase the efficiency of the illumination source. [0010] Therefore, the reflector of Yip teaches the curved surface comprising curved intersecting lines between the curved surface and planes parallel and perpendicular to the substrate. Since both Raj and Yip teach a curved reflector structure with a focused output and further since Yip teaches an improved curved reflector having a parabolic shape, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have provided the curved reflector of Yip in the device of Raj in order to improve the efficiency of the illumination source.
Raj further fails to teach a first device coupled to the waveguide on the substrate, with the first device configured to transmit an optical signal to the waveguide or to receive the optical signal from the waveguide. However, Raj teaches the waveguide to receive an input signal and an example of a light emitting device is a light emitting diode or laser and an example of a light detecting device is a diode or detector. [0018] Since Raj teaches the device to be a bidirectional device and further since Raj teaches the waveguide to receive an input or output from examples of light emitting and detecting devices, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have provided a first device coupled to the waveguide on the substrate, with the first device configured to transmit an optical signal to the waveguide or to receive the optical signal from the waveguide.
In regards to claims 19 and 20, Raj teaches a bidirectional device. Raj further teaches the first device to comprises an optical emitter device/optical receiver device, the second device to comprise an optical receiver device/optical emitter device, wherein the first/second device is configured to transmit the optical signal to the reflector, with the optical signal received by the second/first device after being reflected by the reflector structure.
Claim(s) 14-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication 2002/0096686 to Raj et al in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication 2012/0320586 to Yip as applied to claim 6 above and in further view of U.S. Patent Application Publication 2003/0142896 to Kikuchi et al.
In regards to claims 14-17, Raj teaches the reflector structure comprises a reflective layer [0024] disposed in a cavity [0024; within the substrate] of the substrate. But Raj in view of Yip fails to expressly teach the substrate comprises an interconnection layer under the first optical element, wherein the interconnection layer comprises one or more interconnection lines disposed in one or more levels and connected by one or more vias, wherein the structure further comprises an optical or optoelectrical device disposed on the substrate and aligned with the first optical element, wherein the optical or optoelectrical device is coupled to an interconnect line in the interconnection layer, wherein the substrate comprises an alignment aid element configured to align the first optical element with an optical or optoelectrical device to be mounted on the substrate, wherein the substrate comprises one or more bond pads connected to interconnect lines in the interconnection layer, with the bond pads configured to be coupled to terminal pads of the optical or optoelectronic device, and wherein the reflective layer is connected to an interconnect line of the interconnect layer, wherein the second optical element comprises an optoelectronic device comprising a terminal pad connected to the reflective layer. However, Kikuchi teaches an optical structure having a waveguide and a spherical surface for focusing the output light. [0065] Kikuchi further teaches wiring patterns within an interconnect layer capable of being configured for various structural arrangements (see Figures 1, 3, 7, 9, 12,15, 17, and 18, each embodiment having a different configuration of components) for the purpose of connecting the various components of the device. Since Raj, Yip and Kikuchi are all from the same field of endeavor, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have provided the substrate comprises an interconnection layer under the first optical element, wherein the interconnection layer comprises one or more interconnection lines disposed in one or more levels and connected by one or more vias, wherein the structure further comprises an optical or optoelectrical device disposed on the substrate and aligned with the first optical element, wherein the optical or optoelectrical device is coupled to an interconnect line in the interconnection layer, wherein the substrate comprises an alignment aid element configured to align the first optical element with an optical or optoelectrical device to be mounted on the substrate, wherein the substrate comprises one or more bond pads connected to interconnect lines in the interconnection layer, with the bond pads configured to be coupled to terminal pads of the optical or optoelectronic device, and wherein the reflective layer is connected to an interconnect line of the interconnect layer, wherein the second optical element comprises an optoelectronic device comprising a terminal pad connected to the reflective layer.
References Cited
The references cited made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure.
Inventorship
Conclusion
/TINA WONG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2874