DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant's response to the last Office Action, filed on 5/11/2026 has been entered and made of record.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments with respect to claims 1 and 3 have been considered but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
The following clam 3 elements are not described in the original specification “3. (Currently Amended) The method of claim 2 further comprising: receiving, from an attendant, an override for the transaction, the override changing a dissimilarity determination for the item to a similarity determination indicating the item is similar to the reference item.”
Instead, paragraph 0027 in the specification discloses a user override or suspended transaction, not the process of changing a dissimilarity determination to a similarity determination. Paragraph 0027 states "[a]ssuming the operator confirms that the two items are both associated with the PLU code originally provided by the operator during the initial PLU code search, transaction manager 123 can either accept the decision of the operator as an override or suspend the transaction for an audit by an attendant. When the attendant is dispatched and confirms that the PLU code is correct with an override, transaction manager 123 notifies theft detection manager 113."
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yuan et al. (US 9,424,461) in view of Brakob et al. (US 2023/0005342).
Regarding claim 1, Yuan teaches a method, comprising:
obtaining a feature vector having N-dimensions based on an image of an item associated with a transaction (see figure 5, Yuan discusses obtaining feature vectors of products purchased);
reducing the N-dimensions to fewer dimensions to generate a reduced dimensionality feature vector for the image (see figure 5, Yuan discusses decreasing the size of the feature vectors);
obtaining reference vectors linked to an item code provided for the item during the transaction (see figure 5, Yuan discusses database of product feature vectors associated with product identification codes);
determining based on the reference vectors, the reduced dimensionality feature vector, and the item code whether the item is similar or not similar to a reference item linked to the reference vectors (see figure 5, Yuan discusses calculating similarity between reduced vector with database of product feature vectors).
Yuan does not expressly disclose alerting a terminal processing the transaction when the item is determined to be not similar to the reference item linked to the reference vectors to indicate potential theft.
However, Brakob teaches alerting a terminal processing the transaction when the item is determined to be not similar to the reference item linked to the reference vectors to indicate potential theft (see para. 0008, Brakob discusses identification results can be transmitted to asset protection (AP) such that AP can respond to a potential identified ticket swapping incident).
Motivation to combine may be gleaned from the prior art considered. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention of Yuan with Brakob to derive at the invention of claim 1. The result would have been expected, routine, and predictable in order to perform product vector similarity calculation.
The determination of obviousness is predicated upon the following: One skilled in the art would have been motivated to modify Yuan in this manner in order to improve product vector similarity calculation for product purchases by interrupting the transaction of the item when the item is dissimilar to the reference item in order to prevent fraudulent purchases. Furthermore, the prior art collectively includes each element claimed (though not all in the same reference), and one of ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements in this manner explained using known engineering design, interface and/or programming techniques, without changing a fundamental operating principle of Yuan, while the teaching of Brakob continues to perform the same function as originally taught prior to being combined, in order to produce the repeatable and predictable result of preventing illegal transactions by interrupting a transaction when an item is dissimilar to a reference item. The Yuan and Brakob systems perform product vector calculation, therefore one of ordinary skill in the art would have reasonable expectation of success in the combination. It is for at least the aforementioned reasons that the examiner has reached a conclusion of obviousness with respect to the claim in question.
Regarding claim 2, Brakob teaches further comprising: interrupting the transaction for an audit of the item when the determining indicates the item is dissimilar to the reference item (see para. 0019, Brakob discusses stopping a transaction performed at the checkout lane based on the determination that the unknown product does not match the product associated with the scanned product identifier).
The same motivation of claim 1 is applied to claim 2. Motivation to combine may be gleaned from the prior art considered. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention of Yuan with Brakob to derive at the invention of claim 2. The result would have been expected, routine, and predictable in order to perform product vector similarity calculation.
Claims 3, 4, 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yuan et al. (US 9,424,461) in view of Brakob et al. (US 2023/0005342) in view of Verma et al. (US 11,367,116).
Regarding claim 3, Yuan and Brakob do not expressly disclose further comprising: receiving, from an attendant, an override for the transaction, the override changing a dissimilarity determination for the item to a similarity determination indicating the item is similar to the reference item. However, Verma teaches further comprising: receiving, from an attendant, an override for the transaction, the override changing a dissimilarity determination for the item to a similarity determination indicating the item is similar to the reference item (see col. 16 lines 1-40, Verma discusses user interface that may manually override matching result and updating the reference entries).
Motivation to combine may be gleaned from the prior art considered. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention of Yuan and Brakob with Verma to derive at the invention of claim 3. The result would have been expected, routine, and predictable in order to perform product vector similarity calculation.
The determination of obviousness is predicated upon the following: One skilled in the art would have been motivated to modify Yuan and Brakob in this manner in order to improve product vector similarity calculation for product purchases by overriding comparison results to prevent incorrect purchases. Furthermore, the prior art collectively includes each element claimed (though not all in the same reference), and one of ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements in this manner explained using known engineering design, interface and/or programming techniques, without changing a fundamental operating principle of Yuan and Brakob, while the teaching of Verma continues to perform the same function as originally taught prior to being combined, in order to produce the repeatable and predictable result of preventing illegal transactions by overriding a transaction when an item comparison is incorrectly performed. The Yuan, Brakob, and Verma systems perform product vector calculation, therefore one of ordinary skill in the art would have reasonable expectation of success in the combination. It is for at least the aforementioned reasons that the examiner has reached a conclusion of obviousness with respect to the claim in question.
Regarding claim 4, Verma teaches wherein receiving the override further includes adding or updating a reference storage back to include the reduced dimensionality feature vector as a new reference vector linked to the item code (see col. 16 lines 25-40, Verma discusses matching engine may identify a combination of items as reviewed in computer-accessible matching database. For instance, the matching engine 536 may mark (e.g., flag or un-flag) the item as reviewed, send it to the end of the queue of items for review, remove it from a list or set of entries).
The same motivation of claim 3 is applied to claim 4. Motivation to combine may be gleaned from the prior art considered. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention of Yuan and Brakob with Verma to derive at the invention of claim 4. The result would have been expected, routine, and predictable in order to perform product vector similarity calculation.
Regarding claim 10, Yuan and Brakob do not expressly disclose wherein determining further includes providing the item code, the reference vectors, the reduced dimensionality feature vector, and threshold score linked to the item code to a similarity machine learning model (MLM) as input and receiving a decision as to whether the item is similar or dissimilar to the reference item as output from the similarity MLM.
However, Verma teaches wherein determining further includes providing the item code, the reference vectors, the reduced dimensionality feature vector, and threshold score linked to the item code to a similarity machine learning model (MLM) as input and receiving a decision as to whether the item is similar or dissimilar to the reference item as output from the similarity MLM (see col. 9 lines 30-37, Verma discusses machine learning model that compares items, calculates a match scores, and uses a similarity threshold level).
Motivation to combine may be gleaned from the prior art considered. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention of Yuan and Brakob with Verma to derive at the invention of claim 10. The result would have been expected, routine, and predictable in order to perform product vector similarity calculation.
The determination of obviousness is predicated upon the following: One skilled in the art would have been motivated to modify Yuan and Brakob in this manner in order to improve product vector similarity calculation for product purchases by overriding comparison results to prevent incorrect purchases. Furthermore, the prior art collectively includes each element claimed (though not all in the same reference), and one of ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements in this manner explained using known engineering design, interface and/or programming techniques, without changing a fundamental operating principle of Yuan and Brakob, while the teaching of Verma continues to perform the same function as originally taught prior to being combined, in order to produce the repeatable and predictable result of preventing illegal transactions by overriding a transaction when an item comparison is incorrectly performed. The Yuan, Brakob, and Verma systems perform product vector calculation, therefore one of ordinary skill in the art would have reasonable expectation of success in the combination. It is for at least the aforementioned reasons that the examiner has reached a conclusion of obviousness with respect to the claim in question.
Claims 5-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yuan et al. (US 9,424,461) in view of Brakob et al. (US 2023/0005342) in view of Du et al. (US 10,043,109).
Regarding claim 5, Yuan and Brakob do not expressly disclose wherein obtaining the feature vector further includes providing the image and the item code to a base machine learning model (MLM) as input and receiving the feature vector as output from the base MLM.
However, Du teaches wherein obtaining the feature vector further includes providing the image and the item code to a base machine learning model (MLM) as input and receiving the feature vector as output from the base MLM (see col. 12 lines 15-41, Du discusses inputting feature vector and object labels to a machine learning model).
Motivation to combine may be gleaned from the prior art considered. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention of Yuan and Brakob with Du to derive at the invention of claim 5. The result would have been expected, routine, and predictable in order to perform product vector similarity calculation.
The determination of obviousness is predicated upon the following: One skilled in the art would have been motivated to modify Yuan and Brakob in this manner in order to improve product vector similarity calculation by implementing a machine learning model able to properly calculate similarities between image vectors. Furthermore, the prior art collectively includes each element claimed (though not all in the same reference), and one of ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements in this manner explained using known engineering design, interface and/or programming techniques, without changing a fundamental operating principle of Yuan and Brakob, while the teaching of Du continues to perform the same function as originally taught prior to being combined, in order to produce the repeatable and predictable result of perform image comparison using a machine learning model to properly analyze image data. The Yuan, Brakob, and Du systems perform product vector calculation, therefore one of ordinary skill in the art would have reasonable expectation of success in the combination. It is for at least the aforementioned reasons that the examiner has reached a conclusion of obviousness with respect to the claim in question.
Regarding claim 6, Yuan teaches wherein reducing further includes processing a principal component analysis on the N-dimensions of the feature vector to generate the fewer dimensions in the reduced dimensionality feature vector (see col. 9 lines 29-34, Yuan discusses calculating similarity between reduced vector with database of product feature vectors).
The same motivation of claim 5 is applied to claim 6. Motivation to combine may be gleaned from the prior art considered. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention of Yuan and Brakob with Du to derive at the invention of claim 6. The result would have been expected, routine, and predictable in order to perform product vector similarity calculation.
Regarding claim 7, Du teaches wherein reducing further includes providing the feature vector and the item code to a principal component analysis (PCA) MLM as input and receiving the reduced dimensionality feature vector as output from the PCA MLM (see col. 12 lines 15-41, Du discusses dimensions of these object feature vectors can be reduced by applying at least one of Principal Component Analysis PCA).
The same motivation of claim 5 is applied to claim 7. Motivation to combine may be gleaned from the prior art considered. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention of Yuan and Brakob with Du to derive at the invention of claim 7. The result would have been expected, routine, and predictable in order to perform product vector similarity calculation.
Regarding claim 8, Yuan and Brakob do not expressly disclose wherein determining further includes providing the item code, the reference vectors, and the reduced dimensionality feature vector to a similarity machine learning model (MLM) as input and receiving a similarity score indicating a degree to which the item is similar to the reference item.
However, Du teaches wherein determining further includes providing the item code, the reference vectors, and the reduced dimensionality feature vector to a similarity machine learning model (MLM) as input and receiving a similarity score indicating a degree to which the item is similar to the reference item (see col. 6 line 65- col. 7 line 3, col. 15 lines 12- 27, Du discusses calculating similarity score indicating the similarity distance between items and determining the item with highest similarity score).
Motivation to combine may be gleaned from the prior art considered. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention of Yuan and Brakob with Du to derive at the invention of claim 8. The result would have been expected, routine, and predictable in order to perform product vector similarity calculation.
The determination of obviousness is predicated upon the following: One skilled in the art would have been motivated to modify Yuan and Brakob in this manner in order to improve product vector similarity calculation by implementing a machine learning model able to properly calculate similarities between image vectors. Furthermore, the prior art collectively includes each element claimed (though not all in the same reference), and one of ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements in this manner explained using known engineering design, interface and/or programming techniques, without changing a fundamental operating principle of Yuan and Brakob, while the teaching of Du continues to perform the same function as originally taught prior to being combined, in order to produce the repeatable and predictable result of perform image comparison using a machine learning model to properly analyze image data. The Yuan, Brakob, and Du systems perform product vector calculation, therefore one of ordinary skill in the art would have reasonable expectation of success in the combination. It is for at least the aforementioned reasons that the examiner has reached a conclusion of obviousness with respect to the claim in question.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yuan et al. (US 9,424,461) in view of Brakob et al. (US 2023/0005342) in view of Du et al. (US 10,043,109) in view of Verma et al. (US 11,367,116).
Regarding claim 9, Yuan, Brakob, and Du do not expressly disclose further comprising, comparing the similarity score to a threshold score to determined whether the item is similar or not similar to the reference item. However, Verma teaches further comprising, comparing the similarity score to a threshold score to determined whether the item is similar or not similar to the reference item (see col. 12 lines 8-32, Verma discusses comparing a similarity score to a threshold to determine whether items match).
Motivation to combine may be gleaned from the prior art considered. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention of Yuan, Brakob, and Du with Verma to derive at the invention of claim 9. The result would have been expected, routine, and predictable in order to perform product vector similarity calculation.
The determination of obviousness is predicated upon the following: One skilled in the art would have been motivated to modify Yuan, Brakob, and Du in this manner in order to improve product vector similarity calculation for product purchases by overriding comparison results to prevent incorrect purchases. Furthermore, the prior art collectively includes each element claimed (though not all in the same reference), and one of ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements in this manner explained using known engineering design, interface and/or programming techniques, without changing a fundamental operating principle of Yuan, Brakob, and Du, while the teaching of Verma continues to perform the same function as originally taught prior to being combined, in order to produce the repeatable and predictable result of preventing illegal transactions by overriding a transaction when an item comparison is incorrectly performed. The Yuan, Brakob, Du, and Verma systems perform product vector calculation, therefore one of ordinary skill in the art would have reasonable expectation of success in the combination. It is for at least the aforementioned reasons that the examiner has reached a conclusion of obviousness with respect to the claim in question.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Contact Information
If attempts to reach the primary examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Gregory Morse can be reached on (571) 272-3838. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is (571) 273-8300.
/Kenny A Cese/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2663