DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Status of Claims
Claims 1-24 remain pending, and are rejected.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed on 6/22/2026 with respect to the rejection under 35 U.S.C. 101 have been fully considered, but are not persuasive for at least the following rationale:
Applicant’s arguments filed on 6/22/2026 with respect to the rejection under 35 U.S.C. 101 for claims directed to a judicial exception are not persuasive.
Notably, on pages 1-2 of the Applicant’s Remarks, arguments are made that the claims are not directed to a judicial exception, and require a specific technical process tied to operation of physical sensing and item-processing components in a physical space. It is argued that the claims do not merely evaluate whether a customer selected an item or whether a commercial transaction should proceed based on machine vision data, a selected category, location association within a physical space, and data captured by sensors positioned at the relevant location. The Applicant cites the specification that discloses how certain item categories may not be visually distinct from one another, and the use of various types of sensors.
Examiner respectfully disagrees. The claims are directed to determining whether the user removed an item from a location that the item is associated with, which is an abstract idea of sales and marketing activities within a store, and is a certain method of organizing human activity. The claims recite limitations of receiving item-identification data, receiving input of an item category, determining whether the user visited a location associated with the items in the category or not, sending a first or second response signal based on the determination, and determining the user removed an item or reached into a space associated with the item, which are all steps directed to the abstract idea of checking if a user retrieved items that they indicated by the location of the items. Item categories being visually distinct from each other do not represent a technical problem, and the claims are not directed to any improvements in computer functionality such as sensor technology or optical recognition techniques.
On pages 3-4 of the Applicant’s Remarks, arguments are made that any alleged abstract idea in integrated into a practical application, such as by tying the response-signal generation to a sensed physical event in the space using sensor-captured data, and is a practical application, of any alleged abstract concept to a technical sensing and item-processing arrangement. The Applicant cites the specification for disclosing support for the implementation, disclosing a weight or pressure sensor, a beam breaking sensor, or a proximity sensor to detect whether a user reached into the set of items to remove the item. It is further argued that the claims improve an automated item-identification and item-processing system in a retail or similar physical environment, and combines machine vision or user input with information of physical location visits and item interaction to verify a selected category.
Examiner respectfully disagrees. Tying a response to a physical event does not necessarily represent a technical activity, but merely that it is an in-person activity. While the response-signal is in response to determining that the user removed an item from the location within the space associated with the selected category or that the user reached for an item in the location based on data captured by one or more sensors, the sensors are not actively recited in the claims. The determination is merely based on data that was captured from the sensors. Even if the sensors were actively recited, the sensors merely gather data for the abstract idea. The various additional elements of the claims are any generic sensor that merely gathers data to make determination of the abstract idea, such as comparing data of locations and removed items. The specification also discloses many different sensors that can be used in the determinations, showing that the claims are not directed to any particular technology, but any generic technology may be used to utilize some method of collecting data.
On pages 4-5, the Applicant argues that the additional elements amount to significantly more, such as by positioning sensors at the location with the space, sensor-captured data from those sensors, determination of physical item removal or reaching at that location, and response-signal generation responsive to that sensed physical event. Dependent claims also further narrow the sensor implementation by reciting that the one or more sensors comprise at least one of “a weighing scale positioned beneath the items at the locations and configured to detect a reduction in weight associated with removal of an item from the location” or “a beam-breaking sensor associated with items at the location and configured to detect movement of an appendage of the user reaching forward or removing an item from the location”. It is argued that these are not merely generic computer functions, and are concrete physical sensing arrangements.
Examiner respectfully disagrees. As discussed above, the sensors merely serve to gather data for the abstract idea, and do not recite any particular technology of the sensors. The sensors are also recited with a very high level of generality as merely detecting activity of the abstract idea. The weight sensor or beam breaking sensor are also not disclosed with any particularity in the specification, the specification merely disclosing the same amount of detail as in the claims. As such, it is evident that any generic type of these sensors are merely applied to the abstract idea in order to automate observation of the customer within a retail space, but the claims are not directed to any particular functionality of any technology.
In view of the above, the rejection under 35 U.S.C. 101 has been maintained below.
Applicant’s arguments filed on 6/22/2026 with respect to the rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered, but are not persuasive.
On pages 7-8 of the Applicant’s Remarks, it is argued that the current combination of Slaughter and Steiner do not disclose a sensor-based detection of item removal or reaching, and only tracks customer location relative to predefined locations for items.
Examiner respectfully disagrees. Steiner discloses using cameras (image sensors) to capture and detect customer retrieving a product from the shelves at a location to identify whether the product retrieved by the customer is in an expected location of a product in the order by the customer, and determining whether to audit the customer accordingly. As such, Steiner does disclose data captured by one or more sensors at a location to determine that the user removed an item from the location, and generating a response based on the determination.
On pages 8-9, the Applicant argues that there is not adequate rationale for combining the references, and there is not an articulated reason to modify the combined system to include sensors positioned at the selected-category location. It is argued that Slaughter and Steiner address different operational contexts and different problems, and the amended claims address a different and more specific technical problem.
Examiner respectfully disagrees. While Slaughter and Steiner have slightly different modes of operation, they are both directed to a system of determining a list of products as identified by the user than can be verified in a variety of ways, and motivation to combine these references would be to verify the customer retrieved the correct items (Steiner: [0017]). Accordingly, Steiner does disclose the limitations of the claim amendments, and further rationale to combine further references is not necessary.
In view of the above, the rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 has been maintained below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claims are directed to a judicial exception without significantly more.
Step 1:
Claims 1-12 are directed to a method, which is a process. Claims 13-24 are directed to a system, which is an apparatus. Therefore, claims 1-24 are directed to one of the four statutory categories of invention.
Step 2A (Prong 1):
Taking Claim 13 as representative, claim 12 sets forth the following limitations of reciting the abstract idea of comparing product identities to user locations associated with the identified product locations:
receive item-identification data, the item-identification data being based on at least one of vision data or a user-provided data capture by a user;
receive input from a user indicating an item category for the item resulting in a selected category;
determine, based at least in part on the item-identification data and the selected category, at least one of:
(i) the user visited a location with the space associated with the items in the selected category; or
(ii) the user did not visit the location within the space associated with the items in the selected category;
responsive to determine (i), generating a first response signal associated with the item;
responsive to determining (ii), generating a second response signal associated with the item including an alert signal associated with an item mismatch;
determining, based on data, at least one of: (iii) the user removed an item from the location within the space associated with the selected category; or (iv) the user reached for an item in the location within the space associated with the selected category; wherein generating the first response signal or the second response signal is responsive to the determination of (iii) or (iv).
The recited limitations above set forth the process for comparing product identities to user locations associated with the identified product locations. These limitations amount to certain methods of organizing human activity, including commercial or legal transactions (e.g. agreements in the form of contracts, advertising, marketing or sales activities or behaviors, etc.). The claims are directed to providing a response to a user based on whether the user input item is associated with a location the user visited, which is an advertising and marketing activity. Such concepts have been identified by the courts as abstract ideas (see: MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)).
Step 2A (Prong 2):
Examiner acknowledges that representative claim 13 recites additional elements, such as:
one or more processors;
a memory storing instructions;
a machine vision component;
a user interface;
one or more sensors positioned at the location within the space;
Taken individually and as a whole, representative claim 13 does not integrate the recited judicial exception into a practical application of the exception. The additional elements do no more than generally link the use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use.
Furthermore, this is also because the claim fails to (i) reflect an improvement in the functioning of a computer, or an improvement to other technology or technical field, (ii) implement a judicial exception with a particular machine, (iii) effect a transformation or reduction of a particular article to a different state or thing, or (iv) apply the judicial exception in some other meaningful way beyond generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment.
While the claims recite processors and memory, these elements are recited at a very high level of generality. Specification paragraph [0077] discloses the processors and any logic circuit, including microprocessors, controllers, DSPs, ASICs, FPGAs, etc. Specification paragraph [0078] discloses storage mediums as any of a hard disk drive, a digital versatile disc, flash memory, RAM, etc. It is evident that these components are any generic component, and are merely leveraged to implement the abstract idea on a computing device, and merely provide a general link to a computing environment. The machine vision component is merely disclosed as a component of an indicia reader (specification paragraph [0017]). There is no further description to the machine vision component. As such, it is evident that the element is any generic component that captures image data, and also only provides a general link to a computing environment. The user interface is not disclosed with any sort of particularity, except to display various information throughout the specification. The sensors are also disclosed in the specification with a very high level of generalization, such as in paragraph [0064], which merely discloses examples of sensors that can be used, without providing any further detail than the claims. It is evident that the one or more sensors are any generic sensors that are merely applied to the abstract idea to gather data for the abstract idea. The additional elements are not particular devices, but merely provide the abstract idea a general link to a computing environment.
In view of the above, under Step 2A (Prong 2), representative claim 13 does not integrate the recited exception into a practical application (see: MPEP 2106.04(d)).
Step 2B:
Returning to representative claim 13, taken individually or as a whole, the additional elements of claim 13 do not provide an inventive concept (i.e. whether the additional elements amount to significantly more than the exception itself). As noted above, the additional elements recited in claim 13 are recited in a generic manner with a high level of generality and only serve to implement the abstract idea on a generic computing device. The claims result only in an improved abstract idea itself and do not reflect improvements to the functioning of a computer or another technology or technical field. As discussed above with respect to the integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional elements used to perform the claimed process ultimately amount to no more than the mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer and/or no more than a general link to a technological environment.
Even when considered as an ordered combination, the additional elements of claim 13 do not add anything further than when they are considered individually.
In view of the above, claim 13 does not provide an inventive concept under step 2B, and is ineligible for patenting.
Regarding Claim 1 (method): Claim 1 recites at least substantially similar concepts and elements as recited in claim 13 such that similar analysis of the claims would be readily apparent to one of ordinary skill in the art. As such, claims 1 is rejected under at least similar rationale as provided above regarding claim 13.
Dependent claims 2-12 and 14-24 recite further complexity to the judicial exception (abstract idea) of claim 13, such as by further defining the algorithm of comparing product identities to user locations associated with the identified product locations, and do not recite any further additional elements. Thus, each of claims 2-12 and 14-24 are held to recite a judicial exception under Step 2A (Prong 1) for at least similar reasons as discussed above.
Under prong 2 of step 2A, the additional elements of dependent claims 2-12 and 14-24 also do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application, considered both individually or as a whole. More specifically, dependent claims 2-12 and 14-24 rely on at least similar elements as recited in claim 13. Further additional elements are also acknowledged (e.g., an indicia reader (claim 4); a weighting scale or a beam-breaking sensor (claim 12)); however, the additional elements of claims 2-12 and 14-24 are recited only at a high level of generality (i.e. as generic computing hardware) such that they amount to nothing more than the mere instructions to implement or apply the abstract idea on generic computing hardware (or, merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea). Further, the additional elements do no more than generally link the use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use (such as the Internet or computing networks).
Secondly, this is also because the claims fails to (i) reflect an improvement in the functioning of a computer, or an improvement to other technology or technical field, (ii) implement the judicial exception with, or use the judicial exception in conjunction with, a particular machine or manufacture that is integral to the claim, (iii) effect a transformation or reduction of a particular article to a different state or thing, or (iv) applies or uses the judicial exception in some other meaningful way beyond generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment.
Taken individually and as a whole, dependent claims 2-12 and 14-24 do not integrate the recited judicial exception into a practical application of the exception under step 2A (prong 2).
Lastly, under step 2B, claims 2-12 and 14-24 also fail to result in “significantly more” than the abstract idea under step 2B. The dependent claims recite additional functions that describe the abstract idea and use the computing device to implement the abstract idea, while failing to provide an improvement to the functioning of a computer, another technology, or technical field. The dependent claims fail to confer eligibility under step 2B because the claims merely apply the exception on generic computing hardware and generally link the exception to a technological environment.
Even when viewed as an ordered combination (as a whole), the additional elements of the dependent claims do not add anything further than when they are considered individually.
Taken individually or as an ordered combination, the dependent claims simply convey the abstract idea itself applied on a generic computer and are held to be ineligible under Steps 2B for at least similar rationale as discussed above regarding claim 13. Thus, dependent claims 2-12 and 14-24 do not add “significantly more” to the abstract idea.
Claims 1, 4-7, 9-11, 13, 16-19, and 21-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable by Slaughter (US 20230095037 A1) in view of Steiner (US 20200311788 A1).
Regarding Claim 1: Slaughter discloses a method comprising:
receiving, at a processor, item-identification data, the item-identification data being based on at least one of vision data captured by a machine vision or a user-provided data captured by a user interface; (Slaughter: [0027] – “determines whether the computer vision system confirms the received identification of the item. For example, the POS system can capture an image of the item and transmit this image to the computer vision system. The ML model in the computer vision system can then process the image and classify or identify the item. For example, the ML model can predict that the item is a banana based on an image captured by the camera”).
receiving, at the processor and via the user interface, input from a user indicating an item category for the item resulting in a selected category; (Slaughter: [0026] – “receives the shopper's identification of the item. In one embodiment, the POS system may include a touchscreen or other input/output (I/O) device that the shopper can use to input the item identification”; Slaugher: [0054] – “pressing the button 810A can bring up a different GUI where the shopper can select a category of produce which then brings up other GUIs corresponding to those categories”).
Slaughter does not disclose a method comprising:
determining, based at least in part on the item-identification data and the selected category, at least one of:
(i) the user visited a location with the space associated with the items in the selected category; or
(ii) the user did not visit the location within the space associated with the items in the selected category;
responsive to determine (i), generating, by the processor, a first response signal associated with the item;
responsive to determining (ii), generating, by the processor, a second response signal associated with the item including an alert signal associated with an item mismatch;
determining, based on data captured by the one or more sensors positioned at the location within the space, at least one of: (iii) the user removed an item from the location within the space associated with the selected category; or (iv) the user reached for an item in the location within the space associated with the selected category; wherein generating the first response signal or the second response signal is responsive to the determination of (iii) or (iv).
Notably, however, Slaughter does discloses displaying a message on the screen if the input of the user and the vision data do not match (Slaughter: [0033]).
To that accord, Steiner does teach a method comprising:
determining, based at least in part on the item-identification data and the selected category, at least one of: (i) the user visited a location with the space associated with the items in the selected category; or (ii) the user did not visit the location within the space associated with the items in the selected category; (Steiner: [0033] – “determining the location of the customer in the store when the customer retrieved the product from the shelves (box 82). That location is then compared to one or more pre-defined locations for the items in the on-line order (box 84). If the customer's determined location does not match one of the predefined locations, computer server 20 verifies that the product retrieved by the customer is not one of the items in the on-line order (box 86) and decides to audit the customer (box 88). If, however, the customer's determined location does match one of the predefined locations, computer server 20 verifies that the product retrieved by the customer is one of the items in the on-line order (box 90) and decides not to audit the customer”).
responsive to determine (i), generating, by the processor, a first response signal associated with the item; (Steiner: [0032] – “if the determined location matches at least one of the known locations associated with the items ordered on-line to within the predefined distance threshold (box 72), the decision is made to not audit the customer. In this case, computer server 20 generates one or more control messages that cause the customer's mobile device 30 to display the map 40 routing the customer to the store exit”).
responsive to determining (ii), generating, by the processor, a second response signal associated with the item including an alert signal associated with an item mismatch. (Steiner: [0032] – “if the determined location does not match any of the known locations associated with the ordered items to within a predefined distance threshold (box 72), the decision is made to audit the customer. In this case, computer server 20 generates one or more control messages to control the customer's mobile device 30 to route the customer to audit station 48 and/or checkout lane”).
determining, based on data captured by the one or more sensors positioned at the location within the space, at least one of: (iii) the user removed an item from the location within the space associated with the selected category; or (iv) the user reached for an item in the location within the space associated with the selected category; wherein generating the first response signal or the second response signal is responsive to the determination of (iii) or (iv). Examiner notes that Applicant recites or in the claim. (Steiner: [0020] – “computer server 20 receives images of customers retrieving products from cameras 14 via IP network 12. Computer server 20 also has access to information identifying the in-store location of each item the customer ordered on-line. Based on the image data stored in DB 18, computer server 20 can analyze the captured images to determine whether the customer is or is not in an expected location of the store when retrieving the product from the shelves. Based on the determined location, computer server 20 can then identify whether the product retrieved by the customer is one of the items ordered on-line by the customer, and determine whether to audit the customer accordingly”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the invention of Slaughter disclosing a method of checkout at a store by verifying item identities with the matching of locations of identified items with the visited locations of the customer as taught by Steiner. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so in order to verify the picked items with the order (Steiner: [0017]).
Regarding Claim 4: Slaughter in view of Steiner discloses the limitations of claim 1 above.
Slaughter further discloses wherein the machine vision component is a component of an indicia reader. (Slaughter: [0018] – “the scanners are barcode or QR code scanners, but can be any scanners that detect identifying marks on an item”).
Regarding Claim 5: Slaughter in view of Steiner discloses the limitations of claim 1 above.
Slaughter further discloses wherein the method further includes, providing, via the user interface, an option allowing the user to change the item category from the selected category to the non-selected category. (Slaughter: claim 3 – “wherein a first button of the one or more buttons in the GUI enables the selected identification to be changed to match the identity of the item determined by the computer vision system”; Slaughter: [0054] – “pressing the button 810A can bring up a different GUI where the shopper can select a category of produce which then brings up other GUIs corresponding to those categories”).
Slaughter does not explicitly teach wherein the determining the at least one of further includes (iii) the user visited another location within the space associated with items in a non-selected category; Notably, however, Slaughter does disclose displaying a message on the screen if the input of the user and the vision data do not match (Slaughter: [0033]).
To that accord, Steiner does teach wherein the determining the at least one of further includes (iii) the user visited another location within the space associated with items in a non-selected category; (Steiner: [0033] – “If the customer's determined location does not match one of the predefined locations, computer server 20 verifies that the product retrieved by the customer is not one of the items in the on-line order”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the invention of Slaughter disclosing a method of checkout at a store by verifying item identities with the user visiting a location with item of a non-selected category as taught by Steiner. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so in order to verify the picked items with the order (Steiner: [0017]).
Regarding Claim 6: Slaughter in view of Steiner discloses the limitations of claim 1 above.
Slaughter does not explicitly teach wherein the determining the at least one of (i) or (ii) is further based at least in part on the identifying characteristic associated with the user. Notably, however, maintaining a checkout list for the particular shopper (Slaughter: [0041]).
To that accord, Steiner does teach wherein the determining the at least one of (i) or (ii) is further based at least in part on the identifying characteristic associated with the user. (Steiner: [0029] – “The identification can, in some embodiments, be based on other information associated with the customer as well as on the results of the image analysis. By way of example only, many stores provide their customers with “loyalty cards.” Such cards allow customers to receive discounts on selected products, but can also encode information about the customer that is also stored in DB 18. In some embodiments, the so-called baseline images can also be associated with the loyalty card information stored in DB 18. Thus, computer server 20 can retrieve the loyalty information for a given customer as part of the image analysis process and use that information to determine the identity of the customer as well as to match the customer to the correct on-line order”; Steiner: [0031] – “Regardless of how the customer is identified, computer server 20 links the customer entering the store to the list of items ordered on-line. Computer server 20 then generates a map 40 of the store, determines a route R for the customer to follow through the store when retrieving the ordered items, and sends information representing the map 40 to mobile device 30 via transceiver 16, as well as one or more control messages that control mobile device 30 to output the map 40 to its display (box 67). Then cameras 14 and computer server 20 track the customer's movements as the user follows route R through the store to retrieve the items ordered on-line (box 68)”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the invention of Slaughter disclosing a method of checkout at a store by verifying item identities with the tracking based on identifying characteristics associated with the user as taught by Steiner. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so in order to link the customer entering the store with products of an order (Steiner: [0031]).
Regarding Claim 7: Slaughter in view of Steiner discloses the limitations of claim 6 above.
Slaughter does not explicitly teach capturing positional data associated with the identifying characteristic during at least some duration that the user is present within the space. Notably, however, Slaughter does disclose maintaining a checkout list for the particular shopper (Slaughter: [0041]).
To that accord, Steiner does teach capturing positional data associated with the identifying characteristic during at least some duration that the user is present within the space. (Steiner: [0030] – “determines an identity of the customer based in part on the images captured by cameras 14. In addition, however, identification of the customer can also be based on information about the customer and/or sent by the customer's mobile device 30 once the communications link has been established. Such information includes, but is in no way limited to, the IMSI of mobile device 30 and a unique “loyalty ID” assigned by the store to the customer upon registering his/her loyalty card with the store. In each case, this additional information can be stored in DB 18 and associated with the baseline images of the customer”; Steiner: [0031] – “cameras 14 and computer server 20 track the customer's movements as the user follows route R through the store to retrieve the items ordered on-line”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the invention of Slaughter disclosing a method of checkout at a store by verifying item identities with the capturing positional data with the identifying characteristic at least some duration as taught by Steiner. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so in order to link the customer entering the store with products of an order (Steiner: [0031]).
Regarding Claim 9: Slaughter in view of Steiner discloses the limitations of claim 6 above.
Slaughter does not explicitly teach wherein the identifying characteristics associated with the user includes at least one of a visual feature associated with the user, an identifier associated with an item carrier operated by the user, or a mobile device profile associated with the user. Notably, however, Slaughter does disclose maintaining a checkout list for the particular shopper (Slaughter: [0041]).
To that accord, Steiner does teach wherein the identifying characteristics associated with the user includes at least one of a visual feature associated with the user, an identifier associated with an item carrier operated by the user, or a mobile device profile associated with the user. Examiner notes that Applicant recites or in the claim. (Steiner: [0030] – “computer server 20 still determines an identity of the customer based in part on the images captured by cameras 14. In addition, however, identification of the customer can also be based on information about the customer and/or sent by the customer's mobile device 30 once the communications link has been established”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the invention of Slaughter disclosing a method of checkout at a store by verifying item identities with the identifying characteristics of the user with at least one of a visual feature or a mobile device profile as taught by Steiner. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so in order to link the customer entering the store with products of an order (Steiner: [0031]).
Regarding Claim 10: Slaughter in view of Steiner discloses the limitations of claim 1 above.
Slaughter further discloses wherein the first response signal includes transmission of item-identifying data to a host. (Slaughter: [0028] – “then the POS system determines there was a match. In that case, the method 200 proceeds to block 215 where the POS system adds the item to the checkout list of the shopper”).
Regarding Claim 11: Slaughter in view of Steiner discloses the limitations of claim 10 above.
Slaughter further discloses wherein the alert signal includes a prevention of the transmission of the item-identifying data to the host until a release trigger is received at the processor. (Slaughter: [0042] – “the POS system may pause the checkout process and prevent the shopper from adding additional items to the checkout list or cart until the current transaction is reviewed by the store employee”).
Regarding Claim 16: Claim 16 recites substantially similar limitations as claim 4. Therefore, claim 16 is rejected under the same rationale as claim 4 above.
Regarding Claim 17: Claim 17 recites substantially similar limitations as claim 5. Therefore, claim 17 is rejected under the same rationale as claim 5 above.
Regarding Claim 18: Claim 18 recites substantially similar limitations as claim 6. Therefore, claim 18 is rejected under the same rationale as claim 6 above.
Regarding Claim 19: Claim 19 recites substantially similar limitations as claim 7. Therefore, claim 19 is rejected under the same rationale as claim 7 above.
Regarding Claim 21: Claim 21 recites substantially similar limitations as claim 9. Therefore, claim 21 is rejected under the same rationale as claim 9 above.
Regarding Claim 22: Claim 22 recites substantially similar limitations as claim 10. Therefore, claim 22 is rejected under the same rationale as claim 10 above.
Regarding Claim 23: Claim 23 recites substantially similar limitations as claim 11. Therefore, claim 23 is rejected under the same rationale as claim 11 above.
Claims 2 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable by the combination of Slaughter (US 20230095037 A1) and Steiner (US 20200311788 A1), in view of Charpentier (US 20160283602 A1).
Regarding Claim 2: The combination of Slaughter and Steiner discloses the limitations of claim 1 above.
The combination does not explicitly teach wherein the receiving the input from the user indicating the item category for the item resulting in the selected category includes selecting the item category from a plurality of categories, each of the plurality of categories being associated with a same genus and a different species of the item. Notably, however, Slaughter does disclose identifying an item, and the item items that have similar characteristics, but are different, such as a type of apple, organic or non-organic, etc. (Slaughter: [0020-0021]).
To that accord, Charpentier does teach wherein the receiving the input from the user indicating the item category for the item resulting in the selected category includes selecting the item category from a plurality of categories, each of the plurality of categories being associated with a same genus and a different species of the item. (Charpentier: [0034] – “the checkout terminal can receive a selection of a selected item from the plurality of visually similar items. In some examples, the selection can be received as input at an input device coupled to the checkout terminal. In some examples, the plurality of visually similar items can include at least one item having a designation of certified-organic and at least one item lacking a designation of certified-organic. In some examples, the plurality of visually similar items can include different varieties of a single species of produce”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the invention of the combination of Slaughter and Steiner disclosing a method of checkout at a store by verifying item identities with the selecting of a category of a same genus and different species as taught by Charpentier. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so in order to ensure the correct variation of the item is keyed in at the terminal and at the correct price point (Charpentier: [0001]).
Regarding Claim 14: Claim 14 recites substantially similar limitations as claim 2. Therefore, claim 14 is rejected under the same rationale as claim 2 above.
Claims 3 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable by the combination of Slaughter (US 20230095037 A1) and Steiner (US 20200311788 A1), in view of Hamzic (US 20190147614 A1).
Regarding Claim 3: The combination of Slaughter and Steiner discloses the limitations of claim 1 above.
The combination does not explicitly teach wherein the receiving the input from the user indicating the item category for the item resulting in the selected category includes selecting the item category from a plurality of categories, each of the plurality of categories being associated with a same appearance and a different chemical composition of the item. Notably, however, Slaughter does disclose identifying an item, and the item items that have similar characteristics, but are different, such as a type of apple, organic or non-organic, etc. (Slaughter: [0020-0021]).
To that accord, Hamzic does teach wherein the receiving the input from the user indicating the item category for the item resulting in the selected category includes selecting the item category from a plurality of categories, each of the plurality of categories being associated with a same appearance and a different chemical composition of the item. (Hamzic: [0014] – “Near-infrared spectroscopy sensors could also be used type to detect chemical composition of objects in the sensor area. The model database may for example comprise data related to the near-infrared spectroscopy waves, or sub database related to near-infrared spectroscopy waves. This can be used, for example, in the detection of different beverages such as coffee or water”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the invention of the combination of Slaughter and Steiner disclosing a method of checkout at a store by verifying item identities with the selecting a category of a same appearance and a different chemical composition as taught by Hamzic. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so in order to take increase accuracy of identification by taking into account features of the product in addition to the appearance (Hamzic: [0011]).
Regarding Claim 15: Claim 15 recites substantially similar limitations as claim 3. Therefore, claim 15 is rejected under the same rationale as claim 3 above.
Claims 8 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable by the combination of Slaughter (US 20230095037 A1) and Steiner (US 20200311788 A1), in view of Nurminen (US 20210398197 A1).
Regarding Claim 8: The combination of Slaughter and Steiner discloses the limitations of claim 7 above.
The combination does not explicitly teach wherein the method comprises:
determining the identifying characteristic associated with the user prior to the user being within interactable proximity with the indicia reader;
subsequent to determining the identifying characteristic and before the user being within interactable proximity with the indicia reader, capturing the positional data associated with the identifying characteristic.
Notably, however, Steiner does disclose tracking the customer’s movement as soon as they enter the store (Steiner: [0030-0031]).
To that accord, Nurminen does teach wherein the method comprises:
determining the identifying characteristic associated with the user prior to the user being within interactable proximity with the indicia reader; (Nurminen: [0054] – “automatically identify the mobile terminal carried by the shopper as the shopper enters the store and to initiate the process described below in conjunction with FIG. 4 in response to identification of the mobile terminal. Alternatively, the positioning system 24 of another example embodiment may be tracking the location of the of shopper even before the shopper arrives at the store”; Nurminen: [0061] – “the shopper is proximate a terminal 18, such as a terminal of the store, that includes or is associated with scales configured to weigh the respective product, at which the respective product is to be identified. In this regard, the terminal may be a point of sale terminal”). In summary, the mobile terminal is identified before or as the shopper enters the store, such that the identification is made before the shopper is proximate to a point of sale terminal.
subsequent to determining the identifying characteristic and before the user being within interactable proximity with the indicia reader, capturing the positional data associated with the identifying characteristic. (Nurminen: [0054] – ““automatically identify the mobile terminal carried by the shopper as the shopper enters the store and to initiate the process described below in conjunction with FIG. 4 in response to identification of the mobile terminal. Alternatively, the positioning system 24 of another example embodiment may be tracking the location of the of shopper even before the shopper arrives at the store”; Nurminen: [0055] – “determining one or more locations of the shopper throughout the store, such as at different times along the route 16 of the shopper as depicted by way of example in FIG. 1. The locations of the shopper may be determined utilizing any one or more of the positioning techniques; Nurminen: [0061] – “the shopper is proximate a terminal 18, such as a terminal of the store, that includes or is associated with scales configured to weigh the respective product, at which the respective product is to be identified. In this regard, the terminal may be a point of sale terminal”). In summary, the mobile terminal is identified before or as the shopper enters the store and the shopper location is tracked throughout the store, such that the identification and tracking is performed before the shopper is proximate to a point of sale terminal.
It would have been obvious, to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the invention of the combination of Slaughter and Steiner disclosing a method of checkout at a store by verifying item identities with the identifying of the user prior to being within the indicia reader and capturing the positional data as taught by Nurminen. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so in order to properly identify and price the products even if they do not have an identifying code (Nurminen: [0003]).
Regarding Claim 20: Claim 20 recites substantially similar limitations as claim 8. Therefore, claim 20 is rejected under the same rationale as claim 8 above.
Claims 12 and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable by the combination of Slaughter (US 20230095037 A1) and Steiner (US 20200311788 A1), in view of Agrawal (US 20220327511 A1).
Regarding Claim 12: The combination of Slaughter and Steiner discloses the limitations of claim 1 above.
The combination does not explicitly teach wherein the one or more sensors comprise at least one of a weighting scale positioned beneath items at the location and configured to detect a reduction in weight associated with removal of an item from the location, or a beam-breaking sensor associated with items at the location and configured to detect movement of an appendage of the user reaching towards or removing an item from the location. Notably, however, Steiner does disclose a camera capturing data of the consumer retrieving a product from the shelves (Steiner: [0020]).
To that accord, Agarwal does teach wherein the one or more sensors comprise at least one of a weighting scale positioned beneath items at the location and configured to detect a reduction in weight associated with removal of an item from the location, or a beam-breaking sensor associated with items at the location and configured to detect movement of an appendage of the user reaching towards or removing an item from the location. (Agarwal: [0057] – “A table of product identifiers and location identifiers can be searched by remote applications to determine what product is associated with a particular location at which a weight event has occurred. Product weight, size, and image data may be used to populate one or more interfaces when configuring or providing information about a particular product”; Agarwal: [0037] – “in addition to or in place of a weight sensor 103 on a product display unit such as a shelf, a motion sensor 282 may be positioned to detect a user reaching into a shelf to retrieve a product. In some instances, a motion sensor 282 may be used when a product is larger than other typical products on a shelf or elsewhere in the store. Examples of larger products include packages of paper towels, laundry detergent, and other larger products. As illustrated in FIG. 2F, when a user reaches for product 280, the motion detector 282 detects the user's hand within the sensor range 283. This may in turn trigger video capture from cameras that are directed to that position on the product display unit. In some instances. Both the motion sensor and the cameras may be connected to data collection server 120, which may initiate video capture for a particular lane upon detecting motion, for example motion of a user reaching a hand into a shelf area”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the invention of the combination of Slaughter and Steiner disclosing a method of checkout at a store by verifying item identities with the weight sensor to detect removal of an item and detect movement of an appendage at the location as taught by Agarwal. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so in order to accurately confirm what and when the user has picked from the aisles in the store (Agarwal: [0002]).
Regarding Claim 24: Claim 24 recites substantially similar limitations as claim 12. Therefore, claim 24 is rejected under the same rationale as claim 12 above.
Conclusion
/T.J.K./Examiner, Art Unit 3689
/VICTORIA E. FRUNZI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3689 7/31/2026