DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-18 are pending in Instant Application.
Examiner’s Note
Examiner has cited particular paragraphs/columns and line numbers or figures in the references as applied to the claims below for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested from the applicant, in preparing the responses, to fully consider the references in their entirety as potentially teaching all of part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the examiner. Applicant is reminded that the Examiner is entitled to give the broadest reasonable interpretation to the language of the claims. Furthermore, the Examiner is not limited to Applicant’s definition which is not specifically set forth in the claims.
Response to Arguments
Regarding 101 Rejection: Applicant’s amendment overcome the 101-rejection raised in the previous action; therefore the 101 rejection is withdrawn.
Regarding 112 Rejection: Applicant’s amendment overcome the previous 112 rejection; therefore the 112 rejection is withdrawn.
Regarding 103 rejection: Applicant's arguments filed 12/19/2025 have been fully considered. Due to the applicant’s amendments, amendments changed the scope of the claim in which Examiner agrees that the previous references do not teach. However, Examiner brings forth new references, Harrison and Urtasun, in which a new rejection can be found below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Harrison (US 20220044359) in view of Urtasun (US 20210200212).
Regarding Claim 1, Harrison discloses A method comprising: instructing, by a processor, a time signal from a grand master clock to be transmitted to a second processor associated with a sensor of an autonomous vehicle traveling on a roadway; (Harrison, see at least [0021] wherein a training data provided to the super-resolution network includes radar data acquired by radar 106 and time-synchronized lidar data acquired by lidar 104 or by other lidars in autonomous vehicles in the vicinity of ego vehicle 100, such as lidar 112 in autonomous vehicle 110 and lidar 116 in autonomous vehicle 114. )
instructing, by the processor, the second processor associated with the sensor of the autonomous vehicle to sync an internal clock with the time signal; (Harrison, see at least [0027] wherein lidar data is captured with associated timestamps by one or more lidar sensors. The captured radar data includes coarse-resolution radar data. A training set is formed with lidar data that is time-synchronized with the coarse-resolution radar dataset.)
retrieving, by the processor, a first set of image data of the roadway from the sensor, the image data including frames of at least one of the images or videos captured by the sensor of the autonomous vehicle; synching the first set of image data with the time signal; (Harrison, see at least [0023-0029] wherein a training data set is used to train a super-resolution network. The training data set includes one or more image sets of radar data and lidar data and associated timestamp data. The super-resolution network is trained to map the radar dataset having first time stamp data into a radar dataset that corresponds to the lidar dataset having second time stamp data that is nearest to the first timestamp data.)
identifying, by the processor, a second set of image data of the roadway from a distinct autonomous vehicle traveling on the roadway, the distinct autonomous vehicle distinct from the autonomous vehicle as being a different vehicle or as the autonomous vehicle traveling on the roadway at a different time; (Harrison, see at least Fig. 1 in which shows multiple vehicles on the road with cameras, radar sensors and lidar sensors collecting data and [0064-0066] wherein the ego vehicle communicates with other vehicles nearby to collect data. Also see at least [0023-0029] wherein a training data set is used to train a super-resolution network. The training data set includes one or more image sets of radar data and lidar data and associated timestamp data. The super-resolution network is trained to map the radar dataset having first time stamp data into a radar dataset that corresponds to the lidar dataset having second time stamp data that is nearest to the first timestamp data.)
generating, by the processor, a map layer based on the synched first set of image data; (Harrison, see at least [0022] wherein received data is mapped into respective datasets and is time-synchronized.)
Harrison does not explicitly disclose generating, by the processor, a map layer based on the synched first set of image data;
executing, by the processor, a matching protocol to match an object within the second set of image data with an object within the map layer;
labeling, by the processor, the second set of image data to generate a training dataset by labeling matching objects between the map layer and the second set of image data as ground truth;
and training, by the processor, at least one machine learning model using the training dataset, the at least one machine learning model configured to predict attributes used to navigate a third autonomous vehicle,
wherein an autonomous system of the third autonomous vehicle is configured to control the third autonomous vehicle to travel along a route planned based on the attributes predicted by the at least one trained machine learning model.
However, Urtasun discloses executing, by the processor, a matching protocol to match an object within the second set of image data with an object within the map layer; (Urtasun, see at [0116] wherein to train a machine-learned model, a training data set can include a large number of previously obtained representations of input data, as well as corresponding labels that describe corresponding outputs associated with the corresponding input data. A training data set can more particularly include a first portion of data corresponding to one or more representations of input data. The input data can, for example, be recorded or otherwise determined while a vehicle is in navigational operation and/or the like. The training dataset can further include a second portion of data corresponding to labels identifying outputs. The labels included within the second portion of data within the training dataset can be manually annotated, automatically annotated, or annotated using a combination of automatic labeling and manual labeling. ** data is sensor data, which the sensor can be a camera to capture images. Also see [0132].)
labeling, by the processor, the second set of image data to generate a training dataset by labeling matching objects between the map layer and the second set of image data as ground truth; (Urtasun, see at least [0027], [0054], [0058] wherein an autonomous vehicle can include an onboard vehicle computing system in which can identify one or more objects that are around the vehicle based on sensor data and/or map data. The vehicle computing system can process the sensor data, map data, etc. to obtain perception data. The vehicle computing system then generates the perception data that is indicative of one or more states (current state/past state) of objects that are within the vehicle’s environment. The perception data describes for a given time or time period, current/past speed and velocity, and much more. Also see [0116-0118] wherein the training dataset can further include a second portion of data corresponding to labels to identify outputs. More than one set of data and ground truth data is used to train the model.)
and training, by the processor, at least one machine learning model using the training dataset, the at least one machine learning model configured to predict attributes used to navigate a third autonomous vehicle, (Urtasun, see at least [0116-0118] wherein training data can be utilized to train a machine-learned model (behavioral planning stage and trajectory planning stage) and in which would then be used to navigate an autonomous vehicle.)
wherein an autonomous system of the third autonomous vehicle is configured to control the third autonomous vehicle to travel along a route planned based on the attributes predicted by the at least one trained machine learning model. (Urtasun, see at least [0056-0057] wherein the autonomy computing system can include a perception system, a prediction system, a motion planning system and other systems to determine a motion plan for controlling the motion of the vehicle accordingly. ** machine learning model is used to determine a motion plan to generate target trajectories for the vehicle.)
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Harrison to include the capability of utilizing map data and using this data to further generate a training data set to further classify objects in which this training data can be used to control an autonomous vehicle to travel along a planned route as taught by Urtasun with reasonable expectation that this would allow for the processors to communicate operations between different sensor components from different nearby vehicles and therefore improve vehicle reliability when being controlled to avoid an object.
Regarding Claim 2, Harrison in view of Urtasun discloses The method of claim 1, further comprising: (see rejection above)
Harrison further discloses in response to retrieving the first set of image data, filtering, by the processor, at least one object from the first set of image data received by the sensor of the autonomous vehicle, the at least one filtered object excluded from the generated map layer. (Feit, see at least [0041] wherein the perception module may also include a multi-object tracker to track the identified targets over time with the user of a Kalman filter. The multi-object tracker 818 matches candidate targets identified by the target identification and decision module 814 with targets it has detected in previous time windows. By combining information from previous measurements, expected measurement uncertainties, and some physical knowledge, the multi-object tracker 818 generates robust, accurate estimates of target locations. )
Regarding Claim 3, Harrison in view of Urtasun discloses The method of claim 1, (see rejection above)
Harrison further discloses wherein the first set of image data and the second set of image data further comprise a corresponding time-stamp. (Harrison, see at least [0023-0029] wherein a training data set is used to train a super-resolution network. The training data set includes one or more image sets of radar data and lidar data and associated timestamp data. The super-resolution network is trained to map the radar dataset having first time stamp data into a radar dataset that corresponds to the lidar dataset having second time stamp data that is nearest to the first timestamp data.)
Regarding Claim 4, Harrison in view of Urtasun discloses The method of claim 1, further comprising: (see rejection above)
Harrison further discloses syncing, by the processor, the internal clock of the sensor of the autonomous vehicle with a second internal clock of a second sensor of the autonomous vehicle. (Harrison, see at least [0023-0029] wherein a training data set is used to train a super-resolution network. The training data set includes one or more image sets of radar data and lidar data and associated timestamp data. The super-resolution network is trained to map the radar dataset having first time stamp data into a radar dataset that corresponds to the lidar dataset having second time stamp data that is nearest to the first timestamp data.)
Regarding Claim 5, Harrison in view of Urtasun discloses The method of claim 1, (see rejection above)
Harrison further discloses wherein the sensor is a LiDAR sensor. (Harrison, see at least [0027] wherein lidar data is captured with associated timestamps by one or more lidar sensors.)
Regarding Claim 6, Harrison in view of Urtasun discloses The method of claim 1,
Harrison discloses wherein the generated map layer further includes: the time signal. (Harrison, see at least [0022] wherein received data is mapped into respective datasets and is time-synchronized.)
As per claims 7-12, the claim is directed towards a non-transitory machine-readable storage medium that recites similar limitations performed by the method of claim 1-6. The cited portions of Harrison and Urtasun used in the rejection of claim 1-6 teach the same system limitations of claim 7-12. Claim 7 further recites “A non-transitory machine-readable storage medium having computer- executable instructions stored thereon that, when executed by one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to perform operations comprising” which is disclosed in [0007] of Urtasun. Therefore, claims 7-12 are rejected under the same rationales used in the rejections of claims 1-6 as outlined above.
As per claims 13-18, the claim is directed towards a system that recites similar limitations performed by the method of claim 1-6. The cited portions of Harrison and Urtasun used in the rejection of claim 1-6 teach the same system limitations of claim 13-18. Therefore, claims 13-18 are rejected under the same rationales used in the rejections of claims 1-6 as outlined above.
Relevant Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
CN 119165760 – The disclosure discloses time synchronized sensor data for robotics systems and applications. In various examples, a set of associated time stamps is sampled from a clock source. The set of associated time stamps is used to calculate conversion data, such as the offset and/or rate of change of the clock source. Offset and/or rate of change may be used to convert a time stamp to a reference time domain. The sampled clock source may be frequency locked and the conversion may be performed without using the rate of change. For example, an operating average of the offsets may be used to perform conversion. The converted time stamp and corresponding sensor measurements may be provided to one or more applications for performing one or more operations of the machine, such as sensing and/or control operations.
US 20170168494 A1– A sensor interface for an autonomous vehicle. The sensor interface generates a plurality of sensor pulses that are each offset in phase relative to a local clock signal by a respective amount. The sensor interface receives sensor data from a sensor apparatus and formats the sensor data based at least in part on the plurality of sensor pulses to enable the sensor data to be used for navigating the autonomous vehicle. For example, the sensor interface may add a timestamp to the sensor data indicating a timing of the sensor data in relation to the local clock signal.
Conclusion
/NADA MAHYOOB ALQADERI/Examiner, Art Unit 3664
/RACHID BENDIDI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3664