DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of invention I and species A (Fig. 7B, a rigid capturing portion with a curved portion) in the reply filed on 04/08/2026 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Claims 15-16 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 04/08/2026.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “wherein a lead angle at which the base threaded portion is cooperating with the drive portion is less than a friction angle” must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: one or more features in claim 6.
The claim limitation “one or more features configured to disengage the fixing device” invokes 112(f) because the term “features” is a generic placeholder with no structural meaning modified by the functional language “configured to disengage the fixing device” and is not further modified by sufficient structure. For the purpose of prior art examination this limitation will be interpreted as “grasping end” or “actuator rod distal end” see [0076] of applicant’s specification “the actuator rod includes an actuator rod distal end or grasping end”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3, 8-10, and 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In claim 3, the claim limitation “the two closure clamping portions” renders the claim indefinite as it is not clear if this refers to the “the closure clamping portions” in claims 2 and 1, or different clamping portions. For the purpose of prior art examination this limitation will be interpreted as “the closure clamping portions”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 13 is rejected as being dependent on claim 3.
In claim 8, the claim limitation “a delivery device” renders the claim indefinite as it is not clear if this refers to the “the delivery control device” in claim 1, or a different delivery device. For the purpose of prior art examination this limitation will be interpreted as “the delivery control device”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 9 recites the limitation "the base clutching end" in lines 3-4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For the purpose of prior art examination this will be interpreted as “base end”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 10 recites the limitation "the drive portion" in line 5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For the purpose of prior art examination this will be interpreted as “the threaded portion”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-9 and 11-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Li et al (CN 112656546 A), herein referenced to “Li”, (machine translation attached to the office action).
Claim 1
Li discloses: A system valve clamping system having 100 (see Figs. 1-4 and 6-23b, [0058]) for clamping a tissue (see [0058], valve clamp), comprising: a fixing device 100 (see Figs. 1-4 and 6-23b, [0058]) comprising a clamp mechanism 10 (see Figs. 1-4 and 6-23b, [0062]) for closing a tissue valve (see Figs. 22 and 23a, [0058]), and a support mechanism 22 (see Figs. 1-4 and 6-23b, [0053] and [0073]) carrying the clamp mechanism 10 (see Figs. 1-4, 22 carries 10), the support mechanism 22 comprising a drive assembly 12 (see Figs. 1-4 and 6-23b, [0051] and [0080]) for driving the clamp mechanism 10 to open and close (see [0080], 12 which is connected to 13 drives first clamp 11 which is part of 10 to open, and the reverse motion causes closing); a delivery control device 400 (see Figs 20a-23b, [0056] and [0095]) comprising a shaft 400 is a shaft (see Figs. 20a-23b, [0095]) for introducing the fixing device 100 to a target location (see Figs. 20a-23b, [0095], control the overall movement of 100) and a grasping mechanism 200 (see Figs. 1-4 and 6-23b, [0055] and [0095]) for enabling the shaft 400 and the fixing device 100 to be separably connected (see [0078] and [0095], allows 100 to be detached from 400); and the clamp mechanism 10 comprises a pair of closure members 11 (see Figs. 1-4 and 6-23b, [0051] and [0060] 11 is a pair of closure members/clamping arms, as there are at least two), a guide slot 111 (see Fig. 13, [0051] and [0084]) comprising at least a nonlinear segment 111 is curved hence it has a nonlinear segment (see Fig. 13) in each of the pair of closure members 11, the support mechanism 22 comprising pins 133 (see Fig. 12-14, [0051] and [0084]), each of which is at least partially located in one of the guide slots 111 (see Fig. 14) and is slidable (see [0084], 133 slides in cooperation with 111) in the one of the guide slots 111, so as to drive closure clamping portions the distal portion of 11 (see Figs. 1-4 and 6-23b) of the clamp mechanism 10 to move towards or away from each other (see Figs. 1-4 and 6-23b).
Claim 2
Li discloses: The system according to claim 1, see 102 rejection above. Li further discloses: wherein the clamp mechanism 10 comprises the pair of closure members 11 and a pair of capture members 223 (see Figs. 1-4 and 6-23b, [0060]), each capture member 223 in one-to-one correspondence (see [0060], correspond one-to-one) with a respective one of the closure members 11; the pair of closure members 11 comprising closure connecting portions proximal portions of 11 where 111 is (see Figs. 1-14) with the closure clamping portions the distal portion of 11 in cooperation with the pair of capture members 223 to clamp the tissue (see Figs. 21a-23a); and the guide slot 111 formed in the closure connecting portions proximal portions of 11 where 111 is.
Claim 3
Li discloses: The system according to claim 2, see 102 rejection above. Li further discloses: wherein the support mechanism 22 comprises a fixed connecting assembly 13 (see Figs. 1-4 and 6-23b, [0051] and [0080]), the pins 133 provided on the fixed connecting assembly 13 (see Figs. 4 and 12-14), and wherein the drive assembly 12 is connected to the two closure clamping portions the distal portion of 11 (see 112b rejection, interpreted as “the closure clamping portions”) and is arranged to allow each of the pins 133 to slide in the respective one (see Figs. 6-7, as 12 + 13 move distally, this causes pins 133 to move within 111 to move the closure clamping portions, the distal portions of 11) of guide slots 111 when the drive assembly 12 moves relative to the fixed connecting assembly 13.
Claim 4
Li discloses: The system according to claim 1, see 102 rejection above. Li further discloses: wherein: each of the guide slots 111 comprises at least first and second slot regions (see annotated Fig. 6 below) in communication with each other, and a radian of the first slot region (see annotated Fig. 6 below, the radian of the first slot is greater than the radian of the second slot region, which is the curved “elbow” portion of the slot) is greater than a radian (see annotated Fig. 6 below) of the second slot region.
Claim 5
Li discloses: The system according to claim 4, see 102 rejection above. Li further discloses: wherein each of the guide slots 111 further comprises a third slot region (see annotated Fig. 6 below claim 4) in communication with the second slot region (see annotated Fig. 6 below claim 4) and having a radian (see annotated Fig. 6 below claim 4, the radian of third slot area is greater than the radian of the second slot area, but smaller than that of the first slot area) greater than the radian of the second slot region, and wherein the second slot region (see annotated Fig. 6 below claim 4, the second slot region is between the first and third slot regions) is located between the first slot region and the third slot region.
Claim 6
Li discloses: The system according to claim 1, see 102 rejection above. Li further discloses: wherein the grasping mechanism 200 comprises an actuator rod 31 (see Figs. 3-4, [0067]) connected to the drive assembly 12 in a non-rotatable and axially separable manner (see [0066], 31 can be separated from 100 to implant 100) such that rotation of the actuator rod (see [0062]-[0064], the movement of 31 can alter the sizing of 10) directs the drive assembly to move axially (see [0062], 31 can drive 10 to move relatively to 20) ; and the actuator rod 31 comprises one or more features distal end of 31 attached to 12 (see Fig. 3, meets 112(f) interpretation as actuator rod distal end) configured to disengage the fixing device 100 from the shaft 31 when the actuator rod is moved proximally (see Fig. 23b, 31 is moved proximally to disengage from 11, [0062]-[0064]).
Claim 7
Li discloses: The system according to claim 6, see 102 rejection above. Li further discloses: wherein: the support mechanism 22 comprises a fixed connecting assembly 13 (see Figs. 1-4 and 6-23b, [0051] and [0080]) and the drive assembly 12 is moveable relative (see Figs. 4 and 6-7, 12 is movable relative to 13 to open and close 11) to the fixed connecting assembly 13, and wherein the fixed connecting assembly 13 comprises a base end 131 (see Fig. 12, [0051] and [0083]); the grasping mechanism 200 comprises a coupling seat 200 + 21 (see Figs. 3 and 8-9, [0053], which can selectively lock 31 to 10 + 11 + 12 + 13) separably connected to the base end 131 and an engagement member 211 (see Figs. 8-9, [0067]) releasably connecting the base end 131 and the coupling seat 21, and the actuator rod 31 provides a driving force (see [0062]-[0065]) for the drive assembly 12; and the actuator rod 31 comprises a distal end the distal end of 31 connected to 12 (see Fig. 3) connected to the drive assembly 12 in an axially separable and non-rotatable manner (see [0066], 31 can be separated from 100 to implant 100), the actuator rod 31 configured to be moved distally relative to the engagement member 214 between a first position separation position (see [0065]) and a second position engagement position (see [0065]), and when the actuator rod 31 is moved proximally from the second position engagement position, an actuator rod supporting portion 32 (see Figs. 1-4 and 6-23b, [0104], 32 unlocks 21) drives the engagement member 211 to move proximally as well (see [0104]-[0105], 32 can be removed to separate 31 from 100), such that the coupling seat 21 is separated from the base end 131.
Claim 8
Li discloses: The system according to claim 7, see 102 rejection above. Li further discloses: wherein the coupling seat 21 comprises a coupling seat connecting end 214 (see Figs. 8-9, [0053] and [0067]), a coupling seat distal end 2133 + 2132 (see Figs. 8-9, [0072]), and a coupling seat inner cavity the inner cavity of 21 (see Figs. 8-9) defined through the coupling seat 21, the engagement member 211 is provided in the coupling seat inner cavity (see Figs. 8-9, 211 is within 21), the coupling seat distal end 2133 + 2132 is connected to the base end 131 via the engagement member 211 (211 locks 21 to 131), and the coupling seat connecting end 214 is connected to a delivery device 400 (see Figs. 1-9, 21 is connected to 400 via 31, 112b rejection above, interpreted as “the delivery control device”).
Claim 9
Li discloses: The system according to claim 8, see 102 rejection above. Li further discloses: wherein the delivery control device 400 further comprises a manipulation wire 34 (see Figs. 1 and 22a-22b and annotated Fig. 21b below, [0054], [0076], and [0091] shows a manipulating wire extending through apertures/grooves in 200 to attach to both 223) for controlling capture members of the clamp mechanism to open and close (see [0076] and [0091]), and the coupling seat comprises a manipulation wire limiting groove the apertures of 200 that 34 extends through (see Fig. 17 and annotated Fig. 21b below) for restricting separation of the manipulation wire when the coupling seat is connected to the base clutching end 131 (see 112b rejection, interpreted as “the base end”).
The language, “for restricting separation of the manipulation wire when the coupling seat is connected to the base clutching end,” constitutes functional claim language, indicating that the claimed device need only be capable of being used in such a manner. The claim, however, is an apparatus claim, and is to be limited by structural limitations. The Office submits that the device of Li meets the structural limitations of the claim, and is capable of the aperture of 200 which 34 extends through to prevent 34 from separate while the coupling seat is connected, as the edge prevents 34 from disengaging from the distal edge.
Furthermore, wherein in product and apparatus claims, when the structure recited in the reference is substantially identical to that of the claims, claimed properties or functions are presumed to be inherent. Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977). "When the PTO shows a sound basis for believing that the products of the applicant and the prior art are the same, the applicant has the burden of showing that they are not." In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990). Therefore, the prima facie case can be rebutted by evidence showing that the prior art products do not necessarily possess the characteristics of the claimed product. In re Best, 562 F.2d at 1255, 195 USPQ at 433. See MPEP 2112.01 I.
Claim 11
Li discloses: The system according to claim 2, see 102 rejection above. Li further discloses: wherein: each of the guide slots 111 comprises at least first and second slot regions (see annotated Fig. 6 below) in communication with each other, and a radian of the first slot region (see annotated Fig. 6 below, the radian of the first slot is greater than the radian of the second slot region, which is the curved “elbow” portion of the slot) is greater than a radian (see annotated Fig. 6 below) of the second slot region.
Claim 12
Li discloses: The system according to claim 11, see 102 rejection above. Li further discloses: wherein each of the guide slots 111 further comprises a third slot region (see annotated Fig. 6 below claim 11) in communication with the second slot region (see annotated Fig. 6 below claim 11) and having a radian (see annotated Fig. 6 below claim 11, the radian of third slot area is greater than the radian of the second slot area, but smaller than that of the first slot area) greater than the radian of the second slot region, and wherein the second slot region (see annotated Fig. 6 below claim 11, the second slot region is between the first and third slot regions) is located between the first slot region and the third slot region.
Claim 13
Li discloses: The system according to claim 3, see 102 rejection above. Li further discloses: wherein: each of the guide slots 111 comprises at least first and second slot regions (see annotated Fig. 6 below) in communication with each other, and a radian of the first slot region (see annotated Fig. 6 below, the radian of the first slot is greater than the radian of the second slot region, which is the curved “elbow” portion of the slot) is greater than a radian (see annotated Fig. 6 below) of the second slot region.
Claim 14
Li discloses: The system according to claim 3, see 102 rejection above. Li further discloses: wherein each of the guide slots 111 further comprises a third slot region (see annotated Fig. 6 below claim 13) in communication with the second slot region (see annotated Fig. 6 below claim 13) and having a radian (see annotated Fig. 6 below claim 13, the radian of third slot area is greater than the radian of the second slot area, but smaller than that of the first slot area) greater than the radian of the second slot region, and wherein the second slot region (see annotated Fig. 6 below claim 13, the second slot region is between the first and third slot regions) is located between the first slot region and the third slot region.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li in view of Delgado et al (US 20190015199 A1), herein referenced to as “Delgado”.
Claim 10
Li discloses: The system according to claim 1, see 102 rejection above. Li further discloses: wherein the fixed connecting assembly 13 comprises a base housing the housing of 131 with the aperture that forms the inner cavity (see Fig. 12) with a base inner cavity the cavity of 131 formed by the aperture (see Fig. 12) formed therein.
Li does not explicitly disclose: a base threaded portion in the base inner cavity, the drive assembly comprising a drive shaft, the drive shaft comprising a threaded portion cooperating with the base threaded portion, and wherein a lead angle at which the base threaded portion is cooperating with the drive portion is less than a friction angle.
However, Delgado in a similar field of invention teaches a system for clamping a tissue (see Figs. 144-146) with a base 514 (see Figs. 145-146) with a base housing the housing of 514 with a base inner cavity the cavity of 514 including 516A (see Figs. 145-146), a drive assembly 512 (see Figs. 145-146) and a clamp mechanism 520 (see Figs. 144-146). Delgado further teaches: a base threaded portion 516A (see Figs. 145-146, [0405], internal threads) in the base inner cavity the cavity of 514 including 516A, the drive assembly 512 comprising a drive shaft 512 (see Fig. 145, [0405]), the drive shaft 512 comprising a threaded portion 512b (see Figs. 145-146, [0405]) cooperating with the base threaded portion 516A (see Figs. 145-146, [0405]), and wherein a lead angle at which the base threaded portion 516A is cooperating with the drive portion 512b (see 112b rejection above, interpreted as “the threaded portion”) is less than a friction angle (see Figs. 145-146, [0092], the friction angle would be 180 degrees as it axially along the shaft, while the thread angle is at 90 degrees from the axial direction of the shaft, hence the lead angle of the thread is less than a friction angle).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the spring piece connection between the base and the drive assembly of Li to incorporate the teachings of Delgado and teach a system for clamping a tissue with a base threaded portion in the base inner cavity, the drive assembly comprising a drive shaft, the drive shaft comprising a threaded portion cooperating with the base threaded portion, and wherein a lead angle at which the base threaded portion is cooperating with the drive portion is less than a friction angle. Motivation for such can be found in Delgado as this allows for self-locking function with a thread instead of using a spring piece (see [0092]).
Conclusion
RAIHAN R. KHANDKER
Examiner
Art Unit 3771
/RAIHAN R KHANDKER/Examiner, Art Unit 3771