DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the IDS has been considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-2 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1 line 10 “from the lanyard” should read “from a lanyard” to properly introduce the element as part of “a lanyard system” established in lines 1-2.
Claim 2 lines 1-2 “a portion of a lanyard” should read “a portion of the lanyard” to properly align with its antecedent basis in parent claim 1.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 14-16 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lawrence US 20040134411 A1.
Regarding Claim 14: Lawrence discloses (in at least figures 4-6, the description, and the claims) a method of illuminating a flag suspended from a flagpole (fig.’s 4-6: flagpole beacon 10), comprising the steps of: (a) directing a first beam of light radially outwardly from the flagpole and downwardly and at an angle from the flagpole so as to illuminate the flag when the flag is subjected to windy conditions; and (b) directing a second beam of light downwardly and parallel to the flagpole so as to illuminate the flag when the flag is subjected to non-windy conditions (fig.’s 4-6 and par.’s 24-25: multiple light sources 20 cast beams through transparent lenses both the radially outwardly directed at flag and extending downwardly parallel to the flag pole. See fig. 6: openings 40 allow direct beams parallel to flagpole (downward in the plane of fitting 70) and radially outwardly, substantially horizontal to the flagpole (horizontal to plane of fitting 70) See also par. 26: “Pulley 60 is operationally associated with the truck 50 and the cover 30 such that when the flag responds to a change in wind direction, pulley 60 and cover 30 rotate about the pole with the flag and cause light to be continuously directed from the at least one light source 20 toward the flag.”).
Regarding Claim 15: Lawrence discloses the method of Claim 14, wherein the step of directing the first beam comprises generating light with first light source and wherein the step of directing the second beam comprises generating light with second light source that is different from the first light source (fig.’s 4-6 and par.’s 24-25: multiple light sources 20 cast beams through transparent lenses both the radially outwardly directed at flag and extending downwardly parallel to the flag pole. See fig. 6: openings 40 allow direct beams parallel to flagpole (downward in the plane of fitting 70) and radially outwardly, substantially horizontal to the flagpole (horizontal to plane of fitting 70. Note: the two separate light sources 20 contribute to the first and second beams.).
Regarding Claim 16: Lawrence discloses the method of Claim 15, further comprising the step of employing light emitting diodes in the first light source and in the second light source (par. 25: light sources 20 can include LEDs).
Regarding Claim 19: Lawrence discloses the method of Claim 14, wherein the flag is affixed to a lanyard, a portion of which passes internally through the flagpole, further comprising the step of supporting the lanyard by a single pulley that is supported by a top of a cover that is affixed to the lighting frame (fig. 6 and par.’s 10, 26-27, and 30: internal pulley 60 in cover 30. Note: fig. 6 shows pulley 60 with two wheels, however as disclosed by Lawrence in par.’s 26-27, pulley 60 is a singular pulley.).
Regarding Claim 20: Lawrence discloses the method of Claim 19, further comprising the step of selecting the single pulley such that the single pulley is configured to support different sizes of lanyards (par.’s 8, 16, 26, and 28: flagpole beacon 10 is designed to fit both new and existing poles. See par. 25: “The cover 30 of the flagpole beacon 10 manufactured according to this embodiment may be constructed of any suitable formable or fabricated material, shaped to form any existing design […].” New and existing flagpoles will have lanyards of different lengths and widths, therefore, in order for beacon 10 with cover 30 to be compatible with any new or existing design, pulley 60 of cover 30 is configured to support different sizes of lanyards).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lawrence US 20040134411 A1 further in view of Levy US 20210172594 A1.
Regarding Claim 1: Lawrence discloses (in at least figures 4-6, the description, and the claims) a device for illuminating a flag from a top of a flagpole, the flagpole including a lanyard system, (fig.’s 4-6: flagpole beacon 10) the device comprising:
(a) a truck (fig. 4 and par.’s 26-30: truck 50) that includes:
(i) an elongated extension that is configured to be affixed to the top of the flagpole (fig. 5 and par. 29: elongated extension of truck portion 50 is affixed to top of flagpole via fitting 70. See diagram above. See also par.’s 9-10, 26, and claim 1), the elongated extension including an inner race portion (fig. 5 and par.’s 29-30: inner race portion of truck 50. See diagram above); and
(ii) an outer race portion disposed about the inner race portion so as to be able to rotate thereabout (fig. 5 and par.’s 29-30: inner race portion of truck 50. See diagram above. See also par.’s 10 and 26: truck portion 50 allows cover 30 to rotate about the pole with the flag);
(b) a lighting frame that is affixed to the outer race portion so that the lighting frame rotates with the outer race portion in a direction of the flag as force is applied to the lighting frame from the lanyard (fig.’s 4-6 and par.’s 24-25: light sources 20 of beacon 10. Light from light sources is focused through openings 30 at flag. See par. 26: “Pulley 60 is operationally associated with the truck 50 and the cover 30 such that when the flag responds to a change in wind direction, pulley 60 and cover 30 rotate about the pole with the flag and cause light to be continuously directed from the at least one light source 20 toward the flag.”), the lighting frame including a substantially cylindrical portion terminating in a flat segment bottom portion, a planar surface intersecting the cylindrical portion from a chord edge defined by the flat segment bottom portion (fig.’s 5-6 and par.’s 25-27: cover 30 and fitting 70 are both substantially cylindrical and terminate at a flat segment bottom portion. See diagram.);
(c) at least one first lighting element mounted on the lighting frame in which the first lighting element is configured to cast a beam of light radially outwardly at an angle from the flagpole and downwardly so as to illuminate the flag when the flag extends outwardly from the flagpole while subjected to windy conditions (fig.’s 4-6 and par.’s 24-25: multiple light sources 20 cast beams through transparent lenses both the radially outwardly directed at flag and extending downwardly parallel to the flag pole. See fig. 6: openings 40 allow direct beams parallel to flagpole (downward in the plane of fitting 70) and radially outwardly, substantially horizontal to the flagpole (horizontal to plane of fitting 70) See also par. 26: “Pulley 60 is operationally associated with the truck 50 and the cover 30 such that when the flag responds to a change in wind direction, pulley 60 and cover 30 rotate about the pole with the flag and cause light to be continuously directed from the at least one light source 20 toward the flag.”); and
(d) at least one second lighting element mounted on the flat segment bottom portion of the lighting frame in the second lighting element is configured to cast a beam of light that extends downwardly and parallel to the flagpole so as to illuminate the flag when the flag hangs downwardly along the flagpole while subjected to non-windy conditions(fig.’s 4-6 and par.’s 24-25: multiple light sources 20 cast beams through transparent lenses both the radially outwardly directed at flag and extending downwardly parallel to the flag pole. See fig. 6: openings 40 allow direct beams parallel to flagpole (downward in the plane of fitting 70) and radially outwardly, substantially horizontal to the flagpole (horizontal to plane of fitting 70) See also par. 26: “Pulley 60 is operationally associated with the truck 50 and the cover 30 such that when the flag responds to a change in wind direction, pulley 60 and cover 30 rotate about the pole with the flag and cause light to be continuously directed from the at least one light source 20 toward the flag.”).
Lawrence does not explicitly disclose that the planar surface intersects the the cylindrical portion from at an obtuse angle from the flat segment bottom portion.
Levy discloses an analogous art (fig.’s 3-4, fig. 7, and par.’s 46-50: flagpole lighting attachment 100), comprising a planar surface intersecting a cylindrical portion from a chord edge defined by a flat segment bottom portion at an obtuse angle from the flat segment bottom portion (fig. 4 and par. 49: “The base component 104 is positioned between the body component 106 and the mounting component 102. In some examples, the base component 104 radiates outward from the mounting component 102 and towards the top component 108. In these examples, an angle between the mounting component 102 and the base component 104 is an obtuse angle.”) and at least one lighting element is mounted on the planar surface of the lighting frame (fig. 4 and par. 55: at least LEDs 128 and 136).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the planar surface with lighting element arrangement, as taught by Levy, to be included in the device of Lawrence such that the configuration of the assembly provides a sufficiently bright amount of light to the flag regardless of wind condition (Levy par. 3. See also par. 46).
Regarding Claim 2: Lawrence and Levy disclose the device for illuminating a flag of Claim 1, and Lawrence further discloses wherein a portion of a lanyard extends internally through the flagpole to the top of the flagpole and wherein the elongated extension defines an elongated passage that is configured to allow passage of the lanyard from an internal portion of the flagpole therethrough and wherein the flat segment defines a hole through which the elongated extension passes (fig. 6 and par. 30: flagpole beacon 10 “[…] is designed for use on poles having an internal halyard configuration. Accordingly, pulley 60 of the flagpole beacon 10 of this alternative embodiment is located internal to the cover 30 so that pulley 60 may receive the halyard internal to the pole.”), the device further comprising;
(a) a cover, having a top, extending upwardly from the lighting frame that protects the truck , an internal portion of the first pair of lighting elements and an internal portion of the second pair of lighting elements from outside elements (fig.’s 4-6 and par.’s 25-27: cover 30 with openings 40 and houses light sources 20); and
(b) a pulley system consisting of a single pulley that is coupled to the top of the cover, the single pulley configured to support the lanyard received internally from the flagpole and that supports movement of a portion of the lanyard through the opening defined by the planar surface (fig.’s 5-6 and par.’s 10, 26-27, and 30: pulley 60. Note: fig. 6 shows pulley 60 with two wheels, however as disclosed by Lawrence in par.’s 26-27, pulley 60 is a singular pulley.).
Regarding Claim 3: Lawrence and Levy disclose the device for illuminating a flag of Claim 2, and Lawrence further discloses wherein the planar surface defines an opening configured to allow a portion of the lanyard to pass from the single pulley through the opening to outside of the cover (fig.’s 4-6: opening through cover 30 for lanyard of pulley 60).
Regarding Claim 4: Lawrence and Levy disclose the device for illuminating a flag of Claim 3, and Lawrence discloses wherein the opening defined by the planar surface has an inverted U-shape (fig.’s 4-6: opening through cover 30 for lanyard of pulley 60).
The embodiment of the invention wherein the opening defined by the planar surface has an inverted U-shape is an obvious variant over the embodiment disclosed by Lawrence wherein the opening defined by the planar surface has a O-shape that allows the lanyard to pass through the cover to the pulley (See fig. 4). The applicant does not disclose the necessity of the opening being U-shaped and states on page 8 paragraph [0033] of the Specification filed 07/02/2023 that “Modifications, additions, or omissions may be made to the systems, apparatuses, and methods described herein without departing from the scope of the invention.”
Furthermore, it has been held In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966) that changes in shape resulting in predictable outcomes are obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Accordingly, the limitation wherein the opening has an inverted U-shape is obvious in view of Lawrence.
Regarding Claim 5: Lawrence and Levy disclose device for illuminating a flag of Claim 2, and Lawrence further discloses wherein the single pulley is configured to support different sizes of lanyards (par.’s 8, 16, 26, and 28: flagpole beacon 10 is designed to fit both new and existing poles. See par. 25: “The cover 30 of the flagpole beacon 10 manufactured according to this embodiment may be constructed of any suitable formable or fabricated material, shaped to form any existing design […].” New and existing flagpoles will have lanyards of different lengths and widths, therefore, in order for beacon 10 with cover 30 to be compatible with any new or existing design, pulley 60 of cover 30 is configured to support different sizes of lanyards ).
Regarding Claim 6: Lawrence and Levy disclose the device for illuminating a flag of Claim 1, and Lawrence further discloses wherein the first lighting element comprises a pair of lighting elements that each include light emitting diodes (par. 25: light sources 20 can include LEDs).
Regarding Claim 7: Lawrence and Levy disclose the device for illuminating a flag of Claim 1, and Levy further discloses wherein the second lighting element comprises a second pair of lighting elements that each include light emitting diodes (fig. 4 and par. 55: LEDs 128 and 136).
The rationale to combine is the same as for claim 1.
Regarding Claim 8: Lawrence and Levy disclose the device for illuminating a flag of Claim 1, and Lawrence further discloses wherein the planar surface has a semi-elliptical shape (fig.’s 4-5: Notably, planar surface with pass through hole for lanyard of pulley 60 has semielliptical shape. See diagram ).
Regarding Claim 9: Lawrence and Levy disclose the device for illuminating a flag of Claim 1, and Lawrence further discloses wherein the cover has a frustoconical shape (fig.’s 4-6: frustoconical shape of beacon 10).
Regarding Claim 10: Lawrence discloses (in at least figures 4-6, the description, and the claims) a device for illuminating a flag from a top of a flagpole, the flagpole including a lanyard system in which a portion of a lanyard extends internally through the flagpole to the top of the flagpole (fig.’s 4-6: flagpole beacon 10), the device comprising:
(a) a truck that includes (fig. 4 and par.’s 26-30: truck 50):
(i) an elongated extension that is configured to be affixed to the top of the flagpole (fig. 5 and par. 29: elongated extension of truck portion 50 is affixed to top of flagpole via fitting 70. See diagram above. See also par.’s 9-10, 26, and claim 1), the elongated extension including an inner race portion (fig. 5 and par.’s 29-30: inner race portion of truck 50. See diagram above);
(ii) an outer race portion disposed about the inner race portion; and (iii) rolling element disposed between the inner race portion and the outer race portion so as to be able to rotate thereabout (fig. 5 and par.’s 29-30: inner race portion of truck 50. See diagram above. See also par.’s 10 and 26: truck portion 50 allows cover 30 to rotate about the pole with the flag);
(b) a lighting frame that is affixed to the outer race portion so that the lighting frame rotates with the outer race portion in a direction of the flag as force is applied to the lighting frame from the lanyard (fig.’s 4-6 and par.’s 24-25: light sources 20 of beacon 10. Light from light sources is focused through openings 30 at flag. See par. 26: “Pulley 60 is operationally associated with the truck 50 and the cover 30 such that when the flag responds to a change in wind direction, pulley 60 and cover 30 rotate about the pole with the flag and cause light to be continuously directed from the at least one light source 20 toward the flag.”), the lighting frame including a substantially cylindrical portion terminating in a flat segment bottom portion, a planar surface having a semi-elliptical shape intersecting the cylindrical portion from a chord edge defined by the flat segment bottom portion (fig.’s 5-6 and par.’s 25-27: cover 30 and fitting 70 are both substantially cylindrical and terminate at a flat segment bottom portion. Notably, planar surface with pass through hole for lanyard of pulley 60 has semielliptical shape See diagrams. );
(c) a pair of lighting elements mounted on the lighting frame in which each of the pair of lighting elements is configured to cast a beam of light radially outwardly at an angle from the flagpole and downwardly so as to illuminate the flag when the flag extends outwardly from the flagpole while subjected to windy conditions (fig.’s 4-6 and par.’s 24-25: multiple light sources 20 cast beams through transparent lenses both the radially outwardly directed at flag and extending downwardly parallel to the flag pole. See fig. 6: openings 40 allow direct beams parallel to flagpole (downward in the plane of fitting 70) and radially outwardly, substantially horizontal to the flagpole (horizontal to plane of fitting 70) See also par. 26: “Pulley 60 is operationally associated with the truck 50 and the cover 30 such that when the flag responds to a change in wind direction, pulley 60 and cover 30 rotate about the pole with the flag and cause light to be continuously directed from the at least one light source 20 toward the flag.”); and
(d) a pair of lighting elements mounted on the flat segment bottom portion of the lighting frame in which each of the pair of lighting elements is configured to cast a beam of light that extends downwardly and parallel to the flagpole so as to illuminate the flag when the flag hangs downwardly along the flagpole while subjected to windy conditions, wherein and wherein the elongated extension defines an elongated passage that is configured to allow passage of the lanyard from an internal portion of the flagpole therethrough and wherein the flat segment defines a hole through which the elongated extension passes (fig. 6 and par. 30: flagpole beacon 10 “[…] is designed for use on poles having an internal halyard configuration. Accordingly, pulley 60 of the flagpole beacon 10 of this alternative embodiment is located internal to the cover 30 so that pulley 60 may receive the halyard internal to the pole.”);
(e) a cover, having a top, extending upwardly from the lighting frame that protects the truck, an internal portion of the first pair of lighting elements and an internal portion of the second pair of lighting elements from outside elements (fig.’s 4-6 and par.’s 24-25: multiple light sources 20 cast beams through transparent lenses both the radially outwardly directed at flag and extending downwardly parallel to the flag pole. See fig. 6: openings 40 allow direct beams parallel to flagpole (downward in the plane of fitting 70) and radially outwardly, substantially horizontal to the flagpole (horizontal to plane of fitting 70) See also par. 26: “Pulley 60 is operationally associated with the truck 50 and the cover 30 such that when the flag responds to a change in wind direction, pulley 60 and cover 30 rotate about the pole with the flag and cause light to be continuously directed from the at least one light source 20 toward the flag.”); and
(f) a pulley system consisting of a single pulley that is coupled to the top of the cover, the single pulley configured to support the lanyard received internally from the flagpole and that supports movement of a portion of the lanyard through the opening defined by the planar surface (fig.’s 5-6 and par.’s 10, 26-27, and 30: pulley 60. Note: fig. 6 shows pulley 60 with two wheels, however as disclosed by Lawrence in par.’s 26-27, pulley 60 is a singular pulley.), wherein the planar structure of the lighting frame defines an inverted U-shape opening that is configured to allow a portion of the lanyard to pass from the single pulley through the opening to outside of the cover (fig. 6: opening through semi-elliptical planar surface for lanyard of pulley 60).
The embodiment of the invention wherein the opening defined by the planar surface has an inverted U-shape is an obvious variant over the embodiment disclosed by Lawrence wherein the opening defined by the planar surface has a O-shape that allows the lanyard to pass through the cover to the pulley (See fig. 4). The applicant does not disclose the necessity of the opening being U-shaped and states on page 8 paragraph [0033] of the Specification filed 07/02/2023 that “Modifications, additions, or omissions may be made to the systems, apparatuses, and methods described herein without departing from the scope of the invention.”
Furthermore, it has been held In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966) that changes in shape resulting in predictable outcomes are obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Accordingly, the limitation wherein the opening has an inverted U-shape is obvious in view of Lawrence.
Lawrence does not explicitly disclose the planar surface intersects the cylindrical portion from at an obtuse angle from the flat segment bottom portion or a second pair of lighting elements mounted on the planar surface.
Levy discloses an analogous art (fig.’s 3-4, fig. 7, and par.’s 46-50: flagpole lighting attachment 100), comprising a planar surface intersecting a cylindrical portion from a chord edge defined by a flat segment bottom portion at an obtuse angle from the flat segment bottom portion (fig. 4 and par. 49: “The base component 104 is positioned between the body component 106 and the mounting component 102. In some examples, the base component 104 radiates outward from the mounting component 102 and towards the top component 108. In these examples, an angle between the mounting component 102 and the base component 104 is an obtuse angle.”) and a second pair of lighting elements mounted on the planar surface. (fig. 4 and par. 55: at least LEDs 128 and 136).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the planar surface and second pair of lighting elements, as taught by Levy, to be included in the device of Lawrence such that configuration of the assembly provides a sufficiently bright amount of light to the flag regardless of wind condition (Levy par. 3. See also par. 46).
Regarding Claim 11: Lawrence and Levy discloses the device for illuminating a flag of Claim 10, and Lawrence discloses wherein the single pulley is configured to support different sizes of lanyards (par.’s 8, 16, 26, and 28: flagpole beacon 10 is designed to fit both new and existing poles. See par. 25: “The cover 30 of the flagpole beacon 10 manufactured according to this embodiment may be constructed of any suitable formable or fabricated material, shaped to form any existing design […].” New and existing flagpoles will have lanyards of different lengths and widths, therefore, in order for beacon 10 with cover 30 to be compatible with any new or existing design, pulley 60 of cover 30 is configured to support different sizes of lanyards).
Regarding Claim 12: Lawrence and Levy disclose the device for illuminating a flag of Claim 10, and Lawrence further discloses wherein the first pair of lighting elements comprises light emitting diodes (par. 25: light sources 20 can include LEDs).
Regarding Claim 13: Lawrence and Levy disclose the device for illuminating a flag of Claim 10, and Levy further discloses wherein the second pair of lighting elements comprises light emitting diodes (fig. 4 and par. 55: LEDs 128 and 136).
The rationale to combine is the same as for claim 10.
Claims 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lawrence as applied to claims 14-15 above, and further in view of Levy.
Regarding Claim 17: Lawrence discloses the method of Claim 15, further comprising the steps of:
(a) mounting the first light source on a flat segment bottom portion that terminates a substantially cylindrical portion of a lighting frame (fig.’s 4-6 and par.’s 24-25: multiple light sources 20 mounted to flat segment bottom portion of substantially cylindrical cover 30. See diagram).
Lawrence does not explicitly disclose mounting the second light source on a planar surface intersecting the cylindrical portion from a chord edge defined by the flat segment bottom portion at an obtuse angle from the flat segment bottom portion.
Levy discloses an analogous method (fig.’s 3-4, fig. 7, and par.’s 46-50: flagpole lighting attachment 100) comprising the step of mounting the second light source on a planar surface intersecting the cylindrical portion from a chord edge defined by the flat segment bottom portion at an obtuse angle from the flat segment bottom portion (fig. 4 and par. 55: at least LEDs 128 and 136. See also par. 49: “The base component 104 is positioned between the body component 106 and the mounting component 102. In some examples, the base component 104 radiates outward from the mounting component 102 and towards the top component 108. In these examples, an angle between the mounting component 102 and the base component 104 is an obtuse angle.”).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the second lighting element arrangement, as taught by Levy, to be included in the device of Lawrence such that the configuration of the assembly provides a sufficiently bright amount of light to the flag regardless of wind condition (Levy par. 3. See also par. 46).
Regarding Claim 18: Lawrence discloses the method of Claim 14, but does not explicitly disclose wherein the first beam of light and the second beam of light each comprises a cone of light with a semi-vertical angle of less than 90°.
Levy discloses an analogous method (fig.’s 3-4, fig. 7, fig. 9, and par.’s 46-50: flagpole lighting attachment 100) wherein the beams of light each comprises a cone of light with a semi-vertical angle of less than 90° (fig. 4, fig. 9, and par. : light from LED’s 128 and 136 is directed by walls of inner cavities in support structure 130 through transparent sections 140. As shown in fig. 4, the inners walls of these sections intersect at acute angles, thereby directing light from 128 and 136 into a cone with semi-vertical angle of less than 90°.).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the planar surface with lighting element arrangement, as taught by Levy, to be included in the device of Lawrence such that the configuration of the assembly provides a sufficiently bright amount of light that is accurately directed at the flag regardless of wind condition (Levy par. 3. See also par. 46).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Clark (US 20060118029 A1) discloses a device for illuminating a flag pole according to certain limitations of claims 1-2, 10-11 and the method of illuminating a flag suspended from a flagpole according to certain limitations of claims 17-19.
Ciaccia (US 20070068444 A1) discloses a device for illuminating a flag pole according to certain limitations of claims 1-2, 10-11 and the method of illuminating a flag suspended from a flagpole according to certain limitations of claims 17-19.
Schmitt (US 5988100 A) discloses a device for illuminating a flag pole according to certain limitations of claims 1-2, 10-11 and the method of illuminating a flag suspended from a flagpole according to certain limitations of claims 17-19.
Ko (US 8057078 B1) discloses a device for illuminating a flag pole according to certain limitations of claims 1-2, 10-11 and the method of illuminating a flag suspended from a flagpole according to certain limitations of claims 17-19.
/EVAN MANCINI/Examiner, Art Unit 2855
/PAUL M. WEST/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2855