DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The following is a final office action in response to applicant’s reply, filed on 12/30/2025, to the Non-Final Office Action mailed on 10/07/2025.
Claims 1, 18 and 20 are amended. Claims 1-20 are pending and addressed below.
Applicant’s amendment has overcome rejection under 112(b) and objection to drawings, previously set forth in the non-final office action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 7-8, 12-13, 15, and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lou, as applied to claim 1 above, in view of ASTERJADHI; Alfred et al US 20150117364 A1, hereinafter ASTERJADHI.
Regarding claims 1, 18 and 20, Lou teaches, a wireless communication device comprising:
a network interface circuit, arranged to communicate with at least one another wireless communication device that is associated with the wireless communication device (see Lou Fig. 1A, 114a, 102a, 102b teaching wireless devices in a communication network, Fig. 1B, 120 teaching transceiver (=network circuit) for communication); and
a control circuit (see Lou Fig. 1B, 118 Processor (=control circuit)), arranged to generate a first frame and send the first frame to said at least one another wireless communication device through the network interface circuit (Lou Fig.14; [129] “The AP 1402 may transmit (e.g., unicast, groupcast, or broadcast) a frame 1410 (e.g., a trigger frame) to a plurality of STAs 1404, 1406. The frame 1410 may request that a group of A-PPDU capable STAs park (e.g., monitor and/or perform start of packet detection for a predetermined period) on one or more secondary subchannels or one or more non-primary subchannels. ... In examples, the frame 1410 may be an SST variant NFRP Trigger frame (e.g., referred to as NFRP SST Trigger frame)”), wherein the first frame is arranged to carry timing information of a subband transition between a primary band and a specific subband (Lou [103], [129] “The SST information may include a range of AID values (e.g., [x:y]) with which the corresponding STAs 1404, 1406 (e.g., STA 1 to STAN) are requested/suggested to park on a secondary subchannel; SST related information such as an SST channel, which may be a secondary subchannel indicated where the STAs 1404, 1406 will park during the upcoming SST period; an SST starting time and period, which may be the time duration on which the STAs 1404, 1406 will park on the SST subchannel; an SST periodicity (for example, if the SST occurs periodically, this field may indicate the periodicity)” teaching, the frame includes timing information for parking (=transitioning) in a secondary/non-primary subchannel (=specific subband) from a primary channel).
Lou does not expressly teach, however, in the same field of endeavor, ASTERJADHI teaches, wherein after an association procedure between the wireless communication device and said at least one another wireless communication device is successfully complete, triggering the subband transition depends on the wireless communication device's decision, where the timing information of the subband transition is not negotiated during the association procedure (ASTERJADHI [60] “For instance, the AP 104 may transmit one NDP or beacon frame on CH1 at time t.sub.0, another NDP on CH2 at time t.sub.1, and continue to transmit one NDP on one channel through times t.sub.2, t.sub.3, t.sub.4, t.sub.5, t.sub.6, and t.sub.7 to periodically change the primary channel of the AP 104. The STAs that may be associated with the AP 104 may be informed of the position of the primary channel (either a position of a current primary channel by receiving a frame in that channel or a position of a next primary channel by including information for the next primary channel in the received frame). The switching of the primary channel may be conveyed to the STAs by the AP 104 as a schedule provided at association or later through a management exchange with the STAs.”, [65] “In some implementations, a subchannel selective transmission (SST) procedure may be provided to allow STAs 106 configured for SST to dynamically change the location of the primary channel(s) (e.g., every beacon interval or every multiple sub-intervals within a beacon interval).”, [66] “The AP 104 can dynamically signal a subset of SST channels that a STA 106 (or group of STAs) is permitted to use for an interval of time. The subset of the permitted SST channels may be signaled by including an SST element in a (short) beacon or management (or control) frame, for example.”, teaches subband transition is not negotiated during “association”, rather after the association by a dynamic manner).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Lou to include the features as taught by ASTERJADHI above in order to provide a method for enhanced a subchannel selective transmission (SST) procedure in a wireless communication system (ASTERJADHI [0003]).
With respect to claim 18, claim recites the identical features of claim 1 for a corresponding inter-working receiving side. Therefore, it is subjected to the same rejection.
With respect to claim 20, claim recites the identical features of claim 1 for a corresponding method. Therefore, it is subjected to the same rejection.
Regarding claims 2 and 19, Lou, in view of ASTERJADHI, teaches the devices, as outlined in the rejection of claims 1 and 18.
Lou further teaches, wherein the timing information of the subband transition comprises at least one of a start time of the subband transition, a duration of parking at the specific subband, and an end time of the subband transition; or wherein the control circuit is further arranged to receive a second frame from said at least one another wireless communication device through the network interface circuit, the second frame is arranged to carry other timing information of the subband transition, and said other timing information of the subband transition comprises the end time of the subband transition (see Lou [129] “an SST starting time”. Satisfies “at least one of” and “or” criteria).
Regarding claim 3, Lou, in view of ASTERJADHI, teaches the device, as outlined in the rejection of claim 1.
Lou further teaches, wherein the control circuit is further arranged to receive a second frame through the network interface circuit, and the second frame is generated from said at least one another wireless communication device in response to the first frame (see Lou [130] “The STA 1404 may respond to the frame 1410 (e.g., trigger frame) with one or more feedback frames 1412 (e.g., one or more SST feedback frames), for example, when the AID of the STA 1404 is determined to be within the range of AIDs indicated in the trigger frame 1410.”, teaching a feedback frame (=second frame) in response to the trigger frame (=first frame)).
Regarding claim 7, Lou, in view of ASTERJADHI, teaches the device, as outlined in the rejection of claim 1.
Lou further teaches, wherein said at least one another wireless communication device comprises only a single wireless communication device, and the first frame is a unicast frame (Lou [129] “The AP 1402 may transmit (e.g., unicast, groupcast, or broadcast) a frame 1410 (e.g., a trigger frame) to a plurality of STAs 1404, 1406. It is inherent that STA (=another wireless communication device) can have non-multi-link device with a single wireless communication device (see also Lou Fig. 7)).
Regarding claim 8, Lou, in view of ASTERJADHI, teaches the device, as outlined in the rejection of claim 1.
Lou further teaches, wherein said at least one another wireless communication device comprises multiple wireless communication devices, and the first frame is a broadcast frame or a groupcast frame (Lou [129] “The AP 1402 may transmit (e.g., unicast, groupcast, or broadcast) a frame 1410 (e.g., a trigger frame) to a plurality of STAs 1404, 1406. Lou [106] teaches that another wireless communication device can be multi-link device with multiple wireless communication devices).
Regarding claim 12, Lou, in view of ASTERJADHI, teaches the device, as outlined in the rejection of claim 1.
Lou further teaches, wherein the wireless communication device is an access point (AP), and said at least one another wireless communication device is a non-AP station (STA) (Lou [129] “The AP 1402 may acquire a channel by using CSMA/CA procedures. The AP 1402 may transmit (e.g., unicast, groupcast, or broadcast) a frame 1410 (e.g., a trigger frame) to a plurality of STAs 1404, 1406. The frame 1410 may request that a group of A-PPDU capable STAs park (e.g., monitor and/or perform start of packet detection for a predetermined period) on one or more secondary subchannels or one or more non-primary subchannels.”, teaching that AP controls the subband switching time, thereby, teaching the wireless communication device is an AP and another wireless communication device is an STA).
Regarding claim 13, Lou, in view of ASTERJADHI, teaches the device, as outlined in the rejection of claim 12.
Lou further teaches, wherein during a period in which the non-AP STA parks at the specific subband, UL traffic between the AP and the non-AP STA is only triggered by the AP (Lou Fig. 8; [108] “The A-PPDU in UL from multiple STAs supporting different amendments may require a backwards-compatible trigger frame… “, [131] “The STAs, 1404, 1406 may send one or more UL A-PPDUs 1416 to the AP 1402 via the SST subchannel(s).” teaches, UL traffic is triggered from the AP for the SST subchannel (= specific subband).
Regarding claim 15, Lou, in view of ASTERJADHI, teaches the device, as outlined in the rejection of claim 1.
Lou further teaches, wherein said at least one another wireless communication device is an access point (AP), and the wireless communication device is a non-AP station (STA) (Lou [133] “A STA (e.g., an EHT SST non-AP STA) may include a Channel Switch Timing element in (Re-)Association Request frames that it transmits to an AP (e.g., an EHT SST AP). The STA may use the Channel Switch Timing element to indicate a time used by the STA to switch between different subchannels. The AP may determine a duration of time that the STA might not be available based on the received channel switch timing element.”, teaching STA controls the subband switching time, thereby, suggesting the wireless communication device and another wireless communication device reversing the role in controlling subband transition).
Claims 4-6 and 9-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lou in view of ASTERJADHI, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of CHITRAKAR; Rojan et al US 20210360522 A1, hereinafter CHITRAKAR.
Regarding claim 4, Lou, in view of ASTERJADHI, teaches the device, as outlined in the rejection of claim 3.
Lou further teaches, wherein the wireless communication device and said at least one another wireless communication device are associated in multi-link operation (MLO) (Lou [106] “These features may include: … Multi-Band/multi-link operation” teaches, multi-link operation).
Lou and ASTERJADHI do not expressly teach, however, in the same field of endeavor, CHITRAKAR teaches, the first frame and the second frame are transmitted on different links between the wireless communication device and said at least one another wireless communication device (CHITRAKAR [40] teaches multi-band (=multi-link) operation. Fig. 17; [107]-[108] teaches, beacon frame (=the first frame) is used on the primary band (=first link) to activate multi-band SP (Session Period) on other bands (=another link) for further communication frame (=second frame), thereby, teaching communication over different links for the first and second frame).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Lou and ASTERJADHI to include the features as taught by CHITRAKAR above in order to provide a method to reduce idle listening power consumption of multi-band non-AP STAs (CHITRAKAR [0003]).
Regarding claim 5, Lou, in view of ASTERJADHI, teaches the device, as outlined in the rejection of claim 3.
Lou further teaches, wherein the wireless communication device and said at least one another wireless communication device are associated in multi-link operation (MLO) (Lou [106] “These features may include: … Multi-Band/multi-link operation” teaches, multi-link operation).
Lou and ASTERJADHI do not expressly teach, however, in the same field of endeavor, CHITRAKAR teaches, the first frame is transmitted on a first link that is different from a second link on which the subband transition is to be executed (The claim is interpretated as transitioned subband being on a different link or band (CHITRAKAR Fig. 17; [107]-[108] teaches, beacon frame (=the first frame), to activate the session period (SP) on other bands (=subband transition), is on the primary band (=first link)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Lou and ASTERJADHI to include the features as taught by CHITRAKAR above in order to provide a method to reduce idle listening power consumption of multi-band non-AP STAs (CHITRAKAR [0003]).
Regarding claim 6, Lou, in view of ASTERJADHI, teaches the device, as outlined in the rejection of claim 1.
Lou further teaches, wherein the wireless communication device and said at least one another wireless communication device are associated in multi-link operation (MLO) (Lou [106] “These features may include: … Multi-Band/multi-link operation” teaches, multi-link operation).
Lou and ASTERJADHI do not expressly teach, however, in the same field of endeavor, CHITRAKAR teaches, the first frame is further arranged to carry a link identifier (ID) which specifies a specific link on which the subband transition is to be executed (see CHITRAKAR [107]-[108] teaching “Band ID” identifying transitioned (sub)band).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Lou and ASTERJADHI to include the features as taught by CHITRAKAR above in order to provide a method to reduce idle listening power consumption of multi-band non-AP STAs (CHITRAKAR [0003]).
Regarding claim 9, Lou, in view of ASTERJADHI, teaches the device, as outlined in the rejection of claim 1.
Lou and ASTERJADHI does not expressly teach, however, in the same field of endeavor, CHITRAKAR teaches, wherein the control circuit is further arranged to generate a second frame and send the second frame to said at least one another wireless communication device through the network interface circuit, and the second frame is arranged to carry other timing information of the subband transition, and said other timing information of the subband transition comprises an end time of the subband transition (The claim is interpreted as deactivating (sub)band transition with a second frame. CHITRAKAR Fig. 7; [74] “Once the AP has completed the transmission of all DL frames, it may transmit the MB announcement frame 750 (=second frame) with the Active Duration field 820 (see FIG. 8) corresponding to the Secondary band 2 set to 0 to allow the STAs to deactivate the band at time 752 (=end time)”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Lou and ASTERJADHI to include the features as taught by CHITRAKAR above in order to provide a method to reduce idle listening power consumption of multi-band non-AP STAs (CHITRAKAR [0003]).
Regarding claim 10, Lou and ASTERJADHI, in view of CHITRAKAR, teaches the device, as outlined in the rejection of claim 9.
Lou further teaches, wherein said at least one another wireless communication device comprises only a single wireless communication device (see Lou Fig. 7 STA 1).
CHITRAKAR further teaches, the second frame is a unicast frame (CHITRAKAR [83] “… management frames (unicast) and signals information about upcoming multi-band transmission to the STA addressed in the host frame”, suggesting second frame can be a unicast frame).
Regarding claim 11, Lou and ASTERJADHI, in view of CHITRAKAR, teaches the device, as outlined in the rejection of claim 9.
Lou further teaches, wherein said at least one another wireless communication device comprises multiple wireless communication devices (Lou [106] teaches that another wireless communication device can be multi-link device with multiple wireless communication devices).
CHITRAKAR further teaches, the second frame is a broadcast frame or a groupcast frame (CHITRAKAR [63] “Since the Primary band is used to carry important control and management frames … the element 500 may also be advertised in broadcast frames such as Beacon frames.”, suggesting the second frame can be a broadcast frame).
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lou in view of ASTERJADHI, as applied to claim 12 above, and further in view of KWON; Hyoung Jin et al US 20160242195 A1, hereinafter KWON.
Regarding claim 14, Lou, in view of ASTERJADHI, teaches the device, as outlined in the rejection of claim 12.
Lou and ASTERJADHI do not expressly teach, however, in the same field of endeavor, KWON teaches, wherein a period in which the non-AP STA parks at the specific subband is longer than a beacon period; and during the period in which the non-AP STA parks at the specific subband, the AP is arranged to transmit at least one beacon frame on the specific subband (The claim is about the device being in the subband long enough to be able to receive a beacon frame. KWON [69] “In subchannel selective transmission (SST) as FST, each of the STAs 120a to 120i selects one subchannel in each beacon interval and exchanges frames with the AP 110 through the selected subchannel”, [0092] “The STAs are allowed to conduct SST through channels to be used by the STAs among the permitted channels during a period from an Activity Start Time to a Target Beacon Transmission Time (TBTT) at which a next beacon signal is transmitted and thus may carry out SST during the period” teaches, STA (=device) having a period in subchannel, when conducted subchannel selective transmission (SST), such that it can receive the beacon signal).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Lou and ASTERJADHI to include the features as taught by KWON above in order to provide a method related to a wireless communication technology based on frequency selective transmission in a wireless local area network (WLAN) (KWON [0001]).
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lou in view of ASTERJADHI, as applied to claim 15 above, and further in view of SUN; Yanjun et al US 20230155782 A1, hereinafter SUN.
Regarding claim 16, Lou, in view of ASTERJADHI, teaches the device, as outlined in the rejection of claim 15.
Lou and ASTERJADHI do not expressly teach, however, in the same field of endeavor, SUN teaches, wherein during a period in which the non-AP STA parks at the specific subband, the non-AP STA is further arranged to do channel contention (SUN [116] “Initially, the AP may notify one or more STAs of the AP's determination to switch operation bands. In one example, the AP may notify the one or more STAs of the switch via a management frame”, [0117] “In a first technique, the AP may increase an enhanced distributed channel access (EDCA) parameter to provide a longer contention window (CW) on the new operating band so that the multiple STAs have a longer period of time to switch to the new operating band” teaches channel contention configuration in the switched operation band, thus, suggesting that communication device performs channel contention in the new frequence band).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Lou and ASTERJADHI to include the features as taught by SUN above in order to provide a method relating to signaling an indication of channel puncturing to mitigate interference, signal degradation, and packet error from collision (SUN [0001], [0047]).
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lou in view of ASTERJADHI and SUN, as applied to claim 16 above, in view CHUN; Jinyoung et al US 20170303280 A1, hereinafter CHUN.
Regarding claim 17, Lou, in view of ASTERJADHI and SUN, teaches the device, as outlined in the rejection of claim 16.
Lou and ASTERJADHI and SUN do not expressly teach, however, in the same field of endeavor, CHUN teaches, wherein during a period in which the non-AP STA parks at the specific subband, the non-AP STA is further arranged to respond with at least one frame that requires immediate response (The claim is interpreted, in line with the Spec para [22], as sending UL signal/traffic without a trigger (=immediate response). CHUN [0599] “2) UL SU: It is a method in which, in uplink, that is, when an STA transmits a signal to an AP, the STA directly occupies a medium through channel contending and transmits a signal to the AP, without a trigger frame from the AP”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Lou and ASTERJADHI and SUN to include the features as taught by CHUN above in order to provide a method for performing or supporting uplink single user/multi-user transmission (CHUN [0001]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
SEOK, US 20200288439 A1 - METHOD AND APPARATUS FOR ENHANCED PREAMBLE PUNCTURED PPDU IN A WIRELESS NETWORK.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MAHBUBUL BAR CHOWDHURY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2475