DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SEOK; Yongho US 20140086200 A1, hereinafter SEOK.
Regarding claims 1, 18 and 20, SEOK teaches, a non-access point (non-AP) station (STA) (SEOK Fig. 4, STA1, [71] “In FIG. 4, STA1, … correspond to the non-AP”) comprising:
a network interface circuit (see SEOK fig. 24, 23 Transceiver), arranged to communicate with an access point (AP) that is associated with the non-AP STA (see SEOK Fig. 4, BSS 1, STA 1, STA 2; [71] “In FIG. 4, STA1, STA3, and STA4 correspond to the non-AP STAs and STA2 and STA5 correspond to AP STAs”); and
a control circuit (see SEOK fig. 24, 21 Processor), arranged to generate a first frame and send the first frame to the AP through the network interface circuit, wherein the first frame is arranged to carry timing information of a subband transition between a primary band and a specific subband (SEOK [199] “the STA may transmit a Channel Switch Request frame to the AP over a primary channel.”; [0201] “In order to allow the STA and AP to move (or switch) to the selected channel, a switch time should be determined. Information regarding the switch time may be contained in the channel switch request frame. For example, when specific information indicating which sub-channel is selected is transmitted from the STA to the AP, switch time information required for switching (or moving) to the selected sub-channel can also be transmitted to the AP”, sub-channel transition is same as sub-band transmission in the art),
wherein after an association procedure between the non-AP STA and the AP is successfully complete, triggering the subband transition depends on the non-AP STA's decision, where the timing information of the subband transition is not negotiated during the association procedure; and after the non-AP STA is associated with the AP, the non-AP STA spontaneously sends the first frame to the AP to indicate or request the subband transition (This is inherent in SEOK. SEOK does not teach any negotiation of timing information during link or association set up process (see SEOK Fig. 5 and associated disclosure para [76]-[91]); [198] “The STA having received the NDPA frame and the NDP frame may select one or more sub-channels to be used for data frame transmission on the basis of the channel quality measurement result.”, further implies non-AP STA sends sub-channel transition request spontaneously, based on channel quality measurement result).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of SEOK to expressly recite that timing information for sub-band transition is not performed during association set up between the AP and non-AP STA thus providing a method for sub-channel selective access in a wireless LAN (WLAN) system (SEOK [0003]).
With respect to claim 18, claim recites the identical features of claim 1 for a corresponding inter-working receiving side. Therefore, it is subjected to the same rejection.
With respect to claim 20, claim recites the identical features of claim 1 for a corresponding method. Therefore, it is subjected to the same rejection.
Regarding claims 2 and 19, SEOK teaches the non-AP STA and AP, as outlined in the rejection of claims 1 and 18.
SEOK further teaches, wherein the timing information of the subband transition comprises at least one of a start time of the subband transition, a duration of parking at the specific subband, and an end time of the subband transition; or wherein the control circuit is further arranged to receive a second frame from the non-AP STA through the network interface circuit, the second frame is arranged to carry other timing information of the subband transition, and said other timing information of the subband transition comprises the end time of the subband transition (see SEOK [201] implies start or end time of transition, [204] teaches the duration of transition. Satisfies “at least one of” and “or” criteria).
Regarding claim 3, SEOK teaches the non-AP STA, as outlined in the rejection of claim 1.
SEOK further teaches, wherein the control circuit is further arranged to receive a second frame through the network interface circuit, and the second frame is generated from the AP in response to the first frame (SEOK [0202] “The AP having received the channel switch request frame including the switch time information transmits the channel switch response frame to the STA”).
Claims 4-6 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SEOK, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of CHITRAKAR; Rojan et al US 20210360522 A1, hereinafter CHITRAKAR.
Regarding claim 4, SEOK teaches the non-AP STA, as outlined in the rejection of claim 3.
SEOK does not expressly teach, however, in the same field of endeavor, CHITRAKAR teaches, wherein the non-AP STA and the AP are associated in multi-link operation (MLO), and the first frame and the second frame are transmitted on different links between the non-AP STA and the AP (CHITRAKAR [40] teaches multi-band (=multi-link) operation. Fig. 17; [107]-[108] teaches, beacon frame (=the first frame) is used on the primary band (=first link) to activate multi-band SP (Session Period) on other bands (=another link) for further communication frame (=second frame), thereby, teaching communication over different links for the first and second frame. The same concept can be applied here).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of SEOK to include the features as taught by CHITRAKAR above in order to provide a method to reduce idle listening power consumption of multi-band non-AP STAs (CHITRAKAR [0003]).
Regarding claim 5, SEOK teaches the non-AP STA, as outlined in the rejection of claim 3.
SEOK does not expressly teach, however, in the same field of endeavor, CHITRAKAR teaches, wherein the non-AP STA and the AP are associated in multi-link operation (MLO), and the first frame is transmitted on a first link that is different from a second link on which the subband transition is to be executed (The claim is interpretated as transitioned subband being on a different link or band (CHITRAKAR Fig. 17; [107]-[108] teaches, beacon frame (=the first frame), to activate the session period (SP) on other bands (=subband transition), is on the primary band (=first link). The same concept can be applied here).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of SEOK to include the features as taught by CHITRAKAR above in order to provide a method to reduce idle listening power consumption of multi-band non-AP STAs (CHITRAKAR [0003]).
Regarding claim 6, SEOK teaches the non-AP STA, as outlined in the rejection of claim 1.
SEOK does not expressly teach, however, in the same field of endeavor, CHITRAKAR teaches, wherein the non-AP STA and the AP are associated in multi-link operation (MLO), and the first frame is further arranged to carry a link identifier (ID) which specifies a specific link on which the subband transition is to be executed (see CHITRAKAR [107]-[108] teaching “Band ID” identifying transitioned (sub)band).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of SEOK to include the features as taught by CHITRAKAR above in order to provide a method to reduce idle listening power consumption of multi-band non-AP STAs (CHITRAKAR [0003]).
Regarding claim 9, SEOK teaches the non-AP STA, as outlined in the rejection of claim 1.
SEOK does not expressly teach, however, in the same field of endeavor, CHITRAKAR teaches, wherein the control circuit is further arranged to generate a second frame and send the second frame to the AP through the network interface circuit, and the second frame is arranged to carry other timing information of the subband transition, and said other timing information of the subband transition comprises an end time of the subband transition (The claim is interpreted as deactivating (sub)band transition with a second frame. CHITRAKAR Fig. 7; [74] “Once the AP has completed the transmission of all DL frames, it may transmit the MB announcement frame 750 (=second frame) with the Active Duration field 820 (see FIG. 8) corresponding to the Secondary band 2 set to 0 to allow the STAs to deactivate the band at time 752 (=end time)”. The same procedure can be applied in non-AP to AP direction here).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of SEOK to include the features as taught by CHITRAKAR above in order to provide a method to reduce idle listening power consumption of multi-band non-AP STAs (CHITRAKAR [0003]).
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SEOK, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of SUN; Yanjun et al US 20230155782 A1, hereinafter SUN.
Regarding claim 16, SEOK teaches the non-AP STA, as outlined in the rejection of claim 15.
SEOK does not expressly teach, however, in the same field of endeavor, SUN teaches, wherein during a period in which the non-AP STA parks at the specific subband, the non-AP STA is further arranged to do channel contention (SUN [116] “Initially, the AP may notify one or more STAs of the AP's determination to switch operation bands. In one example, the AP may notify the one or more STAs of the switch via a management frame”, [0117] “In a first technique, the AP may increase an enhanced distributed channel access (EDCA) parameter to provide a longer contention window (CW) on the new operating band so that the multiple STAs have a longer period of time to switch to the new operating band” teaches channel contention configuration in the switched operation band, thus, suggesting that communication device performs channel contention in the new frequence band).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of SEOK to include the features as taught by SUN above in order to provide a method relating to signaling an indication of channel puncturing to mitigate interference, signal degradation, and packet error from collision (SUN [0001], [0047]).
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SEOK and SUN, as applied to claim 16 above, in view CHUN; Jinyoung et al US 20170303280 A1, hereinafter CHUN.
Regarding claim 17, SEOK and SUN, teaches the non-AP STA, as outlined in the rejection of claim 16.
SEOK and SUN do not expressly teach, however, in the same field of endeavor, CHUN teaches, wherein during a period in which the non-AP STA parks at the specific subband, the non-AP STA is further arranged to respond with at least one frame that requires immediate response (The claim is interpreted, in line with the Spec para [22], as sending UL signal/traffic without a trigger (=immediate response). CHUN [0599] “2) UL SU: It is a method in which, in uplink, that is, when an STA transmits a signal to an AP, the STA directly occupies a medium through channel contending and transmits a signal to the AP, without a trigger frame from the AP”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of SEOK and SUN to include the features as taught by CHUN above in order to provide a method for performing or supporting uplink single user/multi-user transmission (CHUN [0001]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
SEOK, US 20200288439 A1 - METHOD AND APPARATUS FOR ENHANCED PREAMBLE PUNCTURED PPDU IN A WIRELESS NETWORK.
/MAHBUBUL BAR CHOWDHURY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2475