Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 1-11 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, the terms "preferably" and “preferred” render the claim(s) indefinite because the claim(s) include(s) elements not distinctly claimed (those encompassed by "preferably" and “preferred”), thereby rendering the scope of the claim(s) unascertainable. See MPEP § 2173.05(c). Claims 2-11 rejected for being dependent from rejected claim 1.
Regarding claims 7, 9, 10, and 11, the phrase "in particular" renders the claim(s) indefinite because the claim(s) include(s) elements not distinctly claimed (those encompassed by "in particular"), thereby rendering the scope of the claim(s) unascertainable. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Regarding claims 3, the phrase "the connector element comprise(s) an insertion opening through which the connector element can be inserted…for contact with the connector element" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear how the connector element can be inserted into itself and contacting itself. Claims 4-6 rejected for being dependent from rejected claim 3.
Claim 10 recites the limitations "the battery terminals" and “the plurality of bicycle elements”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim as only one battery terminal and one bicycle element was claimed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
application for patent published or deemed published under section 122(b), in which the patent or application, as the case may be, names another inventor and was effectively filed
before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Claims 1-5, 7-9, and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Calfee (US 9,615,472).
In re claim 1, Calfee discloses a bicycle element (as shown in Figure 4) comprising a bicycle frame element (62), a bicycle component (48) connected to the bicycle frame element, a battery terminal (where cables 38/162 connect to battery located in steerer tube, see column 2, lines 9-10) preferably provided at the bicycle frame element, a cable (38, 162) connected to the battery terminal, wherein the cable is arranged in the bicycle frame element and in the bicycle component (as shown in Figures 1, 2, and 4), and a holder element (28) connected to the bicycle component and/or designed as a bicycle component, which holder element fixes a connector element (40, as shown in Figure 5) connected to the cable.
In re claim 2, Calfee further discloses wherein the holder element fixes the connector element in a clamping manner (as shown in Figures 1-2).
In re claim 3, Calfee further discloses, as best understood (see 112 rejection above), wherein the holder element and/or the connector element comprise an insertion opening (76, as shown in Figure 5) through which the connector element can be inserted into the insertion opening for electric contact with the connector element (40).
In re claim 4, Calfee further discloses wherein the holder element is integrated in a headset of a steering bearing (52, as shown in Figure 2).
In re claim 5, Calfee further discloses wherein fixing the headset causes a clamping fixation of the connector element (as shown in Figure 2).
In re claim 7, Calfee further discloses wherein at least in the bicycle frame element, in particular in a down tube, the cable is arranged in a cable duct (within region 24 as shown in Figure 1). The Examiner notes that due to the “in particular” language, the “down tube” location is not required by the claim.
In re claim 8, Calfee further discloses wherein the cable duct extends at least to the steer tube, starting from the battery terminal (as shown in Figures 2 and 4).
In re claim 9, Calfee further discloses wherein the cable is routed from the battery terminal through a bicycle frame element, in particular the down tube and/or the steer tube (62), into the holder element receiving the connector element (as shown in Figure 2).
In re claim 11, Calfee further discloses a bicycle system, in particular a bicycle, comprising a single bicycle element of claim 1 (as shown in Figure 3).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Calfee.
In re claim 10, Calfee discloses a bicycle system, in particular a bicycle, comprising a plurality of bicycle elements of claim 1 comprising a single battery terminal for a single bicycle element (as shown in Figures 1-6), but does not disclose wherein the battery terminals of the plurality of bicycle elements are one and the same battery terminal. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to use the battery terminal to power a plurality of bicycle elements, since is has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ8.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 6 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The specific limitations of “wherein the holder element has a passage opening in which an elastically deformable clamping element is arranged which cooperates with the connector element and/or is a part of the connector element” is not anticipated or made obvious by the prior art of record in the examiner’s opinion.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure. The references cited on the attached PTO-892 teach bicycle cable/wire elements of interest.
/MICHAEL R STABLEY/Examiner, Art Unit 3611 /VALENTIN NEACSU/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3611