Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
In response to the amendments received in the Office on 05/06/2026, the Office acknowledges the current status of the claims: claims 1, 8, and 15 have been amended, claims 5-7, 12-14, and 18-20 remain the same, claims 2-4, 9-11, and 16-18 have been canceled, and no new matter appears to be included.
In response to the amendments received in Office on 05/06/2026, the rejection of claims 1-5, 9-14, and 19-20 under 35 U.S.C. § 103 have been withdrawn.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 05/06/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
A. Applicant’s Argument
Applicant argues “Li and Bhamri, even when combined, fail to teach or suggest all limitations of Claim 1 viewed as a whole. For instance, there does not appear to be any teaching or suggestion in the purported combination of Li and Bhamri of a method involving, feature: “beam indication information that indicates at least a beam identification (ID), slot offset information, duration information for applying the beam ID, and power control information”. Applicant further argues there is no field, bits, or data structure within Li's Beam Indication MAC CE that contains, indicates, or configures "power control information", see Remarks pages 8-12.
B. Examiner’s Response
Examiner respectfully disagrees. The cited portions of the combination of references Li and Bhamri clearly teach the limitation “beam indication information that indicates at least a beam identification (ID), slot offset information, duration information for applying the beam ID, and power control information”. Li is cited for beam indication information that indicates at least a beam identification (ID) information (fig. 21C and pars. 0143-0144, teaches receiving the NCR Access Link Beam Indication MAC CE indicated by the gNB. Furthermore, pars. 0152-0154, teaches the NCR Access Link Beam Indication MAC CE includes a set of beam index ID, fields, which indicates the updated beam index for forwarding resources within the list indicated by the resource set (list) ID field)… and power control information (fig. 21C and pars. 0143-0144, teaches receiving the NCR Access Link Beam Indication MAC CE indicated by the gNB and the NCR Access Link Beam Indication MAC CE is used to operate the NCR-Fwd 130. Additionally, fig. 1 and par. 0070, teaches MAC CEs will be intercepted and interpreted by the MAC layer of the NCR-MT 120 and used to provide side control information signaling for the NCR-Fwd 130. Moreover, par. 0008, teaches the behavior of the NCR-Fwd 130 is controlled according to the received side control information from the gNB 2316. Whereas, par. 0012, teaches the side control information includes beam information, ON-OFF information, and power control information. Thus, the side control information which includes, the power control information, is obtained by the NCR Access Link Beam Indication MAC CE which includes the beam indication information). Wherein, it is obvious within the cited portions, specifically par. 0012, which teaches the side control information includes beam information, ON-OFF information, and power control information that the MAC CE that is used to provide side control information signaling for the NCR-Fwd 130, wherein the side control information includes beam information and power control information reads on the recited claim limitation “beam indication information that indicates at least a beam identification (ID), … and power control information”. Although figure 21C does not depict the slot for power control information, the cited portions of reference Li clearly teach an inclusion of power control information within the MAC CE. Furthermore, figure 21C and par. 0012 depicts an activate/deactivate (A/D) field or otherwise referred to as, ON-OFF information which using the broadest reasonable interpretation reads as a type of power control information. Additionally, please see par. 0044 which teaches ON/OFF field indicates whether the turn on/off MAC CE is a power-off indication or a power-on indication and in some implementations, the ON/OFF field may be replaced with, or otherwise referred to as, an activate/deactivate (A/D) field.
Whereas, Bhamri is cited for beam indication information that indicates at least a … slot offset information, and duration information for applying the beam ID (fig. 10 and pars. 0046-0048, teaches the repeater receives the configuration/indication of time domain resource parameters. Wherein, the time domain resource parameters can include a slot offset, a starting symbol and a duration for applying an indicated beam. Whereas, the “a duration for applying an indicated beam” reads as duration information for applying the beam ID within the context of this passage). Wherein, it is clear that Bhamri teaches an indication of time domain resource parameters that indicates slot offset information, and duration information for applying the beam ID. Wherein the “indication of time domain resource parameters” reads as the beam indication information due to comprising slot offset information, and duration information for applying the beam ID.
Thus, in combination Li’s beam indication information that indicates at least a beam identification (ID), … and power control information and Bhamri’s beam indication information that indicates at least a … slot offset information, and duration information for applying the beam ID, teaches the claimed limitation “beam indication information that indicates at least a beam identification (ID), slot offset information, duration information for applying the beam ID, and power control information”.
C. Applicant’s Argument
Applicant argues “Li and Bhamri, even when combined, fail to teach or suggest all limitations of Claim 1 viewed as a whole. For instance, there does not appear to be any teaching or suggestion in the purported combination of Li and Bhamri of a method involving, features: obtaining, by the processor, the power control information configured in the beam indication information, see Remarks pages 8-12.
D. Examiner’s Response
Examiner respectfully disagrees. Li is cited for obtaining (fig. 21C and pars. 0143-0144, teaches receiving the NCR Access Link Beam Indication MAC CE indicated by the gNB. Furthermore, pars. 0152-0154, teaches the NCR Access Link Beam Indication MAC CE includes a set of beam index ID, fields, which indicates the updated beam index for forwarding resources within the list indicated by the resource set (list) ID field), by the processor (figs. 1 and 25 and pars. 0049, teaches the NCR-MT 120 includes/operates the PHY and MAC layers, which are responsible for receiving and processing side control information from the gNB, and sending power-on/off indications to the gNB. Moreover, the NCR-MT 120 is coupled to NCR-Fwd 130 see fig. 1. Furthermore, pars. 0237-0241, teaches processors 2510 coupled to communication resources 2530), the power control information configured in the beam indication information (fig. 21C and pars. 0143-0144, teaches receiving the NCR Access Link Beam Indication MAC CE indicated by the gNB and the NCR Access Link Beam Indication MAC CE is used to operate the NCR-Fwd 130. Additionally, fig. 1 and par. 0070, teaches MAC CEs will be intercepted and interpreted by the MAC layer of the NCR-MT 120 and used to provide side control information signaling for the NCR-Fwd 130. Moreover, par. 0008, teaches the behavior of the NCR-Fwd 130 is controlled according to the received side control information from the gNB 2316. Whereas, par. 0012, teaches the side control information includes beam information, ON-OFF information, and power control information. Thus, the side control information which includes, the power control information, is obtained by the NCR Access Link Beam Indication MAC CE which includes the beam indication information). Wherein, Li clearly teaches obtaining via the processor the NCR Access Link Beam Indication MAC CE indicated by the gNB. Wherein, the “NCR Access Link Beam Indication MAC CE” reads as the beam indication information. Furthermore, please see B. Examiner’s Response above for further explanation of how Li teaches the claimed limitation “the power control information configured in the beam indication information”.
E. Applicant’s Argument
Applicant further argues that similar limitations of claim 8 to the above argued limitations of claim 1, see Remarks pages 13-14.
D. Examiner’s Response
Examiner respectfully disagrees. Please see B. Examiner’s Response above for further explanation of how the combination of Li and Bhamri teach the argued claimed limitations.
F. Applicant’s Argument
Applicant argues Li and Bhamri, whether individually or combined, fail to teach or suggest all the limitations of Claim 15 viewed as a whole. For instance, there does not appear to be any teaching or suggestion in the purported combination of Li and Bhamri of a method similar to that recited in Claim 15 with at least the following feature: configuring, by the processor, power control information in the beam indication information, see Remarks pages 14-19.
G. Examiner’s Response
Examiner respectfully disagrees. Li is cited for configuring (fig. 21C and pars. 0143-0144 and 0150-0154, teaches gNB configuring the NCR with the NCR Access Link Beam Indication MAC CE), by the processor (fig. 24, and pars. 0226-0236), power control information in the beam indication information (pars. 0150-0154, teaches the NCR Access Link Beam Indication MAC CE includes a set of beam index ID. Whereas, each beam index ID, field indicates the updated beam index for forwarding resources within the list indicated by the resource set (list) ID field. Furthermore, par. 0012, teaches the side control information includes, the power control information. Whereas, fig. 1 and par. 0070, teaches MAC CEs will be intercepted and interpreted by the MAC layer of the NCR-MT 120 and used to provide side control information signaling for the NCR-Fwd 130. Thus, the side control information which includes, the power control information, is obtained by the NCR Access Link Beam Indication MAC CE which includes the beam indication information). Wherein, the base station clearly configures the NCR with the NCR Access Link Beam Indication MAC CE via the base station’s processor. Furthermore, please see B. Examiner’s Response above for further explanation of how Li teaches the claimed limitation “the power control information configured in the beam indication information”.
H. Applicant’s Argument
Applicant argues dependent claims 5-7, 13-14, and 19-20 are patentable for at least the reasons their corresponding independent claims are patentable. See remarks pages 19-20.
I. Examiner’s Response
Examiner respectfully disagrees for reasons above.
Examiner respectfully maintains the rejections below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 6, 8, 13, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al. (US20230268982 hereinafter Li, examiner notes reliance on provisional application 63/336,960, filed Apr. 29, 2022 which fully supports all citations made from Li in the rejection below) in view of Bhamri et al. (US20240014959 hereinafter Bhamri).
Regarding claims 1 and 8. Li teaches the method and apparatus implementable in a repeater, comprising: a transceiver configured to communicate wirelessly (figs. 1 and 25 and pars. 0007-0009, teaches the Network controlled repeater (NCR) includes the NCR mobile termination (NCR-MT) 120 and NCR forwarding function (NCR-Fwd) 130. Whereas, NCR-Fwd 130 is a function entity that performs the amplify-and-forwarding operations/functions of UL/DL RF signal(s) between the gNB and the UE. Furthermore, pars. 0237-0241, teaches communication resources 2530); and a processor coupled to the transceiver and configured to perform operations comprising (figs. 1 and 25 and pars. 0049, teaches the NCR-MT 120 includes/operates the PHY and MAC layers, which are responsible for receiving and processing side control information from the gNB, and sending power-on/off indications to the gNB. Moreover, the NCR-MT 120 is coupled to NCR-Fwd 130 see fig. 1. Furthermore, pars. 0237-0241, teaches processors 2510 coupled to communication resources 2530)
receiving, via the transceiver (figs. 1 & 21 and pars. 0007-0009 & 0237-0241), a configuration indicating a control information from a network node of a wireless network (fig. 21C and pars. 0143-0144, teaches receiving the NCR Access Link Beam Indication MAC CE indicated by the gNB. Moreover, par. 0144 teaches upon receiving the NCR Access Link Beam Indication MAC CE, the NCR node 102 applies the configuration signaled in the MAC CE as received by NCR-MT 120 to the forwarding resource lists indicated via RRC, and use it to operate the NCR-Fwd 130. Thus, the “NCR Access Link Beam Indication MAC CE indicated by the gNB” reads as a configuration indicating a control information from a network node of a wireless network),
wherein the control information comprises beam indication information that indicates at least a beam identification (ID) information (fig. 21C and pars. 0143-0144, teaches receiving the NCR Access Link Beam Indication MAC CE indicated by the gNB. Furthermore, pars. 0152-0154, teaches the NCR Access Link Beam Indication MAC CE includes a set of beam index ID, fields, which indicates the updated beam index for forwarding resources within the list indicated by the resource set (list) ID field) … and power control information (fig. 21C and pars. 0143-0144, teaches receiving the NCR Access Link Beam Indication MAC CE indicated by the gNB and the NCR Access Link Beam Indication MAC CE is used to operate the NCR-Fwd 130. Additionally, fig. 1 and par. 0070, teaches MAC CEs will be intercepted and interpreted by the MAC layer of the NCR-MT 120 and used to provide side control information signaling for the NCR-Fwd 130. Moreover, par. 0008, teaches the behavior of the NCR-Fwd 130 is controlled according to the received side control information from the gNB 2316. Whereas, par. 0012, teaches the side control information includes beam information, ON-OFF information, and power control information. Examiner notes, both “power control information” and/or ON-OFF information may read on “power control information” within the additional context of par. 0044 which teaches ON/OFF field indicates whether the turn on/off MAC CE is a power-off indication or a power-on indication and in some implementations, the ON/OFF field may be replaced with, or otherwise referred to as, an activate/deactivate (A/D) field. Thus, the side control information which includes, the power control information and/or ON-OFF information, is obtained by the NCR Access Link Beam Indication MAC CE which includes the beam indication information);
obtaining the power control information configured in the beam indication information (fig. 21C and pars. 0143-0144, teaches receiving the NCR Access Link Beam Indication MAC CE indicated by the gNB and the NCR Access Link Beam Indication MAC CE is used to operate the NCR-Fwd 130. Additionally, fig. 1 and par. 0070, teaches MAC CEs will be intercepted and interpreted by the MAC layer of the NCR-MT 120 and used to provide side control information signaling for the NCR-Fwd 130. Moreover, par. 0008, teaches the behavior of the NCR-Fwd 130 is controlled according to the received side control information from the gNB 2316. Whereas, par. 0012, teaches the side control information includes beam information, ON-OFF information, and power control information. Thus, the side control information which includes, the power control information/ ON-OFF information, is obtained by the NCR Access Link Beam Indication MAC CE which includes the beam indication information);
determining a specific beam for a signal based on the beam ID of the beam indication information (pars. 0150-0154, teaches the NCR Access Link Beam Indication MAC CE includes a set of beam index ID. Whereas, each beam index ID, field indicates the updated beam index for forwarding resources within the list indicated by the resource set (list) ID field. Moreover, the beam index indicates the beam index for the first forwarding resource within the list);
determining a transmission power of the signal based on the power control information (par. 0012, teaches the side control information includes, the power control information. Whereas, par. 0021, teaches the power control information is used to control the amplifying of NCR-Fwd 130);
determining an activation of forwarding a signal to a user equipment (UE) or to the network node (fig. 21C and pars. 0143-0144, teaches receiving the NCR Access Link Beam Indication MAC CE indicated by the gNB. Furthermore, pars. 0152-0153, teaches the NCR Access Link Beam Indication MAC CE includes an activate.deactivate (A/D) field. Whereas, if the value of the A/D field is set to 1, the forwarding resource list indicated in resource set (list) ID field is being activated. If the value of the A/D field is set to 0, the forwarding resource list indicated in the resource set (list) ID field is being deactivated. Moreover, pars. 0043-0045 and tables 1.1.2-1 and 1.1.2-2, teaches the ON/OFF field may be replaced with, or otherwise referred to as, an activate/deactivate (A/D) field within a MAC CE. Wherein, the field indicates which NCR component (e.g., NCR-MT 120 and/or NCR-Fwd 130) is to be turned on/off as indicated by the ON/OFF field and applying/performing action indicated by ON/OFF field to either or both NCR-MT and NCR-Fwd. Furthermore, fig. 1 and pars. 0007-0008, teaches the NCR forwarding function (NCR-Fwd) 130 is a function entity that performs the amplify-and-forwarding operations/functions of UL/DL RF signal(s) between the gNB 2316 and the UE 2302 via a backhaul link and access link. Moreover, par. 0020, teaches the ON-OFF information is used for network-controlled repeater to control the behavior of NCR-Fwd 130. Thus, the NCR Access Link Beam Indication MAC CE including the A/D or ON/OFF field to activate the NCR-Fwd and the NCR-Fwd applying/performing the amplify-and-forwarding operations/functions of UL/DL RF signal(s) between the gNB 2316 and the UE 2302 via a backhaul link and access link reads as determining an activation of forwarding a signal to a user equipment (UE) or to the network node based on the control information).
However, although Li teaches the control information comprises beam indication information that indicates at least a beam identification (ID) information (fig. 21C and pars. 0143-0144), the apparatus and methods of Li explicitly fails to disclose, the control information comprises beam indication information that indicates at least a … slot offset information, and duration information for applying the beam ID; and determining an activation of forwarding a signal to a user equipment (UE) or to the network node based on the slot offset information and the duration information for applying the beam ID.
Bhamri disclosed apparatus, systems, and methods for forwarding, so Bhamri is analogous to Li. Furthermore, Bhamri teaches the control information comprises beam indication information that indicates at least a … slot offset information, and duration information for applying the beam ID (fig. 10 and pars. 0046-0048, teaches the repeater receives the configuration/indication of time domain resource parameters. Wherein, the time domain resource parameters can include a slot offset, a starting symbol and a duration for applying an indicated beam. Whereas, the “a duration for applying an indicated beam” reads as duration information for applying the beam ID within the context of this passage); and
determining an activation of forwarding a signal to a user equipment (UE) or to the network node based on the slot offset information and the duration information for applying the beam ID (fig. 10 and pars. 0048-0051, teaches the repeater forwards the DL/UL signals/channels to/from the UE on the access link according to the determined time domain resources and indicated beam. Wherein, the time domain resource parameters can include a slot offset, a starting symbol and a duration for applying an indicated beam).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize the control information comprises beam indication information that indicates at least a … slot offset information, and duration information for applying the beam ID; and determining an activation of forwarding a signal to a user equipment (UE) or to the network node based on the slot offset information and the duration information for applying the beam ID, as disclosed by Bhamri with the method and apparatus of Li. The motivations for doing so would be to improve network coverage. (see Bhamri par. 0001)
Regarding claims 6 and 13. Li and Bhamri teaches the method and apparatus for claims 1 and 8. Li further teaches the repeater is inactive before receiving the on-off information for activating the repeater (par. 0020, teaches the NCR-Fwd 130 is always expected to be “OFF” unless otherwise explicitly or implicitly indicated by the gNB. Moreover, pars. 0042-0045 teaches the ON-OFF information indicates whether the turn on/off MAC CE is a power-off indication or a power-on indication. Wherein if the field is set to 1 the ON/OFF action is “turn on” or “activate”, moreover if the field is set to 0 the ON/OFF action is “turn off” or “deactivate”),
or the repeater is turned off in response of receiving an off command (pars. 0042-0045 teaches the ON-OFF information indicates whether the turn on/off MAC CE is a power-off indication or a power-on indication. Wherein if the field is set to 1 the ON/OFF action is “turn on” or “activate”, moreover if the field is set to 0 the ON/OFF action is “turn off” or “deactivate”. Thus, if the ON-OFF information indicates a 0 the MAC CE is a power-off indication and the NCR component (e.g., NCR-MT 120 and/or NCR-Fwd 130) is to be turned on/off as indicated by the ON/OFF field. Examiners note: this limitation uses alternative language (or), and thus only one of the limitations tied to the “or” statement needs to be shown by the prior art).
Regarding claim 15. Li teaches the method comprising: configuring, by a processor of a network node (fig. 24, and pars. 0226-0236, teaches application processing circuitry 2432 coupled with protocol processing circuitry 2434. Furthermore, pr. 0022, teaches the network (e.g., RAN 2304, AP 2306, ANs 2308, CN 2320, AN 2404, hardware resources 2500, and/or the like)), a configuration indicating a control information to a repeater of a wireless network (fig. 21C and pars. 0143-0144 and 0150-0154, teaches NCR Access Link Beam Indication MAC CE is used by a gNB 2316 to indicate to an NCR node 102 the forwarding resources to be used. Moreover, the NCR node 102 applies the configuration signaled in the MAC CE as received by NCR-MT 120 to the forwarding resource lists indicated via RRC, and use it to operate the NCR-Fwd 130. Pars. 0006-0007, teaches Network controlled repeaters (NCRs) NCR mobile termination (NCR-MT) 120 and NCR forwarding function (NCR-Fwd) 130, par. 0329, teaches medium access control (MAC), and par. 0137, teaches MAC Control Element (CE)),
wherein the control information comprises beam indication information that indicates at least a beam identification (ID) (fig. 21C and pars. 0150-0154, teaches NCR Access Link Beam Indication MAC CE includes a C field, which indicates whether the octets containing beam index ID field(s) are present. If the value of the C field is set to 1, the beam index ID, field(s) is/are present. If the value of this field is set to 0, the beam index ID, field(s) is/are absent),
configuring (fig. 21C and pars. 0143-0144 and 0150-0154, teaches gNB configuring the NCR with the NCR Access Link Beam Indication MAC CE), by the processor (fig. 24, and pars. 0226-0236), power control information in the beam indication information (pars. 0150-0154, teaches the NCR Access Link Beam Indication MAC CE includes a set of beam index ID. Whereas, each beam index ID, field indicates the updated beam index for forwarding resources within the list indicated by the resource set (list) ID field. Furthermore, par. 0012, teaches the side control information includes, the power control information. Whereas, fig. 1 and par. 0070, teaches MAC CEs will be intercepted and interpreted by the MAC layer of the NCR-MT 120 and used to provide side control information signaling for the NCR-Fwd 130. Thus, the side control information which includes, the power control information, is obtained by the NCR Access Link Beam Indication MAC CE which includes the beam indication information) and transmitting, by the processor (fig. 24, and pars. 0226-0236), the beam indication information to the repeater (pars. 0143-0144, teaches the NCR Access Link Beam Indication MAC CE is used by a gNB to indicate to an NCR node 102 the forwarding resources to be used and the NCR reception of the NCR Access Link Beam Indication MAC CE. Thus, it is obvious the gNB is transmitting the beam indication information to the repeater),
wherein a specific beam is determined for the signal based on the beam ID of the beam indication information (pars. 0150-0154, teaches the NCR Access Link Beam Indication MAC CE includes a set of beam index ID. Whereas, each beam index ID, field indicates the updated beam index for forwarding resources within the list indicated by the resource set (list) ID field. Moreover, the beam index indicates the beam index for the first forwarding resource within the list),
and a transmission power is determined for the signal based on the power control information (par. 0012, teaches the side control information includes, the power control information. Whereas, par. 0021, teaches the power control information is used to control the amplifying of NCR-Fwd 130).
However, although Li teaches the control information comprises beam indication information that indicates at least a beam identification (ID) information (fig. 21C and pars. 0143-0144), the apparatus and methods of Li explicitly fails to disclose, the control information comprises beam indication information that indicates at least a … slot offset information, and duration information for applying the beam ID, and wherein the slot offset information and the duration information for applying the beam ID are used to determine an activation of forwarding a signal to a user equipment (UE) or to the network node.
Bhamri disclosed apparatus, systems, and methods for forwarding, so Bhamri is analogous to Li. Furthermore, Bhamri teaches the control information comprises beam indication information that indicates at least a … slot offset information, and duration information for applying the beam ID (fig. 10 and pars. 0046-0048, teaches the repeater receives the configuration/indication of time domain resource parameters. Wherein, the time domain resource parameters can include a slot offset, a starting symbol and a duration for applying an indicated beam. Whereas, the “a duration for applying an indicated beam” reads as duration information for applying the beam ID within the context of this passage), and
wherein the slot offset information and the duration information for applying the beam ID are used to determine an activation of forwarding a signal to a user equipment (UE) or to the network node (fig. 10 and pars. 0048-0051, teaches the repeater forwards the DL/UL signals/channels to/from the UE on the access link according to the determined time domain resources and indicated beam. Wherein, the time domain resource parameters can include a slot offset, a starting symbol and a duration for applying an indicated beam).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize the control information comprises beam indication information that indicates at least a … slot offset information, and duration information for applying the beam ID, and wherein the slot offset information and the duration information for applying the beam ID are used to determine an activation of forwarding a signal to a user equipment (UE) or to the network node, as disclosed by Bhamri with the method and apparatus of Li. The motivations for doing so would be to improve network coverage. (see Bhamri par. 0001)
Claims 5, 12, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al. (US20230268982 hereinafter Li, examiner notes reliance on provisional application 63/336,960, filed Apr. 29, 2022 which fully supports all citations made from Li in the rejection below), in view of Bhamri et al. (US20240014959 hereinafter Bhamri), in further view of Kim (US20210105851).
Regarding claims 5 and 12. Li and Bhamri teaches the method and apparatus for claims 1 and 8. Li further teaches the beam indication information comprises a table configuring a plurality of beam IDs (pars. 0150-0154, teaches the NCR Access Link Beam Indication MAC CE includes a set of beam index ID. Whereas, each beam index ID, field indicates the updated beam index for forwarding resources within the list indicated by the resource set (list) ID field. Whereas, the beam index indicates the beam index for the first forwarding resource within the list, the second forwarding resource within the list, and so on).
However, although Li teaches the beam indication information comprises a table configuring a plurality of beam IDs (pars. 0150-0154), the combination of Li and Bhamri explicitly fails to disclose, the beam indication information comprises a table configuring a plurality of beam IDs and a plurality of power control information during a plurality of slots.
Kim disclosed apparatus, systems, and methods for beam indication information, so Kim is analogous to Li. Furthermore, Kim teaches the beam indication information comprises a table configuring a plurality of beam IDs and a plurality of power control information during a plurality of slots (par. 0101, teaches the configured beam information may include at least one of a configured beam index (or identifier), configuration information of each beam (e.g., transmission power), and transmission and/or reception timing information of each beam (e.g., subframe index, slot index, mini-slot index, symbol index, offset). Whereas, the “configured beam index” reads as a table configuring a plurality of beam IDs, the “configuration information of each beam (e.g., transmission power)” reads as a plurality of power control information, and “transmission and/or reception timing information of each beam” reads as power control information during a plurality of slots).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize the beam indication information comprises a table configuring a plurality of beam IDs and a plurality of power control information during a plurality of slots, as disclosed by Kim with the combination of Li and Bhamri. The motivations for doing so would be to improve performance. (See Kim par. 0028)
Regarding claim 19. Li and Bhamri teaches the method for claim 15. Li further teaches the beam indication information comprises a table configuring a plurality of beam IDs (pars. 0150-0154, teaches the NCR Access Link Beam Indication MAC CE includes a set of beam index ID. Whereas, each beam index ID, field indicates the updated beam index for forwarding resources within the list indicated by the resource set (list) ID field. Whereas, the beam index indicates the beam index for the first forwarding resource within the list, the second forwarding resource within the list, and so on).
However, the combination of Li and Bhamri explicitly fails to disclose, the beam indication information comprises a table configuring a plurality of beam IDs and a plurality of power control information during a plurality of slots.
Kim disclosed apparatus, systems, and methods for beam indication information, so Kim is analogous to Li. Furthermore, Kim teaches the beam indication information comprises a table configuring a plurality of beam IDs and a plurality of power control information during a plurality of slots (par. 0101, teaches the configured beam information may include at least one of a configured beam index (or identifier), configuration information of each beam (e.g., transmission power), and transmission and/or reception timing information of each beam (e.g., subframe index, slot index, mini-slot index, symbol index, offset). Whereas, the “configured beam index” reads as a table configuring a plurality of beam IDs, the “configuration information of each beam (e.g., transmission power)” reads as a plurality of power control information, and “transmission and/or reception timing information of each beam” reads as power control information during a plurality of slots).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize the beam indication information comprises a table configuring a plurality of beam IDs and a plurality of power control information during a plurality of slots, as disclosed by Kim with the combination of Li and Bhamri. The motivations for doing so would be to improve performance. (See Kim par. 0028)
Claims 7, 14, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al. (US20230268982 hereinafter Li, examiner notes reliance on provisional application 63/336,960, filed Apr. 29, 2022 which fully supports all citations made from Li in the rejection below), in view of Bhamri et al. (US20240014959 hereinafter Bhamri), in further view of Choi et al. (US20240298190 hereinafter Choi).
Regarding claims 7 and 14. Li and Bhamri teaches the method and apparatus for claims 1 and 8. Li further teaches the processor is further configured to perform operations comprising: receiving, via the transceiver (figs. 1 & 21 and pars. 0007-0009 & 0237-0241), the beam indication information (pars. 0143-0144, 0150-0154, teaches receiving the NCR Access Link Beam Indication MAC CE includes a set of beam index ID. Whereas, each beam index ID, field indicates the updated beam index for forwarding resources within the list indicated by the resource set (list) ID field. Moreover, the beam index indicates the beam index for the first forwarding resource within the list).
However, the combination of Li and Bhamri explicitly fails to disclose, receiving the beam indication information periodically.
Choi disclosed apparatus, systems, and methods for a repeater device, so Choi is analogous to Li. Furthermore, Choi teaches receiving the beam indication information periodically (par. 0110, teaches the base station 110 may transmit the beam configuration information to the repeater device, the beam configuration information may be periodically transmitted. Whereas, the language “beam configuration information” reads as the beam indication information within the context of par. 0109, which teaches base station 110 may determine beams to be applied to downlink transmission and based on the determined beams, the base station 110 may generate beam configuration information for the repeater device. Furthermore, it is obvious the repeater device is receiving the periodically transmitted the beam configuration information).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize receiving the beam indication information periodically, as disclosed by Choi with the combination of Li and Bhamri. The motivations for doing so would be to reduce interference. (see Choi par. 0007)
Regarding claim 20. Li and Bhamri teaches the method for claim 15. Li further teaches configuring (fig. 21C and pars. 0143-0144 and 0150-0154, teaches gNB configuring the NCR with the NCR Access Link Beam Indication MAC CE), by the processor (fig. 24, and pars. 0226-0236), the beam indication information (pars. 0150-0154, teaches the NCR Access Link Beam Indication MAC CE includes a set of beam index ID. Whereas, each beam index ID, field indicates the updated beam index for forwarding resources within the list indicated by the resource set (list) ID field. Moreover, the beam index indicates the beam index for the first forwarding resource within the list).
However, the combination of Li and Bhamri explicitly fails to disclose, receiving the beam indication information periodically.
Choi disclosed apparatus, systems, and methods for a repeater device, so Choi is analogous to Li. Furthermore, Choi teaches receiving the beam indication information periodically (par. 0110, teaches the base station 110 may transmit the beam configuration information to the repeater device, the beam configuration information may be periodically transmitted. Whereas, the language “beam configuration information” reads as the beam indication information within the context of par. 0109, which teaches base station 110 may determine beams to be applied to downlink transmission and based on the determined beams, the base station 110 may generate beam configuration information for the repeater device. Furthermore, it is obvious the repeater device is receiving the periodically transmitted the beam configuration information).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize receiving the beam indication information periodically, as disclosed by Choi with the combination of Li and Bhamri. The motivations for doing so would be to reduce interference. (see Choi par. 0007)
Conclusion
/TRACY LAUREN RAIMONDO/Examiner, Art Unit 2474
/Michael Thier/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2474