DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
Claims 23-33, 35 and 42-49 are pending, claims 1-22, 34 and 36-41 are canceled and claims 42-49 are newly added.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claim 23-28, 35, 42-45 and 49 is/are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Nordmark US20080151893A1, hereinafter Nordmark’893 in view of Nordmark US 20100080225 A1, hereinafter Nordmark’225.
Regarding claim 23, Nordmark’893 teaches for a network controller for managing hosts in a network, a method for configuring a host to resolve network addresses, the method comprising:
(Nordmark’893: Summary, Fig. 1-4 and para. [0052] and para. [0012] computer usable medium having computer readable program code embodied therein for causing a computer system to execute a method for configuring a network)
configuring an address resolution module (address translation module/utility 425) in a host (host 330) to resolve a network address; and
(Nordmark’893: para. [0052 & 0047] figures 3 and 4 where address translation module 425 is part of routing module 400 in the host 330)
configuring a managed forwarding element (routing module 400 Fig. 1 and Fig. 4) in the host (host 101 of Fig. 1) with a packet processing rule comprising a field for a resolved network address, (Nordmark’893: para. [0052] address translation utility (425) rewrites the source and/or destination addresses of packets as they pass through the routing module (400) or the virtual network stack implementing the address translation. Para. [0023 & 0059] analyzing the packets by a classifier (not shown) on each NIC (e.g., NIC 1 (100), NIC 2 (102), NIC 3 (103), NIC 4 (104)) includes analyzing one or more fields in each of the packets to determine to which of the receive rings the packets are forwarded. The classifier may use the contents of one or more fields in each packet as an index into a data structure that includes information necessary to determine to which receive ring that packet is forwarded)
and (ii) forward packets using the resolved network address. (Nordmark’893: para. [0052] and figures 3-4 The address translation utility 425 rewrites the source and/or destination addresses (correspond to claim limitation “resolved network address”) of packets as they pass though the routing module 400 providing the determined destination address as routing module provide routing, thereby without having to send ARP request to another host)
It is noted that Nordmark’893 does not explicitly disclose: wherein the managed forwarding element is configured to: (i) when processing a packet for which the resolved network address is required and the field for the resolved network address is not populated, request the resolved network address from the address resolution module, wherein the address resolution module is configured to populate the field with the resolved network address to produce a populated packet processing rule and store the populated packet processing rule in a forwarding table of the managed forwarding element.
However, Nordmark’225 from the same or similar fields of endeavor teaches the use of: wherein the managed forwarding element is configured to: (i) when processing a packet for which the resolved network address is required and the field for the resolved network address is not populated, (Nordmark’225: para. [0037] Step 504, a route entry is located in the FIB using the destination IP address. In Step 506, a determination is made about whether the RNP of the route entry is NULL (correspond to claim limitation “resolved network address is not populated”). If the RNP of the route entry is NULL, then the method proceeds to Step 514. para: [0040] Step 520, a determination is made about whether the NP (obtained from the route entry obtained in Step 504) in the NRE is NULL (i.e., has a NCE for the interface been previously located and/or created))
request the resolved network address from the address resolution module, (Nordmark’225: Para. [0018 & 0041] each NCE may include, but is not limited to, ARP information (i.e., information obtained using ARP) (e.g., MAC address or Ethernet Hardware Address (EHA)), and information about the age of the NCE.)
wherein the address resolution module is configured to populate the field with the resolved network address to produce a populated packet processing rule and store the populated packet processing rule in a forwarding table of the managed forwarding element. (Nordmark’225: para. [0041 & 0033 & 0018 & 0035] Step 530, the NP of other route entries is updated. Specifically, the NP of route entries dependent (directly or indirectly) on the NRE is updated to point to the NCE) Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of Nordmark’225 in the method of Nordmark’893. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do so for provide a mechanism for reducing the overhead required to keep the information in a forward information base (FIB) current (Nordmark’225: para. [0015]), and for creating route entries and tracking the dependency between the route entries. In the event that a given route entry is no longer valid or is to be deleted, the generation number in the dependent route entries are updated. However, the new dependencies do not need to determined for all of the aforementioned updated route entries until such time as the route entry is required to route a packet. Further, the route entries also include the ability to reference the corresponding ARP information for their gateway (Nordmark’225: para. [0053]).
Regarding claim 24, Nordmark’893 and Nordmark’225 teach the method of claim 23, wherein the request for the resolved network address is an address resolution protocol (ARP) request. (Nordmark’893: para. [0052] and figure 4 The address translation utility 425 rewrites the source and/or destination addresses of packets as they pass though the routing module 400 providing the determined destination address as routing module provide routing, thereby without having to send ARP request to another host)
Regarding claim 25, Nordmark’893 and Nordmark’225 teach the method of claim 23 further comprising configuring the address resolution module to maintain and use a list of address pairs, wherein each pair in the list includes a first address and a second address, the first address being an address to resolve, the second address being an address to which the first address is to be resolved. (Nordmark’893: para. [0052] and figure 4 The address translation utility 425 rewrites the source and/or destination addresses of packets as they pass though the routing module 400 providing the determined destination address as routing module provide routing, para. [0054& 0055] routing table for enabling address resolution and translation, e.g. IP addresses, MAC addresses.)
Regarding claim 26, Nordmark’893 and Nordmark’225 teach the method of claim 25, wherein the first address is a network layer address (IP addresses) and the second address is a data link layer address (MAC addresses). (Nordmark’893: para. [0025 & 0055] vNIC is associated with one or more IP addresses one or more MAC addresses)
Regarding claim 27, Nordmark’893 and Nordmark’225 teach the method of claim 25, wherein the first address is an Internet Protocol (IP) address and the second address is a Media Access Control (MAC) address. (Nordmark’893: para. [0025 & 0055] vNIC is associated with one or more IP addresses one or more MAC addresses)
Regarding claim 28, Nordmark’893 and Nordmark’225 teach the method of claim 25 further comprising configuring the address resolution module to send an address resolution protocol (ARP) request to other hosts in the network to obtain an address to which to resolve the network address when the list does not include an address pair that includes the network address. (Nordmark’893: para. [0051] an ARP request is broadcast by the first host and received by the second host, which replies with the missing information)
Regarding claim 35, Nordmark’893 and Nordmark’225 teach the method of claim 23, wherein the address resolution module (Nordmark’893: Fig. 4 address resolution utility 420 of Routing Module 400/328/326) and the managed forwarding element (routing module 400 Fig. 1 and Fig. 4 (Nordmark’893: para. [0052] address translation utility (425) rewrites the source and/or destination addresses of packets as they pass through the routing module (400) or the virtual network stack implementing the address translation. Para. [0023 & 0059] analyzing the packets by a classifier (not shown) on each NIC (e.g., NIC 1 (100), NIC 2 (102), NIC 3 (103), NIC 4 (104)) includes analyzing one or more fields in each of the packets to determine to which of the receive rings the packets are forwarded. The classifier may use the contents of one or more fields in each packet as an index into a data structure that includes information necessary to determine to which receive ring that packet is forwarded) are software applications (Nordmark’893: para. [0064] node may correspond to a processor with associated physical memory. The node may alternatively correspond to a processor with shared memory and/or resources. Further, software instructions to perform may be stored on a computer readable medium and Fig 4) running in the host (Nordmark’893: fig. 1 and Fig. 2 para. [0022] host (330) and Fig.3).
It is noted that Nordmark’893 does not explicitly disclose: wherein the address resolution module and the managed switching element are separate software applications.
However, Nordmark’225 from the same or similar fields of endeavor teaches the use of: wherein the address resolution module
(Nordmark’225: Fig. 1 and para. [0016] network interfaces (100, 102) may be physical network interfaces or virtual network interface (i.e., network interfaces implemented in software). Regardless of the implementation, the network interfaces (100, 102) are operatively connected to a data link layer (104). The data link layer (104) is configured to implement, among other protocols, the Address Resolution Protocol (ARP) to determine a computer's hardware address (e.g., the media access control (MAC) address) using an Internet Protocol (IP) address of the computer) and the managed switching element are separate software applications (Nordmark’225: Fig. 1 and para. [0021] router, then the FIB, the RIB, the routing daemon, and routing software (i.e., software used to route packets using the FIB) may be implemented in the router. In such cases, the router may not include, for example, software configured to perform the functionality of the transport layer) Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of Nordmark’225 in the method of Nordmark’893. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do so for provide a mechanism for reducing the overhead required to keep the information in a forward information base (FIB) current (Nordmark’225: para. [0015]), and for creating route entries and tracking the dependency between the route entries. In the event that a given route entry is no longer valid or is to be deleted, the generation number in the dependent route entries are updated. However, the new dependencies do not need to determined for all of the aforementioned updated route entries until such time as the route entry is required to route a packet. Further, the route entries also include the ability to reference the corresponding ARP information for their gateway (Nordmark’225: para. [0053]).
Regarding claims 42-45 and 49, Nordmark’893 teaches a computer system for managing hosts in a network, the computer system comprising: at least one processor; and memory storing instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the computer system to: (Nordmark’893: Summary, Fig. 1-4 and para. [0052] and para. [0012 & 0064] computer usable medium having computer readable program code embodied therein for causing a computer system to execute a method for configuring a network) and Nordmark’893 and Nordmark’225 teach all the limitations as discussed in the rejection of claims 23-25, 28 and 35, and therefore system claims 42-45 and 49 are rejected using the same rationales.
Claims 29-33 and 46-48 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Nordmark’893 and Nordmark’225 as applied to claim 23 above, and further in view of Armstrong et al. US20110264610A1, hereinafter Armstrong.
Regarding claim 29, Nordmark’893 and Nordmark’225 teach the method of claim 24, wherein the host is a first host and the list is a local list, (Nordmark’893: para. [0054 & 0055] routing table for enabling address resolution and translation, e.g. IP addresses, MAC addresses) the method further comprising: configuring, in a second host, a global address resolution module (Nordmark’893: para. [0029] global container includes a number of non-global containers, and para. [0054 & 0055] routing table for enabling address resolution and translation, e.g. IP addresses, MAC addresses); and
configuring the address resolution module to ask the global address resolution module for an address to which to resolve the network address when the local list of the first host does not include an address pair that in includes the network address. (Nordmark’893: para. [0051] an address resolution utility sends an ARP request is broadcast by the first host and received by the second host, which replies with the missing information).
It is noted that Nordmark’893 and Nordmark’225 do not specifically disclose: a global address resolution module to maintain and use a global list of address pairs that are collected from other hosts in the set of hosts.
However, Armstrong from the same or similar fields of endeavor teaches the use of: a global address resolution module to maintain and use a global list of address pairs (Armstrong: para. [0035] global forwarding table allows future queries to retrieve the correct routing information) that are collected from other hosts in the set of hosts (Armstrong: para. [0023 & 0079-0080] global forwarding table includes multitude of entries such as MAC addresses data that has been recognized by bridge elements). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to use the global forwarding table which include address data, e.g., MAC addresses, logical network identifier, a VLAN identifier that has been recognized by bridge elements and that has been registered with the controlling bridge 304 as taught by Armstrong in the method of Nordmark. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do so for automatic address data learning and registration in manner that may increase routing efficiency (Armstrong: para. [0010]).
Regarding claim 30, Nordmark’893, Nordmark’225 and Armstrong teaches the method of claim 29 further comprising configuring the global address resolution module to send an address resolution protocol (ARP) request to other hosts in the set of hosts to obtain an address to which to resolve the network address when the global list does not include an address pair that includes the network address. (Nordmark’893: para. [0051] an address resolution utility sends an ARP request is broadcast by the first host and received by the second host, which replies with the missing information)
Regarding claim 31, Nordmark’893, Nordmark’225 and Armstrong teach the method of claim 29, Nordmark does not explicitly teaches: further comprising configuring the address resolution module to create or update a particular address pair and update the local list with the particular address pair.
However, Armstrong from the same or similar fields of endeavor teaches the use of: further comprising configuring the address resolution module to create or update a particular address pair and update the local list with the particular address pair (Armstrong: para. [0043-0044] local bridge element query a global forwarding table 411 of controlling bridge 448 for the address data, where bridge element responds to a query with requested address data and bridge element 426 may cache the received address data for future use. para. [0036] when a virtual machine moves from an external location to an internal address, the bridge element that is assigned the VM may discover the new source address using its Ethernet-source address table. That bridge element may then notify the controlling bridge of the new address). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to use the global forwarding table which include address data, e.g., MAC addresses, logical network identifier, a VLAN identifier that has been recognized by bridge elements and that has been registered with the controlling bridge 304 as taught by Armstrong in the method of Nordmark’893 and Nordmark’225. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do so for automatic address data learning and registration in manner that may increase routing efficiency (Armstrong: para. [0010]).
Regarding claim 32, Nordmark’893, Nordmark’225 and Armstrong teach the method of claim 31, Nordmark does not explicitly teach: wherein the particular address pair is created or updated when a virtual machine is provisioned in or migrated into the first host.
However, Armstrong from the same or similar fields of endeavor teaches the use of: wherein the particular address pair is created or updated when a virtual machine is provisioned in or migrated into the first host. (Armstrong: para. [0036] when a virtual machine moves from an external location to an internal address, the bridge element that is assigned the VM may discover the new source address using its Ethernet-source address table. That bridge element may then notify the controlling bridge of the new address). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to use the global forwarding table which include address data, e.g., MAC addresses, logical network identifier, a VLAN identifier that has been recognized by bridge elements and that has been registered with the controlling bridge 304 as taught by Armstrong in the method of Nordmark’893 and Nordmark’225. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do so for automatic address data learning and registration in manner that may increase routing efficiency (Armstrong: para. [0010]).
Regarding claim 33, Nordmark’893, Nordmark’225 and Armstrong teaches the method of claim 31 Nordmark does not explicitly teach: further comprising configuring the address resolution module to send the particular address pair to the global address resolution module.
However, Armstrong from the same or similar fields of endeavor teaches the use of: further comprising configuring the address resolution module to send the particular address pair to the global address resolution module. (Armstrong: para. [0043-0040] the controlling bridge 448 include a global forwarding table 411 that includes stored address data, which may be continuously updated by the bridge elements 426, 428, 430, and 432, and allow for future user. para. [0036] when a virtual machine moves from an external location to an internal address, the bridge element that is assigned the VM may discover the new source address using its Ethernet-source address table. That bridge element may then notify the controlling bridge of the new address). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to use the global forwarding table which include address data, e.g., MAC addresses, logical network identifier, a VLAN identifier that has been recognized by bridge elements and that has been registered with the controlling bridge 304 as taught by Armstrong in the method of Nordmark’893 and Nordmark’225. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do so for automatic address data learning and registration in manner that may increase routing efficiency (Armstrong: para. [0010]).
Regarding claims 46-48, Nordmark’893, Nordmark’225 and Armstrong teach all the limitations as discussed in the rejection of claims 29-31, and therefore system claims 46-48 are rejected using the same rationales.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 23-33, and 35, and 42-49 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks/TD, filed 08/12/2026 or 08/23/2026, with respect to ODP rejection have been fully considered and are persuasive. The ODP rejection of claims 23-35 has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks, filed 08/12/2026, with respect to claim objection have been fully considered and are persuasive. The claim objection of claims 36-41 has been withdrawn.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Please also see PTO-892.
Wong et al. US20100232290A1 in Abstract teaches network appliance is communicatively coupled to the first virtual network device. The virtual network appliance is communicatively coupled to the virtual network system. The virtual network appliance is operable to manage network traffic associated with the first virtual network device.
Subramaian et al. US20110292939A1 teaches control processor 25 can run an address resolution protocol 25b (ARP) or other protocol that operates to learn the network addresses of neighboring network devices which or nodes which are employed by the control processor to build and maintain at least a portion of a full layer 3 ARP forwarding table 25a. Such a forwarding table can be comprised of an IP destination address (IP.DA), a medium access control (MAC) address, VLAN ID and an egress portID over which to transmit a data packet.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/WUTCHUNG CHU/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2418