DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This action is in reply to the Amendment/Request for Reconsideration filed on January 22, 2026. Claims 1-2, 14-15, and 17 have been amended and are hereby entered. Claim 13 has been canceled. Claims 1-12 and 14-20 are currently pending and have been examined. This action is made FINAL.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because Fig. 4 contains overlapping drawings (Fig. 4A-4C). One view must not be placed upon another or within the outline of another. Such overlap may lead to issues with reproduction in the printed patent. See MPEP § 608.02(V), “Arrangement of Views”.
Claim Objections
Claims 15 and 16 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 15, Applicant is suggested to amend the phrase “wherein the the first distribution space is arranged on a first side…” to --wherein the first distribution space is arranged on a first side…--.
In claim 16, Applicant is suggested to amend the phrases “the first air supply conduit” and “the second air supply conduit” to --the first air conduit-- and --the second air conduit--, respectively, in order to utilize more consistent terminology throughout the claims.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 10-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 10, line 2, recites “wherein each of the several distribution space sections has an air-impermeable outer wall”. However, an “air-impermeable outer wall” has previously been introduced in claim 1, line 10. It is unclear whether the “air-impermeable outer wall” of claim 10 refers to the same or a different element than that of claim 1. For at least these reasons, the structure of the distribution space is unclear, and the scope of the claim is rendered indefinite. Claims 11-12 are similarly rejected by virtue of dependency upon claim 10. The Examiner notes that each of claims 11-12 includes further references to “the air-impermeable outer walls” and suggests that Applicant further review claims 11-12 for compliance with antecedent basis requirements under 35 U.S.C. 112(b).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 9-12, and 17-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park (KR 101292628 B1), hereinafter Park, in view of Misner et al. (US 2022/0192105 A1), hereinafter Misner, and Locker (US 5,584,761 A), hereinafter Locker.
Regarding claim 1, Park discloses a greenhouse assembly (abstract; shown in fig. 6) comprising:
a housing (house structure 100),
an interior space (interior of house structure 100) arranged within the housing (fig. 6),
an air supply device (comprises air curtains 200 and fan 500),
wherein the air supply device has at least one distribution space (left side air curtain 200, right side air curtain 200, shown in fig. 6) which, with an air- permeable membrane (inner curtain 201 having holes 202), adjoins the interior space (fig. 3 and 6), wherein the at least one distribution space comprises an air-impermeable outer wall (outer curtain 203 and ends of air passages 210; see fig. 5, air-permeable membranes are understood as surfaces having dotted pattern while air-impermeable outer walls are understood as surfaces having solid white pattern), and the air supply device includes an air conduit (blower duct 220) arranged to extend through the air-impermeable outer wall into the at least one distribution space (fig. 5), and
wherein the at least one distribution space comprises a first distribution space (left side air curtain 200, fig. 6) and a second distribution space (right side air curtain 200, fig. 6) arranged on opposites sides of the interior space (fig. 6), and the air conduit comprises a first air conduit (left side blower duct 220, fig. 6) with the first distribution space (fig. 6) and a second air conduit (right side blower duct 220, fig. 6) with the second distribution space (fig. 6).
Park does not appear to specifically disclose:
several plant tiers arranged within the interior space one over the other in the direction of gravity,
a lighting assembly acting upon the plant tiers, and
the air conduit with a diffuser arranged to extend through the air-impermeable outer wall into the at least one distribution space.
However, Misner is in the field of indoor growing assemblies (abstract; fig. 2A) and teaches:
several plant tiers (shelves 30 of growing racks 26) arranged within the interior space one over the other in the direction of gravity (fig. 2A-2B),
a lighting assembly (lighting unit 28) acting upon the plant tiers (fig. 2B).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the greenhouse assembly with housing, interior space, and air supply device of Park to incorporate the plant tiers and lighting assembly as taught by Misner with a reasonable expectation of success to provide a compact and efficient structure for cultivating plants within the greenhouse assembly (abstract, para [0037]).
Additionally, Locker is in the field of ventilation systems for indoor spaces (abstract) and teaches:
the air conduit (comprises air outlet 14 and air diffuser 10) with a diffuser (air diffuser 10) arranged to extend through the air-impermeable outer wall (wall or ceiling 12) into the at least one distribution space (“room” col 2, lines 36-39; fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the greenhouse assembly with air supply device comprising a distribution space and air conduit of Park to incorporate the diffuser as taught by Locker with a reasonable expectation of success to disperse airflow more widely throughout the distribution space and limit strong drafts (fig. 1; col 1, lines 22-28 and lines 41-44) that may stretch the flexible walls of the distribution space.
Regarding claim 2, Park as modified discloses the greenhouse assembly according to claim 1, and further discloses wherein the diffuser (from Locker, air diffuser 10) includes a baffle plate (from Locker, outer plate member 34) oriented perpendicularly to the flow direction (see Locker fig. 1, note that airflow flows downward in a vertical direction from air outlet 14, then is redirected by outer plate member 34 to flow outward in a horizontal direction; outer plate 34 is oriented perpendicularly to the initial vertical flow direction).
Regarding claim 3, Park as modified discloses the greenhouse assembly according to claim 1, and further discloses wherein the diffuser (from Locker, air diffuser 10) is formed with several openings (from Locker, passages between nozzles 24; shown in fig. 1) in a peripheral wall (from Locker, comprises inner plate member 20 and layer of nozzles 24; shown in fig. 2) of the air conduit (from Locker, comprises air outlet 14 and air diffuser 10) that is located in the at least one distribution space (from Locker, “room” col 2, lines 36-39; fig. 1).
Regarding claim 4, Park as modified discloses the greenhouse assembly according to claim 3, and further discloses wherein the several openings (from Locker, passages between nozzles 24; shown in fig. 1) of the diffuser (from Locker, air diffuser 10) are configured as slots (see Locker fig. 1; note that when device is in an assembled state, passages between nozzles 24 form slots).
Regarding claim 9, Park as modified discloses the greenhouse assembly according to claim 1, and further discloses wherein the at least one distribution space (from Park, air curtain 200) comprises several distribution space sections (from Park, air passages 210), which are arranged adjacent to one another on one side of the interior space (from Park, fig. 5-6, air passages 210 are arranged adjacent to one another on at least one side of the interior of house structure 100).
Regarding claim 10, as best understood based on the 35 U.S.C. 112(b) issue(s) identified above, Park as modified discloses the greenhouse assembly according to claim 9, and further discloses wherein each of the several distribution space sections (from Park, air passages 210) has an air-impermeable outer wall (from Park, outer curtain 203) located outside of the air-permeable membrane (from Park, inner curtain 201 having holes 202; 3 and fig. 5-6).
Regarding claim 11, as best understood based on the 35 U.S.C. 112(b) issue(s) identified above, Park as modified discloses the greenhouse assembly according to claim 10, and further discloses wherein the air-impermeable outer walls (from Park, outer curtain 203) are curved (from Park, 3 and fig. 5-6).
Regarding claim 12, as best understood based on the 35 U.S.C. 112(b) issue(s) identified above, Park as modified discloses the greenhouse assembly according to claim 10, and further discloses wherein each of the air-impermeable outer walls (from Park, outer curtain 203) form a part of an outer cylinder surface (from Park, 3 and fig. 5-6).
Regarding claim 17, Park discloses a method for ventilating a greenhouse assembly (abstract; shown in fig. 1) having a housing (house structure 100), an interior space (interior of housing structure 100) arranged within the housing (fig. 6), comprising:
feeding air through an air conduit (blower duct 220) located at least in part in at least one distribution space (air curtain 200) adjoining the interior space (fig. 6; see page 13/16, last paragraph through page 14/16, first paragraph), wherein the at least one distribution space comprises an air- impermeable outer wall (outer curtain 203 and ends of air passages 210; see fig. 5, air-permeable membranes are understood as surfaces having dotted pattern while air-impermeable outer walls are understood as surfaces having solid white pattern), and wherein the air conduit extends through the air-impermeable outer wall (fig. 5), and
wherein the air fed into the at least one distribution space is conducted into the interior space through an air-permeable membrane (inner curtain 201 having holes 202) separating the at least one distribution space from the interior space (fig. 3 and 6; page 12/16, third paragraph), and
wherein the at least one distribution space comprises a first distribution space (left side air curtain 200, shown in fig. 6) and a second distribution space (right side air curtain 200, shown in fig. 6) arranged on opposites sides of the interior space (fig. 6), and the air conduit comprises a first air conduit (left side blower duct 220, fig. 6) with the first distribution space (fig. 6) and a second air conduit (right side blower duct 220, fig. 6) with the second distribution space (fig. 6).
Park does not appear to specifically disclose the greenhouse assembly having several plant tiers arranged in the interior space one over the other in the direction of gravity, and a lighting assembly acting upon the plant tiers, comprising:
diffusing the air fed through the air conduit extending through the air-impermeable outer wall into the at least one distribution space.
However, Misner is in the field of methods for ventilating indoor growing assemblies (abstract; fig. 2A) and teaches the greenhouse assembly (fig. 2A) having several plant tiers (shelves 30 of growing racks 26) arranged in the interior space one over the other in the direction of gravity (fig. 2A-2B), and a lighting assembly (lighting unit 28) acting upon the plant tiers (fig. 2B).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method for ventilating a greenhouse assembly having a housing, interior space, distribution space, and air- permeable membrane of Park to incorporate the plant tiers and lighting assembly as taught by Misner with a reasonable expectation of success to provide a compact and efficient structure for cultivating plants within the greenhouse assembly (abstract, para [0037]).
Additionally, Locker is in the field of ventilation methods for indoor spaces (abstract) and teaches:
diffusing the air fed through the air conduit (comprises air outlet 14 and air diffuser 10) extending through the air-impermeable outer wall (wall or ceiling 12) into the at least one distribution space (“room” col 2, lines 36-39; fig. 1, air diffused via air diffuser 10).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method for ventilating a greenhouse assembly comprising an air conduit and distribution space of Park to incorporate the teaching of diffusing air as taught by Locker with a reasonable expectation of success to disperse airflow more widely throughout the distribution space and limit strong drafts (fig. 1; col 1, lines 22-28 and lines 41-44) that may stretch the flexible walls of the distribution space.
Regarding claim 18, Park as modified discloses the method according to claim 17, and further discloses wherein the air fed through the air conduit (from Locker, comprises air outlet 14 and air diffuser 10) is directed against a baffle plate (from Locker, outer plate member 34; shown in fig. 1).
Regarding claim 19, Park as modified discloses the method according to claim 17, and further discloses wherein the air fed through the air conduit (from Locker, air outlet 14 and air diffuser 10) is diffused into the distribution space (from Locker, “room” col 2, lines 36-39) through a diffuser (from Locker, air diffuser 10; fig. 1).
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Park (KR 101292628 B1), hereinafter Park, in view of Misner et al. (US 2022/0192105 A1), hereinafter Misner, and Locker (US 5,584,761 A), hereinafter Locker, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kishimoto et al. (JP 2000050744 A), hereinafter Kishimoto.
Regarding claim 5, Park as modified discloses the greenhouse assembly according to claim 1, but does not appear to specifically disclose wherein the air-permeable membrane comprises a textile material as a main component.
However, Kishimoto is in the field of greenhouse assemblies (see “Background of the Invention” section) and teaches wherein the air-permeable membrane (inner membrane 3) comprises a textile material as a main component (para [0043], comprises “woven or knitted material such as flame-retardant nylon or polyester used as a base fabric”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the greenhouse assembly with air-permeable membrane of Park as modified to have made the air-permeable membrane of textile material as taught by Kishimoto with a reasonable expectation of success to utilize flame-retardant material well understood in the art to protect the greenhouse assembly and plants within from fire (para [0043]).
Claim(s) 6-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Park (KR 101292628 B1), hereinafter Park, in view of Misner et al. (US 2022/0192105 A1), hereinafter Misner, and Locker (US 5,584,761 A), hereinafter Locker, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Harkins (US 5,953,875 A), hereinafter Harkins.
Regarding claim 6, Park as modified discloses the greenhouse assembly according to claim 1, but does not appear to specifically disclose wherein the air-permeable membrane includes a thickened part on two parallel edges for engagement with parallel channels in the housing.
However, Harkins is in the field of attachment of membranes to building structures (abstract) and teaches wherein the air-permeable membrane (elongated suspension sheet 22) includes a thickened part (guide strip 28) on two parallel edges (side edges 24 and 26) for engagement with parallel channels (slide tracks 20) in the housing (col 5, lines 1-6).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the greenhouse assembly with air- permeable membrane of Park as modified to incorporate the thickened part for engagement with parallel channels as taught by Harkins with a reasonable expectation of success to more securely fix the membrane to the surrounding greenhouse structure, thereby preventing airflow, weather, or other external forces from separating the membrane from the greenhouse structure itself (col 2, lines 11-18).
Regarding claim 7, Park as modified discloses the greenhouse assembly according to claim 6, and further discloses wherein the thickened part (from Harkins, guide strip 28) is arranged on a retaining element (from Harkins, edge cover 34; fig. 5) joined to the air-permeable membrane (from Harkins, elongated suspension sheet 22; col 5, lines 16-22; fig. 5).
Regarding claim 8, Park as modified discloses the greenhouse assembly according to claim 6, and further discloses wherein the housing (from Harkins, shown in fig. 2) has posts (from Harkins, purlins 16, girts 18) and the parallel channels (from Harkins, slide tracks 20) are arranged in the posts (from Harkins, col 4, line 54-col 5, line 1; fig. 1, 3, and 9).
Claim(s) 1, 14-17, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Travaglini (US 2020/0236871 A1), hereinafter Travaglini, in view of Locker (US 5,584,761 A), hereinafter Locker.
Regarding claim 1, Travaglini discloses a greenhouse assembly (“vertical farm” para [0141], shown in fig. 14-15) comprising:
a housing (closed environment 314 delimited by at least floor 219, ceiling, and lateral side walls 318a, 318b; para [0142]),
an interior space (interior space of closed environment 314) arranged within the housing (fig. 14-15),
several plant tiers (shelving 200) arranged within the interior space one over the other in the direction of gravity (fig. 14-15; para [0146]),
a lighting assembly (lighting elements 319) acting upon the plant tiers (fig. 14-15; para [0146]), and
an air supply device (air conditioning system 300),
wherein the air supply device has at least one distribution space (parts 304a, 304b and canalizations 305, 306) which, with an air- permeable membrane (vertical panels 315, 317 having openings 316), adjoins the interior space (fig. 14-15), wherein the at least one distribution space comprises an air-impermeable outer wall (lateral side walls 318a, 318b, ceiling, and separator element 320), and the air supply device includes an air conduit (canalizations 308, 309) arranged to extend through the air-impermeable outer wall into the at least one distribution space (fig. 14-15, extends through separator element 320), and
wherein the at least one distribution space comprises a first distribution space (part 304b and canalization 306) and a second distribution space (part 304a and canalization 305) arranged on opposites sides of the interior space (fig. 14-15), and the air conduit comprises a first air conduit (canalization 308) with the first distribution space (fig. 14-15) and a second air conduit (canalization 309) with the second distribution space (fig. 14-15).
Travaglini does not appear to specifically disclose the air conduit with a diffuser arranged to extend through the air-impermeable outer wall into the at least one distribution space.
However, Locker is in the field of ventilation systems for indoor spaces (abstract) and teaches the air conduit (comprises air outlet 14 and air diffuser 10) with a diffuser (air diffuser 10) arranged to extend through the air-impermeable outer wall (wall or ceiling 12) into the at least one distribution space (“room” col 2, lines 36-39; fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the greenhouse assembly with air supply device comprising a distribution space and air conduit of Travaglini to incorporate the diffuser as taught by Locker with a reasonable expectation of success to more evenly disperse airflow across a wider number of directions and further prevent strong drafts that may be uncomfortable or damaging to plants within the greenhouse assembly (fig. 1; col 1, lines 22-28 and lines 41-44).
Regarding claim 14, Travaglini as modified discloses the greenhouse assembly according to claim 1, and further discloses wherein the air supply device (from Travaglini, air conditioning system 300) further comprises a common air conveying device (from Travaglini, air treatment unit 301), and
wherein the first air conduit (from Travaglini, canalization 308) and the second air conduit (from Travaglini, canalization 309) are connected to the common air conveying device via a switching device (from Travaglini, opening/closing devices 312, 313; fig. 14-15; para [0147]).
Regarding claim 15, Travaglini as modified discloses the greenhouse assembly according to claim 1, and further discloses wherein the the first distribution space (from Travaglini, part 304b and canalization 306) is arranged on a first side of the interior space (from Travaglini, closed environment 314; fig. 14-15) and the second distribution space (from Travaglini, part 304a and canalization 305) is arranged on a second side of the interior space that is opposite the first side (from Travaglini, fig. 14-15), and
wherein the first air conduit (from Travaglini, canalization 308) is coupled to the first distribution space (from Travaglini, fig. 14-15) and the second air conduit (from Travaglini, canalization 309) is coupled to the second distribution space (from Travaglini, fig. 14-15).
Regarding claim 16, Travaglini as modified discloses the greenhouse assembly according to claim 15, and further discloses further comprising a first air supply line (from Travaglini, canalization 303) having a first valve (from Travaglini, opening/closing means 310), a second air supply line (from Travaglini, canalization 307) having a second valve (from Travaglini, opening/closing means 311), and a common air conveying device (from Travaglini, air conditioning system 300) coupled to the first and second air supply lines (from Travaglini, fig. 14-15),
wherein the first air supply line and the second air supply line are both coupled to the first air supply conduit (from Travaglini, canalization 308) and to the second air supply conduit (from Travaglini, canalization 309; fig. 14-15, coupled at least indirectly), and
wherein the first and second valves are positionable so that the common air conveying device supplies air via the first air supply line to one of the first air supply conduit or the second air supply conduit and withdraws air via the second air supply line from an other of the first or second air supply conduit (from Travaglini, fig. 14-15; see annotated fig. 1 below).
Annotated Figure 1. Travaglini Fig. 15, Airflow Direction (Examiner-Annotated)
Regarding claim 17, Travaglini discloses a method for ventilating a greenhouse assembly (“vertical farm” para [0141], shown in fig. 14-15; abstract) having a housing (closed environment 314 delimited by at least floor 219, ceiling, and lateral side walls 318a, 318b; para [0142]), an interior space (interior space of closed environment 314) arranged within the housing (fig. 14-15), several plant tiers (shelving 200) arranged in the interior space one over the other in the direction of gravity (fig. 14-15; para [0146]), and a lighting assembly (lighting elements 319) acting upon the plant tiers (fig. 14-15; para [0146]), comprising:
feeding air through an air conduit (canalizations 308, 309) located at least in part in at least one distribution space (parts 304a, 304b and canalizations 305, 306) adjoining the interior space (fig. 14-15), wherein the at least one distribution space comprises an air- impermeable outer wall (lateral side walls 318a, 318b, ceiling, and separator element 320), and wherein the air conduit extends through the air-impermeable outer wall (fig. 14-15, extends through separator element 320), and
wherein the air fed into the at least one distribution space is conducted into the interior space through an air-permeable membrane (vertical panels 315, 317 having openings 316) separating the at least one distribution space from the interior space (fig. 14-15), and
wherein the at least one distribution space comprises a first distribution space (part 304b and canalization 306) and a second distribution space (part 304a and canalization 305) arranged on opposites sides of the interior space (fig. 14-15), and the air conduit comprises a first air conduit (canalization 309) with the first distribution space (fig. 14-15) and a second air conduit (canalization 308) with the second distribution space (fig. 14-15).
Travaglini does not appear to specifically disclose:
diffusing the air fed through the air conduit extending through the air-impermeable outer wall into the at least one distribution space.
However, Locker is in the field of ventilation methods for indoor spaces (abstract) and teaches:
diffusing the air fed through the air conduit (comprises air outlet 14 and diffuser 10) extending through the air-impermeable outer wall (wall or ceiling 12) into the at least one distribution space (“room” col 2, lines 36-39; fig. 1, air diffused via diffuser 10).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method for ventilating a greenhouse assembly comprising an air conduit and distribution space of Travaglini to incorporate the teaching of diffusing air as taught by Locker with a reasonable expectation of success to more evenly disperse airflow across a wider number of directions and further prevent strong drafts that may be uncomfortable or damaging to plants within the greenhouse assembly (fig. 1; col 1, lines 22-28 and lines 41-44).
Regarding claim 20, Travaglini as modified discloses the method according to claim 17, and further discloses wherein a direction of the air flow in the interior space (from Travaglini, interior space of closed environment 314) is reversed from time to time (fig. 14-15; para [0147]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments (pages 2-16 of 17), filed January 22, 2026, regarding the rejection of at least claim(s) 1 and 17 under §103 have been fully considered, but they are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Specifically, Applicant argues that Kishimoto et al. (JP 2000050744 A) as modified does not teach “at least one distribution space comprising an air-impermeable outer wall” or a “diffuser arranged to extend through the air-impermeable outer wall” (pages 4-5 of 17). However, in the instant rejection, Park (KR 101292628 B1) and Travaglini (US 2020/0236871 A1) have been substituted for Kishimoto for teaching the limitations in question of claims 1 and 17, respectively, thereby rendering Applicant’s arguments against Kishimoto moot.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/E.M.H./Examiner, Art Unit 3647
/KIMBERLY S BERONA/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3647