Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I (Claims 1-17; drawn to a recombinant expression vector and a mammalian cell comprising the vector) in the reply filed on January 19, 2026, is acknowledged.
Claims 18-19 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention (Groups II and III), there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Applicant further elected the following species:
a. SEQ ID NO: 46 as the sequence for the deleted SV40 promoter
b. glutamine synthetase as the selectable marker
In light of the Applicant’s elected species, claim 6 is withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
DETAILED ACTION
The claims filed on July 22, 2026, have been acknowledged. In light of the Applicant’s elected invention and species, claims 6 and 18-19 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Claims 1-5 and 7-17 are pending and examined on the merits.
Priority
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) is acknowledged. Applicant has not complied with one or more conditions for receiving the benefit of an earlier filing date under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) as follows:
The later-filed application must be an application for a patent for an invention which is also disclosed in the prior application (the parent or original nonprovisional application or provisional application). The disclosure of the invention in the parent application and in the later-filed application must be sufficient to comply with the requirements of 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or the first paragraph of pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, except for the best mode requirement. See Transco Products, Inc. v. Performance Contracting, Inc., 38 F.3d 551, 32 USPQ2d 1077 (Fed. Cir. 1994).
The disclosure of the prior-filed applications, Application No. 62/388,391, filed January 27, 2016, Application No. PCT/US2017/015130, filed on January 26, 2017, Application No. 16/072,180, filed on July 24, 2018, Application No. 16/286,551, February 26, 2019, and Application No. 17190954, filed on March 3, 2021, fail to provide adequate support or enablement in the manner provided by 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, first paragraph for one or more claims of this application. These provisional applications do not provide information related to a recombinant expression vector, comprising: a first expression cassette, comprising: (i) a control sequence comprising: (A) a murine cytomegalovirus (mCMV) enhancer sequence, comprising a mCMV enhancer element (mCMV-E) and a CMV promoter (CMV-P) sequence at its 3' end, operably linked 5' to a human cytomegalovirus (huCMV) intron A sequence. None of the prior Applications recite the use of a huCMV intron A sequence as part of the recombinant vectors. In the instant Application, the huCMV intron A sequence is identified in Figures 31-36 and paragraphs 0023, 0025, 0028, 0259, 0262-0264, and 0346. These Figures and paragraphs are not included in any of the previous applications. Therefore, claims 1-5 and 7-17 do not receive domestic benefit from any of the previously filed applications. As such, claims 1-5 and 7-17 receive an effective filing date based on the filing date of the instant application, filed on July 3, 2023.
Declaration under 37 CFR 1.132
The declaration under 37 CFR 1.132 filed by Dr. Sherman Ku on July 22, 2026, has been considered but is insufficient to overcome the rejections of instant claims based upon 35 U.S.C 103 as set forth in the current Office action for the following reasons:
The Ku declaration argues that the notion that substitution of the EF-1 alpha intron in McGrew's vectors with the human CMV intron A element as disclosed by Gay would not provide a reasonable expectation of success without further non-routine experimentation. Gay teaches in Figure 8 that the human CMV intron A element increases activity of both mouse CMV promoters and human CMV promoters, compared to expression under the condition of a mouse promoter in the absence of any intron elements. Meanwhile, the data reported in McGrew show comparisons of various vector configurations, each with differing introns as well as other differing regulatory sequences (Figure 1). In Figure 3A, McGrew illustrates the manner in which those various vector configurations directly impact productivity. However, none of the vector configurations depicted in Figure 1 lacks an intron element. Without a configuration that lacks an EF1 alpha intron element as there is an intron-minus condition in Gay, no direct comparison of the data disclosed by Gay and the data disclosed by McGrew is scientifically sound or justifiable, nor can any conclusion about one body of work be inferred using the other.
A person of skill in the art would conclude there is no indication of the degree of improvement to a promoter-only expression vector that the inclusion of the various intron elements reported in McGrew would cause. It is scientifically possible that the intronic elements evaluated in McGrew provide an increase in promoter activity superior to what the human CMV intron A provides. Alternatively, it is just as scientifically possible that McGrew' s intronic elements are worse than the human CMV intron A in terms of increasing promoter activity (page 3, paragraph 3-page 4, paragraph 3).
Applicant’s arguments have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
As best understood, it appears that the Ku declaration has two separate arguments. The first is that substitution of the EF-1 alpha intron in McGrew's vectors with the human CMV intron A element as disclosed by Gay would not provide a reasonable expectation of success, and the second is that substitution of the EF-1 alpha intron of McGrew with the CMV intron A of Gay would not necessarily lead to increased expression compared to the expression vectors using the rat EF-1 alpha intron of McGrew.
Regarding the first argument, the Ku declaration does not identify what defines success. It is presumed that when the Ku declaration discusses a reasonable expectation of success that this refers to a reasonable expectation of success in making the claimed expression vector, as this is cited in Applicant’s remarks when discussing a reasonable expectation of success (page 4, paragraph 1).
As stated in the rejection in the Non-final Office action mailed on March 30, 3036, Gay teaches that that the activity of the human CMV promoter can be increased by inserting intron A of the major immediate early gene of the human cytomegalovirus. Gay teaches a mammalian expression vector comprising a murine CMV promoter and the first intron of the major immediate early gene of the human cytomegalovirus (first hCMV intron) operably linked to a heterologous gene sequence encoding a desired recombinant protein. The vector comprising the mCMV promoter in combination with the first hCMV intron drives the expression of heterologous protein products at levels higher than those seen for vectors only containing the mCMV promoter (page 2, paragraph 3-page 3, paragraph 3).
As such, Gay has successfully reduced to practice that the human CMV promoter and the murine CMV promoter can be linked to intron A of the major immediate early gene of the human cytomegalovirus and that this increases the expression of a heterologous gene sequence encoding a desired recombinant protein. McGrew already teaches that their expression vector encodes a CMV promoter (CMV-P) sequence operably linked to an intron sequence (rat EF-1 alpha). As Gay already shows that the human CMV promoter and the murine CMV promoter can be linked to intron A of the human cytomegalovirus as part of an expression vector and it drives expression of a desired recombinant protein, one of ordinary skill in the art would reasonably expect that substituting the rat EF-1 alpha intron of McGrew would also generate an expression vector. Although McGrew does not show a comparison between expression vectors with and without the rat EF-1 alpha intron, there is enough information in Gay to reasonably expect that substituting the rat EF-1 alpha intron of McGrew with the CMV intron A of Gay would also generate an expression vector.
In re O’Farrell, 853 F.2d 894, 903, 7 USPQ2d 1673, 1681 (Fed. Cir. 1988) (citations omitted) (The court held the claimed method would have been obvious over the prior art relied upon because one reference contained a detailed enabling methodology, a suggestion to modify the prior art to produce the claimed invention, and evidence suggesting the modification would be successful.). Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art could have pursued the known potential option of using a CMV intron A instead of an EF-1 alpha intron in the expression vector of McGrew.
This reasonable expectation of success is supported by: (1) the references of McGrew and Gay both involve using expression vectors comprising CMV promoters operably linked to intronic sequences (rat EF-1 alpha and CMV intron A, respectively) and (2) Gay reduces to practice that the human CMV promoter and the murine CMV promoter can be linked to intron A of the major immediate early gene of the human cytomegalovirus and that this increases the expression of a heterologous gene sequence encoding a desired recombinant protein.
As such, there is a reasonable expectation that modification of the expression vector of McGrew to use a CMV intron A instead of an EF-1 alpha intron in the expression vector of McGrew would successfully generate the claimed expression vector. Absolute predictability is not a necessary prerequisite to a case of obviousness. Rather, a degree of predictability that one of ordinary skill would have found to be reasonable is sufficient. The Federal Circuit concluded that “[g]ood science and useful contributions do not necessarily result in patentability.” Id. at 1364, 83 USPQ2d at 1304.
Regarding the second argument of the Ku declaration about whether substituting the EF-1 alpha intron for the CMV intron A would lead to increased expression, it is worth noting that the Ku declaration considers a controlled comparator (absence of any intronic elements) necessary to compare the expression vectors with the EF-1 alpha intron to vectors with the CMV intron A operably linked to a CMV promoter. In order to complete the art of record and rebut Applicant’s arguments, Kim et al. (Journal of Biotechnology 93: 183-187. 2002; referenced in IDS) does make this comparison for the EF-1 alpha intron. Figures 1-2 of Kim show that they compared the expression of luciferase in expression vectors comprising human or murine CMV promoters either linked to the human EF-1 alpha intron or not in seven different cell lines. They showed a range of responses depending on whether the CMV promoter was a human or murine CMV promoter and depending on the cell type. For example, in 293T cells, linking the human CMV promoter to EF-1 alpha led to a ~15 fold increase in expression while linking the murine CMV promoter to EF-1 alpha led to a ~1.75 fold increase. In HT1080 cells, linking the human CMV promoter to EF-1 alpha led to a ~3 fold increase in expression while linking the murine CMV promoter to EF-1 alpha led to no change in expression. In CHO cells, linking the human CMV promoter to EF-1 alpha led to a ~2 fold increase in expression while linking the murine CMV promoter to EF-1 alpha led to a ~8 fold increase and human CMV promoter without the EF-1 alpha intron and the murine CMV promoter without the EF-1 alpha intron had roughly the same expression level in CHO cells.
Figure 8 of Gay shows that linking the human and murine CMV promoter to CMV intron A led to a ~2 fold increase in antibody expression compared to murine CMV promoter without CMV intron A with many experimental samples with even higher increases in antibody expression (page 26, line 36-page 28, line 1).
Therefore, in making the preferred comparison identified in the Ku declaration, using CMV intron A appears to be at least as good the EF-1 alpha intron when operably linked to the human CMV promoter in CHO cells. Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would consider the EF-1 alpha intron and CMV intron A to be known comparable options that could be reasonably substituted.
In view of the foregoing, when all of the evidence is considered, the totality of the rebuttal evidence of nonobviousness fails to outweigh the evidence of obviousness.
Maintained Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5 and 7-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over United States Patent Application No. 20220177916 (McGrew) and further in view of World Intellectual Property Organization Patent Application No. 2006111387 (Gay). This rejection is repeated with regards to the rejection in the Non-Final Office action mailed on March 30, 2026. Applicant’s traversal is addressed below.
Regarding claims 1 and 12, McGrew teaches a recombinant expression vector, comprising:
(a) a 5' PiggyBac ITR comprising the nucleotide sequence of SEQ ID NO:45 (which is 100% identical to SEQ ID NO: 45 of the instant application);
(b) a first expression cassette, comprising:
(i) a control sequence comprising:
(1) a murine CMV (mCMV) enhancer sequence, comprising a mCMV enhancer element (mCMV-E) and a CMV promoter (CMV-P) sequence at its 3' end, operably linked 5' to a rat EF-lalpha intron sequence, comprising one or more TetO sequences inserted within the CMV promoter sequence of the first promoter;
(2) an intervening first leader sequence operably linked, 3' to the CMV-P sequence of the mCMV enhancer sequence, and 5' to the rat EF-1 alpha intron sequence; and
(3) a second leader sequence operably linked 3' to the rat EF-1 alpha intron sequence;
( ii ) an open reading frame encoding a protein of interest operably linked to the control sequence; and
( iii ) a polyadenylation site operably linked 3 ' to the open reading frame;
( c ) a second expression cassette, comprising:
( i ) a weak constitutive promoter , operably linked to an open reading frame encoding a selectable marker;
and
( ii ) a polyadenylation site operably linked 3' to the open reading frame; and
( d ) a 3 ' PiggyBac ITR comprising the nucleotide sequence of SEQ ID NO : 47 (which has 100% sequence identity to SEQ ID NO: 47 of the instant application) (paragraphs 0031-0039).
McGrew does not teach wherein the recombinant vector comprises a human CMV intron A sequence.
However, Gay teaches that that the activity of the human CMV promoter can be increased by inserting intron A of the major immediate early gene of the human cytomegalovirus. Gay teaches a mammalian expression vector comprising a murine CMV promoter and the first intron of the major immediate early gene of the human cytomegalovirus (first hCMV intron) operably linked to a heterologous gene sequence encoding a desired recombinant protein. The mCMV promoter plus the first hCMV intron located downstream of the mCMV promoter form a regulatory unit which drives the expression of the downstream coding sequence. The present vector comprising within the expression cassette the mCMV promoter in combination with the first hCMV intron drives the expression of heterologous protein products at levels higher than those seen for vectors only containing the mCMV promoter (page 2, paragraph 3-page 3, paragraph 3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have substituted the EF1α intron of the recombinant expression vector of McGrew with the human CMV intron A of Gay to arrive at the instantly claimed invention. One of ordinary skill in the art would have a reason to substitute with a reasonable expectation of success because Gay teaches that that the activity of the human and mouse CMV promoter can be increased by inserting human CMV intron A into the expression vector downstream of the promoter. Therefore, it would have been obvious that one could replace the EF1α intron with a human CMV intron A as human CMV intron A was known to increase the activity of the human and mouse promoter when included in an expression vector. Because the prior art teaches all of the elements of the claimed invention, there is a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claims 2-4 and 13-14, McGrew teaches that the vector can further comprise:
(e) a third expression cassette comprising:
(i) a control sequence comprising an inducible promoter comprising one or more TetO sequences;
(ii) an open reading frame encoding a protein of interest operably linked to the control sequence; and
(iii) a second polyadenylation site operably linked 3' to the open reading frame
wherein the control sequence (i) of the third expression cassette comprises:
(1) a mCMV enhancer sequence, comprising a mCMV enhancer element (mCMV-E) and a CMV promoter (CMV-P) sequence at its 3' end, operably linked 5' to a rat EF-lalpha intron sequence, comprising one or more TetO sequences inserted within the CMV-P sequence;
(2) an intervening first leader sequence operably linked, 3' to the CMV-P sequence of the mCMV enhancer sequence, and 5' to the rat EF-lalpha intron sequence; and
(3) a second leader sequence operably linked 3' to the rat EF -1 alpha intron sequence (paragraphs 0300-0320).
Regarding claim 3 and 13, it would have been obvious that one could replace the EF1α intron with a human CMV intron A as human CMV intron A was known to increase the activity of the human and mouse promoter when included in an expression vector. Because the prior art teaches all of the elements of the claimed invention, there is a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claims 5 and 7, McGrew teaches that the weak constitutive promoter is a deleted SV 40 promoter and wherein the deleted SV40 promoter comprises the nucleotide sequence of SEQ ID NO:46 (which has 100% sequence identity to SEQ ID NO: 46 of the instant application (paragraphs 0263-0265).
Regarding claims 8-10, McGrew teaches that the selectable marker can be glutamine synthetase encoded by the nucleotide sequence of SEQ ID NO: 49 (which has 100% sequence identity to SEQ ID NO: 49 of the instant application) (paragraphs 0266-0268).
Regarding claim 11, McGrew teaches that the polyadenylation sequence can be from a SV40 late polyadenylation (paragraph 0132).
Regarding claims 15-17, McGrew teaches a mammalian host cell comprising the expression vector, wherein the host cells is a CHO-K1 cell (paragraphs 0213-0298).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed July 22, 2026, are acknowledged.
Applicant reiterates the arguments made in the Ku declaration and cites to statements from the Ku declaration throughout their arguments (page 2, paragraph 3-page 5, paragraph 3).
As there does not appear to be any new arguments outside of those already disclosed, and responded to above, in the Ku declaration, Applicant’s arguments have been fully considered but are considered unpersuasive for the same reasons as outlined above regarding the Ku declaration.
Withdrawn Double Patenting
The prior rejection of claims 1-5 and 7-17 on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-29 of U.S. Patent No. 11028410 in view of United States Patent Application No. 20220177916 (McGrew) and World Intellectual Property Organization Patent Application No. 2006111387 (Gay) is withdrawn in light of Applicant’s Terminal Disclaimer filed on July 22, 2026.
The terminal disclaimer filed on July 22, 2026, disclaiming the terminal portion of any patent granted on this application which would extend beyond the expiration date of prior patent No. 11028410 has been reviewed and is accepted. The terminal disclaimer has been recorded.
The prior rejection of claims 1-5, 7-10, and 15-17 on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-13 of U.S. Patent No. 11098310 in view of World Intellectual Property Organization Patent Application No. 2006111387 (Gay) is withdrawn in light of Applicant’s Terminal Disclaimer filed on July 22, 2026.
The terminal disclaimer filed on July 22, 2026, disclaiming the terminal portion of any patent granted on this application which would extend beyond the expiration date of prior patent No. 11098310 has been reviewed and is accepted. The terminal disclaimer has been recorded.
The prior rejection of claims 1, 3-4 and 11-14 on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-13 of U.S. Patent No. 11098310 in view of World Intellectual Property Organization Patent Application No. 2006111387 (Gay) as applied to claims 1and 3-4 above, and further in view of United States Patent Application No. 20220177916 (McGrew) is withdrawn in light of Applicant’s Terminal Disclaimer filed on July 22, 2026.
The prior rejection of claims 1-5, 7-10, and 12-17 on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-13 of U.S. Patent No. 11261462 in view of World Intellectual Property Organization Patent Application No. 2006111387 (Gay) is withdrawn in light of Applicant’s Terminal Disclaimer filed on July 22, 2026.
The terminal disclaimer filed on July 22, 2026, disclaiming the terminal portion of any patent granted on this application which would extend beyond the expiration date of prior patent No. 11261462 has been reviewed and is accepted. The terminal disclaimer has been recorded.
The prior rejection of claims 1 and 11 on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-13 of U.S. Patent No. 11261462 in view of World Intellectual Property Organization Patent Application No. 2006111387 (Gay) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of United States Patent Application No. 20220177916 (McGrew) is withdrawn in light of Applicant’s Terminal Disclaimer filed on July 22, 2026.
The prior rejection of claims 1-5 and 7-17 on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-13 of U.S. Patent No. 11685933 in view of World Intellectual Property Organization Patent Application No. 2006111387 (Gay) and United States Patent Application No. 20220177916 (McGrew) is withdrawn in light of Applicant’s Terminal Disclaimer filed on July 22, 2026.
The terminal disclaimer filed on July 22, 2026, disclaiming the terminal portion of any patent granted on this application which would extend beyond the expiration date of prior patent No. 11685933 has been reviewed and is accepted. The terminal disclaimer has been recorded.
The prior rejection of claims 1-5 and 7-17 on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-13 of U.S. Patent No. 11692193 in view of World Intellectual Property Organization Patent Application No. 2006111387 (Gay) and United States Patent Application No. 20220177916 (McGrew) is withdrawn in light of Applicant’s Terminal Disclaimer filed on July 22, 2026.
The terminal disclaimer filed on July 22, 2026, disclaiming the terminal portion of any patent granted on this application which would extend beyond the expiration date of prior patent No. 11692193 has been reviewed and is accepted. The terminal disclaimer has been recorded.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KEENAN A BATES/Examiner, Art Unit 1631