DETAILED ACTION
This office action is a response to the application 18/217,988 filed on July 3rd, 2023.
Claim Status
This office action is based upon claims received on 04/08/2026, which replace all prior or other submitted versions of the claims.
Claims 1 – 3, 5 – 6, 8, and 18 are pending.
Claims 1 – 3, 8, and 18 are rejected.
Claims 5 – 6 are objected to.
Response to Arguments/Remarks
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 1 – 5 of the Remarks, filed 04/08/2026, with respect to the rejections of independent claims 1 and 18, and dependent claims 2 – 3, and 8, with the exception of canceled claims 4, 7, and 9 - 17, under applied prior art references of record in the office action dated 02/13/2026, have been fully considered and are persuasive. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Huang et al. [US 20130308613 A1]. Therefore, the rejection has been revised as set forth below. See office action below.
It should be noted that the Examiner respectfully disagrees with the arguments regarding the motivation to combine being insufficient. Stating that a MAC CE of a particular invention only caters to the specific parameters that are required for that invention and therefore is not combinable with another invention also requiring a MAC CE with additional parameters and within the same field of endeavor is not persuasive. MAC Control Elements (MAC CEs) are not inherently tied to a single invention or feature — they are general-purpose control structures defined in the 3GPP specifications (e.g., TS 38.321) to carry operational control information between the UE and the network at the MAC layer. MAC CEs are not specific to a single invention — they are a flexible, standardized way to carry control information at the MAC layer, and their use depends on the procedure and configuration, not on being tied to one feature. Therefore, if one MAC CE carries information about cell switching and another MAC CE carries information about performing an RA procedure, a person having ordinary skill in the art would find it obvious to try to combine both types of information within a single MAC PDU to serve the different purposes as required by the invention.
All remaining arguments presented by Applicant not specifically addressed herein and directed to various dependent claims are found unpersuasive for the same reasons as stated herein, with regard to independent claims. The rejection has been revised and set forth below according to the amended claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 – 3, 8, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jin et al. [US 20210105780 A1] hereinafter Jin, and further in view of Lee et al. [US 20220329364 A1] hereinafter Lee, Zhang et al. [US 20230397069 A1] hereinafter Zhang, and Huang et al. [US 20130308613 A1] hereinafter Huang.
Regarding claim 1, Jin teaches a method performed by a wireless device (Jin: Fig. 1M, ¶ 14, ¶ 292-296; wherein UE 1m-01 is a wireless device), the method comprising:
receiving, from a base station, at least one Radio Resource Control (RRC) message (Jin: Fig. 1M, ¶ 14, ¶ 294; wherein in the RRC_connected state, the eNB delivers configuration information related to a plurality of TRPs 1m-03 and 1m-04 to the UE through an RRC message (1m-20)), the at least one RRC message including:
first configuration information indicating a Transmission Configuration Index (TCI) state list of a first cell (Jin: Fig. 1M, ¶ 14, ¶ 294; wherein the RRC message includes configuration information and TCI state configuration and in particular, the TCI state-related configuration may be performed for each BWP and for each serving cell (TRP1 1m-03 and TRP2 1m-04), and wherein TCI state for a bandwidth part (BWP) of a serving cell is among the plurality of TCI states (i.e., TCI state list). Therefore, the RRC message comprises configuration information indicating a TCI state list of a first cell (i.e., TRP1 1m-03)); and
second configuration information indicating a TCI state list of a second cell (Jin: Fig. 1M, ¶ 14, ¶ 294; wherein the RRC message includes configuration information and TCI state configuration and in particular, the TCI state-related configuration may be performed for each BWP and for each serving cell, and wherein TCI state for a bandwidth part (BWP) of a serving cell is among the plurality of TCI states (i.e., TCI state list). Therefore, the RRC message comprises configuration information indicating a TCI state list of a second cell (i.e., TRP2 1m-04));
receiving from the base station via the second cell (Jin: Fig. 1M, ¶ 295; wherein the TRP2 1m-04 sends a corresponding MAC CE to the UE through an L1/L2 signal message (1m-25)), a first Medium Access Control (MAC) Control Element (CE) (Jin: Fig. 1M, ¶ 14, ¶ 294-295; wherein the eNB may instruct the activation of a function requiring activation of the TRP operation through L1/L2 signaling with respect to the configuration for the TRP configured as the RRC configuration information. The L1 signaling means a DCI, and the L2 signaling means a MAC CE. For example, the corresponding MAC CE (i.e., a first MAC CE for TRP2) may be transmitted to activate the PDCCH TCI state for TRP2), the first MAC CE is associated with the first configuration information and a first TCI state that indicates a first TCI state of the TCI state list of the first cell (Jin: Fig. 1M, ¶ 14, ¶ 294-295; wherein the MAC CE includes information indicating that the at least one TCI state is for a transmission and reception point (TRP) of a second TRP, the corresponding MAC CE (i.e., a first MAC CE for TRP2) may be transmitted to activate the PDCCH TCI state for TRP2 and the corresponding MAC CE and DCI are sequentially transmitted to activate the PDSCH TCI state. Thus, the MAC CE is associated with the configuration information and the TCI state);
Jin does not explicitly disclose MAC CE for cell switching, the MAC CE including an identifier associated with configuration information and a TCI state identifier, and a field related to random access; and performing cell switching to the first cell based on the first MAC CE, wherein performing the cell switching comprises: if the field indicates a specific value, initiating a random access procedure in the first cell based on the first MAC CE; and otherwise skipping the random access procedure.
Referring to the invention of Lee, Lee teaches that MAC CE including an identifier associated with configuration information and a TCI state identifier (Lee: Fig. 9, ¶ 199, ¶ 203-205: wherein Fig. 9 illustrates TCI state indication for UE-specific MAC CE, and the Serving Cell ID indicates the identity of the Serving Cell for which the MAC CE applies, and the UE determines one or more TCI states indicated by group common MAC CE among all TCI states configured by the RRC message. Thus, the MAC CE comprises an identifier associated with configuration information (i.e., the serving cell ID and the TCI states configured by the RRC), and it is also associated with the TCI state identifier (i.e., the TCI state ID present in the MAC CE)).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to incorporate the MAC CE identifier teachings of Lee into the MAC CE teachings of Jin in order to improve efficiency, reduce overhead, simplify UE processing, and support complex multi-carrier or multi-CE scenarios.
In view of the combined MAC CE identifier teachings of Lee, and the MAC CE teachings of Jin, the limitation “receiving, …, a … MAC CE, wherein the … MAC CE including an identifier associated with the … configuration information and a … TCI state identifier, and wherein the … TCI state identifier indicates a … TCI state of the TCI state list of the … cell” is obviously met.
Jin in view of Lee does not explicitly disclose MAC CE for cell switching, and a field related to random access; and performing cell switching to the first cell based on the first MAC CE, wherein performing the cell switching comprises: if the field indicates a specific value, initiating a random access procedure in the first cell based on the first MAC CE; and otherwise skipping the random access procedure.
Referring to the invention of Zhang, Zhang teaches MAC CE for cell switching (Zhang: Fig. 5, Fig. 6, ¶ 43 – 45; wherein the UE receives a cell switch command from the network during mobility…, the cell switch command is sent by MAC CE); and
performing cell switching to the first cell based on the first MAC CE, wherein performing the cell switching comprises; and otherwise, skipping the random access procedure (Zhang: Fig. 5, Fig. 6, ¶ 43 – 45; wherein the UE receives a cell switch command from the network during mobility…, the cell switch command is sent by MAC CE. UE is switched back-and-forth between the first and second cell (i.e., the UE performs cell switching). The network decides to perform cell switch and change the serving cell from the source cell to the target cell. Then network sends a cell switch command to the UE. UE performs RLC re-establishment and MAC reset for cell switch. when the UE performs cell switch in the case of that the TAG associated with the target cell is valid and the timeAlignment timer of the TAG is running, the UE skips the random access (RA) procedure for target cell).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the random access skipping procedure as taught by Zhang into the combined mobility management teachings of Jin and Lee in order for the network to take advantage of ping-pong effects, i.e., cell switching back and forth between the source and target cells, to select the best beams among a wider area including both the source cell and target cell for throughput boosting during UE mobility (Zhang: ¶ 31, ¶ 38).
Although it should be noted that the limitation "MAC CE… field related to random access" only requires that a MAC CE should have a field related to a random access procedure not that the MAC CE has a random access field of its own, Zhang does teach in Fig. 5, Fig. 6, and paragraphs ¶ 43 – 46, in view of the teaching that UE cell switching command is received through MAC CE, (Para 46), thus the MAC CE has a field related to cell switching, and wherein in the process of cell switching, a UE skips random access (Para 45), therefore a field in the MAC CE is related to random access procedure because MAC CE is related to cell switching and cell switching is related to random access skipping.
Jin in view of Lee and Zhang does not explicitly teach MAC CE field related to random access… if the field indicates a specific value, initiating a random access procedure in the first cell based on the first MAC CE.
Referring to the invention of Huang, Huang teaches MAC CE field related to random access… if the field indicates a specific value, initiating a random access procedure in the first cell based on the first MAC CE. (Huang: Fig. 4, Fig. 5, ¶ 62 – 71; wherein the MAC PDU comprises one MAC CE, wherein the one MAC CE comprises at least one random access unit, and each random access unit of the at least one random access unit respectively comprises an identity of a UE that needs to the perform random access and a command for instructing the UE that needs to perform the random access to perform the random access,… wherein the "Preamble Index" indicates the random access code and the "PRACH Mask Index" indicates the random access resource (i.e., the Preamble Index and / or the PRACH Mask Index make up the random access command)). Therefore, the MAC CE comprises a random access unit (i.e., a field that is related to random access). Within this random access unit is the random access command (which comprises the UE ID, the Preamble Index, the PRACH Mask index and more) and the specific value within the PRACH Mask Index and / or the Preamble Index determine if the random access procedure will be initiated. If the information in the PRACH Mask Index and / or the Preamble Index is not provided, the random access procedure will be skipped (e.g., random access units with UE ID 0, 7, and n have the random access command (i.e., PRACH Mask Index and / or the Preamble Index) to perform the procedure as shown in Fig. 5).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to incorporate the initiation of random access procedure teachings of Huang into the MAC CE teachings of Jin, Lee, and Zhang combined, in order to provide a method for efficient signaling within a single MAC CE for cell switching and random access in order to reduce latency, lower overhead, improve resource utilization and ensure faster, more reliable procedure completion.
In view of the combined MAC CE teachings of Jin, Lee, Zhang, and the initiation of random access procedure based on MAC CE teachings of Huang, all of the limitations of claim 1 are obviously met.
Regarding claim 2, Jin in view of Lee, Zhang and Huang teaches the method of claim 1, wherein receiving the first MAC CE comprises:
while the first configuration information and the second configuration information are configured for the wireless device, receiving the first MAC CE (Jin: Fig. 1M, ¶ 294; wherein the TRP2 1m-04 sends a corresponding MAC CE to the UE through an L1/L2 signal message (1m-25) after the UE receives the first and second configuration information for the UE).
Regarding claim 3, Jin in view of Lee, Zhang and Huang teaches the method of claim 1, further comprising:
applying, the first configuration information based on the first MAC CE (Jin: ¶ 158, ¶ 165; wherein when a plurality of TRPs are configured in one serving cell, general configuration information on the serving cell is transmitted in common… and the eNB indicates the TCI state ID for PDCCH reception in a specific CORESET through a MAC CE); and
performing wireless communication with the base station via the first cell based on the first configuration information (Jin: Fig. 1M, ¶ 296, Fig. 1N, ¶ 300; wherein in operation 1m-40, the UE may change and apply active beam information in each TRP according to L1/L2 signaling received from the eNB, likewise, if the L1/L2 signaling received by the UE in operation 1n-20 is beam activation information for the plurality of TRPs (for PDCCH, PDSCH, or PUCCH), the corresponding transmission/reception resources may be transmitted in each TRP (TRP 1 and TRP 2) through the downlink beam (TCI state) and the uplink beam (PUCCH resource transmission beam) for which activation is indicated. The UE performs uplink and downlink data reception through a beam configured for communication with the eNB).
Regarding claim 8, Jin in view of Lee, Zhang and Huang teaches the method of claim 1, wherein receiving the at least one RRC message comprises:
receiving, from the base station, a first RRC message including the first configuration information; and receiving, from the base station, a second RRC message including the second configuration information (Jin: Fig. 1M, ¶ 294, ¶ 320; wherein the eNB configures a downlink beam used for transmission to the UE through the PDCCH up to 64 beams as an RRC message or as RRC messages. Thus, the eNB is capable of sending multiple RRC messages, wherein each RRC message will comprise its own configuration information).
Regarding claim 18, Jin teaches a method performed by a wireless device (Jin: Fig. 1M, ¶ 14, ¶ 292-296; wherein UE 1m-01 is a wireless device), the method comprising:
a transceiver configured to transmit and receive a signal (Jin: Fig. 1P, ¶ 304-305; baseband processor 1p-20 and the RF processor 1p-10 may be referred to as a transmitter, a receiver, a transceiver); and
a controller configured to control the transceiver to (Jin: Fig. 1P, ¶ 304-305; controller 1p-40):
receiving, from a base station, at least one Radio Resource Control (RRC) message (Jin: Fig. 1M, ¶ 14, ¶ 294; wherein in the RRC_connected state, the eNB delivers configuration information related to a plurality of TRPs 1m-03 and 1m-04 to the UE through an RRC message (1m-20)), the at least one RRC message including:
first configuration information indicating a Transmission Configuration Index (TCI) state list of a first cell (Jin: Fig. 1M, ¶ 14, ¶ 294; wherein the RRC message includes configuration information and TCI state configuration and in particular, the TCI state-related configuration may be performed for each BWP and for each serving cell (TRP1 1m-03 and TRP2 1m-04), and wherein TCI state for a bandwidth part (BWP) of a serving cell is among the plurality of TCI states (i.e., TCI state list). Therefore, the RRC message comprises configuration information indicating a TCI state list of a first cell (i.e., TRP1 1m-03)); and
second configuration information indicating a TCI state list of a second cell (Jin: Fig. 1M, ¶ 14, ¶ 294; wherein the RRC message includes configuration information and TCI state configuration and in particular, the TCI state-related configuration may be performed for each BWP and for each serving cell, and wherein TCI state for a bandwidth part (BWP) of a serving cell is among the plurality of TCI states (i.e., TCI state list). Therefore, the RRC message comprises configuration information indicating a TCI state list of a second cell (i.e., TRP2 1m-04));
receiving from the base station via the second cell (Jin: Fig. 1M, ¶ 295; wherein the TRP2 1m-04 sends a corresponding MAC CE to the UE through an L1/L2 signal message (1m-25)), a first Medium Access Control (MAC) Control Element (CE) (Jin: Fig. 1M, ¶ 14, ¶ 294-295; wherein the eNB may instruct the activation of a function requiring activation of the TRP operation through L1/L2 signaling with respect to the configuration for the TRP configured as the RRC configuration information. The L1 signaling means a DCI, and the L2 signaling means a MAC CE. For example, the corresponding MAC CE (i.e., a first MAC CE for TRP2) may be transmitted to activate the PDCCH TCI state for TRP2), the first MAC CE is associated with the first configuration information and a first TCI state that indicates a first TCI state of the TCI state list of the first cell (Jin: Fig. 1M, ¶ 14, ¶ 294-295; wherein the MAC CE includes information indicating that the at least one TCI state is for a transmission and reception point (TRP) of a second TRP, the corresponding MAC CE (i.e., a first MAC CE for TRP2) may be transmitted to activate the PDCCH TCI state for TRP2 and the corresponding MAC CE and DCI are sequentially transmitted to activate the PDSCH TCI state. Thus, the MAC CE is associated with the configuration information and the TCI state);
Jin does not explicitly disclose the MAC CE including an identifier associated with configuration information and a TCI state identifier, and a field related to random access; and if the field indicates a specific value, perform cell switching to the first cell by initiating a random access procedure based on the first MAC CE; and otherwise perform cell switching to the first cell by skipping the random access procedure.
Referring to the invention of Lee, Lee teaches that MAC CE including an identifier associated with configuration information and a TCI state identifier (Lee: Fig. 9, ¶ 199, ¶ 203-205: wherein Fig. 9 illustrates TCI state indication for UE-specific MAC CE, and the Serving Cell ID indicates the identity of the Serving Cell for which the MAC CE applies, and the UE determines one or more TCI states indicated by group common MAC CE among all TCI states configured by the RRC message. Thus, the MAC CE comprises an identifier associated with configuration information (i.e., the serving cell ID and the TCI states configured by the RRC), and it is also associated with the TCI state identifier (i.e., the TCI state ID present in the MAC CE)).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to incorporate the MAC CE identifier teachings of Lee into the MAC CE teachings of Jin in order to improve efficiency, reduce overhead, simplify UE processing, and support complex multi-carrier or multi-CE scenarios.
In view of the combined MAC CE identifier teachings of Lee, and the MAC CE teachings of Jin, the limitation “receiving, …, a … MAC CE, wherein the … MAC CE including an identifier associated with the … configuration information and a … TCI state identifier, and wherein the … TCI state identifier indicates a … TCI state of the TCI state list of the … cell” is obviously met.
Jin in view of Lee does not explicitly disclose a field related to random access; if the field indicates a specific value, perform cell switching to the first cell by initiating a random access procedure based on the first MAC CE; and otherwise perform cell switching to the first cell by skipping the random access procedure.
Referring to the invention of Zhang, Zhang teaches perform cell switching to the first cell… based on the first MAC CE; and otherwise, perform cell switching to the first cell by skipping the random access procedure (Zhang: Fig. 5, Fig. 6, ¶ 43 – 45; wherein the UE receives a cell switch command from the network during mobility…, the cell switch command is sent by MAC CE. UE is switched back-and-forth between the first and second cell (i.e., the UE performs cell switching). The network decides to perform cell switch and change the serving cell from the source cell to the target cell. Then network sends a cell switch command to the UE. UE performs RLC re-establishment and MAC reset for cell switch. when the UE performs cell switch in the case of that the TAG associated with the target cell is valid and the timeAlignment timer of the TAG is running, the UE skips the random access (RA) procedure for target cell).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the random access skipping procedure as taught by Zhang into the combined mobility management teachings of Jin and Lee in order for the network to take advantage of ping-pong effects, i.e., cell switching back and forth between the source and target cells, to select the best beams among a wider area including both the source cell and target cell for throughput boosting during UE mobility (Zhang: ¶ 31, ¶ 38).
Although it should be noted that the limitation "MAC CE… field related to random access" only requires that a MAC CE should have a field related to a random access procedure not that the MAC CE has a random access field of its own, Zhang does teach in Fig. 5, Fig. 6, and paragraphs ¶ 43 – 46, in view of the teaching that UE cell switching command is received through MAC CE, (Para 46), thus the MAC CE has a field related to cell switching, and wherein in the process of cell switching, a UE skips random access (Para 45), therefore a field in the MAC CE is related to random access procedure because MAC CE is related to cell switching and cell switching is related to random access skipping.
Jin in view of Lee and Zhang does not explicitly disclose MAC CE field related to random access… if the field indicates a specific value, initiating a random access procedure in the first cell based on the first MAC CE.
Referring to the invention of Huang, Huang teaches MAC CE field related to random access… if the field indicates a specific value, initiating a random access procedure in the first cell based on the first MAC CE. (Huang: Fig. 4, Fig. 5, ¶ 62 – 71; wherein the MAC PDU comprises one MAC CE, wherein the one MAC CE comprises at least one random access unit, and each random access unit of the at least one random access unit respectively comprises an identity of a UE that needs to the perform random access and a command for instructing the UE that needs to perform the random access to perform the random access,… wherein the "Preamble Index" indicates the random access code and the "PRACH Mask Index" indicates the random access resource (i.e., the Preamble Index and / or the PRACH Mask Index make up the random access command)). Therefore, the MAC CE comprises a random access unit (i.e., a field that is related to random access). Within this random access unit is the random access command (which comprises the UE ID, the Preamble Index, the PRACH Mask index and more) and the specific value within the PRACH Mask Index and / or the Preamble Index determine if the random access procedure will be initiated. If the information in the PRACH Mask Index and / or the Preamble Index is not provided, the random access procedure will be skipped (e.g., random access units with UE ID 0, 7, and n have the random access command (i.e., PRACH Mask Index and / or the Preamble Index) to perform the procedure as shown in Fig. 5).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to incorporate the initiation of random access procedure teachings of Huang into the MAC CE teachings of Jin, Lee, and Zhang combined, in order to provide a method for efficient signaling within a single MAC CE for cell switching and random access in order to reduce latency, lower overhead, improve resource utilization and ensure faster, more reliable procedure completion.
In view of the combined MAC CE teachings of Jin, Lee, Zhang, and the initiation of random access procedure based on MAC CE teachings of Huang, all of the limitations of claim 18 are obviously met.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5 – 6 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 5, the prior art of record fail to disclose, alone or in any reasonable combination, as required by the dependent claim “wherein the first cell is associated with a first layer-2 mobility group, and the second cell is associated with a second layer-2 mobility group”.
Claims 6 is objected to, based on its dependency on claim 5.
The Examiner notes the above limitation(s) are not taken alone but in view of the entirety of the claim language including any preceding claim limitations, any proceeding claim limitations, and any intervening claim limitations.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Zhang et al. [US 20200314919 A1]: Wireless Communication Method and Device; Zhang teaches that random access procedure is triggered or initiated by a situation or a condition related to link reconfiguration or beam failure, then the LCID identifying the C-RNT MAC CE adopts LCID1 or a value of LCID1, and it the RA process is not triggered or initiated then the LCID is 2 or a value of LCID2.
/HD/Examiner, Art Unit 2414
/EDAN ORGAD/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2414