DETAILED ACTION
1. This action is responsive to applicant’s amendment dated 3/17/2026.
2. Claims 1-6 and 8-10 are pending in the case.
3. Claim 7 is cancelled.
4. Claims 1, 9 and 10 are independent claims.
Applicant’s Response
5. In Applicant’s response dated 3/17/2026, applicant has amended the following:
a) Claims 1, 3-5 and 8-10
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5, 6 and 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shimizu et al. (hereinafter “Shimizu”) U.S. Published Application No. 20230385011 A1, in view of O’Hern et al. (hereinafter “O’Hern”), WO 2021061441 A1 published April 1st, 2021.
Claim 1:
Shimizu teaches A control system, comprising:
display processing circuitry that causes a user terminal to display a virtual space and a user icon for identifying a user and indicating a position of the user in the virtual space; (e.g., displaying avatar of user within a room of a virtual space that indicates a position of the user par. 50; The avatar is a virtual object disposed in the virtual space as a personal character of each user par. 58; For example, the virtual space (for example, the lounge 5-1) shared by a large number of users (that is, virtual space where a large number of users can enter) may be constructed by the server 20, and a room of an individual user (that is, virtual space where only the user can enter) may be constructed by each of the user terminals 10. )
reception processing circuitry that receives, at the user terminal, an operation of moving the user icon in the virtual space performed by the user corresponding to the user icon; (e.g., user moving their own avatar to different rooms within virtual space par. 58; For example, the virtual space (for example, the lounge 5-1) shared by a large number of users (that is, virtual space where a large number of users can enter) may be constructed by the server 20, and a room of an individual user (that is, virtual space where only the user can enter) may be constructed by each of the user terminals 10.)
acquisition processing circuitry that acquires a position of the user icon in the virtual space based on the operation; (e.g., acquires position of the user’s avatar viewpoint par. 57; When the virtual space information providing unit 201 generates the image of the virtual space from the user's viewpoint, the image of the virtual space may be generated after causing the user's viewpoint to follow the motion of the user in the real space based on the position information (for example, the position of the head), posture information, and motion information (for example, the motion of the head and the motion of the limbs) of the user continuously transmitted from the user terminal 10. Par. 98; In this case, although it has been described that the user enters the lounge first as an example, the present embodiment is not limited thereto, and the user may arbitrarily select which virtual space the user enters after logging in. par. 99; As described above, the user's viewpoint may be the viewpoint of the avatar drawn in the virtual space as a personal character of the user (in this case, the avatar of the user is not included in the user's field of view), or may be the viewpoint including the avatar of the user in the field of view. Par. 109; For example, each room may not be an individual room but may be a virtual space where a user having a predetermined authority can enter, and may be constructed by the server 20.)
and permission processing circuitry that permits a user operation to be performed by the user on a virtual device installed in the virtual space when the position of the user icon is included in a specific area in the virtual space,(e.g., avatar user within a specific room of the virtual space can perform trigger operations such as starting or ending interaction using a virtual object (e.g., communication display device for communicating with other participants in other rooms) par. 62; For example, the communication information acquired from another virtual space may be presented by a virtual object such as a screen, a table, a wall, a ceiling, a door, or a display. Par. 107; The user A or the user B may instruct to end the interaction. The server 20 may always have a virtual window installed in each room. Par. 109; Although the example illustrated in FIG. 7 includes the “interaction request” and the “interaction permission” as triggers for starting the bidirectional interaction in the plurality of virtual spaces by installing the virtual window, the trigger for starting the bidirectional interaction is not limited thereto, and some other event may be used as a trigger. par. 123; The virtual window 54E installed in the event room 5-2E may be realized by a large screen (virtual object) and disposed above the space so as to be visible to a large number of general audience users remaining in the event room 5-2E.)
wherein:
the virtual device corresponds to a display device installed in a meeting room in a real space, the display device being different from the user terminal,
and the permission processing circuitry causes the display device to execute processing corresponding to the user operation performed on the virtual device when the user operation is permitted. (e.g., virtual object such as a screen corresponds to a display device (i.e., target device) of the user connected to the user network (i.e., installed in a real space) For example, when a first avatar triggers interaction to begin or end via virtual object, the terminal device of the second avatar executes processing corresponding the begin or end interaction operations. par. 62; For example, the communication information acquired from another virtual space may be presented by a virtual object such as a screen, a table, a wall, a ceiling, a door, or a display. Par. 67; At least a part or all of the functions of the server 20 may be realized by an intermediate server, a local edge server, the user terminal 10, a dedicated terminal disposed in the same space as the user terminal 10, a smartphone, a tablet terminal, a PC (personal computer), or the like. Par. 107; The user A or the user B may instruct to end the interaction.)
Shimizu fails to expressly teach
wherein:
the virtual device corresponds to a display device installed in a meeting room in a real space, the display device being different from the user terminal,
and the permission processing circuitry causes the display device to execute processing corresponding to the user operation performed on the virtual device when the user operation is permitted.
However, O’Hern teaches
wherein:
the virtual device corresponds to a display device installed in a meeting room in a real space, the display device being different from the user terminal, (e.g., virtual monitor (i.e., virtual device) corresponds to a laptop (i.e., display device) installed in a real space par. 3; The virtual object be positioned in the CGR environment based on the position of the laptop. For example, the CGR environment may include a view of the physical environment with a virtual monitor positioned at, around, or otherwise based on the position of the laptop’s real display. For example, the HMD may display the laptop’s current content and additional content on a virtual screen that is bigger than the actual screen and positioned in the CGR environment based on the position of the actual screen.)
and the permission processing circuitry causes the display device to execute processing corresponding to the user operation performed on the virtual device when the user operation is permitted. (e.g., processor of laptop processing operation input within the virtual space operations to display content on the laptop is also displayed on the virtual object par. 5; For example, metal may be displayed on a laptop monitor with a fixed appearance based on an assumed viewing position and, in contrast, the metal may be displayed on a virtual monitor on an HMD providing a CGR environment with an appearance that varies as the user or laptop moves relative to one another, e.g., based on changing reflections. par. 47; In another example, the input/output exchanger 244 may recognize input in the CGR environment (e.g., movement of a user’s hand, body, or a user held device) and provide data corresponding to such input to the second electronic device 130. Par. 66; In some implementations, an application need not be altered, and the inputs received in a CGR environment in non-native input types via the first device may be translated into a form that the application on the second device will recognize. For example, an upward moving hand gesture may be translated into a page up button input that the second device will recognize. Par. 67; For example, a cube from an application on a laptop may interact with a virtual cube from an application on an HMD that is providing a CGR environment that includes the laptop. )
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the display content in virtual space as taught by Shimizu to include communication capability with display devices in real space as taught by O’Hern, with a reasonable expectation of success, to provide the benefit of a virtual space that augments the input and output capabilities of a second device (see O’Hern; par. 4; par. 69).
Claim 2 depends on claim 1:
Shimizu teaches wherein the virtual device is installed in the specific area, and a movement of another user icon corresponding to a predetermined user into the specific area is permitted. (e.g., virtual object of display device is installed in a room while one or more avatar enters the room as shown in Figures 4 and 9 Par. 107; The user A or the user B may instruct to end the interaction. The server 20 may always have a virtual window installed in each room. Par. 109; For example, each room may not be an individual room but may be a virtual space where a user having a predetermined authority can enter, and may be constructed by the server 20.)
Claim 3 depends on claim 1:
Shimizu teaches wherein the permission processing circuitry permits a first user operation to be performed by a first user who is identified by meeting information indicating a predetermined use schedule for the specific area in which the virtual device is installed, when a position of a first user icon of the first user is included in the specific area. (e.g., user avatar having predetermined authority (i.e., predetermined use schedule for the specific area in which the virtual device is installed) to enter room having a virtual object for communication purposes Par. 109; For example, each room may not be an individual room but may be a virtual space where a user having a predetermined authority can enter, and may be constructed by the server 20.)
Claim 5 depends on claim 3:
Shimizu teaches wherein the permission processing circuitry prohibits a second user icon corresponding to a second user who is not registered in the meeting information, from entering the specific area and prohibits a second user operation from being performed by the second user on the virtual device. (e.g., prohibit user avatar without predetermined authority from entering a room having a virtual object for communication purposes (i.e., not allowing a second user due to improper authority results in a room that prohibits a second user operation performed by the second user on the virtual device) Par. 109; For example, each room may not be an individual room but may be a virtual space where a user having a predetermined authority can enter, and may be constructed by the server 20.)
Claim 6 depends on claim 1:
Shimizu teaches further comprising an audio processing circuitry that transmits and receives audio between user terminals of respective users corresponding to a plurality of user icons included in the specific area. (e.g., voice audio of excitement between avatars within event room as shown in Figure 9 par. 36; Furthermore, the HMD uses headphones in combination, and can also present information (voice) of the virtual space to the user's sense of hearing as well as a user's vision. Par. 71; Furthermore, the communication unit 110 transmits sensing data (position information, posture information, motion information, voice, operation information, and the like) detected by the sensor unit 120 provided in the user terminal 10 to the server 20. Par. 92; When the room 5-2A is constructed with the user terminal 10A, the server 20 may perform processing of transmitting the video and voice of (the avatar of) the user 50B captured in the room 5-2B to the user terminal 10A in real time. par. 112; he voice of the performer may be collected by a microphone and output as the voice of the avatar of the performer. Par. 114; A method of selecting the user to move to the special room 5-2D is not particularly limited, and for example, the user may be selected according to a charge reward rate, the user who is most excited (large voice, large motion, and the like) may be selected by detecting excitement)
Claim 8 depends on claim 1:
Shimizu teaches wherein the display processing circuitry causes the user terminal to display the specific area in the virtual space and the user icon, (e.g., user moving their own avatar to different rooms within virtual space par. 58; For example, the virtual space (for example, the lounge 5-1) shared by a large number of users (that is, virtual space where a large number of users can enter) may be constructed by the server 20, and a room of an individual user (that is, virtual space where only the user can enter) may be constructed by each of the user terminals 10.)
Shimizu/O’Hern teaches and the display processing circuitry causes a display screen corresponding to the user operation to be displayed in a display area of the display device, and in a display area of a virtual display device installed in the virtual space. (e.g., displayed content of virtual space corresponding to the displayed content on the laptop O’Hern; par. 5; For example, metal may be displayed on a laptop monitor with a fixed appearance based on an assumed viewing position and, in contrast, the metal may be displayed on a virtual monitor on an HMD providing a CGR environment with an appearance that varies as the user or laptop moves relative to one another, e.g., based on changing reflections. par. 47; In another example, the input/output exchanger 244 may recognize input in the CGR environment (e.g., movement of a user’s hand, body, or a user held device) and provide data corresponding to such input to the second electronic device 130. Par. 66; In some implementations, an application need not be altered, and the inputs received in a CGR environment in non-native input types via the first device may be translated into a form that the application on the second device will recognize. For example, an upward moving hand gesture may be translated into a page up button input that the second device will recognize. Par. 67; For example, a cube from an application on a laptop may interact with a virtual cube from an application on an HMD that is providing a CGR environment that includes the laptop. )
Independent Claim 9:
Claim 9 is substantially encompassed in claim 1, therefore, Examiner relies on the same rationale set forth in claim 1 to reject claim 9.
Independent Claim 10:
Claim 10 is substantially encompassed in claim 1, therefore, Examiner relies on the same rationale set forth in claim 1 to reject claim 10.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shimizu/O’Hern as cited above, in further view of Matsuda, Satoru, U.S. Published Application No. 20020054094 A1.
Claim 4 depends on claim 3:
Shimizu/O’Hern fails to expressly teach wherein the permission processing circuitry permits a second user operation to be performed by a second user who is not registered in the meeting information on the virtual device, when the first user permits a second user icon corresponding to the second user to enter the specific area.
However, Matsuda teaches wherein the permission processing circuitry permits a second user operation to be performed by a second user who is not registered in the meeting information on the virtual device, when the first user permits a second user icon corresponding to the second user to enter the specific area.(e.g., when a member of a community assigns a community card granting access to a room to an unregistered second user,. Par. 5; When a user for example wants to invite another user he became acquainted with in the virtual space, to the community he participates in, or when a user is interested in a community of another user he met within the virtual space and wants to himself participate in that community, par. 117; Then, if the user A makes a request, for example, to the user B by means of a conversation with user B in the virtual space 81, or if the user A invites the user B to participate in the community 82 that user A belongs to, then in step S34, the CPU 31 of the user terminal device 2-1 accepts the input of an operation of the input section 34 to deliver a community card to the user B par. 118; The operation implemented by the user A to deliver a community card to the user B, may for example constitute selecting a community card corresponding to any one of the community cards 141 through 143 by using a mouse, to drag-and-drop the icon representing the community card onto the avatar showing user B, )
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify virtual rooms for avatar users as taught by Shimizu/O’Hern to include permitted operations based on a member card icon as taught by Matsuda, with a reasonable expectation of success, to provide the benefit of a user friendly way of quickly enabling activities with new participates in effort to promote a better collaboration experience.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, with respect to the previously cited prior art failing to disclose the new limitations has been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new grounds of rejection is made in view of newly applied “O’Hern“ reference.
For at least the foregoing reasons, the claims are not in condition for allowance.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/HENRY ORR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2172