DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 8, 10, 11, 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by Leopold (US 7947901 B2, hereinafter Leopold)
Claim 1 Leopold teaches an outdoor-mountable electronic apparatus comprising:
a housing including a top portion (top of 102e, fig 1), a bottom portion (bottom of 102e and bottom of 102f together, fig 1), and one or more side portions (side of 102e, fig 1) interconnecting the top portion and the bottom portion, the bottom portion including an extended end section (section that connects 102e and 102f, fig 1) at one end of the housing, the extended end section of the bottom portion being directed upward (since 102f is directed upward), the one or more side portions and the extended end section of the bottom portion defining a cavity (cavity of fig 1);
one or more electrical connectors mounted within the cavity (col 5 lines 38-41 recite ‘the device receptacle outlets 102a and 102b is adapted to receive a two-prong or three-prong electrical plug and, in combination, are generally referred to 40 as a single gang electrical receptacle’, see also fig 1); and
an angled access door (122) coupled to the top portion of the housing such that the access door opens upwardly and closes downwardly (fig 1), the access door being sized and shaped to cover the cavity when the access door is in a closed position (fig 2).
Claim 2 Leopold teaches the electronic apparatus of claim 1, wherein the access door is hinged at the top portion of the housing (figs 1, 2).
Claim 3 Leopold teaches the electronic apparatus of claim 1, wherein the access door is pivotally coupled to the top portion of the housing (figs 1, 2).
Claim 4 Leopold teaches the electronic apparatus of claim 1, further comprising:
a seal installed along perimeter edges of the one or more side portions and along the extended end section of the bottom portion of the housing to mitigate moisture intrusion when the access door is in the closed position (col 5 lines 22-24 recites ‘recessed weatherproof cover housing 102 is made of molded plastic and the faceplate 102/ and walls 102e are integral to one another and environmentally sealed’, col 8 lines 50-55 recite ‘one or more sealing elements (not shown) such as, for example, gaskets, may be coupled to one or more of the walls 102e of the weatherproof cover housing 102 so that, when the door 122 is in the closed configuration, the gaskets sealingly engage the door 122 and the walls 102e’).
Claim 8 Leopold teaches the electronic apparatus of claim 1, wherein the access door includes a spring-loaded hinge for biasing the access door toward the extended end section of the bottom portion of the housing when the access door is in the closed position (col 6 lines 26-31 recite ‘biasing elements (not shown) such as, for example, torsion springs, so that the hinge assemblies 124a and 124b and/or 124c and 124d apply biasing forces against the door 122, urging the door 122 towards the weatherproof cover housing 102 to place the door 122 in the closed configuration’).
Claim 10 Leopold teaches the electronic apparatus of claim 1, further comprising:
a wall (102f, fig 1) interconnecting the top portion and the bottom portion of the housing, wherein the one or more electrical connectors are mounted to the wall (fig 1).
Claim 11 Leopold teaches the electronic apparatus of claim 1, further comprising:
a powerline connector (connector mounted to 112a-c, fig 4) mounted through an aperture (between 102f of fig 1 and 104, 107 of fig 4) defined by the bottom portion of the housing, the powerline connector being configured to receive electrical power from an external power source (source that powers 112a-c, fig 4).
Claim 13 Leopold teaches the electronic apparatus of claim 1, wherein the extended end section of the bottom portion of the housing is curved upward (fig 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Leopold in view of Dinh (US 7476806 B2, hereinafter Dinh)
Claim 5 Leopold teaches the electronic apparatus of claim 1, but fails to teach the extended end section of the bottom portion of the housing defines at least one cable access port for passage of at least one connector cable
Dinh teaches an extended end section of the bottom portion of the housing defines (col 5 lines 5-8 recite ‘The space 125 between cord holder extensions 126 and 128 and resilient member 124 is sufficient for an electrical cord 127 attached to outlet 50 or 52 to extend therebetween’) at least one cable access port (125, fig 3) for passage of at least one connector cable (127, fig 3)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the arrangement as taught by Dinh into the device of Leopold. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Leopold in the above manner for the purpose of having more electrical connections (Dinh fig 4 shows more outlets, col 8 lines 45-46 recite ‘sized to accommodate one or more than one conventional electrical device’).
Claim 6 Leopold and Dinh teach the electronic apparatus of claim 5, further comprising:
at least one removable plug for covering the at least one cable access port (Leopold col 7 lines 35-36 recite ‘cable openings 128a-128d are covered by a removable cable cap’)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the arrangement as taught by Leopold into the device of Leopold in view of Dinh. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Leopold in view of Dinh in the above manner for the purpose of protecting against water and weather.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Leopold in view of Dinh (US 7476806 B2, hereinafter Dinh), further in view of Ladewig (US 9261251 B1, hereinafter Ladewig)
Claim 7 Leopold and Dinh teach the electronic apparatus of claim 5, but fails to specifically teach:
at least one gasket positioned within the at least one cable access port to mitigate intrusion of moisture through the at least one cable access port after the at least one connector cable has been passed through the at least one cable access port.
Ladewig teaches at least one gasket (310) positioned within at least one cable access port (col 6 lines 51-54 recite ‘In general, the gasket 310 fills any open space between the extruded heatsink 104 and the gasket plate 340, creating a seal between the extruded heatsink 104 and the gasket plate 340’ while col 6 lines 57-63 recite ‘Because the outline of the attachment face 300 is smaller than the outline of the gasket 310 and the end face of the extruded heatsink 104, the gasket plate 340, which is rigid, is relied upon to compress the outer edges of the gasket 310 against the end face of the extruded heatsink 104 when the extruded heatsink 104 is mechanically secured’) to mitigate intrusion of moisture through the at least one cable access port after the at least one connector cable has been passed through the at least one cable access port (col 6 lines 41-43 recite ‘In general, the gasket 310 fills any open space between the extruded heatsink 104 and the gasket plate 340, creating a seal between the extruded heatsink 104 and the gasket plate 340’).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the arrangement as taught by Ladewig into the device of Leopold and Dinh. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Leopold and Dinh in the above manner for the purpose of protecting against moisture.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Leopold in view of Ladewig (US 9261251 B1, hereinafter Ladewig)
Claim 9 Leopold teaches the electronic apparatus of claim 1, but fails to specifically teach that the access door defines at least one aperture and wherein the extended end section of the bottom portion of the housing defines at least one corresponding threaded aperture usable for securing the access door to the extended end section of the bottom portion of the housing using at least one fastener.
Ladewig teaches an access door (door of 220) defines at least one aperture and wherein the extended end section of the bottom portion of the housing defines at least one corresponding threaded aperture usable for securing the access door to the extended end section of the bottom portion of the housing using at least one fastener (col 5 lines 35-39 recite ‘Securing clips 214 are mounted or otherwise affixed to the cabinet 210 using screws, bolts, clips, tabs, adhesives, or other suitable mechanical fastening means. The securing clips 214 secure the cover 220 to the cabinet 210’).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the arrangement as taught by Ladewig into the device of Leopold. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Leopold and Jarrell in the above manner for the purpose of securely holding the apparatus closed during severe weather events.
Claims 12, 14-16, 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Leopold in view of Jarrell (US 20170301220 A1, hereinafter Jarrell)
Claim 12 Leopold teaches the electronic apparatus of claim 1, but fails to teach that the housing is configured to be horizontally mounted to a powerline connector atop a streetlight fixture
Jarrell teaches housing is configured to be horizontally mounted to a powerline connector atop a streetlight fixture ([0106] recites ‘The optical sensor may include an electrical plug (not shown) that may be attached to or plugged into an electrical receptacle (not shown) of the streetlight unit’, see also fig 1)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the streetlight as taught by Jarrell into the device of Leopold. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Leopold in the above manner for the purpose of providing a weatherproof electrical plug on a streetlight unit (see Jarrell [0106])
Claim 14 (currently amended): A streetlight-mountable electronic apparatus comprising:
a housing including a top portion (top of 102e, fig 1), a bottom portion (bottom of 102e and bottom of 102f together, fig 1), and one or more side portions (side of 102e, fig 1) interconnecting the top portion and the bottom portion, the bottom portion including an extended end section (section that connects 102e and 102f, fig 1) at one end of the housing, the extended end section of the bottom portion being directed upward (since 102f is directed upward), the one or more side portions and the extended end section of the bottom portion defining a cavity (cavity of fig 1);
one or more electrical connectors mounted within the cavity (col 5 lines 38-41 recite ‘the device receptacle outlets 102a and 102b is adapted to receive a two-prong or three-prong electrical plug and, in combination, are generally referred to 40 as a single gang electrical receptacle’, see also fig 1);
a powerline connector (connector mounted to 112a-c, fig 4) mounted through an aperture (between 102f of fig 1 and 104, 107 of fig 4) defined by the bottom portion of the housing, the powerline connector being configured to receive electrical power (source that powers 112a-c, fig 4) ; and
a hinged, angled access door (122, fig 1) coupled to the top portion of the housing such that the access door opens upwardly and closes downwardly (figs 1, 2), the access door being sized and shaped to cover the cavity when the access door is in a closed position (fig 2)
However Leopold fails to specifically teach the powerline connector being configured to receive electrical power from a streetlight lighting fixture
Jarrell teaches a powerline connector being configured to receive electrical power from a streetlight lighting fixture ([0106] recites ‘The optical sensor may include an electrical plug (not shown) that may be attached to or plugged into an electrical receptacle (not shown) of the streetlight unit’, see also fig 1)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the streetlight as taught by Jarrell into the device of Leopold. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Leopold in the above manner for the purpose of providing a weatherproof electrical plug on a streetlight unit (see Jarrell [0106])
Claim 15 Leopold and Jarrell teaches the electronic apparatus of claim 14, wherein the access door includes a spring-loaded hinge for biasing the access door toward the extended end section of the bottom portion of the housing when the access door is in the closed position (Leopold col 6 lines 26-31 recite ‘biasing elements (not shown) such as, for example, torsion springs, so that the hinge assemblies 124a and 124b and/or 124c and 124d apply biasing forces against the door 122, urging the door 122 towards the weatherproof cover housing 102 to place the door 122 in the closed configuration’).
Claim 16 Leopold and Jarrell teaches the electronic apparatus of claim 14, further comprising:
a seal installed along edges of the one or more side portions and the extended end section of the bottom portion of the housing to mitigate moisture intrusion when the access door is in the closed position (col 5 lines 22-24 recites ‘recessed weatherproof cover housing 102 is made of molded plastic and the faceplate 102/ and walls 102e are integral to one another and environmentally sealed’, col 8 lines 50-55 recite ‘one or more sealing elements (not shown) such as, for example, gaskets, may be coupled to one or more of the walls 102e of the weatherproof cover housing 102 so that, when the door 122 is in the closed configuration, the gaskets sealingly engage the door 122 and the walls 102e’).
Claim 20 (currently amended): A streetlight-mountable wireless networking device comprising:
a low-profile housing including a top portion (top of 102e, fig 1), a bottom portion (bottom of 102e and bottom of 102f together, fig 1), and one or more side portions (side of 102e, fig 1) interconnecting the top portion and the bottom portion, the bottom portion including an extended end section (section that connects 102e and 102f, fig 1) at one end of the housing, the extended end section being curved upward and forming at least part of a cavity that contains at least one cable access port (fig 1); and
a hinged, angled access door (122) coupled to the top portion of the housing such that the access door opens upwardly and closes downwardly (fig 1), the access door being sized and shaped to rest against perimeter edges of the one or more side portions of the housing and a perimeter edge of the extended end section of the bottom portion of the housing when the access door is in a closed position (fig 2).
Claims 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Leopold in view of Jarrell (US 20170301220 A1, hereinafter Jarrell), further in view of Dinh (US 7476806 B2, hereinafter Dinh), still further in view of Ladewig (US 9261251 B1, hereinafter Ladewig)
Claim 17 Leopold in view of Jarrell teach the electronic apparatus of claim 14, but fails to teach the extended end section of the bottom portion of the housing defines at least one cable access port for passage of at least one connector cable, the electronic apparatus further comprising:at least one gasket positioned within the at least one cable access port to mitigate intrusion of moisture through the at least one cable access port after the at least one connector cable is passed through the at least one cable access port.
Dinh teaches the extended end section of the bottom portion of the housing defines (col 5 lines 5-8 recite ‘The space 125 between cord holder extensions 126 and 128 and resilient member 124 is sufficient for an electrical cord 127 attached to outlet 50 or 52 to extend therebetween’) at least one cable access port (125, fig 3) for passage of at least one connector cable (127, fig 3)
However Dinh still fails to teach the electronic apparatus further comprising:at least one gasket positioned within the at least one cable access port to mitigate intrusion of moisture through the at least one cable access port after the at least one connector cable is passed through the at least one cable access port
Ladewig teaches at least one gasket (310) positioned within the at least one cable access port (col 6 lines 51-54 recite ‘In general, the gasket 310 fills any open space between the extruded heatsink 104 and the gasket plate 340, creating a seal between the extruded heatsink 104 and the gasket plate 340’ while col 6 lines 57-63 recite ‘Because the outline of the attachment face 300 is smaller than the outline of the gasket 310 and the end face of the extruded heatsink 104, the gasket plate 340, which is rigid, is relied upon to compress the outer edges of the gasket 310 against the end face of the extruded heatsink 104 when the extruded heatsink 104 is mechanically secured’) to mitigate intrusion of moisture through the at least one cable access port after the at least one connector cable has been passed through the at least one cable access port (col 6 lines 41-43 recite ‘In general, the gasket 310 fills any open space between the extruded heatsink 104 and the gasket plate 340, creating a seal between the extruded heatsink 104 and the gasket plate 340’).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the arrangement as taught by Dinh into the device of Leopold. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Leopold in the above manner for the purpose of having more electrical connections (Dinh fig 4 shows more outlets, col 8 lines 45-46 recite ‘sized to accommodate one or more than one conventional electrical device’).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the arrangement as taught by Ladewig into the device of Leopold, Jarrell and Dinh. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Leopold, Jarrell and Dinh in the above manner for the purpose of protecting against moisture.
Claim 18 (original): The electronic apparatus of claim 17, further comprising:
at least one removable plug for covering the at least one cable access port (Leopold col 7 lines 35-36 recite ‘cable openings 128a-128d are covered by a removable cable cap’)
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Leopold and Jarrell in view of Ladewig (US 9261251 B1, hereinafter Ladewig)
Claim 19 Leopold and Jarrell teach the electronic apparatus of claim 14, but fails to specifically teach that the access door defines at least one aperture and wherein the extended end section of the bottom portion of the housing defines at least one corresponding threaded aperture usable for securing the access door to the extended end section of the bottom portion of the housing using at least one fastener.
Ladewig teaches an access door (door of 220) defines at least one aperture and wherein the extended end section of the bottom portion of the housing defines at least one corresponding threaded aperture usable for securing the access door to the extended end section of the bottom portion of the housing using at least one fastener (col 5 lines 35-39 recite ‘Securing clips 214 are mounted or otherwise affixed to the cabinet 210 using screws, bolts, clips, tabs, adhesives, or other suitable mechanical fastening means. The securing clips 214 secure the cover 220 to the cabinet 210’).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the arrangement as taught by Ladewig into the device of Leopold and Jarrell. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Leopold and Jarrell in the above manner for the purpose of securely holding the apparatus closed during severe weather events.
Examiner Notes
Examiner cites particular elements, columns and line numbers in the references as applied to the claims above for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested that, in preparing responses, the applicant fully consider the references in their entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the examiner.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 10/13/2025 have been fully considered but they are made moot by the new rejections as shown above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DOUGLAS R BURTNER/ Examiner, Art Unit 2841 /ROCKSHANA D CHOWDHURY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2841