Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-7, 9 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 9, 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fujiwara et al. (US 7,669,060) hereafter Fujiwara in view of Carey (US 2012/0150747) hereafter Carey further in view of Limisco (US 5,793,952) hereafter Limisco.
1. Fujiwara discloses an image forming apparatus comprising:
a display and one or more controllers (fig. 1 and corresponding text),
wherein after the image forming apparatus starts, the one or more controllers:
display until an administrator password is changed from an initial password, on the display a first screen that includes displaying a request to set the administrator password and does not include a selection area for selecting functions including at least copying (figure 9 and corresponding text; see also figures 10A-10C and corresponding text); and
display, after the administrator password is changed, on the display a second screen that does not include displaying the request to set the administrator password and includes the selection area for selecting functions including at least copying (col 7:29-40, input section 4a, the digital multifunction machine 20 as the data processing apparatus of the present invention is set with each of the copy function, the printer function, the network scanner function and the facsimile (FAX) function; see also figure 2).
Fujiwara does not explicitly disclose display, on the first screen, a second selection area for cancelling the request to set the administrator password; and in a case that the second selection area is selected, display, on the display, the second screen, which is the same as the second screen displayed after the administrator password is changed. However, in an analogous art, Carey discloses a screen for changing the password including display, on the first screen, a second selection area for cancelling the request to set the administrator password (Fig 5I, cancel button; para 77, "Cancel" button pushed - The App opens "Home" screen - Nothing is stored); and in a case that the second selection area is selected, display, on the display, the second screen, which is the same as the second screen displayed after the administrator password is changed (Fig 5I, cancel button; para 77, "Cancel" button pushed - The App opens "Home" screen and nothing is stored … New password has been entered and Done button pushed – The App opens the “Home” screen and the password is set/changed [both cancel and changing the password result in going to the “Home” screen]). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the implementation of Carey in order to provide more options for the user (para 77);
wherein the initial password is an initial setting of the administrator password (col 12, 61-col 13, line 5, the default password is the initial setting of the administrator password).
Fujiwara and Carey do not explicitly disclose when accepting an entry of a new administrator password to change the administrator password from the initial password, request an entry of the initial password. Limisco discloses secure remote password graphic interface including when accepting an entry of a new administrator password to change the administrator password from the initial password, request an entry of the initial password (fig. 1 and corresponding text [requests user ID, current password, and new password]). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the implementation of Fujiwara and Carey with the implementation of Limisco in order to verify the administrator prior to changing the administrator password and/or prevent unwanted changes to the administrator password without knowledge of the current password.
Claim 9 is similar in scope to claim 1 and is rejected under similar rationale.
10. Fujiwara, Carey, and Limisco disclose the image forming apparatus according to claim 1, wherein when accepting the entry of the new administrator password, the one or more controllers further accept an entry of contact information of an administrator related to the administrator password (Limisco, col 5, lines 23-33, [a user ID can be linked to an individual]).
Claim(s) 3, 6, 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fujiwara, Carey, and Limisco as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Chiba (US 2022/0131993) hereafter Chiba.
3. Fujiwara, Carey, and Limisco disclose the image forming apparatus according to claim 1 including a setting key (Fujiwara, col 6: 58-67) and software buttons (Fujiwara, figure 4 and corresponding text), but does not explicitly disclose wherein the one or more controllers further display, on the first screen, a third selection area for displaying a third screen that allows an administrator to select the functions to execute. However, in an analogous art, Chiba discloses controlling information processing systems including wherein the one or more controllers further display, on the first screen, a third selection area for displaying a third screen that allows an administrator to select the functions to execute (para 58-59, setup key). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the implementation of Fujiwara, Carey, and Limisco with the implementation of Chiba in order to allow for administrative settings to be selected and provide further options (para 58-61).
6. Fujiwara, Carey, Limisco, and Chiba disclose the image forming apparatus according to claim 3, wherein in a case that the third selection area is selected, the one or more controllers display, on the display, the third screen and further display, on the third screen, a fourth selection area for displaying a fourth screen that allows for changing the administrator password (Chiba, fig. 3, 302 and corresponding text).
7. Fujiwara, Carey, Limisco, and Chiba disclose the image forming apparatus according to claim 6, wherein in a case that the fourth selection area is selected, the one or more controllers further display, on the display, a fifth screen that allows for inputting the administrator password before the fourth screen is displayed and request the entry of the initial password in a case that the administrator password is changed from the initial password (Chiba, fig 3, 304 -> 305 and corresponding text; Limisco, figs 1 and 2 and corresponding text).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 8 is allowed.
Conclusion
/JAMES R TURCHEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2439