This Office Action is in response to the amendments dated November 7, 2025.
Claims 1-15 and 17-21 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 8, 13-14, 18, and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Morishima et al. (US PGPUB 2021/0145265 – “Morishima”).
Regarding Claim 1, Morishima discloses:
An image pickup module (Morishima FIG. 1, imaging unit 120), the image pickup module comprising:
a first case (Morishima FIG. 5, body 121) including an image sensor (Morishima FIG. 6, image sensor 124 within body 121), one or more of first connectors (Morishima FIG. 5, power source pins 122); and
a second case (Morishima FIG. 5, resin tube 110a having power source connectors 110c) including a power source (Morishima paragraph [0153], “A power source cable that supplies power to the image sensor 124 is connected to the power source connector 110c”) one or more of second connectors (Morishima FIG. 5, power source connectors 110c), and a substrate (Morishima Examiner-annotated FIG. 5, second substrate on resin tube 110a shown below; Examiner notes that FIG. 2 of the present patent application depicts first substrate 31 and second substrate 41 as planar supports that provide through-hole connections, without any additional circuitry (e.g., as found in a printed circuit board). The written specification provides no additional definition/description of what a “substrate” is. As such, Examiner interprets the claimed substrate as any support (including by not limited to a planar support) that provides through-holes or other connectors for electronic components.); and
wherein a first one of the first connectors is electrically connected to a first one of the second connectors to form a power supply connection between the image sensor and the power source (Morishima paragraph [0093], “By inserting and connecting the power source pin 122 into the power source connector 110c at the distal tip of the tube 110a, it becomes possible to supply power to the image sensor 124”), and
wherein the substrate is provided between the first case and the second case (Examiner-annotated Morishima FIG. 5, showing second substrate between body 121 and resin tube 110a).
Regarding Claim 8, Morishima discloses the features of Claim 1, as described above.
Morishima further discloses wherein the first case further includes an LED (Morishima FIG. 5, LED 127), and wherein the LED is supplied with power from the power source via the power supply connection (Morishima paragraph [0093], “power source pin 122 is connected to…LED illumination 127”), and wherein the LED is provided inside the first case (Morishima FIG. 6, showing LED 127 within first case/body 121).
Regarding Claim 13, Morishima discloses the features of the image pickup module described in Claim 1.
Morishima further discloses:
An endoscope (Morishima FIG. 1, endoscope system 1) comprising:
an insertion portion (Morishima FIG. 1, insertion portion 101) including a distal end (Morishima FIG. 1, distal tip 111);
wherein the image pickup module is reversibly attached to the distal end of the insertion portion (Morishima FIG. 5, showing body 121 reversibly attached to the distal end of bending section 112 of endoscope 100; Examiner further interprets the power connectors 110c in resin tube 110a as being reversibly attached to resin tube 110a by deconstruction, detachment, etc.).
Regarding Claim 14, Morishima discloses the features of Claim 13, as described above.
Morishima further discloses wherein the first case further includes an LED (Morishima FIG. 5, LED 127), and wherein the LED is supplied with power from the power source via the power supply connection (Morishima paragraph [0093], “power source pin 122 is connected to…LED illumination 127”).
Regarding Claim 18, Morishima discloses the features of Claim 13, as described above.
Morishima further discloses wherein a longest dimension of the image sensor (Morishima FIG. 6, image sensor 124) and a longest dimension of the power source (Morishima FIG. 5, tube 110a; Morishima paragraph [0089], “power source connector 110c is connected to the power source terminal of the connector unit 150, for example, via a power source cable passed through the cable channel 36 of the tube 110a”) both extend along the longitudinal direction.
Regarding Claim 21, Morishima disclosed the features of Claim 1, as described above.
Morishima further discloses wherein, in a view of the direction perpendicular to a stacking direction of the first and the second cases, the second case has a curved outer peripheral surface (Morishima FIG. 5, showing curved outer peripheral surface of resin tube 110a).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Morishima et al. (US PGPUB 2021/0145265 – “Morishima”) in view of Takami (US Patent 6,348,035 – “Takami”).
Regarding Claim 2, Morishima discloses the features of Claim 1, as described above.
Morishima further discloses wherein a second one of the first connectors (Morishima FIG. 5, a second power source pin 122) is electrically connected to a second one of the second connectors (Morishima FIG. 5, a second source connector 110c).
However, although it is generally known to one skilled in the art of electronics that a power source to an electronic device includes a power (positive or negative voltage) line and a ground (return) line, Morishima does not explicitly disclose a ground connection between the image sensor and the power source.
Takami teaches a ground connection between the image sensor (Takami FIG. 1, CCD 16) and the power source (Takami FIG. 1, power source 54; Takami col., “CCD driver circuit 26 is housed as a printed circuit board in the box-like casing 58, and is electrically connected to the CCD image sensor 16 through various electric lines, such as an electric power line, a ground line”).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Takami’s ground source for Morishima’s image sensor in the image pickup module disclosed by Morishima. A person having ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to combine these prior art elements according to known methods to yield the predictable result of an image sensor receiving power and ground sources required for operation.
Claims 3-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Morishima et al. (US PGPUB 2021/0145265 – “Morishima”) in view of West (US PGPUB 2022/0331580 – “West”).
Regarding Claim 3, Morishima discloses the features of Claim 1, as described above.
Morishima does not explicitly disclose:
a first seal connected to the first one of the second connectors (although it is obvious to have a “seal” between 110a and 121. Morishima does disclose the desires to seal [0092] and [0094]),
wherein the first seal contacts a surface of the first case to prevent a liquid from entering an interior of the first case.
West teaches:
a first seal (West FIG. 4B, O-rings 418) connected to the first one of the second connectors (West FIG. 4B, female electrical contacts 420),
wherein the first seal contacts a surface of the first case to prevent a liquid from entering an interior of the first case (West paragraph [0032], “Female electrical contacts 420 and O-rings 418 are configured to form an interference fit with male electrical contacts 422 on the plug of male connector 408 when male connector 408 is inserted into female connector 404.”).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine West’s sealing O-rings with the image pickup module disclosed by Morishima. A person having ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to combine these prior art elements according to known methods to yield the predictable result of electrical connections within the image pickup module to be sealed against fluids (see West paragraph [0032]), but also will wipe off the male connector during insertion into the female connector (see West paragraph [0034]).
Regarding Claim 4, Morishima in view of West teach the features of Claim 3, as described above.
West further teaches wherein the first seal contacts a surface of the second case to prevent a liquid from entering an interior of the second case (West paragraph [0032], “Female electrical contacts 420 and O-rings 418 are configured to form an interference fit with male electrical contacts 422 on the plug of male connector 408 when male connector 408 is inserted into female connector 404.”).
Regarding Claim 5, Morishima in view of West teach the features of Claim 3, as described above.
West further teaches wherein the first seal is an O-shaped ring (West FIG. 4B, O-rings 418).
Claims 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Morishima et al. (US PGPUB 2021/0145265 – “Morishima”) in view of Takami (US Patent 6,348,035 – “Takami”) and West (US PGPUB 2022/0331580 – “West”).
Regarding Claim 6, Morishima and Takami teach the features of Claim 2, as described above.
Morishima further discloses:
wherein an exterior surface of the second case includes a plurality of receiver channels (Morishima FIG. 5, power source connectors 110c and signal connectors 110d on resin tube 110a),
wherein the first one of the first connectors is located in a first channel of the plurality of receiver channels (Morishima FIG. 5, power source pins 122 connected to power source connectors 110c) and the second one of the first connectors is located in a second channel of the plurality of receiver channels (Morishima FIG. 5, signal pins 123 connected to signal connectors 110d),
wherein the first one of the second connectors is a first connector pin inserted into the first channel and in contact with the first one of the first connectors (Morishima FIG. 5, a first power source pin 122 connected to a first power source connector 110c) and the second one of the second connectors is a second connector pin inserted into the second channel and in contact with the second one of the first connectors (Morishima FIG. 5, a second power source pin 122 connected to a second power source connector 110c).
Morishima in view of Takami do not explicitly teach:
wherein the image pickup module further comprises a first seal connected to the first connector pin and a second seal connected to the second connector pin, and
wherein the first seal contacts a first surface portion of the first case to seal the first channel and the second seal contacts a second surface portion of the first case to seal the second channel.
West teaches:
wherein the image pickup module further comprises a first seal (West FIG. 4B, O-rings 418) connected to the first connector pin (West FIG. 4B, female electrical contacts 420) and a second seal (West FIG. 4B, O-rings 418) connected to the second connector pin (West FIG. 4B, female electrical contacts 420; mere duplication of parts, having no new and unexpected result, in a 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection – MPEP 2144.04(VI)(B)), and
wherein the first seal contacts a first surface portion of the first case to seal the first channel and the second seal contacts a second surface portion of the first case to seal the second channel (West paragraph [0032], “Female electrical contacts 420 and O-rings 418 are configured to form an interference fit with male electrical contacts 422 on the plug of male connector 408 when male connector 408 is inserted into female connector 404.”).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine West’s sealing O-rings with the image pickup module taught by Morishima in view of Takami. A person having ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to combine these prior art elements according to known methods to yield the predictable result of electrical connections within the image pickup module to be sealed against fluids (see West paragraph [0032]), but also will wipe off the male connector during insertion into the female connector (see West paragraph [0034]).
Regarding Claim 7, Morishima and Takami teach the features of Claim 2, as described above.
Morishima further discloses:
wherein the second case (Morishima FIG. 5, resin tube 110a) includes a plurality of receiver channels (Morishima FIG. 5, female signal connectors 110d),
wherein the first one of the second connectors (Morishima FIG. 5, a first female signal connector 110d) is located in a first channel of the plurality of receiver channels and the second one of the second connectors (Morishima FIG. 5, a first female signal connector 110d) is located in a second channel of the plurality of receiver channels,
wherein the first one of the first connectors is a first connector pin (Morishima FIG. 5, a first male signal connector 123) inserted into the first channel and in contact with the first one of the second connectors and the second one of the first connectors (Morishima FIG. 5, a second female signal connector 123) is a second connector pin inserted into the second channel and in contact with the second one of the second connectors.
Morishima in view of Takami do not explicitly teach wherein the image pickup module further comprises a first seal located between a first periphery surface of the first case and a seating surface of the second case to seal a portion of a joint between the first case and the second case.
West teaches wherein the image pickup module further comprises a first seal (West FIG. 4B, O-rings 418) located between a first periphery surface of the first case (West FIG. 4B, housing of male electrical contacts 422) and a seating surface of the second case (West FIG. 4B, housing of female electrical contacts 420) to seal a portion of a joint between the first case and the second case (West paragraph [0032], “Female electrical contacts 420 and O-rings 418 are configured to form an interference fit with male electrical contacts 422 on the plug of male connector 408 when male connector 408 is inserted into female connector 404.”).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine West’s sealing O-rings with the image pickup module taught by Morishima in view of Takami. A person having ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to combine these prior art elements according to known methods to yield the predictable result of electrical connections within the image pickup module to be sealed against fluids (see West paragraph [0032]), but also will wipe off the male connector during insertion into the female connector (see West paragraph [0034]).
Claims 9-10 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Morishima et al. (US PGPUB 2021/0145265 – “Morishima”) in view of Kawula et al. (US PGPUB 2014/0221740 – “Kawula”).
Regarding Claim 9, Morishima discloses the features of Claim 1, as described above.
Morishima further discloses wherein the LED is provided inside the first case (Morishima FIG. 6, showing LED 127 within first case/body 121).
Morishima does not explicitly disclose wherein the first case further includes a transmitter, and wherein the transmitter is supplied with power from the power source via the power supply connection.
Kawula teaches wherein the first case further includes a transmitter (Kawula FIG. 2, camera 28; Kawula paragraph [0073], “the camera 28 is a wireless CCD or CMOS color camera whose output images are transmitted by a high-frequency transmitter circuit”), and wherein the transmitter is supplied with power from the power source via the power supply connection (Kawula FIG. 1a, power control module 3; Kawula paragraph [0074], “Power for the wireless CCD or CMOS color camera 28 is provided by the power and control module (PCM) 3”).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Kawula’s wireless camera with the image pickup module disclosed by Morishima. A person having ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to combine these prior art elements according to known methods to yield the predictable result of an endoscopic system capable of wirelessly transmitting images, in order to avoid the entanglement and space requirements attendant with image cables.
Regarding Claim 10, Morishima in view of Kawula teach discloses the features of Claim 9, as described above.
Kawula further teaches wherein the transmitter is configured to transmit an electrical signal outputted from the image sensor (Kawula paragraph [0073], “the camera 28 is a wireless CCD or CMOS color camera whose output images are transmitted by a high-frequency transmitter circuit”).
Regarding Claim 15, Morishima discloses the features of Claim 13, as described above.
Morishima does not explicitly disclose wherein the first case further includes a transmitter, and wherein the transmitter is supplied with power from the power source via the power supply connection.
Kawula teaches wherein the first case further includes a transmitter (Kawula FIG. 2, camera 28; Kawula paragraph [0073], “the camera 28 is a wireless CCD or CMOS color camera whose output images are transmitted by a high-frequency transmitter circuit”), and wherein the transmitter is supplied with power from the power source via the power supply connection (Kawula FIG. 1a, power control module 3; Kawula paragraph [0074], “Power for the wireless CCD or CMOS color camera 28 is provided by the power and control module (PCM) 3”).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Kawula’s wireless camera with the image pickup module disclosed by Morishima. A person having ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to combine these prior art elements according to known methods to yield the predictable result of an endoscopic system capable of wirelessly transmitting images, in order to avoid the entanglement and space requirements attendant with image cables.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Morishima et al. (US PGPUB 2021/0145265 – “Morishima”) in view of Muramatsu et al. (US PGPUB 2012/0292079 – “Muramatsu”).
Regarding Claim 11, Morishima discloses the features of Claim 1, as described above.
Morishima does not explicitly disclose wherein at least one of a portion of an outer peripheral surface of the power supply connection and a portion of an outer peripheral surface of a ground connection is covered with an insulator.
Muramatsu teaches wherein at least one of a portion of an outer peripheral surface of the power supply connection (Muramatsu FIG. 2, a first wire 24) and a portion of an outer peripheral surface of a ground connection (Muramatsu FIG. 2, a second wire 24) is covered with an insulator (Muramatsu FIG. 2, insulating outer covering 51; Muramatsu paragraph [0038], “electric wires 24, . . . are electric wires for power supply and grounding (for example, five electric wires that supply positive and negative power and one ground wire), and in FIG. 2, each of the electric wires is a simple wire formed by covering a core wire 50 including a plurality of conductor wires by an insulating outer covering 51.”).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Muramatsu’s wiring insulation with the image pickup module disclosed by Morishima. A person having ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to combine these prior art elements according to known methods to yield the predictable result of internal cabling within an endoscopic system that is protected from short circuits.
Claims 12 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Morishima et al. (US PGPUB 2021/0145265 – “Morishima”) in view of Krivopisk et al. (US PGPUB 2017/0242240 – “Krivopisk”).
Regarding Claim 12, Morishima discloses the features of Claim 1, as described above.
Morishima discloses wherein the first case includes a first substrate (Examiner-annotated Morishima FIG. 6 shown below, first substrate on first case 121):
,
and wherein the substrate provided between the first case and the second case is a second substrate (Examiner-annotated Morishima FIG. 5, showing second substrate between body 121 and resin tube 110a),
wherein the first substrate is electrically connected to the second substrate via the power supply connection (Morishima FIG. 5, showing power source connectors 110a aligned for connection with power source pins 122).
Morishima does not explicitly disclose wherein the first substrate is provided inside the first case.
Krivopisk teaches wherein the first substrate (Krivopisk FIG. 2, circuit board 279 connected to image sensor 269) is provided inside the first case (Krivopisk FIG. 2, tip section 262 of endoscope shaft 106 shown in Krivopisk FIG. 1).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Krivopisk’s internal substrates (supporting circuitry) with the image pickup module disclosed by Morishima. A person having ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to combine these prior art elements according to known methods to yield the predictable result of an image pickup module that includes local support for an imager in order to reduce the risk of transmission faults due to the unitary structure of the imager and the circuit board.
Regarding Claim 20, Morishima in view of Krivopisk teaches the features of Claim 12, as described above.
Morishima further discloses where in the first substrate and the second substrate extend along a stacking direction of the first case and the second case (Examiner-annotated Morishima FIG. 5, showing first substrate and second substrate stacked in the direction of body 121 and resin tube 110a).
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Morishima et al. (US PGPUB 2021/0145265 – “Morishima”) in view of Levy et al. (US PGPUB 2014/0296643 – “Levy”).
Regarding Claim 17, Morishima discloses the features of Claim 13, as described above.
Morishima further discloses wherein the first case and the second case extend along a longitudinal direction of the insertion portion (Morishima FIG. 5, showing body 121 and resin tube 110a extending along a longitudinal direction of the insertion portion 101 shown in Morishima FIG. 1.)
Morishima does not explicitly disclose wherein the first case and the second case are stacked in a stacking direction that intersects the longitudinal direction.
Levy teaches the first case (Levy FIG. 44, side-pointing modular imaging unit 4430) and the second case (Levy FIG. 44, electrical cable 4406 and side printed circuit board with integrated sensor 4403; Levy paragraph [0828], “All the modular units are supplied power through the electrical cable 4406”) are stacked in a stacking direction that intersects the longitudinal direction.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Levy’s side-pointing imaging system with the image pickup module disclosed by Morishima. A person having ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to combine these prior art elements according to known methods to yield the predictable result of an optical system that has side-viewing capabilities, which provide normal/direct viewing of an interior of a patient’s lumen being examined during an endoscopic procedure.
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Morishima et al. (US PGPUB 2021/0145265 – “Morishima”) in view of Kanzaki (US PGPUB 2007/0203397 – “Kanzaki”).
Regarding Claim 19, Morishima discloses the features of Claim 1, as described above.
Morishima does not explicitly disclose:
a first seal connected to the first one of the first connectors,
wherein the first seal contacts a surface of the second case to prevent a liquid from entering an interior of the second case.
Kanzaki teaches:
a first seal (Kanzaki FIG. 10, rubber sealing material 58) connected to the first one of the first connectors (Kanzaki FIG. 10, electrode terminal 31),
wherein the first seal contacts a surface of the second case to prevent a liquid from entering an interior of the second case (Kanzaki paragraph [0132], “a rubber sealing material 58 may be provided to the tip of the hollow casing 30 as shown in FIG. 10. This prevents water from entering into the adapter electrode section 18 “.)
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Kanzaki’s rubber seal with the image pickup module disclosed by Morishima. A person having ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to combine these two prior art elements according to known methods to yield the predictable result of a connection that prevents corrosion and failure to an electrode due to submergence into a liquid environment (see Kanzaki paragraph [0132]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see page 9, filed November 7, 2025, with respect to the objection to the drawings have been fully considered and are persuasive in view of the present amendments to the claims. The objection to the drawings has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 9-10, filed November 7, 2025, with respect to the rejections of Claims 1, 11, and 16 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) have been fully considered and are persuasive in view of the present amendments to the claims. The rejections of Claims 1, 11, and 16 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) have been withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments, see pages 10-14, filed November 7, 2025, with respect to the rejections of Claims 1 and 12 under 35 U.S.C. 102/103 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding Claims 1 and 12, Applicant argues that neither Morishima (US PGPUB 2021/0145265) nor Okawa (US PGPUB 2013/0265403) teach or suggest two substrates in an image pickup modules: one in the first case and another in the second case. Although Examiner believes that Okawa teaches this feature for reasons stated in the August 14, 2025 non-final rejection of Claim 12 (“the first case includes a first substrate (Okawa FIG. 3, distal end portion substrate 18 for CCD 16) and the second case includes a second substrate (Okawa FIG. 3, connector substrate 24 for power supply circuit 53a)”, for purposes of clarity Examiner now cites Morishima as citing these features. That is, as described above in the rejection of Claim 12, Morishima discloses wherein the first case includes a first substrate (Examiner-annotated Morishima FIG. 6, first substrate on first case 121), and wherein the substrate provided between the first case and the second case is a second substrate (Examiner-annotated Morishima FIG. 5, showing second substrate between body 121 and resin tube 110a). As described in the rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102 of Claim 1, FIG. 2 of the present patent application depicts first substrate 31 and second substrate 41 as planar supports that provide through-hole connections, without any additional circuitry (e.g., as found in a printed circuit board). The written specification provides no additional definition/description of what a “substrate” is. As such, Examiner interprets the claimed substrate(s) as any support (including by not limited to a planar support) that provides through-holes or other connectors for electronic components. Therefore, the first substrate and second substrate shown in Examiner-annotated Morishima FIG. 5 read on the presently claimed first and second substrates and their orientation within the image pickup module.
The rejections of Claims 1-15 and 17-21 under 35 U.S.C. 102/103 as presented herein are maintained.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
JIM BOICE
Examiner
Art Unit 3795
/JAMES EDWARD BOICE/Examiner, Art Unit 3795
/ANH TUAN T NGUYEN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3795
01/12/2026