Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Objections
Claim 22 is objected to because of the following informalities: there is a lack of antecedent basis for the term “the second substrate” in line 2. Appropriate correction by Applicant is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
The present rejection(s) reference specific passages from cited prior art. However, Applicant is advised that the rejections are based on the entirety of each cited prior art. That is, each cited prior art reference “must be considered in its entirety”. Therefore, Applicant is advised to review all portions of the cited prior art if traversing a rejection based on the cited prior art.
Claims 1, 8-9, 13-15, 18, and 22-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Morishima et al. (US PGPUB 2021/0145265 – “Morishima”) in view of Oneda et al. (US PGPUB 2010/0298640 – “Oneda”).
Regarding Claim 1, Morishima discloses:
An image pickup module (Morishima FIG. 1, imaging unit 120), the image pickup module comprising:
a first case (Morishima FIG. 5, body 121) including an image sensor (Morishima FIG. 6, image sensor 124 within body 121), one or more of first connectors (Morishima FIG. 5, power source pins 122); and
a second case (Morishima FIG. 5, resin tube 110a having power source connectors 110c) including a power source (Morishima paragraph [0153], “A power source cable that supplies power to the image sensor 124 is connected to the power source connector 110c”), and one or more of second connectors (Morishima FIG. 5, power source connectors 110c), and
wherein the image pickup module is configured to be reversibly attached to the distal end of an insertion portion of a medical device (Morishima FIG. 5, imaging unit 120; Morishima paragraph [0108], “Since the imaging unit 120 including such a high-performance image sensor 124 and the small LED illumination 127 is expensive, after the used endoscope 100 is collected from the user, it is removed by the administrator of the endoscope 100, washed, sterilized, sanitized, and supplied for reuse.”).
Morishima does not explicitly disclose:
wherein the power source is seated within a recess in the second case, and wherein the power source is a battery.
Oneda teaches:
wherein the power source is seated within a recess in the second case, and wherein the power source is a battery (Oneda FIG. 4A, battery 132 enclosed in power unit 192, which is connected to camera 124 in video unit 190 in the video capsule 188/120 shown at the distal end 109 of insertion tube 102 of the endoscope system 100 shown in Oneda FIG. 1).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute Oneda’s distal end battery for Morishima’s proximal end power source. A person having ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to make this simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain the predictable result of a pickup image module self-contains a power source that is easily removed from the pickup image module for recharging (see Oneda paragraph [0068]), in order to minimize power breaks caused by lengthy power wiring extending to the insertion tube to a proximal power source (see Oneda paragraph [0069]).
Regarding Claim 8, Morishima in view of Oneda teaches the features of Claim 1, as described above.
Morishima further discloses wherein the first case further includes an LED (Morishima FIG. 5, LED 127), and wherein the LED is supplied with power from the power source via the power supply connection (Morishima paragraph [0093], “power source pin 122 is connected to…LED illumination 127”), and wherein the LED is provided inside the first case (Morishima FIG. 6, showing LED 127 within first case/body 121).
Regarding Claim 9, Morishima in view of Oneda teaches the features of Claim 1, as described above.
Morishima further discloses wherein the LED is provided inside the first case (Morishima FIG. 6, showing LED 127 within first case/body 121).
Oneda further teaches wherein the first case (Oneda FIG. 4A, video unit 190) further includes a transmitter (Oneda FIG. 4A, transmitter 128), and wherein the transmitter is supplied with power from the power source (Oneda FIG. 4A, battery 132) via the power supply connection (Oneda FIG. 4A, power wire 196).
Regarding Claim 13, Morishima in view of Oneda teaches the features of the image pickup module described in Claim 1.
Morishima further discloses:
An endoscope (Morishima FIG. 1, endoscope system 1) comprising:
an insertion portion (Morishima FIG. 1, insertion portion 101) including a distal end (Morishima FIG. 1, distal tip 111);
wherein the image pickup module is reversibly attached to the distal end of the insertion portion (Morishima FIG. 5, showing body 121 reversibly attached to the distal end of bending section 112 of endoscope 100; Examiner further interprets the power connectors 110c in resin tube 110a as being reversibly attached to resin tube 110a by deconstruction, detachment, etc.).
Regarding Claim 14, Morishima in view of Oneda teaches the features of Claim 13, as described above.
Morishima further discloses wherein the first case further includes an LED (Morishima FIG. 5, LED 127), and wherein the LED is supplied with power from the power source via the power supply connection (Morishima paragraph [0093], “power source pin 122 is connected to…LED illumination 127”).
Regarding Claim 15, Morishima in view of Oneda teaches the features of Claim 13, as described above.
Oneda further teaches wherein the first case (Oneda FIG. 4A, video unit 190) further includes a transmitter (Oneda FIG. 4A, transmitter 128), and wherein the transmitter is supplied with power from the power source (Oneda FIG. 4A, battery 132) via the power supply connection (Oneda FIG. 4A, power wire 196).
Regarding Claim 18, Morishima in view of Oneda teaches the features of Claim 13, as described above.
Morishima further discloses wherein a longest dimension of the image sensor (Morishima FIG. 6, image sensor 124) and a longest dimension of the power source (Morishima FIG. 5, tube 110a; Morishima paragraph [0089], “power source connector 110c is connected to the power source terminal of the connector unit 150, for example, via a power source cable passed through the cable channel 36 of the tube 110a”) both extend along the longitudinal direction.
Regarding Claim 22, Morishima in view of Oneda teaches the features of Claim 1, as described above.
Oneda further teaches wherein the power source is wholly enclosed within the second case (Oneda FIG. 4A, showing battery 132 wholly enclosed within power unit 192) and the second substrate (The written specification provides no additional definition/description of what a “substrate” is. As such, Examiner interprets the claimed substrate as any support (including by not limited to a planar support) that provides through-holes or other connectors for electronic components.).
Regarding Claim 23, Morishima in view of Oneda teaches the features of Claim 1, as described above.
Morishima further discloses:
wherein the second case includes a substrate, and wherein the substrate is provided between the first case and the second case (Morishima Examiner-annotated FIG. 5 shown below, depicting second substrate on resin tube 110a between resin tube 110a and body 121; Examiner notes that FIG. 2 of the present patent application depicts first substrate 31 and second substrate 41 as planar supports that provide through-hole connections, without any additional circuitry (e.g., as found in a printed circuit board.).
.
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Morishima et al. (US PGPUB 2021/0145265 – “Morishima”) in view of Oneda et al. (US PGPUB 2010/0298640 – “Oneda”) and Takami (US Patent 6,348,035 – “Takami”).
Regarding Claim 2, Morishima in view of Oneda teaches the features of Claim 1, as described above.
Morishima further discloses wherein a second one of the first connectors (Morishima FIG. 5, a second power source pin 122) is electrically connected to a second one of the second connectors (Morishima FIG. 5, a second source connector 110c).
However, although it is generally known to one skilled in the art of electronics that a power source to an electronic device includes a power (positive or negative voltage) line and a ground (return) line, Morishima does not explicitly disclose a ground connection between the image sensor and the power source.
Takami teaches a ground connection between the image sensor (Takami FIG. 1, CCD 16) and the power source (Takami FIG. 1, power source 54; Takami col., “CCD driver circuit 26 is housed as a printed circuit board in the box-like casing 58, and is electrically connected to the CCD image sensor 16 through various electric lines, such as an electric power line, a ground line”).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Takami’s ground source for Morishima’s image sensor in the image pickup module taught by Morishima in view of Oneda. A person having ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to combine these prior art elements according to known methods to yield the predictable result of an image sensor receiving power and ground sources required for operation.
Claims 3-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Morishima et al. (US PGPUB 2021/0145265 – “Morishima”) in view of Oneda et al. (US PGPUB 2010/0298640 – “Oneda”) and West (US PGPUB 2022/0331580 – “West”).
Regarding Claim 3, Morishima in view of Oneda teaches the features of Claim 1, as described above.
Morishima in view of Oneda does not explicitly teach:
a first seal connected to the first one of the second connectors (although it is obvious to have a “seal” between 110a and 121. Morishima does disclose the desires to seal [0092] and [0094]),
wherein the first seal contacts a surface of the first case to prevent a liquid from entering an interior of the first case.
West teaches:
a first seal (West FIG. 4B, O-rings 418) connected to the first one of the second connectors (West FIG. 4B, female electrical contacts 420),
wherein the first seal contacts a surface of the first case to prevent a liquid from entering an interior of the first case (West paragraph [0032], “Female electrical contacts 420 and O-rings 418 are configured to form an interference fit with male electrical contacts 422 on the plug of male connector 408 when male connector 408 is inserted into female connector 404.”).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine West’s sealing O-rings with the image pickup module taught by Morishima in view of Oneda. A person having ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to combine these prior art elements according to known methods to yield the predictable result of electrical connections within the image pickup module to be sealed against fluids (see West paragraph [0032]), but also will wipe off the male connector during insertion into the female connector (see West paragraph [0034]).
Regarding Claim 4, Morishima in view of Oneda and West teaches the features of Claim 3, as described above.
West further teaches wherein the first seal contacts a surface of the second case to prevent a liquid from entering an interior of the second case (West paragraph [0032], “Female electrical contacts 420 and O-rings 418 are configured to form an interference fit with male electrical contacts 422 on the plug of male connector 408 when male connector 408 is inserted into female connector 404.”).
Claims 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Morishima et al. (US PGPUB 2021/0145265 – “Morishima”) in view of Oneda et al. (US PGPUB 2010/0298640 – “Oneda”), Takami (US Patent 6,348,035 – “Takami”), and West (US PGPUB 2022/0331580 – “West”).
Regarding Claim 6, Morishima in view of Oneda and Takami teaches the features of Claim 2, as described above.
Morishima further discloses:
wherein an exterior surface of the second case includes a plurality of receiver channels (Morishima FIG. 5, power source connectors 110c and signal connectors 110d on resin tube 110a),
wherein the first one of the first connectors is located in a first channel of the plurality of receiver channels (Morishima FIG. 5, power source pins 122 connected to power source connectors 110c) and the second one of the first connectors is located in a second channel of the plurality of receiver channels (Morishima FIG. 5, signal pins 123 connected to signal connectors 110d),
wherein the first one of the second connectors is a first connector pin inserted into the first channel and in contact with the first one of the first connectors (Morishima FIG. 5, a first power source pin 122 connected to a first power source connector 110c) and the second one of the second connectors is a second connector pin inserted into the second channel and in contact with the second one of the first connectors (Morishima FIG. 5, a second power source pin 122 connected to a second power source connector 110c).
Morishima in view of Oneda and Takami does not explicitly teach:
wherein the image pickup module further comprises a first seal connected to the first connector pin and a second seal connected to the second connector pin, and
wherein the first seal contacts a first surface portion of the first case to seal the first channel and the second seal contacts a second surface portion of the first case to seal the second channel.
West teaches:
wherein the image pickup module further comprises a first seal (West FIG. 4B, O-rings 418) connected to the first connector pin (West FIG. 4B, female electrical contacts 420) and a second seal (West FIG. 4B, O-rings 418) connected to the second connector pin (West FIG. 4B, female electrical contacts 420; mere duplication of parts, having no new and unexpected result, in a 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection – MPEP 2144.04(VI)(B)), and
wherein the first seal contacts a first surface portion of the first case to seal the first channel and the second seal contacts a second surface portion of the first case to seal the second channel (West paragraph [0032], “Female electrical contacts 420 and O-rings 418 are configured to form an interference fit with male electrical contacts 422 on the plug of male connector 408 when male connector 408 is inserted into female connector 404.”).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine West’s sealing O-rings with the image pickup module taught by Morishima in view of Oneda and Takami. A person having ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to combine these prior art elements according to known methods to yield the predictable result of electrical connections within the image pickup module to be sealed against fluids (see West paragraph [0032]), but also will wipe off the male connector during insertion into the female connector (see West paragraph [0034]).
Regarding Claim 7, Morishima in view of Oneda and Takami teaches the features of Claim 2, as described above.
Morishima further discloses:
wherein the second case (Morishima FIG. 5, resin tube 110a) includes a plurality of receiver channels (Morishima FIG. 5, female signal connectors 110d),
wherein the first one of the second connectors (Morishima FIG. 5, a first female signal connector 110d) is located in a first channel of the plurality of receiver channels and the second one of the second connectors (Morishima FIG. 5, a first female signal connector 110d) is located in a second channel of the plurality of receiver channels,
wherein the first one of the first connectors is a first connector pin (Morishima FIG. 5, a first male signal connector 123) inserted into the first channel and in contact with the first one of the second connectors and the second one of the first connectors (Morishima FIG. 5, a second female signal connector 123) is a second connector pin inserted into the second channel and in contact with the second one of the second connectors.
Morishima in view of Oneda and Takami does not explicitly teach wherein the image pickup module further comprises a first seal located between a first periphery surface of the first case and a seating surface of the second case to seal a portion of a joint between the first case and the second case.
West teaches wherein the image pickup module further comprises a first seal (West FIG. 4B, O-rings 418) located between a first periphery surface of the first case (West FIG. 4B, housing of male electrical contacts 422) and a seating surface of the second case (West FIG. 4B, housing of female electrical contacts 420) to seal a portion of a joint between the first case and the second case (West paragraph [0032], “Female electrical contacts 420 and O-rings 418 are configured to form an interference fit with male electrical contacts 422 on the plug of male connector 408 when male connector 408 is inserted into female connector 404.”).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine West’s sealing O-rings with the image pickup module taught by Morishima in view of Oneda and Takami. A person having ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to combine these prior art elements according to known methods to yield the predictable result of electrical connections within the image pickup module to be sealed against fluids (see West paragraph [0032]), but also will wipe off the male connector during insertion into the female connector (see West paragraph [0034]).
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Morishima et al. (US PGPUB 2021/0145265 – “Morishima”) in view of Oneda et al. (US PGPUB 2010/0298640 – “Oneda”) and Muramatsu et al. (US PGPUB 2012/0292079 – “Muramatsu”).
Regarding Claim 11, Morishima in view of Oneda teaches the features of Claim 1, as described above.
Morishima in view of Oneda does not explicitly disclose wherein at least one of a portion of an outer peripheral surface of the power supply connection and a portion of an outer peripheral surface of a ground connection is covered with an insulator.
Muramatsu teaches wherein at least one of a portion of an outer peripheral surface of the power supply connection (Muramatsu FIG. 2, a first wire 24) and a portion of an outer peripheral surface of a ground connection (Muramatsu FIG. 2, a second wire 24) is covered with an insulator (Muramatsu FIG. 2, insulating outer covering 51; Muramatsu paragraph [0038], “electric wires 24, . . . are electric wires for power supply and grounding (for example, five electric wires that supply positive and negative power and one ground wire), and in FIG. 2, each of the electric wires is a simple wire formed by covering a core wire 50 including a plurality of conductor wires by an insulating outer covering 51.”).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Muramatsu’s wiring insulation with the image pickup module taught by Morishima in view of Oneda. A person having ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to combine these prior art elements according to known methods to yield the predictable result of internal cabling within an endoscopic system that is protected from short circuits.
Claims 12 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Morishima et al. (US PGPUB 2021/0145265 – “Morishima”) in view of Oneda et al. (US PGPUB 2010/0298640 – “Oneda”) and Krivopisk et al. (US PGPUB 2017/0242240 – “Krivopisk”).
Regarding Claim 12, Morishima in view of Oneda teaches the features of Claim 1, as described above.
Morishima further discloses wherein the first case includes a first substrate (Examiner-annotated Morishima FIG. 6 shown below, first substrate on first case 121):
,
and wherein the substrate provided between the first case and the second case is a second substrate (Examiner-annotated Morishima FIG. 5, showing second substrate between body 121 and resin tube 110a),
wherein the first substrate is electrically connected to the second substrate via the power supply connection (Morishima FIG. 5, showing power source connectors 110a aligned for connection with power source pins 122).
Morishima in view of Oneda does not explicitly teach wherein the first substrate is provided inside the first case.
Krivopisk teaches wherein the first substrate (Krivopisk FIG. 2, circuit board 279 connected to image sensor 269) is provided inside the first case (Krivopisk FIG. 2, tip section 262 of endoscope shaft 106 shown in Krivopisk FIG. 1).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Krivopisk’s internal substrates (supporting circuitry) with the image pickup module taught by Morishima in view of Oneda. A person having ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to combine these prior art elements according to known methods to yield the predictable result of an image pickup module that includes local support for an imager in order to reduce the risk of transmission faults due to the unitary structure of the imager and the circuit board.
Regarding Claim 20, Morishima in view of Oneda and Krivopisk teaches the features of Claim 12, as described above.
Morishima further discloses where in the first substrate and the second substrate extend along a stacking direction of the first case and the second case (Examiner-annotated Morishima FIG. 5, showing first substrate and second substrate stacked in the direction of body 121 and resin tube 110a).
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Morishima et al. (US PGPUB 2021/0145265 – “Morishima”) in view of Oneda et al. (US PGPUB 2010/0298640 – “Oneda”) and Levy et al. (US PGPUB 2014/0296643 – “Levy”).
Regarding Claim 17, Morishima in view of Oneda teaches the features of Claim 13, as described above.
Morishima further discloses wherein the first case and the second case extend along a longitudinal direction of the insertion portion (Morishima FIG. 5, showing body 121 and resin tube 110a extending along a longitudinal direction of the insertion portion 101 shown in Morishima FIG. 1.)
Morishima in view of Oneda does not explicitly teach wherein the first case and the second case are stacked in a stacking direction that intersects the longitudinal direction.
Levy teaches the first case (Levy FIG. 44, side-pointing modular imaging unit 4430) and the second case (Levy FIG. 44, electrical cable 4406 and side printed circuit board with integrated sensor 4403; Levy paragraph [0828], “All the modular units are supplied power through the electrical cable 4406”) are stacked in a stacking direction that intersects the longitudinal direction.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Levy’s side-pointing imaging system with the image pickup module taught by Morishima in view of Oneda. A person having ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to combine these prior art elements according to known methods to yield the predictable result of an optical system that has side-viewing capabilities, which provide normal/direct viewing of an interior of a patient’s lumen being examined during an endoscopic procedure.
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Morishima et al. (US PGPUB 2021/0145265 – “Morishima”) in view of Oneda et al. (US PGPUB 2010/0298640 – “Oneda”) and Kanzaki (US PGPUB 2007/0203397 – “Kanzaki”).
Regarding Claim 19, Morishima in view of Oneda teaches the features of Claim 1, as described above.
Morishima in view of Oneda does not explicitly teach:
a first seal connected to the first one of the first connectors,
wherein the first seal contacts a surface of the second case to prevent a liquid from entering an interior of the second case.
Kanzaki teaches:
a first seal (Kanzaki FIG. 10, rubber sealing material 58) connected to the first one of the first connectors (Kanzaki FIG. 10, electrode terminal 31),
wherein the first seal contacts a surface of the second case to prevent a liquid from entering an interior of the second case (Kanzaki paragraph [0132], “a rubber sealing material 58 may be provided to the tip of the hollow casing 30 as shown in FIG. 10. This prevents water from entering into the adapter electrode section 18 “.)
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Kanzaki’s rubber seal with the image pickup module taught by Morishima in view of Oneda. A person having ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to combine these two prior art elements according to known methods to yield the predictable result of a connection that prevents corrosion and failure to an electrode due to submergence into a liquid environment (see Kanzaki paragraph [0132]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 8-12, filed April 6, 2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of Claim 1 and its dependent Claims 2-20 under 35 U.S.C. 102/103 have been fully considered and are persuasive, particularly in view of the arguments presented regarding newly-claimed features in Claim 1 of “wherein the power source is seated within a recess in the second case, wherein the power source is a battery, and wherein the image pickup module is configured to be reversibly attached to the distal end of an insertion portion of a medical device”. Therefore, the rejection(s) has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Oneda et al. (US PGPUB 2010/0298640 – “Oneda”), which is cited above in the rejection of these features under 35 U.S.C. 103 as found in currently-amended Claim 1. As such, the rejection of Claim 1 and the dependent claims thereof is maintained.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure includes, but is not limited to:
Murdeshwar et al. (US PGPUB 2021/0186308 – “Murdeshwar”), which teaches in Murdeshwar FIG. 6B a battery 164 in a detachable camera module 150 for an endoscope’s distal end; and
Tearney et al. (US PGPUB 2016/0150944 – “Tearney”), which teaches in Tearney FIG. 1C a battery housing 170 that clamps to the distal end of an endoscope that supports image sensors 141.
JIM BOICE
Examiner
Art Unit 3795
/JAMES EDWARD BOICE/Examiner, Art Unit 3795
/ANH TUAN T NGUYEN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3795
05/28/26