DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Below is the Final Action on the Merits for claims 1 – 15.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation “an upstanding stand-alone water pressure supply lever” in line. The amended claim language fails to find support in the specification. Applicant is advised to provide location of support or to cancel the limitation as it constitutes new matter.
Claims 2 – 15 are further rejected as dependents of rejected claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 – 5 and 7 – 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nappi (U. S. Patent No. 3,066,338) in view of Crist (U. S. Patent Publication No. 2009/0098031 A1) and Bleth (U. S. Patent No. 5,964,959).
Regarding Independent Claim 1, Nappi teaches a shoe cleaning device (Fig. 1) comprising: a dome lid (cover 14 with the top face is raised in a dome-like, outward protuberance 26; Fig. 1) having a top (20) and a bottom (skirt, 10) and an opening (central opening, 22) for receiving a shoe (central opening 22 for insertion of a shod foot, the opening being located in the upper portion of front face 16) and configured for containing a water spray (spray system with spray nozzles, 196; Fig. 3) therein; a base (base plate, 12) attached to the dome lid bottom (Fig. 6) in a water tight seal (Col. 2, lines 29 – 36) and comprising a drain (opening, 190) at an opening of the base (12); a water pressure supply lever (button, 38) configured to control a water flow across a water valve to a water supply via a rotational motion (Col. 4, line 67 – Col. 5, line 2); and a water sprayer (nozzles, 196; Fig. 3) in connection with the water flow and in an inside created by the dome lid and the base and underneath the opening in the dome (26; Fig. 3).
Nappi teaches a base plate but fails to explicitly teach a funnel base and a narrow opening of the funnel base.
Crist, however, teaches a funnel base (36; Fig. 2) and a narrow opening (40) of the funnel base (36; Fig. 2).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the base of Nappi to further include a funnel base and a narrow opening, as taught by Crist, to provide a device that directs the dirty water away from the cleaned surface, thus preventing recontamination.
Further, Although Nappi teaches a water pressure supply lever, the reference fails to explicitly teach an upstanding stand-alone water pressure supply lever configured to bidirectionally control how much water flow and head pressure are put a water valve via a manual rotation motion.
Bleth, however, teaches an upstanding stand-alone water pressure supply lever (49’; Fig. 7) configured to bidirectionally control how much water flow and head pressure are put a water valve via a manual rotation motion (Col. 5, lines 6 – 16).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the base of Nappi to further include an upstanding stand-alone water pressure supply lever configured to bidirectionally control how much water flow and head pressure are put a water valve via a manual rotation motion, as taught by Bleth, to provide a device that the pressure thus assuring the shoes are properly wet for cleaning and avoiding saturation.
Regarding Claim 2, Nappi, as modified, teaches the shoe cleaning device (Fig. 1), further comprising a handle (35; Fig. 1) configured to enable a pickup and delivery of the shoe cleaning device (Fig. 1).
Regarding Claim 3, Nappi, as modified, teaches the shoe cleaning device (Fig. 1), further comprising a water hose (pipe system, 198) configured for a transport of the water supply to the water valve (Fig. 3; Col. 4, line 56 – Col. 5, line 2).
Regarding Claim 4, Nappi, as modified, teaches the shoe cleaning device of claim 1 as discussed above.
Nappi as modified by Crist teaches support legs (flanges, 39) does not explicitly teach the shoe cleaning device further comprising adjustable height support legs attached to the funnel base, however, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Nappi as modified by Crist to further include adjustable height support legs attached to the funnel base, as claimed, since it has been held that the provision of adjustability, where needed, involves only routine skill in the art (MPEP 2144.05).
Regarding Claim 5, Nappi, as modified, teaches the shoe cleaning device (Fig. 1) wherein the drain (190) is connected to a waste pipe (drawer, 186) to convey a waste water collected in the base (12) therefrom (Fig. 5).
Nappi teaches a base plate but fails to explicitly teach a funnel base.
Crist, however, teaches a funnel base (36; Fig. 2).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the base of Nappi to further include a funnel base and a narrow opening, as taught by Crist, to provide a device that directs the dirty water away from the cleaned surface, thus preventing recontamination.
Regarding Claim 7, Nappi, as modified, teaches the shoe cleaning device (Fig. 1) wherein the pressure supply lever (38) is configured to turn off and turn on the water flow (Col. 4, line 67 – Col. 5, line 2).
Regarding Claim 8, Nappi, as modified, teaches the shoe cleaning device (Fig. 1) further comprising a brush (brushes 42 – 44) on the inside of the device and to enable a brushing of a bottom of the shoe (Figs. 2 – 3).
Regarding Claim 9, Nappi, as modified, teaches the shoe cleaning device of claim 1 as discussed above.
Nappi does not explicitly teach the dome lid comprises a transparent material to enable a view of the inside of the dome lid.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Nappi to further include the dome lid comprises a transparent material, as claimed, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use of the device (MPEP 2144.07).
Regarding Claim 10, Nappi, as modified, teaches the shoe cleaning device (Fig. 1) wherein the opening comprises a scraping lip (tabs, 28 and 30) configured for scraping a debris from a sole of the shoe (Fig. 1).
Regarding Claim 11, Nappi, as modified, teaches the shoe cleaning device of claim 1 as discussed above.
Nappi does not teach the shoe cleaning device further comprising a shutoff valve disposed at the drain and configured to prevent leakage from the device.
Bleth, however, teaches a shutoff valve (49) disposed at the drain (39) and configured to prevent leakage from the device (Col. 4, line 69 – Col. 5, line 16).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the base of Nappi to further include a shutoff valve, as taught by Bleth, to provide a device that prevents leakage from the device
Regarding Claim 12, Nappi, as modified, teaches the shoe cleaning device of claim 1 as discussed above.
Nappi does not explicitly teach, wherein the water sprayer is adjustable to a sole size of a shoe; however, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Nappi as modified by Crist to further include the water sprayer is adjustable to a sole size of a shoe, as claimed, since it has been held that the provision of adjustability, where needed, involves only routine skill in the art (MPEP 2144.04).
Regarding Claim 13, Nappi, as modified, teaches the shoe cleaning device of claim 1 as discussed above.
Nappi, as modified by Crist, does not explicitly teach the funnel base comprises a metal to transfer a dislodging force to remove a dry debris thereon; however, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Nappi as modified by Crist to further include the water sprayer is adjustable to a sole size of a shoe, as claimed, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use of the device (MPEP 2144.07).
Regarding Claim 14, Nappi, as modified, teaches the shoe cleaning device (Fig. 1) further comprising a plurality of water sprayers (196) configured to spray a sole of the shoe from multiple angles (Fig. 3).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nappi (U. S. Patent No. 3,066,338) in view of Crist (U. S. Patent Publication No. 2009/0098031 A1), Ma (CN 109176999A) and Bleth (U. S. Patent No. 5,964,959).
Regarding Claim 6, Nappi, as modified, teaches the shoe cleaning device of claim 1 as discussed above.
Nappi does not teach the shoe cleaning device further comprising a water deflecting flap configured to close in an absence of a shoe in the dome opening.
Ma, however, teaches the shoe cleaning device (Fig. 1) further comprising a water deflecting flap (door; Claim 8) configured to close in an absence of a shoe in the opening (Claim 8; Ma teaches a flap configured to close, thus it teaches the flap configured to or capable of closing in an absence of a shoe in the opening).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the base of Nappi to further include a water deflecting flap, as taught by Ma, to provide a device that directs the prevents water from escaping the cleaner in the event that a shoe is not inserted in the device.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nappi (U. S. Patent No. 3,066,338) in view of Crist (U. S. Patent Publication No. 2009/0098031 A1), Tendall (U. S. Patent Publication No. 2022/0280017 A1) and Bleth (U. S. Patent No. 5,964,959).
Regarding Claim 15, Nappi, as modified, teaches the shoe cleaning device of claim 1 as discussed above.
Nappi does not teach the shoe cleaning device further comprising a filter in the drain configured to prevent debris from entering the drain.
Tendall, however, teaches the shoe cleaning device (Fig. 1) further comprising a filter (Paragraph [0015]) in the drain (105) configured to prevent debris from entering the drain (Paragraph [0015]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the base of Nappi to further include a filter in the drain configured to prevent debris from entering the drain, as taught by Tendall, to provide a device that directs the dirty particles away from the cleaned surface, thus preventing recontamination.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Applicants Arguments/Remarks dated January 22, 2026 with respect to the rejection of claims 1 – 15 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new grounds of rejection is made in view of Bleth (art used in the rejection of claim 11)
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Contact Information
/KATINA N. HENSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3723