DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 7 and 17-20 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 1 (line 1) “A fastening apparatus for a mobility”; thus initially reciting “a mobility” as only an intended use functional limitation.
However, claim 1 (lines 2-3) subsequently recites “a first fastening unit provided in a first module of the mobility; and a second fastening unit disposed in a second module of the mobility”; thus defining the claimed invention relative to “the mobility”. Accordingly, it is unclear as to whether the mobility has been positively claimed as an element of the claimed invention, or whether the mobility has only been recited as an intended use functional limitation. Furthermore, it is unclear as to what “a mobility” is; it appears that Applicant intends for “a mobility” to constitute “a vehicle”.
In order to avoid rejection of claim 1 under 35 USC 112, claim 1 (lines 1-3) should be amended to recite --A fastening apparatus of a vehicle… a first fastening unit provided in a first module of the vehicle; and a second fastening unit disposed in a second module of the vehicle--.
In claim 7 (line 2) “fixed on” should recite –fixed in--.
In claim 17 (line 2 and line 5) “the mobility” should recite –the vehicle--.
Claim 18 (line 1) recites “A mobility”. It is unclear as to what “a mobility” is; it appears that Applicant intends for “a mobility” to constitute “a vehicle”.
In order to avoid rejection of claim 1 under 35 USC 112, claim 18 (line 1) should be amended to recite --A vehicle--.
In claim 19 (line 1) and claim 20 (line 1) “The mobility” should recite –The vehicle--.
For the purpose of examining the application, it is assumed that appropriate correction has been made.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-7, 9, 12, 14, 15 and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Delaney (US 11,143,223).
As to claim 1, Delaney discloses a fastening apparatus of a vehicle, the fastening apparatus comprising:
a first fastening unit 114 provided in a first module 44 of the vehicle; and
a second fastening unit 104 disposed in a second module 40 of the vehicle, the second fastening unit coupled or decoupled to the first fastening unit for attachment or detachment between the first module and the second module;
wherein the first fastening unit and the second fastening unit include a first fastening member 118 and a second fastening member 110 selectively screw-coupled together, respectively,
wherein the second fastening unit further includes a support member 168 capable of supporting rotatably the second fastening member (support surface 168 of nut 110, which is affixed to elastic member 112, is rotated relative to the central axis of housing 104 as panel 44 is pivoted to the closed position; Figures 1-6B).
As to claim 2, Delaney discloses a fastening apparatus wherein the support member 168 rotatably supports, by a force holding the first module 44 and the second module 40 together or apart, a circumference of the second fastening member 110 so that the second fastening unit 104 rotates in a direction in which the second fastening member is fastened to the first fastening member 118 or the second fastening unit rotates in a direction in which the second fastening member is released from the first fastening member (Figures 1-6B).
As to claim 3, Delaney discloses a fastening apparatus wherein the support member 168 is movably provided in a direction opposite to a fastening direction of the first fastening member 118 and the second fastening member 110, and
wherein the second fastening unit further includes an elastic member 112 for elastically supporting the support member in a process of fastening the second fastening member to the first fastening member (Figures 1-6B).
As to claim 4, Delaney discloses a fastening apparatus wherein the elastic member 112 is compressed and then restored in a process of fastening the second fastening member 110 to the first fastening member 118 (Figures 1-6B).
As to claim 5, Delaney discloses a fastening apparatus wherein the elastic member 112 is compressed and then restored while the second fastening 110 member is fastened to the first fastening member 118, and is tensioned and then restored while the second fastening member is released from the first fastening member (Figures 1-6B).
As to claim 6, Delaney discloses a fastening apparatus wherein the second fastening unit 104 further includes an elastic member 112 and a housing 104 including an accommodation space open toward the first fastening unit 114,
wherein the support member 168 is slidably accommodated in the accommodation space in a direction opposite to a fastening direction of the first fastening member 118 and the second fastening member 110, and
wherein the elastic member further includes a coil spring accommodated in the accommodation space to be compressed by the support member sliding in the fastening direction (Figures 1-6B).
As to claim 7, Delaney discloses a fastening apparatus wherein the second fastening unit 104 includes a fixing member fixed in the accommodation space and to which a first end portion of the coil spring 112 is coupled (Figures 1-6B).
As to claim 9, Delaney discloses a fastening apparatus including a locking unit 130 configured to lock or unlock a fastened state of the first fastening member 118 and the second fastening member 110 (Figures 1-6B).
As to claim 12, Delaney discloses a fastening apparatus wherein the locking unit 130 is configured to automatically lock the fastened state at a time when fastening of the first fastening member 118 and the second fastening member 110 is completed (Figures 1-6B).
As to claim 14, Delaney discloses a fastening apparatus wherein the first fastening member 118 includes a protruding member including a protruding portion, and
wherein the second fastening member 110 includes an annular member including a fastened hole into which the protruding portion is screw-coupled (Figures 1-6B).
As to claim 15, Delaney discloses a fastening apparatus wherein the protruding member includes a bolt 118, and
wherein the annular member includes a nut 110 (Figures 1-6B).
As to claim 17, Delaney discloses a fastening apparatus wherein the first module 44 includes a lower drive module for driving the vehicle, and
wherein the second module 40 includes an upper body module providing an internal space for the vehicle (Figures 1-6B).
As to claim 18, Delaney discloses a vehicle, comprising:
a first module 44 and a second module 40; and
a fastening device configured to attach or detach the first module and the second module;
wherein the fastening device includes:
a first fastening unit 114 provided in the first module; and
a second fastening unit 104 provided in the second module and coupled or decoupled to the first fastening unit for the attachment or the detachment of the first module and the second module,
wherein the first fastening unit and the second fastening unit include a first fastening member 118 and a second fastening member 110 selectively screw-coupled together, respectively,
wherein the second fastening unit further includes a support member 168 capable of supporting rotatably the second fastening member (support surface 168 of nut 110, which is affixed to elastic member 112, is rotated relative to the central axis of housing 104 as panel 44 is pivoted to the closed position; Figures 3,6B),
wherein the support member is configured to guide a rotation of the second fastening member so that a force holding the first module and the second module together or apart allows the second fastening member to rotate in a direction to be fastened to the first fastening member or allows the second fastening member fastened to the first fastening member to rotate in a direction to be released from the first fastening member (Figures 1-6B).
As to claim 19, Delaney discloses a vehicle wherein the force holding together includes a force that presses at least one of the first module 44 and the second module 40, which are in a separated state, in a direction in which the first module and the second module are adjacent to each other, and
wherein the force holding apart includes a force that separates at least one of the first module and the second module, which are in a coupled state, in a direction in which the first module and the second module are moved away from each other (Figures 1-6B).
As to claim 20, Delaney discloses a vehicle wherein the first module 44 and the second module 40 are disposed in a vertical direction,
wherein the force holding together includes a load of an upper one of the first module and the second module, and
wherein the force holding apart includes a load of a lower one of the first module and the second module (Figures 1-6B).
Claims 1-10,12 and 14-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hetherington (US 6,106,035).
As to claim 1, Hetherington discloses a fastening apparatus capable of use with a mobility, the fastening apparatus comprising:
a first fastening unit 56 provided in a first module 32 of the mobility; and
a second fastening unit 78 disposed in a second module 30 of the mobility, the second fastening unit coupled or decoupled to the first fastening unit for attachment or detachment between the first module and the second module;
wherein the first fastening unit and the second fastening unit include a first fastening member 62 and a second fastening member 98,102 selectively screw-coupled together, respectively,
wherein the second fastening unit includes a support member 80,82 capable of supporting rotatably the second fastening member (support members 80,82 are rotated relative to the central axis of housing 82 as the support members are pivoted about bearing hinge pins 92,94; Figures 3-8).
As to claim 2, Hetherington discloses a fastening apparatus wherein the support member 80,82 rotatably supports, by a force holding the first module 32 and the second module 30 together or apart, a circumference of the second fastening member 98,102 so that the second fastening unit 78 rotates in a direction in which the second fastening member is fastened to the first fastening member 62 or the second fastening unit rotates in a direction in which the second fastening member is released from the first fastening member (Figures 3-8).
As to claim 3, Hetherington discloses a fastening apparatus wherein the support member 80,82 is movably provided in a direction opposite to a fastening direction of the first fastening member 62 and the second fastening member 98,102, and
wherein the second fastening unit includes an elastic member 106,110 for elastically supporting the support member 80,82 in a process of fastening the second fastening member to the first fastening member (Figures 3-8).
As to claim 4, Hetherington discloses a fastening apparatus wherein the elastic member 106,110 is compressed and then restored in a process of fastening the second fastening member 98,102 to the first fastening member 62 (Figures 3-8).
As to claim 5, Hetherington discloses a fastening apparatus wherein the elastic member 106,110 is compressed and then restored while the second fastening member 98,102 is fastened to the first fastening member 62, and is tensioned and then restored while the second fastening member is released from the first fastening member (Figures 3-8).
As to claim 6, Hetherington discloses a fastening apparatus wherein the second fastening unit 78 includes an elastic member 106,110 and a housing 88 including an accommodation space open toward the first fastening unit 56,
wherein the support member 80,82 is slidably accommodated in the accommodation space in a direction opposite to a fastening direction of the first fastening member 62 and the second fastening member 98,102, and
wherein the elastic member includes a coil spring accommodated in the accommodation space to be compressed by the support member sliding in the fastening direction (Figures 3-8).
As to claim 7, Hetherington discloses a fastening apparatus wherein the second fastening unit 78 includes a fixing member fixed in the accommodation space and to which a first end portion of the coil spring 106,110 is coupled (Figures 3-8).
As to claim 8, Hetherington discloses a fastening apparatus wherein a second end portion of the coil spring 106,110 is coupled to a bearing 92,94 (Figures 3-8).
As to claim 9, Hetherington discloses a fastening apparatus including a locking unit 48,120,122 configured to lock or unlock a fastened state of the first fastening member 62 and the second fastening member 98,102 (Figures 3-8).
As to claim 10, Hetherington discloses a fastening apparatus wherein a first locking hole 120 is formed in the housing 88,114, wherein a second locking hole 48 communicating with the first locking hole is formed in the first fastening member 56,44 in a state in which the second fastening member 98,102 is fastened to the first fastening member, and wherein the locking unit includes a locking member 122 coupled to or separated from the first locking hole and the second locking hole communicating with each other (Figures 3-8).
As to claim 12, Hetherington discloses a fastening apparatus wherein the locking unit 48,120,122 is capable of automatically locking the fastened state at a time when fastening of the first fastening member 62 and the second fastening member 98,102 is completed (Figures 3-8).
As to claim 14, Hetherington discloses a fastening apparatus wherein the first fastening member 62 includes a protruding member including a protruding portion, and
wherein the second fastening member 98,102 includes an annular member including a fastened hole into which the protruding portion is screw-coupled (Figures 3-8).
As to claim 15, Hetherington discloses a fastening apparatus wherein the protruding member includes a bolt 62, and
wherein the annular member includes a nut 98,102 (Figures 3-8).
As to claim 16, Hetherington discloses a fastening apparatus wherein the support member 90,82 includes a bearing 92,94 for rotatably supporting the nut 98,102 (Figures 3-8).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 11 and 13 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
As to claim 11, Hetherington discloses the claimed fastening apparatus with the exception of wherein the locking unit is configured to operate the locking member which is coupled to or separated from the first locking hole and the second locking hole by use of electric power.
As to claim 13, Hetherington discloses the claimed fastening apparatus with the exception of wherein a first locking hole is formed in the housing, wherein a second locking hole communicating with the first locking hole is formed in the first fastening member in a state in which the second fastening member is fastened to the first fastening member, and wherein the locking unit includes: a locking member slidably fastened to the first locking hole and including a front end portion provided to be caught in the second locking hole; an elastic member configured to elastically press the locking member toward the first locking hole; and an adjustor positioned outside the housing and configured to operate the locking member so that pressing force of the elastic member is selectively applied to the locking member.
There is no teaching or suggestion, absent the applicant’s own disclosure, for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the fastening apparatus disclosed by Hetherington to have the above mentioned elemental features. Furthermore, such modifications would not be obvious.
Conclusion
12/19/25
/MICHAEL P FERGUSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3619