DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 1 (line 1) “A fastening apparatus for a vehicle”; thus initially reciting a vehicle as only an intended use functional limitation.
However, claim 1 (lines 3-4) subsequently recites “a first fastening unit provided in a first module of the vehicle; and a second fastening unit disposed in a second module of the vehicle”; thus defining the claimed invention relative to the vehicle. Accordingly, it is unclear as to whether the vehicle has been positively claimed as an element of the claimed invention, or whether the vehicle has only been recited as an intended use functional limitation.
In order to avoid rejection of claim 1 under 35 USC 112, claim 1 (line 1) should be amended to recite --A fastening apparatus of a vehicle--.
For the purpose of examining the application, it is assumed that appropriate correction has been made.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3-7, 9, 12, 14, 15 and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Delaney (US 11,143,223).
As to claim 1, Delaney discloses a fastening apparatus of a vehicle, the fastening apparatus comprising:
a first fastening unit 114 provided in a first module 44 of the vehicle; and
a second fastening unit 104 disposed in a second module 40 of the vehicle, the second fastening unit coupled or decoupled to the first fastening unit for attachment or detachment between the first module and the second module;
wherein the first fastening unit and the second fastening unit include a first fastening member 118 and a second fastening member 110 selectively screw-coupled together, respectively,
wherein the second fastening unit further includes a support member 112 capable of supporting rotatably the second fastening member (nut segments 110, which are supported by elastic member 112, are capable of being rotated about an axis perpendicular to the central axis of housing 104 as panel 44 is pivoted towards the open position; Figures 3-4B); and
wherein the support member rotatably supports, by a force holding the first module and the second module apart, a circumference of the second fastening member so that the second fastening unit rotates in a direction in which the second fastening member is released from the first fastening member (elastic member 112 supports nut segments 112, by a force holding first and second modules 40,44 apart, so that the nut segments rotate in a direction in which the nut is released from bolt 118; Figures 1-6B).
As to claim 3, Delaney discloses a fastening apparatus wherein the support member 112 is movably provided in a direction opposite to a fastening direction of the first fastening member 118 and the second fastening member 110, and
wherein the second fastening unit further includes an elastic member 112 for elastically supporting the support member in a process of fastening the second fastening member to the first fastening member (Figures 1-6B).
As to claim 4, Delaney discloses a fastening apparatus wherein the elastic member 112 is compressed and then restored in a process of fastening the second fastening member 110 to the first fastening member 118 (Figures 1-6B).
As to claim 5, Delaney discloses a fastening apparatus wherein the elastic member 112 is compressed and then restored while the second fastening 110 member is fastened to the first fastening member 118, and is tensioned and then restored while the second fastening member is released from the first fastening member (Figures 1-6B).
As to claim 6, Delaney discloses a fastening apparatus wherein the second fastening unit 104 further includes an elastic member 112 and a housing 104 including an accommodation space open toward the first fastening unit 114,
wherein the support member 112 is slidably accommodated in the accommodation space in a direction opposite to a fastening direction of the first fastening member 118 and the second fastening member 110, and
wherein the elastic member further includes a coil spring accommodated in the accommodation space to be compressed by the support member sliding in the fastening direction (Figures 1-6B).
As to claim 7, Delaney discloses a fastening apparatus wherein the second fastening unit 104 includes a fixing member fixed in the accommodation space and to which a first end portion of the coil spring 112 is coupled (Figures 1-6B).
As to claim 9, Delaney discloses a fastening apparatus including a locking unit 130 configured to lock or unlock a fastened state of the first fastening member 118 and the second fastening member 110 (Figures 1-6B).
As to claim 12, Delaney discloses a fastening apparatus wherein the locking unit 130 is configured to automatically lock the fastened state at a time when fastening of the first fastening member 118 and the second fastening member 110 is completed (Figures 1-6B).
As to claim 14, Delaney discloses a fastening apparatus wherein the first fastening member 118 includes a protruding member including a protruding portion, and
wherein the second fastening member 110 includes an annular member including a fastened hole into which the protruding portion is screw-coupled (Figures 1-6B).
As to claim 15, Delaney discloses a fastening apparatus wherein the protruding member includes a bolt 118, and
wherein the annular member includes a nut 110 (Figures 1-6B).
As to claim 17, Delaney discloses a fastening apparatus wherein the first module 44 includes a lower drive module for driving the vehicle, and
wherein the second module 40 includes an upper body module providing an internal space for the vehicle (Figures 1-6B).
As to claim 18, Delaney discloses a vehicle, comprising:
a first module 44 and a second module 40; and
a fastening device configured to attach or detach the first module and the second module;
wherein the fastening device includes:
a first fastening unit 114 provided in the first module; and
a second fastening unit 104 provided in the second module and coupled or decoupled to the first fastening unit for the attachment or the detachment of the first module and the second module,
wherein the first fastening unit and the second fastening unit include a first fastening member 118 and a second fastening member 110 selectively screw-coupled together, respectively,
wherein the second fastening unit further includes a support member 112 capable of supporting rotatably the second fastening member (nut segments 110, which are supported by elastic member 112, are capable of being rotated about an axis perpendicular to the central axis of housing 104 as panel 44 is pivoted towards the open position; Figures 3-4B),
wherein the support member is configured to guide a rotation of the second fastening member so that a force holding the first module and the second module apart allows the second fastening member to rotate in a direction to be released from the first fastening member (elastic member 112 supports nut segments 112, by a force holding first and second modules 40,44 apart, so that the nut segments rotate in a direction in which the nut is released from bolt 118; Figures 1-6B).
As to claim 19, Delaney discloses a vehicle wherein the force holding together includes a force that presses at least one of the first module 44 and the second module 40, which are in a separated state, in a direction in which the first module and the second module are adjacent to each other, and
wherein the force holding apart includes a force that separates at least one of the first module and the second module, which are in a coupled state, in a direction in which the first module and the second module are moved away from each other (Figures 1-6B).
As to claim 20, Delaney discloses a vehicle wherein the first module 44 and the second module 40 are disposed in a vertical direction,
wherein the force holding together includes a load of an upper one of the first module and the second module, and
wherein the force holding apart includes a load of a lower one of the first module and the second module (Figures 1-6B).
Claims 1, 3-10,12 and 14-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hetherington (US 6,106,035).
As to claim 1, Hetherington discloses a fastening apparatus capable of use with a mobility, the fastening apparatus comprising:
a first fastening unit 56 provided in a first module 32 of the mobility; and
a second fastening unit 78 disposed in a second module 30 of the mobility, the second fastening unit coupled or decoupled to the first fastening unit for attachment or detachment between the first module and the second module;
wherein the first fastening unit and the second fastening unit include a first fastening member 62 and a second fastening member 98,102 selectively screw-coupled together, respectively,
wherein the second fastening unit includes a support member 92,94,106,110 capable of supporting rotatably the second fastening member (nut segments 98,102, which is pivotably supported by hinges 92,94 and biased by elastic members 106,110, is rotated about an axis perpendicular to the central axis of housing 82 as bolt 62 is inserted into the nut segments; Figure 4; C6 L22-35); and
wherein the support member rotatably supports, by a force holding the first module and the second module together, a circumference of the second fastening member so that the second fastening unit rotates in a direction in which the second fastening member is fastened to the first fastening member (hinges 92,94 and elastic members 106,110 rotatably support nut segments 98,102, by a force holding first and second modules 30,32 together, so that the nut segments rotate in a direction in which the nut is fastened to bolt 62; Figures 3-8; C6 L22-35).
As to claim 3, Hetherington discloses a fastening apparatus wherein the support member 92,94,106,110 is movably provided in a direction opposite to a fastening direction of the first fastening member 62 and the second fastening member 98,102, and
wherein the second fastening unit includes an elastic member 106,110 for elastically supporting the support member 92,94 in a process of fastening the second fastening member to the first fastening member (Figures 3-8).
As to claim 4, Hetherington discloses a fastening apparatus wherein the elastic member 106,110 is compressed and then restored in a process of fastening the second fastening member 98,102 to the first fastening member 62 (Figures 3-8).
As to claim 5, Hetherington discloses a fastening apparatus wherein the elastic member 106,110 is compressed and then restored while the second fastening member 98,102 is fastened to the first fastening member 62, and is tensioned and then restored while the second fastening member is released from the first fastening member (Figures 3-8).
As to claim 6, Hetherington discloses a fastening apparatus wherein the second fastening unit 78 includes an elastic member 106,110 and a housing 88 including an accommodation space open toward the first fastening unit 56,
wherein the support member 92,94,106,110 is slidably accommodated in the accommodation space in a direction opposite to a fastening direction of the first fastening member 62 and the second fastening member 98,102, and
wherein the elastic member includes a coil spring accommodated in the accommodation space to be compressed by the support member sliding in the fastening direction (Figures 3-8).
As to claim 7, Hetherington discloses a fastening apparatus wherein the second fastening unit 78 includes a fixing member fixed in the accommodation space and to which a first end portion of the coil spring 106,110 is coupled (Figures 3-8).
As to claim 8, Hetherington discloses a fastening apparatus wherein a second end portion of the coil spring 106,110 is coupled to a bearing 92,94 (Figures 3-8).
As to claim 9, Hetherington discloses a fastening apparatus including a locking unit 48,120,122 configured to lock or unlock a fastened state of the first fastening member 62 and the second fastening member 98,102 (Figures 3-8).
As to claim 10, Hetherington discloses a fastening apparatus wherein a first locking hole 120 is formed in the housing 88,114, wherein a second locking hole 48 communicating with the first locking hole is formed in the first fastening member 56,44 in a state in which the second fastening member 98,102 is fastened to the first fastening member, and wherein the locking unit includes a locking member 122 coupled to or separated from the first locking hole and the second locking hole communicating with each other (Figures 3-8).
As to claim 12, Hetherington discloses a fastening apparatus wherein the locking unit 48,120,122 is capable of automatically locking the fastened state at a time when fastening of the first fastening member 62 and the second fastening member 98,102 is completed (Figures 3-8).
As to claim 14, Hetherington discloses a fastening apparatus wherein the first fastening member 62 includes a protruding member including a protruding portion, and
wherein the second fastening member 98,102 includes an annular member including a fastened hole into which the protruding portion is screw-coupled (Figures 3-8).
As to claim 15, Hetherington discloses a fastening apparatus wherein the protruding member includes a bolt 62, and
wherein the annular member includes a nut 98,102 (Figures 3-8).
As to claim 16, Hetherington discloses a fastening apparatus wherein the support member 90,82 includes a bearing 92,94 for rotatably supporting the nut 98,102 (Figures 3-8).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 11 and 13 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed April 20, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
As to claims 1 and 18, Attorney argues that:
Delaney fails to disclose a fastening apparatus wherein the support member rotatably supports, by a force holding the first module and the second module together or apart, a circumference of the second fastening member so that the second fastening unit rotates in a direction in which the second fastening member is fastened to the first fastening member or the second fastening unit rotates in a direction in which the second fastening member is released from the first fastening member, as bolt 118 of the Dulaney reference is manually screwed into nut 110; instead of being automatically screwed into the nut.
Examiner disagrees. As to claims 1 and 18, Delaney discloses a fastening apparatus wherein the support member 112 rotatably supports, by a force holding the first module 44 and the second module 40 apart, a circumference of the second fastening member 110 so that the second fastening unit 104 rotates in a direction in which the second fastening member is released from the first fastening member (elastic member 112 supports nut segments 112, by a force holding first and second modules 40,44 apart, so that the nut segments rotate in a direction in which the nut is released from bolt 118; Figures 3-4B).
As to Attorney’s arguments regarding bolt 118 of the Dulaney reference being manually screwed into nut 110; instead of being automatically screwed into the nut, Examiner notes that claim 1 fails to clearly recite any limitations which require the support member to automatically rotate the second fastening member nut to thread it onto the first fastening member bolt; claim 1 merely requires one of the alternatives of the support member either rotating the second fastening member in a direction in which the second fastening member is fastened to the first fastening member, or rotating the second fastening member in a direction in which the second fastening member is released from the first fastening member.
As to claim 1, Attorney further argues that:
Hetherington fails to disclose a fastening apparatus wherein the support member rotatably supports, by a force holding the first module and the second module together or apart, a circumference of the second fastening member so that the second fastening unit rotates in a direction in which the second fastening member is fastened to the first fastening member or the second fastening unit rotates in a direction in which the second fastening member is released from the first fastening member, as bolt 62 of the Hetherington reference is manually screwed into nut 98,102; instead of being automatically screwed into the nut.
Examiner disagrees. As to claim 1, Hetherington discloses a fastening apparatus wherein the support member 92,94,106,110 rotatably supports, by a force holding the first module 32 and the second module 30 together, a circumference of the second fastening member 98,102 so that the second fastening unit 78 rotates in a direction in which the second fastening member is fastened to the first fastening member 62 (hinges 92,94 and elastic members 106,110 rotatably support nut segments 98,102, by a force holding first and second modules 30,32 together, so that the nut segments rotate in a direction in which the nut is fastened to bolt 62; Figures 3-8; C6 L22-35).
As to Attorney’s arguments regarding bolt 62 of the Hetherington reference being manually screwed into nut 98,102; instead of being automatically screwed into the nut, Examiner notes that claim 1 fails to clearly recite any limitations which require the support member to automatically rotate the second fastening member nut to thread it onto the first fastening member bolt; nonetheless, Column 6 Lines 22-35 of the Hetherington reference clearly states that the initial threaded engagement of nut segments 98,102 with bolt 62 is resultant from the spring-biased pivoting of the nut segments about hinges 92,94 by elastic members 106,110 alone, as the bolt is inserted into the nut segments.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
05/07/26 /MICHAEL P FERGUSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3619