DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4,6-11 and 19-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhu et al. (WO 2023011603 A1) in view of Kompala et al. (US 2024/0353569) and Keshet (US 2017/0111912), newly received reference.
Regarding claim 1, Zhu et al. discloses a computer-implemented method (i.e. a terminal method) (fig. 1 number 100)(fig. 12 steps s1201-s1209 and page 30 through page 31) comprising: transmission of the satellite datagram (short message and/or text message) is initiated from a nearby mobile device (fig. 1 number 100 and page 7 lines 21-31) within a region of interest (position and/or location) of the mobile device (fig. 1, abstract, fig. 12 step s1201-a1209, and pages 30-31) ; and wherein the satellite datagram (short message and/or text message) is forwarded, from a gateway device (Beidou ground transceiver station)(fig. 1 number 22), to the mobile device (i.e. the terminal 300 of the cellular network may also send a Beidou short message to the terminal 100 of the Beidou network) (fig. 1 number 100 and page 6, lines 16-17) and at least one other nearby mobile device (fig. 1 number 300 and (abstract, page 8 lines 30-32 and fig. 12 step s1209 and page 31) in response to a broadcast field (frame) of the satellite datagram indicating that that the satellite datagram is a broadcast satellite datagram (i.e. In a possible implementation manner, the Beidou network device sends the location information in one or more location report frames to the second terminal (other nearby mobile device), which specifically includes: the Beidou network device bases the first subtype indication field on the satellite link control SLC layer Determine the frame type of one or more position report frames, and upload the frame type to the application APP layer) (page 4, 5th paragraph and page 6, the present application provides a location reporting method in a Beidou communication system. The terminal 100 may generate a first application layer packet based on the location information and a recipient user identification number (identity, ID), and encapsulate the first application layer packet into one or more first user frames. The first user frame includes a first subtype indication field, and the first subtype indication field may be used to indicate that the first user frame is a position report frame. The terminal 100 may send the one or more first user frames to the Beidou network device 200 . The Beidou network device 200 may determine the recipient ID based on the recipient ID field in the location report frame after determining that the one or more first user frames are location report frames through the first subtype indication. The Beidou network device 200 can send the location information and the receiver ID to the short message center 25 . The short message center 25 may generate a first location message based on the location information, and send the first location message to the terminal 300 based on the recipient ID. In this way, the terminal 300 can successfully receive and display the location information of the terminal 100) and displaying, by the mobile device (second terminal) (other nearby mobile device), a notification (position/location information) based on the satellite datagram (abstract, page 8 lines 30-32 and fig. 12 step s1209 and page 31). Zhu et al. differs from claim 1 of the present invention in that it does not explicit disclose enabling, by a mobile device, reception of satellite-communicated datagrams: receiving, by the mobile device, a satellite datagram from a satellite after enabling reception of satellite-communicated datagrams and a broadcast satellite datagram, a broadcast field indicating that the satellite datagram is to be broadcast to two or more nearby mobile devices within the region of interest that have enabled an option to receive satellite-communicated datagrams . Kompala et al. teaches FIG. 3 illustrates a method 300 of activating a Satellite SOS mode and using a satellite system to send and receive calls and/or text messages when a wireless device is in a LSS mode (P:0046), For example, switching from LSS mode to SDRM in block 306 may activate the SOS client application 208 and/or the SOS vendor library 228 and/or any or all of the components 220-230 in the satellite communications stack 203 to work together and provide services for on-demand sending and receiving text message and/or initiating and receiving a voice call over the satellite links (P:0050). Keshet teaches the communication terminal 100 of the present invention includes a scheduling module 130 that is configured and operable for determining the time slot (e.g., the timing and duration within the forward link communication frame that is transmitted by the satellite/mediator 300) of the designated communication sub-frame which is designated to be received by the specific terminal 100 (and/or by other members of his terminal group) (P:0128). Keshet does not teach the two or more nearby mobile devices within the region of interest that have enabled an option to receive satellite-communicated datagrams. However, Kompala et al. teaches wireless device enabled an option to receive satellite-communicated datagrams (P:0046 and P:0050) and if one wireless device could enabled an option to receive satellite-communicated datagrams, one of ordinary skill in the art could apply the same teaching of Kompala et al. to multiple mobile devices to receive a satellite datagram. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Zhu et al. with enabling, by a mobile device, reception of satellite-communicated datagrams: receiving, by the mobile device, a satellite datagram from a satellite after enabling reception of satellite-communicated datagrams and a broadcast satellite datagram, a broadcast field indicating that the satellite datagram is to be broadcast to two or more nearby mobile devices within the region of interest that have enabled an option to receive satellite-communicated datagrams in order for the first terminal to share it location with multiple wireless terminal that has the option to receive satellite communication through the satellite to be rescued in case of lost cellular service, as taught by Kompala et al. and Keshet.
Regarding claims 2 and 20, Zhu et al. discloses the satellite datagram corresponds to a text message (fig. fig. 12 step s1201, and page 30).
Regarding claim 3, Zhu et al. discloses fetching, by the mobile device and from the satellite datagram, location information associated with the nearby mobile device; and tracking, by the mobile device, a location of the nearby mobile device based on the location information (i.e. After the terminal 300 receives the user's input (for example, single click) on the location identifier 413 as shown in FIG. 4B , in response to the input, display the location identifier area 421 as shown in FIG. 4C . The location identification area 421 may include location information 421A. The location information 421A may be used to display the detailed content of the received location message. For example, the location information 421A may be displayed with longitude information "longitude: 121.39822 degrees" and latitude information "latitude: 49.55924 degrees" (page 16, 1st paragraph).
Regarding claim 4, Zhu et al. discloses the region of interest corresponds to an area proximate to the mobile device with limited cellular service (i.e. when the environment where the first terminal is located does not have a cellular network or a wireless local area network, the first terminal can also send location information to other terminals (page 3, lines 11-13) .
Regarding claim 6, Zhu et al. discloses fetching, by the mobile device and from the satellite datagram, a source address (receiver ID) of the nearby mobile device (terminal)(abstract); and communicating with the nearby mobile device based on the source address (abstract).
Regarding claim 7, Zhu et al. discloses parsing a header (frame header) of the satellite datagram to obtain the source address of the nearby mobile device (abstract and page 2, last paragraph, i.e. contents of the invention).
Regarding claim 8, Zhu et al. discloses communicating with the nearby mobile device through the satellite (fig. 1 number 21 and page 7 line 21).
Regarding claim 9, Zhu et al. discloses sending one or more additional satellite datagrams (text message and location) to the nearby mobile device (terminal 300)(page 14, 6th paragraph through page 15 line 1).
Regarding claims 10-11, Zhu et al. discloses a computer-implemented method as discussed supra in claims 1 above. Zhu et al. differs from claims 10 and 11 of the present invention in that it does not explicit disclose receiving, by the mobile device, a user command to enable reception of satellite-communicated datagrams and prior to receiving the user command, generating a user interface that enables selection of the user command. Kompala et al. teaches FIG. 3 illustrates a method 300 of activating a Satellite SOS mode and using a satellite system to send and receive calls and/or text messages when a wireless device is in a LSS mode (P:0046), For example, switching from LSS mode to SDRM in block 306 may activate the SOS client application 208 and/or the SOS vendor library 228 and/or any or all of the components 220-230 in the satellite communications stack 203 to work together and provide services for on-demand sending and receiving text message and/or initiating and receiving a voice call over the satellite links (P:0050). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Zhu et al. with receiving, by the mobile device, a user command to enable reception of satellite-communicated datagrams and prior to receiving the user command, generating a user interface that enables selection of the user command in order for the second terminal to set a SOS mode on the terminal to receive location information of the first terminal via the satellite when there is no cellular service in the area, as taught by Kompala et al..
Regarding claim 19, Zhu et al. discloses a mobile device (terminal, fig. 1 number 100, fig. 18 and/or mobile phone, page 31 line 20 and page 42 last paragraph) comprising: a memory (fig. 18 number 1804); and a processor (fig. 18 number 1801) coupled to the memory (fig. 18), a transceiver (fig. 18 number 1802), the processor configured to: transmission of the satellite datagram (short message and/or text message) is initiated from a nearby mobile device (fig. 1 number 100 and page 7 lines 21-31) within a region of interest (position and/or location) of the mobile device (fig. 1, abstract, fig. 12 step s1201-a1209, and pages 30-31) ; and wherein the satellite datagram (short message and/or text message) is forwarded, from a gateway device (Beidou ground transceiver station)(fig. 1 number 22), to the mobile device (i.e. the terminal 300 of the cellular network may also send a Beidou short message to the terminal 100 of the Beidou network) (fig. 1 number 100 and page 6, lines 16-17) and at least one other nearby mobile device (fig. 1 number 300 and (abstract, page 8 lines 30-32 and fig. 12 step s1209 and page 31) in response to a broadcast field (frame) of the satellite datagram indicating that that the satellite datagram is a broadcast satellite datagram (i.e. In a possible implementation manner, the Beidou network device sends the location information in one or more location report frames to the second terminal (other nearby mobile device), which specifically includes: the Beidou network device bases the first subtype indication field on the satellite link control SLC layer Determine the frame type of one or more position report frames, and upload the frame type to the application APP layer) (page 4, 5th paragraph and page 6, the present application provides a location reporting method in a Beidou communication system. The terminal 100 may generate a first application layer packet based on the location information and a recipient user identification number (identity, ID), and encapsulate the first application layer packet into one or more first user frames. The first user frame includes a first subtype indication field, and the first subtype indication field may be used to indicate that the first user frame is a position report frame. The terminal 100 may send the one or more first user frames to the Beidou network device 200 . The Beidou network device 200 may determine the recipient ID based on the recipient ID field in the location report frame after determining that the one or more first user frames are location report frames through the first subtype indication. The Beidou network device 200 can send the location information and the receiver ID to the short message center 25 . The short message center 25 may generate a first location message based on the location information, and send the first location message to the terminal 300 based on the recipient ID. In this way, the terminal 300 can successfully receive and display the location information of the terminal 100) and displaying, by the mobile device (second terminal) (other nearby mobile device), a notification (position/location information) based on the satellite datagram (abstract, page 8 lines 30-32 and fig. 12 step s1209 and page 31). Zhu et al. differs from claim 19 of the present invention in that it does not explicit disclose enabling, by a mobile device, reception of satellite-communicated datagrams: receiving, by the mobile device, a satellite datagram from a satellite after enabling reception of satellite-communicated datagrams and a broadcast satellite datagram, a broadcast field indicating that the satellite datagram is to be broadcast to two or more nearby mobile devices within the region of interest that have enabled an option to receive satellite-communicated datagrams . Kompala et al. teaches FIG. 3 illustrates a method 300 of activating a Satellite SOS mode and using a satellite system to send and receive calls and/or text messages when a wireless device is in a LSS mode (P:0046), For example, switching from LSS mode to SDRM in block 306 may activate the SOS client application 208 and/or the SOS vendor library 228 and/or any or all of the components 220-230 in the satellite communications stack 203 to work together and provide services for on-demand sending and receiving text message and/or initiating and receiving a voice call over the satellite links (P:0050). Keshet teaches the communication terminal 100 of the present invention includes a scheduling module 130 that is configured and operable for determining the time slot (e.g., the timing and duration within the forward link communication frame that is transmitted by the satellite/mediator 300) of the designated communication sub-frame which is designated to be received by the specific terminal 100 (and/or by other members of his terminal group) (P:0128). Keshet does not teach the two or more nearby mobile devices within the region of interest that have enabled an option to receive satellite-communicated datagrams. However, Kompala et al. teaches wireless device enabled an option to receive satellite-communicated datagrams (P:0046 and P:0050) and if one wireless device could enabled an option to receive satellite-communicated datagrams, one of ordinary skill in the art could apply the same teaching of Kompala et al. to multiple mobile devices to receive a satellite datagram. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Zhu et al. with enabling, by a mobile device, reception of satellite-communicated datagrams: receiving, by the mobile device, a satellite datagram from a satellite after enabling reception of satellite-communicated datagrams and a broadcast satellite datagram, a broadcast field indicating that the satellite datagram is to be broadcast to two or more nearby mobile devices within the region of interest that have enabled an option to receive satellite-communicated datagrams in order for the first terminal to share it location with multiple wireless terminal that has the option to receive satellite communication through the satellite to be rescued in case of lost cellular service, as taught by Kompala et al. and Keshet.
Regarding claim 21, Zhu et al. discloses the satellite datagram corresponds to a location-sharing message, and wherein the processor is further configured to: fetch, and from the satellite datagram, location information associated with the nearby mobile device; and track a location of the nearby mobile device based on the location information (i.e. After receiving the location message, the terminal 300 may display the location message and the terminal 300 may display the content of the received location message through the first communication application in response to the user's input (for example, single click) (fetch) on receiving the information prompt 402 , where the location message may include a text message and location information, and Optionally, the plurality of application icons may also include a second communication application icon and a map application icon. Wherein, the second communication application can be used to receive/send Beidou short messages. The second communication application is different from the first communication application. The map application icon can be used to display a map (track a location) (Fig. 4a, page 11 last paragraph though page 12 line 19).
Regarding claim 22, Zhu et al. discloses parse a header of the satellite datagram to obtain a source address (recipient user identification number, identity ,ID) of the nearby mobile device (page 6 lines 41-52); and communicate with the nearby mobile device based on the source address (page 6 lines 41-52).
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhu et al. (WO 2023011603 A1) in view of Kompala et al. (US 20240353569) as applied to claims 1,10 and 11 and in further view of Sennett et al. (US 2013/0231079).
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Zhu et al. and Kompala et al. differs from claim 12 of the present invention in that they do not explicit disclose reception of satellite alerting messages from a satellite service provider, reception of satellite alerting messages from an emergency service center, or a combination thereof. Sennett et al. teaches At step 14, the emergency alert server 58 provides, to the emergency alert delivery network 54, the indication of the emergency alert and the associated alert area (P:0013), At step 18, the wireless network 52 provides, to the devices 50 within the alert area, the indication of the emergency alert. The devices 50 are representative of any appropriate type of device, or devices, that can be utilized to receive the indication of the emergency alert from the wireless network 52. The devices 50 can represent a mobile device. (fig. 1 and P:0014), the device is satellite radio receiver (P:0014 and P:0016). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Zhu et al. and Kompala et al. with reception of satellite alerting messages from a satellite service provider, reception of satellite alerting messages from an emergency service center, or a combination thereof in order for the first terminal to know that the wireless cellular network is down and for the terminal to send it’s location through the satellite to the other terminal for assistance and/or help, as taught by Sennett et al..
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 13-17 are allowed.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Regarding claim 13, the prior art of record fails to teach or suggest alone or in combination generating, by a mobile device, a satellite datagram; and initiating, by the mobile device, a broadcast of the satellite datagram to nearby mobile devices within a region of interest of the mobile device, wherein initiating the broadcast of the satellite datagram comprises: populating a broadcast field in a header of the satellite datagram to indicate that satellite datagram is to be broadcast to two or more nearby mobile devices that have enabled an option to receive satellite-communicated datagrams; and transmitting the satellite datagram to a satellite, wherein the broadcast causes a display of a notification on at least one nearby mobile device, and wherein the notification is associated with the satellite datagram.
Conclusion
/KEITH FERGUSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2648