DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments/Amendments
Applicant's arguments filed 8/28/26 have been fully considered but they are moot due to the fact that all independent claims have been amended, to which new ground rejections have been presented blow.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8, 13-14 and 17-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gupta (US 20190327679 A1) in view of Seo (EP 4007379 B1), further in view of Lee2 (WO 2022086198 A1).
For claim 1, Gupta discloses an apparatus (FIG. 2, UE 102), comprising: processing circuitry (the processing circuitry of the apparatus) to:
output, for transmission, capability information associated with wake-up signal (WUS) monitoring (FIG. 12 and the associated text, such as [0115] “FIG. 12 shows an example sequence 1200 of the UE 300 and the eNB 212 exchange RRC messages to deploy C-WuRx capabilities available on the UE 300. For example, the UE 300 and the eNB first negotiate the capability of the UE to use the C-WuRx while the UE 300 is connected to a Wi-Fi access point 1202 and maintains the WWAN link in the RRC_CONNECTED state”; note that “exchange” includes output and C-WuRx is Cellular wakeup receiver (WUR) as cited Abstract, which suggested WUS), the capability information to include:
an indication of support for WUS monitoring in a radio resource control (RRC) connected mode (suggested by [0115] “… For example, the UE 300 and the eNB first negotiate the capability of the UE to use the C-WuRx while the UE 300 is connected to a Wi-Fi access point 1202 and maintains the WWAN link in the RRC_CONNECTED state” in view of FIG. 12);
transition from the sleep state to an awake state based on receipt of a WUS (“[0073] … When the C-WuRx 350 detects the wakeup signal, the C-WuRx 350 may be configured to wake up the FEM circuitry 308 to receive incoming downlink data.”); and
monitor for a PDCCH transmission from a base station based on receipt of a WUS during the WUS monitoring (“[0109] … And when the UE activates its main radio for the active duration period of C-DRX, which is typically in the order of 10 milliseconds (ms) plus additional time for the hardware to power up, the main radio consumes a relatively high amount of power (e.g., about 500 mW) so as to monitor the PDCCH in each sub-frame”); and
interface circuitry, coupled with the processing circuitry, to transmit the capability information (“[0115] “FIG. 12 shows an example sequence 1200 of the UE 300 and the eNB 212 exchange RRC messages to deploy C-WuRx capabilities available on the UE 300. For example, the UE 300 and the eNB first negotiate the capability of the UE to use the C-WuRx while the UE 300 is connected to a Wi-Fi access point 1202 and maintains the WWAN link in the RRC_CONNECTED state”).
Gupta is silent but Seo discloses:
receive configuration information including a periodicity and offset for WUS monitoring: and perform WUS monitoring based at least in part on the periodicity and offset (claim 1, “… receiving (S182) second configuration information informing of a plurality of monitoring occasions for detecting a wake up signal, WUS, wherein the plurality of monitoring occasions are defined by i) a periodicity and offset of the plurality of monitoring occasions, monitoringSlotPeriodicityAndOffset …”); OOSA would have been motivated to apply the teaching of Seo above to the WUS information by Gupta to yield a predictable result of facilitating performing WUS for power saving.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to OOSA before the effective filing date of the application to combine Gupta and Seo for the benefit of facilitating performing WUS for power saving ([0019] of Gupta).
Gupta in view of Seo is silent but Lee2, in the same field of endeavor of wireless communication, discloses:
a switching gap value indicating a minimum time gap between WUS reception by wake-up receiver (WUR) and a main radio to start physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) monitoring in the RRC connected mode (FIGs. 9-16 and associated text: For example, p37-48, Section (4) “Embodiment 1-4: DCI format 2_6 based PDCCH monitoring adaptation)”, such as p37/l2-4 “In the power saving technology of the Rel-16 NR system, when a DRX operation is performed, whether to wake up in each DRX cycle may be notified to the UE through DCI format 2_6. …”, p38, last para extending to p39 “In order for the terminal to which PDCCH monitoring adaptation is indicated through DCI format 2_6 to operate simultaneously with the start of the DRX active time, the terminal may report a time gap in consideration of the SS set switching time to the base station. According to NR standard document TS38.213, in the case of SS set group switching, the minimum value (P .sub.switch ) for the switching time may be defined as shown in [Table 10].”; disclosing a switch gap having a minimum value from terminal wake-up to start of PDCCH monitoring). OOSA would have been motivated to apply the teaching of Lee2 above to the WUS reception by Gupta to yield a predictable result of performing PDCCH monitoring.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to OOSA before the effective filing date of the application to combine Gupta and Lee2 for the benefit of PDCCH monitoring (p38 of Lee2).
Claim 17 is rejected because it is a claim of a method performed by the apparatus/eNB of claim 1 and has the same subject matter as claim 1.
Claim 21 is rejected because it is a claim of method performed by the UE associated the apparatus/eNB of claim 1 and has the same subject matter as claim 1.
As to claim 2, Gupta in view of Seo and Lee2 discloses claim 1, Lee2 further discloses: switching gap value is a first switching gap value, and the processor circuitry is to: output, for transmission, a second switching gap value indicating a time gap for PDCCH monitoring after the WUS monitoring in the RRC connected mode (p50, 4th para “In this case, an SS set group, a switching gap, and/or a PDCCH monitoring skipping duration may be set for each DRX.”; or FIG. 12, Short DRX Cycle and Long DRX Cycle; or Table 10 which specifies different minimum switching gap values).
The motivation of combining Gupta and Lee2 is the same as stated in the parent claim.
As to claim 3, Gupta in view of Seo and Lee2 discloses claim 2, Lee2 further discloses: wherein the capability information includes both the first switching gap value and the second switching gap value as a pair (FIG. 12, Short DRX Cycle and Long DRX Cycle; or Table 10 which specifies different minimum switching gap values).
The motivation of combining Gupta and Seo and Lee2 is the same as stated in the parent claim.
As to claim 4, Gupta in view of Seo and Lee2 discloses claim 2, Lee2 further discloses: wherein the first switching gap value is based on a subcarrier spacing (SCS), and wherein the second switching gap value is based on the SCS (FIG. 14, S1411 “monitor the PDCCH based on the default SS set” in view of p29, 6th para “the UE may monitor the PDCCH based on the default SS set (S1411)”).
The motivation of combining Gupta and Seo and Lee2 is the same as stated in the parent claim.
As to claim 5, Gupta in view of Seo and Lee2 discloses claim 1, Lee2 further discloses: switching gap value is based on a minimum time gap between the WUS reception and a first PDCCH monitoring occasion (p38, last para extending to p39 “In order for the terminal to which PDCCH monitoring adaptation is indicated through DCI format 2_6 to operate simultaneously with the start of the DRX active time, the terminal may report a time gap in consideration of the SS set switching time to the base station. According to NR standard document TS38.213, in the case of SS set group switching, the minimum value (P .sub.switch ) for the switching time may be defined as shown in [Table 10].”).
The motivation of combining Gupta and Seo and Lee2 is the same as stated in the parent claim.
As to claim 6, Gupta in view of Seo and Lee2 discloses claim 1, Lee2 further discloses: wherein the switching gap value is a first switching gap value, and the capability information includes a second switching gap value indicating a first time interval transition from a first type of sleep state to an awake state and a third switching gap value indicating a second time interval to transition from a second sleep state to the awake state (FIG. 12, Short DRX Cycle and Long DRX Cycle; or Table 10 which specifies different minimum switching gap values).
The motivation of combining Gupta and Seo and Lee2 is the same as stated in the parent claim.
As to claim 7, Gupta in view of Seo and Lee2 discloses claim 6, Gupta further discloses: wherein the processing circuitry is further to:
determine whether the second switching gap value is to be defined with respect to a start of the WUS or an end of the WUS (p38, last para “… the terminal to which PDCCH monitoring adaptation is indicated through DCI format 2_6 to operate simultaneously with the start of the DRX active time, …”; or FIG. 16); and
determine the second switching gap value based on the determination of whether the second switching gap value is to be defined with respect to the start of the WUS or the end of the WUS (FIG. 12, Short DRX Cycle and Long DRX Cycle; or Table 10 which specifies different minimum switching gap values).
The motivation of combining Gupta and Seo and Lee2 is the same as stated in the parent claim.
As to claim 8, Gupta in view of Seo and Lee2 discloses claim 6, Gupta further discloses: wherein the processing circuitry is further to:
transition from the awake state to the first type of sleep state or the second type of sleep state, wherein a downlink control information (DCI) transmission is used to trigger the transition (FIGs.10-12 and the associated text, such as [0040] “… The PDCCH can be transmitted using one or more CCEs, depending on the size of the Downlink Control Information (DCI) and the channel condition.” in combined with [0118] “… the trigger is a message from the eNB …”, wherein DCI is used to send a trigger message from eNB to UE)
Lee2 also discloses this claim limitation (p28, para 2-3, “Embodiments of the present disclosure propose PDCCH monitoring adaptation methods that can be indicated based on DCI. … the above-described PDCCH monitoring adaptation may be explicitly and/or implicitly triggered and/or indicated”).
As to claim 13, Gupta in view of Seo and Lee2 discloses claim 1, Seo further discloses: wherein the periodicity and offset is based at least in part on the capability information (FIGs.10-12 and the associated text, such as [0118] “… The trigger may also include an inactivity timer value similar to those used for DRX. In some embodiments, the trigger is a message from the eNB, or it may be triggered in response to elapsed time tracked through a timer. The C-WuRx active state is not assumed to be entered until its trigger condition for operation during RRC_CONNECTED state, i.e., complete UL/DL data offload to WLAN, has been achieved and the eNB does not expect any WLAN measurements at any frequency” in view of the parent claims).
As to claim 14, Gupta in view of Seo and Lee2 discloses claim 1, Gupta further discloses the capability information further includes: a capability to transition from a sleep state to an awake state based on a trigger, wherein the trigger is receipt of the WUS or a passage of time in the sleep state without detecting the WUS; or a capability to transition from an awake state to a sleep state based on an indication from a DCI transmission, a time-based trigger, a detection by the UE of a condition, or a UE triggered state transition (FIGs. 10-12 [0040] “… The PDCCH can be transmitted using one or more CCEs, depending on the size of the Downlink Control Information (DCI) and the channel condition. …”).
Lee2 also discloses the above limitation in p37-48, Section (4).
As to claim 18, Gupta in view of Seo and Lee2 discloses claim 17, Lee2 further discloses: transitioning from monitoring for the WUS to monitoring for the PDCCH transmission based at least in part on a need to perform semi-statically configured downlink (DL) reception or uplink (UL) transmission (p19, 4th para “… PUSCH transmission is dynamically scheduled by a UL grant in DCI, or semi-static based on higher layer (eg, RRC) signaling (and/or Layer 1 (L1) signaling (eg, PDCCH)) -static) can be scheduled …”).
The motivation of combining Gupta and Lee2 is the same as stated in the parent claim.
As to claim 19, Gupta in view of Seo and Lee2 discloses claim 18, Lee2 further discloses: wherein the semi-statically configured DL reception excludes PDCCH monitoring in some or all UE-specific search space sets (p19, 4th para “… PUSCH transmission is dynamically scheduled by a UL grant in DCI, or semi-static based on higher layer (eg, RRC) signaling (and/or Layer 1 (L1) signaling (eg, PDCCH)) -static) can be scheduled …”).
The motivation of combining Gupta and Lee2 is the same as stated in the parent claim.
As to claim 20, Gupta in view of Seo and Lee2 discloses claim 17, Gupta further discloses: wherein the trigger includes switching to the awake state after monitoring for the WUS for a pre-defined or configured time (FIGs.10-12 and the associated text, such as [0118] “… The trigger may also include an inactivity timer value similar to those used for DRX. In some embodiments, the trigger is a message from the eNB, or it may be triggered in response to elapsed time tracked through a timer. …”).
Lee2 also discloses the above limitation (such as p22, 1st para; or p25, 1st para).
Claim 9-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gupta in view of Seo and Lee2, further in view of Reial (US 20220086756 A1).
As to claim 9, Gupta in view of Seo and Lee2 discloses claim 1, and is silent but Reial, in the same field of endeavor of wireless communication associated with WUS, discloses: wherein the capability information further includes a WUR performance parameter, wherein the WUR performance parameter is either a WUR sensitivity value used to achieve a performance target or a signal to interference noise ratio (SINR) value used to achieve the performance target ([0092] “… The one or more performance metrics may comprise Receiver Operating Characteristics (ROC) such as MD and FA, for the determined WUS format and SINR …”). OOSA would have been motived to apply the teaching of Maleki above to the WUS by Gupta in view of Seo and Lee2 to yield a predictable result of determining the required performance metrics according to MPEP 2143(D).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to OOSA before the effective filing date of the application to combine Gupta and Reial for the benefit of determining required performance metrics ([0096] of Reial).
As to claim 10, Gupta in view of Seo, Lee2 and Reial discloses claim 9, Reial further discloses: wherein the WUR performance parameter is based on a WUR architecture and power consumption level ([0092] “… the UE can determine the achievable performance and power consumption metric (such as an average energy consumption) …”). The motivation of combining Gupta in view of Lee2 and Reial is the same as stated in the parent claim.
As to claim 11, Gupta in view of Seo, Lee2 and Reial discloses claim 9, Reial further discloses: wherein the processing circuitry is further to: receive configuration information including the performance target ([0092] “… the UE can determine the achievable performance and power consumption metric (such as an average energy consumption) …”). The motivation of combining Gupta in view of Seo, Lee2 and Reial is the same as stated in the parent claim.
As to claim 12, Gupta in view of Seo, Lee2 and Reial discloses claim 11, Gupta further discloses wherein the processing circuitry is further to: output, for transmission a performance parameter corresponding to the performance target, based on time and frequency resources allocated for monitoring the WUS ([0038] … The grid can be a time-frequency grid, called a resource grid or time-frequency resource grid, which is the physical resource in the downlink in each slot. Such a time-frequency plane representation is a common practice for OFDM systems, which makes it intuitive for radio resource allocation ...”).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JIANYE WU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2462